130x130_sq_1252074739096-tmaentrance2

The Morton Arboretum

Lisle , IL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

The Morton Arboretum, 4100 Illinois Route 53
Lisle, IL US 60532 (map)

PHONE

630-725-2190

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Your Perfect Day, Naturally.
Pick a wedding location that shows off your natural beauty.

Imagine your wedding amidst flowering trees, beautiful gardens, stunning autumn... Read more
Your Perfect Day, Naturally.
Pick a wedding location that shows off your natural beauty.

Imagine your wedding amidst flowering trees, beautiful gardens, stunning autumn leaves, or pristine snow-covered lakes. Exchange vows in an intimate room of a former historic mansion. Or have an elegant large-scale reception in a panoramic lake view room; all situated on our 1,700 acre grounds. The Morton Arboretum is a stunning outdoor museum of trees with majestic trees, gardens, lakes, and natural landscapes, located 25 miles west of Chicago in Lisle, Illinois. The Morton Arboretum specializes in elegant locations for outdoor ceremonies and catered indoor receptions--surrounded by breath-taking views of trees and nature. It is the perfect place to make lasting memories and capture magnificent wedding photos. When you select The Morton Arboretum as your dream wedding location, you are supporting the planting and conservation of trees. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1355774235164-ceremonyinhedge
130x130_sq_1252072983736-ginkgoroomnorthview300dpi
130x130_sq_1355774238165-corporateoutingsnightvclr1
130x130_sq_1252072446361-2008074646390457
130x130_sq_1355774231372-arborroom172
130x130_sq_1252072703174-closeupoutdoorweddingceremonysetup300dpi
130x130_sq_1252073128846-thornhillceremony
130x130_sq_1355774242441-foundersroom
130x130_sq_1355774246839-groundcovergarden812
130x130_sq_1355774255633-picture004
130x130_sq_1355774258232-picture032
130x130_sq_1355774263354-tablesettingwithbeefavor912
130x130_sq_1252073248314-scenicwedding

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.2/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.4/5.0
We chose the Arboretum for our ceremony and reception. We had a short ceremony immediately followed by a cocktail reception in the Sycamore room. We chose the Sycamore room because our guest count was going to be relatively small (about 100 people) and because it comes with a covered patio which was a wonderful safety net when planning an outdoor ceremony, as we were. The Sycamore room also does not have a minimum guest count or catering purchase as the other bigger rooms do.

We worked with Denise for the facility and initially Jeff, but ultimately Elana, for catering. Denise was very flexible and easy to work with, but sometimes response time was a bit slow. However, I understand how busy they are and in the end everything worked out perfectly fine.

There is only one catering option for the Arboretum, Classic Fare. I believe they were undergoing some staffing changes while we were wedding planning, but it was very frustrating at the slow response times. We didn't even meet with them until about 2 weeks before the wedding to go over the menu and only after I emailed at least twice asking about when we were going to talk about it. In the end, it all worked out, but it was an unnecessary point of stress when you're planning a wedding to have to chase down the caterer. However, the food was great, the service was great, all our guests were happy, and we were happy with our choice.

The bakery is The Cakery in Aurora. Awesome cake. It was hard to coordinate a tasting time since their hours are so limited. But, again, everyone loved it, it was beautiful and delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nick
Wedding:
4/19/2014
4.3/5.0
We visited the Morton Arboretum first (my mom's suggestion) and it remained our first venue choice throughout the process. In the end, we are very happy to have picked them to host our wedding.

Four significant points in their favor:

1) If the weather cooperates, the grounds, the buildings, the rooms, and the scenery are incredible. This is truly a beautiful place.
2) They are quite capable day-of managers. There were exactly zero issues with the various vendors who provided services on our wedding day. If you reserve this venue, don't bother with a day-of planner.
3) They handle ALL table/chair/linen services - each are included in the *quite reasonable* facility rental cost (with premium options costing more). We were very happy with the choices available, and they were terrific day-of.
4) While catering is expensive (see below) the facility rental fee is very reasonable for the services provided.

Some points against:

1) The catering is quite expensive. Per-person we spent more than $100. I recognize that's somewhat typical nowadays, but there is no option to shop around - you must order from their caterer for all foods types they can make. Thankfully, they ARE willing to let you work with another caterer if they can't easily make a genre of food (Indian, or East Asian for example). They play nice - we got Indian food and it was all served quickly and without issue.
2) They can be unresponsive to emails - it didn't endanger any plans thankfully, but it was occasionally aggravating.

Overall, we are super happy with the results. Elana (Catering) and Denise (event) were both good contacts, and we recommend their services to any couple that loves nature/the outdoors.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jillian
Wedding:
10/5/2013
3.4/5.0
The Morton Arboretum is a beautiful venue for a wedding or party. The staff is friendly and wants to provide excellent service. Unfortunately they book two events a day in the same location and run multiple locations on the same day. They are understaffed and as a result the responsiveness ranges from 1 - 3 weeks, mistakes get made and without your own onsite planner your event plan is at risk.

Note: Rating is NOT for the Catering.
The catering at the Morton Arboretum was delicious and unique. The management is another story. For my wedding the final costing was late and took almost 10 reviews before it was correct. The catering manager kept pressing me to pay the final bill because it was past due (her fault) yet I would not reccommend overpaying when the bill is wrong. For our event our opening cider and late night snacks were not located in the correct spot and were in such a random place no one knew they were there = wasted money. During the reception we had a few vegetarians; one of which was given steak and my husband (the groom) had to give us his meal. I am not sure if is it a skill issue or an overbooking issue. Either way, it was unacceptable - be careful and on top of the catering with your Morton Arboretum events.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
2.2/5.0
The arboretum was a beautiful setting for our wedding, and our event coordinator was very good.

However, when using that venue, one is required to use Classic Fare Catering. Working with their representative was an absolute nightmare. Despite repeated meetings/phone calls/emails, she just couldn't get the arrangements straight. She made a busy time so much more stressful! And requests to management to get the situation under control went unheeded.

Fortunately, all was ultimately done as requested with the food quality being very good. But I wouldn't wish this part of our experience on anyone else.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathryn
Wedding:
8/23/2013
4.4/5.0
Denise and Amy were great with helping me plan my wedding. Sometimes responses are a bit slow but probably because they are so busy. Overall everything was pretty much how we wanted it. The wedding was absolutely beautiful. Our entire vendor list is much to thank for making it just perfect. We had a problem with a couple lost checks but I would think Morton Arboretums mail processing has some flaws. I would suggest not sending a check in the mail to them. Overall everything was great and I'm happy we chose to have it at Morton.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1369402555596-9203335165952350546051625776286o
april
Wedding:
7/27/2013
4.8/5.0
The Morton Arboretum was the perfect backdrop to our wedding and made for a very memorable day! It was a pleasure working with Margaret and Brenda. They were both very accommodating throughout the entire process and allowed for the day to run very smoothly. The menu selections were amazing and everything looked and tasted great! Everything was setup perfectly for our ceremony and reception and the entire staff at the Morton Arboretum and Classic Fare Catering were courteous and professional and did an excellent job. We certainly enjoyed having our wedding at the Arboretum and we definitely recommend this venue to others.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Catherine
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
The Morton Arboretum was a perfect venue for my wedding. I had looked at many places large enough to host 300 guests and most places I toured looked like a banquet hall and lacked character. As soon as I saw the Ginko Room, with the floor to ceiling windows, I knew the arboretum was the place for me. I was extremely happy with how everything came together the day of the wedding. The entire staff from the wait staff to the security man were very professional and helpful throughout the evening. Many guests commented on the beautiful location and wonderful food. I would highly recommend the Morton Arboretum to future brides!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We chose the Morton Arboretum for our ceremony and reception. We wanted to have an outdoor wedding and their Hedge Garden was the perfect spot for that. It was secluded and inmate and the weather turned out to be absolutely gorgeous on our wedding day. We had our cocktail hour both out on the terrace and in the Visitor's Center. Our reception took place in the Ginkgo Room which has floor to ceiling glass walls overlooking the lake making it seem like you were still outside. We loved that you could still enjoy the gorgeous views of their grounds the entire evening.

Margaret and Brenda were wonderful to work with. They were both very professional, flexible, and timely in their responses. They made sure everything was just how we wanted it and were happy to make adjustments.

The wait staff were also very professional and made sure that all of our guests were taken care of.

The overall experience of having our wedding at the Morton Arboretum was so magical. I would not change a thing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
RebeccaT
Wedding:
5/17/2013
5.0/5.0
When we were not impressed with several other venues that we looked at, I called and spoke with Denise at the Morton Arboretum and she immediately suggested we come see the Thornhill Education Center, since we were having a smaller wedding. It was significantly more affordable than the Ginkgo room in the Visitor Center and when we went to visit, we found that Thornhill was gorgeous and further away from the main entrance, allowing for a more private event. We immediately knew that this was the place we would be married. Leading up to the event, Denise and Brenda (the catering manager) were very responsive and helpful. On the day of our wedding, we were able to take gorgeous photos in the gardens before the ceremony. It started raining about an hour before the ceremony, so we moved it inside to the beautiful Founders Room. They had set up the outdoor site and the indoor site, so we were able to wait until the last minute to make the call about having the ceremony inside or outside. I can't say I am at all dissapointed about moving it inside, as it was equally as beautiful as the natural setting. The ONLY negative part of our experience was the next morning, when we realized that our wedding favors were never put out for our guests to take. I went back to the Arboretum, and we were unable to find them, so I assume they were thrown away. Fortunately we did not spend a significant amount of money on our favors, but we are dissapointed that our guests weren't able to enjoy them. Many of our guests did comment on how much they loved the food, and that the bartenders were excellent. I would recommend this venue to anyone, it was more beautiful and perfect than I ever imagined.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
Beautiful location and wonderful food and service. Made our wedding the most memorable day. Michelle Walsh-Gallegos
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
4/20/2013
5.0/5.0
We recently had our wedding at Morton Arboretum on 4/20/13. We worked with Denise and she was absolutely amazing! She made sure our day was just as we had hoped and went above and beyond to accommodate our needs. The food was amazing we have guests that are still commenting how good the food was... The transformation of the room was beyond my expectations!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
My husband and I wanted to have an Enchanted Forest themed wedding, and the Morton Arboreum was the perfect location for this! His cousin had gotten married at the Morton Arboretum's "Ginko Room" in the Visitor's Center so we were familiar with the location. We both wanted to get married in the suburbs to make it easier for our guests, but we knew we wanted something more unique. The Morton Arboretum had another location available for weddings at the "Thornhill Education Center" which boasts an all birch library for the ceremony (we got married in the winter) and a beautiful neutral, hard wood floor reception space in the room next door. The location was absolutely stunning --- guests drove through the forest to get to the building and the library was such a hit. In the reception space, the Morton Arboretum lit the outdoor patio so all of the guests could see the forest shining through in the floor to ceiling windows behind our head table. For a small wedding of 75 this location was stunning. In regards to the service, I cannot say enough amazing things about my wedding coordinator Denise Martinez. She was my favorite part about the wedding planning process. She was always there to meet with me (on-site!) everytime I wanted to see the space again and to discuss details of what we could do -- and I honestly was there at least 5 or so times in a year and a half. A lot of our wedding was DIY by me and Denise was more than willing to accommodate ALL of my DIY projects by setting everything up. I was very worried that the decor wouldn't be set the way I planned but Denise was amazing! Everything looked exactly the way I wanted and she was so helpful as we planned, during the rehearsal AND during the wedding itself. I can't say enough great things about the location and Denise. Please, please, please go see the Arboretum if your looking for a unique space that boasts STUNNING views for a smaller sized wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tony
Wedding:
1/19/2013
4.1/5.0
Our wedding at Morton Arboretum was absolutely magical. All our guests loved how beautiful the Ginkgo room was transformed and how it just "fit" us. While my wife and I got caught up in conversations with friends and family during dinner, all of our guests commented on how wonderful the food was. We had quite a large guest list, which consequently caused some last minute changes. Kim and Brenda were patient, accommodating and took good care of us. They were always willing to work with us, which made the wedding planning process that much easier. It's a great venue for anyone looking for a more outdoor feel.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Golfangel
Wedding:
11/16/2012
4.3/5.0
We had a wonderful reception at the Thornhill Education Center! Denise was very helpful in making sure everything came together. We had some issues getting the catering in order, but the food was delicious! Since you are required to use their in house catering, it was good to know there were great options. A few of our guests served last did say their food wasn't very warm. The Cakery does all cakes for the Arboretum and worked with us to match the scrollwork we had on our invites. Overall, we planned our wedding in 6 months and Morton made planning a little less stressful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/20/2012
4.8/5.0
Morton Arboretum was my primary choice for my wedding venue. We were married in the Founders Room in the Thornhill Education Center, and I received so many compliments on the beautiful setting. Our pictures were outside near the Fragrance Garden, Joy Path, and the Morton Terrace and everyone commented on how beautiful it was. Parking was easy and free, and the breathtaking drive to the Education Center was amazing. I would definitely recommend the Morton Arboretum to others, its a unique, beautiful setting!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
10/19/2012
4.7/5.0
I just had my ceremony at the Morton Arbortetum and it blew my mind. The venue is GORGEOUS!! It rained on and off all day and I was still able to take fabulous pictures outside. The staff was amazing at the reception as well. My husband and I had are own servers that brought us whatever we needed all night long. Kim and Elana were amazing at putting all the details together and were so patient when my dad wanted to meet with them a million times prior to the wedding. I have received so many compliments on my wedding venue - it was completely breathtaking!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/12/2012
5.0/5.0
The Morton Arboretum was a beautiful venue for my wedding! Margaret Martin was so helpful and always responded to my e-mails and questions in a timely manner! The servers were amazing and paid attention to all the little details. My husband and I actually had our own server that followed us around and got us whatever we needed! They were so attentive and helpful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenna
Wedding:
10/7/2012
4.6/5.0
I had both my ceremony and reception at the Arboretum.
Denise and Elana were exception in assisting me with planning my entire event. They provided suggestions and assisted with my every need. The ceremony and reception were ABSOLUTELY STUNNING. You may pay a bit more in reception rental but well worth it. The food was rather good and at a very reasonable cost for 4.5 hours of open bar as well. The wait staff was very attentive and professional. The Morton Arboretum security was also well informed and very helpful in any need I had. I strongly recommend this venue, along with Denise and Elana
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1350173992415-fbavatar2711727
Ciesielski
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
The Morton Arboretum was a great choice for our wedding. We had a wedding list of 100 people and wanted something classy, unique, and affordable. We not only had great service, beautiful surroundings, but the staff is so well mannered and gave us great detail in attention. The Morton Arboretum not only gave us a ceremony location but also had a backup plan for us in the even that it rained. We plan to visit the Arboretum every year on our anniversary to remember where we started our marriage.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
julie
Wedding:
9/21/2012
4.4/5.0
We could not have been happier with our wedding at the Arboretum. The Ginko room transformed and looked beautful! We used the stations option for our dinner along with appetizers during cocktail hour and our guests raved about the food! Excellent venue if you are looking to an alternative to a ballroom setting.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
I'd give them 10 stars if it were an option. Of course the location is stunning, but the service and food were spectacular! People are still telling us that our wedding was the most fun they've ever been to. We had cocktail hour outside in front of Thornhill so people could walk around the grounds a little. Dinner was in the Arbor Room and dancing in the Founders Room. Denise and her team were responsive, flexible, friendly and did an absolutely amazing job setting everything up for us. We didn't do a slide show, but instead put out several framed pictures of us and family at all ages, which Denise displayed perfectly. She was very open to all of our unique ideas for the space and layout, but had tons of great suggestions. We were concerned about having 2 separate rooms, but it actually worked out better than having just one room because it gave people options to mingle somewhere away from the loud music and sit if they didn't want to dance. The transition between dinner and dancing was completely smooth.
We worked with Alana for catering and she was just as magnificent. She was responsive all along, and very flexible. For example, my family has a joke tradition of having a tiered rice krispie treat "cake" out and she let us bring that in no problem. I also had my heart set on having cookies that people could take home with them in goodie bags in lieu of a late night snack. It wasn't on the menu but she made sure we had chocolate-dipped cookies set out on the table for people to take.
They do have a steep rental facility fee, which almost caused us not to look at them at all. But their standard bar package was one of the most comprehensive we saw and not having to upgrade that made the total price we paid very comparable to other places we looked at (Maison SAbica, Danada House, Hotel Baker and a few others). We had the chicken with mango salsa, and it was delicious. The Cakery, the security gentlemen and pretty much everything was wonderful. Zero complaints.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.0/5.0
There was a lot that I liked about the Morton. The location was perfect for an outdoor wedding, the ginko room was beautiful once everything was set up and the windows along the entire wall made it more open. The only issues as to why I took off a star were: the person who was supposed to help us plan everything and coordinate really didn't do anything. There was another Polish lady who did everything on the night of our wedding and she was extremely helpful. Our wedding certificate --which the person who was supposed to help us told us she would hold on to --was left upstairs on a table. I took off only one star because although the coordinator did not help much, the Polish lady--sorry can't remember name--helped a lot!! Overall, I was very happy that I chose the Morton because it was extremely beautiful there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
8/31/2012
5.0/5.0
We had our ceremony and reception here. The venue is breathtaking, and my guests were thrilled with the location. Perfect location, great people to work with. Could not have asked for a better place.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
chibiboon
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
I just had my wedding at the Hedge garden & Gingko dining room and I just wanted to say they were amazing to us. They offer an amazing array of catering service and I had a hard time narrowing this down. Everyone love the food and the venue and they were so accommodating to us. They were so helpful during the wedding that I just couldn't ask for anything more. The service was so on time without interrupting the flow of the wedding. It could not be a more perfect day for us and I am so glad we choose this venue. Our photo couldn't have turn out more beautiful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MeghanO
Wedding:
4/28/2012
4.5/5.0
We got married in the Founder's Room, which was so beautiful for our small-ish wedding (75 guests). The small alcove and library feel fit our personalities perfectly and I knew the second I walked in that it would be perfect for our wedding. Our wedding day went off without a hitch, and both Brenda and Kim were on scene to make sure things went well. A safety and security guy was even there, I guess to make sure we didn't have any unwanted crashers or something! I felt that everything was under control and I wasn't stressed about a thing. We delivered our favors, programs, etc. the day before and they were set up exactly how we asked. Our server was attentive, the venue was very clean, and the food was pretty good (you have to use their in-house caterer). My only complaints are that sometimes my emails didn't get returned as quickly as I would have hoped during the planning process, and some smaller details were a bit overlooked, but I think I might have been the only one who noticed. We also had a bridesmaid with a food allergy who had a reaction to an appetizer that was supposed to be safe for her to eat, which kind of put a damper on things, but otherwise it went great. I definitely recommend the Arboretum though and had an absolutely wonderful wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cburke15
Wedding:
12/18/2011
5.0/5.0
Morton Arboretum did an outstanding job. The venue was beautiful, the team was professional and the food was amazing! So happy we chose this venue!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
irenei76
Wedding:
11/11/2011
5.0/5.0
The Morton Arboretum was gorgeous. For my wedding in november, I worked with Denise, the event planner at Morton, and she was fabulous. She was super nice, accommodating, listened to everything I had to say, and worked well with my wedding planner. She is very experienced and down to earth, and she will guide yu in th right direction. The pictures were beautiful. The food was fantastic as well- several people told me it was the best wedding food they ever had. They are very flexible and provide you with a list of preferred vendors but it is not necessary to use them. I would definitely plan another event there!! We had our reception in the ginko room and our ceremony in Thornhill.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sjohn0124
Wedding:
10/22/2011
5.0/5.0
At the risk of looking over the top, I am assigning 5 stars to every aspect of my wedding and reception experience at the Morton Arboretum. We were married and had our reception in the beautiful, intimate Founder's Room. The staff (Margaret and Brenda) were wonderful to work with great advice, flexibility and excellent oversight on the wedding day.
They worked with the florist to make the room stunning and the food was outstanding from the passed hors d'oeuvres, delicious entrees and sides, and a beautiful delicious cake from The Cakery. The value was outstanding as well, as the price included full liquor and wine service. The dining staff were also lovely and very prompt and professional. Everyone of our family and friends committed favorably on every aspect of their experience at the Arboretum. We selected the Arboretum because of attending a large outdoor wedding and reception in the Gingko Room last summer. We were impressed then and thrilled now!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kimmy j
Wedding:
10/2/2011
4.7/5.0
It was truly a pleasure to work with Denise and Elana at Morton Arboretum/Classic Fare Catering. I sensed we were in good hands based on the meetings, follow up, communication and overall reputation. In addition, their experience, input and guidance was invaluable. On our wedding day I was truly overwhelmed at just how much care, dedication and professionalism were demonstrated by the coordinators and staff. We were treated so very well, all of our wishes were respected and our vision became realilty that day.
In a nutshell, our expectations were exceeded.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CMH
Wedding:
10/1/2011
4.7/5.0
I could not have dreamed of a better place to have my wedding reception. Everything about my experience at the Arboretum was top notch. As I am sure every bride does, I received compliments throughout the night about how beautiful the grounds were and how great the food was.

The staff was great both leading up to our event and the night of the wedding. I called the event coordinator about 3 days before our wedding and asked if we could do a signature cocktail, to which they agreed. This was a nice personal touch that all of my guests enjoyed.

Coming from a family of foodies, I wanted to make sure the food was great. All of my guests truly enjoyed all of the food that we sereved. The only two things that kept me from giving 5s are 1) They told us that they would hold a few pieces of each hours d' vours aside for myself and my husband. This never happened and I never even got offered any by the wait staff. 2) If you have guests that don't show up, they apparently keep the food that you have paid for and feed it to the wait staff. These two things kid of ticked me off a little.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Flygirl
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.8/5.0
The Arboretum is a beautiful place to have a wedding! We had our ceremony on the Morton Terrace off the Arbor Room, with our reception being in the Arbor Room. The weather was great the day of our wedding, but if it would have rained the ceremony would have been inside the Arbor Room, not the ideal situation. We worked with Denise for the room rental and set-up. We worked with Brenda for the catering. Both were very easy and accomodating to work with. The responsiveness from both were not always the best, but I will say that they do a lot of weddings so they know when contact with the bride and groom is needed. I would not let their responsiveness turn you away from having a beautiful wedding at the Arboretum.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
We had a very beautiful reception at Morton Arboretum on August 27 with wonderful weather. Margaret and Elana were a joy to work with, even up through the final weekend allowing us to get everything just right. The venue is beautiful, and all the guests were raving about the location and the outdoor beauty. The staff was also amazing, I even had a waiter following me around with a personal appetizer tray! I also heard from multiple guests that the filet was "the best they ever had". I would definitely recommend this location for receptions for anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
johnstamosfever
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
We had been looking at nearby hotels for our wedding when I decided I wanted to check out the Arboretum. Of course it was gorgeous and there was no need to look anywhere else; this was where I had to have the wedding. We decided to have the ceremony indoors in the Founders Room, the cocktail hour on the terrace, and the reception in the Arbor Room. This place is beautiful and made all the hotels that we looked at disgusting. They make you use their caterer and they have a specific cake provider. The cost of the rental is high, but in the end their quote was about the same as the quote one of the hotels gave us. The plate cost isn't as high as most other caterers' which kinda balanced everything out.

Our contact at the Arboretum was Margaret and Classic Fare was Elana. Both were very easy to work with and replied to all my e-mails promptly. The only downside was the contract because you're basically held responsible for all costs if something were to happen and there wasn't a way to get out of that.

I was blown away the day of the wedding. My husband's aunts did a lot of setting up, and the staff helped them as well. I had made a joke to one of my friends to save me some hors devours because we were taking pictures during the cocktail hour. Five minutes after the ceremony and we had our own waiter with a tray of hors devours and he asked if I needed anything else. I was thirsty and he had a glass of water for me within minutes. I felt like a princess the whole night because the staff was on top of everything.

The food was really good so in the end it was actually nice not having to deal with finding a caterer. The reviews I read for The Cakery were awful, but they blew me away too.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
clecinski523
Wedding:
8/19/2011
5.0/5.0
The Morton Arboretum was great to work with! They made my wedding day at the Arboretum (both ceremony and reception) seemless and handled everything! The wait staff was very proffessional and took care of any needs we had and the rest of the staff was also very professional and did an amazing job! I would recommend this venue to anyone wanting to have their wedding at the Arboretum. Everything went smoothly and I didn't have anything to worry about. From the very beginning, working with everyone over there was great- they were professional, courteous and responded quickly to any need we had prior to the wedding. The day of- things I didn't even think of, they handled it for me. They went above and beyond to make our day extra special. Everyone I speak with who attended our wedding, said they had a great time and enjoyed being at the Morton Arboretum and it looked beautful! I definitely recommend this venue if you are looking to have a ceremony and/or reception in a beautful venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
8/13/2011
2.9/5.0
Kim was my contact person at the Morton Arboretum. I had my ceremony in the Founder's Room and a small cocktail reception in the Fragrance Garden. The cost of the room rental was acceptable.. $500 and $550 for the Fragrance Garden. They are not flexible however, if it rains, then you don't get your money back. It happened to rain right as everyone was going outside to the Fragrance Garden, so, the $550 was wasted.

The room is beautiful and the chairs they provide go perfectly.

Responsiveness: Not super great. It took a long time (3-10 days) to get responses back from calls and emails and she never picks up the phone when you call, you always have to leave a message.

I wish the catering for the Fragrance Garden was in a separate review. I would give them 0.0 out of 5.0. Chris Shaik was HORRIBLE to work with. The catering there is called Classic Fare and it is extremely overpriced! Of course, you are required to use them if you want something catered on their grounds. We wanted to do a simple sangria/lemonade with a fruit tray and possible other passed hors d'oeurve.. after all of the trouble with Chris and their catering team we ended up just going for the sangria and lemonade. We were afraid they wouldn't be able to handle the fruit tray. I'm really happy we did that too considering how ridiculously overpriced it is and the fact that it rained on the cocktail reception.

Anyways, the Morton Arboretum was a beautiful place to have our ceremony and we are very pleased with the way it turned out (minus the rain, but that has nothing to do with the M. Arb).. Kim was really nice and helpful when she did call/email back. Stay away from their catering though.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1306290390474-nolan761
Colleen
Wedding:
8/7/2011
4.0/5.0
Our Sunday morning August wedding in the fragrance garden/Founders Room was beautiful - the perfect spot for an intimate wedding celebration. Food and service the day of the event was great. Some concerns around menu tailoring (champagne brunch for a small wedding reception was a first I believe). Took some time to get a contract solidified with the on-site caterer (office seemed swamped with back to back events).

We were lucky that it rained the morning of our wedding, which necessitated bringing our ceremony inside. The reason I say we were lucky is that the mosquitoes in the fragrance garden where we tried to take pictures were unbearable. (Honestly, I had welts on my shoulders/neck and we only spent 10 minutes outside with the photographer) I am so grateful for the rain and would definitely strongly recommend professionally spraying for mosquitoes (though not certain that is permitted by the Arboretum) or that the venue not allow rentals in late summer in that particular garden (which has a water feature/lilly pond) We paid a non-refundable $500 fee to use the garden for our ceremony and I feel a bit stupid for having done so. The alcove in the air conditioned Founders Room was absolutely perfect in framing a ceremony, whether a summer day be sunny or rainy.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pamela
Wedding:
7/1/2011
5.0/5.0
I loved this venue. Our wedding was magical and the food was fantastic. Ask to work with Kim Wilson as she cares so much and does such an amazing job.

In the summer months, make sure you scout the location of your wedding because there are mosquitos everywhere. We simply moved our ceremony site from the shade to the sun and solved the problem.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1261238294285-bali5
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
2.5/5.0
I have checked almost every single one of the wedding venue which has gardens included in it. And I found this place at last. Me and my husband felt in love with the place and decided to have the Fragrance garden and the Founder's room for our wedding. They are really friendly, Denise helped us made our dream wedding come true :) however since this place is so popular, be prepared to wait for responses or replies from them. Overall, I will always recommend couples who loves gardens and old building to have a historical and magical wedding here :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1259203414878-img0309
Momma
Wedding:
10/23/2010
4.4/5.0
Absolutely beautiful venue. A bit pricey & must use in-house caterer.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
8/7/2010
4.3/5.0
The Morton Arboretum is beautiful – which is the main reason we chose it for our wedding reception. The catering manager is very easy to work with and the food was outstanding. We are still getting compliments on our food. The only downside to the Arboretum was that there was a concert scheduled the same night (which happened AFTER we signed our contract). At the end of the day we barely noticed it but it definitely added a huge amount of stress to the planning process (parking, crowds, noise, etc). The rental staff was a bit hard to get a hold of sometimes, but they worked with us and in the end we were happy with our decision. We had a beautiful wedding there and wouldn’t reconsider for a second.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
swasack
Wedding:
5/15/2010
4.8/5.0
The Morton Arboretum was one of the best choices we made throughout the wedding process. Hedge garden/Ginko room were amazing venue choices for the ceremony and reception! Worked with Denise and Chris, who both did so much to make our day great and work within our means.
Staff and food were wonderful! My only issues were that our emails took a little while to receive responses and the building fee was a little high for what it included, but Denise did her best to get the price down a little.
Overall, we LOVED the Morton Arboretum!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aduffy
Wedding:
10/31/2009
4.5/5.0
We loved the scenery for our wedding pictures. The food was great and we got a lot of compliments from our guests. Every once in a while it was difficult to get a hold of the catering contact, but he was always friendly and flexible. Both the venue and the caterer contacts were very nice people and gave suggestions and feedback to make the day beautiful. The room looked amazing and the staff was great during the reception. I felt like the Morton Arboretum had the whole day in control so we didn't have to worry about a thing. Expensive, but worth the cost.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michele
Wedding:
9/18/2009
5.0/5.0
We used the Gingko room for our reception. The grounds are beautiful, and the catering was the best around. All of our guests said that this was the best wedding food that they had ever had. Great quality...Steve was the person in catering that we worked with. He was great. Denise was our facility contact, and she also was great to work with. This place is great for the people that have a small to medium/large wedding planned, but do not want to go the traditional banquet route.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dalgal101
Wedding:
6/14/2009
4.6/5.0
This is one of the most beautiful outdoor wedding locations we found. Perfect for photography, good location out of the city with ample parking. The staff is very knowledgeable and assisted in every angle, from set-up to making sure the entire day ran smoothly. The caterer that is on staff and does all the weddings, does a fantastic job. We received many compliments on the food.

It's truly a perfect place for any size wedding whether indoors or outdoors. Just make sure to plan ahead and mind the weather... make the back-up plan just in case it does rain.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
LeA
Wedding:
10/11/2008
3.5/5.0
The room reservations department was very, very slow in regards to response time, but they were always friendly and willing to help.
The site is absolutely beautiful, and I would recommend it to wedding parties no matter what the season.
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
superchik12283
Wedding:
9/6/2008
4.8/5.0
The staff was extremley helpful and responsive. The area is beautiful. It was perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
7/19/2008
5.0/5.0
The arboretum was beautiful and perfect for our outdoor ceremony in July. Besides the amazing background for pictures, the arboretum uses Classic Fare catering, which did an excellent job with our reception. We couldn't have asked for more. Everything was wonderful and we received many compliments of how beautiful everything was. We worked closely with Steve Fyfe, the catering manager, and he was extremely helpful and professional. I would highly recommend having your ceremony and reception all at the arboretum!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aim2e
Wedding:
6/27/2008
5.0/5.0
A beautiful place to get married and a beautiful reception site. The rental staff was great, so helpful and considerate. The accommodations were breath-taking. I can't imagine my wedding any other way. It was perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/13/2007
4.6/5.0
This place is so beautiful!!! I can't recommend it enough! There are so many wonderful photo opportunities here. The staff at the Arboretum is just wonderful. We could tell that they love their jobs! Steve, our caterer, was so accommodating and on top of things. The servers were very professional and I felt that we received such elegant dinner service. The food was incredible. We offered 3 different entrees, as well as appetizers. I couldn't believe how many compliments we received on the food. They have nothing but top shelf liquor and they had a huge selection. One guest even commented that he was able to get his favorite drink and he's usually not able to at weddings! Our reception was held in the Ginkgo Room. It's a very modern room with floor to ceiling windows that overlook a lake. It was exactly what I was looking for in a reception hall. We could not have had a better experience than at The Morton Arboretum. Everything was truly amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leanne
Wedding:
9/9/2007
4.4/5.0
My family is from out of town and it was hard plan without them. The Morton Arboretum staff made it so much better...taking away some of the stressors away like finding a cater and a wedding cake. They provided excellent service and my guests are still raving about the food! On top of all that, it was a beautiful wedding! They set up all the chairs for an out door wedding...and the scenery all over is magnificent...we walked down the isle at the end into the sunset! Your guests will receive a free admission to walk the Arboretum grounds for the entire day...they even have a children's park/museum! I would highly recommend the Morton Arboretum! There are hotels nearby and it is easily accessible by freeway!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue, Unique Services

DEALS

Free Admission on Day of Wedding
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
All your guests receive free admission to The Morton Arboretum on your special day so your guests can explore our 1,700 acres grounds of majestic trees, gardens, lakes, and natural landscapes.
Deal #WWb1ff6dde62566b14
220x220_1252074739096-tmaentrance2
Winter Wedding Discounts
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Brides who choose to have their ceremony or reception at The Morton Arboretum during November-April can take advantage of competitive discounts
Deal #WWaa56541ec736d9d8
220x220_1252074739096-tmaentrance2
Daytime Discounts
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Brides who choose to have their ceremony or reception during the day can take advantage of competitive day-time discounts
Deal #WW7e52cc6ade3247b8
220x220_1252074739096-tmaentrance2

MAP

 
The Morton Arboretum, 4100 Illinois Route 53, Lisle, IL 60532 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Morton Arboretum
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo