130x130_sq_1362761183991-13627609757314243181015099747838586332749584n

The Music Guys

Pike Road , AL

LOCATION

621 Belser Court
Pike Road, AL US 36064 (map)

PHONE

334-312-3991

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Wedding DJ Specialist Jim Dunham has played in front of more than half a million people since he first stepped behind the turntables in 1985. Today he is known for his fun-filled parties... Read more
Wedding DJ Specialist Jim Dunham has played in front of more than half a million people since he first stepped behind the turntables in 1985. Today he is known for his fun-filled parties that pack the dance floor with energy and enthusiasm and his amazing customer service. His secret is to cater each event to fit the individual wants and needs of the host and their guests by determining what is most important to them. Through careful listening and planning, every event becomes an amazing party for the young and the young-at-heart.

Contact Jim today to find out what he can do for you to make your event a unique and exciting one that your guests will remember fondly for years to come! Feel free to call me at 334-312-3991 or drop me an email at jim@themusicguys.com. Read less
DJ , Ceremony Music

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1406228710975-4243181015099747838586332749584n
130x130_sq_1406228710079-76432e0593be7ec5a41bc9cbabccda6bae38c
130x130_sq_1406228709032-764329dd8032c891d4614af94a07461234b5b
130x130_sq_1406228706998-7643250edef8b8af548ac8ba6fa1840a4f665
130x130_sq_1406228707955-7643276cf445e375e4b7cbf79139340ec059b
130x130_sq_1406312490453-partyplanner-16
130x130_sq_1406312493360-partyplanner1
130x130_sq_1406312494931-partyplanner2
130x130_sq_1406312497646-partyplanner4
130x130_sq_1406312500246-partyplanner5
130x130_sq_1406312502805-partyplanner6
130x130_sq_1406312505678-partyplanner7
130x130_sq_1406312508103-partyplanner8
130x130_sq_1406312510543-partyplanner9
130x130_sq_1406312513009-partyplanner10
130x130_sq_1406312515865-partyplanner11
130x130_sq_1406312519291-partyplanner13
130x130_sq_1406312521217-partyplanner14
130x130_sq_1406312522924-partyplanner15
130x130_sq_1406312525639-partyplanner16
130x130_sq_1406312531901-partyplanner17
130x130_sq_1406312534498-partyplanner18
130x130_sq_1406312537824-partyplanner19
130x130_sq_1406312540804-partyplanner20
130x130_sq_1406312546478-partyplanner22
130x130_sq_1406814547652-water-day-2-008
130x130_sq_1406814540457-water-day-1-010
130x130_sq_1406814533886-water-day-1-011
130x130_sq_1406814568727-water-day-1-013
130x130_sq_1406814561659-water-day-1-015
130x130_sq_1406814555164-water-day-1-016
130x130_sq_1406814596052-water-day-1-017
130x130_sq_1406814589412-water-day-1-018
130x130_sq_1406814582636-water-day-1-019
130x130_sq_1406814575867-water-day-1-020
130x130_sq_1406814623754-water-day-1-022
130x130_sq_1406814616935-water-day-1-023
130x130_sq_1406814610022-water-day-1-024
130x130_sq_1406814603334-water-day-1-025
130x130_sq_1406814483339-dscf7273
130x130_sq_1406814491050-dscf7294
130x130_sq_1406814468143-dscf9012
130x130_sq_1406814475759-dscf9015
130x130_sq_1406814511737-dscf9182
130x130_sq_1406814519214-water-day-1-021
130x130_sq_1406814499098-water-day-2-026
130x130_sq_1406814505144-water-day-2-048
130x130_sq_1406814526110-water-day-2-208

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
Not at all. I've had people submit pages of requests. A good average number is 25 songs (not including "special event" songs like ceremony music, First Dances, Cake Cutting songs, etc.). You want to leave room for your guests' requests and songs that I know will work based on the makeup of your guests. But this is YOUR day, YOUR way. And one thing I tell all of my clients ... I will be honest as I go over your list of requests. I will tell you what will work and what won't, if you have too much of one genre and generally serve as your guide to make sure that you have the best party ever.
What is your usual attire?
90% of the time I wear a formal tuxedo. Honestly, that's what I'm comfortable in! If the reception is outdoors in the summer, I ditch the coat and wear a vest. 5% of the time I wear a suit. And the remaining 5% of the time, I wear what you want me to wear. Some brides want a very casual and laid back affair or have a beach theme and I dress appropriately for those.
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
If a song is commercially available, I will secure it. There have been a few occasions where the requests have been out of print for several years and I've had to borrow the client's copy.
How many other DJs do you work with?
Technically, The Music Guys is just myself, Jim Dunham. Early on I used assistants but I'm a perfectionist and those relationships didn't work out as I envisioned. However, I am good friends with several of the top DJs in the area and we help each other out when needed so I do "work" with them. But when you hire The Music Guys, you will have Jim Dunham, the owner of the company, performing at your reception.
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
Because you are purchasing a date on my calendar and not a set amount of hours, per se, I will play for as little or as long as you would like ... but the price remains the same. The average length of my wedding packages are five hours. But if you're just looking for a DJ to play two hours on a Saturday in order to save money, I'm not your DJ. Honestly, it takes two hours just to get your guests warmed up to the point that they're ready to dance!
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
I always prefer doing just that. If the client is within the River Region, I enjoy meeting in a public place (for both of our safety) where we can discuss your wedding day without being pushed to leave before we're finished. The most wonderful place to meet in my eyes is Jason's Deli. Large tables to spread out my materials, delicious food, nobody forcing you to leave after an hour and free ice cream! But wherever is convenient for you is where we meet.
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
Honestly, no. Certain cultures have various traditional ceremonies within their events and I'm not familiar with them and wouldn't feel comfortable guaranteeing you that I could do a great job for you.
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Of course! I know that there are songs that bring bad memories up for some people and those are the songs that I suggest you put on a Do Not Play List. I would stay away from songs you "hate" or think are "cheesy". A recent bride did not want "group participation dances" like the Cupid Shuffle or Cha Cha Slide because they were played at every wedding. I told her the reason they're played at every wedding is that's where people hear these songs. They expect to hear these songs. She stood firm and I agreed to not play them and within 20 minutes of her dance period, she had to cave on her decision because every one of her guests were begging to dance to them. Afterwards she laughed and said she should have listened to me and she was then convinced I knew what I was doing!
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes, I have all the equipment needed to provide the party of your dreams. From a professional sound system to lights to wireless microphones, I will bring it all.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
A lighting system of four different lights is included with your price. A mirror ball, a Moonflower and two Laser Lights that project patterns on the ceiling and walls. For an additional fee, you can receive gobos (Monograms on the dance floor) and uplighting.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
On average, load-in and set-up take about 30 minutes but I always arrive at least one hour prior to our agreed upon start time. I DO ask that the client or venue provide me with a 6-8 foot table with a tablecloth. If this is an issue, please let me know and I can make other arrangements to have these provided.
Do you have any extra space requirements?
Not at all. I prefer being as close to the dance floor as possible as people are more apt to make requests if they don't have to walk far.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
No. I personally think they're tacky. If your guests want to know who I am or want more information I have business cards at my table and can answer any questions but I prefer to do this AFTER the event is over so as to not distract me from my job.
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
I emcee when it's required ... setting up the garter and bouquet toss, introducing special dances, announcing the grand entrance. When open dancing begins, I "coax" people out on the dance floor with a variety of suggestions (I don't want to give away ALL my secrets here!) Once I have a dance floor built, I quietly come off the microphone and let the guests enjoy the music.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
There are a variety of ways that I do this. I prefer not to share them on a public site like this as they're simple but unique ideas that can be easily implemented by other "newer" DJs to enhance their shows. I will say that getting people to dance is usually the least of my worries because it just doesn't happen. If you want the true answer to this question, I can give it to you face-to-face. And once you hear it, you'll be amazed at how simple it is but also how effective it is!
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
I do not take breaks. No professional DJ does. I do not need a meal break. I know that catering can be expensive and I know my services aren't cheap so I'm not asking for anything else from you. I drink water at every event and normally provide it myself but if you were to have a couple of bottles of ice cold water waiting for me, I'm not promising anything ... but there might be a hug in store for you.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
Not applicable. No breaks. You're not paying me to take breaks!
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
I am friends with the top DJs in the area. Recently, I had a stay in the hospital and after debating on letting me go, the doctors decided to keep me in the hospital and I missed my wedding. One of my best friends in this business and a well respected member of the DJ community asked if he could help me out. He was off that evening and said he'd be more than happy to fill in. The end result was he did the party with a few hours notice and I got all the forms to him including song requests, the Love Story and agendas. He rocked that wedding reception and the couple was thrilled. I hated to miss the party but honestly, they got more than their money's worth with my replacement. And that is the ONE party I have missed since 1985. I have DJ'ed with dislocated knees, broken elbows, kidney stones and even a mini-stroke. Finished the evening each time. Your party's success is the most important thing to me. Because if it's not a success, I won't have a business that I love for very long!
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
The only time I do this is with early morning charity events. I've worked with the Joy To Life Foundation for several years because my family has been affected by breast cancer. It normally runs from 7-11 am. And because it's always on a Saturday in April, I always have a wedding that evening. But I am allowed enough time to go home, rest for a bit and then get to that evening's wedding. So the answer is yes, but I want at least 4-6 hours between events to recuperate from the earlier one.
What is your overtime rate?
The rate I charge is for unlimited hours. You tell me when to start and when to stop. There is no overtime rate. However, I will say that if we're on our 8th hour, nobody has danced for several hours and we're down to three people drinking at a table, the party's officially over and I'm going to suggest that you let me leave. So far, nobody has ever abused the unlimited hours!
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
If your party will be 45 miles or more outside the Montgomery area, I normally charge a flat fee of $50. Anything within those 45 miles is free.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
Currently, I ask for a signed contract and $250 in order to secure your date. The rest of your balance is due two weeks BEFORE your wedding date. Like most wedding vendors, I do require payment in full up front.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stacin
Wedding:
7/19/2014
5.0/5.0
Jim Dunham of the Music Guys was amazing! He was recommended to me when I was looking for a DJ for my wedding while I was attending class out of state and he communicated with me throughout the entire planning process. Jim planned a timeline for our entire reception and his signature "Love Story" was loved by everyone who attended. We have had multiple people who have told us Jim was the best DJ of any wedding they had been to and they loved how much fun he made the reception as well as how much fun Jim seemed to have while DJing our event. He kept the dance floor full!

We have had a few people ask for Jim's information to help plan their future events and we HIGHLY recommend him! Thank you Jim Dunham!
Jim Dunham of the Music Guys was amazing! He was recommended to me when I was looking for a DJ for my wedding while I was Read more...
Jim Dunham of the Music Guys was amazing! He was recommended to me when I was looking for a DJ for my wedding while I was attending class out of state and he communicated with me throughout the entire planning process. Jim planned a timeline for our entire reception and his signature "Love Story" was loved by everyone who attended. We have had multiple people who have told us Jim was the best DJ of any wedding they had been to and they loved how much fun he made the reception as well as how much fun Jim seemed to have while DJing our event. He kept the dance floor full!

We have had a few people ask for Jim's information to help plan their future events and we HIGHLY recommend him! Thank you Jim Dunham! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
6/28/2014
5.0/5.0
The Music Guys did more than I could have ever imagined! Jim truly was amazing, and I'm so thankful for finding him. He listened to my wants and needs, and he also gave his opinion with allowing me to still choose in the end. He sent out emails monthly, then he sent them weekly closer to the wedding. It was almost as if he was reading my mind about my stresses and concerns, because each of his emails hit on everything! His music request system is easy to use and is up to date with all of the new music. My husband and I have very eclectic taste in music, and Jim worked with us on getting music he didn't already have. He also does a Love Story which is FANTASTIC! We loved it so much! He told our story of our relationship for our guests who may not have known everything about us. My wedding was at 2:30pm, and he get an entire dance floor dancing for 4 hours nonstop! All of my guests kept asking me where I found him and how great he was. Word of advice, a good DJ is the best way to spend your budget, and The Music Guys is the way to go.
The Music Guys did more than I could have ever imagined! Jim truly was amazing, and I'm so thankful for finding him. He Read more...
The Music Guys did more than I could have ever imagined! Jim truly was amazing, and I'm so thankful for finding him. He listened to my wants and needs, and he also gave his opinion with allowing me to still choose in the end. He sent out emails monthly, then he sent them weekly closer to the wedding. It was almost as if he was reading my mind about my stresses and concerns, because each of his emails hit on everything! His music request system is easy to use and is up to date with all of the new music. My husband and I have very eclectic taste in music, and Jim worked with us on getting music he didn't already have. He also does a Love Story which is FANTASTIC! We loved it so much! He told our story of our relationship for our guests who may not have known everything about us. My wedding was at 2:30pm, and he get an entire dance floor dancing for 4 hours nonstop! All of my guests kept asking me where I found him and how great he was. Word of advice, a good DJ is the best way to spend your budget, and The Music Guys is the way to go. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
Jim made our wedding reception so much fun. He got the crowd involved. He kept everyone active and moving. There were several of our guests that complimented his taste and style of music. Jim will not disappoint. Aside from the music Jim was professional, punctual and held the utmost respect for my husband, myself, our requests for our reception and our guests. I was so thankful that he was available to DJ our reception. I recommend Jim Dunham/The Music Guys for any event that needs a DJ.
Jim made our wedding reception so much fun. He got the crowd involved. He kept everyone active and moving. There were Read more...
Jim made our wedding reception so much fun. He got the crowd involved. He kept everyone active and moving. There were several of our guests that complimented his taste and style of music. Jim will not disappoint. Aside from the music Jim was professional, punctual and held the utmost respect for my husband, myself, our requests for our reception and our guests. I was so thankful that he was available to DJ our reception. I recommend Jim Dunham/The Music Guys for any event that needs a DJ. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Samantha
Wedding:
4/12/2014
5.0/5.0
Easily the best choice I made in the wedding planning process...and I had a bunch of great vendors! Jim was helpful with questions that didn't even pertain to music/DJ stuff, and I couldn't be more thankful. He provided helpful tips along the way and made the whole process so much easier. I'd recommend him to anyone.
Easily the best choice I made in the wedding planning process...and I had a bunch of great vendors! Jim was helpful with Read more...
Easily the best choice I made in the wedding planning process...and I had a bunch of great vendors! Jim was helpful with questions that didn't even pertain to music/DJ stuff, and I couldn't be more thankful. He provided helpful tips along the way and made the whole process so much easier. I'd recommend him to anyone. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hillary
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
The Music Guys were very easy to work with. Jim was very quick at responding to my emails and I loved how he planned out the reception timeline for me. It was one less thing I had to worry about. I also loved the online planner to pick out all the songs for the ceremony and reception. It was very user friendly. All in all I think The Music Guys are a great value with superior service.
The Music Guys were very easy to work with. Jim was very quick at responding to my emails and I loved how he planned out Read more...
The Music Guys were very easy to work with. Jim was very quick at responding to my emails and I loved how he planned out the reception timeline for me. It was one less thing I had to worry about. I also loved the online planner to pick out all the songs for the ceremony and reception. It was very user friendly. All in all I think The Music Guys are a great value with superior service. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Jim Dunham was absolutely wonderful! He was, by far, my favorite of all of our wedding vendors. He is so much more than just a DJ -- he helped plan every aspect of the timeline for our reception. It flowed wonderfully and everything went as expected. If you want experience, go with The Music Guys. Jim's been doing this longer than I've been alive. Don't just hire anyone to DJ your wedding. Jim caters to YOUR crowd, keeps people dancing all night -- even people I never thought would make it to the dance floor. So many people complimented us on him after the wedding. Don't look any further, just hire him. You won't regret it. And go with his recommendations -- he knows what he's talking about!
Jim Dunham was absolutely wonderful! He was, by far, my favorite of all of our wedding vendors. He is so much more than Read more...
Jim Dunham was absolutely wonderful! He was, by far, my favorite of all of our wedding vendors. He is so much more than just a DJ -- he helped plan every aspect of the timeline for our reception. It flowed wonderfully and everything went as expected. If you want experience, go with The Music Guys. Jim's been doing this longer than I've been alive. Don't just hire anyone to DJ your wedding. Jim caters to YOUR crowd, keeps people dancing all night -- even people I never thought would make it to the dance floor. So many people complimented us on him after the wedding. Don't look any further, just hire him. You won't regret it. And go with his recommendations -- he knows what he's talking about! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
One of the best vendor decisions we made by far! From the time we signed the contract there was non stop customer support with all my questions. The forms and suggestions he sent made my planning process so much easier. He puts everything in writing and was my reception planner. To me that was well worth the price with how much more at ease I was with everything falling into place during the wedding. I cant say enough great things about the Music Guys! They are more than just playing music. The love story he gave for me and my husband was a guest favorite. I would strongly suggest anyone using a dj for their special day to make the right choice and use the Music Guys. You won't regret it. Jim is awesome!!
One of the best vendor decisions we made by far! From the time we signed the contract there was non stop customer support Read more...
One of the best vendor decisions we made by far! From the time we signed the contract there was non stop customer support with all my questions. The forms and suggestions he sent made my planning process so much easier. He puts everything in writing and was my reception planner. To me that was well worth the price with how much more at ease I was with everything falling into place during the wedding. I cant say enough great things about the Music Guys! They are more than just playing music. The love story he gave for me and my husband was a guest favorite. I would strongly suggest anyone using a dj for their special day to make the right choice and use the Music Guys. You won't regret it. Jim is awesome!! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We had a great time at our wedding and so did the guests!
We had a great time at our wedding and so did the guests!
We had a great time at our wedding and so did the guests! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Perfect addition to our wedding day!! Made the night go smoothly and completely enjoyable! Would not have chosen any other DJ or band. I would recommend The Music Guys to anyone.
Perfect addition to our wedding day!! Made the night go smoothly and completely enjoyable! Would not have chosen any other Read more...
Perfect addition to our wedding day!! Made the night go smoothly and completely enjoyable! Would not have chosen any other DJ or band. I would recommend The Music Guys to anyone. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Wonderful DJ who stayed in contact with me even the week of the wedding when we had to make some minor adjustments to the schedule. He kept the people at the reception dancing up until the last song. I would truly recommend him to anyone needing a DJ service.
Wonderful DJ who stayed in contact with me even the week of the wedding when we had to make some minor adjustments to the Read more...
Wonderful DJ who stayed in contact with me even the week of the wedding when we had to make some minor adjustments to the schedule. He kept the people at the reception dancing up until the last song. I would truly recommend him to anyone needing a DJ service. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heidi
Wedding:
7/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Jim was extremely engaging and entertaining! He made our reception a one of a kind experience! I would highly recommend The Music Guys to anyone looking for a DJ!
Jim was extremely engaging and entertaining! He made our reception a one of a kind experience! I would highly recommend Read more...
Jim was extremely engaging and entertaining! He made our reception a one of a kind experience! I would highly recommend The Music Guys to anyone looking for a DJ! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emile
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
Couldn't possibly be any happier with everything about our experience with hiring Jim and the Music Guys for our wedding reception. From the first time we emailed him looking for a DJ to the hug he gave my husband and I as we left the reception- we were totally impressed by Jim. He added so much to our reception and we've received compliments over a year later about how our reception was the most fun one many people have attended. He had the whole place (almost 200 people) out on the dance floor having a blast. Jim is great at reading a crowd and knowing what to play to get guests of all ages out and having a good time. The Love Story part of the reception was an extra nice touch for those in attendance that didn't know each of us equally well because it offered such insight to how we got to our wedding day. Would recommend him ANYTIME, ANYWHERE and would be happy to talk personally to anyone who has any questions about the experience!
Couldn't possibly be any happier with everything about our experience with hiring Jim and the Music Guys for our wedding Read more...
Couldn't possibly be any happier with everything about our experience with hiring Jim and the Music Guys for our wedding reception. From the first time we emailed him looking for a DJ to the hug he gave my husband and I as we left the reception- we were totally impressed by Jim. He added so much to our reception and we've received compliments over a year later about how our reception was the most fun one many people have attended. He had the whole place (almost 200 people) out on the dance floor having a blast. Jim is great at reading a crowd and knowing what to play to get guests of all ages out and having a good time. The Love Story part of the reception was an extra nice touch for those in attendance that didn't know each of us equally well because it offered such insight to how we got to our wedding day. Would recommend him ANYTIME, ANYWHERE and would be happy to talk personally to anyone who has any questions about the experience! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Jim was more than willing to work with me across many miles to accommodate my wishes and needs for our big day! His online system for requests ensured that people were up dancing all night long at the reception and his assistance during the ceremony for some of the music numbers was invaluable. Overall I think he made our night!
Jim was more than willing to work with me across many miles to accommodate my wishes and needs for our big day! His online Read more...
Jim was more than willing to work with me across many miles to accommodate my wishes and needs for our big day! His online system for requests ensured that people were up dancing all night long at the reception and his assistance during the ceremony for some of the music numbers was invaluable. Overall I think he made our night! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wendalyn Johnson
Wedding:
11/11/2012
5.0/5.0
EVERYONE absolutely loved Jim "The Music Guys" Dunham! (dot com) From the very beginning. He was just so nice, and easy to talk to, and not salesman annoying. (Huge part for me)
I had a destination wedding, when I booked his services, he was very helpful with everything WEDDING!!! (And willing to travel!) He asked about things I hadn't thought about, helped me plan the music and the timing of my wedding and reception! He would call me every once in awhile just to make sure I was doing OK, and if I needed help with anything! I'm not going to lie, there were times I was freaking out with all the pressure. Whenever I called Jim about my current freak, he always helped me down from the crazy I presented him. If he was busy, he called me back ASAP! His customer service is top notch!
A very important part (I thought) of my wedding was my entrance with my dad. I played "The Reason," redone by Vitamin String Quartet. It was one of the most poignant moments of my life, and with Jim the timing and music were perfect! (Outstanding!!!) During my wedding reception he kept things ROCKING and Rolling, kept the ENERGY high!!!!!!!!!. He kept me informed about what was coming up! (I needed it!) Toward the end, he took requests, and played the old school awesomeness, and hip hop classics that we all know and love! We had so much fun, Everyone LOVED him!!! Danced for days!!!
Amazing DJ, laid back, cool, easy to work with, BEST GUY AROUND! Would use him again in half a heartbeat!!!
EVERYONE absolutely loved Jim "The Music Guys" Dunham! (dot com) From the very beginning. He was just so nice, and easy to Read more...
EVERYONE absolutely loved Jim "The Music Guys" Dunham! (dot com) From the very beginning. He was just so nice, and easy to talk to, and not salesman annoying. (Huge part for me)
I had a destination wedding, when I booked his services, he was very helpful with everything WEDDING!!! (And willing to travel!) He asked about things I hadn't thought about, helped me plan the music and the timing of my wedding and reception! He would call me every once in awhile just to make sure I was doing OK, and if I needed help with anything! I'm not going to lie, there were times I was freaking out with all the pressure. Whenever I called Jim about my current freak, he always helped me down from the crazy I presented him. If he was busy, he called me back ASAP! His customer service is top notch!
A very important part (I thought) of my wedding was my entrance with my dad. I played "The Reason," redone by Vitamin String Quartet. It was one of the most poignant moments of my life, and with Jim the timing and music were perfect! (Outstanding!!!) During my wedding reception he kept things ROCKING and Rolling, kept the ENERGY high!!!!!!!!!. He kept me informed about what was coming up! (I needed it!) Toward the end, he took requests, and played the old school awesomeness, and hip hop classics that we all know and love! We had so much fun, Everyone LOVED him!!! Danced for days!!!
Amazing DJ, laid back, cool, easy to work with, BEST GUY AROUND! Would use him again in half a heartbeat!!! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dede
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
The DJ:
-helps you pick out music
-always there to help answer any questions and help you out
-Very friendly
-has a nice set up with equipment
-the love story that you have the option of doing is well worth it and turns out great...I LOVED it!!
The DJ:
-helps you pick out music
-always there to help answer any questions and help you out
-Very Read more...
The DJ:
-helps you pick out music
-always there to help answer any questions and help you out
-Very friendly
-has a nice set up with equipment
-the love story that you have the option of doing is well worth it and turns out great...I LOVED it!! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hayden
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Jim had me at hello, and it wasn't bc of his sexy radio voice. Literally, I didn't even bother calling another DJ service. His exuberant personality, professionalism, charm and character exuded over the phone lines. I pretty much asked,"how much?" He should have charged me more. I would have paid a lot more. He played all of the songs (90% eighties), that this bride wanted to hear to make her day memorable including the ones dedicated to my late father. He also included music to make the reception fun for people of all ages in attendance. He also surprised me with a video of the dance floor hopping like it's the 4th of July, which I cherish to this day and consider very thoughtful. Jim's definitely down with OPP
Jim had me at hello, and it wasn't bc of his sexy radio voice. Literally, I didn't even bother calling another DJ service. Read more...
Jim had me at hello, and it wasn't bc of his sexy radio voice. Literally, I didn't even bother calling another DJ service. His exuberant personality, professionalism, charm and character exuded over the phone lines. I pretty much asked,"how much?" He should have charged me more. I would have paid a lot more. He played all of the songs (90% eighties), that this bride wanted to hear to make her day memorable including the ones dedicated to my late father. He also included music to make the reception fun for people of all ages in attendance. He also surprised me with a video of the dance floor hopping like it's the 4th of July, which I cherish to this day and consider very thoughtful. Jim's definitely down with OPP Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Holly
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Jim was incredibly easy to work with. He was always available to answer my questions or concerns and even had input when I was indecisive. The reception was a BLAST! He really knew how to get people dancing as well as when to slow it down a bit. I loved the option of "The Love Story". It was a very unique and personal touch to our reception. Plus my husband and I had fun answering the questions provided for the love story. It offered up many laughs and wonderful memories. The online guest request was useful as well. Our guests were able to have input on what they wanted to hear at the reception. I would absolutely recommend The Music Guys to any bride and groom looking for a stress free DJ event. Thank you again Jim!!
Jim was incredibly easy to work with. He was always available to answer my questions or concerns and even had input when I Read more...
Jim was incredibly easy to work with. He was always available to answer my questions or concerns and even had input when I was indecisive. The reception was a BLAST! He really knew how to get people dancing as well as when to slow it down a bit. I loved the option of "The Love Story". It was a very unique and personal touch to our reception. Plus my husband and I had fun answering the questions provided for the love story. It offered up many laughs and wonderful memories. The online guest request was useful as well. Our guests were able to have input on what they wanted to hear at the reception. I would absolutely recommend The Music Guys to any bride and groom looking for a stress free DJ event. Thank you again Jim!! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
My reception was awesome thanks to Jim Dunham! My friends and I danced all night long and whenever someone I know gets engaged I always refer The Music Guys!
My reception was awesome thanks to Jim Dunham! My friends and I danced all night long and whenever someone I know gets Read more...
My reception was awesome thanks to Jim Dunham! My friends and I danced all night long and whenever someone I know gets engaged I always refer The Music Guys! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meredith
Wedding:
6/20/2012
5.0/5.0
He DJd my wedding 5 years ago and I still remember how much fun we had. He is very easy to work with and does a great job!
He DJd my wedding 5 years ago and I still remember how much fun we had. He is very easy to work with and does a great job! Read more...
He DJd my wedding 5 years ago and I still remember how much fun we had. He is very easy to work with and does a great job! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Wonderful and easy to work with! Listened to all my ideas and made great suggestions! Would definitely use him again!!
Wonderful and easy to work with! Listened to all my ideas and made great suggestions! Would definitely use him again!!
Wonderful and easy to work with! Listened to all my ideas and made great suggestions! Would definitely use him again!! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tom
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Jim goes so far above and beyond providing music that I feel that it would be unfair to refer to him as a DJ. Every facet of his service is designed to ensure that the occasion is memorable for everyone involved. I do not have room to give the review he deserves. I will say that two years after my wedding I have no clue how much I paid for his services, but I clearly remember what a great time everyone had at the reception. I would reccomend the music guys without hesitation.
Jim goes so far above and beyond providing music that I feel that it would be unfair to refer to him as a DJ. Every facet Read more...
Jim goes so far above and beyond providing music that I feel that it would be unfair to refer to him as a DJ. Every facet of his service is designed to ensure that the occasion is memorable for everyone involved. I do not have room to give the review he deserves. I will say that two years after my wedding I have no clue how much I paid for his services, but I clearly remember what a great time everyone had at the reception. I would reccomend the music guys without hesitation. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
Jim was amazing !! He helped me with all of my reception planning and it went off without a hitch even with a last minute change due to bad weather he totally pulled through!! It was the best night of our lives!! Our friends still bring up the awesome music and dancing !!!
Jim was amazing !! He helped me with all of my reception planning and it went off without a hitch even with a last minute Read more...
Jim was amazing !! He helped me with all of my reception planning and it went off without a hitch even with a last minute change due to bad weather he totally pulled through!! It was the best night of our lives!! Our friends still bring up the awesome music and dancing !!! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
krissa
Wedding:
4/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Jim is by far the best I've seen in a while. He is so entertaining, really gets the people involved and made the wedding so much fun. I would highly recommend him for any occassion.
Jim is by far the best I've seen in a while. He is so entertaining, really gets the people involved and made the wedding Read more...
Jim is by far the best I've seen in a while. He is so entertaining, really gets the people involved and made the wedding so much fun. I would highly recommend him for any occassion. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were so pleased with Jim/The Music Guys! He did a fantastic job at our wedding reception and we would definitely recommend him!
My husband and I were so pleased with Jim/The Music Guys! He did a fantastic job at our wedding reception and we would Read more...
My husband and I were so pleased with Jim/The Music Guys! He did a fantastic job at our wedding reception and we would definitely recommend him! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
7/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Awesome job, The Music Guys did a perfect job at our reception and people still tell us 3 years later how much they enjoyed our music and DJ. I have referred several people and will continue to do so in the future.
Awesome job, The Music Guys did a perfect job at our reception and people still tell us 3 years later how much they Read more...
Awesome job, The Music Guys did a perfect job at our reception and people still tell us 3 years later how much they enjoyed our music and DJ. I have referred several people and will continue to do so in the future. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Bg22
April
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Jim was the BOMB! My wedding was outside at 2:00pm in the afternoon so as you can imagine I didn't have very high hopes of anyone dancing, but low and behold Jim managed to have the dance floor packed. He was extremely professional, responded to all of my emails in a very timely matter (literally within the hour of me emailing him), and totally fit our budget! He played all the songs I recommended and didn't play any of the songs on my "do not play" list. I also greatly appreciated the fact that Jim basically became our wedding planner for the reception. He made sure everything such as the garter toss, bouquet toss, cake cutting etc. happened when it was supposed to so it wasn't weighing on my shoulders. Considering that I had a very low budget a lot of the responsibilities of my wedding fell on me, but during my reception I was able to totally relax and enjoy myself and let Jim take care of everything. I wish I could upload a video on here of the dance floor during my reception because I guarantee you every one of you would be dying to book Jim. Trust me when I say to choose Jim you will not be let down!
Jim was the BOMB! My wedding was outside at 2:00pm in the afternoon so as you can imagine I didn't have very high hopes of Read more...
Jim was the BOMB! My wedding was outside at 2:00pm in the afternoon so as you can imagine I didn't have very high hopes of anyone dancing, but low and behold Jim managed to have the dance floor packed. He was extremely professional, responded to all of my emails in a very timely matter (literally within the hour of me emailing him), and totally fit our budget! He played all the songs I recommended and didn't play any of the songs on my "do not play" list. I also greatly appreciated the fact that Jim basically became our wedding planner for the reception. He made sure everything such as the garter toss, bouquet toss, cake cutting etc. happened when it was supposed to so it wasn't weighing on my shoulders. Considering that I had a very low budget a lot of the responsibilities of my wedding fell on me, but during my reception I was able to totally relax and enjoy myself and let Jim take care of everything. I wish I could upload a video on here of the dance floor during my reception because I guarantee you every one of you would be dying to book Jim. Trust me when I say to choose Jim you will not be let down! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
1/8/2011
5.0/5.0
When I was engaged and searching for a DJ my two main concerns were cost and entertainment. I didn't have a large budget to spend but I still wanted to find the right DJ that would make our reception fun. My husband and I were so lucky to have found both qualities in The Music Guys! From day one Jim went above and beyond to make sure all of my bridal needs were met and made sure that all the details of my reception were just the way I wanted them to be. We had such a blast at my reception and The Music Guys were even able to get some of the elderly guests at my wedding up and moving. He made our "Love Story" segment at our wedding so personalized and it was such a great moment for us and our guests. I've been married 3 1/2 years and Jim is still a Facebook friend of mine and keeps in touch as he has watched my family grow! I can't recommend The Music Guys enough! Thanks Jim!
When I was engaged and searching for a DJ my two main concerns were cost and entertainment. I didn't have a large budget Read more...
When I was engaged and searching for a DJ my two main concerns were cost and entertainment. I didn't have a large budget to spend but I still wanted to find the right DJ that would make our reception fun. My husband and I were so lucky to have found both qualities in The Music Guys! From day one Jim went above and beyond to make sure all of my bridal needs were met and made sure that all the details of my reception were just the way I wanted them to be. We had such a blast at my reception and The Music Guys were even able to get some of the elderly guests at my wedding up and moving. He made our "Love Story" segment at our wedding so personalized and it was such a great moment for us and our guests. I've been married 3 1/2 years and Jim is still a Facebook friend of mine and keeps in touch as he has watched my family grow! I can't recommend The Music Guys enough! Thanks Jim! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
10/24/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband (then fiance) and I were in a car accident two months before the wedding. I was okay, but he suffered a broken knee that required surgery and immobilization for two months (he got out of the wheelchair literally two days before the wedding, and had to sit on a stool during the ceremony). During those two months, I was finalizing wedding plans, working full time, and transporting him to and from his job every day - and his work hours were different from mine. Needless to say, I was spread a little thin as the wedding approached! My parents finally vetoed my plan to hook up an iPod for music at the wedding and called Jim. He was SO kind and helpful to me! It took a massive weight off my shoulders, and he did a great job livening up my afternoon wedding crowd.
My husband (then fiance) and I were in a car accident two months before the wedding. I was okay, but he suffered a broken Read more...
My husband (then fiance) and I were in a car accident two months before the wedding. I was okay, but he suffered a broken knee that required surgery and immobilization for two months (he got out of the wheelchair literally two days before the wedding, and had to sit on a stool during the ceremony). During those two months, I was finalizing wedding plans, working full time, and transporting him to and from his job every day - and his work hours were different from mine. Needless to say, I was spread a little thin as the wedding approached! My parents finally vetoed my plan to hook up an iPod for music at the wedding and called Jim. He was SO kind and helpful to me! It took a massive weight off my shoulders, and he did a great job livening up my afternoon wedding crowd. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Corinne
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
The music guys were awesome! Jim took the time to really get to know My husband and I! We went to lunch and he gave us great advice as fat as choosing music that we would like as well as our guests! He did a hilarious story about my husband and I at our wedding that was so funny and unique! I loved it!! I have recommended the music guys to everyone!
The music guys were awesome! Jim took the time to really get to know My husband and I! We went to lunch and he gave us Read more...
The music guys were awesome! Jim took the time to really get to know My husband and I! We went to lunch and he gave us great advice as fat as choosing music that we would like as well as our guests! He did a hilarious story about my husband and I at our wedding that was so funny and unique! I loved it!! I have recommended the music guys to everyone! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KimandAaron
Wedding:
7/31/2010
5.0/5.0
Jim was an amazing addition to our wedding day! He knows how to get the party started and kept the energy up all night long. Everyone we know raved about what an awesome DJ we had at our wedding. I couldn't say better things about Jim!
Jim was an amazing addition to our wedding day! He knows how to get the party started and kept the energy up all night Read more...
Jim was an amazing addition to our wedding day! He knows how to get the party started and kept the energy up all night long. Everyone we know raved about what an awesome DJ we had at our wedding. I couldn't say better things about Jim! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
7/18/2010
5.0/5.0
The Music Guys played all of the songs I requested, and they kept my guests out on the dance floor.
The Music Guys played all of the songs I requested, and they kept my guests out on the dance floor.
The Music Guys played all of the songs I requested, and they kept my guests out on the dance floor. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Patience
Wedding:
6/19/2010
5.0/5.0
Best DJ ever! Made my wedding a memorable event - with perfect picks based on my husband and I, as well as our guests! Knew how to get everyone dancing! Don't bother picking anyone else. This is THE ONE!
Best DJ ever! Made my wedding a memorable event - with perfect picks based on my husband and I, as well as our guests! Read more...
Best DJ ever! Made my wedding a memorable event - with perfect picks based on my husband and I, as well as our guests! Knew how to get everyone dancing! Don't bother picking anyone else. This is THE ONE! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
Jim did an AWESOME job and everyone had such a great time. I would recommend The Music Guys to anyone that wants to have their event be super memorable and loves to have a good time. The Music Guys are definitely the best around.
Jim did an AWESOME job and everyone had such a great time. I would recommend The Music Guys to anyone that wants to have Read more...
Jim did an AWESOME job and everyone had such a great time. I would recommend The Music Guys to anyone that wants to have their event be super memorable and loves to have a good time. The Music Guys are definitely the best around. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristina
Wedding:
11/21/2009
5.0/5.0
Our 5 year anniversary will be this November. When I look back at my reception one thing sticks out to me, our DJ. He did something that I have never to this day seen at a wedding reception. He told our love story! He took a little information from myself and my husband and turned it into a beautiful, funny, entertaining, and spot on story about how we got to our wedding day. I still get compliments about how great it was 5 years later! Do yourself a favor and stop looking for a DJ because you can't get any better than this one!
Our 5 year anniversary will be this November. When I look back at my reception one thing sticks out to me, our DJ. He did Read more...
Our 5 year anniversary will be this November. When I look back at my reception one thing sticks out to me, our DJ. He did something that I have never to this day seen at a wedding reception. He told our love story! He took a little information from myself and my husband and turned it into a beautiful, funny, entertaining, and spot on story about how we got to our wedding day. I still get compliments about how great it was 5 years later! Do yourself a favor and stop looking for a DJ because you can't get any better than this one! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brian
Wedding:
9/20/2008
5.0/5.0
1) Quality of Service: 5.0 In a word, OUTSTANDING. In more words, just great, everything went off without a hitch. The songs we requested were worked in as they could be and everyone had a blast. In fact, if you're not worn out from the good time you'll have, I'd suggest seeing a doctor, because you have no pulse. 2) Responsiveness: 5.0 Prompt and professional throughout the whole process, from song selection to helping orchestrate the flow of the wedding. 3) Professionalism: 5.0 He listened to what my wife wanted, he played the music I wanted and he treated our guests with respect. What more could I ask for? 4) Value: 5.0 For the amount of money we paid, we got much more than our money’s worth. I’m sure his rates have probably gone up since our wedding in 2008 but I can assure you he’s worth it! 5) Flexibility: I would give him a 10, but the highest I can give is 5.0 Jim is based in Alabama and our wedding was in Texas. But I knew I wanted him after seeing him perform before and he made the trip to perform at my wedding reception. The bottom line is that we had a WONDERFUL time and a TERRIFIC reception. In conclusion, if you HIRE The Music Guys, your party will be the talk of the town for years to come.
1) Quality of Service: 5.0 In a word, OUTSTANDING. In more words, just great, everything went off without a hitch. The Read more...
1) Quality of Service: 5.0 In a word, OUTSTANDING. In more words, just great, everything went off without a hitch. The songs we requested were worked in as they could be and everyone had a blast. In fact, if you're not worn out from the good time you'll have, I'd suggest seeing a doctor, because you have no pulse. 2) Responsiveness: 5.0 Prompt and professional throughout the whole process, from song selection to helping orchestrate the flow of the wedding. 3) Professionalism: 5.0 He listened to what my wife wanted, he played the music I wanted and he treated our guests with respect. What more could I ask for? 4) Value: 5.0 For the amount of money we paid, we got much more than our money’s worth. I’m sure his rates have probably gone up since our wedding in 2008 but I can assure you he’s worth it! 5) Flexibility: I would give him a 10, but the highest I can give is 5.0 Jim is based in Alabama and our wedding was in Texas. But I knew I wanted him after seeing him perform before and he made the trip to perform at my wedding reception. The bottom line is that we had a WONDERFUL time and a TERRIFIC reception. In conclusion, if you HIRE The Music Guys, your party will be the talk of the town for years to come. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
8/16/2008
5.0/5.0
Jim Dunham with The Music Guys is AMAZING!! He played all sorts of music and made our wedding reception so memorable! Everyone was dancing and enjoying themselves. His professionalism is unbeatable and he went above and beyond to make sure we were getting exactly what we paid for. Would highly recommend him to anyone!
Jim Dunham with The Music Guys is AMAZING!! He played all sorts of music and made our wedding reception so memorable! Read more...
Jim Dunham with The Music Guys is AMAZING!! He played all sorts of music and made our wedding reception so memorable! Everyone was dancing and enjoying themselves. His professionalism is unbeatable and he went above and beyond to make sure we were getting exactly what we paid for. Would highly recommend him to anyone! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mandy
Wedding:
4/5/2008
5.0/5.0
Very easy to work out. Took all our suggestions and made for a successful wedding reception! My favorite part was the "love story" he put together for me and my husband. Something I will never forget:)
Very easy to work out. Took all our suggestions and made for a successful wedding reception! My favorite part was the Read more...
Very easy to work out. Took all our suggestions and made for a successful wedding reception! My favorite part was the "love story" he put together for me and my husband. Something I will never forget:) Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bryan
Wedding:
3/31/2007
5.0/5.0
We couldn't have asked for a better DJ/Entertainer to host our wedding reception! The Music Guys were professional, engaging, comedic, and an all around excellent choice for our event and we highly recommend them! You can't go wrong with The Music Guys! A+!!!
We couldn't have asked for a better DJ/Entertainer to host our wedding reception! The Music Guys were professional, Read more...
We couldn't have asked for a better DJ/Entertainer to host our wedding reception! The Music Guys were professional, engaging, comedic, and an all around excellent choice for our event and we highly recommend them! You can't go wrong with The Music Guys! A+!!! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
Jim Dunham was a great DJ for our wedding! We couldn't get people off the dance floor! Both families love to dance so that definitely helped but Jim's music selections were great!! He played our must-haves and threw in some of his own stuff. Our reception was a blast!
Jim Dunham was a great DJ for our wedding! We couldn't get people off the dance floor! Both families love to dance so that Read more...
Jim Dunham was a great DJ for our wedding! We couldn't get people off the dance floor! Both families love to dance so that definitely helped but Jim's music selections were great!! He played our must-haves and threw in some of his own stuff. Our reception was a blast! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lsmith84
Wedding:
10/20/2007
4.5/5.0
Jim Dunham is the onwer of The Music Guys, DJ service based out of Montgomery, AL.
He was great! Played everything I asked him to, and didnt play songs that I requested I DIDNT want to hear.
During the reception, not one person was sitting down. My 90yr old great-grandmother was even dancing!

He was professional, did a great job with the "love story" (the couples story that he tells to music).

I enjoyed it!
Jim Dunham is the onwer of The Music Guys, DJ service based out of Montgomery, AL.
He was great! Played everything I Read more...
Jim Dunham is the onwer of The Music Guys, DJ service based out of Montgomery, AL.
He was great! Played everything I asked him to, and didnt play songs that I requested I DIDNT want to hear.
During the reception, not one person was sitting down. My 90yr old great-grandmother was even dancing!

He was professional, did a great job with the "love story" (the couples story that he tells to music).

I enjoyed it! Read less
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
621 Belser Court, Pike Road, AL 36064 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Music Guys
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1362761183991-13627609757314243181015099747838586332749584n