130x130 sq 1362761183991 13627609757314243181015099747838586332749584n

The Music Guys

Pike Road , AL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

621 Belser Court
Pike Road, AL 36064 US (map)

PHONE

334-312-3991

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Wedding DJ Specialist Jim Dunham has played in front of more than half a million people since he first stepped behind the turntables in 1985. Today he is known for his fun-filled parties... Read more
Wedding DJ Specialist Jim Dunham has played in front of more than half a million people since he first stepped behind the turntables in 1985. Today he is known for his fun-filled parties that pack the dance floor with energy and enthusiasm and his amazing customer service. His secret is to cater each event to fit the individual wants and needs of the host and their guests by determining what is most important to them. Through careful listening and planning, every event becomes an amazing party for the young and the young-at-heart.

Contact Jim today to find out what he can do for you to make your event a unique and exciting one that your guests will remember fondly for years to come! Feel free to call me at 334-312-3991 or drop me an email at jim@themusicguys.com. Read less
DJ , Ceremony Music

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1415725773303 600x6001362760975731 42431810150997478385863327495
130x130 sq 1415725775762 600x6001362760996973 76432e0593be7ec5a41bc9cbabccd
130x130 sq 1415725777575 600x6001362761011262 764329dd8032c891d4614af94a074
130x130 sq 1415725779342 600x6001362761026289 7643250edef8b8af548ac8ba6fa18
130x130 sq 1415725781042 600x6001362761036867 7643276cf445e375e4b7cbf791393
130x130 sq 1415726179992 1
130x130 sq 1415726247716 2
130x130 sq 1415726306153 3
130x130 sq 1415728248389 1
130x130 sq 1415728257110 2
130x130 sq 1415728264250 3
130x130 sq 1415728269702 4
130x130 sq 1415728274482 1

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Is there a limit to the amount of music that can be requested?
Not at all. I've had people submit pages of requests. A good average number is 25 songs (not including "special event" songs like ceremony music, First Dances, Cake Cutting songs, etc.). You want to leave room for your guests' requests and songs that I know will work based on the makeup of your guests. But this is YOUR day, YOUR way. And one thing I tell all of my clients ... I will be honest as I go over your list of requests. I will tell you what will work and what won't, if you have too much of one genre and generally serve as your guide to make sure that you have the best party ever.
What is your usual attire?
90% of the time I wear a formal tuxedo. Honestly, that's what I'm comfortable in! If the reception is outdoors in the summer, I ditch the coat and wear a vest. 5% of the time I wear a suit. And the remaining 5% of the time, I wear what you want me to wear. Some brides want a very casual and laid back affair or have a beach theme and I dress appropriately for those.
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
If a song is commercially available, I will secure it. There have been a few occasions where the requests have been out of print for several years and I've had to borrow the client's copy.
How many other DJs do you work with?
Technically, The Music Guys is just myself, Jim Dunham. Early on I used assistants but I'm a perfectionist and those relationships didn't work out as I envisioned. However, I am good friends with several of the top DJs in the area and we help each other out when needed so I do "work" with them. But when you hire The Music Guys, you will have Jim Dunham, the owner of the company, performing at your reception.
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
Because you are purchasing a date on my calendar and not a set amount of hours, per se, I will play for as little or as long as you would like ... but the price remains the same. The average length of my wedding packages are five hours. But if you're just looking for a DJ to play two hours on a Saturday in order to save money, I'm not your DJ. Honestly, it takes two hours just to get your guests warmed up to the point that they're ready to dance!
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
I always prefer doing just that. If the client is within the River Region, I enjoy meeting in a public place (for both of our safety) where we can discuss your wedding day without being pushed to leave before we're finished. The most wonderful place to meet in my eyes is Jason's Deli. Large tables to spread out my materials, delicious food, nobody forcing you to leave after an hour and free ice cream! But wherever is convenient for you is where we meet.
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
Honestly, no. Certain cultures have various traditional ceremonies within their events and I'm not familiar with them and wouldn't feel comfortable guaranteeing you that I could do a great job for you.
Can the client submit a do-not-play list?
Of course! I know that there are songs that bring bad memories up for some people and those are the songs that I suggest you put on a Do Not Play List. I would stay away from songs you "hate" or think are "cheesy". A recent bride did not want "group participation dances" like the Cupid Shuffle or Cha Cha Slide because they were played at every wedding. I told her the reason they're played at every wedding is that's where people hear these songs. They expect to hear these songs. She stood firm and I agreed to not play them and within 20 minutes of her dance period, she had to cave on her decision because every one of her guests were begging to dance to them. Afterwards she laughed and said she should have listened to me and she was then convinced I knew what I was doing!
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes, I have all the equipment needed to provide the party of your dreams. From a professional sound system to lights to wireless microphones, I will bring it all.
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
A lighting system of four different lights is included with your price. A mirror ball, a Moonflower and two Laser Lights that project patterns on the ceiling and walls. For an additional fee, you can receive gobos (Monograms on the dance floor) and uplighting.
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
On average, load-in and set-up take about 30 minutes but I always arrive at least one hour prior to our agreed upon start time. I DO ask that the client or venue provide me with a 6-8 foot table with a tablecloth. If this is an issue, please let me know and I can make other arrangements to have these provided.
Do you have any extra space requirements?
Not at all. I prefer being as close to the dance floor as possible as people are more apt to make requests if they don't have to walk far.
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
No. I personally think they're tacky. If your guests want to know who I am or want more information I have business cards at my table and can answer any questions but I prefer to do this AFTER the event is over so as to not distract me from my job.
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
I emcee when it's required ... setting up the garter and bouquet toss, introducing special dances, announcing the grand entrance. When open dancing begins, I "coax" people out on the dance floor with a variety of suggestions (I don't want to give away ALL my secrets here!) Once I have a dance floor built, I quietly come off the microphone and let the guests enjoy the music.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
There are a variety of ways that I do this. I prefer not to share them on a public site like this as they're simple but unique ideas that can be easily implemented by other "newer" DJs to enhance their shows. I will say that getting people to dance is usually the least of my worries because it just doesn't happen. If you want the true answer to this question, I can give it to you face-to-face. And once you hear it, you'll be amazed at how simple it is but also how effective it is!
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
I do not take breaks. No professional DJ does. I do not need a meal break. I know that catering can be expensive and I know my services aren't cheap so I'm not asking for anything else from you. I drink water at every event and normally provide it myself but if you were to have a couple of bottles of ice cold water waiting for me, I'm not promising anything ... but there might be a hug in store for you.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
Not applicable. No breaks. You're not paying me to take breaks!
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
I am friends with the top DJs in the area. Recently, I had a stay in the hospital and after debating on letting me go, the doctors decided to keep me in the hospital and I missed my wedding. One of my best friends in this business and a well respected member of the DJ community asked if he could help me out. He was off that evening and said he'd be more than happy to fill in. The end result was he did the party with a few hours notice and I got all the forms to him including song requests, the Love Story and agendas. He rocked that wedding reception and the couple was thrilled. I hated to miss the party but honestly, they got more than their money's worth with my replacement. And that is the ONE party I have missed since 1985. I have DJ'ed with dislocated knees, broken elbows, kidney stones and even a mini-stroke. Finished the evening each time. Your party's success is the most important thing to me. Because if it's not a success, I won't have a business that I love for very long!
Do you book yourself for more than one event in a day?
The only time I do this is with early morning charity events. I've worked with the Joy To Life Foundation for several years because my family has been affected by breast cancer. It normally runs from 7-11 am. And because it's always on a Saturday in April, I always have a wedding that evening. But I am allowed enough time to go home, rest for a bit and then get to that evening's wedding. So the answer is yes, but I want at least 4-6 hours between events to recuperate from the earlier one.
What is your overtime rate?
The rate I charge is for unlimited hours. You tell me when to start and when to stop. There is no overtime rate. However, I will say that if we're on our 8th hour, nobody has danced for several hours and we're down to three people drinking at a table, the party's officially over and I'm going to suggest that you let me leave. So far, nobody has ever abused the unlimited hours!
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
If your party will be 45 miles or more outside the Montgomery area, I normally charge a flat fee of $50. Anything within those 45 miles is free.
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
Currently, I ask for a signed contract and $250 in order to secure your date. The rest of your balance is due two weeks BEFORE your wedding date. Like most wedding vendors, I do require payment in full up front.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
William
Wedding:
11/1/2014
5.0/5.0
Jim was professional, extremely nice, and did a fantastic job!
Jim was professional, extremely nice, and did a fantastic job!
Jim was professional, extremely nice, and did a fantastic job! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
William
Wedding:
11/1/2014
5.0/5.0
Jim was an excellent, energetic, exciting DJ that listens to what his customers want and then creates the perfect picture of what you have in mind.
Jim was an excellent, energetic, exciting DJ that listens to what his customers want and then creates the perfect picture Read more...
Jim was an excellent, energetic, exciting DJ that listens to what his customers want and then creates the perfect picture of what you have in mind. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Ellen
Wedding:
10/18/2014
5.0/5.0
He was fantastic! He kept everyone up and moving during the reception. Afterwards everyone said it was one of the best receptions they'd ever been to. I would definitely recommend booking the Music Guys for a wedding reception.
He was fantastic! He kept everyone up and moving during the reception. Afterwards everyone said it was one of the best Read more...
He was fantastic! He kept everyone up and moving during the reception. Afterwards everyone said it was one of the best receptions they'd ever been to. I would definitely recommend booking the Music Guys for a wedding reception. Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Kendra
Wedding:
9/28/2014
5.0/5.0
Our original wedding date had to be moved. Jim was very understanding about it and he was still able to be our DJ. At first I was just going to have him be our DJ for the reception but then the venue we picked was such that Jim could do our ceremony music as well. He did an awesome job with everything! He was able to get everyone up and dancing which I was slightly surprised about since most of the guests were on the older side (mainly just uncles and aunts came, some cousins and friends). I had asked Jim if he could play a song that I wanted to sing to (for my parents) and he was able to do so. My mother loved it when I sang. I could not have asked for a better DJ. I love Jim! His personality fit perfectly with mine and what I wanted our DJ to be like.
Our original wedding date had to be moved. Jim was very understanding about it and he was still able to be our DJ. At Read more...
Our original wedding date had to be moved. Jim was very understanding about it and he was still able to be our DJ. At first I was just going to have him be our DJ for the reception but then the venue we picked was such that Jim could do our ceremony music as well. He did an awesome job with everything! He was able to get everyone up and dancing which I was slightly surprised about since most of the guests were on the older side (mainly just uncles and aunts came, some cousins and friends). I had asked Jim if he could play a song that I wanted to sing to (for my parents) and he was able to do so. My mother loved it when I sang. I could not have asked for a better DJ. I love Jim! His personality fit perfectly with mine and what I wanted our DJ to be like. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Britaney
Wedding:
9/20/2014
5.0/5.0
Jim was absolutely incredible! My wedding was so entertaining and fun without a single dull moment! He really takes his job as a DJ seriously and does everything he can to make sure your big day is all you want it to be, while still keeping your guests happy. He really knows how to make any wedding a perfect day!
Jim was absolutely incredible! My wedding was so entertaining and fun without a single dull moment! He really takes his Read more...
Jim was absolutely incredible! My wedding was so entertaining and fun without a single dull moment! He really takes his job as a DJ seriously and does everything he can to make sure your big day is all you want it to be, while still keeping your guests happy. He really knows how to make any wedding a perfect day! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Britaney
Wedding:
9/20/2014
5.0/5.0
Jim was absolutely incredible! My wedding was so entertaining and fun without a single dull moment! He really takes his job as a DJ seriously and does everything he can to make sure your big day is all you want it to be, while still keeping your guests happy. He really knows how to make any wedding a perfect day!
Jim was absolutely incredible! My wedding was so entertaining and fun without a single dull moment! He really takes his Read more...
Jim was absolutely incredible! My wedding was so entertaining and fun without a single dull moment! He really takes his job as a DJ seriously and does everything he can to make sure your big day is all you want it to be, while still keeping your guests happy. He really knows how to make any wedding a perfect day! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Denise
Wedding:
9/13/2014
5.0/5.0
Jim, I need to thank you for what an amazing job you did and how you made our wedding and reception absolutely spectacular. I can't count how many times I was asked "Who is the DJ!? He was AMAZING!" Every single person had stated that it was The BEST WEDDING RECEPTION they had EVER been to. And trust me I can tell when our friends and family are just being kind versus being honest. I must add, that my father was a traveling DJ who DJ'd weddings, clubs and café's. I have met a ton of DJ's and honestly, you blew away any DJ I have ever met/heard.

You spent SO MUCH time organizing our timeline and getting the details just right. We could not have done it without you. While preparing for the wedding, it was mentioned multiple times that unfortunately we didn't have a "wedding coordinator" but that it didn't matter because "our DJ was amazing and even better than a coordinator". Thank you for all your hard work and dedication to our big day!!!!

Denise Viapiano - The Stables at Russell Lands, Alexander City, AL
Jim, I need to thank you for what an amazing job you did and how you made our wedding and reception absolutely Read more...
Jim, I need to thank you for what an amazing job you did and how you made our wedding and reception absolutely spectacular. I can't count how many times I was asked "Who is the DJ!? He was AMAZING!" Every single person had stated that it was The BEST WEDDING RECEPTION they had EVER been to. And trust me I can tell when our friends and family are just being kind versus being honest. I must add, that my father was a traveling DJ who DJ'd weddings, clubs and café's. I have met a ton of DJ's and honestly, you blew away any DJ I have ever met/heard.

You spent SO MUCH time organizing our timeline and getting the details just right. We could not have done it without you. While preparing for the wedding, it was mentioned multiple times that unfortunately we didn't have a "wedding coordinator" but that it didn't matter because "our DJ was amazing and even better than a coordinator". Thank you for all your hard work and dedication to our big day!!!!

Denise Viapiano - The Stables at Russell Lands, Alexander City, AL Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Amanda
Wedding:
8/23/2014
5.0/5.0
Jim Dunham is an amazing DJ! I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ. I have witnessed him play at several of my friends weddings, as well as my own. Additionally, he was the DJ at the very first ball my husband and I attend nearly 5 years ago when we first starting dating. He knows how to make a wedding reception run so smooth and on point. It was such a huge sigh of relief to leave things in his very capable hands. He is highly organized, easy to contact/speak with, and an absolute pleasure to work with. He really did help to take some of the wedding planning stress away! Also he knows how to throw a party, and keep the party atmosphere alive through the whole evening - Let my no alcohol, inside a church venue, on the HOTTEST day of the year reception be the ultimate example of just how good he is. My guests have been raving about how much fun they had and what a blast our reception was. Thank you Jim for providing us with so many wonderful memories!!
Jim Dunham is an amazing DJ! I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ. I have witnessed him play at several Read more...
Jim Dunham is an amazing DJ! I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ. I have witnessed him play at several of my friends weddings, as well as my own. Additionally, he was the DJ at the very first ball my husband and I attend nearly 5 years ago when we first starting dating. He knows how to make a wedding reception run so smooth and on point. It was such a huge sigh of relief to leave things in his very capable hands. He is highly organized, easy to contact/speak with, and an absolute pleasure to work with. He really did help to take some of the wedding planning stress away! Also he knows how to throw a party, and keep the party atmosphere alive through the whole evening - Let my no alcohol, inside a church venue, on the HOTTEST day of the year reception be the ultimate example of just how good he is. My guests have been raving about how much fun they had and what a blast our reception was. Thank you Jim for providing us with so many wonderful memories!! Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Stacin
Wedding:
7/19/2014
5.0/5.0
Jim Dunham of the Music Guys was amazing! He was recommended to me when I was looking for a DJ for my wedding while I was attending class out of state and he communicated with me throughout the entire planning process. Jim planned a timeline for our entire reception and his signature "Love Story" was loved by everyone who attended. We have had multiple people who have told us Jim was the best DJ of any wedding they had been to and they loved how much fun he made the reception as well as how much fun Jim seemed to have while DJing our event. He kept the dance floor full!

We have had a few people ask for Jim's information to help plan their future events and we HIGHLY recommend him! Thank you Jim Dunham!
Jim Dunham of the Music Guys was amazing! He was recommended to me when I was looking for a DJ for my wedding while I was Read more...
Jim Dunham of the Music Guys was amazing! He was recommended to me when I was looking for a DJ for my wedding while I was attending class out of state and he communicated with me throughout the entire planning process. Jim planned a timeline for our entire reception and his signature "Love Story" was loved by everyone who attended. We have had multiple people who have told us Jim was the best DJ of any wedding they had been to and they loved how much fun he made the reception as well as how much fun Jim seemed to have while DJing our event. He kept the dance floor full!

We have had a few people ask for Jim's information to help plan their future events and we HIGHLY recommend him! Thank you Jim Dunham! Read less
Services Used: DJ
Default vendor profile pic
Ashley
Wedding:
6/28/2014
5.0/5.0
The Music Guys did more than I could have ever imagined! Jim truly was amazing, and I'm so thankful for finding him. He listened to my wants and needs, and he also gave his opinion with allowing me to still choose in the end. He sent out emails monthly, then he sent them weekly closer to the wedding. It was almost as if he was reading my mind about my stresses and concerns, because each of his emails hit on everything! His music request system is easy to use and is up to date with all of the new music. My husband and I have very eclectic taste in music, and Jim worked with us on getting music he didn't already have. He also does a Love Story which is FANTASTIC! We loved it so much! He told our story of our relationship for our guests who may not have known everything about us. My wedding was at 2:30pm, and he get an entire dance floor dancing for 4 hours nonstop! All of my guests kept asking me where I found him and how great he was. Word of advice, a good DJ is the best way to spend your budget, and The Music Guys is the way to go.
The Music Guys did more than I could have ever imagined! Jim truly was amazing, and I'm so thankful for finding him. He Read more...
The Music Guys did more than I could have ever imagined! Jim truly was amazing, and I'm so thankful for finding him. He listened to my wants and needs, and he also gave his opinion with allowing me to still choose in the end. He sent out emails monthly, then he sent them weekly closer to the wedding. It was almost as if he was reading my mind about my stresses and concerns, because each of his emails hit on everything! His music request system is easy to use and is up to date with all of the new music. My husband and I have very eclectic taste in music, and Jim worked with us on getting music he didn't already have. He also does a Love Story which is FANTASTIC! We loved it so much! He told our story of our relationship for our guests who may not have known everything about us. My wedding was at 2:30pm, and he get an entire dance floor dancing for 4 hours nonstop! All of my guests kept asking me where I found him and how great he was. Word of advice, a good DJ is the best way to spend your budget, and The Music Guys is the way to go. Read less
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ

MAP

 
621 Belser Court, Pike Road, AL 36064 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Music Guys
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1362761183991 13627609757314243181015099747838586332749584n