130x130_sq_1381967151233-060805fav198

The MV Skansonia

Seattle , WA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

205 NE Northlake Way, Dock A
Seattle, WA US 98105 (map)

PHONE

206-545-9109

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

A History in Elegance THEN
The story of the Skansonia begins at the Skansie Brothers Shipyard in Gig Harbor where the keel for a brand new ferryboat was laid on July 9, 1929. This... Read more
A History in Elegance THEN
The story of the Skansonia begins at the Skansie Brothers Shipyard in Gig Harbor where the keel for a brand new ferryboat was laid on July 9, 1929. This was to be the Skansonia which was built for the run between Point Defiance and Gig Harbor. The Skansonia was built and ready for her engines in only six weeks time. After her fitting out, she began to ply the waterways of Puget Sound. She stayed with her route for ten years until the Tacoma Narrows Bridge was constructed at which time she began the Tahlequah to Tacoma run. But her destiny was not to remain on this run for long. In November of 1940, strong winds caused the collapse of the newly constructed Tacoma Narrows Bridge and a call went out for ferryboats to return to the narrows run. As a result, the Skansonia returned to the narrows run.

In June of 1951, the Skansonia became a part of the Washington State Ferry Fleet. Her route did change, however, becoming the Tahlequah to Point Defiance run. She continued on this route until 1967 at which time she was retired from active service.

In 1971 the WSF decided the Skansonia was surplus and she was listed for sale. In May 1971, the Skansonia was sold to Norm Volotin of Seattle who moored her on Lake Washington.
NOW
The MV Skansonia was sold and given a new life to become a premier private event facility, specializing in outdoor or indoor weddings and receptions. She sits on the North shore of Lake Union with an unsurpassed view of Seattle and the Space Needle. While her outside look remains the same, she now boasts many improvements such as forced air heat, large bay doors that open up to the patio, fireplaces upstairs and downstairs, oversized furniture from a 16th century castle, and vintage light fixtures from the Seattle Music Theatre.

Beginning in 2009 she had a complete interior redesign from head to toe. The new re-designed bathrooms, carpets, and freshly painted ceilings and walls keep her as a favorite venue for people seeking a truly historic piece of Pacific Northwest history. Perfect for any season, and accommodating to Weddings, Bar Mitzvahs, and Holiday Parties of all sizes, her maximum guest capacity is 300, reception style. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1358534605157-1425
130x130_sq_1358534661812-1087
130x130_sq_1358534695576-davidsarahwedding1276
130x130_sq_1358534879525-a104copy
130x130_sq_1358534895332-skansoniafrontdeck
130x130_sq_1358534915715-lookingin
130x130_sq_1358535050642-shaunapaulrcpt046
130x130_sq_1358535080419-davidsarahwedding0106

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1928
Describe your venue:
Boat / Yacht, Historic Site
Describe the style of your venue
Nautical, Vintage, Waterfront
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
300
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
4
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
Number of guest rooms
1
Number of suites
0
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
2000
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
60
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
No

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
6/15/2014
5.0/5.0
SO WONDERFUL. The venue is beautiful and the best part was that it is all-inclusive! We didn't have to organize bringing chairs, tablecloths, or anything like that. They even had table runners and electric tea lights (classy ones) to rent for decor. They have an on-site caterer, and day-of planner, who was indispensable.
When we looked at the boat for the first time, I thought "wow! This place is going to be way out of our budget!" I was pleasantly surprised. They charged us like a caterer! It was awesome!
Jenn and Kristine are very nice and professional, and they really made our day special and just how we wanted.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rhiana
Wedding:
8/31/2013
5.0/5.0
I could not believe what a beautiful setting the MV Skansonia was when we first saw it. How could we not pick it! The food was amazing, our cake was amazing, and everything we needed was attended to upon request. I have to say also that having so many things handled by one vendor is the way to go...I can't imagine having to choose a venue, then a caterer, then a bakery, etc. This is one great package. So many costs included in the low price, too - no cake fee, no cork fee, no extra fee for the bartender. Also, the dinner that is hosted in the spring for all the wedding couples to come and taste and plan their menus is brilliant. And best of all, SO AFFORDABLE! BEST WEDDING IN VENUE IN SEATTLE'S OUTDOORS! (and they can bring you inside in front of the fireplace if it rains with 5 minutes notice...how cool is that? we had sunny and 80, but just sayin')
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erika
Wedding:
8/30/2013
5.0/5.0
After a little bit of shopping around for venues, comparing costs, and options for our wedding day, we were at a loss. Until we stumbled upon the MV Skansonia. Let me begin by saying that we were looking for something that was hassel-free and all inclusive. We didn't like the idea of booking just a venue and then having to book separate vendors for everything - which is the case for weddings here in the U.S. We loved that the MV Skansonia included a food vendor, cake vendor, decorations, set up and clean up - all in their package. The other big thing that we loved about working with the MV Skansonia was that we were able to do an open bar that we wanted. Using their crew and staff we served our own homebrew and wine - that we made ourselves! This would not have been an option anywhere else.
Aside from those two things, the MV Skansonia staff was so easy to work with, was very professional and always available and responsive to any questions I had. Even after the wedding, we forgot a few things there and they were so accommodating to us when we went back to pick it up.
The venue is just beautiful and unique. You have to go visit it, there's just no way to describe the experience of it. The view from the bow of the boat pointing back to the skyline of Seattle; The charm that it is a historic decommissioned ferry boat - what a great experience for our guests who were from out of state.
I recommend this beautiful venue to anyone who wants a unique wedding experience.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Zoe
Wedding:
8/23/2013
5.0/5.0
I really cannot say enough wonderful things about our wedding aboard the MV Skansonia, except that I wish we could relive that day again and again. We planned our wedding long-distance from New York City and were never able to visit the venue, meet the planners in person, or attend any tasting events. Despite the distance, I feel completely prepared and well taken care-of. All of my emails and calls were answered promptly, everything was explained to me clearly. All policies were fair and easy to understand. The day of, everything went absolutely perfectly. Staff were professional, warm, and helpful, I really didn't need to do anything except enjoy myself! Obviously one of the best things about the venue is how breathtakingly beautiful it is: the stunning view, the interior dark wood and porthole windows, all the outdoor space and flowers...we did not decorate at all aside from flowers, there was no need because it's already gorgeous! Having the upstairs space to drink champagne and take pictures and watch guests arrive was also really wonderful. It was a special time for me and my wedding party and closest family, and something not many venues have. The food, which we chose without tasting, was phenomenal! Everyone was raving about how great the food was, and although we just chose the light entree/heavy app option plus one extra pasta dish, everyone could eat their fill. We had a huge wedding with 14 in the wedding party and 220+ guests including plenty of kids, and it was cozy but never felt crowded. After dinner, it was wonderful for some guests to sit outside and enjoy a glass of wine while other danced and kids ran around. My wedding was an absolute dream, and the Skansonia was a huge part of that!
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
8/12/2013
5.0/5.0
The MV Skansonia is a great place to work with. I'm not good at planning lots of details for a big party and the staff were especially helpful in the planning and on the day of. The day of coordinator, Paige was amazing and super patient with my indecisiveness. All of the staff were friendly and the food was awesome. My friends and family are still talking about how good the food was! Finally, I feel like we were able to have an event that reflected who we are. They even let us have our dog on the boat for the ceremony and reception! I highly recommend this venue for anyone who wants a Seattle waterfront wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
The entire Skansonia experience captured the essence of our personalities, highlighted one of the best views of our city and was truly the wedding of our dreams! Their clear organization skills, and calm, positive staff were very much appreciated throughout the day and night! Everything from the weather, the atmosphere, the delicious food and transition from ceremony to rocking party were seamless.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katherine
Wedding:
7/21/2013
5.0/5.0
We loved having our wedding and reception at Skansonia. The view was unbelievable and the charm of the boat was wonderful. We loved the food (signature salmon and lemon grass chicken). A few of the guests said it was the best wedding food they have ever had. The staff was always very helpful and everything went smoothly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/4/2013
5.0/5.0
This is a beautiful venue! If you are looking for a last minute Seattle summer wedding then you can get a great deal for Sun Aug 4, 2013 (afternoon or evening). Sadly my wedding was cancelled so you can benefit from my deposit and have it for almost half price: $3200 for 100 guests including catering!! (It is already reasonably priced compared to other Seattle venues). This place has so much to offer. First the quintessential Seattle backdrop (Lake Union with a view of the Space Needle). And the boat has so much character, sure it may be a little slanted, but thats okay. You hardly need to decorate because it already looks great as is. And the food was delicious too (check out their menu online). And a great money saver is that you can supply your own alcohol. And lastly the people have been wonderful to work with. I hope it works out for you; I think you will love it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gary Baxter
Wedding:
5/5/2013
5.0/5.0
My husband and I got married on a spectacular sunny day in May last year. Lake Union was our front yard and the MV Skansonia was our boat to celebrate our 17 year relationship. One of our 8 year old flower girls made our beautiful paper flower decorations to place on the arbor. The staff were responsive and professional, the food was delicious (what I remember of it) and the reception was a blast. A group of friends serenaded a love song to us. One friend said that " the delightful theater of our ceremony made the appearance of us and our officiate and the real circumstances of our lives hit [her] harder and began to cry even earlier than [she] usually does." (Sarah Galvin) A dream came true May 5, 2013.
Gary
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I cannot explain how amazing the Skansonia was with my every need. Almost everyday, I had a question or concern and Shauna (manager?) would answer them within the day. The food is AMAZING. It's been over 2 weeks since we got married, and my friends are still raving about the food!! The only negative would be the size, which was not a problem for us, but I think any more than 100 people would be too tight. All in all, I LOVE THIS VENUE!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Britt
Wedding:
9/30/2012
5.0/5.0
Without hesitation, the MV Skansonia could not have been better! No glitches, no hang-ups, no oopsies...Nothing! Just a great time all around in an unique venue with fabulous food, tons of charm, and a spectacular view. A true "Seattle" experience! It was everything I could have possibly wanted. The coordinators, Shauna and Ellie, were both amazing - friendly, professional, with solid opinions based on tons of wedding experience, remained calm which in turn kept me calm. Our wedding was 4 weeks ago and my coworkers are STILL talking about it every single day, and I'm sure they think we broke the bank paying for it, but we didn't! Of note, the Skansonia allows you to bring your own alcohol on board (with a permit), instead of paying the $32 for a $8 bottle of wine that every other venue I researched charges. This will literally save you THOUSANDS. As far as food goes, Lake Union Cafe caters the Skansonia and you attend a tasting so you can choose what you serve at your wedding based on actually trying it beforehand! They have MANY choices (Beef, Chicken, Seafood, Vegetarian) and you can pick as little or as much as you want - i.e. reception vs. dinner style, paper vs linen, small plates vs dinner plates. I've heard time and time again that the food at my wedding was the best "wedding food" that my guests have ever had. The spread they provided for us was unbeatable. Lots of extras, including grilled veggies, cheese plates, bread/crackers, and our choices of chicken piccata, hibachi steak, chop chop salad, caesar salad, penne pasta with champagne cream sauce with fried leeks... We also used their flower person who did an unbelievable job sculpting mango calla lillies into a breathtaking bouquet and table arrangements. I just could not be happier with choosing the Skansonia. The experience was above and beyond my highest expectations. Absolutely flawless. From the bottom of our newlywed hearts - Thank you, Skansonia and Crew. You equal perfection!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sheila
Wedding:
8/26/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough of why this venue gave us truly the dream wedding. In fact I had to erase my review because I got too wordy. So to be brief: We planned this wedding from across the country with 500-1000 emails. Never once were they not responded to both in a timely manner but with warmth and genuine kindess. The venue itself is GORGEOUS- On the water. The food is SUPREME (not just according to me, but to many chefs that were present at the event) you can bring your own alcohol which saves thousands, but what really makes it a lovely experience...ya know besides the gorgeous setting, delicious food, affordable prices, is the planning process was so smooth, because Shauna who we worked with, was so meticulous, calm, 100% responsive and caring--- we had a dream wedding. We had the challenge of an extremely diverse crowd, the range in background and lifestyles were infinite and could have been something other than it was.... It was my goal to bring all these cultures and backgrounds together in a true celebration of love and The Skansonia was perfect- the environment spoke to the artists, the traditionalists, to the conservatives, to the liberals, the internation array of guests......it was perfect and the staff made it so.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
The wedding and reception on the Skansonia was a dream. Everyone we came in contact with was wonderful. We were lucky that the weather was nice enough for the ceremony to be outside, but good to know that the wedding can be inside, should the need arise. The wedding coordinators are extremely helpful and the food tasting was an event in itself. I would use this venue again in a heartbeat!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Celia
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
This venue is absolutely charming. Shauna is the wedding coordinator, she was incredibly professional and very easy to work with. The food was delicious too! We wouldn't change a thing about our experience with the Skansonia.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Great experience, Shauna and Ellie are amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gyna
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
Best Venue ever! Jeremy and I cannot tell you guys how much we appreciated all the effort, hard work and good service that you guys gave to us. You guys made our pictures, and wedding day really special. All my guest love the Venue. I will recommended 100% this venue for future wedding or parties! great catering staff! :D
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MrsGNHughes
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
The staff for the Skansonia (Shawna, Ellie) and was amazing the entire step of the way. Not only do they have one of the best Seattle skylines in town, but it happens to be pretty reasonalbly priced considering the other places we looked at. If you are looking for something that isn't cookie cutter and has a lot of character, this is the place I would recommend. We just loved how nice and all inclusive they were also! I should also point out that the food was really really great and we got a ton of compliments on it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristy
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
We LOVED our wedding at the Skansonia. We got married during the daytime in June, and the venue was just perfect for our 75 adults and 15 kids. Shauna Wu is absolutely lovely, and so kind and so good at what she does, and she was there to make sure everything went smoothely the day of the wedding. Our guests LOVED the venue, as did we, and we got a lot of compliments on the food, and how unique it was. I researched just about every venue in Seattle, and the value at the Skansonia is GOOD. And the great part is they are a wedding one-stop-shop! You don't have to do all the management of vendors, because they are the venue and the cateror. They were also very helpful in setting up our flowers, and favors, etc. I think Tamara put it best, if you love the venue, you will love your wedding at the Skansonia. An old boat was perfect for our Seattle wedding, and I'm so glad we picked it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
5/28/2011
5.0/5.0
The team at the Skansonia gave us our dream wedding! Shawna was so great to work with, gave us lots of ideas and recommendations, and was so efficient and professional for the rehearsal and day of set up and organization. The food was fantastic, we got so many compliments on it. The venue and the view are inherently beautiful, making for a romantic wedding, but the best part part is that the team quietly takes care of everything, so you can just enjoy your wedding day! The value is great for the beauty of the venue and quality of service. Looking elsewhere, the extras quickly added up with table linen rentals, separate catering, and event organization, Skansonia provides all of this at a reasonable cost.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna Marie
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
The entire experience of working with the Skansonia was excellent. We chose the Skansonia for both the ambiance and cost. One of the selling points was being able to bring your own alcohol on and only have to pay for a bartender - no corking fee or outrageous prices. This allowed for us to not have our guests pay for their drinks. The food was great. Many of the guests commented on how much they enjoyed the food and it went beyond their expectations of "wedding food". They staff was very attentive the day of the wedding. They made sure we met the timeline provided and that everything was in place.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
donna
Wedding:
7/18/2009
5.0/5.0
This was a perfect site for our wedding. The views from the Skansonia are breathtaking and a perfect backdrop for photos. The inside of the ferry has been perfectly restored. The only issue we found was with parking. That is somewhat limited. The food was exceptional. I wish they were open for regular dining. The professional staff made sure everything went smoothly and offered lots of wonderful tips. It was a fabulous wedding!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrocks
Wedding:
6/21/2003
5.0/5.0
The people at the Skansonia were very helpful and made my wedding day run very smoothly. It was a BEAUTIFUL setting, and everyone told me I had the perfect wedding!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tracy
Wedding:
7/11/2013
4.9/5.0
This was a fantastic place to get married! Paperwork was easy, the website contains pretty much all the information you could need and their staff helps to make sure everything is going well. On top of it all, it's VERY affordable. The food is A-MA-ZING.
For the penny pinchers, they are fine with SO MANY things to save: your own decorations, beautiful ceremony setup/take down, great in-house audio, and you have a staff helper to make sure your night is flowing exactly how you like or can extend a bit longer. Oh, and you can bring your own booze for a minimal cost. SOOOO great.
Seattle waterfront is beautiful setting and even with other boats going by, you never get seasick or anything close to choppy waves. Great evening temperature even in the heat of summer.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sofia
Wedding:
6/29/2013
4.9/5.0
I had to plan my wedding from the distance and Shauna and Ellie from Skansonia were amazingly responsive. I got a response to my emails or calls the same day. If you are thinking of a ceremony outdoors, this place is really beautiful. We got married on the deck of the boat (80 guests) Also, we used their catering and we and our guests loved the food! Shauna was there on the day of our wedding making sure that all goes as planned. Thanks Shauna and Ellie!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Olga
Wedding:
2/8/2014
4.8/5.0
We had 4 months to plan our wedding. Our wedding coordinator, Dann Richey, and the staff at The Skansonia made our wedding absolutely perfect. We appreciated that we could get a detailed breakdown of costs on the first meeting. We especially liked that they don't nickel and dime you to death. This is one stop shopping at its best. It was also great to have them do the catering, and also the cake (mini cupcakes in our case). The buffet got rave reviews from our hardest to please relatives!

This venue is a great value. We would highly recommend it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
7/6/2013
4.8/5.0
My husband and I just got married at the Skansonia- the wedding and venue were wonderful!! We had a blast working with the Skansonia staff from the start- Shauna and Jen were incredibly helpful and accommodating- from specific requests on linen colors, to setting up our customized decorations, to arranging as many pre wedding appts as we desired to make sure our wedding day was well-organized and what we envisioned. They also coordinate with your vendors in advance to ensure a smooth day. On the day of, Jen created plates for us since we were so busy socializing with guests and enjoying our day. That was very much appreciated! The food was delicious, and you can bring your own alcohol on the boat which is a cost-saver.

The venue is gorgeous- the dance floor is lit up with vintage lights after the sun sets, and guests loved taking pictures with the Seattle skyline(and space needle) as the backdrop.

The only critiques I have were the long lines for the buffet and somewhat limited bathroom capacity, but I think with a bit more structure (tables going to buffet one at a time) this can definitely help!

I would absolutely recommend this vintage ferry- a wonderful way to celebrate a very special day and give out of town guests a unique taste of Seattle.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andi
Wedding:
8/16/2010
4.6/5.0
If you want a truly unique venue for your wedding that embodies Seattle, go for the Skansonia! We loved the food, and the set up for the day and all went well even if the main coordinator could not be there for our wedding. I scored the Skansonia less for this as we didn't know it would happen until the day and that as a bride about to get married made me a little nervous. They were accomodating (although the boat set up is not all that accomodating so you have to go with a certain layout. But it works!) with us brining our own beverages and lots of decorations!! The value is a bit expensive but considering other venues, it is right on par for cost. The best part about this venue is the view. Its amazing and our guests were raving for weeks about how wonderful it was!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.5/5.0
Gorgeous! We had our wedding here in early September. The boat is gorgeous and a really unique space that was perfect size for our intimate wedding and dinner. The food was good, but nothing too special. Having the coordinator included was a real help, although I did have to correct several of the things that we had settled beforehand. One thing that was a bit inconvenient (but understandable due to the nature of the venue) was that we were only allowed on (or any of our vendors) 1 hr before ceremony time. This was a bit hectic, but everything worked out and was great. The cost compared to other venues was really good. Being able to bring our own alcohol for them to serve saved us A LOT of money.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg21
Sarah
Wedding:
10/9/2011
4.4/5.0
Just had our wedding here on 10-9-11. The team at the Skansonia was great, and all of our guests had a fabulous time at this unique venue. We chose to do it here because it was affordable, fun, and many of our out-of-town guests LOVED the Seattle skyline view! They have the ability to do both an indoor or outdoor ceremony, and we were able to do it outdoor. They also allowed us to bring on our own beer and wine (which they served) without charging a corkage fee. Would do it again there in a heartbeat! The food was delicious!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Blushing Bride
Wedding:
8/28/2011
4.4/5.0
We loved the view and the vintage feeling of the venue. The only thing we would change is the amount of time to setup for the wedding and get pictures taken before your guests arrive. We felt rushed and that everything did not get set up on time as it could have if we were allotted another hour. Other than that, the food was great and Tamara and Shauna were wonderful to work with.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ML
Wedding:
7/24/2009
4.4/5.0
I was really happy we chose the Skansonia for our wedding. The pictures were great because it is such a unique venue. The food was great and the staff were all very responsive to my questions, emails that I had. It is really nice to book your venue and catering all in one stop. They don't give you very much time at all to set up or decorate so that is a little stressful on your wedding day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg6
DanaandBryce
Wedding:
6/8/2008
4.4/5.0
The MV Skansonia is a beautiful venue with fabulous employees who took excellent care of us. They took care of all our food as well as our ceremony and reception. They also allowed for a rehearsal, which was nice. The menu selection and food taste were both awesome as was the presentation. They took great care of us on our perfect day and I would highly recommend using them!
Services Used: Catering, Flowers, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1243837796500-1bug1princess
Littleprincess
Wedding:
10/2/2010
4.3/5.0
For more than a year I researched all the venues in the Seattle-Metro area that could satisfy five very simple elements on my list:
1. A stunning view of the water
2. Affordable
3. Vintage and charming ambiance
4. Abundant and easy parking
5. Nice bathrooms (a lot of the city’s venue near the water had metal toilets! Ew!).
Beyond this, the Skansonia Ferry Boat is one of the most romantic and unique wedding venues in Seattle. We had a glamorous October evening wedding and everyone had a phenomenal time and the wedding was truly a unique experience for our guests who have been attending the wedding circuit for awhile now!
The food was delicious (the meat was tender, and everything else tasted fresh!).
Tamara and Shauna are amazing and took care of all the details! There was no high-pressure sale tactics and they are both warm and genuine people. My other vendors showed up, set up and I was allowed to be a carefree bride for the whole night.
There were only two challenging situations:
1. You only get an hour for all your vendors and decorations to set up, so make sure you have a clear and easy plan for what you want! Everything turned out beautifully for me, but it was definitely up to the last minute and I had the most amazing help!
2. I was upset about the bartender’s behavior - one of my bridesmaids had to ask the bartender to make “special” (i.e. non-alcoholic) drinks for one of my guests (who has mental issues) and had too much to drink. The bartender told my bridesmaid “it was an open bar and he couldn’t monitor who was drinking.” While I do not think it was his sole responsibility (as we had several people at the wedding watching my guest), the bartender could have attempted to help out a little more with this sensitive situation.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Willow
Wedding:
4/12/2008
1.9/5.0
The venue is very nice location and a cute venue for a ferry, food is delicious though a bit on the expensive side, they were slow to get food out and put it away early. They offer cake cutting service, though they dont know how to cut cakes and werent getting the cake out fast enough so over half our guests didnt get any cake cause they thought it was gone. The staff on board gives mixed messages and will say they can do things and often dont get them done, or absolutely refuse to do things that could easily be accommodated, like how the bridesmaids entered. Also there was limited time on the venue for decorating, and limited time for the day.
They also promised to make a to go box of food for us, and it wasnt ready till well after we were gone even though they knew for months before the event when we were going to be leaving. So we never got to really eat on our wedding day.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue, Unique Services

MAP

 
205 NE Northlake Way, Dock A, Seattle, WA 98105 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The MV Skansonia
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1381967151233-060805fav198