Nophoto-220
The Oceanview Room
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
 
13 Reviews
Address:
140 Sylvester Road
San Diego, CA US (map)
Categories:
 
 
 
4.6 
(4.7/5.0)
 
Quality of Service 
(4.3/5.0)
 
Responsiveness 
(4.5/5.0)
 
Professionalism 
(4.9/5.0)
 
Value 
(4.4/5.0)
 
Flexibility 
Sort
 
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
4/5/2014
 
4.8 out of 5.0
I can't picture having my wedding anywhere but here! It was exceptional. The setting was perfect, the waitstaff were so professional and kept the wedding going smoothly. One of the most common compliments I received after the wedding was how smoothly and effortlessly the day went. Guests moved seamlessly from wedding to cocktail hour to reception. My only complaint was that the wedding had to end at 10:00 and we were not able to add on an extra hour. This is a rule on base and can't be changed by the venue. We just loved our day so much we wanted it to last longer!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
 
4.5 out of 5.0
Everything about my wedding was amazing
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
7/14/2013
 
4.7 out of 5.0
We had our wedding here in July and received so many compliments on the location, the view, the service, and the food. The staff was super friendly, the food was delicious, and everything they set up was gorgeous.

The only bad part is that the directions to the venue aren't on most maps, so some of my guests (who didn't use the enclosed directions) got lost and ended up at a cemetary! They also require your full guest list a week in advance as well as the license plate/driver info for all your vendors, but that wasn't a big deal.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
6/9/2013
 
4.7 out of 5.0
The Oceanview Room is absolutely beautiful if the weather is nice. It's located right there on the ocean, which makes it intimate and romantic. The reception area has been newly renovated and looks great. The outside of the building is a sight for sore eyes and kind of looks like an abandoned building, but you would never guess that there's a beautiful wedding site behind it. The pricing was great, as we were on a budget and pretty much stuck to the budget and got everything we wanted. The food was very tasty and delicious. I've been to many military functions with in house catering and I must say I was very surprised and impressed on the taste. We had many comments on how great the food was. Daniel is amazing to work with and very professional. He was very attentive and accomodating to all the changes I made and some were very last minute. Had NO issues at all with my civilian guests getting on base.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathy
Wedding:
8/4/2012
 
5.0 out of 5.0
I am reviewing as the MOB. They told you up front exactly what would be expected re vendor ID's and guests names ahead of time. My recommendation is to use vendors familiar with the venue. We used one vendor who had not been there before and they were late and substituted one person for another which could have caused them to not get on base at all.
Everyone commented it was one of the best weddings they had been too. It was so beautiful. Everyone danced all night. The food was great. We rented a portable bar and set the bar up outside under the other patio cover. It kept everyone outside on the deck all night. The food and service was excellent. We chose the steak and salmon for our guests. Our DJ was Elite British DJ and if you are looking for a fun wedding, he is your guy! His wife, Julie from the Best Wedding For You was our coordinator and she is outstanding. She has alot of experience working with the bases.
It was a beautiful evening and everything went very smoothly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
5/12/2012
 
4.8 out of 5.0
Our catering manager was Tess. Everything was great. It was kind of tough since I am out of state and my husband was deployed. So most of our interaction was via e-mail or phone. The only drawback was that e-mails weren't answered sometimes. It was best to call. But the couple times that my husband and I dropped by the office to iron out details made up for that. Tess really listened to us and was really flexible. Since it is on a military base, there are a lot of rules, but they tell you that upfront.
The location is amazing. All our guests really enjoyed the view of the ocean and the weather was great. It got a little chilly, but the staff set up the outdoor heaters as soon as we gave them the ok.
The food was decent and the price was so affordable especially compared to any other place in SD on the water. All the guests were telling us how beautiful our wedding was.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
5/6/2012
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Most beautiful location! I couldn't of asked for a better spot to have my wedding :) It was directly next to the ocean, with beautiful cliffs on one side of the backdrop, and downtown san diego on the other, which was so beautiful after the sun set. We had our reception on the outside deck, and danced under the stars! It's was magical!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
B8
Snif
Wedding:
2/5/2011
 
4.6 out of 5.0
Although the logistics of getting 50% of our non military guests on base for the ceremony & reception we LOVED this venue and the service. Everything we asked for got taken care of without us having to say a word. The views of Point Loma and the water was amazing. The bar offered to stay open for another hour at no cost to us and they were really attentive to not only the guests but us as the bride and groom. We did not have to lift a finger. We also took advantage of a BOQ room to stage the bridal party before the the ceremony started. Overall it was a great experience. Plus a school of dolphins swam up to see what the party was about!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
wifee
Wedding:
3/27/2010
 
4.2 out of 5.0
I love this place, so did all my guest and they also provide the food. Its a Naval base, so they are strict and I had to provide a namelist of all my guest for the gate. The view is amazing and its good so no unwelcomed guest would come to your event. Everyone love the food all the guest were raving about the food and the view. Its expensive, since its runs $40 per person and up.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
gabbijam1
Wedding:
6/20/2009
 
4.0 out of 5.0
This venue is a hidden jewel in San Diego. Everyone said it was a beautiful place to get married.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Oceanview Room
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo