130x130 sq 1391193861631 index1

The Old Meeting House

Salt Lake City , UT
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

4120 East Highland Drive
Salt Lake City, UT 84124 US (map)

PHONE

801-278-4092

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Old Meeting House is a romantic and charming building that is filled with timeless, classic architecture. We are Salt Lakes finest wedding event center. It is the perfect place to... Read more
The Old Meeting House is a romantic and charming building that is filled with timeless, classic architecture. We are Salt Lakes finest wedding event center. It is the perfect place to celebrate your weding or any memorable occasion.

Come see our exquisite, 112 year old building with vaulted ceilings, arched windows, spacious reception area, elegant brides's room, and a ballroom for dancing. We have plenty of parking to accommodate your guests. Classic architecture and finely appointed spaces in The Old Meeting House provide ample photo opportunities for your special occasion. The antique benches are used to preserve the ageless romance of your wedding ceremony.

The Old Meeting House's repution for fine wedding cuisine is unmatched. From decadent desserts to elegant dinners, our menu offers a variety of choices for wedding luncheon or brunch, rehearsal dinners, buffets, holliday parties, anniversary or Birthday party. Read less
Wedding Venue

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue?
80
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
2
Describe your venue:
Ballroom, Banquet Hall, Historic
Describe the style of your venue
Glamorous, Vintage, Classic
What kind of settings are available?
Indoor
Which of the following wedding events does your venue service?
Ceremony, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
500
What event services do you offer?
Cake, Catering / Bar, Event Planning, Event Rentals, Lighting / Sound, Outside Vendors OK
What catering services do you offer?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Dessert, Hors d'Oeuvres, Plated, Server(s)
What event items are available?
Centerpieces, Chairs, Dance Floor, Decor, Furniture, Lighting, Tables
What food and beverage items are available?
China, Chocolate Fountain, Flatware, Glassware, Linens
What transportation and access is available?
Parking, Wheelchair Access

REVIEWS

4.2
out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.5/5.0
3.5/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Denise
Wedding:
3/28/2015
5.0/5.0
The Old Meeting House met all of our needs. The staff was professional and was always there if we ha any questions or concerns. We have beautiful memories of our wedding day because of this. I would recommend this venue to anyone!
The Old Meeting House met all of our needs. The staff was professional and was always there if we ha any questions or Read more...
The Old Meeting House met all of our needs. The staff was professional and was always there if we ha any questions or concerns. We have beautiful memories of our wedding day because of this. I would recommend this venue to anyone! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Michele
Wedding:
10/23/2013
5.0/5.0
They pretty much did everything for me without the cost of a wedding planner.
We did some leg work, but they pointed us in the right direction.
They did the catering, cake, ceremony and reception all in one package that was in our budget.
We were so happy with everything
They pretty much did everything for me without the cost of a wedding planner.
We did some leg work, but they pointed Read more...
They pretty much did everything for me without the cost of a wedding planner.
We did some leg work, but they pointed us in the right direction.
They did the catering, cake, ceremony and reception all in one package that was in our budget.
We were so happy with everything Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Abigail
Wedding:
5/31/2013
5.0/5.0
I had my Bridals done here. They turned out so great. The Decor on the inside is beautiful. I also had my reception here as well. It was amazing! It went off without a glitch. The food was wonderful. My guests all raved about the food. The staff was so helpful and professional. My family made so many great memories.
I had my Bridals done here. They turned out so great. The Decor on the inside is beautiful. I also had my reception here Read more...
I had my Bridals done here. They turned out so great. The Decor on the inside is beautiful. I also had my reception here as well. It was amazing! It went off without a glitch. The food was wonderful. My guests all raved about the food. The staff was so helpful and professional. My family made so many great memories. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Invitations, Lighting & Decor
Default vendor profile pic
Alea
Wedding:
5/25/2013
2.0/5.0
Was a total hassle to deal with, first they said they could do 60 people, then they said they couldn't and would have to charge me for 80 people, then a week before the wedding they finally relented. Food was good, decor was very pretty, hostess was very nice although kept asking me questions when I had already answered them... like 3 times about how the pianist needed paying when I had already said the groom was the one who had the money. Apparently the waiting staff kept skipping certain people during dinner, said they were out of rolls to some people and gave them out to others right after they said they were out. They let us stay as long as we wanted, were generally easy to work with the day of the wedding, but very stressful to deal with before, couldn't even remember that I work during their office hours and had requested to be emailed instead, so lots of missed calls from them when an email would have been quicker.
Was a total hassle to deal with, first they said they could do 60 people, then they said they couldn't and would have to Read more...
Was a total hassle to deal with, first they said they could do 60 people, then they said they couldn't and would have to charge me for 80 people, then a week before the wedding they finally relented. Food was good, decor was very pretty, hostess was very nice although kept asking me questions when I had already answered them... like 3 times about how the pianist needed paying when I had already said the groom was the one who had the money. Apparently the waiting staff kept skipping certain people during dinner, said they were out of rolls to some people and gave them out to others right after they said they were out. They let us stay as long as we wanted, were generally easy to work with the day of the wedding, but very stressful to deal with before, couldn't even remember that I work during their office hours and had requested to be emailed instead, so lots of missed calls from them when an email would have been quicker. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
The Old Meeting House responded with the following comments:

Alea, This response is about 18 months late, as we have just recently claimed rights to this account. It sounds like we might have been in the midst of a policy change in regards to the problem with the count. I apologize that you werent given a clear idea of what you could do. I'm so happy to hear that you were pleased with the food and decor! Our menu's include one roll per person. It sounds like the kitchen had a few extra rolls but shouldn't have passed them out since there weren't enough to give everyone another. I suspect that they were trying to be nice, not realizing the consequences. Also, we may have been serving the ladies first, and I regret if some felt they were being skipped. Lastly, we are doing more and more with email communication, so thank you for bringing that up in your review. I hope you are enjoying married life, Sincerely Natalie (Catering and Customer Service Manager)
Default vendor profile pic
Julia
Wedding:
10/6/2012
3.4/5.0
I had a wonderful, happy wedding day at a beautiful venue with great food on an extremely tight budget. That being said, I certainly got what I paid for. The Old Meeting House is beautiful and picturesque and nearly all-inclusive which is what made it most appealing. If you aren't terribly picky about what you are looking for in your wedding day, this place is perfect for you, but if you have a vision of your wedding and how you want it to go, stay away.
I was happy with the help I recieved from the staff in the planning process but there were some major mistakes on the part of the staff as well. For example, I ordered a cake with 3 different flavored tiers and the cake I got was white cake with vanilla fondant on all three tiers. I asked for the pianist to play songs from the 4 seasons, specifying which movements I wanted for the precessional and recessional. I don't know what the pianist played but it was not what I chose. If he had questions, he should have contacted me. I also wanted a head table which I was told they don't do. The colors they had available were all wrong and the dance floor is WAY too small. Other than that, it was a perfectly acceptable place to hold a wedding on a budget.
I had a wonderful, happy wedding day at a beautiful venue with great food on an extremely tight budget. That being said, I Read more...
I had a wonderful, happy wedding day at a beautiful venue with great food on an extremely tight budget. That being said, I certainly got what I paid for. The Old Meeting House is beautiful and picturesque and nearly all-inclusive which is what made it most appealing. If you aren't terribly picky about what you are looking for in your wedding day, this place is perfect for you, but if you have a vision of your wedding and how you want it to go, stay away.
I was happy with the help I recieved from the staff in the planning process but there were some major mistakes on the part of the staff as well. For example, I ordered a cake with 3 different flavored tiers and the cake I got was white cake with vanilla fondant on all three tiers. I asked for the pianist to play songs from the 4 seasons, specifying which movements I wanted for the precessional and recessional. I don't know what the pianist played but it was not what I chose. If he had questions, he should have contacted me. I also wanted a head table which I was told they don't do. The colors they had available were all wrong and the dance floor is WAY too small. Other than that, it was a perfectly acceptable place to hold a wedding on a budget. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
The Old Meeting House responded with the following comments:

Julia,
I'm following up on this, over two years old, review to apologize. It sounds like there was some break down in communication. I feel terrible your cake was not to your expectations. I trust it was beautiful on the outside but understand your disapointment in not getting the flavors you chose. That could have been our fault, since we write up the orders. I hope it at least tasted yummy! Our brides are always welcome to bring in their own decor ( linens, centerpieces, etc.) if what we have available at the time does not suit them. Our dance floor is actually customizable depending on the size of your group. I regret that we weren't aware of your concerns before it was too late. We are always trying to get better at what we do. I'm pleased you were able to stay within a budget and I hope you are loving your "happily ever after" !
Default vendor profile pic
Brad.densley
Wedding:
8/27/2011
1.9/5.0
The staff were good from our initial visit and we both felt very taken care of, but the day of our wedding the staff were pushy and not very helpful. The value of this place is something that attracted us to the Old Meeting House. The real value was lost when our cake was late and looked like it was dropped. The air conditioning was not worth a damn and we had guests leave in the middle of the wedding. Food that was paid for was not served and had to be refunded. Lastly, the staff took our food home with them after the wedding and my wife and I didn't even get to try any of the food. Pretty terrible.
The staff were good from our initial visit and we both felt very taken care of, but the day of our wedding the staff were Read more...
The staff were good from our initial visit and we both felt very taken care of, but the day of our wedding the staff were pushy and not very helpful. The value of this place is something that attracted us to the Old Meeting House. The real value was lost when our cake was late and looked like it was dropped. The air conditioning was not worth a damn and we had guests leave in the middle of the wedding. Food that was paid for was not served and had to be refunded. Lastly, the staff took our food home with them after the wedding and my wife and I didn't even get to try any of the food. Pretty terrible. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
The Old Meeting House responded with the following comments:

Brad,
I'm sorry to find you had some dissapointment about your wedding. I realize several years have passed but I still wanted to offer a response. I feel terrible that you were not pleased with your cake. CIndy at Heritage cakes does fantastic work for our brides and I'm positive she would have done all she could to make it right if she'd had the opportunity. I'll bet August 27th was a hot day, I apologize that you were uncomfortable. We've recently had our A/C system updated. Unfortunately it's commom for brides & grooms to feel they don't have time to eat. Our goal is to pamper our clients. Its our policy to fix a to-go box to send and I express regret if we didnt make that happen.
Default vendor profile pic
efwj0126
Wedding:
1/22/2009
5.0/5.0
The Old Meeting House has the best staff of the sweetest ladies you could ever imagine. The Building is unique one of a kind beautiful. They had so many wonderful choices and I love that the Cake came with booking their Venue. (Savings of $600.00 Alone) their in house catering was SOOOOO GOOD and such a reasonable price.

They Honor their contracts and they value you as a customer and this place has the BEST customer service I could ever imagine.

This is the Best Venue for the Price and they keep you on your budget! Thank you all Ladies for such a Beautiful Day!
The Old Meeting House has the best staff of the sweetest ladies you could ever imagine. The Building is unique one of a Read more...
The Old Meeting House has the best staff of the sweetest ladies you could ever imagine. The Building is unique one of a kind beautiful. They had so many wonderful choices and I love that the Cake came with booking their Venue. (Savings of $600.00 Alone) their in house catering was SOOOOO GOOD and such a reasonable price.

They Honor their contracts and they value you as a customer and this place has the BEST customer service I could ever imagine.

This is the Best Venue for the Price and they keep you on your budget! Thank you all Ladies for such a Beautiful Day! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
whitneysandberg
Wedding:
11/19/2008
3.3/5.0
I really liked The Old meeting House's venue. I was most picky about the venue that I would have my ceremony and reception at, so I looked at a lot of them before deciding. I chose the old meeting house because they were really reasonable and it was a good value and I fell in love with the old charming antique feel of the building. I didn't feel like they were very flexible as to what I was aloud to do though, for example I was not able to use real rose petals while walking down the isle which was a little disappointing. The lady that was in charge of my ceremony was...a little too professional at sometimes I did feel rushed. Guests were still coming in to see us and she had rushed me so much to catch the limo that i was already changed into my other dress to leave so some guests did not get to see me in my dress, which was really sad. We did call and make a complaint about the lady in charge and they were very respectful and understanding which helped ease the pain.
I really liked The Old meeting House's venue. I was most picky about the venue that I would have my ceremony and reception Read more...
I really liked The Old meeting House's venue. I was most picky about the venue that I would have my ceremony and reception at, so I looked at a lot of them before deciding. I chose the old meeting house because they were really reasonable and it was a good value and I fell in love with the old charming antique feel of the building. I didn't feel like they were very flexible as to what I was aloud to do though, for example I was not able to use real rose petals while walking down the isle which was a little disappointing. The lady that was in charge of my ceremony was...a little too professional at sometimes I did feel rushed. Guests were still coming in to see us and she had rushed me so much to catch the limo that i was already changed into my other dress to leave so some guests did not get to see me in my dress, which was really sad. We did call and make a complaint about the lady in charge and they were very respectful and understanding which helped ease the pain. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Mandy
Wedding:
5/9/2008
4.8/5.0
I loved having my wedding reception at The Old Meeting House. This venue was very elegant, and classic and I was able to incorporate my theme and colors easily. The food was awesome! It was very tasty and beautifully laid out. Thanks for the memories!
I loved having my wedding reception at The Old Meeting House. This venue was very elegant, and classic and I was able to Read more...
I loved having my wedding reception at The Old Meeting House. This venue was very elegant, and classic and I was able to incorporate my theme and colors easily. The food was awesome! It was very tasty and beautifully laid out. Thanks for the memories! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Invitations, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.7/5.0
The Old Meeting House was a wonderful choice of venue for our event! We had our ceremony, dinner, and reception at this location. The package we purchased included our cake, professional pianist for the ceremony, set up and take down of our decorations as well as changing the layout of the room to accommodate events, servers for the dinner, and a hostess that walked us through everything that evening. I am from out of town and they were very easy to communicate with from out of state. The only qualm I had about them is they are very old fashioned and didn't seem as flexible with my ideas as I would have liked but everything turned out beautiful, thanks to their hard working team.
The Old Meeting House was a wonderful choice of venue for our event! We had our ceremony, dinner, and reception at this Read more...
The Old Meeting House was a wonderful choice of venue for our event! We had our ceremony, dinner, and reception at this location. The package we purchased included our cake, professional pianist for the ceremony, set up and take down of our decorations as well as changing the layout of the room to accommodate events, servers for the dinner, and a hostess that walked us through everything that evening. I am from out of town and they were very easy to communicate with from out of state. The only qualm I had about them is they are very old fashioned and didn't seem as flexible with my ideas as I would have liked but everything turned out beautiful, thanks to their hard working team. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
The Old Meeting House responded with the following comments:

Thanks for your candid review! We really do value your opinions. I'm glad everything turned out so well! If you have time please email me, Natalie, at theoldmeetinghouseslc@gmail.com, I would love your suggestions on what we could have done to step up our flexibility! Thanks again!

MAP

 
4120 East Highland Drive, Salt Lake City, UT 84124 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Old Meeting House
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1391193861631 index1