130x130_sq_1384182995897-logo---cop

The Pastry Garden

Poughkeepsie , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2600 South Road, Suite 5
Poughkeepsie, NY US 12601 (map)

PHONE

845-473-5220

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

We are a retail & wholesale bakery for the upper Hudson Valley region that specializes in an assortment of wedding cake styles, ranging from stylish buttercream decoration to the most... Read more
We are a retail & wholesale bakery for the upper Hudson Valley region that specializes in an assortment of wedding cake styles, ranging from stylish buttercream decoration to the most elegant of rolled fondant work. On an average week, we will accomplish approximately 50 - 60 wedding cakes; during the busiest time of the year, we can top nearly 100! We work with some of the most acclaimed vendors in the area. We will tackle any project, big or small, and would be happy to work with you for your big day! **We ask that all wedding orders are placed no later than 2 weeks from the actual date of reception.** Read less
Wedding Cake

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1375564000264-1a-basketweave
130x130_sq_1375564001729-50m
130x130_sq_1375564002969-8013
130x130_sq_1375564004428-b-2
130x130_sq_1375564005673-b-3
130x130_sq_1375564007973-b-5
130x130_sq_1375564010004-b-6
130x130_sq_1375564010995-b-7
130x130_sq_1375564012265-b-10
130x130_sq_1375564013366-b-11
130x130_sq_1375564014615-b-14
130x130_sq_1375564016152-b-15
130x130_sq_1375564017915-b-16
130x130_sq_1375564019971-b-18
130x130_sq_1375564021289-b-19
130x130_sq_1375564022702-b-21
130x130_sq_1375564024730-b-26
130x130_sq_1375564026683-b-28
130x130_sq_1375564027974-b-40
130x130_sq_1375564029239-b-41
130x130_sq_1375564030876-b-42
130x130_sq_1375564032311-b-43
130x130_sq_1375564033638-b-45
130x130_sq_1375564034895-b-59
130x130_sq_1375564036388-b-61
130x130_sq_1375564038119-b-70
130x130_sq_1375564039443-b-75
130x130_sq_1375564040733-b-81
130x130_sq_1375564041968-b-86
130x130_sq_1375564043251-b-90
130x130_sq_1375564044523-b-94
130x130_sq_1375564045932-b-95
130x130_sq_1375564103156-2520452315123968877921309752936081706477936185269n
130x130_sq_1375564105555-3097462427679457622371309752936081706805821020026n
130x130_sq_1375564109269-policebadge
130x130_sq_1375564245921-photo10
130x130_sq_1375564259556-baby-shower-2
130x130_sq_1375564311514-2184021554119911879551000015746556153428946526065o
130x130_sq_1375564420864-sweet-16-cake
130x130_sq_1375564440474-1697371325689301389281000015746556152080395761685o
130x130_sq_1375564590110-img3425
130x130_sq_1375564597501-img3439
130x130_sq_1375564605497-img4708
130x130_sq_1375564614318-img4746
130x130_sq_1375564623156-img4748
130x130_sq_1375564632450-img4758
130x130_sq_1375564641396-img4761
130x130_sq_1375564651069-img4765
130x130_sq_1375564661078-img4775
130x130_sq_1375564670216-img4812
130x130_sq_1375564679187-img4833
130x130_sq_1375564688591-img4870
130x130_sq_1375564698182-img4935
130x130_sq_1375564707948-img4948
130x130_sq_1375564717647-img4952
130x130_sq_1375564725522-img4953
130x130_sq_1375564735347-img4991
130x130_sq_1375564743176-img5004
130x130_sq_1375564751594-img5007
130x130_sq_1375564759907-img5009
130x130_sq_1375564768230-img5014
130x130_sq_1375564776374-img5034
130x130_sq_1375564783222-img5038
130x130_sq_1375564790470-img5041
130x130_sq_1375564799519-img5096

INFO FOR WEDDING CAKE

Besides cakes, what other types of desserts do you provide?
Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake, Pastries
What additional services do you provide?
Consultations, On-site Delivery, Pickup, Tastings
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Kosher, Lactose Free
Do you provide customary cakes, such as Croquembouche?
No
Are you licensed by the state health department?
Yes
What are your tasting hours?
Appointments are done Wednesday through Saturdays from 9:00am to 4:00pm.
Describe how you price, such as by slice or by tier, for your cakes?
Wedding cakes are priced by the slice.
Does the price include the top tier of the cake?
The price does include the top tier of the wedding cake.
Do you offer custom cakes, or do you work with pre-designed styles?
We do offer custom cakes.
On average, how far in advance of the event do you prepare the cake?
Appointments should be scheduled at least two to three months prior to the scheduled wedding date.
How many cakes do you schedule for a typical weekend?
We do at least 50 - 60 wedding cakes per weekend.
Will you work with the client's florist to garnish the cake?
Typically the florist handles the fresh flower portion of the cake at the venue.
What (if any) cake accessories, such as a cake stand or cake cutter, do you rent out?
We can rent out cupcake stands.
Do you offer delivery? If yes, how much is your average delivery fee?
We offer delivery. Delivery charges vary on location. Delivery charges range between $25.00 - $100.00.

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
The cake for my wedding was delicious!!! It was simple..yellow cake with chocolate buttercream...everyone raved about how tasty it was. And...it was parve and kosher and I didn't even know it!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1381346092308-209
Cathleen
Wedding:
6/1/2014
5.0/5.0
THANK YOU!!!! Our cake was absolutely delicious and stunning!!!! Simple but exactly how we wanted it. Thank you to everyone who chipped in and everyone I spoke to with all my changes and indecisiveness. LOL. You were all so kind and patient with me. Thank you to Stephanie for sitting with us well over our appointment time and just having a conversation with us. You are awesome. We wish you infinite success. I'm so glad we chose the lemon cake with strawberry mousse filling. All the guests loved it and cant stop talking about how good it was. As the bride I didn't eat much of the food BUT cake I ate three pieces apologetically :) Kurt and I thank you all at the Pastry Garden!!!!
xoxo
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
5/29/2014
5.0/5.0
The Pastry Garden provided my husband and I with a beautiful and delicious 3-tiered cake. We picked dark chocolate cake with raspberry mousse filling and fondant frosting and were very pleased with the result. The staff made our cake tasting and ordering appointment easy and enjoyable and really helped us get an idea of what we were after visually. All our guests loved the cake- just wish my husband and I had more time during the reception to actually eat it!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
Our cake was absolutely amazing. It was exactly what I wanted! We met with Leo who worked with us on style, taste and price. The cake arrived on time and looked gorgeous. I would highly recommend this bakery!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Annie
Wedding:
5/21/2014
5.0/5.0
I was never a fan of wedding cakes until I tried my own. The Pastry Garden did such a wonderful job on my chocolate cake with strawberry mousse and preserve filling and butter cream frosting. It was absolutely delicious!! The outside, decorated with edible blue orchids (my wedding flowers) was gorgeous as well. They were very helpful in helping us decide what we wanted at the tasting, especially considering we had no idea when we arrived. I decided last minute I did not want a cake topper and they were very flexible, giving me the option of adding more flowers to the top of the cake at no additional cost. Overall, they were extremely pleasant to work with and our cake both tasted and looked great. What more could you ask for?! Thank you Pastry Garden!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
terri
Wedding:
5/16/2014
4.4/5.0
The Pastry Garden took a picture I gave them and gave me exactly what I wanted. When we went for tasting, the woman who met with us was nice and friendly and wrote down all details of our cake. Cake was included with our package at FEAST at Round Hill venue and was tasty. They are very busy so emails didnt get answered as quick as a phone call and their schedules do get booked quickly so appointments arent something you can get right away - so plan in advance! Good job!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs Rigono
Wedding:
5/4/2014
5.0/5.0
Our cake was fantastic!! I had originally found the color and design of what I wanted on pinterest, and I was able to bring in a picture of what I wanted and they went from there. We were able to try multiple samples, and the owner was so helpful. I had no idea what would be a good combination for fillings, other than I knew I wanted peanut butter on top for me, and my husband wanted cannoli and chocolate. :)

After our initial meeting we had nothing to worry about. The day of we brought our cake topper and some flowers, and that was it. We saw our cake and the ombre colors and everything about it was gorgeous! And I cannot tell you how delicious it was!! I wish that I could have gotten my hands on more slices that night!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wendy
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
Our cake was not only beautiful, but delicious as well! They provided our wedding cake for our day at Falkirk Estate & Country Club. Our contact worked with us through different design options, helped us save money where we could, and the result was AMAZING! We had ruffles, gold dots and accents, and a minion from Despicable Me. It was the most amazing cake ever! And the chocolate cake and cannoli filling was delicious as well. Highly HIGHLY recommend!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1400759281265-boo
Tara
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
The cake was so delicious, fresh and beautifully decorated. Many guests mentioned how addictively delicious it was - my father in law reported enjoying several slices!
The planning meeting was professional, friendly, and delicious (cake at breakfast time, oh yes!)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kris
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
I was pretty nervous the day of my wedding, so I didn't really get to taste the cake, but we did do tasting when we ordered the cake. Boy was it yummy! We had selected a couple of base types and fillings and the associate suggested a third filling that would work with the other two. Boy was she right! The combination of the cake itself and the three fillings was perfect. She was so easy to work with. We wanted a Penn State blue and white color scheme. She made sure that the right shade of blue was used. They nailed it. Very nice job!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.7/5.0
Our cake was absolutely beautiful and delicious. We had carrot cake with cream cheese frosting. My only regret was that the guests' pieces were so small. If I had known in advance how little they would be, I definitely would have paid more for bigger. That was the only down side and my venue gave a berry platter at each table so, it wasn't a huge deal. The staff was amazing and sweet and soooo easy to deal with.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leanna
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
Great cake! They made exactly what I wanted.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Austin
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was awesome! We provided a picture of what we wanted and were told no problem. When we saw the cake at our venue we were in shock. It was above and beyond what we ever could have expected. Great job and thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tracy
Wedding:
3/28/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I loved the cake that you guys made for us. It was simple and beautiful all at the same time. I will definitely use them for future cakes.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leah&Becca
Wedding:
2/16/2014
5.0/5.0
Our cake was included with our wedding at FEAST at Round Hill and it came from the Pastry Garden. Our meeting with them went very well (we were nervous since the employee we met with seemed very young, but she turned out to be great) and after the tasting we decided to upgrade and have a chocolate mousse filling in addition to a standard filling. We also gave some direction on what we wanted the cake to look like, but weren't quite sure how it would turn out. In the end the cake was beautiful and, most importantly, delicious! We got so many compliments on how great it tasted. We also got to take home some of the leftovers (in addition to the top tier) and we're really looking forward to eating more of it!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1361827883971-4090015609182238168365570n
Jahnia
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Our cake was just delicious and taste like cake one of my closest friend told me i dont even like cake but that cake was delicious. The owner Stephanie is funny and awsome as well ... When we came home the night of our wedding we ate more cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
liora
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
Andrew and I wanted to have pie for our wedding instead of cake, and BOY were we obliged! Not only did we have truly delicious pie that our guests went bananas for, but they also sent along a small cake for cake cutting! Everything was really delicious, well made, and arrived on time and in great form. :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
10/26/2013
5.0/5.0
We used The Pastry Garden for our wedding cake and it was stunning and delicious! We were so so happy with the wedding cake!

Also-my Husbands birthday was the night before the wedding and The Pastry Garden made him a custom Back to the Future themed cake and it was so cool!! Loved it!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katelyn
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
Our tasting was a ton of fun and on the Big Day the cake was amazing ! .. and beautiful !!! ... thank you !!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
As part of our contract with our venue, we received the "cake" for free if we used the Pastry Garden. We love Stephanie! She was our most personable and honest vendor. She provided numerous samples until we were sure of the flavors we wanted. She worked with us on the cake decoration and style and it was simple and beautiful.
She is someone who loves what she does and it shows and our cake was the best tasting wedding cake we've ever had!! Go with the irish bailey creme filling!!!!
We are so excited to eat our "1 year anniversary cake" that we may not wait till the one year!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BeaconCPS
Wedding:
10/13/2013
4.8/5.0
I did not have a choice on the wedding cake vendor as my venue provided it as part of the package, but I did make a groom cake. I sent images of other cakes which were made to look like a laptop and also included the design I wanted on the screen. The cake came out exactly as ordered and was delicious. Everyone loved the cake especially my now husband who is a software engineer. After ordering, they seamlessly delivered the cake to my venue and there was no hitch!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Amazing cake on our special day! Our guests wanted to take some home, but there was hardly any left! A beautiful presentation and excellent service to ensure each detail is met. Go with Pastry Garden...they are simply delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alyssa
Wedding:
10/6/2013
5.0/5.0
We thought the cake was delicious at the tasting, but it was even better at the wedding! The size and details were exactly what we discussed. We received a lot of compliments on the cake (with surprise that a wedding cake actually tasted good!).
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
10/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Had them do the grooms cake. Came out better than the picture I provided and tasted amazing
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
9/29/2013
5.0/5.0
By far the BEST wedding cake and experience I have ever had at any wedding. Loved the cake during our trial so much we ordered 4 pies as well for our wedding. The cake is included with Highlands Country Club Weddings, but had i known about them and hypothetically gotten married somewhere else, I would not want anyone else cake at our day. Apple spice and everything nice was our cake of choice. Stephanie was beyond enthusiastic about weddings and really makes the whole experience wonderful. Thanks Pastry Garden, we look forward to ordering cakes from you for years to come!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1380941546248-13822106520338214973991774712601n
Sara
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
My cake was beautiful, delicious, and I kept eating it about 5 days after my wedding cause it was so good! Ive gone to the Pastry Garden many times before my wedding everything in their shop is fantastic! My cake was exactly what I wanted, I couldn't have asked for a better cake, all my guests loved it too!Highly Highly recommended!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
marcie
Wedding:
9/20/2013
4.5/5.0
The Pastry Garden was provided by our venue and we couldn't have asked for anything better. We sampled many cakes from the bakery and we were able to find just what we wanted. We were able to buy our own ribbon and rhinestones for the cake to save a couple of bucks. Each appointment when very smoothly and everyone was very professional at all times. When choosing the design for the cake I was able to send in multiple pictures and the day of the wedding the cake couldn't have looked any better. Would recommend the bakery to anyone who is looking for a yummy cake with great style!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.5/5.0
The woman I worked with from the pastry garden was responsive and really tried to understand my vision. The cake I got from them was included with a package I got and so I can't tell you how much it was on its own. They do charge more for some of the nicer mousses which I'm not a fan of, but they did do a great job of piping on icing so that it looked like the lace on my gown. I was very satisfied with my cake, and my guests loved it. Overall, two thumbs up!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was at the Dutchess Manor, and the cake was a part of the package. It was absolutely delicious! We provided them with an invitation, and the colors and design looked exactly like we wanted! (One guest even ate 4 slices!)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carly
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
We loved the cake! They made us an apple themed cake for out harvest themed wedding!! It was perfect and our guests were fighting over the pieces left on the table! The presentation was perfect too!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.7/5.0
They were very nice and professional, great tasting cake, only thing they could improve on is the execution (the finishing design details).
The price was excellent!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jess
Wedding:
8/24/2013
4.6/5.0
First off, the cake tasted amazing. Also, they were extremely flexible at the cake tasting, because there were a few things we wanted to try when we got there that we hadn't told them ahead of time, but they whipped up new fillings for us to try in a matter of minutes. We ended up doing dark chocolate cake with 2 mousse fillings: hazelnut with chocolate crunchies & peanut butter with cookie dough. And then a regular butter cream frosting. Everyone at our wedding said it was the best wedding cake they'd ever had, and luckily I got to enjoy a piece at the wedding too! And, they include in the price a separate small cake to freeze to enjoy on the 1 year anniversary. The only reason why I didn't give all 5 stars is that I sent them a photo of a cake and told them to replicate the design. The photo had 2 flowers on the cake, and our cake only had 1. And we even talked about putting 2 flowers on the cake, and it was in the sketch. So, that was a bit disappointing. But other than that, it was great. Also, great price for such delicious cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
This place came with my venue (the Round Hill House) and since the cake was included I wasn't going to go anywhere else. And when I was looking at their website with all the pictures they had, I was a little worried b/c I wanted something more non traditional and I wasn't sure they could do it. However, I explained what I wanted (I wanted texture on the cake made out of fondant that matched the swirling texture of my dress). They said they could do it, and they did! It came out great, exactly how I envisioned it. And to top it all off, the cake was SO good. We had an amaretto cake with marzipan buttercream and raspberry preservers and it was DELICIOUS. I got SO many compliments and people actually came up to me and said, Oh my God, the cake was SO good! I was overall very pleased.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sasha
Wedding:
8/4/2013
5.0/5.0
We got married at Highlands Country Club, which uses The Pastry Garden for their desserts. We decided to have a pie station instead of a wedding cake and the pies were delicious! A number of guests told me how amazing the chocolate viennese pie was (we also had apple crumb and strawberry rhubarb). As an added bonus we got to take the extra pies home with us. We've already devoured a chocolate one and have 5 more pies in our freezer!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
8/3/2013
5.0/5.0
The Pastry Garden is my favorite bakery, so we had to go to them for our wedding cake. It was so easy! We went in, tasted some amazing cake, and they talked us through our choices to the best possible cake (chocolate cake with strawberry mousse filling and ivory butterceam frosting, if you must know). My cake was gorgeous. We had it decorated "homestyle" and added fresh flowers at the end so we could get the freshest, best tasting cake. I nearly swooned when we cut the cake. So delicious! So beautiful! We even ate the top layer they gave us to save a few days later... whoops! We'll just have to buy a new one next year for our anniversary :) We couldn't resist!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg21
Michele
Wedding:
8/3/2013
4.9/5.0
Pastry Garden did our wedding cake which was included with our reception, our groom's cake, and a special cupcake for Paul's cousin who turned 1 on our wedding. They let us choose 2 samples (unpaid) for our taste testing; we paid for the other 2 samples. Everything was delicious. I had them make a groom's cake that looked like a wrestling ring for our rehearsal dinner which was a surprise for my soon-to be husband. He loved it as they did an amazing job!!! They gave us ideas for our wedding cake which came out beautifully. The only issue we had was the cupcake that was supposed to be for Paul's cousin was delivered at the rehearsal instead of the reception. They fixed it though the next day when our coordinator called them. Overall, would highly recommend. Everything was soooooo good!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.4/5.0
delicious beautiful wedding cake
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
8/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Tastings do not do the cake justice! My mouth is watering just thinking about mine as I type this. We chose a yellow cake, w/raspberry filling and buttercream frosting-it was DELICIOUS! I'm sad to say that although we took some home, we were so stuffed the rest of the weekend we only got to enjoy it one more time. I am looking forward to having more on our one year anniversay-counting down the days! Multiple, multiple people told us how amazing the cake was and numerous people even agreed it was the best cake they had EVER had. Thank you Pastry Garden for making such an amazing, delicious and beautiful cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
7/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Our reception venue had a contract with The Pastry Garden, so our cake from them was included in our overall catering costs. The folks at The Pastry Garden were wonderful when we went for our tasting, explaining all of the different flavor combination and decorating options. We ended up paying an upgrade fee in order to get a couple premium cake flavors (hazelnut and red velvet), which was definitely worth it--they were delicious! We provided them with a photo of what we wanted the cake to look like, and they executed it very well. Our cake was pretty simple, no color or intricate patterns, just white buttercream with a few white sugar flowers. My husband and I are both very picky about icing (none of that grocery store whipped mess), and The Pastry Garden knocked it out of the park. They also prepared a separate anniversary tier and wrapped it up for us, and it's currently in our freezer waiting for us to enjoy it next summer. Can't wait!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.0/5.0
they were nice at the pastry garden..just not as helpful as i thought they would be
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
We had a wonderful experience with The Pastry Garden for our wedding cake. The samples were all so good that it was difficult to decide, and they gave us time to talk through our options and gave helpful suggestions. We ended up going with a chocolate cannoli cream in between the layers, and people loved it! We are so happy with our decision to use Pastry Garden, and will certainly use them in the future.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gina
Wedding:
7/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was perfect! We wanted something different than the traditional wedding cake and they were so open to our ideas and made our tasting and design appointment so much fun.

We had a 4-tier cake; a white cake with raspberry mouse filling, that tasted even better on our wedding day than at the tasting. Two of the tiers were completely covered with rainbow sprinkles, and it was so beautiful and delicious!! Our guests loved it and we couldn't have been happier!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Renee
Wedding:
6/29/2013
3.8/5.0
Cake was delicious!! But, it was late and not exactly what we ordered. They didn't seem to be very organized either, calling us about things we had already taken care of. Wedding guests didn't know any difference though so it wasn't a huge deal.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sharon
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
The wedding cake was designed by the bride and was made exactly as she wished with different flavors and with fresh flowers. The service was excellent and the selection is great. The price was very reasonable.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1371355135771-image
Tara
Wedding:
6/8/2013
4.6/5.0
Our cake was included with the cost of our venue, so I was a little concerned that we would be limited to what we could order. However, our cake was both delicious and beautiful! It looked exactly like what we described and was really yummy! We had such a huge range of fillings to select from and we were able to try a ton of them during the tasting. The chocolate chip cookie dough mousse was absolutely delicious! I normally don't eat the cake at weddings and especially didn't expect to eat it at mine, but I did and I loved it! Great job Pastry Garden!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katherine
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
The Pastry Garden provides all of the Highlands Country Club's cakes and ours was delicious! We met with Stephanie about a month before the wedding and she was great. We tried a few different kinds of cake and decided on vanilla cake with cannoli and chocolate mousse filling...SO GOOD. The cake turned out beautifully and I'd definitely recommend working with them!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default
Analis
Wedding:
5/24/2013
5.0/5.0
Loved our cake. They did a beautiful job with our cake and it was very tasteful.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
4/20/2013
4.6/5.0
The cakes they make taste amazing.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Our cake was beautiful and delicious. It was chocolate and everyone loved it. I can't imagine a more beautiful or delicious cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Part of my package with the Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel, was that we were going to receive a cake from The Pastry Garden. After seeing images of the cakes they have done in the past, we were very comfortable with the fact that our venue had chose them to be the ones to create our cake. At our tasting, they were very nice, and welcoming. We received 3 options to taste, and every one of them was delicious - it was hard to choose just one! We provided them with a picture of the cake we wanted them to create, and they did a BEAUTIFUL job. It was exactly how I imagined it. We loved it and received a lot of compliments!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alexis
Wedding:
3/22/2013
4.7/5.0
Thank you Pastry Garden for providing a beautiful cake that was not only delicious but exactly what we asked for. Our initial appointment left us a bit worried but all turned out wonderful!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
2/23/2013
4.6/5.0
The cake ordered was exactly what we imagined it to be! Beautiful & yummy. We wanted something a little different than the typical wedding cake- square and offset layers. This bake shop delivered!! The only area that I think this bake shop can improve on is in the ordering process. They didn't do wedding consultation/appointments in December. With our wedding in February, we still wanted to do a tasting. Considering December is their off-month, perhaps we received a one off ordering experience. Either way, we were left to do a tasting alone & that experience wasn't exactly exciting. Not sure if this is the only off month, but either way, it was weird. We went ahead with the ordering based on the bakery's reputation. Glad we did, communication after that was excellent!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natasha
Wedding:
1/19/2013
5.0/5.0
I have purchased a number cakes and pastries from The Pastry Garden. I was always pleased with their work and naturally wanted them to make my wedding cake. It was beautiful and tasted wonderful. I wanted to make sure my cake was tasty as well as beautiful and they did it. I wouldn't recommend another bakery.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
12/1/2012
4.7/5.0
I so LOVE LOVE LOVE my wedding cake. It was exactly what I asked for and it tasted amazing. All my guests loved it!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hannah
Wedding:
11/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Our cake was absolutely beautiful and tasted sooo good. I don't think wedding cakes ever taste good but everyone loved it. I was so pleased with them.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1333040188469-erica
Erica
Wedding:
11/11/2012
5.0/5.0
We just had our wedding at The Flakirk Estate and Country Club on November 11, 2012, and couldn't be any more pleased with the whole experience. The cake was gorgeous and tasted phenomenal. I could eat that cake for the rest of my life. I gave them a picture of what I wanted and they made it exactly if not better than what I expected. Every one of our guests asked for seconds and thirds of the cake, it was that delicious. We look forward to our year anniversary when we can take another sweet bite of our small two tiered wedding cake that was made special for us. I’m not a carrot cake person and the carrot cake layer was delicious I ate the whole thing. YUMMY!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
11/4/2012
4.0/5.0
Delicious wedding cake!

The only thing we did not like was that the wedding cake did not look exactly how we wanted it to...(we wanted cascading gumpaste roses going around the cake, not just going straight down) and it started falling apart a little bit during the reception (a few of the gumpaste roses fell off on the side) before we cut the cake....Also the staff was a little unorganized...when we called, they said a couple times that they misplaced my file but then would find it. That was a little frustrating since we did our tasting and made our bookings in person. Other than that, everything was great and above all...it was delicious! We froze our anniversary topper/cake and cannot wait to eat it on our one year anniversary!

We always love going to the Pastry Garden and always recommend them to our family & friends!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg5
Anonymous
Wedding:
11/3/2012
4.9/5.0
We just had our wedding over the weekend and our cake is everything we wanted and more! We were planning our wedding for up in New Windsor from down on Long Island so we did everything via email. As for the design it was absolutely amazing and it tasted delicious!!! I could not have asked for a better cake!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Frieda
Wedding:
11/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Pastry Garden made our wedding cake and it was beautiful! Our wedding took place in the Fall of last year and our theme was red. Our 3 tired wedding cake was white that had fall colored roses that cascaded down the cake with amazing swirl designs in white and red. The filling choices were delicious and was a hit with our guests. As an addition to our wedding cake, I surprised my husband with a groomsmen Green Bay football cake that Pastry Garden nailed and my husband would never forget it! We would highly recommend the Pastry Garden for your next event!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1352998371425-1109536960536333906382655105n
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
My wedding cake was so beautiful. So delicious! Everyone loved it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
B12
slopez
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was beautiful as well as delicious!! The pastry garden was great to work with. They had such a fun pleasant attitude. Making the whole experience of choosing a cake easy and fun!! Would definetly use them again whenever i need any type of cake for any occasion. There prices are great too!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MICHAEL
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
THE PASTRY GARDEN DID SUCH AN AMAZING JOB ON OUR WEDDING CAKE. MY WIFE JAMIE AND I WENT TO MEET WITH THE OWNER AND SHE WAS SO NICE AND PROFESSIONAL WE KNEW WE DID NOT HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT HAVING A GREAT TASTING CAKE AND WE WERE RIGHT. SHE ALSO SENT US OFF WITH SO MUCH CANNOLI FILLING I HAD TO SHARE IT WITH MY FAMILY EVEN THOUGHT I DIDN'T WANT TO LOL. WE ACTUALLY GOT MARRIED ON MY MOTHER'S BIRTHDAY SO WE ASKED TO HAVE A LITTLE CARROT BIRTHDAY CAKE DELIVERED AS WELL TO SURPRISE MY MOTHER WITH. THE CARROT CAKE WAS SO DELICIOUS MY OLDER SISTER WHO DOES NOT LIKE CARROT CAKE TOOK A PIECE OUT OF RESPECT AND WAS SO SURPRISED THAT IT TASTED SO GOOD TO HER FOR THE FIRST TIME EVER SHE ATE HER PIECE AND ASKED FOR MORE LOL. NOW IF SOMEONE DOES NOT LIKE SOMETHING AND THEN TASTES IT AND WANTS MORE OF IT THEN YOU KNOW YOU ARE DOING SOMETHNG RIGHT AND YOU ARE GREAT AT WHAT YOU DO. WE WILL DEFINITELY RECOMMEND FREINDS AND ANYONE WHO WANTS A GREAT TASTING AND GREAT LOOKING CAKE FOR ANY OCCASION THEY NEED IT FOR. WE THANK YOU SO MUCH PASTRY GARDEN AND LOOK FORWARD TO DO BUSINESS IN THE FUTURE WITH YOU FOR BIRTHDAYS, ANNIVERSARYS, AND FOR PASTRIES FOR DESSERT.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1309047143837-jnhjersey
Heidi
Wedding:
10/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Our Wedding cake was provided as part of our reception package at Rolling Greens. The entire Bonura Hospitality group using them for all the wedding cakes .... Because they are the best!! I was so happy because I was planning on using them anyway! Our cake was gorgeous and delicious. We did 3 different cakes flavored but the hazelnut with the vanilla custard and fresh strawberries was by far my favorite. ! The planning process was actually fun tasting the different options!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Daina
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Our cake from The Pastry Garden was fantastic!!
we ordered a vanilla, strawberry fruit, vanilla custard filling cake, with french buttercream. OMG, it was so moist and all my guests loved it. Most people asked for seconds!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
A tried and true bakery. The quality and taste of our cake was awesome. We just ordered my birthday cake from them as a matter of fact. Our runner up for our wedding cake: chocolate cake with raspberry preserves and chocolate mousse filling. We went with a marble cake with raspberry mousse and chocolate mousse for the wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1354271265088-7
Natalie
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake came from the Pastry Garden as part of our wedding package. All we had to do was contact Pastry Garden to set up a tasting. The process was extremely quick and easy! We were able to choose the types of cakes and fillings we wanted to try, and when we went in to taste them, we also looked through a large album of wedding cake design options. They had a design that fit perfectly with the rest of our wedding theme, and we were so pleased with the way it turned out. I also chose to purchase a groom's cake for my husband, which you can see a picture of on my profile. I gave a picture to Pastry Garden of my idea for the cake, and it turned out exactly how I had hoped it would! He was so excited when he saw his NY Giants cake! I highly recommend Pastry Garden for your wedding cake. The only problem you might have is deciding what flavor you want, because they are all delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Our cake was delicious and exactly how we asked for it!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg19
Jackie
Wedding:
10/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Our cake was awesome! It was fall themed, and decorated with pumpkins, gourds, and leaves. It tasted wonderful too. I'm so glad we got our cake from Pastry Garden!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
10/6/2012
2.7/5.0
I feel harsh putting those stars at low scores but before you disregard Pastry Garden please know that our wedding cake was DELICIOUS!! Pastry Garden was the bakery chosen by our reception venue so we didn't have a say in who would be making our wedding cake. The samples we requested were all tasty and it wasn't hard to choose our wedding cake (vanilla cake with hazelnut amaretto and chocolate ganache! Yum!).

Reason for the low stars? 3 days before my wedding I got a call from the Pasty Garden saying they had no information about my wedding other than the the date and location. Excuse my language but my reaction was wtf since my fiancé and I went to their bakery and IN PERSON discussed our design and cake choice. Whomever called me apologized for throwing that at me with a few days to go but needed all of our information . Even more disturbing is she asked me if my name was Jessica (it's not) and if my wedding was on the 20th (it was the 6th). After frantically trying to find the design my fiancé and I picked, I emailed them per their request all of the details they should have had. When I called to confirm they received my email, I was told they found the paperwork. Simply put, they should have looked harder for the paperwork before calling the bride 3 days ahead.

So yes, bumps in the road in the days before my wedding but as I started my review, the wedding cake was so amazing and tasty. It was even more delicious than the tasting...during the cutting ceremony my husband kept eating it while we were center stage! Why'd he keep eating it in front of everyone? Cause he loved it!

Overall, cake was delicious but the bakery could be a little more organized. We were told we will be given a smaller cake to freeze and eat in a year...I haven't heard anything about that yet so am anxiously waiting to hear whether they'll pull through on that promise!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
10/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Our cake was delicious!! I am not a big fan of wedding cake in general, but I ate mine for sure. Yum!! It was perfect. I highly recommend.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/30/2012
5.0/5.0
Beyond amazing!!!! Our red velvet cake was a huge hit and the Pastry Garden was so easy and nice to deal with. The cake looked beautiful, we were so happy!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
9/29/2012
4.4/5.0
Great tasting cake! They worked with us and incorporated elements of our invite onto our cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1332857731310-img3598
Jheramis
Wedding:
9/21/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake from Pastry Garden was actually included in our wedding package with F.E.A.S.T at Round Hill. I am so glad for this because they are an amazing bakery and I don't know that I would have found them on my own. Because of bad weather we showed up to our tasting almost an hour late and they were still very accomodating. They have amazing flavors and narrowing it down was definitely a challenge. In the end we went with alternating tiers of red velvet and cream cheese filling and hazelnut cake with bailey's filling. our guests LOVED both.

we also chose a very simple design for our cake (we're not the frilly types) and they managed to produce a beautifully elegant and chic final product the day of. We were beyond pleased.

In addition to our cake for the reception they also provided an extra "top tier" for our one year anniversary. Full disclosure: our venue sent us home with the half tier that was left over from our reception cake and we devoured that the day after our wedding before setting off for our honeymoon. When we got back from our honeymoon the temptattion of our anniversary top tier was too great and we inhaled that. in one sitting. it is THAT good.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
The pastry garden was great to work with. They came included with my venue but I wouldn't have changed to another baker either way. They created my cake based on inspiration photos and of course the cake itself was to die for!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1350473732162-20110412663230286900
Anonymous
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
The entire experience was great! The cake was included with our package from Anthony's Pier 9 but we were able to choose whatever cake we wanted. We met at the bakery and tasted 3 different cakes that we choose ahead of time and then sat and discussed exactly what we wanted our cake to look like. Everyone loved how it looked and how it taste.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
April
Wedding:
8/31/2012
5.0/5.0
Our cake was beautiful- the staff worked with me via email and in person to ensure they would be able to bring to life the vision I had seen online. Everything turned out amazing!! the cake was delicious and i cant wait to eat it again- thankfully they are local and i can get other things from them in the future!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Our cake from The Pastry Garden was amazing! It looked absolutely beautiful and tasted amazing! It was the best wedding cake I had ever had! The detail on the cake that was done by hand was amazing and the flowers on the cake made the whole cake really pop and shine!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
My wedding cake was wonderful! It looked just like the picture I had selected, and tasked delicious!! I would definitely recommend this vendor!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1348673249188-weddingphoto
Faith
Wedding:
8/24/2012
4.8/5.0
My cake was included with my package at the Garrison so I can't attest to price, but I can say that the cake was absolutely beautiful and tasted delicious! The pasty garden was pretty responsive when setting up an appt to go in for a tasting but it seemed like you needed to set it up pretty far in advance if you wanted a weekend appt. They gave us a list of cakes and fillings and we chose what we wanted to try when we came in. All the combinations were yummy but we settled on vanilla custard with white & chocolate cake and white buttercream. I showed the consultant photos of the cake design I liked and they promised they can replicate it. I had a few minor changes on the design. On the day of the wedding I was happy that the cake came out exactly as I wanted it and it tasted delicious! Many guests had more than 1 slice. At our cake tasting, they gave us a voucher for a small cake exactly as our wedding cake was (regarding fillings, not design) to come back for our 1 year anniversary. I thought this was a fantastic idea as many of my friends complained about how disgusting 1 year old freezer burned cake is. So my husband and I decided to eat our cake for our 1 day anniversary and every night that week before we left for our honeymoon :-) I think pastry garden does a great job and we were very happy with them.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marsha
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
The Pastry Garden is the best! I showed them the picture of how I wanted our wedding cake would like like and they did an amazing job. The cake was so beautiful and not to mention, very yummy! It was very light and yet very flavorful. I highly recommend them!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kiran
Wedding:
8/4/2012
4.9/5.0
Stephanie and everybody at the Pastry Garden was so lovely and worked with us to get exactly what we wanted. Our cake not only looked beautiful on our wedding day, but it tasted wonderful as well!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
8/3/2012
5.0/5.0
The cake was the best cake I've ever had!! I found a picture in a magazine and they made exactly what I wanted!!! I will be using the pastry garden for all our party cakes!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1307650624183-dsc00491
Melissa
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
The cake was beautiful and delicious. I could not have asked for a better cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
We had our cake included in our package from Pier 9, but I would get another cake from here in a heartbeat! They were very accommodating when we got stuck in traffic on our way down for our tasting, and because we lived over an hour away they squeezed us in anyway that day with no problem. The cake flavors were amazing and so hard to choose the perfect one! We went with a vanilla cake with alternating cannoli and strawberry filling. We had so many compliments on the taste as well as the design!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
My cake was included in my venue price, but the cake we got was phenomenal!!! Everyone raved on how delicious it was!!! Me, not usually liking cake, loved it!!! They made it look beautiful and didn't charge me any extra costs!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1295374902855-2648641680217578060704578057895326300314n
Danielle
Wedding:
7/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was equally beautiful and delicious. After attending a tasting, my husband and I decided on yellow cake with raspberry preserve filling, and we both enjoyed it so much that we've decided it's totally worth the 45-minute drive to get the same cake for all of our special occasions.

Excellent choice!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
The first word that comes to mind about this vendor is delicious! My husband and I chose the carrot cake with cream cheese frosting and it was incredible. Definitely not your run of the mill wedding cake. I gave the pastry garden a picture of the design I wanted and they replicated it exactly, it was stunning! I couldn't be happier with their services and would definitely recommend them to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Doria
Wedding:
7/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Our cake was fabulous-moist, sweet and beautifully decorated. It was decorated as a birch tree and they did an amazing job bringing the vision into a reality.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
6/29/2012
3.1/5.0
I did not love my wedding cake. I had regular icing that you could see cracks in all over the cake! I ended up paying my florist for more flowers and he placed them on the cake because the cake decorations they had were tacky. I paid $1 extra per slice($185 extra) for a raspberry mousse that was barely even in the cake! Most of the fillings had weird after tastes! Be careful with the pastry garden... Go simple!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg5
Christiana
Wedding:
6/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Our cake was provided by The Pastry Garden through Pier 9. They were great to work with and the cake tasted delicious and turned out beautifully. They will do whatever you want and make sure it turns out great. They are the main wedding cake people in the area and even though I was one of probably hundreds of brides that weekend they made sure everything was perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
They made us a Harry Potter cake. Enough said! Cake was really tasty and lovely. Go for the Bailey's Irish Creme Mousse!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg5
SarahBeth610
Wedding:
6/10/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I were contracted with the Pastry Garden through the Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel with out wedding package. We are very happy with the service and product we received. The people at the Pastry Garden were very accommodating to our busy schedule, even coming in early to meet with us before their regularly scheduled appointments. We love the way our cake turned out and it was absolutely delicious. We can't wait to dive into the top tier next year, which was saved for us to freeze for our anniversary!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
courtney
Wedding:
6/8/2012
5.0/5.0
The Garrison uses The Pastry Garden to bake all cakes for their wedding...and they should continue! DELICIOUS flavor choices and quality...loved the cake!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lindsay
Wedding:
6/3/2012
5.0/5.0
Bridget and Stephanie were a DREAM to work with on our wedding cake!!! The cakes we got for both our wedding and our rehearsal dinner were not only GORGEOUS but, most importantly, THEY TASTED AS AMAZING AS THEY LOOKED!!! REST ASSURED, THEY'RE AMAZING!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Our cake was delicious! This was the cake provided through the Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel and it was perfect! We went to meet with Stephanie before hand and picked everything out! When we went to look at the room before the reception started, our cake was perfect and just what we imagined! They did a great job!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was absolutely beautiful and just as delicious!! We brought in a picture of a unique cake we had seen online and asked if The Pastry Garden could replicate it. They didn't replicate it - their version was BETTER than the picture we brought in. The cake tasting was very helpful and the staff is very knowledgeable and nice to work with. All of our wedding guests were commenting on how delicious the cake was, as most wedding cakes are "just ok." We had vanilla cake with white chocolate, vanilla custard, and strawberry mousse filling. YUM! I would highly recommend The Pastry Garden to anyone planning their wedding. :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
5/27/2012
4.8/5.0
I planned my wedding from Alabama, but it was very easy to work with the Pastry Garden via email and long-distance communication. They are very flexible in the cakes they can create and mimiced extremely detailed patterns from my invitations using hand-piped icing. The most impressive aspects of the cake were the stunning gum-paste flowers they created. The cakes and fillings are delicious- prepare for a sugar rush on your cake-tasting day, as they do not skimp on the samples! The staff is very friendly, and the cake just showed up at the reception with no coordination or work required from me. They are very easy to work with and provide a good-quality product.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maria
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
The Pastry Garden allowed us to have cake testing with them. There are so many possibilities that it took my husband and I a little while to choose but we finally narrowed it down to five. The cake tasting was just a hint of the deliciousness of our wedding cake. The owner was actually the one that sat with us. She was very patient with us and answered all our questions. She even gave us options that we didn't see in her books. The cake that we chose was exactly what we saw on the day of the wedding. It not only was delicious but beautiful too! We liked it so much that we have ordered cakes for all our occasions since the wedding from the Pastry Garden.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Excellent Service. I would highly recommend The Pastry Garden for your wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ocnyp
Wedding:
5/25/2012
5.0/5.0
The tasting was probably the most difficult part about working with The Pastry Garden. But only because every cake we tried was as good as the next. The carrot cake was so moist and so delicious, and the white cake with strawberry mousse was sweet and light. The flavor that blew us away though was the hazelnut cake - we paired it with a raspberry mouse and raspberry preserves filling, and our guests were raving about it. As for the design, we had a very specific and fairly complicated design that we found in a magazine that we wanted them to re-create. They absolutely nailed it. The cake was gorgeous, and the unique design got all of the guest's attention.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.4/5.0
Hands down the best wedding cake I've ever had, and glad it was at my wedding! The cake tasting was super flexible and the staff was very accommodating. We had so many people tell us they thought the cake was amazing, and we have really picky eaters! I can't comment on the value of the services, since it was included in our venue's catering package, but I would have paid top dollar for this cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
5/18/2012
5.0/5.0
Our cake was fabulous! This vendor is contracted with our venue, and when we went for our tasting we were expecting a regular bakery. This is one of the best bakeries I have ever used! The cake was delicious and their customer service was excellent. We had the pleasure of working with Lisa, and she was so helpful and friendly! Definitely try some of the different flavors for fillings - you will not be disappointed!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
5/12/2012
1.7/5.0
It seemed in the beginning that everything was going to go well! My husband and I put alot of thought into it and sent an email and a couple pics but 2 weeks before our big day, we had to go in and show her something with the ribbon we wanted and when we got there another woman said she would take care of it all.. Well the day o my wedding It was not the right cake. The filling was great and te cake was nice but not what we ordered. Then when I called they say they couldn't do anything and it really upset me cause I was really really nice about it. Finally the boss said we will take off $100 and she said she would give anymore cause our venue payed for it and I thought yeah with out money! Then I asked can u make a mini cake like the one we should have gotten and they didn't seem happy about that at all but did it and it still tired out bad and by the time we got Ot to the car it was melting and the flowers all fell off by the time we got home. Also while we were on our honeymoon they called several times to inform us that they were working on our FREE cake and it will be don't on that date we asked for it.. Like really? My husband and I were the only ones who were professional ones. Cake did taste gOod though! Just make sure u ask a million questions and don't do email show up and have a portfolio maybe they wont ever mess up that way!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1317913046144-066
Stephanie
Wedding:
4/21/2012
4.1/5.0
My pastry garden cake was included in my package from dutchess manor. There was a limit on the kinds of cake and filling we could choose. We picked the chocolate cake with strawberry filling and all of my guests loved the taste of the cake. They sat with us for the design and they had a lot of pictures of ideas to match. The 4 tier square offset cake turned out exactly as I wanted. Purple swirls and ribbon. The only bad thing was communication after the initial order. I emailed again to ask about the ribbon cost and no response and they didn't communicate with the venue about putting flowers on top of the cake. It was added last minute and didn't look the best.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1324570548450-scan.bmp
Kyla
Wedding:
3/18/2012
5.0/5.0
Everyone loved my cake. They met with me more than once to make sure it was what I wanted. I would mention that they do mix the fillings themselves so telling them if you want it a stronger or weaker flavor would be a good thing. I was glad they provided columns and supports that we only paid a deposit for. I was able to get my deposit back at the time I returned the items but there was no rush on their part. I liked the size of the samples. I was even able to take them with me since I didn't have time to stay. I only wish they could dedicate more time to wedding cakes. At one point I was a concerned about the texture of the filling but the manager/owner personally met with me promptly to ensure the quality of my cake. I'll make sure I go back for my one year anniversary cake. Thank you Pastry Garden!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1318987438024-10465912154e9cb47c554d18.56545635
Sarah
Wedding:
3/17/2012
3.7/5.0
I need to start off with I absolutely love the pastry garden I get cakes all the time from them. When it came to my wedding cake it was included with my venue so I was pleased. Naturally the cake tasting amazing. It was a pretty cake but not exactly what I wanted. I gave them a picture from the cake boss that I asked if they could replicate it. They said it would not be a problem. I wanted the decorative flowers on the cake to be bright and vibrant just like the picture. Then girl who sat with us for the design asked if I want the color of the flowers to be changed to the same colors as my bridesmaids (each had a different color) I told her no to keep them the same as the picture to keep things interesting. The picture I gave them was a four tier white quilted cake with silver balls in each quilted corner. There were Vibrant Green, Purple, Pink, Orange and yellow gum paste flowers on it, as well as Buddy from cake boss standing next to the cake. I gave them a picture of my dress (which they matched the cake color too) and the girls dresses which were jewel tones (blue, green, red, purple and pink) so she could see the richness of color that we wanted. When we got to our reception and saw the cake the flowers were all pastels. The cake was beautiful and everyone loved it, but it wasn't what I asked for. I was very clear on the colors and the picture was very clear I don't know why they used pastel colors. But as I read through the reviews it seems that they are a little off the mark when it comes to colors.

The owner of the shop called me a week before to confirm the cake and head count. She also made a remark about how she appreciated me giving a her a picture of Buddy, and how he does the same thing as she does only makes more money, which I found a bit un professional. She also was asking me about the wedding coordinator at my venue (he was no longer working there, I don't know why no one told me) I felt like she was looking for gossip which again I did not find professional.

At the end of the day it was delicious and we have our top tier in our freezer waiting for our 1 year anniversary I can not wait to cut into it and eat it next year.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angelina
Wedding:
3/9/2012
4.9/5.0
Our cake was so delicious. I can't wait until our first year anniversary so we could eat the top!!!! Yum!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Gg11
Robert
Wedding:
1/21/2012
4.8/5.0
It's been said that the wedding cake is there to look nice, but not to bother eating. Not with these guys! I'm a hardcore sweet-tooth and had high hopes for a great cake at our wedding; The Pastry Garden delivered! My husband and I chose two different flavors, one of which was something they'd never made before (petit-four-style marzipan & raspberry), but they pulled it off perfectly. We had family telling us for weeks how good the cake was.
Cost was reasonable for a decorated four-tier wedding cake, although my Husband and I worked with The Pastry Garden through a partnership they have with our venue, Anthony's Pier 9, so most it was covered for us. The tasting was quick and simple, and very little follow-up was needed; they took our ideas and handled it all on their own. We are very glad we were able to work with this bakery!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah G.
Wedding:
11/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake from the Pastry Garden was incredible! They took our simple cake idea and created a BEAUTIFUL cake. It looked and tasted fantastic. Cake of my dreams!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Snowbride
Wedding:
10/29/2011
5.0/5.0
The pastry garden did a wonderful job with my wedding cake. From the first consultation we were put at ease that anything we wanted could be done. And the end result was not only beautiful, it tasted amazing. All our guests kept saying how it was the best cake they had ever had.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kel8122
Wedding:
10/28/2011
5.0/5.0
We got the spice cake and it was so good. Much better than most wedding cakes. Well worth it. People are still talking about how good the cake was.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
karuba1980
Wedding:
10/22/2011
5.0/5.0
The Pastry Garden made an absolutely beautiful cake. Not only was it beautiful on the outside...it was delicious! Many guests said it was the best cake they've ever had at a wedding and we would have to agree!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
10/21/2011
5.0/5.0
yum! One of the best cakes I've ever had! The sampling was fun and all our guests loved the cake. We chose a marble cake with white choc and choc mousse filling. They also provided a grooms cake that was gluten free and that was delicious also. We use the pastry garden on a regular basis so we knew there would not be any complaints.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1305741856308-mg6791
Wendy
Wedding:
10/16/2011
5.0/5.0
We met with Lisa to do a tasting and I had no problem picking my flavors but I was all over the place with design. We were probably there for almost 2 hrs. and still she was extremely patient and had great suggestions. We also had to pick a birthday cake for my daughter because the wedding was on the same day. We didn't know how big we should make the second cake so Lisa came up with the idea of making it an average size and then making little mini replica cakes to go on the side of the dish with the wedding cake pieces which worked out perfectly and really didn't cost much. The cakes came out beautiful and looked exactly how I had wanted and they tasted AMAZING! I am not a big fan of the taste of wedding cakes but mine were delicious and very moist. I couldn't have been happier with the Pastry Garden.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1288216559640-westlakeeses13
Shana
Wedding:
10/9/2011
4.9/5.0
The Pastry Garden provided our wedding cake through our venue, Dutchess Manor, and we were very happy with the final product. The bakery has a lot of flavor options and we were thrilled with our final decision, vanilla cake with chocolate mousse and vanilla custard. We were also very happy with the final design, with brown ribbons and red leaves piped on top of an off-white buttercream base. Many of my guests commented that they were amazed that our cake looked so great without any fondant. The cake was delicious and we're looking forward to tasting it again on our one year anniversary. I can't comment on the value, because it was included in our package at the venue, but we would definitely recommend the Pastry Garden in the future.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
devon
Wedding:
10/7/2011
5.0/5.0
The pastry garden was very helpful and designed a beautiful cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TracynSteve
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
You guys rock!! You took my colors and matched them identically and made my wedding cake just the way I imagined it!! Thanks soooo much!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SBright
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
The Pastry Garden provided our cake through The Garrison. Choosing the cake was the easiest part of our wedding planning. All of the cakes we tasted were delicious. I brought photographs with us of examples of cakes I liked. We ended up with two different flavor cakes: chocolate with chocolate ganache and fresh berries and spice cake with cannoli cream and blueberry preserves with buttercream frosting. Not only was the cake delicious, but it was even more beautiful then I could have imagined. The cake looked even better then the pictures I provided. I couldn't be more pleased with the Pastry Garden. Thank you!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jzamorski
Wedding:
9/11/2011
4.2/5.0
Our wedding cake was contracted out to The Pastry Garden. The tasting went well, and the bakery was more than accomodating in letting us try various flavor combinations. Additionally, they were very flexible with our choices and preferences. The one mark against the bakery was their responsiveness. We needed to provide a picture of the cake design to our florist so that the florist could design an appropriate cake topping. We had to follow up two separate times in order to get what we needed. Otherwise, we were very satisfied with our cake.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aryssa
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Guests literally told me that they were not cake lovers-but that our cake made them love cake! It honestly was some of the best cake I've had as well. They also sent you home with a separate "anniversary cake" to freeze for your 1 year anniversary!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg22
Melissa
Wedding:
9/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Delicious!!! My cake looked great. Everything from the Pastry Garden is so good.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nilima
Wedding:
9/4/2011
4.9/5.0
We had 3 amazing cupcake favors at our reception: red velvet with white chocolate mouse filling and cream cheese frosting, tiramisu with cappuccino mouse filling and cappuccino butter cream frosting wih cinnamon dusted on top, and coconut cream with coconut mouse filling and butter cream frosting with fresh coconut on top. They were all amazing. The presentation was even better than we had planned for. The cheese bread and cheese cake they have are made of the best cheese filling in the world- that is if we really like a dense, cheesy filling. I would go back there again and would recommend them highly.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
GiuliaC11
Wedding:
8/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Our cake was beautiful and delicious. All our guests loved it! I'm not a dessert type person, but I had a ton of fun at the tasting and was amazed at all the options and everything we tried was so good. The Pastry Garden was also really flexible and in design. I brought a picture in of a cake I saw on The Knot and they were able to replicate it without a problem. And something else that is really cool about them is that they give you a seperate cake all together to bring home with you and not just the top layer of the original wedding cake. That means that the "one year anniversary cake" can be a completely different flavor. Our wedding cake was chocolate with raspberry preserve filling and white chocolate mousse filling with butter cream icing. Our one year cake will be chocolate with peanut butter mousse and chocolate ganache with butter cream icing. I can't wait to eat it! And oh, the Pastry Garden also made us 10 delicious cookie assortment platters with very last minute notice...they were great!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1315194130532-3073571015028719859331864352831779894101504756n
Heather
Wedding:
8/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Pastry Garden did our cake and it was delicious. Bailey's and ganache is the best thing in this world as a cake. Everyone was raving about how good the cake was.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kmneely18
Wedding:
8/12/2011
5.0/5.0
My wedding cake was perfect. I wanted a really simple design but they executed it beautifully. It tasted great too!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
7/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Delicious cake! And design was gorgeous! If you want a cake that tastes as amazing as it looks, this is definitely the place to go!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
M and M
Wedding:
6/18/2011
4.9/5.0
My husband and I had a non-traditional wedding at a winery and we wanted our cake to represent who we are. We ordered cupcakes and my husband made a cupcake display large enough for almost 200 cupcakes! It was amazing! Great cupcakes- Carrot cake with a vanilla custard filling with creamcheese frosting.... delicious!! AND the best part- included with the cupcakes was a 6" Top Cake for us to cut during the reception, AND a 6" anniversary cake! The price was unbeatable and the cake was delicious!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Pastry Garden made us the most delicious wedding cake. It was beautiful and they really made the coordination with our florist very easy.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
5/14/2011
4.6/5.0
Our cake from the Pastry Garden came with our wedding package at Highlands Country Club. We were going with a simple and elegant look throughout our wedding, and the cake was simple and beautiful, with flowers that were added by our florist. It did seem a little ridiculous to travel all the way from NYC for a meeting (train and taxi), but in the end, the peace of mind was worth it, and the cake arrived just as we’d discussed. My only complaint is that I wish they had more weekend appointment slots – if you need a Saturday appointment, book it early!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
san
Wedding:
5/14/2011
5.0/5.0
I love the Pastry Garden Cakes. Their cakes are delicious. I made the cake toppers and delivered it to them. They decorated the sides of the cake to match.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KPotts
Wedding:
5/1/2011
3.4/5.0
We had to use the Pastry Garden because it came with our package at the Pok Grand. After doing some research on reviews, we were a little nervous about the cake looking like we wanted. The cake that was delivered was absolutely delicious. Everyone said the cake was the best wedding cake they'd ever tasted. However, we specifically requested a celery green frosting, even leaving them color samples. The cake that was delivered had white frosting. It still looked beautiful; it just wasn't want we wanted.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1291838959941-kar175
Kristi
Wedding:
11/14/2010
4.9/5.0
The POK grand, our reception site, used the Pastry Garden for our cake. Our design was one which came with our package so we did not have a lot of choice in the decorations, but they did a beautiful job on the cake. The guests all stated that the cake was delicious and was one of the best wedding cakes they ever had.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alicia
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
The cake was exactly how I pictured it would be and met my every expectation. Our selection was extremely moist and simply delicious. The staff made the choices easy and I really felt I couldn't go wrong with any of the selections.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hudsonvalleybride
Wedding:
10/2/2010
3.8/5.0
Our wedding venue included a wedding cake with our package. We were told to go to Pastry Garden to choose the option we wanted. For other brides also getting married at the Garrison, just be aware that it's quite a drive!

We were given a dollar amount, and the Pastry Garden was very flexible when we told them that we wanted assorted desserts and a small wedding cake, instead of a large/elaborate wedding cake. They let us taste a bunch of desserts and choose a selection for a dessert buffet, which they delivered to our venue. The assorted desserts were all really good.

In terms of the cake, they are a little behind the times with regards to their design options. The photo book they showed me looked like it came from the 1980's. They weren't super creative or helpful on the cake I wanted (which had real fruit on it as a decorative touch), which is why I gave them a "3" on responsiveness, and had to hire someone else to add the decorations.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
brooklynbride926
Wedding:
10/2/2010
3.7/5.0
First of all, our cake was DELICIOUS-- everyone said so and people were asking for second slices!

Our problem was the decorations-- our cake was square (we had asked for hexagon)- there were white and orangey pink flowers up the side (we asked for white and cream)- and it was a pale turquoise (we asked for light blue).

Not horrible, just a little off the mark on everything. When we told them, they refunded the extra $50 we paid for the gum paste flowers. Still delicious!

What I really liked it they make a seperate layer prewrapped in a box for your take home layer. You don't have to worry about coordinating getting the top layer off!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jen
Wedding:
9/25/2010
4.6/5.0
At first, I was a little nervous about how the cake was going to turn out because the consultant wasn't very helpful during our meeting. I felt I needed a little more help with the outside design and struggled to figure out what they could and couldn't do. Also, I was told the final payment was due on one date and then received a call that it was due on a different date. Luckily, their cakes are not very expensive so this wasn't a problem. In the end, the cake looked beautiful, was delivered on time, and tasted great!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
8/21/2010
3.8/5.0
We decided to go with The Pastry Garden for our wedding cake based on positive reviews. We were impressed with the taste testing and were really excited about our cake selection and felt like the Pastry Garden had a good understanding of what we wanted and could produce it!

However, I was grealty disappointed with the look of our cake on our wedding day. Our wedding colors were champagne, ivory and sage green. I sent them an attachment of a cake I wanted them to recreate. It was a simple cake with piping. I wanted the colors to be champage and ivory. While the design was correct and looked nice, the colors were very off. The cake was tan colored with light pastel blue piping and ribbon. While the actual cake itself was delicious and everyone enjoyed it, I was very embarassed with the display of it all night. With the green leafy pieces the florist made for it--the whole thing just looked tacky.

I never called to ask Pastry Garden just why my cake was the colors it was... and who would think blue looked anything like ivory. But overall it was a small part of our wedding day--(although I do cringe when I see photos of that cake!) But then again, my cake was just 2-tier for less than 40, so I could see where making it nice was not a huge priority for them.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kmandja
Wedding:
8/20/2010
4.8/5.0
Delish!!

Wow...when I had my first bite of cake after the cake cutting, I kept telling my husband how good our cake tasted!

We also had a dessert buffet provided by The Pastry Garden that was also very delish!! The Pastry Garden is very flexible as we kept changing our mind!
We love them!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1272424963037-dsc0094
JoshandTriciasWedding
Wedding:
5/31/2010
5.0/5.0
The pastry garden does the absolute best job for a wedding cake you could wish for. We had a very specific design in mind, something between a cross of a photo we found and something I drew out that my wife described to me...I couldn't believe it when I saw the cake, it was perfect, flawless actually. It was the best tasting cake I have ever had in my life. :) Thanks guys!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
esmay13
Wedding:
5/23/2010
3.8/5.0
We used this bakery because it was part of our wedding package. The cake itself tasted great. However, the outside was pretty standard. Very pretty, but not as nice as other wedding cakes.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Conspiracle
Wedding:
2/4/2010
5.0/5.0
Incredibly professional, helpful, attentive, responsive, and patient. They worked with us to help us figure out what exactly we wanted our cake to look and taste like, because my husband and I could not agree. It turned out absolutely beautiful and so scrumptious! Many of my guests commented that it was the "best cake they'd ever had," and the prices were incredible for the product! I was so pleased with it that I didn't want to cut it!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1308946661977-img0026
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
They made the best wedding cake ever! Their service was was incredible. VERY flexible, very open to changes and additions.
THey really know their product well and gave us fantastic choices and combinations. Our cake was very atypical and unconventional in flavor but it was awesome!

THey were also so incredibly generous at our tasting and my husband and I cannot stop talking about our cake 2+ years later
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dianne
Wedding:
10/24/2009
5.0/5.0
had cupcakes and a grooms cake, six different flavors. My guests could not get enough.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeanne-Marie
Wedding:
7/26/2009
5.0/5.0
The wedding cake was beautiful and tasted delicious.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg5
cybernexus
Wedding:
7/25/2009
5.0/5.0
The cake was absolutely delicious and the price was not bank breaking either. We custom designed a cake based on a handful of samples and a book full of flowers and arrangements.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Holly
Wedding:
7/17/2009
5.0/5.0
The Pastry Garden was wonderful! They were professional from start to finish. My husband and I had a blast at the cake tasting! I gave them a small cut out of a cake that I fell in love with and they produced an EXACT version of the cake. In fact, the cake they created was even more beautiful! The cake was also just as delicious as it was beautiful! I would HIGHLY reccomend them to any bride!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
7/10/2009
5.0/5.0
Our cake was delicious! We never did a cake testing and were so surprised by how good it was that we said it out loud after we cut the cake and tried it! Guests complimented us on the cake and asked where it came from. It looked good too!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Withthisring
Wedding:
6/7/2009
3.6/5.0
Although the cake was delicious, we didn’t have the best experience when we went for our tasting. The woman we met with, Lisa, wasn’t very nice. Our appointment was for 2pm and she didn’t meet with us until 2:45. When she finally sat with us to discuss how the cake should look, she tried to rush us through every decision. I ended up buying my own ribbon and sugar flowers for the cake because she didn’t have time to show me anything. Again the cake was good and ended up looking like the picture I provided to them but the whole experience wasn’t what I had hoped for.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
5/17/2009
5.0/5.0
Our wedding cake was BEAUTIFUL, and tasted incredible! We got lots of comments from our guests about how delicious the wedding cake was! Though we dealt with the Pastry Garden through Anthony's Pier 9, it was a remarkable job well done!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
coffeeworker
Wedding:
11/8/2008
4.8/5.0
The Cake was the most important part to me besides the food. We poured through a dozen books before we agreed on a design. I took a picture of it. I took it for a test drive. I purchased a small cake to see what they could do. I loved the way it tasted. The color was a little too Pepto-Bismol Pink. I told them the color was off. It was supposed to be a Dusty Rose. They had a picture and a ribbon sample. There should not have been any problems. They just deliver the cakes. They do not set them up. I was not happy with the set up of my cake. He apologized even though it was not his responsibility. I then commented on the difference between the cake in the picture I had shown him and the one delivered to my wedding. He agreed that again the color was off and that the cake I received did not look like the picture. The cake was delicious! That was its only redeeming quality. It was pretty, but almost a fuschia pink. Nice for a birthday, but not a wedding. He offered to redo the top for my anniversary. I really appreciated the way he handled my feelings on the whole thing. I still will always get my cakes from The Pastry Garden.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
angf
Wedding:
10/10/2008
5.0/5.0
Excellent!!! And our cake topper is waiting in the freezer for our 1 yr. anniversary!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Felcisgirl
Wedding:
10/4/2008
2.6/5.0
The pricing was confusing, and while they were willing to work with our unique situation, the staff was difficult to make an appointment with. They're consultation hours were also very limited. Trying to work with them from a distance (I live 65 miles from their location) was also a nightmare.

The cake itself was gorgeous and tasted like heaven! Just make sure you start working with them very early!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nybride08302008
Wedding:
8/30/2008
4.9/5.0
A cake from the Pastry Garden was included in my reception package so I cannot honestly review their responsiveness & professionalism, etc as I did not interact directly with them. I can say the price of the cake was reasonable and they were very flexible in terms of style/design. The book presented with cake style ideas was mostly 1980's and I didn't like anything. I gave them a photo of what I wanted, somethign square, much more modern and simple, and they did it perfectly. The cake looked lovely and was delicious. I got white cake with rasberry mousse filling with buttercream frosting. Yum! :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
luvdolphin7
Wedding:
8/15/2008
5.0/5.0
Our cake was amazing
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
wgreen
Wedding:
7/19/2008
5.0/5.0
Our cake actually came through Anthony's Pier Nine as a package deal, but we wanted to taste it ourselves before we decided the filling and cake type. When we actually went up to Poughkeepsie, the staff was great, gave us extra samples to eat while we were waiting for our appointment, and then did a great job helping us decide what to get. The cakes were all incredible, and they even gave us a cake that wasn't on our original choice list (one that my bride loved a LOT more than the other choices that were available). Plus, they threw on an extra tier, just to make it look better, and they gave us a free single tier on our 1 year anniversary. We can't wait!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
6/22/2008
5.0/5.0
Wonderful!!! The cake tasting was so much fun and delicious too! The cake turned out perfect - gorgeous and tasty too!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
yankeesbaby2
Wedding:
6/21/2008
5.0/5.0
The cake looked exceptional and tasted better than you can imagine. It looked exactly as it was pictured in the catalog only with my color accents and cake topper. This vendor works directly with the Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel so the price of the cake is included in your package.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1223591815360-wrosrob0549
Rosanne
Wedding:
5/25/2008
5.0/5.0
I would recommend The Pastry Garden for all your sweet desires. Our wedding cake was included in my package with the reception hall. I went to do a tasting at The Pastry Garden and their cakes are awesome. Our cake was a chocolate cake with fresh Strawberries and Bananas wit a butter cream icing, WOW. They were great to work with and met our expectations. They have great selections and creations.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
The Pastry Garden did an extraordinary job with our cake, it was literally a dream come true. I show the decorator a picture I had found of a cake in Martha Stewart Weddings, and she exactly replicated it! Plus it tasted incredible! The staff was very friendly & Bridget, who we worked with was incredibly professional & easygoing. I have nothing but good things to say about using their services!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
10/7/2007
4.2/5.0
The cake tasted amazing. The cake tasting portion of figuring out which cake we wanted was a bit difficult because we were only given a few choices based on the fact that our reception venue contracted the pastry garden their house bakery. Howevre the taste was great. We had decided on a strawberry and cream cake made with real cream and fresh berrries. its was great. We also had a great time designing the cake in which the staff was very helpful with making my vision come to life.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
suebgood1
Wedding:
10/6/2007
4.2/5.0
It was a pleasure working with the Pastry Garden and very easy. I showed them a picture of a wedding cake that I wanted and they had no problem recreating it. It was actually the best wedding cake I ever tasted - thank heavens it was for my own wedding! My husband and I decided to get a smaller version of the cake every year for our anniversary - I highly recommend the chocolate mousse filling!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bryanne
Wedding:
1/19/2007
4.2/5.0
We had a beautiful and delicious wedding cake -- it didn't quite look like the picture we gave them, but it was still lovely and I would highly recommend them to anyone in the area. The Pastry Garden simply has the best wedding cakes around!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
alidino
Wedding:
11/10/2006
5.0/5.0
Cake was included in our package at Anthony's Pier 9. The cake tasted great and was very pretty! I have seen many other cakes they have done and they are absolutely beautiful. I also have taste tested there cakes at bridal shows and they are fantastic! Highly recommended!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alicia
Wedding:
10/21/2006
5.0/5.0
Our reception hall is affiliated with them so we had to use them but I wouldn't have used anyone else. Our cake was simple but elegant and delicious!!!! I can't wait to go back up there and get another, smaller cake made for our anniversary. I highly recommend this bakery!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
vanessa
Wedding:
10/1/2006
5.0/5.0
Our cake was amazing! It tasted fantastic and looked absolutely beautiful.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
9/22/2006
5.0/5.0
My cake was beautiful and tasted wonderful! They were very helpful!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sielntkrash
Wedding:
4/30/2006
3.9/5.0
Pastry Garden made our wedding cake. The cake was made exactly to our specifications and it was the best wedding cake I have ever tasted in my life. It was chocolate cake with strawberries and chocolate ganache and it had a white buttercream frosting on top. The staff was very helpful with letting us taste all different types of fillings and showing us all the different types of frostings and designs that we could put on the cake. Everybody raved about the cake. Cake was included in our wedding package so cant say how much it would have cost out of pocket.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sdunham28
Wedding:
8/25/2001
4.6/5.0
The Pastry Garden was professional and accommodating, as I had 3 months to plan my wedding and at the last minute my other cake plans fell through. They had 2 weeks from the time I ordered it to my wedding date! It was the most delicious cake we ever had!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
2600 South Road, Suite 5, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Pastry Garden
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1384182995897-logo---cop