Nophoto-130

The Poinsett Bride

Greenville , SC

LOCATION

Greenville, SC US 29601

PHONE

864-241-0730

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Dress & Attire

REVIEWS

4.4
out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
6/14/2014
0.7/5.0
After my friend’s great experience at Poinsett Bride, I was excited for my appointment on 11/30/13 at 2:30. The only reason for 2 stars for flexibility is that we got there at 1:45 and they took me right then. After telling the saleswoman my max of $1,500, she showed me the section of the dress room to look at. She pulled several dresses while my mom put some sample sale dresses (50%off!) directly into the dressing room. I got to a dress (Romona Keveza Legends L250, size 10) that after putting it on, I knew was a big contender. While taking it off, I noticed the price tag of $2,850. I thought it must be from the sale rack in order to be in my price range, and I immediately asked the saleswoman. She said that must be the case, but she would find out and make sure. After a few more dresses, I asked her if she'd found out and she said, "Yes, I did, and it is 50% off so it will be $1,425." I put it on again, added a belt and veil, and had my family in tears. The saleswoman continued to say what a great deal it was while the seamstress came to look at any alterations that needed to be done. I was seconds from buying it when the owner came and unzipped the dress right on the pedestal. She found the tag and said curtly, "This dress is not on sale, its $2,850" and walked away. No apology. No explanation. Nothing. I held back tears (and some choice words) and went to take off my dream dress. While in the dressing room, the saleswoman said, "I don't know where that dress came from, they were bringing all kinds of dresses in here, I really wasn't sure it was on sale." I said nothing but thought, when I asked her to confirm it was on sale, she lied straight to my face, and now she is blaming my family. There were many things that I and my family could, and maybe should, have said, but we were all in shock. My future MIL thinks they tried to bait and switch me on purpose. This could not have been handled any worse, and I will continue to tell all of my friends.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
The dress arrived on time, the alterations were completed on time, and the result was beautiful. The expert advise of this vendor helped make the wedding dress even better than expected.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
5/23/2014
5.0/5.0
When I was a student at Clemson I came to downtown Greenville for something and ended up walking past the Poinsett Bride. I remember thinking to myself, "I would love to shop for my wedding dress one day at a place like that." A few year later when I got engaged it was time to start shopping for dresses, but wasn't planning on shopping here because I thought they would be out of my price range (I was hoping to stick under $1000 but would consider up to $1500). My mom convinced me that we should go see what they had to offer and I'm so glad she did. It's true that they are generally a little more upscale than some other bridal shops but they still had plenty of options in my price range. We'd shopped at 4 other area stores and had 3 dresses in the running but as soon as I tried one on, I knew it was "the one." I was afraid to fall in love with it until I saw the price tag, convinced it was too beautiful and too detailed to fall in my price range. But lo and behold, it was only $816! As soon as I came out of the dressing room I could tell by the look on my mom's and sisters' faces that they loved it as much as I did. We all cried and bought the dress right then and there. They did a good job on my alterations as well. Very pleased with my experience!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
Before coming to Poinsett Bride, I had been to 4 other dress shops and tried on hmm 30 to 50 dresses in Charlotte . I came here to see a specific dress but ended up falling in love with another one. Paula was great! She really helped me find the right dress at my price point. She is working with me to make the dress exactly what I want. She talked the designer into making the dress in a darker shade since they only make in one color currently. She is tailoring the top to be just like the dress that I loved but was much more expensive.

My sister found her dress here two years ago and had the same great service. Her dress was a sample and Paula made it look like it was made for her!
I loved that Paula really tries to keep you in your price range while finding you the perfect dress. I did not encounter this at any of the other shops I went to. My dress is perfect and I am so glad I came to Poinsette.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.4/5.0
Lovely things, but it seems like it seemed like everything was continually cost adjusting up
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
8/24/2013
4.6/5.0
Paula and her staff are the best in the business. Paula is brutally honest and her focus isn't just about moving out dresses. She wants each and every bride that enters her store to look and feel like a million bucks on her big day!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becky
Wedding:
7/27/2013
5.0/5.0
I went several places to try on wedding dresses, but none of them compared to Poinnsett Bride. They were very professional and made the experience wonderful. I had tried on several dresses and had one I really liked, then Lauren said she wanted me to try on one more dress she had in mind. It ended up being the perfect dress! She listened to everything I was saying about the other dresses and found the right one for me.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
6/29/2013
4.9/5.0
Lauren, Paula, and Vicki...thank you so much for all that you did for me, my mom, my mother in law, and my bridesmaids! I found my dream dress with you all..thank you Lauren for taking all the time to help me. I loved my bridesmaid dresses and so did my bridesmaids! My mom and mother in law looked beautiful on our wedding day and that was partly because of their beautiful dresses from your shop! Thanks again for all that you all did. I love recommending you all when I talk with other brides :)
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
As a MOB, I was very very pleased with the attention that Paula and her staff gave to my daughter. She tried on many many dresses and with each one we were allowed to ohh and ahh as long as we wanted. We ended up purchasing dress #8 that day. I would highly recommend it and I intend to get my MOB dress there as well. Note: Poinsett Bride has the most beautiful dresses anywhere. If you want a bargain go to David's, if you want exquisite, than Poinsett Bride is the place.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janelle
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
There are no words for how AMAZING my experience was at the Poinsett Bride - I drove from Charlotte, NC to look at the Poinsett Bride and never looked back- I am so glad that I came here. Paula and the rest of the staff are so wonderful to work with - professional, friendly, and so, so talented. Thanks to Paula and her staff, I have my ideal and dream wedding gown that I can't wait to wear in June. It was such a fantastic experience and I am so in love with what Paula created- she added all of the details that I had always imagined on my gown to make it my own and I just adore the final result. My mom also purchased her dress here and loved the entire experience as well. I highly recommend the Poinsett Bride and am so thankful that I found this amazing bridal shop. Thank you so much to Paula and the rest of the staff- I truly appreciate everything they have done for me- such a wonderful experience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
elizabeth
Wedding:
6/1/2013
4.6/5.0
Sweet place. I love my dress!

I guess I should give them 5 stars because they ARE a boutique- but they expensive and they jack up the price of everything!

They were very helpful though and I had fun and my dress was gorgeous.

It's Watters Devenport. The wonderful seamstress at Poinsett added a gorgeous sash for me at empire waste instead of a normal belt when I brought in a picture an an idea and they worked with me. It ended up not quite the angle I envisioned but I took it anyway. Check out the photos.

They are very friendly and helpful. You should definitely go!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.0/5.0
The previous commenter hit it right on the head. You will not enjoy this experience and you will pay dearly for it on top of that. Please, look somewhere else. Most of the good reviews on these sites are written by the store owners themselves, so seriously consider the bad ones, because I had a terrible experience with Paula, the lady who I guess is in charge. Go somewhere else and enjoy the experience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Paula and her team at Poinsett Bride are true professionals with incredible taste and style! I found my dream dress the first day and then returned with my mom and she found a beautiful Mother of the Bride Dress!

Poinsett Bride carries high-end gorgeous dresses. The team has great taste. Paula helped me select a sash to go with my dress and made suggestions about accessories, even though I didn't purchase them at her shop.

I would recommend Poinsett Bride to anyone looking for a unique and special dress and a true "bridal shop" experience, which every bride should have!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
3.0/5.0
If you want to support a small business that has beautiful dresses, then Poinsett Bride is the place to go. If you want to go to a place that provides personalized attention with a smile - and makes you feel like a princess, Poinsett Bride is NOT the place to go. Southern hospitality is not a forte here.

Also, this is not a great value location. Dresses and alterations are expensive - and the owner is not one to negotiate. But they do have a huge selection, and they do make sure you look like a million bucks in the dress you buy. Just don't expect service with a smile.

Parking here can be a bit of a pain - as they have very few parking spots outside the store. But if you can find a spot, you'll find a dress to love.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsey
Wedding:
11/3/2012
5.0/5.0
I bought my wedding dress from this local boutique and had an amazing experience. Paula was incredibly helpful throughout the fittings and leading up to the day-of the wedding. My gown was very difficult to lace up, so Paula was nice enough to let me, photographers and bridesmaids into her store the day-of my wedding to tie me into my dress. I would definitely recommend The Poinsett Bride!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
1.4/5.0
Well a drop dead beautiful store. Great gowns. However....this is my second marriage. ....I think theres a difference between genuine service and hustling. On my first visit I was dressed in my jeans and jacket and had car keys in my hand no purse. Found a great dress and they kept asking me whats my limit bc I had no idea what that meant actually. I told them I dont believe I do. They laughed at me..
I looked at a dress saw the price and they said they could work on the price. Well I guess I shouldnt have carried my louis vitton bag and put on my makeup because there was no negotiations this day. They kept asking what my fiance does for a living and alot of very poor things to ask a bride. I decided not to purchase and definitely advise those of us women who do have a budget to STAY OUT of this shop. Browse. Try on the dress and have another shop order it for you like I did. Plus I know several masterful seamstress business women in this town. I wonder if theyve ever married off a daughter or if the owners have kids at all Because they do not know how to talk to people. Brutal honesty and nastiness are very seperate issues indeed.got price raped here. Two thumbs down. Only good thing is selection and quick service. Put your game face on in here. All money and no class........NONE
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
doris
Wedding:
5/19/2012
2.7/5.0
I was lucky to buy a sample dress. The fitting was great, but I encouraged my bridesmaids to not get their dresses fitted their due to prior experiences. I believe they spend more time on the bride's dress than the bridesmaids dresses.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mreplogle5
Wedding:
3/3/2012
5.0/5.0
My dress was PERFECT!!!!! They are so sweet and helpful for everything!!!!!! I purchased my shoes, dress, veil, bridesmaid dresses, Mother of the Bride dress and my rehearsal dress there!!! WONDERFUL!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nerual85
Wedding:
2/4/2012
5.0/5.0
Thanks to the help of Lauren and Paula, I ended up with the perfect dress--especially after the changes that Paula made that were just enough to take the dress up a notch and make it my own! They are so easy to work with and can work magic on a dress to make sure it's perfect for you and exactly what you want.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Taylor
Wedding:
1/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Absolutely amazing!!! Helped me to find the most perfect wedding dress!!! Very easy to work with and time efficient!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
brookska
Wedding:
11/19/2011
5.0/5.0
This is the best bridal shop in the upstate, hands down. I went in for the first time just to browse, and walked out in about an hour with a wedding dress, a rehearsal dress, and a bridal brunch dress! The whole process was fun and so easy. Paula and her girls know exactly what will look great on each bride. Everything arrived on time, the alteratiions were perfect, and all the dresses were so beautiful!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Diane
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Paula has a knack for looking at you and just knowing what will suit your body type. We were surprised and delighted with the quality and quantity of gowns in her shop. Our same dress was $900 more in a larger city! We were very pleased with all of their services and highly recommend.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KCSchmidt
Wedding:
10/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Paula was a pleasure to work with in picking out my dress! She made alterations with ease and worked to on short notice to make sure my dress was perfect. She also helped me pick out a dress for the rehearsal dinner. I told her what the dress was for and she came back to the dressing room with a handful of options that fit perfectly and were beautiful. I just had a difficult time deciding! I would recommend Poinsett Bride to anyone who is looking for bridal gown and any other formal dress.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
9/17/2011
4.8/5.0
I can't say enough good things about Paula and the Poinsett Bride. They made my dress, veil, dress for my mom, and flower girls just beautiful. I wouldn't consider going anywhere else for a wedding dress and will go there again next time I need a formal dress. They even got me a rehearsal dinner dress at the very last minute!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
chedman31
Wedding:
9/11/2011
5.0/5.0
I was looking for a dress and only had a few months to plan my wedding, this was the first store that I went to and ended up finding the perfect dress!! The staff were all friendly and very eager to please and just very enjoyable to work with! I had my dress altered there as well and they even helped with picking out a headpiece and hairdo ideas!! I highly recommend The Poinsett Bride!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough about the wonderful ladies at The Poinsett Bride. I got engaged in April and married in August, and they did not even blink! I had my designer gown in three months, and it was altered beautifully by my wedding day. Ms. Paula even made my veil! They came highly recommended to me by brides, mothers, and women in the community who go there to get evening wear. They are truly the best place in Greenville!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sgo
Wedding:
8/13/2011
4.0/5.0
Paula and the staff at The Poinsett Bride ordered the dress of my dreams. When it arrived, Paula expertly fitted the gown on me, provided instructions on how to keep it from wrinkling, and made a beautiful veil.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg5
carolinagyrl
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
All I can say is EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!! My dress was beautiful and Paula and Vicki are awesome! Paula promised that my dress would fit like a glove and it did! Excellent alterations! I was so confident in Paula altering my gown, that I didn't even try it on before my bridal portrait or the wedding! They are very reliable and do exactly what you want! My dress arrived way ahead of time so no worries on it not arriving. Paula ordered all bmaids dresses and altered them also. GREAT! She also custom made my veil with lace on my wedding gown and it was beautiful!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
This is the best place to go for your wedding attire and alterations. Paula is an amazing seamstress and the alterations on my wedding gown were perfect. We had several fittings and she was willing to meet as many times as necessary to make sure the fit was pefect. She also custom-made my veil and we found the pefect jewelry and accessories to match. If you want to look your best, definitely see Paula at the Poinsett Bride.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lorihorst
Wedding:
3/5/2011
4.9/5.0
Don't bother going anywhere else for your dress. Yes, it is pricer, but it is worth it. I found the PERFECT dress and Pam suggested the perfect complements to it. The alterations were easy and professional and the last alteration even happened just days before the wedding. People at the wedding kept asking me if my dress was an heirloom dress which was perfect. There is no stress with Poinsett Bride.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Pazooty
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
This is THE shop to go to in Greenville if you are looking for quality, high-end gowns. The owner is always in the shop and personally involved with every customer! I told her what I was looking for, she went to the back, brought out ONE gown, and that was it. It was exactly what I wanted and was the perfect dress for me. We moved our wedding date up 6 months and she managed to get the designer to get it here early for me at no additional charge and then helped me through multiple fittings (I kept changing things - it was not because the alterations were not done properly) for a dress that looked like it was made for my body the day of the wedding! It was fabulous and I would never recommend anyone else. Paula is the go-to-girl in Greenville for wedding dress and alterations!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MeganPHuebner
Wedding:
7/24/2010
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend The Poinsett Bride to any Bride looking for the perfect dress and bridal experience. I would also recommend this store for bridesmaids and Mothers/Grandmothers dresses as well. The store has a wide selection of top designers and the owner, Paula, is extremely professional and talented. She has many, many years of experience in this business and travels to find the latest styles/designs and the best dresses and accessories. I found my dress on my first visit to the store and I just knew it was the one. Paula and the other employees were so helpful and honest and met every one of my expectations. Paula designed and constructed the "belt"/sash that was to be tied around the waist of my dress. It was AMAZING and exactly what I had envisioned. She paired it with the perfect pair of earrings to match as well. Paula did all of the alterations to my dress and to my bridesmaids dresses, which we also found in the store. My dress and the bridesmaids dresses were altered perfectly with no problems at all. The service that they provide is prompt and precise. Paula also worked with my mom to find her Mother of the Bride dress. She picked one out that she thought would be perfect for her and that is the one that my mom loved! The Poinsett Bride truly goes above and beyond to make your bridal experience everything you could have ever imagined.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
afreeborn
Wedding:
4/24/2010
4.4/5.0
I loved my dress. I found it in a sample size at one of their sample sales so I got a great price for the dress. Also, the owner is a skilled seamstress and did all my altering. The altering is a bit pricey though. But I would not have taken it elsewhere to get altered, so I was happy to get it done in one place. Good accessory selection, but again that was a bit pricey. The store also carries fabulous bridesmaids or party dresses!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Grace
Wedding:
4/17/2010
5.0/5.0
Paula has amazing talent. This is the BEST place in Greenville for class, knowledge and talent. My daughter finally found the dress of her dreams after many failed attempts! Then Paula found mine and without even trying it on or batting an eye I ordered. Then the grooms mother came all the way from Richmond, Va to order her dress. They are the BEST Greenville has to offer. Caring and talented....remember....you get what you pay for and class cannot be bought!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1259530235594-jonesvowrenewal002
minky410
Wedding:
11/28/2009
5.0/5.0
Very classy and cozy atmosphere. The Poinsett Bride offers a service that is untouched by others in the area. The ladies at The Poinsett Bride are helpful, attentive, precise, knowledgeable, and I felt special every moment I was inside their boutique. I couldn't have asked for a better place to find "THE" dress! Thank you!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Morgan.LindseyAnne
Wedding:
9/12/2009
4.6/5.0
After trying on dozens of dresses from several stores in the Greenville area, I found my dress at Poinsett Bride for our wedding in September 2009. Poinsett is by far one of the classiest bridal salons in Greenville and you will not find yourself pushing through racks and racks of damaged mass produced sample dresses like at some bridal stores. But being the deal shopper that I am, the dress I purchased was a sample dress on sale for half off. It was in perfect condition and you can bet I proudly wore my designer gown! Poinsett also custom made a veil for me to match the french lace on my dress and handled all my alterations. During my multiple fittings, the staff was helpful and complimentary. And when I needed another inch taken in the week of the wedding, it was no problem at all. While Poinsett Bride is not for the budget conscious ($300+ veil, $400+ alterations, etc)... it's selection, atmosphere, customer service, and exclusivity cannot be surpassed.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cathy
Wedding:
6/6/2009
5.0/5.0
The Poinsett Bride was a wonderful experience for my daughter and me. She found her dress on our first visit. It was the fourth dress she tried on. Paula showed my daughter a dress for the bridesmaids that would look good on any size and flatter each girl. Everyone looked great in the dress. I was also fortunate to find my dress for the Mother of the Bride. I selected the first dress she showed me. Paula has a very keen eye for picking out a dress that will flatter and look good on each of her clients. They took all the stress and worry out of each detail from selecting, to fittings, to the bridal portrait, to pressing the dresses, to picking the dresses up the day of the wedding. I highly recommend their shop.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.4/5.0
Yes, Paula isn't one to negotiate, but she is awesome and knows what she's doing. I drove to Greenville multiple times from Charleston, and it was worth it. Prices aren't cheap, but you get what you pay for. If you want to negotiate prices and get a cheap dress go to David's Bridal, not an actual bridal boutique.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Poinsett Bride
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220