130x130_sq_1344377406627-pradoext

The PRADO at Balboa Park

San Diego , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1549 El Prado Suite 12
San Diego, CA US 92101 (map)

PHONE

619-557-9441

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Prado, located in the House of Hospitality at Balboa Park... where our experienced, professional staff will blend the grace and splendor of yesterday with traditions of today to... Read more
The Prado, located in the House of Hospitality at Balboa Park... where our experienced, professional staff will blend the grace and splendor of yesterday with traditions of today to create the weddings of your dreams. We offer the perfect back drop for your very special day. The House of Hospitality has been a favorite wedding ceremony and reception location for generations of San Diegans since 1935.


CLICK HERE TO VIEW BEAUTIFUL WEDDINGS AT THE PRADO Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1344292654475-sb200806241846392
130x130_sq_1344292671541-betwixtstudio0127
130x130_sq_1344292675848-06.24.11wedding2
130x130_sq_1344292688244-copyof10302010
130x130_sq_1344292690960-img8573edit
130x130_sq_1344292715466-prestonballroom2
130x130_sq_1344292759903-ballroomweddingwithpinspots
130x130_sq_1344292782805-ballroompurpleuplights
130x130_sq_1344292964305-betwixtstudio0143
130x130_sq_1344363533022-loggia124
130x130_sq_1344363520657-loggiaviewfromsweetheattable
130x130_sq_1344363574462-northterrace
130x130_sq_1344363796689-evematt2
130x130_sq_1344363549177-loggia
130x130_sq_1344363595110-loggiaaig3
130x130_sq_1344363779336-loggiaap
130x130_sq_1344364047349-ceremonygardenterrace
130x130_sq_1344364318950-parsankonolie10.24.09b
130x130_sq_1344364324569-img00572
130x130_sq_1344364337472-preston5
130x130_sq_1344364388668-fromwishingwell
130x130_sq_1344364407775-eveningceremony4
130x130_sq_1344364420218-eveningceremony1
130x130_sq_1344364435731-arialview
130x130_sq_1344364440038-ceremony11.06.11

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1915
When was your venue last renovated?
1997
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic Site, Restaurant
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Garden / Romantic, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
1000
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
4
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
1500
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
32
Event Coordination
Outside vendors welcome
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alicia
Wedding:
7/4/2014
5.0/5.0
I just can't say enough good things about the Prado. We had a pleasure of working with Marcy who is just amazing and so flexible. She responds to emails right away, gives you her suggestions but does not push you in any direction.I know she does lots of weddings there but she made us feel like we were her only customers. She always had the time to meet with us and discuss the last minute changes. The food at the Prado is AMAZING!!! Best food I've ever had at a wedding. People say they don't have the time to eat at their weddings, I ate everything because it was soooo delicious. We got tons of compliments from our guests. They loved the venue, the food, the service.... One couple even went back to eat at the Prado the next day because they loved the food so much!!! Thank you, thank you for making our day so special!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg8
Tyler Pattison
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
Marcy was fantastic to deal with, the venue was stunning (perfect weather of course), and the food was phenomenal. What more could you ask for? Justine and I are so happy we chose the Prado to celebrate our special day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karis
Wedding:
2/15/2014
5.0/5.0
The Prado was fabulous! From the appetizers to the meal, I could not have been more pleased. The food was absolutely delicious! The venue is beautiful and made a wonderful background for our photos. The staff is very professional and is very attentive! I would book the Prado again in a minute and so glad we chose it for our wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jourdanne
Wedding:
11/2/2013
4.8/5.0
Marcy and the Prado Catering team provided excellent service to us during the planning process and to our guests during our reception. We are very happy with the outcome of our wedding reception and how beautiful the Ballroom was.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lisa & Mark
Wedding:
10/20/2013
5.0/5.0
My wedding at the Prado could not have been any better. The venue is classically beautiful, the atmosphere is magical, the food is delicious and Marcy (the event coordinator) was so wonderful to work with! Thank you the Prado for making my dream wedding a reality!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1334972388338-fbavatar2394042
Jeni
Wedding:
4/13/2013
4.7/5.0
I narrowed down the reception venue choices from 10 to 2 for my (now) husband. He walked into the Prado and said - this is it. The grand ballroom offers a gorgeous, historic, and classically San Diego locale. The coordinator, Marcy was exceptionally responsive and upfront throughout the entire process. She had a tendency to give an overwhelming amount of information, but was very patient and explained things step by step as we reached milestones along the way.

We were bummed we wouldn't get to taste the exact appetizers and entrees that would be served at our wedding. They did give us a voucher for a lunch at the Prado restaurant to get an idea of the quality of food we'd be eating. Knowing it's run by the Coen Restaurant group, we trusted them. Wow. We got raves for days. I had the salmon and my husband had the NY Strip. I liked the salmon better - the NY Strip was tasty, but it didn't have the Prado originality. They have a contract with Flour Power that included our wedding cake and all the services involved. That was a huge help as well. My only complaint would be the bar and menu selection and pricing was not at all straightforward. There's a separate cocktail reception and dinner reception section and it's unclear how the alcohol works. Thankfully Marcy was very patient with us and after several exchanges, we finally understood each other.

The synchronized service was cool to watch. It sped up the dinner time and no one got cold food. Each table was served in synchronicity - that way each table was plated then immediately served. All the tables were served within about 15-20 min (that's 14 tables!) Everything went very smoothly, setup and take down were seamless and professional.

We were very pleased with the entire planning experience with the Prado.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
10/12/2012
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough great things about Marcy and The Prado. Marcy understood our budget and worked with us the entire time. We were paying for the wedding ourselves and needed to save where ever we could. We were afraid that a reception at The Prado would be too expensive but we fell in love with the loggia room and Marcy helped us make it happen. Everything went smoothly at the reception and we had the time of our lives!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kylee
Wedding:
6/24/2012
5.0/5.0
AMAZING!! The staff at the Prado were a joy to work with. Andrea Pena (Wedding Coordination) and Sofia Picazo (Rehearsal) and their staff made our day easy and stress free. All we had to do was show up :)

My wife, Chrissy, and I would recommend this venue to anyone looking to have a wedding in the San Diego Area!

Kylee and Chrissy Holmes
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeremy
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Wedding locations do not get much more scenic than The Prado at Balboa Park! Anyone who has been there, knows it is in the heart of a lot of history and beauty overlooking downtown San Diego.
We had our wedding and reception here, and both went so smoothly it was almost too good to be true. Completely flawless execution on the behalf of the The Prado, from the management to the serving crew. Clearly this is something they are prepared for, and do on a regular basis.
The venue is just so unique, personal, and beautiful it is hard to get over. There may be occasional tourists looking on from afar, but that brings with it a special feel of excitement.
Everything was handled very professionally, and there were many options available to us to help us make this venue work within our budget. Thanks again Prado!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Devon_O'Neill
Wedding:
10/21/2011
4.5/5.0
The Prado was an absolutely beautiful wedding venue. . . all of my guests agreed that it was the most beautiful wedding they had ever been to! The setting is absolutely amazing and allows for beautiful photos throughout Balboa Park, and the food is great. The ballroom is beautiful and offers plenty of space for big weddings. One downside is that anything extra that you may want to add on gets pretty pricey ($24 per person for late-night tacos!?!?), but the Prado staff was very flexible and allowed us to find ways to stay within our budget. We loved having our wedding at this venue and highly recommend it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg5
Brenna
Wedding:
7/9/2011
5.0/5.0
We decided to get married at the Prado a full year in advance of our wedding and throughout the process, Andrea Pena was an absolute delight to work with. Since we were planning the wedding from out of town, we only had weekends available to come and meet with her and she was extremely flexible with our schedule. Over the course of the past year, I never worried that I was forgetting to do anything because Andrea would always contact me with upcoming to dos. She always responded back to me in little to no time at all, which calms a lot of nerves when you're a bride. I will be eternally grateful to her for making my dream wedding come true in the Grand Ballroom.
The Prado is one of the best kept secrets when it comes to wedding venues as it is not only one of the most beautiful locations in San Diego, but it also is a great value for your money. We have nothing but good things to say about our experience with Andrea and the Prado. They are truely the ultimate wedding professionals!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tina
Wedding:
7/7/2011
4.9/5.0
Beautiful sight and great staff. Marcy is spectacular to work with!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bob
Wedding:
11/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Choosing a wedding venue can be more overwhelming than winning a spot in Hollywood on American Idol. And finding the perfect location in a destination city like San Diego can be even more daunting. A wedding will always be a memorable occasion, but picking the right location will only enhance it. One could get married at a place of worship, a private home, a restaurant, a hotel or the beach just to name a few areas (unless you are Prince William, where there may be a couple of additional choices!) so there are many factors that can go into making your final decision.

After extensive research and visits to multiple locations, like the most powerful magnet, we kept getting attracted to The Prado at Balboa Park. And what a fantastic choice it was!

Although The Prado has historical significance, each of the letters in the name has equal significance to us.

The “P” stands for Presentation, Preparation, and Price (and who wouldn’t want those three items for anything, but especially for a wedding?!). Marcy Melley of the Prado was our contact and she made sure everything was to our detailed specifications. She was in constant contact with us and made sure this part of our wedding was stress-free. Her experience and professionalism was superb! Of course there are locations that are less expensive, but like the old adage says….. you get what you pay for!

The “R” stands for Reception. The Reception room is one of the most important aspects of a wedding. All of us have been to at least one wedding where something has gone wrong with the reception (the room was too small, the chairs were uncomfortable, the temperature was too hot or cold, the lighting was bad, or the food was terrible). With our wedding EVERYTHING was perfect! The room was tailored to our party size and the attention to every little detail was unsurpassed.

The “A” stands for Aesthetics. The beauty of The Prado is Amazing! With a wishing well and a beautiful fountain as the backdrop, our wedding could have been a scene out of the most romantic novel or movie. And for any bride and groom looking at a wedding magazine, it is likely you will find a picture of a wedding taking place at The Prado.

The “D” stands for Dinner. Our dinner was one of the finest meals for any occasion! The Prado has been named one of America’s top 10 restaurants by Gourmet Magazine and they have received the coveted four star award by the California Restaurant writers’ association. We received the highest quality of food with the best service. Any food critic would give this restaurant and chef two big thumbs up! And of course the dish washers have the easiest job, because there is no food left on any plate!

The “O” stands for Outstanding! A wedding is an event to remember for a lifetime, and The Prado has guaranteed this to happen. Indeed everything was outstanding!

From the professionalism and experience of The Prado staff, to the exquisite meals, to the beauty of the surroundings The Prado is the perfect destination for any bride and groom!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1238984786375-mee.1
kristineclarinda
Wedding:
11/20/2010
4.8/5.0
We had our wedding reception at The Prado. It was the first and only place we looked at for our reception venue! I knew long before I was engaged that I wanted my reception there. At first glance, the grand ballroom looks rather simple and old. But once it is decorated and lit properly, it looks absolutely amazing. Our theme had a lot of Spanish-Italian influences, (since I am part Spanish and my husband is Italian) so the ambiance was perfect for our wedding style.

Marcy Melley, our coordinator at The Prado, was amazing. We planned our entire wedding reception with her mostly over the phone and via email since we don't live in San Diego, and she ALWAYS responded right away and answered every single question I had about anything and everything at The Prado. And when we were finally in town for the wedding and met with her in person to discuss final details, she was always on point, professional, fun, and super helpful. She was even accommodating and patient when my husband's father (who was not so welcome in our wedding planning process but took it upon himself to talk to her) had some less than polite thoughts on our wedding reception and decided to tell her. (Talk about embarrassing!) Marcy is truly a professional and she made the wedding planning process infinitely easier and much more enjoyable.

On our wedding day, it rained...A LOT. So things had to move around at the last minute and we didn't get to have our cocktail reception in the fountain courtyard like we had planned. But the staff at The Prado made it all work out and everyone had a grand time. There were two other events happening at the same time, and we were all confined to the building due to the rain, but somehow it all worked out perfectly.

The synchronized service was fabulous, the banquet captain was attentive and introduced himself to my husband and I at the reception and checked in on us throughout the night, and our guests had nothing but praise for the wait staff. One guest couldn't eat the first course (lobster bisque) due to a food allergy, and without asking he was offered a salad instead.

I somehow managed to leave behind our scrapbook from our photo booth, but the staff kept it safe and on Monday morning, Marcy notified us right away that she had it for us. *Whew!*

Though The Prado is quite pricey, we have nothing but praise. Food was great, people were great, room was great, EVERYTHING was great. :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tammy
Wedding:
9/11/2010
5.0/5.0
WOW, the Prado is an amazing wedding venue and as soon as we got engaged, we knew we didn't want another venue. The architecture and setting is so beautiful and the surrounding area in Balboa Park is the perfect setting for a wedding. All our guests are still taking about the gorgeous ballroom, the beautiful courtyard (where we had cocktail hour), and the lovely outside setting of our ceremony. Also, we worked with Andrea, who was such a sweetheart and very attentive to my questions, but everyone we met there were very friendly and helpful. We also took most of our wedding pictures around the Prado and all over Balboa Park and I still love looking at how beautiful the setting is. Also, the food is delicious and our guests keep talking about how delicious everything was (we had the buffet!).
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lilbean008
Wedding:
5/23/2010
4.8/5.0
The Prado was so accomodating and great to work with. They were flexible with our requests. The only thing that I have to complain about is that I asked to be served all of my cake flavors, and it didn't happen. The team is very professional and really know what they are doing. The service was great and the food was wonderful. I couldn't be more pleased with how our reception went! It was beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg19
mrsjtd2010
Wedding:
5/1/2010
5.0/5.0
The Prado was the perfect venue for our ceremony and reception, they did an outstanding job! Our guests raved about the ceremony setting, the amazing food (we did the filet and shrimp for dinner) and the gorgeous ballroom for our reception. Everyone at the Prado was great to work with, especially Sally who was our catering manager.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lois
Wedding:
4/18/2009
3.9/5.0
My overall experience was good. The ballroom is amazing and the food is great. Their service was good, but I wish they would do a better job at explaining all the aspects and timeline better. If you don't ask, it won't be explained to you. Make sure you read the contract very carefully and that the price won't change for the year that your wedding takes place verses when you sign the contract. Mine did. We eventually got our original price, but it was another stressor that we hadn't expected that we had to take care of.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SDnavybride
Wedding:
4/18/2009
5.0/5.0
GORGEOUS VENUE!!! Andrea Pena was a true professional!! She was so flexible and extremely attentive to our specific needs and requests. VERY MILITARY FRIENDLY!! Loggia room was perfect and the food was outstanding!!! A great price for an exquisite and elegant event. We could not have asked for a more perfect day!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Balboabride
Wedding:
11/4/2008
5.0/5.0
I loved this vendor! The Prado is so easy to work with, the food was incredible and the space was beautiful. The coordinator Marcy Melley is a dream. She is always very quick to respond and helpful with suggestions! Amazing!! if you can afford it, do it! You won't regret it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jsm271
Wedding:
9/14/2008
4.6/5.0
This venue is wonderful for any events - the ballroom is gorgeous, and the service is impeccable. It is pricy, however it seems fairly reasonable for a venue of its caliber in the area.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jackie
Wedding:
6/23/2007
5.0/5.0
The most beautiful venue ever
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alsy
Wedding:
5/26/2007
3.8/5.0
This was a great place to have a wedding. The Prado matched our expectations. The food was great, everybody liked every dish and the facilities structured helped with the logistics.

For the ceremony they have a great patio Spanish style, surrounded by flowers with a center fountain, the rain didn't help but it was great otherwise.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lizzytobias
Wedding:
7/8/2006
3.3/5.0
Overall, delicious. They are a bit spendy and they don't have a lot of flexibility but we really enjoyed it.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
christiner
Wedding:
6/17/2005
4.7/5.0
Reception Dinner: The Prado Restaurant, Balboa Park
Wow…the Prado went above and beyond expectation! Mind you, this is NOT the same as the package they have when you get married at the Prado, this is simply a "group dinner" you can have for any kind of party, not normally for weddings. We chose to go this route because we had a very small wedding (20 guests) and did not require the usual DJ/Dancing/Etc.

They offered us four menus ranging in price from 35 to 50 dollars a plate. Each menu had a choice of appetizer, three main course choices (all looked delicious) and they substituted a wedding cake for a dessert choice. That’s right, substituted, not “charged extra” for it!

We dealt with Rita, the manager. She was difficult to get a hold of, both by email and phone because she is so busy. We ended up choosing a $45 dollar menu offering top sirloin, pork osso buco (sp?) or mahi mahi. Oh my gosh I could eat there every day. The pastry chef, Penny Watkins made our cake just hours before the wedding and it was DELICIOUS. It was a simple chocolate cake with fruit between the layers and white frosting. It was topped with some stargazer lilies from my florist Eris Wilson.

The Prado also gave us a private room for our dinner. It was out of the way from the main restaurant so we had plenty of privacy. The room was a bit dark but it was beautifully put together. I wouldn’t have changed a thing! Extremely classy venue.
http://cohnrestaurants.com/cohn/pradobalboa/restaurant.html
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.1/5.0
Overall Prado provided very nice ceremony site, service quality, and catering service. We had a great beautiful wedding. The only thing to take note is that they may overcharge your beverage. They did so to us and we had to ask for detailed beverage consumption and got back to them. They did refund those over-charge.
It's a wonderful spot to hold your wedding!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
The Prado is a great venue to have your ceremony. Its location in Balboa Park also makes it convenient for pictures with the bridal party. The package they offer with the cake, venue, and food helped simplify the wedding planning process. The staff was courteous and professional, and the food was top-notch.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.6/5.0
We had our wedding on May 12, 2012 at the Prado. I had always dreamed of getting married there and still pinch myself that we actually did :) We booked the Loggia Room as we wanted a smaller guest list and because I absolutely fell in love with the balconies that overlook the park, WOW. Marcy at the Prado was professional and SO fun! She went above and beyond to answer all my questions in a timely manner... she even helped me with groomsmen attire advice among many other things haha! The pricing is a bit steep but SO much is included with that price so really it's a great deal. The food was fabulous, and so was the service. I can't tell you how many of our guests complimented our beautiful venue and the delicious food. I can't say enough good things about them, and really have no complaints. As a bonus, you get FABULOUS wedding pictures all over Balboa Park :)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
THE PRADO PROVIDED EVERYTHING WE NEEDED FOR THE BEST DAY OF OUR LIVES! EVERYTHING FROM THE FOOD, TO THE SERVICE WAS AMAZING!! DONT HAVE ENOUGHT WORDS TO EXPLAIN ALL THAT MARCY MELLEY DID FOR US! THE PRADO IS DEFINITELY THE PLACE TO HAVE YOUR WEDDING AT
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1303609858953-bryannmillerphoto6863110312182635
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Honestly - choosing the Prado was one of the most important decisions we made. They had everything completely under control. The food is AMAZING (understandably as it comes from their fabulous restaurant), the staff was friendly, professional, and everything was just perfect. When we thought it might rain they worked with our coordinator to help make sure our backup plan was in place (though luckily we didn't need it).

We used the Loggia room, for a smaller wedding, and the whole ambiance was just exactly what we were hoping for. Thanks so much!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
1549 El Prado Suite 12, San Diego, CA 92101 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The PRADO at Balboa Park
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1344377406627-pradoext