220x220_1375458974693-juliedreelinsbeachproductionsswan06
The Proper Setting LLC
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
 
33 Reviews
Address:
Southern Shores, NC US 27949 (map)
Phone:
252-441-8166
Categories:
 
 
 
5.0 
(5.0/5.0)
 
Quality of Service 
(5.0/5.0)
 
Responsiveness 
(5.0/5.0)
 
Professionalism 
(5.0/5.0)
 
Value 
(5.0/5.0)
 
Flexibility 
Sort
 
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
11/2/2013
 
5.0 out of 5.0
I had thought I was a relaxed, DIY bride on a tight budget. When our caterer suggested we get a day-of-planner to assist, I initially balked. Then I was introduced to The Proper Setting. We worked primarily with Kerri, and to put it briefly, she was amazing. In retrospect, more than the venue, caterer, and even the wedding dress, she was by far the best investment that we made. At minimum, she had ceremony suggestions, organized and took over vendor relationships, and helped hammer down the entire week’s wedding schedule down to the hour. I had even found out that when I had given my bridesmaids incorrect instructions the day off, Kerri would whisper to them, “Shannon is thinking through that incorrectly. Follow my lead, but let’s not correct her.” More than once she told me to “not worry about anything, that it will be perfect.” And it was, including the donut cake that Kerri assembled for us. And even a day after the wedding, when I realized I hadn’t gotten the wedding license returned, Kerri let us know it was already in the mail to the register’s office. All in all, The Proper Setting and its staff are beyond words.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
S
Wedding:
11/2/2013
 
5.0 out of 5.0
As the mother-of-the-bride, I have never felt so supported at an event as with Kerri. She is amazing! She is extremely professional, organized down to the last detail (she even carries a bag with her with every supply you could possibly want), prompt, friendly, and nothing upsets her. She is a calming force. She frequently says, Don't worry. I will take care of that." And she does 110%! She remains at the venue the entire time orchestrating everyone and every thing in a timely, peaceful way. Definitely hire her. If we had to do it again, I'd let her take care of every detail from DJ to flowers to officiant to everything as I believe she would do the best job.
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dan
Wedding:
10/19/2013
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Kerri (of The Proper Setting) was invaluable. Her calm competence throughout such a stressful planning process was remarkable. Her stated goal was that we enjoy our wedding day and not have to worry about a thing and we sure didn't -- she had EVERYthing under control! The right things just kept happening at the perfect moments before it even occurred to anyone to ask her to take care of it. Kerri was so busy bustling behind the scenes that we didn't even get the chance to thank her at the end of the evening!

I will never forget Kerri hovering over the doppler radar on her phone, timing the exact moment of our ceremony between rain showers. And she sure nailed it: the sun broke through the clouds at the exact moment of our vows! It was a perfect day and a beautiful wedding and we simply could not have made it happen without her help.

Working with The Proper Setting was one of the most important decisions we made for our wedding day festivities and we cannot thank, or recommend, Kerri enough.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen Vaughan
Wedding:
10/18/2013
 
5.0 out of 5.0
My daughter's wedding was perfect! I'm in Florida and planned this Outer Banks wedding with the help of Kerri Catino-Nason. Everything was perfect and Kerri did things (like helped with place card set up at the reception site, gather things we needed to take back home with us after the reception was over, etc...) that I wouldn't have expected her to do, but was very happy she did! She put me in touch with all the other vendors I needed to hire such as: music, cake, photographer, pastor, d.j., rental houses...... I received so many compliments from my family on how "classy" this event was but it could not have happened without The Proper Setting.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shannon
Wedding:
10/12/2013
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Kerri was amazing to work with! She truly helped bring our wedding vision into fruition and kept us sane along the way. She is super organized, responsive, knowledgable and just a wonderful person all around. Kerri went above and beyond in making us feel comfortable. Even though we knew she had other weddings, when we worked with her she made us feel like we were her only wedding and top priority. Guests who only got to see her in action on the day of, still comment to me how great she was. We cannot recommend her any more highly.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kristin
Wedding:
10/10/2013
 
5.0 out of 5.0
My husband and I were married on 10/10/13 in OBX . We are from Ohio and had 6 months to plan our wedding so were unable to make a trip to OBX to meet vendors . I spent some time reading reviews to make decisions. After doing so I chose to hire Kerri with the proper setting. Now imagine my anxiety and stress entrusting the plans of my big day to someone I have never met? Only speaking to her on the phone and emails? I must say I was not disappointed. Even though she was many miles away I felt that she was just around the corner. She was always available, answering emails right away and taking my phone calls. Not to mention a tropical storm came through the day before the wedding, she pretty much re-planed everything in one day, and it was so beautiful! The rehearsal, wedding and reception turned out better than I could ever had thought or imagined. She kept me calm during the storm, literally. Also every single vendor she recommended came through with their services. I highly recommend Kerri to anyone looking for a wedding planner! She is amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
The Proper Setting LLC responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much for your kind words, Kristin! We were so glad to help you, Tom and your families enjoy your special day!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sierra
Wedding:
10/5/2013
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Kerri is AMAZING! From start to finish, she helped guide us in to perfection.
Kerri is extremely prompt with communication and had a helpful answer to every question. She was also extremely patient, friendly, and professional. On top of Kerri's amazing wedding planning talent, she is incredibly caring. We could not have asked for a better wedding planner. She truly help make our wedding day magical!!!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
9/21/2013
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Prior to calling, I had read numerous reviews on local wedding planners and The Proper Setting came out on top. I spoke to Kerri and immediately liked her bubbly and engaging personality. She appeared genuinely excited by our wedding and I felt like I was speaking to my best girl friend.

Throughout the next 19 months, we communicated via phone calls, meetings and emails. She was as detailed oriented as I had hoped - never omitting anything, always on top of her tasks and my to-do lists. Her dedication to our wedding was nothing less than exceptional. She didn't blink when I asked her to hang my 20 strands of folded origami cranes at the reception venue. She offered us use of her house as storage for the many candles, lanterns, ceremony accessories and other things we were compiling. The week of our wedding, she handled two nasty vendor situations with grace and patience, keeping her composure and smile in tact.

Kerri made me feel as if I were her only client and that no other wedding took precedence over mine ... And that's what every bride wants.

Day of the Wedding:
The day of our wedding, Kerri spent the entire day hanging my cranes, setting up our tables, precisely laying out the miniature lanterns used for guest seating. She kept me in the loop and forwarded pictures of the reception space, via text message. We didn't have a rehearsal, but it didn't matter - Kerri successfully guided everyone to their proper places during the ceremony. She carefully orchestrated all of our vendors, our guests, my wedding party. She was a Godsend and I couldn't have had a more perfect day, without her.

Bottom Line:
Kerri was amazing to work with - just absolutely perfect. I can't boast about her enough and I wish her, and the Proper Setting, tremendous success.
Services Used: Wedding Planning
The Proper Setting LLC responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much, Kim, for taking the time to write your review. It was such a pleasure to work with you and Eric!!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
8/14/2013
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Kerri of The Proper Setting, LLC did more for our special day than anyone could ever understand.  She was the heart and soul of our dream wedding.  There was never a question she couldn't answer, an email that was missed, or a detail that was forgotten.  She understood what we wanted and always remained true to our vision.  Never has there been a more caring and hard-working person. We were blessed to be given her efforts and direction.  You can't put a price on the peace of mind that comes from knowing that every detail will be taken care of on your special day and we got that and more with The Proper Setting, LLC.   Kerri went above and beyond for us and we are forever grateful!   I underestimated the importance of having an event coordinator for my wedding, but I can't imagine how we would have done it without her.  Without a doubt I would recommend The Proper Setting, LLC. to anyone looking to get married or plan an event in the Outer Banks, NC.  
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Georgia
Wedding:
7/15/2013
 
5.0 out of 5.0
Words cannot express our gratitude towards Kerri and her staff at The Proper Setting! Kerri worked with us from the very beginning of our planning from two states away and our wedding ceremony and reception were magical. All of our guests raved about how it was the most flawless, perfect wedding they have ever been to. We truly felt like we had the "dream team" of the Outer Banks, starting with The Proper Setting! Kerri worked with our vendors, gave us ideas and feedback and really captured everything we dreamed of and then some!! Kerri's professionalism and caring spirit really is amazing. All of our emails and phone calls were returned promptly and we were able to really enjoy our wedding day without stress. I can't give The Proper Setting enough credit for giving us that once in a lifetime day that truly is magical and beyond words!
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Proper Setting LLC
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo