130x130_sq_1403121874998-nyeweddingmeredith15

The Red House

Franklin , TN
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

138 3rd Avenue North
Franklin, TN US 37064 (map)

PHONE

615-973-3503

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Red House is a unique yet affordable venue that is perfect for your big day! The trendy décor of this 140 year old home is accented with rock and roll memorabilia that gives your... Read more
The Red House is a unique yet affordable venue that is perfect for your big day! The trendy décor of this 140 year old home is accented with rock and roll memorabilia that gives your event a chic style with southern charm. Definitely Historic on the outside and Modern on the inside, The Red House will make a lasting impression on your guests. We are located just 1 block from the square in downtown Historic Franklin.



Book The Red House For…

-Indoor or Outdoor Ceremony

-Wedding Receptions

-Rehearsal Dinners

-Wedding Showers

-Destination Weddings



Features:

-Competitive Pricing

-Accommodates 150 people

-Event can flow outdoors with use of grounds and porches

-Large area available for addition of tents

-Flexible catering options for all budgets

-Historic home with modern décor

-Event Coordinator onsite

-Event management packages available, if needed



Pricing:

Prices range from $1,500 to $3,000* for most Friday-Sunday options. Weekdays start at just $1,000. The Red House prices provide you with the most affordable and flexible options to exactly suit your needs. Prices include tax, event insurance, and basic planning. Ask about our off-season special pricing. (*Holiday rates higher)



Visit: www.ourredhouse.com for more information! We would love to make your special day a dream come true!

Showing by appointment only, call today: (615) 973-3503 Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1348169045311-erwinwedding20124745
130x130_sq_1348166970872-rhfrontanglespring
130x130_sq_1348164115648-erwinwedding20120920
130x130_sq_1348167063167-erwinwedding20123355
130x130_sq_1348164643653-nyeweddingmeredith21
130x130_sq_1348165858843-lanterns
130x130_sq_1348164479465-erwinwedding20123219
130x130_sq_1284183756685-foyernight
130x130_sq_1348164642056-nyeweddingmeredith15
130x130_sq_1348165855471-chandelierwithcolorssmall
130x130_sq_1348165445313-img0999
130x130_sq_1348165434446-tablesettingscopper1
130x130_sq_1348165388390-bigroom
130x130_sq_1348165411142-redroomfoodtable
130x130_sq_1348164638915-nyeweddingmeredith7
130x130_sq_1348164486271-erwinwedding20124770
130x130_sq_1348164640391-nyeweddingmeredith10
130x130_sq_1348164488360-erwinwedding20125641
130x130_sq_1284182926044-outdoorchairsstraight
130x130_sq_1284182900044-frontporchlanternsangle
130x130_sq_1284183542716-sideporchevening
130x130_sq_1284183139028-tenttablechairsdark
130x130_sq_1348165583417-outsdoorceremony3close
130x130_sq_1348164589099-jennajasonweddingfavweb43
130x130_sq_1284183486138-redhousefooddecorgraylogo26
130x130_sq_1284183844325-brideflowerwindow
130x130_sq_1284183588981-stonepathsm
130x130_sq_1348165573712-erwinwedding20123172
130x130_sq_1348164482642-erwinwedding20123275
130x130_sq_1348165577503-erwinwedding20123307
130x130_sq_1348165579209-erwinwedding20124022
130x130_sq_1348169038604-erwinwedding20121040
130x130_sq_1348169040663-erwinwedding20123467
130x130_sq_1348169042438-erwinwedding20124237
130x130_sq_1348169047610-erwinwedding20125053
130x130_sq_1348169050260-erwinwedding20126460
130x130_sq_1348164680040-sparklers
130x130_sq_1348168857674-rhlogogif

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1873
When was your venue last renovated?
2014
Describe your venue:
Historic Site, Manor / Mansion, Museum
Describe the style of your venue
Classic / Traditional, Eclectic, Other
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
150
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
4
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
Yes
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
500
Catering
Outside vendors welcome
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carrie
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
I couldn't be happier with my selection of a venue. It was the first and only place we looked for venues. It's perfect for a smaller wedding (we had about 85 guests) with the option of being inside and outside. It happened to downpour right before the ceremony but a quick switch to inside saved the day. The wedding coordinator, Bethe Smith, was fabulous, and even though I booked a year in advance she kept in contact with me throughout the year and regularly when the date got closer. It is such a beautiful place and a quick walk to the gorgeous down town Franklin where we got some awesome wedding shots. Highly recommended!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brenda
Wedding:
2/8/2014
5.0/5.0
We are so happy we picked The Red House for our wedding/reception! Our guest loved the location and we had a beautiful wedding and reception. Bethe Smith did a fantastic job taking care of the big day for us and making sure everything was on track.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jolene
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
I recently had my wedding at The Red House on November 2, 2013. I can't recommend this venue enough... from start to finish, the communication from The Red House was outstanding. This is the perfect place to have a fun, intimate wedding, and the tone can be as casual and as formal as you want. My husband and I wanted something super laid back that didn't have many of the traditional events (first dance, large wedding party, etc), and it was still a great wedding because the venue is so cool (think charming historic house with gigantic rock and roll posters everywhere). Also, The Red House gives you lots of flexibility - hire any florist you want, an excellent selection of caterers, Bring-Your-Own alcohol (which will save you oodles of $$$).

If you do nothing else when you book The Red House (and you should!) you should also hire Bethe as your day-of wedding coordinator. She is literally a life saver. I worried about NOTHING on my wedding day because she set up the rentals and decorations and met with the vendors. Best money I spent on the wedding by far.

Thank you Red House for a beautiful wedding!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Suzanne
Wedding:
12/8/2012
5.0/5.0
My daughter’s wedding was December 8, 2012 at the Red House in Franklin, TN.
The wedding day was absolutely perfect. The Red House is an event house in beautiful downtown Franklin, TN. It is perfect for a small wedding of about 75 people or less. They provide outside and inside weddings. For outside weddings, the could accommodate more people. Because of my daughter’s wedding being in December we opted for the inside wedding and it was so perfect.

Bethe Smith is the wedding coordinator and she made this day go so smoothly. As mother of the bride I was a bit overwhelmed and stressed and Bethe made sure that I was put to ease. We found out after we booked the wedding that this was also the weekend of Dickens Christmas in downtown Franklin and that parking would be totally limited so she made sure we could reserve the parking lot behind the Red House so my guests would be assured of a place to park.

She could also tell that I was a bit stressed so she brought in wine for me, the bride and the bridesmaids. She made sure all of our needs were met. I don’t know how I would have managed without her help.

She coordinated who walked down the aisle first and made sure everything went smoothly. After the ceremony, she and her helpers went around making sure all the guests were taken care of. She also made sure the wedding party got something to eat because she knew none of would take the time if she hadn’t insisted.

During the reception, I didn’t have to lift a finger because it all just happened thanks to the expertise of Bethe Smith, our wonderful coordinator. I just can’t thank her enough for all of her help. She made my daughter’s wedding the most perfect day of her life. It will always be a day that she will remember and cherish.

Thank you, Bethe , for all that you did.

Suzanne
Memphis, TN
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough about how awesome The Red House is for a wedding venue, or any other event you want to turn out awesome.. It is unique and very inviting. The coordinator for the house, Bethe, is amazing!! She is very laid back and professional. Her reassuring demenor kept me calm during crazy planning times before and during the big day. If you want a cozy, charming, southern feel with a twist that your guests will be talking about long after the day, this place is perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
6/22/2012
5.0/5.0
The Red House was the perfect venue for our wedding & reception! The coordinator, Bethe, was so helpful and flexible, and very laid-back (which is a huge plus when planning something like this!). Everyone had a blast and the whole affair was seamless. Thanks to everyone who helped make the evening perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
junebug12
Wedding:
6/1/2012
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding ceremony and reception at The Red House. We fell in love with the feel of the historic house and the unique decor. It needs minimal decorations, and is even more wonderful at night with the glow of the candles and the lighted globes in the tree. I loved having the choice of being inside or outside. Bethe was great to work with and she made planning a destination wedding easy. She has a very good selection of vendors and had everything ready for the big day. Lovely venue in a beautiful town.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Miranda
Wedding:
5/12/2012
5.0/5.0
The Red House was the perfect setting for our wedding. We fell in love with the house and Bethe! She took really good care of us and every detail of the ceremony and reception. I couldn't have asked for a more perfect day!
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amanda
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
The red House was so amazing for our wedding. Very unique, modern place, very laid back, fun and relaxing. Beth Smith is a wonderful host and a wonderful coordinatior. She took her time with me, knew what I wanted and it was done, I was able to just relax and enjoy my wedding. I suggest to everyone to at least check it out, the feel of the place is very warming and comfortable and lots of fun.
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony Music, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, , Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Jennifer
Wedding:
11/19/2011
5.0/5.0
“The Red House was a perfect location for our wedding. We loved the intimate setting and our guests really enjoyed the open flow of the event and the special touch of the unique memorabilia in each room. Bethe, The Red House Coordinator, was an absolute gem in helping us plan our event and work with the vendors. Plus, she made so many helpful recommendations that helped us in so many ways. There is nothing we would change about our experience and we can’t wait to host our anniversary party there!”

Thank you Bethe and The Red House!

Todd and Jennifer Werner
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Skippy
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
Such a brilliant venue with a staff that really took care of our needs!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
9/9/2012
4.9/5.0
I am so grateful we had our wedding at The Red House! The venue was the very first thing we booked and thank god, because through their recommendations we were able to find the most fabulous caterer, photographer and event rentals as well. We fell in love with the Red House because of the awesome music memorabilia/decor (my husband is a music geek) and the idea of having our wedding in a historic old house. We decided to have our wedding on the front lawn, but I also loved their rain plan if we had needed it (we didn't, but it's nice to know I would have been happy with both).

Bethe, The Red House coordinator, was so easy-going and calm. She was very confident and made expert recommendations for table/bar/food placement, as well as additional staff. The day of she was so organized and kept everything moving and flowing smoothly. I'm so lucky we had her there to help and guide!

I really appreciated the flexibility of The Red House as well. They let you bring in your own alcohol, which saved a ton of money and also recommended a very reasonable priced and professional bartender (I didn't even have to contact them, Bethe took care of it all!). We even were able to bring in our own cake and desserts!

I just loved the intimate feel and mix of historic/modern touches. Everything was so perfect and magical the night of with the twinkling lights in the trees and the guests mingling on the lawn. Overall it was my dream venue and their level of experience, recommendations and vendor partnerships just put it over the top!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lynsie
Wedding:
5/3/2014
4.8/5.0
Our wedding at The Red House was perfect! Bethe was so helpful and really made the extra effort to make sure we were well taken care of. The house is so beautiful and has so many unique touches that the need for additional decorating is very minimal, which helps offset some of the cost. Our guests raved about the location and those who cam from out of town loved exploring Franklin. Great, great experience!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle L.
Wedding:
6/9/2012
4.8/5.0
Our wedding day could not have turned out more perfect! Our guest loved the relaxed, yet sophisticated feel of The Red House. Bethe did a wonderful job of coordinating and helping us plan our out of town wedding. It was a stress free planning process!! Bethe gave us several tips on how to make our day flawless. For the bride that is looking for a fun, unique and classy wedding, The Red House is perfect!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jordan
Wedding:
9/15/2012
4.7/5.0
My husband and I knew we wanted an outdoor wedding and were having trouble finding a location that worked with our budget. After weeks of searching and visiting locations (only to find out they were not what we wanted or were out of our price range), we finally found the Red House. The Red House was absolutely perfect for us. On the outside, the Red House is all southern charm. Inside, the Red House is rock 'n' roll. We wanted a wedding that was classy and charming, but still approachable and fun. The Red House was the perfect setting for the wedding and reception that we wanted. We enlisted the services of Bethe, our wedding coordinator at the Red House, and she was fantastic. She made sure that our entire day ran smoothly. Everyone seemed to comment on how great this location was for our wedding--it just suited us perfectly. I would definitely recommend the Red House.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TheLissaEvans
Wedding:
11/13/2010
4.6/5.0
I had my wedding ceremony & reception at The Red House November, 2010, and it was amazing! It was a little more expensive than other venues we looked at, but it was perfect for what we wanted, so it was worth the extra money. We had around 60-70 guests and did the ceremony inside in the main room, then the reception was inside/outside. You can fit many more people with a traditional seated dinner, or by doing the ceremony outside (which was our plan! Stupid rain!), but with the layout we wanted, I was glad to keep it under 75. Our guests also loved The Red House...everyone was talking about how cool it was! So again, totally worth it. Laura, the owner, is very nice and helpful. Beautiful and unique venue for any type of event.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1292779533606-372008449755052419018459472508473136985n
Dana
Wedding:
9/10/2011
4.5/5.0
The Red House was a beautiful location for our wedding. They were very helpful and very flexible in letting us do what we wanted with the space, and even change things around last minute because of guest count. Definitely a great place for your big day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
9/1/2013
4.2/5.0
My now-husband and I booked the Red House for our wedding and also signed up for the wedding day coordination. We fell in love with the venue; it is the perfect mix of what we both love: music and art. We also liked the idea of having the ceremony and the reception at one place. We worked with Bethe as our wedding day coordinator, who is very nice and knows a lot about venue and the preferred vendors. Initially, we were going to have a smaller wedding: 100 people or less. However, our guest list grew to 135 people. Bethe assured us that she had recently had a wedding with 120 people and that our guest list should not be a problem. However, as time went on, it was more and more difficult to get a hold of Bethe. Luckily, our event designer was previously a wedding planner. She helped us with most of the budgeting and organizing for the event. The wedding day was pretty much perfect. We had our ceremony in the porch and lawn, with an acoustic guitarist playing entrance and exit music. Then there was a cocktail hour inside the house while we took photos. Finally, the dinner and reception was under a tent on the paved area behind the house. My biggest complaint was that the tent we ordered was not nearly big enough for all of our guests plus the band. I had ordered nice dance floor for the reception, but the band set up on it because there was no room elsewhere. Also, half of the tables had to be moved from under the tent after dinner to make space for dancing. In all honesty, I think Bethe oversold her experience with larger weddings; once the wedding was over, it was obvious that she had not dealt with a wedding that large before. Nonetheless, in the moment, the guests, my husband, and I had a fantastic time and were too excited/overwhelmed with joy to let these smaller things get to us! I would definitely recommend the Red House as a venue. However, I would only recommend the wedding day coordination services if your wedding is small (i.e. less than 100).
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
6/26/2011
3.1/5.0
The Red House had all the design elements we wanted for our vintage wedding. The wall decor and atmosphere was a good mix between me and my now husbands style. Our first contact was with Heidi at the Red House, the in-house coordinator. Although pleasant to speak with her coordination ability's where less then impressive based on our first meeting. We requested a hour to view the property and sign paper work if we decided on the location. We arrived on the Red House with no one there to meet us, on calling her several times we where made aware that she had listed us at only a 30 minute window for viewing and any extras as apposed to the requested hour. She assured us that she was on her way and not far from the property and that 30 minutes was all that was needed. We where also on time constant as we where to meet out florist, something that we did make her aware of before we set the appointment. After we viewed the property and decided the location was perfect for our wedding style and we sat down to sign paper work. Already 15 minutes over our desired time frame (as I expected it to be with a 30 minute delay). Shortly after setting down we realize that she had also scheduled another appointment on top of us. This was very frustrating for us as we where about to sign over a deposit and payment for our wedding date and she was showing the house to another couple, of course unavailable to answer our question. She arrived back to the signing table just long enough tell us how to make out the check, leaving the other couple off to the side of the main room while we finally get our questions in. I'm sure they where just as put off as we where. She did offer us her package for coordination, which we declined as thus far we where very unimpressed. I would like to attribute this to perhaps her inexperience and less to do with a unwillingness to be good at her job. A few other sides notes to consider is the cost of moving out the furniture which you may or may not decide to keep. For us there were to many furnishings for the amount of people we where inviting. The back packing lot was very small and although we where told could hold up to 50 car's it seemed very unlikely. But as you may find out they will offer you information on renting the side parking lot ( to the tune of 250.00)or designate you to the free parking down the street. The Red House has a cozy intimate feel to it and the gardens around the house are beautiful in the summer. However an advisory to those brides that might want a center aisle using the front of the house to frame your wedding. The stone walk way framed by two large trees make for a beautiful concept for an center aisle however there is a ill placed Japanese Mable that they have planted at the front of the house that completely obstructs the view of guests from the side yard to the front of the house. We used only one half of the front yard and framed the aisle as a side aisle which was still beautiful but not our ideal choice. A few other things to consider is that they limit you on which vendors you may us for your catering and event rental. Only two caterers are offered (Daily Dish and Constant Craving) although they do list Ribbons of Chocolate on their preferred vendor list they don't allow you to use there catering services which is disappointing. All in all Red House suited our wedding style the house and gardens where beautiful even if the catering we chose (Constant Carving... please read my review to come)was less then to be desired out of a "professtional company" even with the issues that arrived with the help of great wedding coordinatons from Sarah Willard ( Music City Events) all things are possible.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
The Red House responded with the following comments:

As the owner of the Red House, I am very sorry to hear about this client's experience, as customer satisfaction is our priority at the Red House. I am always available to personally handle any issues, and unfortunately, none of this was brought to my attention. The event coordinator that the reviewer refers to is no longer employed at the Red House.

MAP

 
138 3rd Avenue North, Franklin, TN 37064 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Red House
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo