Nophoto-130

The Red Sky Cafe

Duck , NC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Duck , NC US 27949 (map)

PHONE

252-261-8646

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Catering

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Rail Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (New), American (Traditional), Asian, Caribbean, Mexican, Pan-Asian, Southern, Southwestern
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Kosher, Lactose Free, No Pork, Vegan, Vegetarian
Do you offer a tasting for potential clients?
yes
If a bride decides to bring her own wedding cake, do you have a cake cutting fee? If yes, how much is the fee?
No fee
Are you licensed to sell alcohol? If yes, where are you licensed?
On-off premise catering license
What is your maximum catering capacity?
700

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Wes Stepp and his Red Sky team did an amazing job on the catering of our wedding. Wes and his associate, Jennifer, were always there for us to answer questions and help us. The food was incredible! The presentation was outstanding and staff working the event were so helpful and kind. We had MANY guests tell us it was the best food they had ever eaten at a wedding and we are still hearing about how much people enjoyed it.

Hayley and Ryan
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
Great decision to hire Red Sky! Delicious and professional. So many people commented how wonderful the staff were. And the chef came to our Wedding to ensure everything was perfect. They made sure the bride and groom got appetizers too!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Red Sky catered our wedding reception- we couldn't have been more pleased! The food was absolutely delicious, and the service was incredible. You will not be disappointed if you hire Red Sky to cater your event!!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1404259564345-image
Donna
Wedding:
6/25/2014
5.0/5.0
We used Red Sky Cafe for the food at our Rehearsal Dinner, our Wedding Reception, and our Brunch on the morning after the wedding. Each of the three meals was delicious and unique. We had the same serving team for all three occasions and they did their jobs skillfully and professionally. They made us feel like guests at our own parties and took the extra steps to insure that everything from the food to the service to the cleanup of the kitchen area and boxing up of the leftovers was nothing short of perfection. Jenn, the banquet manager, helped us plan meals that our guests raved about and even went off of the menu to allow us to add some special requests. I would highly recommend Red Sky Cafe to anyone looking for delicious food on the Outer Banks.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gina
Wedding:
5/30/2014
5.0/5.0
Red Sky did a fantastic job catering our wedding! Everyone raved about the food, presentation, and the friendly staff! Chef Wes was so awesome. He even came out to check on everything and take pictures with us. Everything was delicious, but so many of our out of town friends especially loved the shrimp and grits! It's something a little different, and we definitely recommend it!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dana
Wedding:
5/25/2014
5.0/5.0
Chef Wes and his crew at Red Sky did an amazing job at our wedding. We knew when we sat down for the tasting and met Chef Wes and Jenn the GM, that it was the right fit. The tasting was absolutely delicious and the presentation breathtaking. It was so hard just making a decision on our favorites. The wedding reception turned out perfect, the service, the food, the presentation was outstanding! All we heard that night and the rest of the week after the wedding was how amazing the food was. We had guests say it was the best food they have ever had at any wedding, and the shrimp and grits were a huge hit! Thank you everyone at Red Sky Cafe for making our wedding perfect with the best food, hospitality and all around service!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bryan
Wedding:
5/23/2014
5.0/5.0
Chef Wes and Jenn were great to work with. They easily accommodated our food prep requirements. After meeting with Black Pelican, Kelly's and Good Life Gourmet, we felt Red Sky provided the best menu at the best value. We couldn't have been happier with how everything turned out.

Our Menu:
Fish Tacos
Shrimp & Grits
Pad Thai
Grilled Asparagus
Passed Appetizers: Arancini Balls & Crab Cakes

All of their on-site staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We also hired a bartender through Red Sky, and they provided a very nice younger guy who interacted exceptionally well with guests. I highly recommend Red Sky!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
8/12/2013
4.9/5.0
We could not have made a better choice having The Red Sky Cafe cater our wedding. Our food was delicious, and they were so sweet to leave us leftovers afterwards! Thank you Jenn and Wes for helping us make our day so memorable! Our guests are still raving about how perfectly the food was cooked!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Catie
Wedding:
7/6/2013
4.3/5.0
Great food, great price, great experience! We planned a destination wedding in the Outer Banks from New York City. Chef Wes and Jenn prepared a 5 star tasting when we came down for our ONE tasting visit to OBX. They were the only caterer who had an entire presentation of food prepared for us upon arrival. That sold us on the spot! We still went to another 5 caterers just to be sure, and other caterers all just sat us down and asked us what food we wanted, and took notes. Isn't the point of a tasting to actually taste the food?! Red Sky Cafe's food is SO good and it will always be a necessary stop in the Outer Banks for us for every trip we make. It was sometimes difficult to get a response, and there was one time that they lost the updated menu we had set with them but I would not let that deter you. They made up for it by offering GREAT discounts and treated us like royalty whenever we came in. Chef Wes and Jenn were very focused on serving an amazing menu. Everything went off without a hitch. My wedding planner did say that the serving staff they had at my reception were pretty rude and unprofessional younger kids (hence my 3 stars on professionalism) but I still love this place and think it is the best option for catering in the Outer Banks. Their food is amazing and they just have a few service kinks to sort out. Once they do that, they will be unstoppable!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
10/7/2012
4.9/5.0
As always at Red Sky, the food was amazing. Working with Jenn and Wes was one of the easiest tasks that we had in planning our wedding. We had them cater our rehearsal as well. The only drawback to that was that the guy who brought the rehearsal food was an hour early and said that we did not get sternos. So, the food was a little cold, BUT still delicious!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
7/8/2012
5.0/5.0
I had a lot of conditions which made the catering job pretty difficult. But they came through! There food was just amazing. They are flexiable and really will give you want you want and need. They a did an amazing job and people just raved about how good the food was.........I would HIGHLY recommend them.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelli
Wedding:
6/30/2012
4.4/5.0
All of the guests at my wedding said that our food was the best food they ever experienced at a wedding. My mouth still waters when I think about the shrimp and grits and prime rib that was served on our wedding night. If you are looking for a cater that will blow your guests away, I would definitely chose Red Sky Cafe. My only complaints are that is was a little pricey.... but then of course, you get what you pay for and also there was a change in catering managers during my engagement and the wedding. I worked with Eric and he was so wonderful and very responsive. When the new management came in, I found it quite difficult to get in contact with her and it took her awhile to get back in touch with me. Despite the communication problem, on the day of my wedding, the food was fantastic and so was the service. I highly recommend Red Sky Cafe for any catering needs that you may have.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
5/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Every year my family and I pack everything up to head to the Outer Banks and we make sure to stop at least twice for dinner at Red Sky, which made it a no brainer that they would be our caterer. They met with us for a tasting and it was so professional prepared and delicious!! It made it very hard to choose what to have for our big day. We hired them for rehearsal as well and it was definitely worth it. Everyone was raving about our food. They said it was better than any food they've ever had at a wedding. Thanks Wes and all of the Red Sky Staff.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1313247095676-fbavatar1221301080
Katie
Wedding:
5/10/2012
4.9/5.0
Awesome food and service! We used them for our wedding and rehearsal dinner. They really were great. They cooked right at our rental house so everything was fresh and hot. The food was amazing, and it was a pretty good value. They offered us 10% off for doing both events with them-which made it a better value. We will use them again anytime we need a caterer in OBX.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough positive things about Red Sky Catering. Eric and his staff did an amazing job from start to finish. Every interaction my husband and I had with Eric for our wedding was a pleasure. He is organized, responsive, knowledgable, and a pleasure to work with. The food at our tasting got us so excited about the food at our wedding, and it was just as great as we thought it would be. Many of our guests have let us know they loved the food and have asked who catered our reception. Thanks to Red Sky for making it so easy to select the catering and enjoy our wedding. They did an awesome job. You cannot go wrong in choosing this vendor for your event!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
melipen
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
I met with 5 caterers from the OBX. The one I picked after the first round of meetings ended up falling off of the face of the earth and were terrible communicators. I am glad that happened because we decided to rethink our decision and talk to 2 more options. As soon as we met Eric and did a tasting we went with Red Sky, and GREAT decision. Creative, yummy, organized, and responsive. Also- many of the caterers have hidden fees. Red Sky ended up being the best price on top of everything else once you considered how they had no hidden fees. Things went very smoothly and I highly recommend them.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
DELICIOUS! Everyone raved about the food at our wedding and said it was the best wedding food they had ever had. They worked with us to customize and change our menu in order to make it just perfect. Shrimp 'n grits is the best. Their proefessionalism was so great and we barely even noticed they were there running all the food.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jen
Wedding:
6/27/2011
5.0/5.0
Eric was great to work with. He had wonderful ideas and suggestions. The food was unbelievably yummy. The wait staff was friendly. We had to contend with mother nature with an outdoor reception, and they remained professional and friendly through it all.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
OBXbride
Wedding:
6/11/2011
4.5/5.0
While the food itself was very good, this was the only vendor we were disappointed in. They ran out of ice so there was a long line at one bar at the start of the reception. Then they ran out of food at one buffet which led to a long line at the other and confusion among guests. In addition to this, the wine that was supposed to be served at the beginning of dinner wasn't served until the end.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jackie
Wedding:
5/20/2011
5.0/5.0
The food provided by the Red Sky Cafe was outstanding! We got so many compliments on how good it was. The variety was amazing and their staff was just outstanding! I would highly recommend them to anyone. I think if you dont use them, you will actually be missing out on some fabulous food!

They also did our cake which was absolutely delicious and looked amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
130x130_sq_1306984809830-img1355
Crystal
Wedding:
5/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Red Sky Cafe was phenomenal! We had the best service, the best food and couldn't ask for anything better. From meeting and tasting at the Wedding Expo to the clean up after the wedding everything was Great! The sales coordinator Eric Kallestad was wonderful to work with. Extremely personable and did a fantastic job helping us stay within our budget. The Chef Wes was remarkable with his talent. Food was excellent and still today receiving compliments of our wedding. Red Sky is highly recommended!
Services Used: Catering
Wwnetwork-128
Caroline
Wedding:
9/7/2010
5.0/5.0
We created our own menu with cheeseburger sliders, rolled sushi, our favorite pastas, marinated shrimp, Ceviche shooters, arancini balls, bone in rib roast, gourmet Mac and cheese, etc. Red Sky was willing to work with us in every way possible and catered to our dream menu. So great that they are willing to work off their menu. My only complaint was after the wedding I was looking at pictures and noticed that the plastic glasses they provided were red solo cups! Not quite. The look I was going for.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
j&kdavis
Wedding:
9/5/2010
4.9/5.0
Red Sky did a fantastic job for our wedding reception in Duck, NC. The food was delicious, the presentation beautiful, the service attentive and thorough, and Eric was a pleasure to work with up to, and throughout the event. Bartending was great, and overall response from all guests was two thumbs up. Thanks for making our day that much better!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
carolinarose
Wedding:
6/12/2010
5.0/5.0
This was by far my favorite vendor for my wedding. Eric did an outstanding job, went above and beyond everything!!! The food and presentation was just incredible. I had many compliments from my guest. Their crabcakes are out of this world, it is a must to include them in your catering!!! Their prices were the most reasonable of any one I worked with considering what you got for your money.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KellyoLong
Wedding:
4/24/2010
4.6/5.0
The food from Red Sky Cafe was fantastic and there was such a variety for a great price! They recently hired Eric to handle their catering and he was great to work with. He was very flexible with the menu and understood how to work within my budget. The food was all ready on time for the wedding guests and I had plenty of them commenting on how good the food was. Everything was done in a tapas stlye and I'd have to say the mini sliders were my favorite! They also handled the bar for me and I requested a signature drink for them to prepare. They let me bring my own alcohol and provided everything else so I didn't have to worry about ice or the oranges for my Orange Crush specialty drink. The bartenders were very polite and professional too. I highly recommend them. The only reason I didn't give them a 5 out of 5 for their rating was because they lost my notes from our first meeting/tasting. We got it figured out though:)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
S&J
Wedding:
5/16/2009
4.6/5.0
Food was amazing, Chef Wes and Cindy were wonderful to work with. Very creative and delicious!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brittany
Wedding:
10/4/2008
4.5/5.0
Red Sky cafe worked within my budget for a unique bbq dinner. The buffet was beautiful and the food was delicious.
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
Duck , NC 27949 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Red Sky Cafe
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo