130x130_sq_1240426535468-mocarlkemba

The Rhythm Dogs Band and DJs

New York, New England , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

New York, New England, NY US 10014 (map)

PHONE

212-627-5387

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Rhythm Dogs are New York's premier dance band specializing in: Motown, Soul, Swing, Rock, Reggae, and Contemporary Dance Music.The band is comprised of well established musicians.... Read more
The Rhythm Dogs are New York's premier dance band specializing in: Motown, Soul, Swing, Rock, Reggae, and Contemporary Dance Music.The band is comprised of well established musicians. Artists ranging from Aretha Franklin to Janet Jackson have tapped the talents of this groovin outfit. Clearly, this is not just another wedding band.The Rhythm Dogs are available for weddings and corporate events in the New York/Tri-State area, New England, The Islands, and nationwide. ​ Read less
Band

INFO FOR BAND

Are you an agency or a band?
Band
What is the size of your band?
Large (6+ musicians)
What music genre does your band play?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Blues, Calypso, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Latin, Motown, Oldies, Orchestra, Pop, R&B, Reggae, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
What is your band's usual attire?
Tux or Black tee shirts with tux pants and tux jacket
Do you offer live sample performances or CDs?
Both and DVDs
Are you willing to learn songs that you do not currently know?
Yes
How much time do you usually need for setup?
1-1/2 hour
How much space do you usually require?
Depends on the size of the band
Do you have a sign or banner that you use at events?
No
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
No
Do you usually emcee the event, or talk between songs?
We keep the emceeing down to a minimum.
How would you motivate the crowd if no one is dancing?
Change songs and or music styles
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you need a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
We work around the food service and provide continuos music
Do you play recorded music during your break?
With 6 pieces and up we can do live continuos music
If one or more of the band members is unable to attend, what is your backup plan?
We have subs
What is your overtime rate?
Pro Rated per 1/2 hour
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
1 hour or more outside manhattan we charge extra. Price wold depend on the distance
What is the required deposit to secure your services?
50%

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
the Rhythm Dogs provided music for our cocktail hour and reception. we used the full band as well as the DJ. they were absolutely fantastic! they kept the party going and were wonderful emcees. we got tons of compliments and people had a great time dancing all night.

we worked with Peter Brown. he is friendly, responsive, and just an all around cool guy. he answered all of my emails within a day (if not within minutes or hours!). he took care of the order of events and really made everything stress-free.

i couldn't have asked for a better band, or a better person to do business with. i recommend the Rhythm Dogs without hesitation!
Services Used: Band, DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kerry
Wedding:
12/14/2013
5.0/5.0
We couldn't recommend Rhythm Dogs more! From our first dance to Stevie Wonder's "For Once In My Life" to our last dance to Bob Marley's "One Love," the band showed top notch energy, sound and fun. Professional, pleasant and super talented all around, we'd hire them again and again!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
The Rhythm Dogs exceeded all of our expectations - which were set pretty high going into the evening. They delivered on everything they had promised, which was a soulful & joyous set of authentic, uplifting, feel-good live music. The energy & chemistry the band shares is unprecedented, and the good vibes poured into the audience song after money-maker-shaking song. Don't give it a second thought - book these guys & enjoy the night.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Highly professional band and dj. They had the guests up and dancing the entire time. Peter and the band answered all our questions promptly and courteously and made our evening very successful. We would highly recommend them for any function you are contemplating.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
8/10/2013
5.0/5.0
Pete did an absolutely amazing job as a DJ at our wedding! I was extremely busy with a new job and a baby at home and did not have time to give Pete much direction for our wedding music. With the very little direction I provided, he knew EXACTLY what to do. Our guests did not want to leave the dance floor!

I would highly recommend Pete and the Rhythm Dogs for any wedding .
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We absolutely loved the Rhythm Dogs. Peter Brown, the manager was super responsive and easy to work with and made planning stress free. We had our wedding at a farm in NJ but they were happy to play at a unique venue for our reception. We found them through a friend that highly recommended them but did not hear them play until our first dance and then we were blown away! The lead singers were amazing and they kept the dance floor rocking all night, it was packed with all ages! At the end of the night the DJ played some songs to keep the party going. I had so many people come up to me to tell me what a great band and ask where I found them. AND they were very reasonably priced compared to other bands we looked at in the NY/NJ area and could play pretty much anythingl I would say they made the wedding for us! I only wish we could have had them play longer (we had a sound curfew) or hire them again!!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary Pat
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
Thankfully, the wedding coordinator for our venue suggested the Rhythm Dogs because another couple that was getting married had hired them for the venue, even though the venue was in Vermont. We had our wedding in Vermont, even though we are from New Jersey. This allowed members of my family to go into NYC to see a showcase before we officially hired them. (Even though my husband and I knew right away they were exactly what we were looking for just by listening to them online) Hiring the Rhythm Dogs for our wedding was one of the best decisions we made. Personally, I feel the quality and type of music at a wedding sets the tone. They performed above and beyond what we could have anticipated. All of the musicians and singers are incredibly talented. They were also very accommodating with playing all of the kinds of music my husband and I asked them to play. I am so thankful they were able to travel to Vermont from NYC to play at our wedding. Most of our 200+ guests were on the dance floor the entire night. I could not be happier with the Rhythm Dogs's performance. They were a key component for making our wedding night a dream come true! I would recommend the Rhythm Dogs to anyone who wants to have a good time at their event.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
6/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Peter Dj'd our wedding and was an absolutely pleasure to work with. He was so laid back, yet helpful. Anything we wanted, he provided. He also knew what to give us when we weren't exactly sure what we wanted, for example, we had forgotten to choose a song to be introduced to, Peter had songs prepared for us based on previous songs we had chosen. He has a great concept of music and will really go above and beyond to make you happy. I highly highly highly recommend Peter!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Douglas
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Just played at my daughters wedding at Skyland Manor, NJ Botanical Gardens "Best Band" PERIOD!!! Peter Brown was great,had eight members. Always responsive. When you see them in a club you will really appreciate what you are going to get.
Peter tell the gang how much I appreciated their performance.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
5/11/2013
5.0/5.0
This band gets the crowd going! They encompass all age groups too. I would highly recommend Rhythm Dogs Band for a wedding, birthday celebration, or any other special event. If you like to dance and have fun - this is the band to book!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Stop everything and book them now! They are a fun, tight, talented and professional group that had everyone on the dance floor from the get go. They know it all: from classic ballads to Motown to soul to contemp and do it amazingly well.
Do yourself and your party a favor- book 'em!!!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leah
Wedding:
11/10/2012
5.0/5.0
The Rhythm Dogs were the best decision we made (aside from choosing each other). They sounded awesome and really made the party. Everyone, and I mean EVERYONE, was raving about them. A couple of friends getting married next summer just asked me for their info, so you know that's a good sign. They are very talented and way more affordable than most of the other wedding bands out there by about 40%. You really can't go wrong with them.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tom
Wedding:
11/9/2012
5.0/5.0
The Rhythm Dogs played at our wedding on November 9 2012 and we couldn't have wished for a better, more professional band.
Initially we first heard of the band online and after a few correspondence with the manager / band leader, Pete Brown, we went to see one of their live shows in Manhattan. From the first song, we knew that this was to be the band for our wedding.
Once we had agreed with Pete that his band will play our wedding, the attention he gave us was exceptional.
Closer to the wedding we set up a meeting with him just to go over the order of play for the evening and we discussed specific songs. The song we picked for our wedding song was a very obscure song by The Small Faces. Pete said this would not be a problem at all and the band would happily learn it and ensure they will not let us down. He was not wrong, the performance was outstanding and was just as good as the original.
When we signed the simple contract we initially booked the band solely for the wedding reception. However, a few months after signing, we asked if we could take a guitarist for the ceremony and the cocktail hour. Again, Pete said this was perfectly fine and he simply added a small addendum to the contract and our guitarist was booked.
Said guitarist was excellent and he played all of our required songs perfectly.
Now to the band's performance during the ceremony. What can I say, it was immense. When I chatted to Petr I basically gave him a 'free hand' to play all the music he knows will get the party going. He clearly adhered to this request and every single member of the band played a phenomenal set. We had 3 lead singers (2 female, 1 male.) The vocals were immaculate and they interacted with the guests in a fun, not in your face, manner. By the end of the evening, everyone had had a great night and since people have told us the band were the best they have seen at a wedding. It was the best evening of our lives,and the Rhythm Dogs were a huge factor that ensured this.
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
The entire experience was amazing! The band was superb! I had heard the Rhythm Dogs at my cousin's wedding 10 years ago and our family still talked about what a great band it was. So when I got engaged, I looked them up and booked them immediately! They were everything I remembered and more. As a somewhat "hairied" bride it was so nice to have that done and they were responcive to any email. question etc and assured me that everything was great and under control, which let my mind at ease. They kept the crowd on the dance floor the whole night and knew when to play the right song at the right time. I would absolutely reccommend them to anyone! THANK YOU Rhythm Dogs!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Peter Brown was a true pleasure to work with. He was responsive throughout the process, proactively checked in, and worked to make sure we had the right music at our reception. Our guests raved about the music selection and everyone had a great time dancing. Peter is very highly recommended.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
7/13/2012
5.0/5.0
We could not have asked for a better DJ. Peter was responsive whenever we called. He reviewed every detail with us, honored our requests, followed the ceremony exactly as we asked and was just so very nice to deal with. He read the crowd and kept them dancing. It was a great celebration and Peter and his assistant definitely made this happen. I would highly recommend him. We also had a great piano player during the cocktail hour that Peter provided.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sheri
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
For us, the band was one of the most important parts of our wedding. We really wanted a cool band with serious musical and vocal talent; one that played a variety of songs that would make people dance without sounding like every other wedding we'd been to. It took a lot of searching, and then....we found the Rhythm Dogs. It was love at first site. My fiance turned to me after 1 song and said "we found them." By far the thing that wedding guests comment about the most was how awesome our band was. Peter was wonderful to work with; very accommodating, gave great advice, and kept the party rocking from start to finish. Our first dance (Waste by Phish) was outside of their genre, but they performed it so well we liked it better than the original! Absolutely worth the price, which was on the low end to begin with. Stop looking and book them now before someone else gets your date!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robert
Wedding:
10/2/2011
5.0/5.0
Peter and his assistant followed our instructions and played only music we requested. Peter called me back and emailed me each time we had to get connected to discuss any details. We would highly recommend him.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
scambron
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
Pete Brown of the Rhythm Dogs provided DJ services for our wedding this past September at our house in Upstate New York. Pete was a complete professional, carefully reviewing our music selection with us, helping with suggestions based on the demographics of our guests, and getting to know the flow of the evening. When there was a question about a particular song, Pete played it for me over the phone to make sure it was the right artist and performance. Pete and his assistant arrived early to make sure everything was set up properly, and the crowd danced throughout the evening. Everything was exactly as he said it would be. I was pleased from beginning to end with the quality, professionalism, responsiveness and value. A wonderful event made all the more wonderful thanks to Rhythm Dogs' outstanding DJ services!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Steven
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
This band is incredible! Versatile, talent and professionalism beyond description. I have to find an excuse for another party.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Happy bride
Wedding:
8/26/2011
5.0/5.0
I just had my wedding and The Rhythm Dogs were amazing. They were very professional and became familiar with my musical requests for the ceremony and parents dances as well as introducing the wedding party. My only request was that they get people on the dance floor and they delivered! All the guests were raving about the bands energy and range of music. Without a doubt, one of the best decisions I made for the wedding.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michele van der Kieft
Wedding:
5/21/2011
5.0/5.0
Peter Brown and his group were fun, upbeat and GREAT! They even went so far as to look up some Australian songs to play for the groom and his "mates"! The singers were fabulous and everyone had wonderful dance music to enjoy! I can't recommend them highly enough!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Robin
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
This band is the BEST!!! I barely sat down at my wedding and didn't make it to the bar all night because I was too busy having the time of my life dancing to The Rhythm Dogs! They were great to work with and even better to listen too all night long. All of the guests at my wedding still tell me what an amazing band I had. They certainly know how to get the party started and everyone to the dance floor.
This past Saturday, 6/8/13, my husband and I had the pleasure of hearing and seeing them again at my cousin's wedding. She got their card 3 years ago at my wedding (before she was even engaged, yes they were that good) and when planning her wedding their was no doubt that she was going to use The Rhythm Dogs too.
Great people, great music, and a night I'll always remember!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dillonlt27
Wedding:
9/12/2009
5.0/5.0
The Rhythm Dogs were the perfect non-traditional wedding band. There selection of music is fun and crowd pleasing. The dance floor was packed all night. Joe was a pleasure to work with and the band was extremely accommodating and we had tons of requests. Their very reasonable prices allowed us to have a band rather than a DJ. Live music makes such a difference!
Services Used: Band
130x130_sq_1248029310296-engagementpictures038
Pete & Pam
Wedding:
8/22/2009
5.0/5.0
Peter Brown of Rhythm Dogs was truly a delight to work with.
He knew exactly how to please the guests and made sure all our requests were met!
He arrived on time and fully prepared! He has great follow-through and was very professional from start to finish!
Also in this economy he was reasonably priced and was willing to work within our budget!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dorothy
Wedding:
9/22/2013
4.9/5.0
Peter was an extraordinary DJ for my daughter's wedding!!! He followed the plan set out by my daughter and her husband, and kept everyone dancing for the entire reception. We could have danced another two hours. I would highly recommend him!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bob
Wedding:
8/6/2011
4.9/5.0
We could not have been more pleased with the Rhythm Dogs. Very simply, they made a great family celebration a spectacular evening. The dance floor was crowded all night and we received many emails praising the band after the wedding. totally professional, high energy, great musicians and voices. We could not have been more pleased.
Services Used: Band

DEALS

Free DJ for the 4 hour reception and piano player for the cocktail hour
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Book the band and get a DJ to alternate with the band and a piano player for the cocktail hour. If we really like you we will throw in the DJ for an extra 1/2 hour at the end of the reception!!!
Deal #WW1d6382cfe2ab1a81
220x220_1240426535468-mocarlkemba

MAP

 
New York, New England, NY 10014 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Rhythm Dogs Band and DJs
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1240426535468-mocarlkemba