130x130_sq_1339791712302-riversidemain

The Riverside Church

New York , NY
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

490 Riverside Drive, Weddings Office - Suite 605T
New York, NY US 10027 (map)

PHONE

212-870-6762

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Riverside Church is an open and affirming Christian church with extensive experience uniting interfaith, heterosexual and same-sex couples.

Enjoy the traditional elegance... Read more
The Riverside Church is an open and affirming Christian church with extensive experience uniting interfaith, heterosexual and same-sex couples.

Enjoy the traditional elegance of our beautiful architecture, and stunning views. Exchange vows standing where Presidents and some of the most historic figures of our time have stood. Then, finish your perfect day in one of our exquisite event halls. The Riverside Church sits on the heights of the historic Upper West Side of Manhattan overlooking the Hudson River. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1339791590539-riverside9
130x130_sq_1339791587462-riverside8
130x130_sq_1339791569235-riverside5
130x130_sq_1339791537981-riverside3
130x130_sq_1339791559849-riverside4
130x130_sq_1339791572991-riverside6
130x130_sq_1339791581758-riverside7
130x130_sq_1339791513154-riverside
130x130_sq_1339791489813-riverside2

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
we held our ceremony and reception at The Riverside Church and it was spectacular. the venue is breathtaking. we were married in the Nave, had the cocktail hour in the South Hall Foyer, and held the reception in the Assembly Hall.

the wedding coordinator, Angela Gregory, is very responsive and on point. she made sure everything was organized and on time. she responded to each of my emails within a day (and most often, within hours or minutes). we needed a sign language interpreter and she helped organize that through the church's deaf ministry.

the in-house caterer Masterpiece Caterers (recently changed its name from Pasha Events) was superb. the food was delicious and the service was excellent. we worked with Leigh Hall-Wilhelm, who is just amazing. she was always available for questions and is really easygoing and very knowledgeable.

our officiant was Rev. Eugene Palmore. he is a wonderful person and created a lovely and personal ceremony for us. he spent time getting to know us and that really shone through. we received a number of compliments on his ceremony and his speaking voice! he is a trained singer and has a seriously smooth speaking voice.

overall we had a perfect day. there were zero glitches. everyone was friendly and professional. i recommend the Riverside Church without hesitation.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
12/28/2012
5.0/5.0
Fantastic beautiful church and wonderful experience planning our wedding. Thank you Angela and Martha!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marguerite
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
This is a long overdue raving review of Riverside, where we were married in October.

Riverside Church is one of the most beautiful spaces in the city. I never thought I would be as lucky to get married in such a magnificent church. Many of our guests, most of them native New Yorkers, commented at how surprised they were that they hadn't known about this place. The location was perfect for us - whether our guests were on the subway, driving, or cabbing it, no one had an issue.

We were married in the Nave, which is just breathtaking. The sound of the organ and the beautiful ambience of a cathedral was a dream. I felt like a princess walking down that aisle with my father. Our minister, Reverand Dr. Arnold Thomas, gave a beautiful ceremony and welcomed everyone so warmly.

After the ceremony, we had a cocktail hour on the 10th Floor and then a sit-down reception on the 9th Floor. I can't even count how many of my guests thanked me tremendously that they didn't have to travel between the ceremony and reception. That was another key reason we chose this church.

The space on the 9th and 10th floors is fantastic. You have beautiful tall ceilings, huge windows looking east and west (over the hudson) and our timing in the fall was perfect to catch a sunset and the changing leaves. The rooms are perfect for a wedding.

The food and drinks at both the cocktail hour and the dinner were exceptional. People are still raving to us how they have never been to such a wedding with such amazing food. I wrote another review for their in-house caterer, Pasha Events, but to summarize - with my husband in the restaurant business and many industry folks in attendance, we had a lot of people to impress, and everyone was thrilled.

Angela, the wedding coordinator, was amazing. She is so personable, kind, and intelligent. She treated us like our wedding was the most important one, and in fact, when we stopped by a few times just to see the space, or do our tasting, or meet with Rev. Arnold, we always stopped in to say hello to her. She really knows what she is doing, and while incorporating your ideas makes your dream day so stress-free. I didn't have to worry about anything!

I cannot thank Riverside Church enough and would recommend to anyone to get married there. This was the best day of our lives. We are already trying to think of excuses to do another event there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
4/26/2014
4.9/5.0
The Riverside church was beautiful! Our guests were completely in awe. We loved, loved, loved our Reverend Eugene Palmore--he was so responsive, accommodating, warm, and gave us an amazingly beautiful ceremony. Working with Angela, Patricia, and Donny really made everything go so smoothly. Beforehand, I could tell everything would run like clockwork, but I couldn't tell how accommodating and flexible and comfortable the entire experience from rehearsal dinner to wedding night would be! Working with Leigh at Pasha was amazing! She was incredibly responsive and informative and everything great. Having everything in one place from the ceremony to cocktails and reception was the best decision we made for our wedding. The ceremony was gorgeous and breathtaking, the cocktails with a view of the river was classy and perfect, and the reception with its unique design and feel was everything we wanted it to be and more. Everyone at the venue took care of everything and thought of even more than I could have imagined. Absolutely perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Athalie
Wedding:
12/20/2013
4.8/5.0
Riverside Church was an unbelievable venue and experience. The church is breathtaking. Our guest could not stop talking about the grandness and beauty of the church. There are many options for pictures and the spaces are amazing. Our photographer commented that he has done a lot of weddings in his 15 year career and this church was by far one of the most gorgeous he has been in.

The wedding coordinator Angela Gregory is the most organized and efficient coordinator you could ask for. Her attention to detail and ability to effortlessly coordinate all details was a breath of fresh air and relief. I did not have to think about anything on that day. She was on top of everything making my life and the MOH life a lot easier.

The reception area and cocktail hour were spectacular. The detailed ceilings, grand piano, beams and candelabras were perfect for our vintage affair. Absolutely stunning.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1311003843399-fbavatar100000074184026
CharLena
Wedding:
5/25/2005
4.8/5.0
Ms. Gregory gets straight to the point efficiently. Prior to event and during the rehearsal for the ceremony she is available to answer any and all questions. She is a caring individual who takes care of the brides on the day of the event and keeps the whole ceremony on schedule. The summer months are especially tight for weddings, often there is no wiggle room for late starting weddings due unforeseen circumstances. The entire wedding party, must be on point and on schedule.

We were married in the chapel, by the minister of my choice, (Rev. J. A. Forbes, jr.) and it was a beautiful ceremony. The pictures were lovely as was the ambiance.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Shirley
Wedding:
5/4/2013
4.7/5.0
We had an amazing wedding reception at the Riverside Church! The Assembly Hall space was gorgeous (even when empty!) with its tall, arched ceilings and stained glass windows. It was also large enough to accommodate our 200+ guests, 2 buffet stations, 2 bars, a photo booth, AND a large dance floor! At first, I was concerned that we wouldn't be able to fit everything in without having our guests feeling crammed together. But Angela (church wedding coordinator) and Leigh (in-house caterer) were so helpful in alleviating all my concerns and fears about the space! I must have sent a million emails throughout the planning process, and they were both very patient and quick to respond to all my questions. Very professional as they've been doing weddings for a long time!

The food from Pasha Events, the in house caterer, was amazing as well! We went with the buffet option and had plenty of options to choose from for our reception. There was more than enough food for all our guests, who absolutely LOVED the chicken & waffles dish! Pasha is also very accommodating if you need vegetarian versions of certain dishes or need kids' meals.

The Riverside Church is just such a large, beautiful and iconic space in the Upper West Side of Manhattan. It was the perfect place for our wedding reception! We didn't have our ceremony there (we wanted to get married Columbia campus where I went to school, more of a personal connection) but the Riverside main chapel is absolutely gorgeous! So many of our guests are still telling us how beautiful the church is!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vanessa
Wedding:
9/2/2007
4.5/5.0
Wonderful venue, and the coordinator is on top of everything and helpful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.4/5.0
Riverside Church is a beautiful venue. One of the few gems in NYC that really blow you away. Angela was also a pleasure to work with. Really responsive and really knows her stuff. Our officiant was lovely to work with too. My only complaint is that she blew the cue to step up onto the alter before we read our vows so no one heard us exchange them.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
PrissyP
Wedding:
9/27/2008
2.0/5.0
The Riverside Church is a gorgeous venue and I've dreamed of being married here most of my life. My experience however was lack-lustre. It started out well but ended up not so great. Although we are not members of the church were welcomed to have our ceremony here, especially since we opted to take on the hefty charge for using the Nave. The coordinator was at times extremely nice but at others unprofessional and difficult. There was a problem with the post office geting our final payment to them and receiving an email consisting solely of the words "did you send it yet???????" was in my opinion inappropriate. Our officiant was assigned to us which was no problem, but when a date to meet was agreed on by all parties and then canceled without notification (it was later found out my email address which is my name was mispelled and thus an email was sent which I never recieved) I viewed this as unprofessional. At the end of our ceremony the coordinator was soo adamant about and quick to make sure all guests exit asap that our poor grandmother was confused and left without taking pictures with us. I think this was a shame. Lastly when we booked we were told that a discounted rate would be offered if we wanted to reserve parking spaces in the parking deck below the church. When it came down to it the coordinator forgot about this option completely and when I asked about it turns out there was no discount. The discount was only if you also booked a reception room with them. I think that if I had to do it all over again, I would have opted for another venue and would not recommend hosting an event here if service is of a top priority to you.
Services Used: Wedding Venue, Unique Services

MAP

 
490 Riverside Drive, Weddings Office - Suite 605T, New York, NY 10027 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Riverside Church
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1339791712302-riversidemain