130x130_sq_1402597382688-riajohn422

The Rotunda By The Fairmont San Jose

San Jose , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

200 E. Santa Clara Street
San Jose, CA US 95113 (map)

PHONE

408-998-3990
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Create your special event at The Rotunda by Fairmont San Jose. Distinctive and dramatic modern architecture suited for those looking for something unique. The glass Rotunda and white... Read more
Create your special event at The Rotunda by Fairmont San Jose. Distinctive and dramatic modern architecture suited for those looking for something unique. The glass Rotunda and white interior provide a blank palette for your event designs.

The Fairmont San Jose’s professional wedding and social event planners, service staff, and culinary team overseeing every detail for a seamless event.


For more information about hosting your San Jose wedding at the Fourth Street Summit Center please contact Khushnum Modi at (408) 998-3990 or by email Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1317172239939-riajohn422
130x130_sq_1317172309501-snowflake8gotlight
130x130_sq_1402604026171-got-light-wedding5
130x130_sq_1402604064723-got-light-wedding7
130x130_sq_1402604109093-got-light-wedding9
130x130_sq_1402604153885-riajohn-433
130x130_sq_1402604182517-sjch29mar0805
130x130_sq_1317314648771-ceremonymezzanine
130x130_sq_1317314650115-ceremony
130x130_sq_1317314651975-jewishceremony
130x130_sq_1317314653725-szetoweddingaisle

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
2005
When was your venue last renovated?
2005
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall
Describe the style of your venue
City, Garden / Romantic, Modern
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
300
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
1
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
6000
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
65
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
No

REVIEWS

4.4
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.3/5.0
3.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We put together a wedding within a month at the Rotunda. Despite the city having many specific rules, they worked with us to allow us a lot of flexibility and create the event in the way we wanted. A large part of this is Jennifer Garcia, who is the most awesome event coordinator. Jennifer is extremely professional and helpful in every way. She responded to all our questions and was flexible in working with us to make any adjustments. The Rotunda overall is a beautiful setting and we highly recommend the facility and staff.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sharon
Wedding:
3/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Working with Jennifer Garcia in Event Services to make the day special was truly a delight. The day of the event (a wedding) the staff was on time, helpful, professional and took extremely good care of any needs that arose.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sandy
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
San Jose City Hall's Rotunda Building was absolutely gorgeous! This venue was worth every dollar we put in!! From the rentals to the lighting to management of the entire event - everything was flawless. Jennifer Garcia, the events manager, was continuously in communication with us. She ensured that everything will run smoothly on the Rotunda's end on the day of our wedding and she surely followed through on everything we contracted for. Moreover, she had back-up plans in place should anything go wrong. We received raving reviews from our family, friends, and guests about how beautiful the venue was. We are glad to have done our wedding there and would definitely make recommendations to other people!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
6/30/2012
5.0/5.0
The people working at Rotunda were a pleasure to work with. They were very helpful, straight forward, and understanding. They are great with emails, which worked best for me as I was planning the wedding while working. I thought the value was great, as the venue is extraordinary and not as expensive or complicated as San Francisco. We had no problems with security or parking. Our vendors did not have any complaints about working at the Rotunda (lighting, florist, cake, catering, tables, linens). We had to choose from a lister of preferred caterers and our caterers delivered 100% on the day of.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
miss_sopious
Wedding:
4/3/2010
5.0/5.0
Jennifer Garcia was an amazing event manager. She far exceeded what I expected of her and was always available when I had any questions! Thank you for making my wedding at San Jose City Hall a dream come true!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lsantoso
Wedding:
6/20/2009
5.0/5.0
Awesome venue!! Great value for what you get. The hall provides an excellent canvas for the perfect dream wedding. Jennifer was awesome too! She's very responsive and gives you great advice to avoid pitfalls so your wedding can go smoothly. It was a day I won't forget. Thanks Jennifer!!
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
twellis
Wedding:
1/30/2010
4.8/5.0
The Rotunda building is an art piece in itself. Your photographer is going to love the infinite amount of angles that are potentially there for amazing photographs to document your day.

It is a very unique building that can be anything you want it to be. The possibilities are endless. You can make it simple chic, elegant and extravagant, or even modern sci fi. The structure is all white, so it can work with any theme colors you have. There's also lots of windows to capture natural light (the best lighting there is), the floors are marble/granite stone, and the spiraled stair case is breath taking.

Just make sure you adhere to all the policies and regulations as it is a public venue owned by the city, but don't worry, the event managers of city hall will guide you through all the policies and make it very easy for you.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
7/18/2009
4.7/5.0
Beautiful venue to have your wedding. The architecture and design of the rotunda is one of a kind. This is a glass dome with white walls inside so if you're looking for a venue that is already dressed up pretty like a hotel, this isn't the place for you. Bold and bright colors really accent the inside of the rotunda. Jennifer Garcia and Connie B. were a pleasure to work with! Jennifer will give you advice on what she would recommend and wouldn't. She does work part-time but is super helpful and will do what it takes to accommodate what you want for your wedding day :) Highly recommended!
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
R
Wedding:
8/22/2009
4.6/5.0
The Rotunda at San Jose City Hall is a beautiful venue for a wedding reception, banquet or other event. Plenty of natural light and very elegant. The Event Services staff, especially Jennifer, was extremely helpful and made the entire process much more enjoyable. The venue itself is great for photos as well!

Pros:
1. Great helpful event services staff
2. Plenty of natural light (being a glass dome)
3. Plenty of Parking underground and in the parking garage across the street
4. Mezzanine level that can be used in addition to the main floor
5. The building itself is great for photos outside and inside
6. Fits a good 250 people with a decent dance floor (about 300 w/out dance floor)

Cons:
1. The City Hall as a list of pre-approved caterers. It takes a great deal of time and effort to get a caterer that is not pre-approved to actually get approved due to the insurance and other criteria they need to adhere to
2. As there is plenty of light, you really have to wait till the evening time to use a projector
3. Pantry is very small and has no cooking area - If your caterer needs to cook onsite, then you need to rent space outside including tents
4. Rental rate is by hour and your event needs to end at 10PM and everything out by 11PM
5. Since they removed the potted plants (due to budget cuts) the venue is very bland in color and therefore pretty sterile. You'll have to add plenty of decorations/color yourself
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.4/5.0
Jennifer at the rotunda worked with us to make our day a smooth and awesome experience! Though there were a few nuances to the planning that we were unaware of, she helped timely and appropriately navigate through all the details and worked with our caterers and other vendors to ensure the details were all handled with excellence. Though the approved list of caterers is not as extensive as one might like, they were all reasonable and it probably reduces the amount of trouble that can arise with unfamiliar caterers or vendors.

The rotunda itself is a beautiful venue in late summer due to the lighting, although it can provide a comfort issue for guests if they're sitting near the outer edges (we had the AC on and so we either had guests who were too hot or too cold). The bamboo garden used for caterers is spacious enough for preparation and the security and the layout are also very good. The only troubles with the rotunda have to do with timing the lighting and figuring out a good speaker layout for audio, since glass does cause acoustic noise.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lmumissy
Wedding:
7/9/2010
4.4/5.0
The Rotunda was an awe inspiring venue for a reception. The staff was very professional and helpful. The only downside was the red tape of using a city run facility, but when all was said and done it was worth it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg6
thomasjlloyd
Wedding:
9/12/2009
4.4/5.0
The Rotunda really is one of the very few modern facilities that exist within the south bay area, so when it came to choosing a facility for our wedding the decision was fairly easy.

We had a wonderful experience with the staff throughout the year leading up to the wedding. In fact, we wish our other vendors were even half as dedicated or professional.

The only potential things to consider is that the facility has a lot of costs not associated with the actual rental fees. These were detailed to us before we signed our contract, but you shouldn't write them off. Also, make sure that your caterer does a full walk through well in advance of the wedding, as the caterer may require you to rent additional rooms or the Rotunda's outdoor space in providing for your wedding. Our caterer waited until the last minute and required the City to save the day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mother of the bride
Wedding:
6/9/2012
4.2/5.0
The San Jose City Hall Rotunda is a gorgeous venue, full of light, space and style--just what we were looking for our wedding party. (We held the ceremony a couple of weeks before in another state.) We filled the space with multiple food stations, tables for sitting at, a jazz band, displays about the bride and groom, lots of candles and flowers...and our family and friends loved the celebration!

Jennifer and Connie, the event coordinators, offered very helpful expertise and support all along the way, from recommending caterers to providing tables to providing parking information we should share with our guests.

A few things we learned along the way: there is a limited list of approved caterers; there is limited space/equipment in the pantry (so we needed to rent the courtyard and a tent for our caterer); there are requirements for event insurance; there are strict windows of time for set-up/clean-up, etc. These all add to the cost and complexity of planning....but in the end, it was worth it for us.

All in all, the Rotunda is a beautiful venue for a memorable celebration!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.1/5.0
San Jose City Hall staff were very professional and organized. They communicated with us through emails about everything we need to know for our event. They answered all of our questions promptly. They set up our floor plans and communicated the details with all our vendors. Jennifer, the coordinator, was especially helpful on the day of the event. She was there to make sure things were on track. She even volunteered to help out when we were a little behind with our decorations. The only thing we didn't like about the Rotunda was that there were many restrictions due to the fact that it is a public facility. Other than that, the facility is beautiful and modern. Our guests really enjoyed the venue. The pictures turned out really great!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg20
jasminaut
Wedding:
8/21/2010
4.1/5.0
Everyone was very helpful and responsive, but keep a few things in mind here. The event coordinator is a coordinator, not a wedding planner -- they will make sure you have everything you need from the facility, but they do not work for you the way a wedding planner does. On the day of your wedding, you will need someone else to keep guests to your schedule and keep your vendors coordinated. But they had great recommendations for vendors that really helped out with those things on the day of the wedding.

I highly recommend going with vendors that have worked at that location before just to reduce the amount of paperwork and headache of coordinating with all of the legal regulations. It is essential to pick a good DJ or get live music so you don't pierce your guests ears or drown out the music with bass. Most DJs don't realize the huge difference between playing in a concrete hall and a glass dome. We splurged on the DJ to get someone who had a degree in sound engineering and it turned out really well. A friend of mine got a live band and that turned out beautifully.

We were able to save quite a bit of money because our caterer allowed us to purchase our own alcohol that they served for us from an open bar. I loved that it's not a hotel, so I didn't have to block rooms or sign crazy one-sided contracts (make sure you read the fine print for any hotel contract -- you're signing up for a lot more than you would think!)

All in all, there's more work required here than some other wedding sites because you have to cover more bases and get the vendors coordinated to make sure you have all the plates, linens, chairs, tables, mics, etc. that you need, but it's a beautiful venue and it was totally worth it for me!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cngo15
Wedding:
5/31/2009
3.9/5.0
The city hall rotunda is a huge round glass dome that's basically an empty white canvas inside. We had about 280 guests and it looked pretty comfortable. Its pricey but if you're the type that likes to decorate and get creative then this is worth checking out. They rent by the hour so cost really depends on how much time you want (my cost included 10hr & table rentals).
Draw back, doors must close by 11pm (includes clean-up). There isn't much time for partying but don't forget it's in downtown so there is potential for after parties. Since it is city hall there are lots of regulations to abide by. I highly recommend following them if you want your deposit back (close to $1,600).
Jennifer is very easy to work with. She only works part-time but there is an assistant on-site at all times. Depending on when you e-mail her it might take a few days to get a response. The best recommendation: ask every question you can possibly think of and let the coordinator know of all your little details. You can always discover new options and answers to questions you never even thought of.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg20
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
1.0/5.0
I DO NOT recommend this venue to anyone. Working with the City is like pulling teeth - no one in the office communicates with other departments. We had all these random charges at the last minute for all these city fees that we were not informed about earlier. Additionally you have to use a list of their approved caterers - which is what we did, and our caterer was running a fraud business and ran off with several thousand dollars - which the city has not addressed. The venue has SOO much red tape you have to follow and the red tape changes arbitrarily. Find another venue - this venue is not even remotely worth the hassle you will have to endure. I regret signing the contract for this venue - which is in no means cheap either.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
200 E. Santa Clara Street, San Jose, CA 95113 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Rotunda By The Fairmont San Jose
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo