130x130 sq 1400101977675 smokin section main imag

The Smokin' Section

Metuchen , NJ
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2 Talmadge Ave, Metuchen, NJ 08840
Metuchen, NJ 08840 US (map)

PHONE

732-906-9184

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Experience the Smokin Section for your party or affair!! The Smokin Section has been getting audiences up and dancing at wedding receptions, corporate parties, bar/bas mitzvahs and clubs... Read more
Experience the Smokin’ Section for your party or affair!! The Smokin’ Section has been getting audiences up and dancing at wedding receptions, corporate parties, bar/bas mitzvahs and clubs since the mid ‘90s. From elegant, refined gatherings in Newport, RI to wild blowouts in Chicago, the Smokin' Section has been an integral part of hundreds of memorable parties and weddings. We have also performed at clubs throughout the metro area, and we've played in front of audiences of over 5,000 people. Comprised of some of the metro NYC area’s finest and most versatile musicians; the Smokin’ Section is a rehearsed band ranging from 4 - 11 pieces. We also offer Band/DJ combos.

When we go out with our full 9 piece unit, Smokin' Section features 3 dynamic, multitalented vocalists upfront (1 female, 2 male), a tight 3 man horn section (not an afterthought or add-on, but an important part of the band) and a rhythm section of keyboard, bass and drums that will make you and your guests want to get up and dance. (We will tailor the band to the specifics of your particular party and can go out with more or less pieces in the band based on your needs.)

We know how to get people on the dance floor and keep them there! The Smokin’ Section treats each party we do individually; we monitor what’s going on at that specific party and play the right mix of music to keep the guests happy. Rest assured that the Smokin' Section does not mistake volume for energy; we are very aware of dynamics and know how to groove at a comfortable volume level for you and your guests.

The Smokin’ Section has become well known throughout the tri-state area for its unique combination of versatility, excitement and musicality. We enjoy playing the full range of dance music and take pride in being able to perform many different styles of music the right way and with spirit! This enthusiasm never fails to connect with our audience and helps to fill up the dance floor. From Classic Rock to Club, Swing/Society and Sinatra to Salsa and Merengue, Ballads to Boogie, Rhythm ‘n Blues to Rhumba, Top 40 to Tarantella and much, much more, the Smokin' Section plays its music with energy, grace, passion and sophistication. Read less
Band

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1400102563869 smokin section photo
130x130 sq 1400102846521 smokin section photo
130x130 sq 1400102842330 smokin section photo
130x130 sq 1400102843803 smokin section photo
130x130 sq 1400102835953 smokin section photo
130x130 sq 1400102845270 smokin section photo
130x130 sq 1400102847725 smokin section photo

INFO FOR BAND

Are you an agency or a band?
Band
What is the size of your band?
Large (6+ musicians), Medium (4-6 musicians)
What music genre does your band play?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Blues, Calypso, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Funk, Jazz, Latin, Motown, Oldies, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Reggae, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing, World
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Annalisa
Wedding:
12/21/2013
5.0/5.0
Excellent band! We heard them at a friend's wedding and booked them immediately. We were very happy with our decision. Everyone at our wedding raved about the music. The band made the party and got everyone out on the dance floor! Great job reading the crowd and playing the right songs.
Excellent band! We heard them at a friend's wedding and booked them immediately. We were very happy with our decision. Read more...
Excellent band! We heard them at a friend's wedding and booked them immediately. We were very happy with our decision. Everyone at our wedding raved about the music. The band made the party and got everyone out on the dance floor! Great job reading the crowd and playing the right songs. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Christine
Wedding:
8/25/2013
5.0/5.0
They were great, easy to work with, and definitely made our wedding a blast!
They were great, easy to work with, and definitely made our wedding a blast!
They were great, easy to work with, and definitely made our wedding a blast! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Corey
Wedding:
7/26/2013
5.0/5.0
The Smokin' Section was a true highlight at our wedding. Everyone I spoke to had great things to say. They listened to our requests, took our direction and felt the room appropriately during the the entire event. They performed the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception in great form. You could tell they enjoyed themselves and it carried over into their performance. They were easy to work with, responsive and at a competitive price. I've never scene a better wedding band. It was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding. I'd recommend them to anyone who wants a great band at their event.
The Smokin' Section was a true highlight at our wedding. Everyone I spoke to had great things to say. They listened to our Read more...
The Smokin' Section was a true highlight at our wedding. Everyone I spoke to had great things to say. They listened to our requests, took our direction and felt the room appropriately during the the entire event. They performed the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception in great form. You could tell they enjoyed themselves and it carried over into their performance. They were easy to work with, responsive and at a competitive price. I've never scene a better wedding band. It was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding. I'd recommend them to anyone who wants a great band at their event. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
The Smokin Section was a hit at our wedding! They played everything we asked for and more! They really know how to read a crowd too. My friend loved them so much, she booked them for her wedding, and, once again, they were fabulous! The Smokin Section is THE band to book for your event. You'll be glad you did.
The Smokin Section was a hit at our wedding! They played everything we asked for and more! They really know how to read a Read more...
The Smokin Section was a hit at our wedding! They played everything we asked for and more! They really know how to read a crowd too. My friend loved them so much, she booked them for her wedding, and, once again, they were fabulous! The Smokin Section is THE band to book for your event. You'll be glad you did. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Sara
Wedding:
11/23/2012
5.0/5.0
Mike and the Smokin' Section were so great to work with. They sounded great and were friendly and accommodating in the months leading up to our wedding. Everyone loved the music, and our guests danced all night! We were extremely happy to have such a talented group of musicians play at our wedding!
Mike and the Smokin' Section were so great to work with. They sounded great and were friendly and accommodating in the Read more...
Mike and the Smokin' Section were so great to work with. They sounded great and were friendly and accommodating in the months leading up to our wedding. Everyone loved the music, and our guests danced all night! We were extremely happy to have such a talented group of musicians play at our wedding! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Joe
Wedding:
11/17/2012
5.0/5.0
The Smokin' Section absolutely made the night, and the compliments on the band have not stopped - even more than a year later! From our friends and family to our parents' friends - multiple generations and age groups - there has truly been nothing but rave reviews. The mix of songs played was EXACTLY what we were looking for - and the packed dance floor ALL NIGHT proved that it's what our guests were looking for, as well. Everything sounded great with the jazz trio they put together for the cocktail hour, too. It just sounded so smooth...so classy.

As a drummer, it's rare that a fellow drummer lets you use his gear to fill in for a song. No issues there with these guys. They allowed me to play a song - Stevie Wonder's "Boogie On Reggae Woman" - with the full band. The guests loved it and I loved it. That is true flexibility in a band.

We had an incredible, unforgettable night - and we couldn't have done it without The Smokin' Section Band.
The Smokin' Section absolutely made the night, and the compliments on the band have not stopped - even more than a year Read more...
The Smokin' Section absolutely made the night, and the compliments on the band have not stopped - even more than a year later! From our friends and family to our parents' friends - multiple generations and age groups - there has truly been nothing but rave reviews. The mix of songs played was EXACTLY what we were looking for - and the packed dance floor ALL NIGHT proved that it's what our guests were looking for, as well. Everything sounded great with the jazz trio they put together for the cocktail hour, too. It just sounded so smooth...so classy.

As a drummer, it's rare that a fellow drummer lets you use his gear to fill in for a song. No issues there with these guys. They allowed me to play a song - Stevie Wonder's "Boogie On Reggae Woman" - with the full band. The guests loved it and I loved it. That is true flexibility in a band.

We had an incredible, unforgettable night - and we couldn't have done it without The Smokin' Section Band. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Alex
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
I am a little late in writing this review - but this should go to show how great the Smokin' Section was: me and my wife still talk about how perfect they were on our wedding night! Even more, our relatives and friends still ask us who the band was at our wedding and comment how they never had so much fun dancing etc., than they did at our wedding (we usually get these comments at other weddings or parties hahaha). Mike worked with us and played a great mix of music that suited both my wife's family and mine. They played everything from Latin to classic rock, old hits and new....it was unreal. Mike and the Smokin' Section even learned how to play a new song just for us - and they did it great! For any bride or groom to be that is worried about picking the perfect band, I can say this: I am extremely picky and want everything to be perfect, and Mike and the Smokin' Section delivered, and delivered at a fair price. We are so happy we chose them...Thanks Smokin' Section!!
I am a little late in writing this review - but this should go to show how great the Smokin' Section was: me and my wife Read more...
I am a little late in writing this review - but this should go to show how great the Smokin' Section was: me and my wife still talk about how perfect they were on our wedding night! Even more, our relatives and friends still ask us who the band was at our wedding and comment how they never had so much fun dancing etc., than they did at our wedding (we usually get these comments at other weddings or parties hahaha). Mike worked with us and played a great mix of music that suited both my wife's family and mine. They played everything from Latin to classic rock, old hits and new....it was unreal. Mike and the Smokin' Section even learned how to play a new song just for us - and they did it great! For any bride or groom to be that is worried about picking the perfect band, I can say this: I am extremely picky and want everything to be perfect, and Mike and the Smokin' Section delivered, and delivered at a fair price. We are so happy we chose them...Thanks Smokin' Section!! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Jen
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
We used The Smokin' Section for our wedding last Oct. 2012 after I reviewed many bands online for our wedding. The many bands I reviewed online didn't meet our standards and I was about to give up on the whole band thing (most of the bands online were so cheesy and tried to do covers the way the original bands/singers did them). Then my cousin suggested The Smokin' Section: they truly made the tunes their own and did covers justice!!

They went above and beyond and made our day even more unforgettable!!

From the beginning, Mike was open to communicating and talking about any details that were important to us. He was patient when there were changes and additions and in accommodating the songs that we requested the band learn for our special day. I am a musician as are many of my friends who attended our wedding. The band was very generous in allowing my friends to sit in on their respective instruments which really made our day even better! They also graciously accommodated my request to friends play samba music in the beginning while the wedding party was announced and walked in.

Our first dances were done so well; they played the Pretenders, Tina Turner, and Billy Joel with their own special spin. Later on and at our request, they played soul and motown flawlessly; the Bruce Springsteen renditions were awesome as were the 80's tunes they played. We specifically didn't want any pop music from the radio and they were fine with accommodating this request as well. I love salsa music and they played this too!!

They kept our dance floor packed which was great since the heat lamps at our reception didn't fully keep everyone warm. The hottest place to be was on the dance floor!

I could go on and on….our reception was great and the Smokin' Section truly made it unforgettable. You will not regret having them at your special occasion!
I would love to have a 10th year anniversary party and have them back!!
We used The Smokin' Section for our wedding last Oct. 2012 after I reviewed many bands online for our wedding. The many Read more...
We used The Smokin' Section for our wedding last Oct. 2012 after I reviewed many bands online for our wedding. The many bands I reviewed online didn't meet our standards and I was about to give up on the whole band thing (most of the bands online were so cheesy and tried to do covers the way the original bands/singers did them). Then my cousin suggested The Smokin' Section: they truly made the tunes their own and did covers justice!!

They went above and beyond and made our day even more unforgettable!!

From the beginning, Mike was open to communicating and talking about any details that were important to us. He was patient when there were changes and additions and in accommodating the songs that we requested the band learn for our special day. I am a musician as are many of my friends who attended our wedding. The band was very generous in allowing my friends to sit in on their respective instruments which really made our day even better! They also graciously accommodated my request to friends play samba music in the beginning while the wedding party was announced and walked in.

Our first dances were done so well; they played the Pretenders, Tina Turner, and Billy Joel with their own special spin. Later on and at our request, they played soul and motown flawlessly; the Bruce Springsteen renditions were awesome as were the 80's tunes they played. We specifically didn't want any pop music from the radio and they were fine with accommodating this request as well. I love salsa music and they played this too!!

They kept our dance floor packed which was great since the heat lamps at our reception didn't fully keep everyone warm. The hottest place to be was on the dance floor!

I could go on and on….our reception was great and the Smokin' Section truly made it unforgettable. You will not regret having them at your special occasion!
I would love to have a 10th year anniversary party and have them back!! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Suzanne
Wedding:
6/3/2012
5.0/5.0
I really loved working with this band. Their sound is amazing. They were 100% responsive to what we did and didn't want played. They were flexible with timing on the day of the event, which wound up being much longer than they'd planned for. Our guests raved about the music, and I would absolutely recommend them/hire them again.
I really loved working with this band. Their sound is amazing. They were 100% responsive to what we did and didn't want Read more...
I really loved working with this band. Their sound is amazing. They were 100% responsive to what we did and didn't want played. They were flexible with timing on the day of the event, which wound up being much longer than they'd planned for. Our guests raved about the music, and I would absolutely recommend them/hire them again. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Erik
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
We cannot recommend the Smokin' Section enough! They were professional, arrived on time, provided live music during the entire wedding (which many bands do not do) and, best of all, had our guests dancing non-stop. Some more accolades - they sounded great, were very nice people to work with and even learned new songs that we wanted played at the wedding. They are also gay-friendly. You won't be disappointed!
We cannot recommend the Smokin' Section enough! They were professional, arrived on time, provided live music during the Read more...
We cannot recommend the Smokin' Section enough! They were professional, arrived on time, provided live music during the entire wedding (which many bands do not do) and, best of all, had our guests dancing non-stop. Some more accolades - they sounded great, were very nice people to work with and even learned new songs that we wanted played at the wedding. They are also gay-friendly. You won't be disappointed! Read less
Services Used: Band

MAP

 
2 Talmadge Ave, Metuchen, NJ 08840, Metuchen, NJ 08840 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Smokin' Section
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1400101977675 smokin section main imag