Nophoto-130

the special event

Saint Louis , MO
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

4311 wickerfield drive
Saint Louis, MO US 63128 (map)

PHONE

314-845-3362
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Rentals & Photobooths

INFO FOR RENTALS & PHOTOBOOTHS

What items are available for rental?
Decor

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Darcy
Wedding:
11/2/2013
5.0/5.0
I don’t know anything about florals. I could look at 10 pictures, tell you which ones I liked and didn’t like, but I couldn’t tell you WHY (“I don’t know what I want, but I’ll know when I see it” is every vendor’s dream, right?).

Unfortunately, I am not a Pinterest person. I get really judgey about what I see on there (I’m sorry, but you’re just sticking candy together, not making a cake. And none of those links work and it’s only a healthy substitute in a recipe if it has the same taste and texture, not just the same look). But when it came to figuring out this wedding thing, I figured I had better use it. I did it under a fake name so that it wouldn’t sync with my Facebook. That all worked out until my wedding planner asked for the link so she could show Tina what I had in mind before our meeting.

Fast forward two days later. I arrive for my first consultation, and not only did Tina have a great sense of humor (she referred to me as Mrs. Bojangles--part of the fake Pinterest name I thought no one would ever see--the entire time), but she really listened to me and nailed down exactly what I was looking for.

Within two days she had a quote emailed to me, and when I asked her to cut it down just a little so I could stay within budget, she was very responsive. On our wedding day, our flowers arrived at the church right before we did, our wedding reception was set up beautifully, and exactly as we'd planned. That pin-on service for the guys is clutch, too: have you ever seen a bunch of single groomsmen try to pin on their own boutonnieres? It usually ends with blood and the photographer or someone's mom stepping in to fix it.

Overall, Tina was a joy to work with (and I think I almost have this flower thing figured out!).
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
khollenkamp
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Tina is super talented, kind, and easy to work with. The floral work she did for my wedding was absolutely beautiful, and I have heard so many compliments on her work. Very fair pricing, and you will not be disappointed in what she does!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ECannon
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
My flowers were GORGEOUS!!!!!! They seriously were the most beautiful flowers I could have ever imagined. I was so sad to hang my bouquet upside down after the wedding because I didn't want them to die. Tina was wonderful to work with and took what I had pictured and blew it out of the water. I cannot thank her enough!!!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JBS
Wedding:
3/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Tina is a dream to work with. Not only is she organized and down-to-earth, but she has a way of catching on to the look I was going for when I couldn't exactly find the words to describe it. Her proposal descriptions did not do justice for the amazingness she created for my wedding day, and all of my guests continue to compliment her work and that they were the prettiest centerpieces they've seen.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
Tina is absolutely the best florist in St. Louis! She really knows what flowers look classy and fit your wedding style. I met with her once and told her my vision and she just knew actually what I was looking for. What we talked about was what I saw on my wedding day. I was astounded by how beautiful and breathtaking all the flowers were when I was walking down the aisle. Not to mention how amazing it smelled in the church and reception. I received constant compliments about the flowers and arrangements all day long. I wanted a beautiful bouquet that I could keep for memories and that is what I got! My sister and brother also used Tina's florist service for their weddings and they were nothing but happy! You can't go wrong with Special Events Florist. It will be the smartest decision you make while planning!
Services Used: Flowers
Wwnetwork-128
Katherine
Wedding:
6/11/2011
1.0/5.0
Planning a wedding is stressful enough even when everything goes smoothly but it’s even worse when someone you are paying for their services drops the ball. Tina was difficult to work with from beginning to end. Whether it was emails or calls she was NOT returning, I was always having to tracking her down for corrected invoices, delivery confirmation, etc. I was very thorough with my requests to her and made sure to overly specifiy that I wanted bright pink flowers to avoid any confusion only later to find out she called me difficult to work with. 5 minutes before I’m supposed to walk down the aisle we get the flowers and they are purple. I cried and she was completely unapologetic and unprofessional. Although she may be inexpensive, it is a risk as you may not get what you ordered or asked for the day of your wedding
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Wwnetwork-128
c
Wedding:
6/11/2011
2.4/5.0
If you are a bride on a budget, contact Tina. Tina is an incredibly reasonably priced florist and does a very good job arranging flowers.
However, if you consider yourself to be a particularly picky bride, you may want to explore other options.

The ribbon around my flowers was ivory, while my dress was white - which she definitely knew. I did not want my bridesmaids to have the same color ribbon on their bouquets, as the color of their dresses, yet they were... and they were a few shades off (which is why I didn't want them to TRY to match), which obviosuly bugged me. The ribbon on my centerpieces was supposed to be striped, and instead, she just stacked one color satin ribbon (which I do NOT like, and definitely mentioned) on top of another and tied it in a knot (not even a bow), I was going for "classy preppy" and it just didn't turn out that way at all. God forbid you track down a certain kind of ribbon instead of just using what is around. I found what I described to her on Ebay for $1.50 a roll. It just didn't seem like she put a whole lot of time, effort, or consideration into exactly what I was looking for.
I also felt brushed off, after I showed some concerns the week before our wedding (right after she contacted ME to make changed to my bouquet), which is NOT the time to make a bride feel unattended to or throw last minute changes at.

I was told that by many been-there-brides you should be shown a sample of your bouquet at some point before the wedding, as well, which never happened (though I didn't ask to see this, so I suppose it is partially my fault). I can guarantee that if I had seen a sample of my bouquet, I would have gone a completely different direction, though it was beautiful, it wasn't really what I was wanting.
As I said, she is definitely talented (at least at creating "structured" bouquets), I just don't think she was right for my level of pickiness. I would have paid double what she charged to have everything how I actually wanted it... and probably could have - somewhere else.
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stephanie
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Tina was a true professional. She had great ideas in helping us select our flowers and executed them beyond our expectations. When we wanted to try an unusual element like flowers in the chandeliers, Tina was ready and willing and it really made the event unique. We got so many compliments on our reception flowers from our guests, all thanks to Tina's hard work.
Services Used: Flowers
Bg22
Jen
Wedding:
4/30/2011
4.5/5.0
Tina did an awesome job with our wedding!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amlevesq
Wedding:
3/12/2011
5.0/5.0
My guests told me that the reception smelled magical when they entered the room. The flowers were absolutely gorgeous--far beyond any expectation..from my bouquet to the reception flowers at all different heights. This florist is by far the best in St. Louis.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristin
Wedding:
9/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Tina did an unbelievable job and everyone loved the flowers. She did a great job of working with our budget and was very organized and professional.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lauraspell27
Wedding:
8/21/2010
5.0/5.0
Tina did a wonderful job at a very reasonable price. My flowers were stunning! She really made the reception come together. Gorgeous.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marion
Wedding:
1/8/2010
4.6/5.0
They are toatlly affordable and doable, even if you are not the most creative person. awesome inspiration,He had really innovative ways to keep the guests involved in the festivities ,I can't write enough good things about his work, but I can say that if you want your guests to talk about your wedding for years to come then it needs to be invited .
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
staceums
Wedding:
10/10/2009
4.6/5.0
Tina Barrera is the owner and creator of "A Special Event" and actually works out of her home, but don't let that stop you from considering her to be your wedding florist. I actually went to Walter Knoll Florist first (judged to be one of the best florist chains in St. Louis) but the service and the knowledge of the staff didn't even compare to what Tina offered me. She was at least a third - if not half as much - cheaper than the other guys and she was very knowledgeable about each and every flower that was in season, which ones would wilt faster, which ones were available in which color, etc.

Tina was recommended to me by word of mouth, so she might not be as well known as other florists. However, she is still a professional - when I first met her, she had several photo albums of her work and I was very impressed. Each arrangement was beautiful, colorful, unique, and none of the flowers appeared to be dingy, beat-up, or wilted.

Tina does have an opinion about certain flowers - and she won't be afraid to tell you what it is. There were two specific flowers that I wanted in my bridal bouquet, and she immediately told me that they weren't a good idea (they would wilt too fast, they would fall apart by the end of the ceremony, I wouldn't have any flowers left by the time of the reception, etc.) and that we should try to think of something else. Truthfully, I was disappointed and a bit put out - but she was really trying to help. In retrospect, I'm really glad to have had her advice because she was right and I was wrong. She dosen't like working with brittle or fragile flowers simply because she knows they won't last you, thus you won't get what your money paid for - but she'll do everything in her power to work around the situation and find a flower just as good.

Even though Tina is the owner and operator, she has assistants to help her out, so she's not overwhelmed with weddings and she manages to get the right order of flowers to the right places. I didn't have to worry about a thing on my wedding day.

Five stars for everything, but three stars for responsiveness - Tina is a slow emailer and also a bit slow in returning phone calls - but she was doing a wedding every weekend so it's only fair to consider how busy she probably was. In the end, she got back to me each time I needed to talk to her.

Tina was very prepared and even had a few flowers on hand for me so I could take a look at them and get a good idea of what I wanted. On the day of my wedding, I got exactly what I wanted and more - the arrangements were absolutely beautiful and I could not have asked for a better florist. I really wish I could post pictures to display her work. I'm 100% satisfied with what I paid for and what I got. I would recommend Tina to anyone on a budget looking for a florist just as good (if not better) as the chains.
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1218066856477-mari'splace022
Stacey
Wedding:
10/10/2009
4.6/5.0
Tina Barrera is the owner and creator of "A Special Event" and actually works out of her home, but don't let that stop you from considering her to be your wedding florist. I actually went to Walter Knoll Florist first (judged to be one of the best florist chains in St. Louis) but the service and the knowledge of the staff didn't even compare to what Tina offered me. She was at least a third - if not half as much - cheaper than the other guys and she was very knowledgeable about each and every flower that was in season, which ones would wilt faster, which ones were available in which color, etc.

Tina was recommended to me by word of mouth, so she might not be as well known as other florists. However, she is still a professional - when I first met her, she had several photo albums of her work and I was very impressed. Each arrangement was beautiful, colorful, unique, and none of the flowers appeared to be dingy, beat-up, or wilted.

Tina does have an opinion about certain flowers - and she won't be afraid to tell you what it is. There were two specific flowers that I wanted in my bridal bouquet, and she immediately told me that they weren't a good idea (they would wilt too fast, they would fall apart by the end of the ceremony, I wouldn't have any flowers left by the time of the reception, etc.) and that we should try to think of something else. Truthfully, I was disappointed and a bit put out - but she was really trying to help. In retrospect, I'm really glad to have had her advice because she was right and I was wrong. She dosen't like working with brittle or fragile flowers simply because she knows they won't last you, thus you won't get what your money paid for - but she'll do everything in her power to work around the situation and find a flower just as good.

Even though Tina is the owner and operator, she has assistants to help her out, so she's not overwhelmed with weddings and she manages to get the right order of flowers to the right places. I didn't have to worry about a thing on my wedding day.

Five stars for everything, but three stars for responsiveness - Tina is a slow emailer and also a bit slow in returning phone calls - but she was doing a wedding every weekend so it's only fair to consider how busy she probably was. In the end, she got back to me each time I needed to talk to her.

Tina was very prepared and even had a few flowers on hand for me so I could take a look at them and get a good idea of what I wanted. On the day of my wedding, I got exactly what I wanted and more - the arrangements were absolutely beautiful and I could not have asked for a better florist. I really wish I could post pictures to display her work. I'm 100% satisfied with what I paid for and what I got. I would recommend Tina to anyone on a budget looking for a florist just as good (if not better) as the chains.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lmetfc
Wedding:
6/6/2008
5.0/5.0
She was highly recommended to me and for really good reason. She did amazing things to keep my cost down. I highly recommend her to anyone else.
Services Used: Flowers

MAP

 
4311 wickerfield drive, Saint Louis, MO 63128 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for the special event
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220