130x130_sq_1360185878862-sunset

The Sunset Restaurant

Malibu , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

6800 westward beach road
Malibu, CA US 90265 (map)

PHONE

310-589-2027

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

You can have it all – a romantic setting, delectable cuisine, and gracious service – at The Sunset Restaurant. Set against the Malibu bluffs just steps away from Zuma Beach, The Sunset... Read more
You can have it all – a romantic setting, delectable cuisine, and gracious service – at The Sunset Restaurant. Set against the Malibu bluffs just steps away from Zuma Beach, The Sunset is housed in an updated classic beach bungalow. The two-story restaurant breathes with space and light thanks to its expansive front windows overlooking the Pacific.

Exchange your marriage vows right on the beach. As you walk down the velon aisle, a light breeze lifts your veil. Other elements further enhance this idyllic setting: sailboats drift across the horizon… the sound of the waves creates a soothing harmony with the music of your accompanist. Your guests are entranced, and the night has only just begun.

Next your guests move into your private outdoor lounge where they are warmly greeted with hors d’oeuvres and cocktails. Here they enjoy one of Malibu’s jewel-toned sunsets as you and your partner capture the incredible view on the beach. Following the cocktail hour, your party will continue in your reception hall recognized for its understated classic beach décor that can easily adapt to your own vision. Join us at The Sunset and your imagination is only the beginning.
To contact The Sunset Events Department, please call 310-589-2027. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1383006702991-
130x130_sq_1383006706332-
130x130_sq_1383006731975-ceremony
130x130_sq_1383006708821-
130x130_sq_1383006714187-ceremony
130x130_sq_1383006722052-ceremony
130x130_sq_1383006728001-ceremony
130x130_sq_1383006718968-ceremony
130x130_sq_1383007121627-wedding
130x130_sq_1383007126442-wedding
130x130_sq_1383007134385-
130x130_sq_1383007130387-wedding
130x130_sq_1383007217171-
130x130_sq_1383007310355-outdoor
130x130_sq_1383007221074-
130x130_sq_1383007319556-reception
130x130_sq_1383007315179-reception
130x130_sq_1390257190410-
130x130_sq_1383007272386-
130x130_sq_1383007296182-
130x130_sq_1383007507904-southroom
130x130_sq_1383007511713-southroom
130x130_sq_1383007299409-northroom
130x130_sq_1390257152009-
130x130_sq_1383007302538-outdoor

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1940
When was your venue last renovated?
2011
Describe your venue:
Restaurant
Describe the style of your venue
Coastal, Nautical, Vintage
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
250
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
3
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
2000
Bar Service
Offered in-house
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
60
Event Coordination
Outside vendors welcome
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Seating
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
7/28/2013
5.0/5.0
I loved the Sunset! Could not have picked a better place to get married! Everything was great, they were very easy to work with and very accommodating! The package deal was perfect for us, everything was simple and easy to take care of. The location is beautiful, the food was fabulous, and the staff were wonderful! Made our day and wedding perfect!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1340849718702-dsc8981
Deborah
Wedding:
8/19/2012
5.0/5.0
We could not have imagined a more beautiful setting for our wedding. It was a clear, perfect day and we exchanged vows with the waves crashing beside us. And luckily, we walked in on a plank so I could wear heels! The event room is beautiful, and the sunset really does create a gorgeous backdrop with the windows facing the ocean. Mara, the event coordinator, was just great. She was responsive and flexible, and truly loves her work, which really shows. The food was great, the service was impeccable....we loved every minute of it. We will be back every year for our anniversary.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1343881033070-img4174
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
There is really no comparison if you are looking for a beautiful beach ceremony in the Los Angeles area. I searched and researched for awhile, and visited a few other comparable venues and found the Sunset to be the BEST by a long shot. First off, all the people you will deal with are extremely professional, helpful, responsive, and know what they're doing. I dealt with Annie pre-booking, and booking, and Mara leading up to the event. Mara worked it! She made so many last minute changes that I was even starting to get irritated with all of the changes but she (if she was) never lead on-just rolled with it and did it! They set up everything for you on the beach, beautiful wood chairs, wood platform and deal with all insurance, permits, clearing the beach (to the best of their abilities-I do have a few photo bombers but who can blame them!). The reception/cocktail hour is in their beautiful banquet room, one of the nicest originally we saw. Many venues will charge you extra for something like draped ceiling but Sunset has that in their room anyway. You also get the patio which is gorgeous and set up with heat lamps and beautiful patio furniture. Their basic inclusive meal is great, but you can switch out for a bit extra if you wish. Open bar (beer and wine) is included, well liquor is extra but very reasonable. On the day of the event, they were amazing to us and all our guests, and made everything run so smoothly, on time, and we got so many compliments from our guests at how wonderful everything was. The Sunset is an ideal beach wedding location for an actual affordable price-it's pretty amazing!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
littleshrink
Wedding:
5/9/2012
5.0/5.0
We could not have asked for a more wonderful venue for our wedding earlier this month. Working with Annie and Mara at the Sunset was a breeze. We live out of state and so planning can/could have been a big headache. They made it so easy. All the planning was done via phone/email/internet. They accomplished everything we were hoping for. We went with the all inclusive package and are so pleased with how it all turned out. The ceremony was right on the sand and was so lovely. The reception in the banquet room was beyond words. We had a very small intimate wedding and therefore chose not to have a lot of decorations but simple flowers and candles and let the room itself be our decorations. It was so beautiful. The white draping adds so much to the room you really don't have to do a lot to it. It overlooks the beach and the ocean that the scenery adds so much to the ambience. The dolphins swimming by are just an added bonus. We can not say thank you enough to Mara for all of her help the day of the wedding. Working with Mara was so easy. She helped make our wedding as wonderful as it was.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Linnajchen
Wedding:
4/21/2012
5.0/5.0
This place is gorgeous, right by the beach. Convenient, simple, elegant and met every expectation. The price is also reasonable for a venue by the beach! My wedding was absolutely beautiful!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura_squires
Wedding:
4/11/2012
5.0/5.0
We just had our wedding at the Sunset restaurant and we cannot recommend the venue enough. Everyone was easy to work with and our day was increadible!!! Many of our guests even commmented that it was the best food they had ever eaten at a wedding. The beach is amazing, one of my favourites, so much so that we travelled from the UK with 70 of our friends to have our wedding there.

The organisation was impeccable and the value increadible. I would not change a single part of the day it was amazing and that was mostly due to the increadibe venue and staff.

Thanks again Mara and Annie and all the staff :)

x x x
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Wwnetwork-128
Tomeekha
Wedding:
7/8/2011
5.0/5.0
The entire staff at this venu is AMAZING! They are very flexible with EVERYTHING. Our wedding was on 7/811 and ALL of our guest LOVED the location and the food. I'm glad we had our wedding here and look forward to going back there for dinner each anniversary.

Only drawback: They require a professional & certified day of coordinator. This was kind of a headache for me. If or once they bring in their own planning services, this will TRULY be the BEST wedding venu in all the world.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1264991143252-537355715612299549401010329352076988800n
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Annie and the staff were amazing!! We had such a great time and the food was delicious:)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cara
Wedding:
6/10/2011
5.0/5.0
We got our beach wedding just the way we wanted. The staff was so helpful and nice. Everyone at our wedding raved about the location and the food!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
audracedrone
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
The Sunset Restaurant was the dream backdrop for our big day. Choosing this location was a no-brainer. The beach is pristine, the event room has beautiful fabric-draped ceilings, and the food is amazing. Once into the negotiation process, we were given room to really voice every opinion we had. The event staff made sure we were always well-informed and made so well in advance. The day of was handled so carefully and professionally, with plenty of people on hand to make sure every detail was coordinated perfectly with our professional coordinator. We wouldn't change one thing about our experience at Sunset.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
twinie
Wedding:
8/7/2010
5.0/5.0
We had an amazing beach wedding at The Sunset in August of 2010. The day turned out perfect. The Sunset was great at explaining everything to us, planning the event, providing the food and drinks, setting up the ceremony. We even had our rehearsal dinner there as well. From start to finish the Sunset was easy to deal with and the wedding turned out perfect. Our guests loved the location! They also loved the food... the Sunset is a very good restaurant. They were very accommodating. We highly recommend the Sunset if you want a beach wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth112
Wedding:
9/29/2007
5.0/5.0
I absolutely loved the Sunset Restaurant for my wedding. It's classy, intimate, and the food is delicious. Where else can you get married right on the sand in Malibu? My guests all commented that they had such a fabulous time, and plan to come back there for dinner again.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Thundernlite05
Wedding:
5/25/2008
5.0/5.0
Wow!!! That is all I can say and it doesn' even fully discribe the experience. I would totally give it the best location award, best customer service award, and best venue award. not only is it beautiful, the staff makes you feel like one of the family. Even if you go back for dinner later that night they all still remember you and make a fuss over you. They are extrordinary people. Very Unique place. You can't beat having dolphins showing up during the ceremony on the beach.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Crystal
Wedding:
10/12/2007
5.0/5.0
The Sunset Restaurant is a fantastic place to get married. You can have your ceremony and reception and catering all in one place, and it's relatively affordable. Kelly Ann, the restaurant's event coordinator, is very knowledgeable, friendly and professional. She knows what she's doing and will work with you to make sure you get the wedding you want. Just make sure you go over everything you want first, because there are a lot of rules and regulations to follow, both for the restaurant and the public beach outside. Still, it's not unreasonably strict, and we were able to have the wedding of our dreams.

The location is beautiful and the food and service from the restaurant was outstanding. We can't recommend this venue enough for people looking for a nice little place to have a beach wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natalie Precup
Wedding:
10/17/2009
5.0/5.0
They did a great job on everything NOT one thing went wrong!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1292132684279-fbavatar1274340656
Jackie
Wedding:
8/6/2011
4.8/5.0
The Sunset was the absolute perfect venue for my husband and I. The beach where the ceremony was set up had special meaning to Michael and I. It's where we fell in love, where we were engaged and now where we were married. The staff-- Annie, Samantha, and Mara-- were extremely helpful when our plans changed last minute. The food was amazing and with such a beautiful backdrop there was no need for over the top ceremony decor. As for earlier reviews saying no music could be amplified. This isn't the case. You can amplify music and your vows during the ceremony... just not before or after. I highly recommend the Sunset to anyone considering a beach wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mstiegler
Wedding:
8/1/2008
4.8/5.0
absolutely amazing. kelly ann and her staff will make it right! we had the best wedding - just what we hoped for.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cmpetree
Wedding:
9/19/2009
4.6/5.0
The Sunset was the perfect place to have a beach wedding in Southern California. The food was excellent, the staff was amazing and the setting couldn't be any more grogeous. The only negative in the whole of everything was that they do not allow you to amplify ANY on the beach, and so because it is incredibly windy on Zuma Beach, it is next to impossible to hear ANY music played in the ceremony. An unfortunate fact because it takes a lot away from the ceremony, at least it did in our case.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1245252740447-27
islandmama
Wedding:
5/23/2009
4.4/5.0
Kelly Ann is an absolute doll- a dream to work with. She is very prompt with her communication, which I really appreciated. The Sunset Restaurant is simply unbeatable for a beach wedding. Located directly on the sands of Zuma beach, it showcases SoCal's beauty with it's elegant but relaxed decor, friendly barstaff, and incredible views! It is also pretty secluded, certainly one of those gems known only by the locals!

The food was amazing as well and we continue to get rave reviews from our guests! Our only issue was that our meal was a full hour late and it was definitely a problem as we had many young children in attendance.

Overall, we had an amazing event, and I would book them again if I needed to. :-)
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Adrienne
Wedding:
2/22/2014
4.2/5.0
My husband and I selected The Sunset Restaurant for our ceremony venue and contracted their services for a ceremony only package. This included white platforms to set on the beach, white chairs, and full setup/breakdown of the aforementioned items.

We were beyond pleased with the layout of our ceremony and cannot stress enough how perfect the location and platforms were for a beach wedding. These things are what set our beach wedding apart, made it feel more elegant and sophisticated, and formalized the occasion just enough as beach weddings are typically more casual.

Our ceremony was set up on time and Sunset's event coordinator worked well with my day of coordinator to make sure all the logistics ran smoothly. I would highly recommend this venue for a beach ceremony. It offers the best views and the best ceremony set up compared to other Malibu venues and restaurants (believe me, I've done my research!).

You'll be very glad you booked with The Sunset!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/8/2013
3.4/5.0
I loved having my wedding here! The pictures came out amazing and all my guest cannot stop raving about the food. The only complaint I heard was that it ended too soon:( We have family and friends that love to dance all through the night and 11:30 for last dance was just too quick. I loved the outdoor patio with the bar and the photobooth (maybe that's why they didn't get to dance). No complaints about the 2 bartenders assigned, since we paid extra to have open bar all night. In all, it was a great day and I'm glad I chose The Sunset. BTW they're happy hour is the best!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
10/29/2011
2.5/5.0
What a beautiful location! We had our wedding here in Oct. 2011 on the beach and our reception at the restaurant and the setting is just amazing! Our guests told us how much they loved the romantic setting and the delicious food that was served.

However, the reason I am giving this a 3 stars is based on our experience from the wedding. The catering manager, Mara, was great. She was extremely responsive and really drove things on the day of the wedding and made things happen. In contrast, the sales manager, Annie, who was our primary contact for the entire time said yes to me on everything except on the day of the wedding - everything turned into a no! Annie yelled at my DJ who was setting up and also told my wedding coordinator she wouldn't sit my guests according to the guest list I had provided weeks ago because another guest had already sat down. How is this her problem? After all, they were all my guests and she insisted that my bridesmaid sat at another table. Annie kept chiming in on where my guests should sit and was rude to my guests. She also messed with our projector so our slideshow projection didn't come out as well as expected. I was really disappointed with her service - she basically said yes to all my requests while I contracted for our wedding and then when it came time to deliver, she "forgot" what we had agreed upon.

Thank goodness my wedding coordinator and Mara, Sunset's catering manager made things better and we had a wonderful wedding. I would definitely return for meals at the Sunset but I would just caution brides to be careful when working with Annie and make sure everything is done in writing.
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
6800 westward beach road, Malibu, CA 90265 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Sunset Restaurant
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1360185878862-sunset