130x130 sq 1417626342845 tx gyp big plane 5184 x 3456

The Texas Gypsies

Dallas , TX
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Dallas, TX 75228 US (map)

PHONE

469-879-2646

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Formed by experienced professional musicians including GRAMMY winners and musicians from many famous recording artists, this band has established itself as a classy, unique and fun full... Read more
Formed by experienced professional musicians including GRAMMY winners and musicians from many famous recording artists, this band has established itself as a classy, unique and fun full time professional band with hundreds of successful performances and has sold thousands of their CD's!

They have played all over the USA,Mexico and even as far away as Dubai!

Some of the artists our band members have played with are: The Jacksons, Wings, Ray Charles, Ella Fitzgerald, Texas Playboys, Wynton Marsalis, Tony Bennett, Barbara Mandrell, Blues Brothers and many more!!

This AWARD winning band plays "ALL" styles of Swing/Jazz from BIG BAND standards (Sinatra, Martin') to Vintage 1920's-40's music for Gatsby Theme or Speakeasy events, Parisian Swing or Gypsy Jazz ( Django Reinhardt) traditional New Orleans and Mardi Gras and also The Texas WESTERN SWING (Bob Wills) sound.

Need the band to also play dance music from 60's Motown or 70's disco to classic rock? No problem they are all experienced pros and have played those music styles for many events! The band also has a female singer they can add in for that that if you like!

We have many recordings of the band playing each of these styles so email if you want to hear more of a certain style than the others! This band can perform from a TRIO TO NINE PIECES with our HORN section added!


The Texas Gypsies are on the rosters of 3 prestigious arts programs — the National Endowment for the Arts American Masterpieces touring program and the Touring Artist Program of the Texas Commission on the Arts, and the Mid-America Arts Alliance!



* Named "Best Swing Group" by The Academy of Western Artists
Our Original song "Maxwell Swing" was used in the movie "The Smell of Success" (starring Billy Bob Thornton and Tea Leoni)

*Many TV shows have used Texas Gypsies songs on Fox, Bravo, MTV, Oxygen and more!
*Featured CD review in Downbeat magazine Dec 09
* Named "Best of Bands" by The Knot Magazine
* Featured on Fox KDFW-TV performing the theme song for "Good Day" morning show and also their Holiday promo with our "Christmastime in Texas song"
* Debut CD "The Texas Gypsies" in 2005 Grammy® voting for "Best Jazz Album"
* Featured band in the June 2007 issue of "International Musician Magazine"
* Texas Gypsies Theme Song included in "Texas Music Project/Don't Mess With Texas, Vol. 3" CD
*Recently raised over $5000 for the Wipe out Kids Cancer Foundation!

contact info:

steve@texasgypsies.com or 469-879-2646 Read less
Band

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1346815798832 weddingband11404x935
130x130 sq 1177516427473 press clippings
130x130 sq 1177516463129 quartet1resize
130x130 sq 1272986732606 6piececar2116x1410
130x130 sq 1272986751497 trio
130x130 sq 1417625788075 bass guitar 1901 x 1267
130x130 sq 1417625831258 tx gyp big plane 5184 x 3456
130x130 sq 1417625880525 img7681 400 x 600
130x130 sq 1417625891763 drum 11 1375 x 1716
130x130 sq 1417625917181 img7384 1584 x 2376
130x130 sq 1417625949010 steve   brook
130x130 sq 1417625987043 tx gyp 1 26 2
130x130 sq 1417626197721 20141007181824
130x130 sq 1417626290967 guitar 11 1045 x 1568

INFO FOR BAND

Are you an agency or a band?
Band
How many musicians are in your band(s)?
1-3, 4-6, 7+
What genres of music does (do) your band(s) play?
Acoustic, Big Band, Blues, Classic Rock, Country, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Pop, Rock, Strings, Swing

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.8/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Emily
Wedding:
11/8/2014
5.0/5.0
From the very first email we exchanged to the very last note they played, the Texas Gypsies were WONDERFUL to work with, absolute pros, and gave our wedding guests a rousing great time!

The theme of our wedding was a combination of Art Deco and Art Nouveau, and we wanted everyone to feel transported back to the 1910s-1930s. Indeed, they did! Playing classics like "The Charleston" and some of their own original music inspired by the period, the Texas Gypsies had our guests gleefully dancing throughout the evening. Guest after guest told me how much they loved the music!

I ABSOLUTELY RECOMMEND the Texas Gypsies! Thanks, guys, for an AMAZING performance!
From the very first email we exchanged to the very last note they played, the Texas Gypsies were WONDERFUL to work with, Read more...
From the very first email we exchanged to the very last note they played, the Texas Gypsies were WONDERFUL to work with, absolute pros, and gave our wedding guests a rousing great time!

The theme of our wedding was a combination of Art Deco and Art Nouveau, and we wanted everyone to feel transported back to the 1910s-1930s. Indeed, they did! Playing classics like "The Charleston" and some of their own original music inspired by the period, the Texas Gypsies had our guests gleefully dancing throughout the evening. Guest after guest told me how much they loved the music!

I ABSOLUTELY RECOMMEND the Texas Gypsies! Thanks, guys, for an AMAZING performance! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
danielle
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
They were amazing live, my wedding guests loved them and said they were really fun to watch. The music was excellent, they really set the mood. The band's manager Steve was super easy to work with and everything went seamlessly. Nothing more to say other than book them. They are worth every penny. Get the trumpet too. It's awesome.
They were amazing live, my wedding guests loved them and said they were really fun to watch. The music was excellent, they Read more...
They were amazing live, my wedding guests loved them and said they were really fun to watch. The music was excellent, they really set the mood. The band's manager Steve was super easy to work with and everything went seamlessly. Nothing more to say other than book them. They are worth every penny. Get the trumpet too. It's awesome. Read less
Services Used: Band
130x130 sq 1268253960206 web4
Brittany
Wedding:
11/6/2010
5.0/5.0
Texas Gypsies were the best! They played a variety of music for us and even made our announcements throughout the night. They helped keep everything on schedule and had everyone out dancing. We had so many compliments on their music and how good they were. Our guests really and truly had a great time and loved the music! Thanks Texas Gypsies!
Texas Gypsies were the best! They played a variety of music for us and even made our announcements throughout the night. Read more...
Texas Gypsies were the best! They played a variety of music for us and even made our announcements throughout the night. They helped keep everything on schedule and had everyone out dancing. We had so many compliments on their music and how good they were. Our guests really and truly had a great time and loved the music! Thanks Texas Gypsies! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Jesse
Wedding:
10/30/2010
5.0/5.0
What a treat to have The Texas Gypsies play our wedding. We wanted classic music and styles that people of all ages could dance to. They did a fantastic job, and we heard so many compliments from our guests--many of whom were musicians as well. Several people liked the band enough that they bought CDs, too. The Texas Gypsies even let my Dad play a little number. Very sweet. You can't go wrong with this band!
What a treat to have The Texas Gypsies play our wedding. We wanted classic music and styles that people of all ages could Read more...
What a treat to have The Texas Gypsies play our wedding. We wanted classic music and styles that people of all ages could dance to. They did a fantastic job, and we heard so many compliments from our guests--many of whom were musicians as well. Several people liked the band enough that they bought CDs, too. The Texas Gypsies even let my Dad play a little number. Very sweet. You can't go wrong with this band! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
Jennifer Heath
Wedding:
7/17/2010
5.0/5.0
The Texas Gypsies played at our wedding reception, and they were phenomenal. My husband and I are both passionate about music, so the band was a big decision for us. We wanted talented musicians who would play the classics...the Gypsies completely exceeded our expectations. Our reception was in a historic hotel, so we wanted a vintage, 1920's style, and the Gypsies totally delivered. We splurged on the 5-piece band with horns, and it was worth every penny. When we arrived at the reception and could hear the band in the next room, our eyes just lit up. We couldn't believe how amazing they sounded!! It was easily one of the best decisions we made in planning our big day.
They played classic jazz throughout dinner, and then really turned it on for dancing afterwards. All of our friends are music buffs too, and everyone absolutely loved them. Steve was great to work with throughout the planning process and took it one step further that night...my husband plays guitar and complimented Steve on his guitar earlier in the day when they were setting up. During the reception, he brought Josh on stage and let him play a couple of songs with the band! Truly an amazing moment for the groom! They even ended up being a great part of our wedding pictures...they look so stylish and cool in the background with their 1920's attire and great instruments.
If you book the Gypsies for your wedding or any other event, you are in for an amazing night!
The Texas Gypsies played at our wedding reception, and they were phenomenal. My husband and I are both passionate about Read more...
The Texas Gypsies played at our wedding reception, and they were phenomenal. My husband and I are both passionate about music, so the band was a big decision for us. We wanted talented musicians who would play the classics...the Gypsies completely exceeded our expectations. Our reception was in a historic hotel, so we wanted a vintage, 1920's style, and the Gypsies totally delivered. We splurged on the 5-piece band with horns, and it was worth every penny. When we arrived at the reception and could hear the band in the next room, our eyes just lit up. We couldn't believe how amazing they sounded!! It was easily one of the best decisions we made in planning our big day.
They played classic jazz throughout dinner, and then really turned it on for dancing afterwards. All of our friends are music buffs too, and everyone absolutely loved them. Steve was great to work with throughout the planning process and took it one step further that night...my husband plays guitar and complimented Steve on his guitar earlier in the day when they were setting up. During the reception, he brought Josh on stage and let him play a couple of songs with the band! Truly an amazing moment for the groom! They even ended up being a great part of our wedding pictures...they look so stylish and cool in the background with their 1920's attire and great instruments.
If you book the Gypsies for your wedding or any other event, you are in for an amazing night! Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
imdattorney
Wedding:
10/17/2009
5.0/5.0
Absolutely the best!! All the guests at the reception commented on the band. I asked them to add a horn section, so we had an eight piece band and their soundman. The soundman went the extra mile and provided sound for the outdoor wedding ceremony also, and during the cocktail hour, some of the band members provided an acoustical set before the reception officially began. My daughter wanted a lot of the Sinatra sound and they delivered. She and her father danced to Sinatra's "Fly Me To The Moon" (George is a corporate pilot) and I will never forget the sight they made as they danced. A memory to hold forever in my heart and the memory definitely has the sound!! You can not go wrong with this band, whatever sound you want. And I think that they actually gave me more than I paid for. Truly marvelous and professional musicians!! My daughter's "do not play" list was basically "nothing cheesy". They were perfect and worth every penny.
Absolutely the best!! All the guests at the reception commented on the band. I asked them to add a horn section, so we had Read more...
Absolutely the best!! All the guests at the reception commented on the band. I asked them to add a horn section, so we had an eight piece band and their soundman. The soundman went the extra mile and provided sound for the outdoor wedding ceremony also, and during the cocktail hour, some of the band members provided an acoustical set before the reception officially began. My daughter wanted a lot of the Sinatra sound and they delivered. She and her father danced to Sinatra's "Fly Me To The Moon" (George is a corporate pilot) and I will never forget the sight they made as they danced. A memory to hold forever in my heart and the memory definitely has the sound!! You can not go wrong with this band, whatever sound you want. And I think that they actually gave me more than I paid for. Truly marvelous and professional musicians!! My daughter's "do not play" list was basically "nothing cheesy". They were perfect and worth every penny. Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
figbhas81
Wedding:
4/27/2008
5.0/5.0
Great is all I can say!!!!! They made our wedding just amazing- people were begging for their contact information. A friend said she wanted to get married again just to have them play at the wedding. I would absolutely recommend them to anyone!
Great is all I can say!!!!! They made our wedding just amazing- people were begging for their contact information. A Read more...
Great is all I can say!!!!! They made our wedding just amazing- people were begging for their contact information. A friend said she wanted to get married again just to have them play at the wedding. I would absolutely recommend them to anyone! Read less
Services Used: Band
130x130 sq 1360471566126 cake
Margaret
Wedding:
9/14/2013
4.9/5.0
The Texas Gypsies are a phenomenal band. They were professional and their musical talents are extraordinary. Any event would benefit from their presence. Our guests were thrilled and enjoyed every minute the band played. Thank you for making our wedding a musically delightful experience
The Texas Gypsies are a phenomenal band. They were professional and their musical talents are extraordinary. Any event Read more...
The Texas Gypsies are a phenomenal band. They were professional and their musical talents are extraordinary. Any event would benefit from their presence. Our guests were thrilled and enjoyed every minute the band played. Thank you for making our wedding a musically delightful experience Read less
Services Used: Band
Default vendor profile pic
alex
Wedding:
4/21/2007
4.8/5.0
The band was great. They set the mood for a beautiful backyard wedding. The weather was nice, the sky was blue and the band sounded great. They were set up and ready to go by the scheduled time. They learned the songs we asked them to learn and did a great job performing them (I wish were had danced as well as they played).

I do not have a single complaint. I would recommend this band to anyone who wants a good Texas sound for their wedding.
The band was great. They set the mood for a beautiful backyard wedding. The weather was nice, the sky was blue and the Read more...
The band was great. They set the mood for a beautiful backyard wedding. The weather was nice, the sky was blue and the band sounded great. They were set up and ready to go by the scheduled time. They learned the songs we asked them to learn and did a great job performing them (I wish were had danced as well as they played).

I do not have a single complaint. I would recommend this band to anyone who wants a good Texas sound for their wedding. Read less
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
Default vendor profile pic
Josh
Wedding:
1/7/2010
4.6/5.0
Very nice music, Highly recommendable to all.

Great prices :) Thanks very much
Very nice music, Highly recommendable to all.

Great prices :) Thanks very much
Very nice music, Highly recommendable to all.

Great prices :) Thanks very much Read less
Services Used: Band

MAP

 
Dallas, TX 75228 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Texas Gypsies
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1417626342845 tx gyp big plane 5184 x 3456