130x130_sq_1344590218945-ultimatebride5

The Ultimate Bride

Saint Louis , MO
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1115 South Big Bend Boulevard
Saint Louis, MO US 63117 (map)

PHONE

314-961-9997

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Voted “Best St. Louis Bridal Salon”, The Ultimate Bride offers unique designer wedding gowns and headpieces, bridesmaids gowns, mothers gowns and flower girls. Our consultants will help... Read more
Voted “Best St. Louis Bridal Salon”, The Ultimate Bride offers unique designer wedding gowns and headpieces, bridesmaids gowns, mothers gowns and flower girls. Our consultants will help you choose the style to best suit you and your wedding party and help make your wedding day perfect!

Ask about our preferred partner’s special on bridesmaids dresses. Read less
Dress & Attire

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Bride, Bridesmaids, Mother of the Bride, Mother of the Groom
What accessories do you provide?
Garters, Hair Accessories, Jewelry, Shoes, Undergarments, Veils

REVIEWS

3.8
out of 5.0
3.8/5.0
3.7/5.0
3.8/5.0
4.0/5.0
3.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becca
Wedding:
9/28/2014
5.0/5.0
LOVE me some Ultimate Bride! Thank you Cara Hale for being so amazing and helping me find my dream dress! <3
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1386948281067-118570610100253012228741748150538
Alyson
Wedding:
7/26/2014
5.0/5.0
I went to The Ultimate Bride for my first experience trying on wedding dresses. It was everything a newly engaged woman could want. Megan Rumsey made me feel absolutely beautiful. She really listened to what I wanted and at the same time opened my eyes to styles I never thought of. Even thought I went to 2 more bridal shops after The Ultimate Bride the experience wasn't the same. I ended up back where I started in the dress I couldn't get out of my head. They say you know when you know... I totally knew! : )
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenny
Wedding:
6/14/2014
3.8/5.0
I would recommend Ultimate Bride as a good place to shop for Wedding Dresses (and purchase as they seem more reasonable than many other St. Louis area bridal stores), but would not recommend using them for alterations. I have a few friends who had issues with alterations related to timing, cost, etc. and as I am out of town I did not use them for alterations. However, I purchased a dress from them that they "forced" me to get a larger size than I wanted / thought I needed for a bridesmaid dress and I then had to pay a third of the cost of the dress to essentially get it completely remade as it was absolutely huge! Additionally with my wedding dress I purchase it early and when I asked if they could hold it for a bit rather than ship right away since I have a small condo and my fiance was not allowed to see the dress, they told me they do not have space for that and even if I was getting it altered there I would have to take it home and bring it back. This whole process seemed odd to me, and required multiple phone calls and back and forth on my part. The dress was reasonably priced and I love it, so I would still recommend shopping there and purchasing the dress, but I would suggest looking for another store or seamstress to provide alterations after you purchase.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
5/17/2014
4.3/5.0
I actually went in to the ultimate bride twice. The first time I didn't find anything I liked in my price range. My cousin works with Saavi and she got me to go back in there and someone different helped me the second time. This time they showed me dresses that were more what I was looking for and I found the perfect Mori Lee gown that in my budget!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
When the supplier decided they couldn't supply the dress 2 months before the wedding (it had already been ordered for 5 months) the owner at The ultimate bride took over and worked miracles. We found a dress we liked more and everything worked out fine. They did it right.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katy
Wedding:
5/11/2013
4.6/5.0
Resi did my alterations and bless her heart she did a wonderful job. I think she had to do a total of 5 different alterations to the dress, but she did it with such grace. It was perfect and I will treasure it forever. My dress was gorgeous.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ANONYMOUS
Wedding:
6/16/2012
1.1/5.0
DO NOT GO HERE! ULTIMATE BRIDAL NIGHTMARE! RUDE, UNPROFESSIONAL STAFF. TOOK 6 MONTHS TO GET MY DRESS. THE WOMAN WHO I ORDERED IT FROM TRIED TO CHARGE ME SEVERAL HUNDRED DOLLARS MORE THAN THE PRICE- LUCKILY I HAD WRITTEN IT DOWN SO I HAD TO TELL HER WHAT THE PRICE WAS. THEN, SHE ORDERED MY DRESS IN THE WRONG COLOR, BUT IT ARRIVED SO LATE THERE WAS NOTHING WE COULD DO ABOUT IT. I HAD TO BUY ALL NEW JEWELRY AND VEIL TO GO WITH THE NEW DRESS. THEY WERE COMPLETELY RUDE AND UNHELPFUL ABOUT THE WHOLE SITUATION. DO NOT GO HERE!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Joe&Beth
Wedding:
6/25/2011
4.7/5.0
I had the most amazing time working with Megan and the other staff at Ultimate Bride. From my first appointment to my final fitting they were so accommodating and helpful. I love the dress I selected and could not have been any happier with the service I received from Ultimate Bride. They have a cute shop with a ton of amazing gowns to pick from and a knowledge staff that helps you through the entire process. They also partner with Savvi Formalwear which provides a great opportunity for discounts on your gown and accessories as well as your wedding party! I definitely recommend Ultimate Bride!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sunshine
Wedding:
8/14/2010
0.8/5.0
I am not sure where to start. The girl I worked with when I bought my dress was great, but I already knew what I wanted when I went in. The first issue I had started at my first fitting. My dress showed up and had two zippers attached in the back of the dress and one of them did not work. They sent the dress back to the manufacturer and said it would take two weeks to get the dress back. It was more like 4 weeks. They called and had me set up an appointment for a fitting and when I showed the dress was not even in the store. They asked me to come back in two weeks! When I showed back up for my 3rd attempt at a fitting the dress still was not there and they could not give me any answers. The next day I found out the dress hadn't even left NYC because the Ultimatre Bride never told them to send them a new dress! Once the dress finally arrived, I only had time for two fittings. I asked the seamstress not to bustle the dress the way she did, but she swore it would work. Well the bustle did not hold longer than 5 minutes! The bridesmaids dresses were ordered 4 sizes too big and they were told they would have to purchase a second dress because they were measured correctly. Obviously they were not measured correctly because none of the bridesmaids lost weight (especially not 4 sizes). I would not recommend this place. They were not helpful and especially not forth coming with information!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1262382257774-kc1
Mary
Wedding:
8/6/2010
4.5/5.0
Ask for Sheila! She is great to work with and found a dress I never would have thought I wanted but that I lit up in as soon as I had it on. Between the alterations and the dress and slip, it all seemed a bit expensive, but I got a beautiful dress, and the seamstress went above and beyond, taking home the material we had cut off of the bridesmaid dresses to create a special sash for the flower girl to match the beautiful blue color exactly. My dress was designed by Elizabeth James, a British designer whose dresses are only found at The Ultimate Bride in St. Louis, and the girls wore Mackenzie Michaels dresses. Although I had one bridesmaid that was 8 months pregnant when it was time to order the dresses, and one that was pregnant on my wedding day, they were able to get all of the dresses in with time to be altered, and everyone's dresses fit great for the wedding. My seamstress was able to create a complicated double French bustle so I could still show off a lot of the intricate beading on the train of my dress at the reception without sitting on my dress, and she was able to alter the beading on the front of the dress to better suit my tastes. They were so busy that sometimes it was hard to get responses from them about when dresses were coming in or changing a size of a slip, but overall, they were a great company to work with. Oh, and they offer a discount if you use Savvi Formalwear for your tuxs!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kellykathleenk
Wedding:
10/21/2009
5.0/5.0
Fantastic selection and brought in specific gowns for me to try on! Was also great for the entire bridal party! Thanks so much!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hblue
Wedding:
10/17/2009
5.0/5.0
You cannot go wrong with The Ultimate Bride when it comes to a wedding dress. It's worth a visit - I promise. I was debating between a less expensive gown at David's Bridal and the gown I ended up selecting at the Ultimate Bride... money of course was the issue. I can honestly say I'm so glad I splurged on my wedding dress. Not only was it perfect, but the service at the Ultimate Bride can't be competed with. Alana McKnight and her sales team are friendly, professional and I swear just as happy as you are to be shopping for a wedding dress. After dealing with several different David's Bridal locations thanks to my bridesmaids, I'm so grateful I choose the Ultimate Bride. Their service is barnone! All the best ladies - Heidi Laws Blue
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1218066856477-mari'splace022
Stacey
Wedding:
10/10/2009
2.2/5.0
I decided to go with The Ultimate Bride for my bridesmaids' dresses since they were the only vendor close enough in the area that provided Jim Hjelm dresses. Unfortunately, I've heard stories about their staff before - not very positive ones - but the dresses were beautiful and I decided to go with their services nonetheless. In addition, The Ultimate Bride offers a 15% discount off of all bridesmaid dresses in conjunction with Savvi Formalwear if the groomsmen decide to get their tuxes there.

The real complaint I have with The Ultimate Bride is the staff - they did not seem very organized at all, and when I tried to explain which types of dresses I wanted for each girl, it had confused them more than once.

It shouldn't have been too hard to understand.

I had four bridesmaids and I let them choose their own Jim Hjelm dress style, as long as it came in the same fabric and the same colors. The staff at The Ultimate Bride couldn't get these orders straight to save their lives.

I had been anticipating this, unfortunately, from what I've heard from other brides, so I made my bridesmaids order their dresses by June. The wedding was in October.

Maybe it was the fault of the dress manufacturer in New York - but two dresses arrived in the wrong color. Twice. Only one dress arrived on time in the right size and the right color, one dress arrived late, and two dresses were both late and completely wrong.

Instead of notifying me about the screw-up, the staff at The Ultimate Bride had shipped the dresses back and put in a second order. When it was time for the bridesmaids to get their alterations, only two girls had their dresses. The second order had arrived three weeks before the wedding and the colors were STILL wrong, so they had to put in an additional rush order again. My girls literally got their dresses a week and a half before the wedding. This, in my view, is absolutely unacceptable, especially if the dresses were ordered in June.

The professionalism of the staff is way below par and they didn't offer any additional discounts for my bridesmaids, even though the service was terrible. The price didn't help things since Jim Hjelm dresses are naturally expensive, and by the time the dresses came in I was too busy lamenting over the fact that I had chosen The Ultimate Bride in the first place and making my girls pay that much money for such terrible service.

However - after all that trouble, the dresses turned out beautiful, but it really should not have cost so much over so much hassle. If I would do it all over again, I would forfeit the Jim Hjelm dresses and go with another dress store if it meant quicker and more professional service.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
staceums
Wedding:
10/10/2009
2.5/5.0
I decided to go with The Ultimate Bride for my bridesmaids' dresses since they were the only vendor close enough in the area that provided Jim Hjelm dresses. Unfortunately, I've heard stories about their staff before - not very positive ones - but the dresses were beautiful and I decided to go with their services nonetheless. In addition, The Ultimate Bride offers a 15% discount off of all bridesmaid dresses in conjunction with Savvi Formalwear if the groomsmen decide to get their tuxes there.

The real complaint I have with The Ultimate Bride is the staff - they did not seem very organized at all, and when I tried to explain which types of dresses I wanted for each girl, it had confused them more than once.

It shouldn't have been too hard to understand.

I had four bridesmaids and I let them choose their own Jim Hjelm dress style, as long as it came in the same fabric and the same colors. The staff at The Ultimate Bride couldn't get these orders straight to save their lives.

I had been anticipating this, unfortunately, from what I've heard from other brides, so I made my bridesmaids order their dresses by June. The wedding was in October.

Maybe it was the fault of the dress manufacturer in New York - but two dresses arrived in the wrong color. Twice. Only one dress arrived on time in the right size and the right color, one dress arrived late, and two dresses were both late and completely wrong.

Instead of notifying me about the screw-up, the staff at The Ultimate Bride had shipped the dresses back and put in a second order. When it was time for the bridesmaids to get their alterations, only two girls had their dresses. The second order had arrived three weeks before the wedding and the colors were STILL wrong, so they had to put in an additional rush order again. My girls literally got their dresses a week and a half before the wedding. This, in my view, is absolutely unacceptable, especially if the dresses were ordered in June.

The professionalism of the staff is way below par and they didn't offer any additional discounts for my bridesmaids, even though the service was terrible. The price didn't help things since Jim Hjelm dresses are naturally expensive, and by the time the dresses came in I was too busy lamenting over the fact that I had chosen The Ultimate Bride in the first place and making my girls pay that much money for such terrible service.

However - after all that trouble, the dresses turned out beautiful, but it really should not have cost so much over so much hassle. If I would do it all over again, I would forfeit the Jim Hjelm dresses and go with another dress store if it meant quicker and more professional service.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1231991715125-dsc01626
Alicia "Soon To Be" Behnen
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
I decided to change my wedding dress at the last minute from a dress I had purchased at a different store. I went to Ultimate Bride and they worked with me tirelessly to help me find the dress of my dreams with no time to spare. I also got the bridesmaids dresses there and they came out beautiful as well. Excellent tailoring as well.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amariee
Wedding:
8/8/2009
4.6/5.0
Overall, The Ultimate Bride did an excellent job with my wedding dress. I loved my dress and my veil. The professionals they have there to make alterations did a WONDERFUL job as I ended up losing 15 pounds after I ordered my dress. Everyone was always nice and friendly when I went in there or called. They are pricey, but they do offer discounts if you use Savvi for the guy's formalwear and I bought my veil at a trunk show and got it at a discounted price as well.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jean
Wedding:
7/18/2009
3.4/5.0
I am very torn on this review. By the time I visited the Ultimate Bride, I had tried on over 100 gowns at 4 or 5 different shops, thinking MY dress just wasn't out there. I gave them an idea of my budget including alterations, a description of what I was looking for, and we began to try on. I ended up falling in love with THE dress. Then I looked at the price tag. Even with the 25% discount I got for getting tuxes from Savvi, the dress was well over budget, even without considering alteration costs. I am very lucky that mom gave the thumbs up and let me get it anyway. If we hadn't had the money to splurge, I wouldn't have been able to get the dress after all that searching, and I would have been heart broken.

Once I got the dress, the alterations cost even more than what was given to me as an estimate because of the intricate beading on the dress. We also ended up having to buy a wrap to cover the rules at our Catholic Church ceremony location. Jim Hjelm the designer was a big enough pain in the butt to deal with, but I really wasn't happy that I felt as though I needed to stay on top of the ladies at Ultimate Bride to get things done instead of them handling things without me having to worry.

I'm glad I went to Ultimate Bride, as they were the only one in St. Louis with a sample of the dress, and one of two that even carry the designer in wedding gowns. I also know I got a great price for that dress (even though it was over budget and wasn't supposed to be shown to me), and I appreciated the Savvi discount. Just beware of them showing you dresses out of your budget. I've heard it happens to a lot of brides there. NO surprise considering they work on commission.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KlasingLove
Wedding:
6/20/2009
1.5/5.0
This is a warning review. Just warnin' ya!

I went to UB in August and met with Kara, a wonderful consultant who spent over an hour with my mom & I, pulling dresses happily and listening intently to my needs. She was really great. I narrowed it down to 3 dresses, so was excited to return to UB and re-try them on with my bridesmaids in tow.

I made an appointment for 2:30pm on a Saturday. I received no reminder phone call on Friday, which was somewhat of a concern. I ended up calling on Saturday around noon, and was told that Kara wouldn't be available to work with (darn!) but that I would definitely be taken care of. Ha!

My bridesmaids and I stood in the main lobby for about 15 minutes, literally being ignored, while others were helped. I finally let a woman (who did not look busy) know that we were here & ready for the appointment. STRIKE 1.

After a consultant pulled my 3 dresses, I was left to my own devices with my bridesmaids to get into the dresses. Our "consultant" literally disappeared the moment I walked into the dressing room. She came back once briefly, and we explained 1 of the 3 dresses was missing. She leaves to (maybe?) go hunt it down. For 15 minutes. STRIKE 2.

After waiting around with no one in sight to help us, we grab Consultant #3 to inquire what the deal was. We explained a dress from the original 3 was missing but we hadn't seen our consultant in awhile. She finds said dress immediately (yay!) But then, disappears.

Who is helping us?!? I'm buying a $2K dress, I would imagine I'd receive better service than at Macy's. Sheesh!

After all that, my bridesmaid overheard a *Not Busy* consultant telling other *Not Busy* consultants that she had just sold 5 bridesmaid dresses. Nice. So apparently you all work on commission and like to brag about it in front of customers. We all agreed this was extremely unprofessional. STRIKE 3.

Ultimate Bride, you're OUT!

Don't get me started on how dingy the place looks, inside and out. I'm sorry, but if you're selling expensive gowns wouldn't you want to spiff the place up a bit? Maybe switch out the cruddy hunter green carpet from the early 90s? Just sayin'.

I will be purchasing my dress from Town & Country Bridal, who I highly recommend. I was very surprised with my UB experience, actually - considering how awesome my 1st appointment went. If you must go to UB, only ask for Kara. Otherwise, RUN.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Missing_profile
MrsS
Wedding:
11/15/2008
5.0/5.0
After shopping around for a wedding dress the quest ended at the Ultimate Bride on Brentwood. My daughter wanted a wedding dress entirely of lace and they had the best selection. She picked out a designer dress and wowed everyone. It was the most beautiful dress! The alteration staff was extremely good at what they do too.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mhawk
Wedding:
9/20/2008
4.4/5.0
Working with Ultimate Bride was a pleasure and I had a GREAT experience! You describe what you are looking for or what you like in a Bridal gown and they pick some options for you to try. It was stressfree! The only negative I had was you have to make an appointment and you can never just walk-in. (not too bad of a negative really.) Also, the dresses were around $1,000 but had lots of beautiful details. I highly suggest checking them out!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Missing_profile
Qtip
Wedding:
8/9/2008
4.0/5.0
I purchased my Jim Hjelm bridal gown from Ultimate Bride. I feel like I am in the minority when I say that I think they had great customer service and were extremely accommodating. I even got them to press my dress for free! Bridesmaid Dresses - Jim Hjelm 5780 in Moss green We got so many compliments on these dresses. All of the girls looked great, however, there were so many errors on the sizing and the order, and alterations were costly. My mother began to question their integrity a bit. But I, as a Bride, had no problems with them.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Missing_profile
Sweetlywed
Wedding:
5/19/2008
3.0/5.0
We visited Ultimate Bride for one bridesmaid dress. The shop was very unorganized and a bit cluttered. The staff was decent to us- it could have been better. But they did in fact shows us around and helped us pick out the bridesmaid dress. The dress turned out to be really nice and the bridesmaid really liked it. So other than the shop being cluttered and the shop being a bit unorganized everything else was pretty decent. So we were happy we got the bridesmaid dress at Ultimate Bride.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Missing_profile
AprilStLouisBride
Wedding:
4/12/2008
3.0/5.0
The service there was amazing. Literally when I walked in the door my sales rep. always knew my name. I felt so welcome and everyone was so nice. They had so many dresses to choose from that I had to come back on more than one occasion to try them all one. I received my bridesmaids dresses from there as well. They all loved the services as well. The only problem we had were the alteration staff. They were a little difficult to work with, but in the end it all worked out for the best.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Missing_profile
Lollypops
Wedding:
10/19/2007
4.0/5.0
This is one of the fancier bridal stores in the area, but it actually has a poor reputation. I casually went it and just wanted to see if they had any dresses I liked. They had one that I loved, but it was out of my price range. They completely worked with me on the price and I ended up buying a sample gown and got a great deal! I get the sense that they have high turnover, but they ladies were always kind and knowledgeable. I think some people are turned off because you are not allowed to pull dresses yourself. I was fine with this and they ended up finding my perfect dress just by my description of what I was looking for.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Missing_profile
GlowGirl
Wedding:
9/2/2005
4.0/5.0
I had a really great experience here. My mom came to visit and we went to try on dresses during the Jim Hjelm trunk show because those dresses looked nice in the catalogues. Well, when I told Kimberly about what we were looking for and described the girls, she right away started bringing out dresses by After Six, and they were really perfect. She didnt even try to push the more expensive ones! We ended up going with the After Six style, and the girls all really liked it. They felt beautiful, and were pleased with the price. There was a little mix up in shipping the dresses, two of the girls dresses got swapped, but the store corrected it quickly and painlessly. I was very pleased.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I LOVED this bridal shop. they made it so easy to find the dress of my dreams. I went in with the idea of wanting a lace dress and asked tem to pull something the complete opposite and the moment I put that dress on I fell in love. I can not thank them enough.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
[Private]
5.0/5.0
This bridal store was the best by far. The wedding stylist was running a little behind from her previous appointment and I had to wait 10-15 minutes. I used the time to look around the store. The wedding stylist was great! I explained what kind of dresses I had already tried on and I described what I wanted. She knew exactly what style of dress I was looking for and found the perfect dress. The service was better than any other store I went to.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
[Private]
1.9/5.0
This was the first store that I visited on my hunt for a wedding dress. I was informed that appointments were one and a half hours long and they offered me a four o'clock appointment. While trying on dresses, I felt rushed and like I was not being heard as far as what I was looking for. Little did I know, they close at five o'clock. The only thing on my consultants mind was getting off work. I'm sorry but please don't offer your clients a four o'clock appointment that should last an hour and a half when your store closes at five o'clock. Not a very good first impression for me. On another note, we got our tuxes from savvi and with that, we qualify for a 25% discount at ultimate bride for bridesmaid dresses. However, I'm not sure I feel comfortable making my girls buy a dress from them. It may be worth it to go somewhere else even if we don't get the discount.
Services Used: Dress & Attire

MAP

 
1115 South Big Bend Boulevard, Saint Louis, MO 63117 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Ultimate Bride
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1344590218945-ultimatebride5