130x130 sq 1418838314473 sperry house
(8)

The Veranda at Thornton Park

Orlando , FL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

111 N Summerlin Ave
Orlando, FL 32801 US (map)

PHONE

407-717-9966

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Thornton Park's Centerpiece

The Veranda and the historic buildings that form its estate lies in the heart of Thornton Park, one of Orlando’s oldest and most historic... Read more
Thornton Park's Centerpiece

The Veranda and the historic buildings that form its estate lies in the heart of Thornton Park, one of Orlando’s oldest and most historic neighborhoods. The Veranda is just two blocks from Lake Eola and only minutes from the central business district along Orange Avenue. For travelers, its less than twenty minutes from the airport.



The Experience

Experience award-winning hospitality service and management.

From planning your event through execution, you can rely on expert management across all facets of planning: event logistics, tailored catering and cuisine, event services, event follow-up and gratitude.



Easy To Get To

Escape the hustle and bustle of Disney theme parks and Universal Studios; arrive in the backyard of Orlando’s most prominent historic estates.

Setting

“We pride ourselves on the intimate community setting that we provide, and the expert management that brings it all together to make your event (business or family) successful and memorable, that’s what the Veranda is all about.” Paul Hughes

Nestled below century-old trees are colonial-era buildings that cater to both privacy and community. We help people step away from busy life, to spend time with one another, whether that be in a wedding, business meeting, team-building event, community event. Distinct intimate entertainment and casual business meetings, equipped with state of the art technology, from high-bandwidth video conferring, to smart-office technology. One-of-a-kind, there’s something special when people get away from it all, its amazing how much more productive and personal people can become in an intimate setting. Meetings, collaborative workshops, and retreats are enhanced by both individuality and proximity. Removed from the traffic of tourists, a room with windows can make a big difference. Leave the typical ballroom/reception room behind, and enjoy the breeze over Eola Lake, among the natural beauty of nature.



Click Here to Read the Orlando Business Journal Article on The Veranda & Neighborhood Rogue Read less

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1418837426554 5
130x130 sq 1418837365719 pnt photography 01
130x130 sq 1418837372072 schminky 1
130x130 sq 1418837418289 1
130x130 sq 1418837421462 2
130x130 sq 1418837461515 websitethomlisa wedding storyai 16ppw968h645
130x130 sq 1418837375235 schminky 7
130x130 sq 1418838061834 2014 06 20 veranda promo 0210
130x130 sq 1418837429406 7
130x130 sq 1418837435820 veranda at night
130x130 sq 1418837424009 3
130x130 sq 1418838018112 2014 06 20 veranda promo 0181
130x130 sq 1418837432998 12
130x130 sq 1418837471240 websitethomlisa wedding storyai 06ppw968h645
130x130 sq 1418837930033 2014 06 20 veranda promo 0079
130x130 sq 1418837465390 websitethomlisa wedding storyai 41ppw968h644
130x130 sq 1418837970856 2014 06 20 veranda promo 0107
130x130 sq 1418837506726 table layout 2
130x130 sq 1418837677300 2014 06 20 veranda promo 0015
130x130 sq 1418837673634 2014 06 20 veranda promo 0014
130x130 sq 1418837886552 2014 06 20 veranda promo 0033
130x130 sq 1418837838080 2014 06 20 veranda promo 0026
130x130 sq 1418838095068 bridal shower

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue?
0
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
5
Describe your venue:
Historic, Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
City, Vintage, Garden
What kind of settings are available?
Covered Outdoor, Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
Which of the following wedding events does your venue service?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
200
What event services do you offer?
Cake, Catering / Bar, Event Planning, Event Rentals, Lighting / Sound, Outside Vendors OK
What catering services do you offer?
Outside Cake OK
What bar services do you provide?
Outside Alcohol OK
What event items are available?
Chairs
What transportation and access is available?
Shuttle

INFO FOR REHEARSAL DINNER

What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue?
1
What kind of settings are available?
Covered Outdoor, Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
What catering services do you provide?
Outside Cake OK
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American, Asian, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Latin American, Local, Mediterranean, Mexican, Middle Eastern, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish
What bar services do you provide?
Outside Alcohol OK
What types of spaces are available for a rehearsal dinner?
Exclusive Venue Use, Private Room, Private Section, Public Seating

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Private User
Wedding:
1/31/2015
5.0/5.0
The Veranda was the perfect venue for our outdoor wedding! We had 110 guest and it was the perfect size. I loved everything about tha place!!
The Veranda was the perfect venue for our outdoor wedding! We had 110 guest and it was the perfect size. I loved Read more...
The Veranda was the perfect venue for our outdoor wedding! We had 110 guest and it was the perfect size. I loved everything about tha place!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Jamie
Wedding:
3/29/2014
5.0/5.0
We cannot thank Scotty and Louise from Dubsdread enough...they were AMAZING! It was pouring for hours the day of our wedding and we were receiving tornado alerts on our phones. It was very obvious the weather was not in favor of an outdoor wedding. Not once did Dubsdread coordinators come to us and worry us the day of our wedding and bring the already obvious weather to our attention. We loved that they took charge and set up the venue without worrying us. It was a miracle that the weather cleared up a half hour before the ceremony started and it was beautiful! Everything was perfect. The food was great, and everything transitioned so smoothly. Dubsdread, especially Scotty and Louise, were so professional and helpful. We cannot recommend them enough!! Throughout the entire planning process, they were very accommodating and listened to our requests. You can tell they really love what they do =)
We cannot thank Scotty and Louise from Dubsdread enough...they were AMAZING! It was pouring for hours the day of our Read more...
We cannot thank Scotty and Louise from Dubsdread enough...they were AMAZING! It was pouring for hours the day of our wedding and we were receiving tornado alerts on our phones. It was very obvious the weather was not in favor of an outdoor wedding. Not once did Dubsdread coordinators come to us and worry us the day of our wedding and bring the already obvious weather to our attention. We loved that they took charge and set up the venue without worrying us. It was a miracle that the weather cleared up a half hour before the ceremony started and it was beautiful! Everything was perfect. The food was great, and everything transitioned so smoothly. Dubsdread, especially Scotty and Louise, were so professional and helpful. We cannot recommend them enough!! Throughout the entire planning process, they were very accommodating and listened to our requests. You can tell they really love what they do =) Read less
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
This venue is GORGEOUS! The staff was amazing to work with. Scotty was so wonderful and made my day go flawlessly. I would recommend this beautiful venue to anyone that wants an outdoor reception.
This venue is GORGEOUS! The staff was amazing to work with. Scotty was so wonderful and made my day go flawlessly. I would Read more...
This venue is GORGEOUS! The staff was amazing to work with. Scotty was so wonderful and made my day go flawlessly. I would recommend this beautiful venue to anyone that wants an outdoor reception. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Tiffany
Wedding:
1/25/2014
5.0/5.0
I could not have imagined a prettier setting for our wedding than the Veranda. By the time the sun had set and the reception began, it looked nothing short of magical. The buildings and lights looked stunning. The physical space for each event (ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception) was organized so well.

Scotty and Louise from Dubsdread are wonderful coordinators who made sure that everything was perfect in the weeks leading up to our wedding. I was so thankful to have them!
I could not have imagined a prettier setting for our wedding than the Veranda. By the time the sun had set and the Read more...
I could not have imagined a prettier setting for our wedding than the Veranda. By the time the sun had set and the reception began, it looked nothing short of magical. The buildings and lights looked stunning. The physical space for each event (ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception) was organized so well.

Scotty and Louise from Dubsdread are wonderful coordinators who made sure that everything was perfect in the weeks leading up to our wedding. I was so thankful to have them! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Sarah
Wedding:
3/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Absolutely amazing! I cannot say enough for how wonderful our wedding was at The Veranda on 3/16/13. It was better than we imagined and here’s why…
Emily, with Dubsdread, is fantastic! I honestly could not have done it without her. Her personality is calming and supportive. She listens to ideas and visions and runs with them! She was constantly answering emails and never made me feel like any question was too small. I also never felt like she was too busy for us, she was always helpful and responded quickly. And what a hard worker! The day of the wedding was such a success because of Emily. She needed little instruction and completely set up and tore down everything. (It was more gorgeous than I imagined, by the way!) This was the best part in my opinion, because it allowed me to enjoy the night and not have to worry about anything. I can only imagine what a disaster our wedding could have been without her and cannot thank her enough. Even Several of our guest came up to me and said how nice Emily was.
Dubsdread catering and staff also exceeded my expectations. They went over and beyond to work with our budget, the food was fantastic, and the staff was awesome! I was especially impressed with our personal waiter who made sure we had everything we needed including having our favorite drink waiting for us and serving us dinner. The bartenders were also great at their work. Other weddings I’ve attended the bartenders have been older and boring, you feel like you’re somehow an imposition, and there’s almost always a line at the bar. Not at our wedding, which I was pleasantly surprised! The bartenders were younger men who were hard, fast workers that seemed to be having a good time themselves. Their positive, yet professional, attitudes allowed for the guest to have an even better night. I was really happy to see that.
Thank you Dubsdread for a perfect reception! I had the time of my life and would highly recommend you to everyone.
Absolutely amazing! I cannot say enough for how wonderful our wedding was at The Veranda on 3/16/13. It was better than we Read more...
Absolutely amazing! I cannot say enough for how wonderful our wedding was at The Veranda on 3/16/13. It was better than we imagined and here’s why…
Emily, with Dubsdread, is fantastic! I honestly could not have done it without her. Her personality is calming and supportive. She listens to ideas and visions and runs with them! She was constantly answering emails and never made me feel like any question was too small. I also never felt like she was too busy for us, she was always helpful and responded quickly. And what a hard worker! The day of the wedding was such a success because of Emily. She needed little instruction and completely set up and tore down everything. (It was more gorgeous than I imagined, by the way!) This was the best part in my opinion, because it allowed me to enjoy the night and not have to worry about anything. I can only imagine what a disaster our wedding could have been without her and cannot thank her enough. Even Several of our guest came up to me and said how nice Emily was.
Dubsdread catering and staff also exceeded my expectations. They went over and beyond to work with our budget, the food was fantastic, and the staff was awesome! I was especially impressed with our personal waiter who made sure we had everything we needed including having our favorite drink waiting for us and serving us dinner. The bartenders were also great at their work. Other weddings I’ve attended the bartenders have been older and boring, you feel like you’re somehow an imposition, and there’s almost always a line at the bar. Not at our wedding, which I was pleasantly surprised! The bartenders were younger men who were hard, fast workers that seemed to be having a good time themselves. Their positive, yet professional, attitudes allowed for the guest to have an even better night. I was really happy to see that.
Thank you Dubsdread for a perfect reception! I had the time of my life and would highly recommend you to everyone. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
3/3/2013
5.0/5.0
If you want a beautiful outdoor wedding The Veranda is the place to have it! It is such a gorgeous venue with beautiful scenery and strung lights. The staff did everything in their power to make my day as perfect as possible. Emily was fabulous and kept me so calm through the whole process. She is the bride whisperer. She was responsive, listened to me, and suggested great ideas. It was a perfect day.
If you want a beautiful outdoor wedding The Veranda is the place to have it! It is such a gorgeous venue with beautiful Read more...
If you want a beautiful outdoor wedding The Veranda is the place to have it! It is such a gorgeous venue with beautiful scenery and strung lights. The staff did everything in their power to make my day as perfect as possible. Emily was fabulous and kept me so calm through the whole process. She is the bride whisperer. She was responsive, listened to me, and suggested great ideas. It was a perfect day. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
andreaurrea
Wedding:
4/18/2013
4.3/5.0
Our wedding was scheduled for October 12, 2013 at the The Summerlin House (Now The Veranda at The Summerlin House).

Unfortunately, we were part of a scheme by the previous "owner" and we found out that the place had been sold BEFORE we booked the venue and gave the previous "owner" our deposit. She took our $1,000 and ran off with it. We were left dumbfounded and astonished that someone could do that to us.

Fortunately, Karl and his team were GREAT in working with us. He honored the deposit and the date we had chosen and let us keep the original contract and fees. He set us up Dubsdread Catering (who they use exclusively to cater) and assured us that everything would be fine.

We won't have the opportunity to use the venue because of some hard times that both my fiance and my family have fallen on. But, even though we won't be using them as our venue... I have NOTHING but amazing things to say about the team Karl has assembled at The Veranda. From the food, to making the venue look absolutely more beautiful than before, to the communication between his team and his clients.... you can really tell he wants to make everything perfect for his brides.

I would definitely recommend brides checking out the new and IMPROVED Summerlin House!
Our wedding was scheduled for October 12, 2013 at the The Summerlin House (Now The Veranda at The Summerlin House).
Read more...
Our wedding was scheduled for October 12, 2013 at the The Summerlin House (Now The Veranda at The Summerlin House).

Unfortunately, we were part of a scheme by the previous "owner" and we found out that the place had been sold BEFORE we booked the venue and gave the previous "owner" our deposit. She took our $1,000 and ran off with it. We were left dumbfounded and astonished that someone could do that to us.

Fortunately, Karl and his team were GREAT in working with us. He honored the deposit and the date we had chosen and let us keep the original contract and fees. He set us up Dubsdread Catering (who they use exclusively to cater) and assured us that everything would be fine.

We won't have the opportunity to use the venue because of some hard times that both my fiance and my family have fallen on. But, even though we won't be using them as our venue... I have NOTHING but amazing things to say about the team Karl has assembled at The Veranda. From the food, to making the venue look absolutely more beautiful than before, to the communication between his team and his clients.... you can really tell he wants to make everything perfect for his brides.

I would definitely recommend brides checking out the new and IMPROVED Summerlin House! Read less
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.9/5.0
I love this venue. It's beautiful and a great value. I did, however, have trouble with our coordinator. She was great at first, but then two weeks before our wedding, she cancelled on our final appointment and left us alone with Dubsdread to handle everything. Thank god that Dubsdread is a lifesaver, but I thought it was very unprofessional for her to cancel the day of the meeting, and then she had to constantly email us with questions since she had missed the meeting. A little frustrating, but the venue and bridal suite are well worth it. Bob was amazing, he saw to my every need that day! I would definitely recommend this venue!
I love this venue. It's beautiful and a great value. I did, however, have trouble with our coordinator. She was great at Read more...
I love this venue. It's beautiful and a great value. I did, however, have trouble with our coordinator. She was great at first, but then two weeks before our wedding, she cancelled on our final appointment and left us alone with Dubsdread to handle everything. Thank god that Dubsdread is a lifesaver, but I thought it was very unprofessional for her to cancel the day of the meeting, and then she had to constantly email us with questions since she had missed the meeting. A little frustrating, but the venue and bridal suite are well worth it. Bob was amazing, he saw to my every need that day! I would definitely recommend this venue! Read less
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner, Wedding Venue

MAP

 
111 N Summerlin Ave, Orlando, FL 32801 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Veranda at Thornton Park
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1418838314473 sperry house