130x130 sq 1262469122628 duskexteriorhouselfilmad

The Victorian

Santa Monica , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2640 Main St.
Santa Monica, CA 90405 US (map)

PHONE

310-392-4956

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Santa Monica is famous for its trendy boutiques and bistros,oceanview resorts and powder-sand beaches...it's probably the last place you would expect to find a historic Victorian home... Read more
Santa Monica is famous for its trendy boutiques and bistros,oceanview resorts and powder-sand beaches...it's probably the last place you would expect to find a historic Victorian home and garden. Yet tucked inside Heritage Square on Santa Monica's Main Street, a pale yellow shingled mansion lends a turn of the century gentility to the lovely seaside town. This unexpected juxtaposition of old -fashioned glamour in a contemporary coastal setting makes The Victorian a delightfully intriguing venue for formal banquets, family get- togethers and all sorts of parties--bridal couples in particular are drawn to the home's heirloom look and storied elegance.
Originally built near the Hotel Miramar in 1892 as a residence of one of the neighborhood's founding families, the two story building was moved to it's current location in 1973. Heritage Square is a prime pocket of nostalgic architecture,with the California Heritage Museum and its sprawling lawn on one side and The Victorian on the other. Completely and carefully renovated,The Victorian has had its main rooms enlarged and added a wine cellar for a total of 15,000 square feet of event space including the landscaped grounds.
A brick path leading to the front door(and lined with twinkle lights and candles at night)curves among oak trees,blooming flowers and outdoor seating.As you enter,you're greeted by a polished oak bar,a congenial spot for cocktails,as are the the home's two patios. Throughout, the decor is characteristic of the late 19th century---a mixture of fine antique furnishings,classical artwork and candles.
Cuoples often exchange vows upstairs in a lovely room with a built in bar for champagne toasts and a veranda for pre-ceremony mingling.Open- air ceremonies are held on the museum lawn or even on the beach,a short walk from here.
There's plenty of room both indoors and out for a sit down reception or elegant buffet.The intimate main dining room features an octagonal enclave framed by tall windows,perfect for a bride a grooms table. A line of French doors opens to the terrace,where guests sit among trees that seem to growright up from the wooden floor and through the lattice work canopy. The terrace is enclosed for warmth and comfort,and guests are soothed by the sound of a nearby waterfall.
The Victorian biasts an experienced staff that will help you make the most of this unique property.They've even put together an all-iclusive package that covers: meal service by theirin-house caterer;beer wine champagne and soft bar;rental fee;on-site parking;a spacious dance floor;tables,linens,and chivari chairs;and setup and breakdown-in other words,an easy and stress free way to entertain.
The quaint home and it's tranquil garden are awash in vintage charm,yet the salty tang in the air reminds visitors that the rolling waves are just one block away. With plenty of lodging options close by your out-of-town guests will be thrilled with the opportunity to explore the local scene. Whether you fancy a cozy gathering or a lavish gala,the hospitality offered by The Victorian will lend your celebration the romantic sophistication of a bygone era. Read less
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Rachel and Brian
Wedding:
11/1/2015
4.8/5.0
A beautiful space for wedding photos, ceremony, and reception. There are a ton a different configurations to plan with including indoor and outdoor options. The staff is professional and enthusiastic. The site is clean and parking is convenient. The only major con is that it isn't wheel chair accessible.
A beautiful space for wedding photos, ceremony, and reception. There are a ton a different configurations to plan with Read more...
A beautiful space for wedding photos, ceremony, and reception. There are a ton a different configurations to plan with including indoor and outdoor options. The staff is professional and enthusiastic. The site is clean and parking is convenient. The only major con is that it isn't wheel chair accessible. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Yvette
Wedding:
10/16/2015
4.0/5.0
The Victorian is a beautiful venue! It has a lovely intimate and vintage feel with a beautiful patio and cool bar. The food is very good and the staff were attentive. The venue is best suited for a smaller wedding and for cooler temperatures. Despite the air conditioning being on, the reception area became very warm as the evening progressed, making for sweaty guests and a sweaty bride- even in October. Aside from this, I was truly happy with this choice for our wedding!
The Victorian is a beautiful venue! It has a lovely intimate and vintage feel with a beautiful patio and cool bar. The Read more...
The Victorian is a beautiful venue! It has a lovely intimate and vintage feel with a beautiful patio and cool bar. The food is very good and the staff were attentive. The venue is best suited for a smaller wedding and for cooler temperatures. Despite the air conditioning being on, the reception area became very warm as the evening progressed, making for sweaty guests and a sweaty bride- even in October. Aside from this, I was truly happy with this choice for our wedding! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Alex
Wedding:
10/2/2015
4.8/5.0
My wife and I had our wedding there recently and were completely satisfied with everything. The venue worked with us from beginning to end. The food, space, decorations, merchant referrals, drinks, and whole process was great.
For our food we were invited to tastings and were offered all possible options from cheese plates, walking appetizers, desserts, drinks, and so on. We elected for the poke ahi, cheese plates, ricotta stuffed peppers as appetizers and had no complaints. For dinner we had the filet mignon and seabass and although most elected the filet mignon, I was in love with the fish. Everything was clean, professional, pristine, elegant, and timely. Both my wife and I were looking for something classy, intimate, literary, and vintage and this venue met our every need. The aesthetics and options of rooms was worth it. Overall, our only tidbit was timely responses to communication (which weren't bad but could've been improved) they usually got back to us within 3-4 days, but other than that we enjoyed every second :) Thank you to everyone at The Victorian, we will definitely be back whether it is for another occasion or even for the speak easy bar downstairs :)
My wife and I had our wedding there recently and were completely satisfied with everything. The venue worked with us from Read more...
My wife and I had our wedding there recently and were completely satisfied with everything. The venue worked with us from beginning to end. The food, space, decorations, merchant referrals, drinks, and whole process was great.
For our food we were invited to tastings and were offered all possible options from cheese plates, walking appetizers, desserts, drinks, and so on. We elected for the poke ahi, cheese plates, ricotta stuffed peppers as appetizers and had no complaints. For dinner we had the filet mignon and seabass and although most elected the filet mignon, I was in love with the fish. Everything was clean, professional, pristine, elegant, and timely. Both my wife and I were looking for something classy, intimate, literary, and vintage and this venue met our every need. The aesthetics and options of rooms was worth it. Overall, our only tidbit was timely responses to communication (which weren't bad but could've been improved) they usually got back to us within 3-4 days, but other than that we enjoyed every second :) Thank you to everyone at The Victorian, we will definitely be back whether it is for another occasion or even for the speak easy bar downstairs :) Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Vanessa
Wedding:
5/23/2015
5.0/5.0
The Victorian staff were absolutely wonderful to work with. From Holly in sales/coordination to the catering/wait staff...they were dreams! The night of our wedding the servers made sure to always keep me and my husband happy at all times. The food was phenomenal as well! We had multiple stationary appetizers which had anything from a huge delicious baked Brie and charcuterie to a delicious Mediterranean spread. For dinner we opted for the prime rib (the hit of the night), chicken with wild rice or polenta cake for the vegetarians. All were sooo good. We didn't hear one complaint from any of our 185 guests about any of it! All of the above plus a gorgeous vintage venue... You can't beat that!
The Victorian staff were absolutely wonderful to work with. From Holly in sales/coordination to the catering/wait Read more...
The Victorian staff were absolutely wonderful to work with. From Holly in sales/coordination to the catering/wait staff...they were dreams! The night of our wedding the servers made sure to always keep me and my husband happy at all times. The food was phenomenal as well! We had multiple stationary appetizers which had anything from a huge delicious baked Brie and charcuterie to a delicious Mediterranean spread. For dinner we opted for the prime rib (the hit of the night), chicken with wild rice or polenta cake for the vegetarians. All were sooo good. We didn't hear one complaint from any of our 185 guests about any of it! All of the above plus a gorgeous vintage venue... You can't beat that! Read less
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Angele
Wedding:
4/25/2015
5.0/5.0
We got married at The Victorian and it was amazing!

We primarily worked with Holly and she was phenomenal from start to finish. She answered all my questions and more. She made the entire experience wonderful and was so flexible and accommodating.

The food was phenomenal, the service was great, the bar is the best around (everyone LOOOOVED the bar)! They make great specialty drinks!

The venue itself is a historical home and beautiful - very intimate feel; it's two stories and has space inside and outside. You don't need to decorate very much because it's so beautiful just the way it is.

The lighting is set up beautifully, the votive candles are included, a beautiful chandelier... makes for stunning photos.

The groomsmen got ready at "The Basement", which is their bar downstairs. They offered the guys drinks while they got ready and took photos. The ambiance there is really cool.

The guests were greeted with champagne and well attended to. As the bride and groom, we had a server attend to us all night, making sure we were well fed and always had water and/or a drink in hand. That was REALLY nice, as it's hard to make time to even grab an appetizer!

The venue is only 2 blocks from the beach, so we were able to break away for 10 minutes and get beautiful beach photos.

Overall, phenomenal experience!
We got married at The Victorian and it was amazing!

We primarily worked with Holly and she was phenomenal from Read more...
We got married at The Victorian and it was amazing!

We primarily worked with Holly and she was phenomenal from start to finish. She answered all my questions and more. She made the entire experience wonderful and was so flexible and accommodating.

The food was phenomenal, the service was great, the bar is the best around (everyone LOOOOVED the bar)! They make great specialty drinks!

The venue itself is a historical home and beautiful - very intimate feel; it's two stories and has space inside and outside. You don't need to decorate very much because it's so beautiful just the way it is.

The lighting is set up beautifully, the votive candles are included, a beautiful chandelier... makes for stunning photos.

The groomsmen got ready at "The Basement", which is their bar downstairs. They offered the guys drinks while they got ready and took photos. The ambiance there is really cool.

The guests were greeted with champagne and well attended to. As the bride and groom, we had a server attend to us all night, making sure we were well fed and always had water and/or a drink in hand. That was REALLY nice, as it's hard to make time to even grab an appetizer!

The venue is only 2 blocks from the beach, so we were able to break away for 10 minutes and get beautiful beach photos.

Overall, phenomenal experience! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130 sq 1393478592500 p101296
Drew
Wedding:
8/16/2014
5.0/5.0
What an amazing venue. Perfect in every sense of the word. Our planners, Holly and Aisha, delivered everything they said they would plus so much more. Our guests marvelled at our choice of venue - and we could not be happier. (The only sad thing is not seeing Holly and Aisha as much, but, we have two new friends -- yay!)

As for the food, the salmon was moist and perfectly cooked. The appetizer platters won high praise from our friends and family.

We also loved how the event moved from outdoors to upstairs, with the downstairs patio and dining room in between. The wait staff was extremely friendly, courteous and attentive. Is it too soon to start planning our vow renewal here?
What an amazing venue. Perfect in every sense of the word. Our planners, Holly and Aisha, delivered everything they said Read more...
What an amazing venue. Perfect in every sense of the word. Our planners, Holly and Aisha, delivered everything they said they would plus so much more. Our guests marvelled at our choice of venue - and we could not be happier. (The only sad thing is not seeing Holly and Aisha as much, but, we have two new friends -- yay!)

As for the food, the salmon was moist and perfectly cooked. The appetizer platters won high praise from our friends and family.

We also loved how the event moved from outdoors to upstairs, with the downstairs patio and dining room in between. The wait staff was extremely friendly, courteous and attentive. Is it too soon to start planning our vow renewal here? Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
I was looking for a vintage venue for my wedding this past February, and immediately fell in love with the Victorian. The building is beautiful, a Victorian house from the late 1800s. As a wedding venue, you get a lot of bang for your buck: the per head price includes dinner (buffet or sit down at the same price), 3 hours beer/wine/champagne, cake cutting included, tables, chairs, linens, valet parking, security, and a bunch of other little things that are necessary for hosting weddings and other fancy parties. We had the ceremony upstairs in the evening in the beautiful library, backlit by the lights in the willow trees outside. Our reception was downstairs in their dining room, with the most amazing wedding food ever! Seriously, I have never had wedding food that good, our guests could not stop raving about it! Our guests also kept mentioning how our venue fit us as a couple perfectly. It really is the perfect place for a vintage themed wedding like ours. Most importantly, the people who are working there are phenomenal. Holly the events manager is the best, always going above and beyond to help me with any little questions or problems that arose. She even helped coordinate our rehearsal the night before and helped us figure out our entrance order, and let us store some things overnight in her office so we would have less crap to bring the morning of. She was there the entire day to assist in every way possible, and our wedding set up and ceremony ran so smoothly because of her. If you are thinking of having an event here, request her as your liason! For our reception our wait captain Kelly was amazing as well, making sure that we actually ate during our wedding! The entire wait staff and bartenders were superb. I could not have asked for a better wedding venue.
I was looking for a vintage venue for my wedding this past February, and immediately fell in love with the Victorian. The Read more...
I was looking for a vintage venue for my wedding this past February, and immediately fell in love with the Victorian. The building is beautiful, a Victorian house from the late 1800s. As a wedding venue, you get a lot of bang for your buck: the per head price includes dinner (buffet or sit down at the same price), 3 hours beer/wine/champagne, cake cutting included, tables, chairs, linens, valet parking, security, and a bunch of other little things that are necessary for hosting weddings and other fancy parties. We had the ceremony upstairs in the evening in the beautiful library, backlit by the lights in the willow trees outside. Our reception was downstairs in their dining room, with the most amazing wedding food ever! Seriously, I have never had wedding food that good, our guests could not stop raving about it! Our guests also kept mentioning how our venue fit us as a couple perfectly. It really is the perfect place for a vintage themed wedding like ours. Most importantly, the people who are working there are phenomenal. Holly the events manager is the best, always going above and beyond to help me with any little questions or problems that arose. She even helped coordinate our rehearsal the night before and helped us figure out our entrance order, and let us store some things overnight in her office so we would have less crap to bring the morning of. She was there the entire day to assist in every way possible, and our wedding set up and ceremony ran so smoothly because of her. If you are thinking of having an event here, request her as your liason! For our reception our wait captain Kelly was amazing as well, making sure that we actually ate during our wedding! The entire wait staff and bartenders were superb. I could not have asked for a better wedding venue. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.8/5.0
beautiful venue, lovely staff, and amazing service! Holly and Aisha were some of the most helpful and pleasant people that i've ever worked with during the wedding planning process. our guests were thoroughly impressed by the venue and the food!
beautiful venue, lovely staff, and amazing service! Holly and Aisha were some of the most helpful and pleasant people that Read more...
beautiful venue, lovely staff, and amazing service! Holly and Aisha were some of the most helpful and pleasant people that i've ever worked with during the wedding planning process. our guests were thoroughly impressed by the venue and the food! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.7/5.0
We got married at the Victorian in August 2014 and we loved it. All of our guests also loved it. This place is magical and we really didn't have to add any decoration to make it beautiful.
Also it's not that pricey compared to a lot of other places in the area. We worked with Holly and she was really sweet and professional. We really loved working with her and she was really helpful all the time.

I would really recommend this place, you and your guests would love it!!
We got married at the Victorian in August 2014 and we loved it. All of our guests also loved it. This place is magical and Read more...
We got married at the Victorian in August 2014 and we loved it. All of our guests also loved it. This place is magical and we really didn't have to add any decoration to make it beautiful.
Also it's not that pricey compared to a lot of other places in the area. We worked with Holly and she was really sweet and professional. We really loved working with her and she was really helpful all the time.

I would really recommend this place, you and your guests would love it!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Everything about the Victorian was perfect for my ceremony and wedding! The location, the decor, the staff, the food... everything! All my guests gushed about my wedding and I thank the Victorian for making it just perfect!
Everything about the Victorian was perfect for my ceremony and wedding! The location, the decor, the staff, the food... Read more...
Everything about the Victorian was perfect for my ceremony and wedding! The location, the decor, the staff, the food... everything! All my guests gushed about my wedding and I thank the Victorian for making it just perfect! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
2640 Main St., Santa Monica, CA 90405 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Victorian
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1262469122628 duskexteriorhouselfilmad