130x130_sq_1373913096234-villa

The Villa at Mountain Lakes

Moutain Lakes , NJ
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

90 Route 46 East
Moutain Lakes, NJ US 07046 (map)

PHONE

973-335-5300

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

3.7
out of 5.0
3.8/5.0
3.4/5.0
3.5/5.0
3.9/5.0
3.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katemarie
Wedding:
3/23/2014
4.8/5.0
I had Angel as my event coordinator, and he was spectacular. He made sure that everything went according to plan and that our wedding stayed on track. Further, the food was spectacular!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
3.9/5.0
The Villa is a beautiful venue and overall, we were happy with the quality of service on the day of our wedding. The grounds and rooms (including the grand ballroom) were well groomed and set up for the day. From what we could tell, the service staff also did a very good job in attending to everything.

For the most part all the details that we requested were taken care of on the day of the wedding. There were a few minor glitches, such as our cake not being brought out to the middle of the stage (instead, it was set up in a corner of the stage). Also, some of the lights in the ballroom didn't work on the day of, so we didn't have a full light on us for our grand entrance. But overall, these were somewhat minor issues, and overall we were very pleased with the services.

That said, we later learned from some other vendors that the venue event manager on the day of was at times uncooperative and unhelpful. We also had less than ideal interactions with him during the few months before the wedding. While he was very accommodating and flexible in ultimately meeting our needs, his communication style was quite poor. Often we did not hear back from him until we followed up several times, and his written communications were unclear. He was not attentive to details, and thus did not inspire confidence that our requests for the day-of would be addressed well. We and our wedding coordinator had to be persistent in following up and asking several times if certain details would be attended to.That said, we were pleasantly surprised on the day of that most of the details were carried out as we had requested and that things went very smoothly.

Overall, our guests really enjoyed the wedding, and so did we. So we have no regrets in picking the Villa. We just had to be very proactive along the way in getting the information we needed from the venue event manager.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We had our Wedding in there Grand Ballroom. I have to say the cocktail hour was amazing with wonderfull food displays and hand carried items. We also had a sangria bar to die for. Angle was our Maitre D and he did everything for us. He ran our flawless event. The location is so beautifull as we fell in love with it on our first visit. Allison was also very helpfull in the office getting me what ever I needed. The Frungillos really do know how to host a wedding. Even my Mother-in -law loved everything!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.0/5.0
I will NEVER recommend this place. I had my party a month ago and it was an unsuccessful experience. At first we planned the event with two people who didn't know how to communicate with each other. We got the best package available. For the first hour of our party we were missing the most expensive alcohol. For a party of 50 we had one waiter for our cocktail hour. Not all the food was served during it as well. We kept trying to get a hold of someone, we missed our party wasting time sitting in the office asking for food that was on our contract. Nobody ever came over to us to ask if everything was ok. Dinner was ok. Cake was decent, there was a few pastries on the plate but nowhere near enough. I've never complained over this type of thing ever, that was my child's first communion, I planned my wedding and my other kids christening and communions before and from some places I left with several trays of left over food. I left there hungry as well as my guests. It's nice on the outside but the inside is nothing but a disappointment. After the party I tried to reach out to the owner but I was unsuccessful. My life experience for my child is ruined and there's nothing I can do to change it. I will NEVER recommend this place.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nalaka
Wedding:
4/20/2013
0.0/5.0
Worst service ever. Maybe ok for a small party but they couldn't handle a large crowd. Very poor service, even the basics are missing.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sheri
Wedding:
4/14/2013
0.7/5.0
they were horrible very bad service we had to rush our rehearsal the bathroom smell awful they told us all nice things but put out something else they took a very long time to contact us i felt cheated on my wedding day i was not happy after the wedding my husband send them an email and they did not response we have the wedding video to prove the facts
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ron and Stacy
Wedding:
4/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Nothing but first class all the way. From how the grounds looked to the main ballroom the Villa was everything it was billed as. The bridal room was a bit small as we wanted to spend the entire cocktail hour there but we worked that out. My wedding cake was great. John Willliams there baker sat with us to make sure the cake was exactly what we wanted. It was for sure a special day for all of us. Ben was our my Matrie d and he handled all my samll details and was there for me ever step of the way. Food was FANTASTIC>>>>>>
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Theresa
Wedding:
12/1/2012
4.1/5.0
Our wedding was perfect!
Our guest still are talking about how much fun they had and how beautiful our venue was. The Villa at Mountain Lakes is a phenomenal venue completely redone in the last year. My wedding was held in the grand ballroom on December 1. It was very important to my husband and I that the venue was decorated for Christmas, and The Villa did an amazing job making the venue feel warm and cozy, yet romantic and full of holiday spirit. So many of our guests have used pictures taken there with family for Christmas cards this year. Linda was our maitre d and boy did we get the most amazing person to help us on our special day. She went up and beyond what I expected from a maitre d, she even called me the week before to go over details and things promised to us. She made me feel completely at ease! Thank you Linda! Leading up to the wedding I had some concerns with phone calls not being returned and no one really contacting me months leading up to the big day, although it concerned me I spoke with Rob Frungillo and I felt very comfortable. Rob promised my husband and I many up grades and he was true to his word on every single one! We thank you! It did not go unnoticed! If you are the type of person who is going to need to talk to someone at there venue every month this may not be the place for you but if you are able to let go and let the professionals do there job The Villa will come through! Our day was magical, the food was fantastic, and our cake delicious! I'm giving them 4 out of 5 stars only because of the difficulty at some points to get answers over the phone & my cake topper was lost.

Thank you..... Ed, Linda, & Rob!!!


All the best!

Theresa & Jason
December 1, 2012
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Just go t married at the Villa last week. Was Excellent!!!!! every detail was taken care off. I was so scared when my event planner did not come thru but when I honestly explain this to the Villa management asking them to help me as live in Texas and could be there physically to do the planning.
The Villa Manager helped me every step, every request of mine was honored at NO extra fee I got my event plan by The Manager so well. Even on the day off we could not make it on time The Villa staff took care of our every Guest and moved things around so flawlessly MY BIG day was great even gave us extra dancing time knowing that we had lost time because of our mistake .
I just wish to say BIG thank you Mr. Terence and his team. We will always remember you…. Thank you hope u get to read this.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
2.1/5.0
We were recently married at the Villa. After we signed the contract I called 10 times without a call back to me. Then, we were bounced around to at least 3 different wedding coordinators. the week before the wedding we were called back to go over everything again because we were once again bounced to another coordinatoe. the week of the wedding i kept calling the villa with no response. then, the fri. before while i was running around getting guests from the airport and tried calling again and was told i needed to come back in that day to go over things again. it was an unprofessional joke. i was so upset to have added stress and not even sure if the wedding would happen. at the cocktail hour they had nice stations but promised us the world on passed apps and it was light on the food. seated dinner was fine.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
1.3/5.0
We were very underwhelmed with the Villa. At the beginning of the planning process, we were working with one sales director and one maitre d. A year later, we had been through two other maitre d's. Upon our meeting in April, the maitre d we were working with seemed unorganized and did not make us feel comfortable. We asked for someone else to work with, and finally was working with a banquet manager. We were unable to get some of the appetizers that were promised to us at our initial booking that was unable to be achieved at our wedding because of the change of staff. After we were assigned the banquet manager, I received a phone call stating that we needed to change rooms due to the size of our wedding. We were told our wedding was too big to be accommodated in the smaller room. When we arrived on our wedding night, we were shocked to find out we were no longer allowed to be in the larger room and were in the smaller room that we were told we would not fit in. On top of that, the tables that were set up did not have enough chairs or had too many chairs for our guests. This was extremely embarrassing as some of guests did not have seats and upon entering the room, the staff had to reset the tables to accommodate our guests. One of tables that was meant for 8-10 people had 11 people. The people at the table could not all be pushed in at once. Throughout the night, the banquet manager was difficult to track down and did not provide guidance throughout the night.For the amount of money spent, we expected a much better experience. We were very disappointed and would not recommend the Villa.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chery of Cheryl
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Our guest list was 200 people. We had a small ceremony in the garden ny the Coy Pond and then following the ceremony was our outdoor cocktail reception. After the full hour of cocktails, we enjoyed our 4 hour reception in the ballroom. The food was EXCELLENT with a few personal touches by Chef Joanna. The services were very good as all of the details of our wedding were carefully discussed. The Band, Florist and vendors we used did an incredible job including making our ballroom look beautiful. The music got our guests up and dancing non-stop. The Frungillo Family & Staff went out of their way to make us ALL feel like guests at our own wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I just came across this site and I wanted to add my voice to those that have commented about The Villa at Mountain Lakes. I must tell you that our wedding at The Villa went extremely well. The staff was courteous, the food was tasty and presented very well and the ballroom was set very elegantly. We had originally had only 100 guest and our reception was contracted in a smaller room however when we reached almost 150 guests, the Frungillo's upgraded us to the Grand Ballroom at NO ADDITIONAL COST! I have to tell you that this was amazing as the newly decorated Grand Ballroom was equipped with up lighting that really set the mood for our wedding.

Robert Frungillo called a week prior to our wedding and asked me what my favorite color was....perplexed I asked why and he told me that they were upgrading us and that he would have the room flooded with a beautiful light blue color. Well he did and boy were our guests wowed!

We had a great time at our wedding thanks to Robert and The Villa's staff.

Sincerely Joan C.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Danielle
Wedding:
5/19/2012
2.6/5.0
If my husband and I rated the Villa before the Finals (i.e. the finalizing details stage), we would have given them fives across the board. The salesman that we worked with up to this point was amazing and very responsive. Once we hit the Finals, things changed. We had to reach out to the Villa to make our Finals appointment on our own, they tried to charge us on gratuity for rented chairs and napkins when this was already a part of the rented price, we had to continually reach out to them to make sure the details were being finalized, and during the end of our cocktail hour I saw one of the waitresses yelling at our event coordinator never to talk to her badly again in front of guests. The Villa is such a beautiful venue and we had such a great experience in the beginning so it is very unfortunate that we had a bad experience the last few weeks leading up to our wedding. Because of this we would not recommend the venue.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cristina
Wedding:
2/25/2012
4.6/5.0
My husband and I had our reception in the Regency Room on February 25, 2012. The venue is beautiful. Our matre d was great to work with. Most importantly, all our guest raved about the food and the impressiveness of the venue. The only complaint I would have is that before you sign the contract, they are very responsive, but after you sign the contract, it is very difficult to get in touch with them until about 2 months before the wedding when the menu is due. Also, we were told before we signed the contract that any cake of our choice is included (including red velvet which is what we asked and wanted). Then when the menu was due, they told us only chocolate, vanilla and lemon cakes are included, and red velvet would be an extra $500. But when I told them that we were assured that all cakes were included, they did not charge us extra for our choice of cake.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aaltera
Wedding:
9/24/2011
3.8/5.0
The Villa is an absolutly beautiful place to have a wedding. There are many rooms to choose from for all different guest numbers. Food is amazing, everyone loved it! One note: they only do tastings BEFORE you book, we had to argue for a tasting later. They prepared main meals but we had to ask to try a sample of appetizers. Also we asked to sample the cake and after a long hassle to get the samples they were very poor (dry and almost no filling). BUT in reaching the owner and expressing our concerns he said he would ensure a perfect cake on our wedding day, and it was. One of the most moist wedding cakes I have ever had.
Also, do not expect to hear from your salesperson after you sign the contract, they do not return calls and you are left wondering who the hell you will ask all your questions. But as soon as they assign you a wedding coordinator, I had Joe'l, they are quick to answer ALL your questions. We did have an incident with Joe'l however after my complaint about the cake samples and she accidently sent an email to me instead of a co-worker stating that i was crazy. Once again I went to the owner who is very good at returning calls. He quickly assigned me another maitre'd, Ben and did everything to ensure that I was happy with my day. Ben was a miracle. He made the day go so perfectly and was very attentive to our needs. the entire staff was as well always making sure there was a fresh drink waiting for you. Overall, I would definitly recommend the Villa. I did have a few problems but as soon as they found out they did anything they needed to to make me happy. Price for all the food was very resonable. Our wedding was in September and we only had a 100 guest minimum for the "smaller" ballroom and a much better price per plate then most places we visited.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
11/13/2010
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was absolutely amazing. People are still talking about how good the food was. The villa help make our wedding extra special and unique.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meriam
Wedding:
10/10/2010
4.8/5.0
The Villa is a beautiful and elegant reception site. Their staff is very professional and accomodating. Their food is excellent and the amount of food you get with your package is unbelievable. Joel was our Maitre d', which resulted in a flawless execution of the night. There was one minor issue we had at first, which was getting in touch with them a while before the event. They normally have you choose everything about 1 month prior to the event, but we learned that later. One thing to watch out for, they only do food tastings before you book, NOT after. We still didn't have a problem with that because everyone always raved about the quality of their food. Overall, excellent site. I would definitely recommend it for any brides.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Darlene
Wedding:
8/29/2009
5.0/5.0
The Villa has it all for a reasonable price. It is has class from beginning to end. Everyone at the Villa was so helpful and made our wedding so special. The cocktail hour was fantastic and the food was excellent. All our guests are still telling us it was the best wedding that they had ever been too! Thank you to everyone at the Villa!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tiffany
Wedding:
2/14/2009
4.6/5.0
I knew I wanted to get married at the Villa from the first time I visited their website. It just seemed to have all the things I was looking for in a wedding venue: extensive cocktail menu, beautiful ballroom with sky painted ceiling, top shelf liquor and a good price. Being we were getting married in February it was important to us to pick a venue that was accessible by main roads (in case of bad weather).

I was in the larger ballroom and I think it is really pretty. There are high ceilings with a mural painted over the dance floor. The real seller for us was the stage in the room. We knew we wanted to have a band and thought the stage was really unique and absolutely perfect.

They were willing to negotiate with me and brought the price to a very affordable point for me. Even with the higher price, we probably would have considered them anyway. I have heard of other girls negotiating extras in. I did not think to do that, but I was happy with my significant price deduction.

The day of the wedding everything was perfect for me. I was treated very well. They took orders for food in the bridal suite and were very accommodating. My husband always had a dink waiting for him at the table and they were very attentive to our needs. The bridal suite was beautiful and large and was plenty of room for the whole bridal party to hangout in. Right outside the suite is a little outdoor area that was actually perfect for our outdoor pictures.
From the guest perspective (and this is hard because obviously people are only going to tell me the good things) I think they were happy with their food. A ton of people commented to me that they loved the smashed potato bar (mashed potatoes in martini glasses with any topping you could wan) and the Chinese takeout bar (take out boxes and chopsticks with Chinese food). A bit gimmicky- but it seemed to be something that people had not seen before and thought was really cute.
We have a lot of drinkers in our crowd and we were really concerned about there being only one bar in the room. Well they made it work and there was never a line. They took drink orders table side and I guess the bartenders busted their butts moving. They were willing to give people shots and people told me the drinks were good and not watered down at all.
I wasn?t totally thrilled with the look of my cake. I feel as if it could have been a bit more decorated. The pictures I showed them had more detailing. It tasted good though- and that?s what really matters. They also made my husband a side cake of carrot cake because he said it was his favorite. He loved it!

Overall I am very happy with my choice and I would definitely go back to the Villa for future parties.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
aj82777
Wedding:
3/8/2008
4.2/5.0
I worked with Jo'el and she was wonderful. She was thrown a wrench in the day of my wedding by having it being a complete downpour and a friend go into labor the second she walked into the hallway. She handled it with grace and everything still went off without a hitch. We did lose power for about one minute (because of the weather) before either the backup generator or the power went back on. They were very accomodating and I would have another affair there in a second. The only negative is that after I booked the wedding I didnt hear from the guy I booked with. But once I started working with Jo'el everything went smoothly.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cesca
Wedding:
8/12/2006
4.7/5.0
The owners are amazing and the price was fair. The service was great except for one of the planners who seemed unwilling to help me with planning...but once the owners take notice to any displeased client at any level, they make it a point to do right. Because of the Frungillo brother's, my wedding was beautiful!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
waterburyj
Wedding:
7/19/2003
4.2/5.0
It was so easy to work iwth the villa. They were responsive and had everything i needed for my day.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue

MAP

 
90 Route 46 East, Moutain Lakes, NJ 07046 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Villa at Mountain Lakes
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo