130x130_sq_1229892605557-image001

The Wedding Dress

Portland , CT
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

222 Main Street
Portland, CT US 06480 (map)

PHONE

860-342-5361

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Wedding Dress is a quaint boutique conveniently located at 222 Main Street in Portland, Connecticut. We feature a diverse selection of unique wedding attire for brides, bridesmaids,... Read more
The Wedding Dress is a quaint boutique conveniently located at 222 Main Street in Portland, Connecticut. We feature a diverse selection of unique wedding attire for brides, bridesmaids, mothers, and flower girls, in addition to wide selection of headpieces, custom veils, lingerie, jewelry, and shoes.

Our Silver Needle Award winning designer has personally selected our collection of striking gowns and beautiful accessories. Shelley has won awards from fashion icons such as Bob Mackie and Marc Jacobs. She even created a black lace wedding gown for the late Gianni Versace. The family operated salon's knowledgeable consultants will gladly work one-on-one with you to create your ideal look.

Come visit The Wedding Dress, and we are sure that you will find that "distinctive style for your walk down the aisle!"

Walk-ins are welcome, but appointments are recommended.


Like us on facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Wedding-Dress/141147728764?ref=hl
Bride's Choice Award Winner 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013 Read less
Dress & Attire

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1238494563298-2007taylor02
130x130_sq_1238494730360-d586nt
130x130_sq_1238494769032-d750f
130x130_sq_1266888559416-giselleback
130x130_sq_1266888560150-kaitlinback
130x130_sq_1266888562494-oliviaback
130x130_sq_1266888562775-paigefront
130x130_sq_1266888564119-tessback
130x130_sq_1266888564838-suzettefront

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Bride, Bridesmaids, Flower Girls, Mother of the Bride, Mother of the Groom, Ring Bearers
What accessories do you provide?
Garters, Hair Accessories, Jewelry, Shoes, Undergarments, Veils

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kathleen
Wedding:
4/11/2015
5.0/5.0
I am the mother of the bride. My daughter and I have had a wonderful time shopping for wedding dresses for the past three months. We went to five different shops and returned to buy my daughter's gown at The Wedding Dress. We stayed for over three hours during our first visit and two hours the next! We didn't want to leave...such a relaxed and comfortable boutique! We have spent all of our time so far with Lisa who has been so kind and patient with us. My daughter tried on dress after dress...never feeling pressured for one minute. What a wonderful experience for a young lady who is so looking forward to planning her big day! Lisa is so helpful and created so many different looks with all the gowns...combining belts, veils, petticoats, hair adornments etc. She is creative and detail oriented. She was always respectful of my daughter's requests, and, always responded with an honest and kind opinion of the options. I am so glad we retuned to The Wedding Dress to buy her dress....so many different style dresses and very reasonably priced. I look forward to returning there for my dress and to work with the staff! Thank you Lisa!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Thanks to Lisa for helping me pick out the most amazing dress for my wedding day! She was SO sweet and you could tell she took her job very seriously. Lisa took my measurements so perfectly that I did not need alterations to the sizing at all. I only needed minor alterations to the neckline and cups added in, plus the necessary bustle. Everyone was so helpful and it felt like they were emotionally invested in my special day. They took their time with me and helped answer any questions. Thank you ladies for making this important part of the wedding process so smooth and stress-free for me!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I was really impressed with The Wedding Dress in Portland; from the minute they answered the phone & were friendly & flexible about scheduling an appointment around my insane schedule, I knew this was going to be a different experience.

I had only been to one other bridal store so far, but it left me stressed & miserable, dreading my next expedition!

The staff there was incredibly friendly, laid-back, and REAL! They made me feel comfortable, and free to say whatever I wanted. They gave REAL feedback, instead of telling you EVERY dress looks fabulous on you (which is totally useless!) They know their dresses & designers, and know exactly when to make suggestions & find a dress that combines multiple elements you're looking for, but also know when to let you make your own choices.

Their selection is fairly extensive, especially given the smaller size of the store. They have a huge variety of Lee Ann Belter's dresses, seem very familiar with her style & have worked with her on many custom designs. They're beyond responsive, and answer emails late on Friday of a holiday weekend. Doesn't get more dedicated than that!

These women are BEYOND patient when it comes to letting you try on whatever dress you want, no matter how many times you change your mind. They're funny & sweet, and most importantly, honest! Their flexibility, laid-back attitude & incredibly reasonable prices make the trip up to Portland well worth the drive.

So thank you to Lisa & Shelley -- you saved the wedding dress experience for me!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I can not put into words how awesome this place is! The selection was huge, the staff was so friendly and down to earth. I love this place from start to finish! I went in had my appointment was able to work one on one with them to find my perfect dream gown! It was such a beautiful experience and it didn't stop there! My bridal fitting was only the beginning. They helped me pick out the perfect veil, headpiece, shoes! And the bridesmaids selection was great! I had 6 maids and all different shapes and we were able to make everyone happy with all the choices they had! I even was able to get my maids gifts from there. They have jewelry at great prices!!! Such a beautiful elegant little boutique with so much to offer! Then on my wedding day one of the bridal consultants was also a hair and makeup artist. Sarah came to where I got ready and did all of my wedding parties hair and makeup and helped me get dressed!!! What bridal salon offers such great service from start to finish! I love this place and wouldn't tell anyone to go anywhere else! You must check them
Out!!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
From the day I picked out my dress to the day I picked it up you were always extremely helpful. I was referred to The Wedding Dress by two friends of mine. I never felt pressured to purchase a dress and Lisa was very respectful of the price range i wanted to stay within. Thank you for making what can be a stressful experience, very relaxed.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
My daughter was getting married out of state,I needed a mother of the bride dress.I also had some health issues going on at the same time.The Wedding Dress in Portand could not have been more helpful.The service was wonderful,I felt as though they took care of me as if I was onme of their Mom's picking out a dress.
I have never received more compliments on how wonderful I looked.I can not give the staff and service more accolades.Thank you so much!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I first started looking at reviews for wedding dress venues and always came across this store with high rates! Now i can chime in on my experience. I am busty and was so nervous about wedding dresses because i never thought I would find a dress that would fit perfect! Little did I know that here in Portland my dress was waiting for me. This wedding store is a small elegant shop with such friendly staff that it was a blessing to go into every time. My dress is amazing and everything i could ever dream of and fits me perfect in all the right spots! I also got an excellent price and completely shocked everyone on the cost i spent for such a beautiful gown!!! I would HIGHLY recommend this vendor to a friend and also everyone reading this rating. I went to several places for wedding dresses and the dresses that were inexpensive looked cheap and just so understated their dresses here you could tell were made with care and are top quality! My veil I costumed ordered was BEYOND perfect it matched my dress perfectly and even though my wedding is not for another 6 months I try it on often with the crown I purchased here! Please do not take my word for it but if you are into the princess theme check out their amazing crowns!! So excited for my wedding...
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
9/7/2012
5.0/5.0
My dress was my most favorite part of our wedding. The Wedding Dress has so many beautiful and unique dresses. The staff is very knowledgeable, easy going and really friendly. I had so much fun trying on a ton of dresses and I never felt rushed or pressured to buy anything. I also purchased my veil and all of the shoes for the wedding party from the Wedding Dress. They have a lot of cute shoes that are dyable, which was perfect for my situation. My bridesmaids were wearing pink shoes and we couldn't find cute dyable shoes anywhere! We were so happy with everything we purchased and I can't wait for my sister to get married so we can go back!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paolo
Wedding:
9/7/2012
4.9/5.0
The Wedding Dress was so friendly and helpful. They found and modified my dress to perfection. I never received so many compliments on how pretty I was. I would like to thank the wedding dress for making the picking out of the dress an easy part of my wedding planning. Every time I went in to pick the dress or fittings they made me fell like I was going to a family members house. I loved them.
Sincerely Alicia
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1327205518671-menjimmy
Amanda
Wedding:
8/4/2012
4.1/5.0
This is a rather small bridal shop which makes it very personal. The main staff is wonderful to work with and very attentive to their brides needs. A word of caution if you are ordering a dress with any changes from the original as I did. When my dress finally came in it was not what I had ordered and it took much convincing of the woman working with me that day to actually get my order and check it. She kept insisting it was right and I just didn't remember. When she finally got the order and realized their was indeed an error the main staff took over and was very helpful in sending my dress back to the designer to have it corrected. In the end it turned out beautiful and was exactly what I imagined.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angel
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
I love this store!!!! I found the most beautiful Ball Gown, I truly felt like a princess on my special day. Shelly Baily, and her staff are very tuned in, to what every bride needs. I am already planning to renew my vows so I can wear another unique gown, from The Wedding Dress!!!~ Angel Amarante Higgins
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alyson
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Excellent selection, good quality and fair prices. The place to go if you don't want to have to take out a mortgage to buy your dresss but also don't want a crap dress from Davids Bridal. Everyone there was awesome and very nice. Good customer service. Also does in store alterations that are fairly priced as well.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg6
Eileen
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Shelly at The Wedding dress should be the first and last place you go. My sister got married last September and we got her dress as well as all the bridal party dresses and mother of the bride dresses at the Wedding Dress. I got married this June and also purchased all of our dresses from The Wedding Dress.

Working with Shelly and Lisa was an amazing experience, they were so accommodating and everything turned out perfect. Shelly has an amazing selection of dresses to choose from and never once was anyone pushy. This boutique has such a personal feel and it was always so much fun either be trying on dresses or going in for fittings. If you looking for a store with amazing service and a great affordable selection then you will find it at The Wedding Dress!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meghan
Wedding:
6/1/2012
4.9/5.0
The staff at The Wedding Dress we absolutely wonderful! When perusing through pictures of wedding dresses in the early stages of planning, I knew I wanted an "Essence of Australia" gown, and had several in mind to try on. The Wedding Dress was the only boutique in the state that carried that particular brand, and they had all the dresses that I had picked to try on. They were professional, always on time, very attentive but not overbearing, were honest with opinions, and well within my price range! Hours can be a bit limited, especially during the traditional "wedding season," but they are very accommodating and willing to work with time constraints.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
5/20/2012
5.0/5.0
The Wedding Dress is also a wonderful store for prom gowns. My daughter bought her's here last year and we are going back again this week for her upcoming prom. Beautiful atmosphere and great gals to help with your every need.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jenna
Wedding:
10/22/2011
5.0/5.0
LOVED this shop! I chose this shop because they had a dress by a certain designer that I liked, but after trying on the dress, I was upset that it just didn't look good on me, but the sales assistant helped me find a dress that was very similar but longer, and it was just perfect. I absolutely love my dress, and received so many compliments on it, it was exactly what I wanted and this store was able to help me achieve that dream with their selection. Do NOT be put off that it is a small store, it is an absolute gem with an amazing selection, and amazing customer service. They let me try on so many dresses and when I was debating between two dresses, let me try them on again, you'd be surprised but some people do not let you do this, and limit your selections to three. They also don't try to get you to go above your budget, in fact she would tell me if the dress was not in my budget, not get me in it and try to sell it to me. My dress was an amazing value, people assumed that I spent three times the amount on it. Perfect shop, would definitely recommend it! So glad I found this gem!!!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauryn
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
The Wedding Dress was GREAT!!!!!!! I cannot say enough about their service, helpfulness, friendliness, and selection. Shelly, Lisa, and Marion were absolutely wonderful!! I have recommended them to everyone I know. Don't waste your time going anywhere else- The Wedding Dress will be your first and last stop!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg19
Autumn
Wedding:
6/5/2011
5.0/5.0
I purchased my Essence of Australia dress from Lisa at the Wedding Dress. She stayed late one Saturday afternoon to help me and gave no indictaion that the store was closed! The staff was so friendly and helpful I was sad to say goodbye when I finally picked up my gown before my wedding! The alterations were VERY reaosnably priced. My dress had to be taken in a LOT, almost 2 sizes, and I had a very detailed bustle. It was only $85!! I would go back there with any of my friends any time...even though it was an hour away! Worth the trip!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
smore
Wedding:
3/5/2011
4.6/5.0
I highly recommend any woman looking for a wedding dress to please go here. This is one of THE BEST places in CT to get your dress. I went to two other places before this and none compare. The amount of variety in the shop is awesome- and Lisa and Shelley know EVERYTHING about every single one of the dresses in the shop. They are so patient and helpful- I can't say enough good things about them. The only thing that's a little inconvenient is the time the seamstress is there- but she did an AMAZING job on my bustle and hemming the bridesmaid dresses my girls got here as well. They had nothing but great things to say- and I highly recommend this shop. You build a relationship with the women there and are almost sad to pick up your dress and not see them again!!!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
pennylane
Wedding:
7/31/2010
4.9/5.0
Shelly and Lisa were so great to work with. It took me a long time to find my dress and I am so glad I found it at The Wedding Dress. Such a cute shop and the two are so funny and great to be around. Super honest about the dress you will be wearing for the big day, which I though was so important. Not a thing wrong with my dress, it was absolutley perfect, so many compliments! Be sure to make an appt they are super busy ladies :).
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cherry.eclipse
Wedding:
7/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Shelley and Lisa at The Wedding Dress were fantastic! From picking out my dress to the alterations they were there. The shop looks small from the outside, but their stock of dresses is extensive and at a very good price. They give a real personal feel to the dress shopping/buying/altering experience.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bebegee78
Wedding:
6/13/2010
5.0/5.0
i had already known i was destined to buy my dress from shelley!! I knew i wanted and essense of australia dress. and Shelley was the one that would have it for me. i went in open minded to differented dresses and fell in love with one ten minutes into being there i ordered the dress wihtout being abe to try a fitting dress on. sorry sample dress you were just too small. but i took the chance and i love it.. i refuse to preswerve my dress it hangs in my closet so i can play dress up and remmber just how awesome this dress my wedding day and the wedding dress shop really is
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg11
yankegirl8
Wedding:
5/30/2010
5.0/5.0
I love, love, love this shop! I bought my wedding dress here and loved every minute of my experience. I picked out my dress there, but then had the designer make the cut of the dress different and did custom sizing. Originally, because of a shipping error, the wrong dress came in, and Shelley the owner, really stepped up to the plate to make sure that everything was resolved with promptly and perfectly. Shelley is awesome to deal with, and so are all the staff, especially Lisa. My dress came out perfect. I bought my viel and tiara there too, all very afforable. The alterations were also really afforable - cheaper than some of my bridesmaid dress alterations at other shops! They will open special hours if you ask and are so accomodating. I can not say enough about this place, which I would highly recommend!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alegna
Wedding:
10/11/2009
4.5/5.0
For my wedding in the fall of 2009, I went to The Wedding Dress. Lisa and Shelley were both awesome, being so patient with me as I tried on dress after dress. The dress I ended up with was so perfect for me, just as they had suggested before I tried it on. On my wedding day the dress I wore was a complete fit for my personality and style. Everyone still comments on how perfect and beautiful my wedding dress was on me! The service at this small, homely, yet professional store was great. I couldn't have asked for more!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
6/27/2009
5.0/5.0
Shelley and Lisa were amazing! I came into the store distressed that I hadn't found a dress yet, and Lisa helped me try on several different dresses while giving me advice on each one. I never felt pressured to make a decision on a dress that day even though I ended up falling one and buying it. It really goes a long way when you receive good quality service
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jennadistasio
Wedding:
5/18/2009
5.0/5.0
What can I say about Shelly, her staff and shop? Only that she is one of the most amazing people I ever met. Her shop is adorable, her staff friendly and helful.
Whenever I pictured myself trying on my wedding dress, it was always in a shop exactly like hers.
My dress was perfect. It was the first one she picked out for me even though I swore up and down I would never wear a fitted dress or a halter. I tried it on and that was that. It was MY dress. She made sure it was perfect for my day.
She also has brides maids dresses, flower girl dresses, accesories galore, and prom dresses. If you want personalized service in a relaxed and comfortable atomosphere, go to The Wedding Dress. Shelly will make sure you look PERFECT.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CTMayBride
Wedding:
5/9/2009
5.0/5.0
This was the one and only shop I went to looking for my wedding dress. I did some research before I began my search, and I like that this was considered a "small boutique" versus a huge "bridal mall", which I liked. When I got to the shop, I was not dissappointed. The selection was amazing, all unique yet affordable dresses. The staff is so friendly and helpful, it's like they are family. The first dress I tried on ended up being the one I got, but they still let me try on about 30 dresses. I also went there for my veil and alterations, and they did a great job. They truly want you to look your best. At the last fitting, I was actually a little sad to say good bye to the friends I made at the Wedding Dress... If you are looking for personal attention and stunning dresses at a reasonable price, I highly recommend you come here.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julio
Wedding:
10/1/2008
5.0/5.0
Wonderful, they took care of everything. Very professional!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MlyCath
Wedding:
8/2/2008
5.0/5.0
What a great experience! I was so nervous about finding a dress and if I had known it would be this easy, I would have gone to this shop first. The girls in the shop were so helpful and made me feel great without putting any pressure on me. I know they helped me to find the dress that was perfect for me.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
7/21/2007
5.0/5.0
Shelley and her team made me feel like a princess, like I was the only bride they were working for. Before I went to the shop, I had an idea in mind for what I wanted for my dress and luckily Maria pulled a "what not to wear" on me and found me THE PERFECT DRESS!!! I was very happy with the service that The Wedding Dress offered, my only regret is that I did not get my attendants dresses there. Very personal and very professional.
Services Used: Dress & Attire

MAP

 
222 Main Street, Portland, CT 06480 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Wedding Dress
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo