Nophoto-220
The Whitney
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
 
12 Reviews      3 people has saved this vendor.
Address:
Detroit, US
Categories:
 
 
 
4.1 
(4.2/5.0)
 
Quality of Service 
(3.9/5.0)
 
Responsiveness 
(4.2/5.0)
 
Professionalism 
(4.3/5.0)
 
Value 
(4.0/5.0)
 
Flexibility 
Sort
 
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bianca
Wedding:
12/26/2012
 
3.6 out of 5.0
Beautiful location for a small wedding. Food and wait staff were amazing.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1343841291777-wedding8
Beth
Wedding:
6/8/2012
 
5.0 out of 5.0
I used The Whitney for my ceremony location and I couldn't be more thrilled with how things turned out. The staff was great from walk throughs to the rehersal and the day off. It was so beautiful and captured the feeling I wanted for my wedding day. Thank you to everyone who helped make this day run smoothly!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julie
Wedding:
3/24/2012
 
4.3 out of 5.0
When my husband and I got engaged, I knew I didn't want to get married in a hotel, or a country club. I wanted someplace difference, elegant, intimate and beautiful. The Whitney was everything that I wanted and more. I did not utilize a wedding coordinator or planner, and Brigette at the Whitney stepped in and answered every question that I had in a timely manner. The food was great, the venue looked perfect, every single member of the staff was lovely. The only complaint that we had would be the lack of flexibility with timing. Indoor ceremonies have to be complete by 5pm because they open to the public (unless you rent the entire place), so we had to start earlier than we would have liked. Additionally, we couldn't get in until 2 hours prior to the ceremony, which rushed us a bit. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gyulveszi
Wedding:
10/28/2011
 
5.0 out of 5.0
This was the most amazing place to hold a small, intimate wedding. The historical venue provided the perfect backdrop and we were treated amazing by the staff. Especially Brigett Gossett who catered to my every question and made sure that my day went off without a hitch (no pun intended :o)
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natalie
Wedding:
10/22/2011
 
4.8 out of 5.0
Our wedding at The Whitney was absolutely perfect! Kristine Rader, the banquet manager, and her staff were accommodating and made sure everything went off without a hitch. The food was spectacular and the venue was beyond stunning. Early on in the planning process, we had some concern about minor lapses in communication. As the day approached, all of our concerns were alleviated by Kristine's attention to detail. We were also impressed with how quickly and perfectly orders were taken and hors d'oeuvres, dinner, and dessert were served to our 120 guests. We cannot say enough about the venue, it's undeniable charm, and how much our guests loved it!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jaclyn
Wedding:
10/3/2011
 
4.1 out of 5.0
We recently had our wedding at The Whitney, and I couldn't say more about the place as whole. I couldn't imagine a better place for us, and it offered a timeless feel that I don't think we could have gotten anywhere else. While there were some hiccups, I would recommend The Whitney for any event.

Venue Pros: Absolutely gorgeous. If you want elegance, intimacy and history, there is truly no better place in the surrounding area. They do a decent amount of wedding throughout the year, but it is definitely still a "unique" venue. We had our ceremony outside in their garden, which is so beautiful, and our reception inside, which is even more outstanding. The whole mansion can accommdate more than 300 on all three levels. Valet parking.

Venue Cons: Being that this is an old mansion, it is not a conventional venue. Your guests will be in separate dining rooms, and depending on the amount, possibly on separate floors. We liked this because it gave our larger wedding a sense of intimacy, but others may not. If you are going to have your ceremony outside, keep in mind, this is on Woodward in Detroit, there may be a chance of some city noise or sirens during your ceremony. Their elevator does not work, so if you do have more than one floor, keep in mind that elderly will most likely not be able to get up there. Their internal speaker system did not work; we had to use our pianists, which we did find out until we came to put the music on during our reception.

Service Pros: The people at The Whitney were able to answer all our questions in a timely manner. There were some discrepancies in the cost, due to an old employees miscommunication, and they "ruled" in our favor. They have multiple coordinators to help with the set up of all decorations, which takes a huge load off, if you don't have a private wedding coordinator. They actually did a FANTASTIC job executing all my decorating plans, and I was super please with the end result. Our server was very wonderful and attentive, and we also got other raves about the service and the formality of the whole experience from our guests.

Service Cons: They were sometimes slower with communication than I would have liked, during the planning process, and very hard to reach by phone. We planned to have our ceremony outside, but at the rehearsal, they started setting it up inside without speaking to me first; there was a slight chance of rain at the time, but not enough that warranted pulling anything inside. The day of the wedding, there were some morning showers and a 30% chance of rain in the afternoon, when my mother-in-law got to the venue an hour or so before I did, they were, again, setting up inside without notifying me. She went to bat for me, and they conceded, which was great b/c there wasn't a sprinkle. Also during the rehearsal, the coordinator was rushing us along. To her defense, almost everyone in my wedding was late due to a family medical emergency, but between her attitude, them setting up inside, and glances at her watch every 5 minutes, she just added to the stress (which made me mad because I went out my way to e-mail her supervisor about how great she was at the tasting). Lastly, my husband's godparents and their elderly mother arrived about an hour early for the ceremony. The elderly lady was tired and a bit chilly and wanted to sit inside, but the people at The Whitney refused to let them in and made them sit outside in the garden.

Food: The food was amazing. Their salmon, that we had at the tasting, was the best I've ever had. We had to switch to whitefish for the actual wedding, but that, too, was delicious. There are not many ways to screw up a filet mignon, but theirs was very good. Surprisingly, my favorite was their chicken dish. It was probably one of the best chicken dishes I have ever had.

Cost: If you are looking to rent out the whole mansion for a wedding on a Friday or Saturday night, it's a pretty penny. However, they have other price points for Sunday weddings, Monday weddings and Tues-Thur weddings, that may better fit your budget. We did Monday and I feel that overall, we got a lot more than what we paid for.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SexyLittleBride
Wedding:
8/12/2011
 
4.9 out of 5.0
Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous! There were a few set backs but overall a pleasant experience. So great in fact, we are having our vow renewal there next year. We married in front of the Tiffany stained glass landing on the 2nd floor. It was beautiful.

The cons- FREEZING!! Where was the heat? People above us in the landing thought I was laughing when I was actually shaking. And in the Music Room where we held our brunch, it was quite chilly also. No discounts were given, but it was still a nice service.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1296188022679-img0004
Ambyr
Wedding:
6/11/2011
 
3.8 out of 5.0
The Whitney is absolutely gorgeous – inside and out. We chose to have our evening ceremony and reception at the Whitney outdoors in the garden. We had around 150 people – so it was perfect. Initial contact with the staff was horrendous and stressful – luckily they ended up replacing the original contact person with Kristine Rader. Kristine was VERY responsive and never missed our scheduled appointments. Everything we asked for happened and the Whitney staff was awesome. With the exception of some cold glares from a manager during the arrival for our rehearsal the day before and some confusion with staff telling our guests the wedding had been moved inside due to rain – everyone was accommodating. All of our guests commented on the friendliness of the staff, the great food and how awesome the bartender was. I was pleased with how quickly the staff converted the ceremony space into reception seating and the extra touches of lanterns in the back area – it made the garden look like something out of an evening fairytale. We had somewhat of a non-traditional wedding – but the Whitney let us do what we wanted and for that we are ETERNALLY grateful. Our wedding was perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1307568643296-2401671015019262395154811608058154774429156857006o
kelly
Wedding:
6/4/2011
 
5.0 out of 5.0
I book the Whitney for june 11th then decided months later that i needed to change to the week before, they had no problem. The banquet manager had changed during the time I was contacting them, but I had no problems with this. Everything I had discussed with the previous manager had been told to the next one. Kristine was great at returning my calls and putting my mind at ease about everything. They even served a gluten free meal for my son. The day was hot and the building was even hotter. I had asked for the air to be turned a little lower, as I was really hot. they did their best, but it is an old bldg and very hard to control the temp. I had absolutely no problems and everything went as planned. It was a perfect day!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Oneka
Wedding:
4/22/2011
 
4.8 out of 5.0
Everything was absolutely perfect on our day. I had the Whitney reserved for the reception and they allowed me to use the 2nd floor to dress for my ceremony which was taking place at the Belle Isle Conservatory. The site was beautiful and the Banquet Facilities Specialist made sure we had everything we needed. The only fault that I found was we weren't served everything that was supposed to come with the meal (buffet) such as the bread and beverages. I didn't realize until afterwards because I was so caught up in the day. Other than that, I would recommend the Whitney any day. Our guests enjoyed being their and the wait staff was excited and helpful.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Missing_profile
megbeau
Wedding:
6/11/2010
 
1.0 out of 5.0
Not a good experience. Through the process of finding a venue we fell in love with the whitney and decided to book. That is when the nightmare started. We could not get anyone to call us back, even took 2 times to get a manager. Finally set up a tour, with Emily, and took our parents with us. Both sets of parents had to take off work in order to make it for the appointment. When we arrived we were told Emily was in a meeting and her assitant would show us around. When the tour was over we wanted to talk about contracts and setting a price and date. Well, Emily was still in her meeting and her assistant was not much help. The assistant informed us that Emily would email us a contract within the next week. We NEVER received one, and when I called to inquire I could not get anyone on the phone. Finally, I emailed Emily to ask what was going on and she acted like she didn't know anything. She wanted to know the number of people and date when we had already told everything to her assistant! Very unhelpful and not impressed. It is a beautiful building, but no place is worth my money that treats me like that staff did. However, in the end I am happy that things did not go well because now I am planning my wedding on an AWESOME yacht and could not be happier.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
1375154868_thumb_2dd769153be95c2ccdc1b950186c6de7
therria4
Wedding:
7/11/2009
 
3.0 out of 5.0
I have super mixed reviews for the Whitney. There were some great positives and some great negatives. Positives, the service the day of was excellent and the food was amazing. Absolutely breathtaking inside and beautiful pictures to be had. When we had contact with the banquet manager, she was great. The staff was impeccable. Absolutely hands down. Food came out quickly, they kept our glasses filled AND they even packed up all my extra votives and everything! The cake was made by them and I've heard it tasted wonderful but didn't get to truly sample it myself..I forgot! We did the wedding early on a Saturday so we were the only ones there with the run of the mansion. Definitely a plus! We also had a nice little area to finish getting ready in on the 3rd floor (the AC was up in our room thank god!) WITH a bathroom. Valet was included so that was nice. Negatives SUPER slow response times. There was a period of a couple months I never heard back from them until my fiance decided to be slightly snotty and then we got a response. I explained to the banquet manager how things needed to be set up she said no problem ..except she wasn't there the day of! So I ended up having to set most of the stuff up myself. Pricing was never standard..we had 3 different price lists. We paid early and were informed there wouldn't be a refund..even before we'd given the guest count! Understandable we wouldn't get a refund if we said ok 70 are coming and 65 showed. Eventually they relented but by that time all was said and done we were just too tired to deal with it so we never did get anything back. The contract stated final guest count by this date OR your RSVP..well the date was 2 months prior to the RSVP..few issues there. Wasn't aware of a menu change til sorta late but it ended up being a good change even though I had to fix our programs. SUPER NEGATIVE-the THIRD floor was 90 freakin degrees!!! Our guests were dying, not to mention me in that big dress and crinoline which I absolutely had to remove because it was so warm. The chocolate fountain upstairs didn't really get used after everybody went downstairs to enjoy the AC and lunch so if you're going to use one..probably better to keep it downstairs or maybe start it earlier so you get your full time. NO working elevator! Old building so it's sort of understandable but I thought public places HAD to be handicap friendly. All in all it's a beautiful place..had to do the ceremony indoors because of the weather. It was trying to get stuff answered before the day of but everything went off pretty smoothly considering.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Whitney
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo