You will no longer have access to your Project Wedding account on or after March 30, 2017. Save any photos or information you'd like to keep and join WeddingWire for your all of your wedding planning needs today. Learn more »
130x130 sq 1484415359 72a0db40b93eaa42 william penn inn kat and gabe 0001

The William Penn Inn

Gwynedd , PA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Route 202 & Sumneytown Pike, P.O. Box 6
Gwynedd, PA 19436 US (map)

PHONE

215-699-9272

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The History of the William Penn Inn



A Gwynedd Public House

The charming country inn where you dine today has roots that extend back to the origins of... Read more
The History of the William Penn Inn



A Gwynedd Public House

The charming country inn where you dine today has roots that extend back to the origins of the country hospitality in "Penn's Woods," the colony founded by English Quaker William Penn. Around 1700, Governor William Penn and his 22-year-old daughter, Letitia, were made welcome when they rode up from Philadelphia to visit and worship with Gwynedd Friends for a few days. A public house was established on that site in 1714, providing hearty food, refreshing drink and comfortable lodging that made travel possible between Penn's "greene country towne" of Philadelphia and the many smaller towns and hamlets scattered north and west of the city.

The William Penn Inn sits on part of a tract of 1,034 acres, patented to Robert ap Evan – Robert, son of Evan. Robert is thought to be the brother of Thomas Evans, who owned a barked log cabin along the native Americans’ well-traveled Maxatawney Trail (later known as Sumneytown Pike), near the Gwynedd Friends (Quakers) meetinghouse.

Robert Evans passed the property on to Jesse Evans and in 1755 the property passed out of the family to George Maris. George’s son, Jesse, sold the property to David Acuff in 1818. It was David Acuff who, in 1827 finally secured a license to operate the inn as a formal tavern. The Acuffs operated the inn for many years, and were responsible for naming the tavern the “William Penn Hotel”, honoring its historic visitor and founder of Pennsylvania. Photographs from that time period show a simple, two-story stone hotel still retaining its 18th century style.



Revitalizing an Inn for the Era

Even though new forms of travel helped make the old public houses unnecessary, the William Penn Inn was one of the new area hostels to remain vital. On January 1st, 1900, Algernon “Jerry” Yothers leased the inn from the Acuff estate and undertook extensive improvements. He built well-lit and well-ventilated stables that, according to newspaper articles of the time, boasted of “pure artesian well water and electrical lights.” He raised the roof for a third story and constructed a two-story porch and central portico, dramatically changing the face of the tavern that looked onto State Road.

Nicholas de Wilde bought the inn in 1920, reopening it in 1924 with a gala celebration. From his overseas travels, de Wilde brought back fervor for the service and surroundings offered in London’s gentleman’s clubs. Heave silver serving pieces from luxury ocean liners and European-trained professionals became the foundation from his new restaurant. It was deWilde who collected and framed many of the old photos and mementos that are still displayed today.

The Kubach family took over the inn’s operation in 1977 and later sold it to Peter R. Friedrich, who has been the proud owner and proprietor since 1981. With his European training and background, he has brought the renowned landmark into the 21st century as the oldest continuously operated country inn in Pennsylvania. We remain dedicated to our tradition of hospitality, offering superlative food, service and lodging in a relaxed and cordial setting. You are invited to wander through our historic site and partake of the hospitality that has become our hallmark.



Our commitment to your complete experience ensures that we fulfill our mission statement: "A Satisfied Guest is our Top Priority" Read less

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1363207448743 lindseyandrewavfavorites0043123
130x130 sq 1363207541317 cr8251200110
130x130 sq 1429226126203 mpg003smaller0
130x130 sq 1415995123401 4.wpi ballroom 2
130x130 sq 1230051432592 11211473 pj280
130x130 sq 1340725058322 6.22.12013
130x130 sq 1340725049370 dscn079033331
130x130 sq 1340725100086 11111111
130x130 sq 1340725120535 billboard023
130x130 sq 1363207203824 img9888
130x130 sq 1244385295953 22
130x130 sq 1415913444235 wpi10814 0008
130x130 sq 1340725276494 july1st152
130x130 sq 1415913416361 wpi10814 0003
130x130 sq 1340725355154 img1857
130x130 sq 1415913468028 wpi10814 0044
130x130 sq 1340725296308 2.25.11
130x130 sq 1340725317831 billboard033
130x130 sq 1248795234173 img4624
130x130 sq 1415994957471 2013 07 240033
130x130 sq 1415916291092 20141023161116hdr
130x130 sq 1363207367236 azzolinaphotography201201
130x130 sq 1340726397793 sundaywr010
130x130 sq 1363207347823 lindseyandrewceremony0043
130x130 sq 1340726501519 img7433
130x130 sq 1340726412218 5
130x130 sq 1340726446739 6.8.12024
130x130 sq 1340726472303 dsc0028
130x130 sq 1340727756304 11212440a086
130x130 sq 1340727792025 july1st148
130x130 sq 1415995307105 mpg5776
130x130 sq 1340727872847 1.20.12download087
130x130 sq 1340727812889 june29th050
130x130 sq 1415995241486 mpg5767

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue?
14
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
8
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Historic, Restaurant
Describe the style of your venue
Eclectic, Glamorous, Classic
What kind of settings are available?
Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
Which of the following wedding events does your venue service?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
250
What event services do you offer?
Accommodations, Bridal Suite, Cake, Event Planning, Event Rentals
What event items are available?
Aisle Runners, Altar/Arches, Centerpieces, Chair Covers, Chairs, Dance Floor, Decor, Drapery, Furniture, Tables
What food and beverage items are available?
Barware, China, Chocolate Fountain, Flatware, Glassware, Linens
What transportation and access is available?
Parking, Wheelchair Access

INFO FOR REHEARSAL DINNER

What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue?
14
What kind of settings are available?
Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Dessert, Hors d'Oeuvres, Outside Cake OK, Plated, Server(s), Stations, Tastings
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American
What bar services do you provide?
Bartender(s), Cash Bar, Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Liquor, House Wine, Limited Bar, Liquor License, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Signature Cocktail(s), Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What dietary needs can you accommodate?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, No Pork, Nut Free, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
What types of spaces are available for a rehearsal dinner?
Private Room, Private Section

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Jordan
Wedding:
6/10/2017
5.0/5.0
My wedding was the most magical night of my life, all thanks to the William Penn Inn staff. You all did such an amazing job keeping the night going along smoothy without a hitch. I wish I could re-live that night over and over. I would recommend the William Penn Inn to anyone looking for great food, service, and a beautiful venue. No complaints!
My wedding was the most magical night of my life, all thanks to the William Penn Inn staff. You all did such an amazing Read more...
My wedding was the most magical night of my life, all thanks to the William Penn Inn staff. You all did such an amazing job keeping the night going along smoothy without a hitch. I wish I could re-live that night over and over. I would recommend the William Penn Inn to anyone looking for great food, service, and a beautiful venue. No complaints! Read less
Services Used: Unique Services
Default vendor profile pic
Caleb
Wedding:
3/31/2017
5.0/5.0
I've had an amazing time working with Monica! We just recently chose our menu and designs for our March 2017 wedding. Kate from the floral department was also great to work with. There were tons of options for bouquets and arrangements and she was able to dial in on exactly what we needed. The food at the tasting was absolutely wonderful and we can't wait for our guests to experience everything at the William Penn Inn!

Update!: Our ceremony and reception went so well! The entire staff was wonderful. We did have a little trouble with one of the bartenders, but everything else was perfect. So thankful for everyone at the inn for all they did during our year and a half of planning!
I've had an amazing time working with Monica! We just recently chose our menu and designs for our March 2017 wedding. Kate Read more...
I've had an amazing time working with Monica! We just recently chose our menu and designs for our March 2017 wedding. Kate from the floral department was also great to work with. There were tons of options for bouquets and arrangements and she was able to dial in on exactly what we needed. The food at the tasting was absolutely wonderful and we can't wait for our guests to experience everything at the William Penn Inn!

Update!: Our ceremony and reception went so well! The entire staff was wonderful. We did have a little trouble with one of the bartenders, but everything else was perfect. So thankful for everyone at the inn for all they did during our year and a half of planning! Read less
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Jessica
Wedding:
3/25/2017
5.0/5.0
Everything was perfect . I don't have any complaints. I would highly recommend them.
Everything was perfect . I don't have any complaints. I would highly recommend them.
Everything was perfect . I don't have any complaints. I would highly recommend them. Read less
Services Used: Unique Services
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Don't look anywhere else. Everything was perfect
Don't look anywhere else. Everything was perfect
Don't look anywhere else. Everything was perfect Read less
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner
Default vendor profile pic
lauren
Wedding:
2/25/2017
5.0/5.0
Wouldn't change a thing
A perfect evening
Wouldn't change a thing
A perfect evening
Wouldn't change a thing
A perfect evening Read less
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Easy decision, no worries, start early to book...
Easy decision, no worries, start early to book...
Easy decision, no worries, start early to book... Read less
Services Used: Band, Beauty & Health, Wedding Cake, Ceremony Music, DJ, Dress & Attire, Favors & Gifts, Invitations, Jewelry, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Rehearsal Dinner, Rentals & Photobooths, Transportation, Travel, Videography, Unique Services
130x130 sq 1437061674 d9247d5199c2eaf4 6
Kara
Wedding:
12/16/2016
5.0/5.0
William Penn Inn has always held a special place in my heart due to all of the family events I’ve attended there, and after having my wedding there, I love William Penn Inn even more! From the very first meeting there with Shelley, to meeting with Kate, the florist, sorting out details with Monica, and working with Kelly the day of our wedding, everything went very smoothly and according to plan. Everyone I worked with was a true professional, very knowledgeable, and most importantly- FUN!

A William Penn Inn wedding is great for many, many, reasons but especially because they can do anything right there. The bakery makes the cake [which people LOVED], and flower shoppe can do the flowers, they have the linens, chairs, etc. I can’t recommend Kate, the flower shoppe manager enough. We had such a blast in our planning meetings and she really knows her stuff! As a girl who knows next to nothing about flowers, Kate’s expertise was much appreciated.

I had my wedding in December and oh my gosh- the inn at Christmastime. There’s truly no place better or more beautiful. I always said I wouldn’t be one of those brides with a million wedding pictures throughout my house but with such gorgeous pictures from outside, how can I not?! :)
William Penn Inn has always held a special place in my heart due to all of the family events I’ve attended there, and Read more...
William Penn Inn has always held a special place in my heart due to all of the family events I’ve attended there, and after having my wedding there, I love William Penn Inn even more! From the very first meeting there with Shelley, to meeting with Kate, the florist, sorting out details with Monica, and working with Kelly the day of our wedding, everything went very smoothly and according to plan. Everyone I worked with was a true professional, very knowledgeable, and most importantly- FUN!

A William Penn Inn wedding is great for many, many, reasons but especially because they can do anything right there. The bakery makes the cake [which people LOVED], and flower shoppe can do the flowers, they have the linens, chairs, etc. I can’t recommend Kate, the flower shoppe manager enough. We had such a blast in our planning meetings and she really knows her stuff! As a girl who knows next to nothing about flowers, Kate’s expertise was much appreciated.

I had my wedding in December and oh my gosh- the inn at Christmastime. There’s truly no place better or more beautiful. I always said I wouldn’t be one of those brides with a million wedding pictures throughout my house but with such gorgeous pictures from outside, how can I not?! :) Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Carla
Wedding:
11/18/2016
5.0/5.0
Where do I even begin, the William Penn Inn was FANTASTIC! The venue itself is beautiful, elegant, and historic. The food is fabulous. The wedding planning staff, Monica (the wedding planner), Kate (the florist), and Kelly (wedding day coordinator), were just amazing. I had a lot of questions along the way which I sent to the staff and they always got back to me quickly and thoughtfully. They made the wedding planning process stress free.

The wedding package is absolutely worth it! The cake that is included was delicious, and all of our decorations(flowers) and ambiance were gorgeous! Like I mentioned the food was wonderful, all of our guests raved about it. We also had our rehearsal dinner there and that was wonderful too!

Lastly, the wait staff and the hospitality of the William Penn Inn can not be praised enough. They are welcoming and helpful. There was a server that took care of just our parents' table’s at the wedding. They were also constantly checking on us, making sure we were enjoying ourselves and asking if we needed anything.

We had an amazing time and will be returning customers of the William Penn Inn. I would highly recommend this venue to anyone!
Where do I even begin, the William Penn Inn was FANTASTIC! The venue itself is beautiful, elegant, and historic. The food Read more...
Where do I even begin, the William Penn Inn was FANTASTIC! The venue itself is beautiful, elegant, and historic. The food is fabulous. The wedding planning staff, Monica (the wedding planner), Kate (the florist), and Kelly (wedding day coordinator), were just amazing. I had a lot of questions along the way which I sent to the staff and they always got back to me quickly and thoughtfully. They made the wedding planning process stress free.

The wedding package is absolutely worth it! The cake that is included was delicious, and all of our decorations(flowers) and ambiance were gorgeous! Like I mentioned the food was wonderful, all of our guests raved about it. We also had our rehearsal dinner there and that was wonderful too!

Lastly, the wait staff and the hospitality of the William Penn Inn can not be praised enough. They are welcoming and helpful. There was a server that took care of just our parents' table’s at the wedding. They were also constantly checking on us, making sure we were enjoying ourselves and asking if we needed anything.

We had an amazing time and will be returning customers of the William Penn Inn. I would highly recommend this venue to anyone! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
sean
Wedding:
8/27/2016
5.0/5.0
From top to bottom, the William Penn Inn was first class and made for a perfect wedding day for the two of us and our guests. Having the venue, catering, bakery and florist all on-site, made planning so much easier. The food and cake were delicious, the staff was always super nice and accommodating and the venue has this historical charm that you cannot find in other places. We highly recommend the Inn!
From top to bottom, the William Penn Inn was first class and made for a perfect wedding day for the two of us and our Read more...
From top to bottom, the William Penn Inn was first class and made for a perfect wedding day for the two of us and our guests. Having the venue, catering, bakery and florist all on-site, made planning so much easier. The food and cake were delicious, the staff was always super nice and accommodating and the venue has this historical charm that you cannot find in other places. We highly recommend the Inn! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Crystall
Wedding:
7/16/2016
5.0/5.0
Our experience has been 5 star from the start. They made the choice very easy.
Our experience has been 5 star from the start. They made the choice very easy.
Our experience has been 5 star from the start. They made the choice very easy. Read less
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner

MAP

 
Route 202 & Sumneytown Pike, P.O. Box 6, Gwynedd, PA 19436 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The William Penn Inn
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1484415359 72a0db40b93eaa42 william penn inn kat and gabe 0001