130x130 sq 1463582102 e0adddc86cdaf796 1463581805353 cheryl and ty wedding resized

The Windermere Manor

London , ON
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

200 Collip Circle
London, ON N6G 4X8 CA (map)

PHONE

519-858-1391

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Somewhere between “stately and quaint” best describes The Windermere Manor. This fine estate, built in 1925 by John E. Smallman is a faithful architectural reflection of Tudor England... Read more
Somewhere between “stately and quaint” best describes The Windermere Manor. This fine estate, built in 1925 by John E. Smallman is a faithful architectural reflection of Tudor England and a fitting tribute to his father Thomas, a founding member of “The Imperial Oil Company.” Although slightly altered, inside the Manor retains its feeling of a by-gone era of warmth and luxury.

Grandson, John Smallman and his family enjoyed many years in this estate until his relocation in the early 1970’s. The Windermere Manor opened its doors in 1991 after extensive renovations on the existing Manor House. Planned as a component of the University of Western Ontario’s Research Park Development offering meeting/conference facilities, food and beverage and hotel accommodations, Windermere Manor is a hotel, restaurant, banquet hall, and conference facility – all with a resort-like atmosphere.

The Hotel is built atop of what was once the large in-ground swimming pool. The original farm was a horse farm and cash crops were also grown. The Smallman family although known for “Smallman & Ingram Dry Goods” in downtown London and its association with Imperial Oil, also had a passion for breeding and racing horses. Down the path between the hotel and Manor House are the remnants of an old stone bridge that was once part of a horse run that wound through the property.

More recently, additions and renovations have allowed for meeting spaces and a guest room wing that were designed to gracefully blend with the original structure and convey a sense of period continuity. These annexes provide today’s guest with all of the comforts and conveniences of a modern hotel and meeting facility.

The baronial splendor of the Grand Hall, with its lofty ceilings, hand-hewn beams, oak balcony and imposing yet welcoming wood-burning stone fireplace, echoes a by-gone era of pageantry and privilege.

The Smallman Family hosted many gala events and celebrations over the years, The Grand Hall being the site for many evenings of entertaining. At Windermere Manor, we continue in this fine tradition.

The Smallman Mansion remains a significant London landmark and its unique setting and atmosphere have helped create fond memories for many visitors and guests over the years.

Windermere Manor can accommodate up to 120 people for a plated dinner and up to 150 people for a stand up cocktail reception. Numbers around the 100 mark offer maximum flexibility for set up. Windermere Manor is a full service hotel and provides all Food and Beverages onsite.

Please don't hesitate to contact us for more information about getting married at The Manor. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1333038428643 647megancartierhrm
130x130 sq 1333038396364 161amyorchardhrm
130x130 sq 1333038398978 207melissarodgerhrm
130x130 sq 1333038401367 322sarahgoudyhrm
130x130 sq 1333038394039 151melissarodgerhrm
130x130 sq 1333038403322 340heatherlynchhrm
130x130 sq 1333038406092 340kimberleyperronhrm
130x130 sq 1333038409296 355kathleenschreurshrm
130x130 sq 1333038420868 465heatherlynchhrm
130x130 sq 1463581362414 ashley  brad2
130x130 sq 1463581367742 ashley  brad
130x130 sq 1463581383960 candy table
130x130 sq 1463581375932 cake
130x130 sq 1463581390142 ceremony
130x130 sq 1463581401185 emily  trevor
130x130 sq 1463581429221 grand hall
130x130 sq 1463581444674 head table
130x130 sq 1463581477534 krystal  cam
130x130 sq 1463581563586 back gh patio
130x130 sq 1463581744751 paige and tim wedding resized
130x130 sq 1463581805353 cheryl and ty wedding resized
130x130 sq 1463583852836 fullsizerender 005
130x130 sq 1463583815365 fullsizerender 002
130x130 sq 1463583889093 img0047
130x130 sq 1463583914575 img0196
130x130 sq 1463583936214 img0198
130x130 sq 1463583963521 img0292
130x130 sq 1463583999221 img0533
130x130 sq 1463584107764 img1122
130x130 sq 1463585128474 mel  matt
130x130 sq 1463585033760 img1186

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

What is the minimum number of guests required to book your venue?
80
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
3
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Hotel, Restaurant
Describe the style of your venue
Rustic, Vintage, Classic
What kind of settings are available?
Indoor, Uncovered Outdoor
Which of the following wedding events does your venue service?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
120
What event services do you offer?
Accommodations, Bridal Suite, Catering / Bar, Clean Up, Event Planning, Set Up
What catering services do you offer?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Dessert, Hors d'Oeuvres, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Bartender(s), Cash Bar, Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Liquor, House Wine, Limited Bar, Open Bar, Premium Liquor, Signature Cocktail(s), Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What food and beverage items are available?
Barware, China, Flatware, Glassware, Linens
What transportation and access is available?
Parking, Wheelchair Access

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
This venue was excellent for a one-stop shop for hotel, ceremony, dinner, and reception. The food was amazing, the planner was very responsive and very accommodating. We even gave honey made on site for our favors. The value for the elegant wedding we held was amazing and the elegance of the building meant very little spending on flowers and decorations that are one-use only. My wedding planner and the staff were exceptional and the hotel was excellent as well. I really cannot rate this venue enough and I definitely have high standards.
This venue was excellent for a one-stop shop for hotel, ceremony, dinner, and reception. The food was amazing, the planner Read more...
This venue was excellent for a one-stop shop for hotel, ceremony, dinner, and reception. The food was amazing, the planner was very responsive and very accommodating. We even gave honey made on site for our favors. The value for the elegant wedding we held was amazing and the elegance of the building meant very little spending on flowers and decorations that are one-use only. My wedding planner and the staff were exceptional and the hotel was excellent as well. I really cannot rate this venue enough and I definitely have high standards. Read less
Services Used: Catering, Favors & Gifts, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Katherine
Wedding:
10/16/2015
5.0/5.0
I had my wedding here in October 2015 on a Friday. Due to the size of my guest list we did not have a traditional sit down dinner, but had a cocktail style wedding. It worked out wonderfully and the food was fantastic. The day (other than the weather) was absolutely perfect and exactly what I wanted. The price for everything was well within my budget, and we even received a refund once it was all said and done. Stunning venue and great staff, I wish I could do it all over again!
I had my wedding here in October 2015 on a Friday. Due to the size of my guest list we did not have a traditional sit down Read more...
I had my wedding here in October 2015 on a Friday. Due to the size of my guest list we did not have a traditional sit down dinner, but had a cocktail style wedding. It worked out wonderfully and the food was fantastic. The day (other than the weather) was absolutely perfect and exactly what I wanted. The price for everything was well within my budget, and we even received a refund once it was all said and done. Stunning venue and great staff, I wish I could do it all over again! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Karen
Wedding:
10/10/2015
5.0/5.0
Danielle and the rest of the staff at Windermere Manor were simply exceptional! From patio ceremony in mid-October, to beautiful landscape and atmosphere for photos, this venue set the stage for a perfect day.
Our guests raved about the food. We needed virtually no decorations (the space is perfect as it is). Most importantly, the staff took care of every single detail making our day completely stress free.
Danielle and the rest of the staff at Windermere Manor were simply exceptional! From patio ceremony in mid-October, to Read more...
Danielle and the rest of the staff at Windermere Manor were simply exceptional! From patio ceremony in mid-October, to beautiful landscape and atmosphere for photos, this venue set the stage for a perfect day.
Our guests raved about the food. We needed virtually no decorations (the space is perfect as it is). Most importantly, the staff took care of every single detail making our day completely stress free. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
MANDI
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
Hannah and Robert are fantastic coordinators...we could really rely on them to make sure everything was perfect. The Grand Hall was gorgeous for our reception and the patio beautiful for our ceremony. Surprisingly the bees stayed completely away!
Hannah and Robert are fantastic coordinators...we could really rely on them to make sure everything was perfect. The Grand Read more...
Hannah and Robert are fantastic coordinators...we could really rely on them to make sure everything was perfect. The Grand Hall was gorgeous for our reception and the patio beautiful for our ceremony. Surprisingly the bees stayed completely away! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We worked with Hannah to plan our wedding, and had a completely amazing day. Hannah was thorough, knowledgeable and really worked with us on every detail from décor and set up to our (very) long list of allergies. We did a lot of DIY, from the décor to the candy bar, and the staff and Hannah were always on hand to answer any questions or give a helping hand. The venue is beautiful, even in March; the staff was friendly and very professional – we had so many compliments. The food was unreal. We opted for a buffet – and every bit of it from the salads to the desserts was amazing. Our guests had nothing but good things to say. I was never more relaxed on my wedding day, and Windermere helped bring our wedding vision to life. This was a perfect historic venue with a lot of character, tons of options and they really want to make your day run perfectly.
We worked with Hannah to plan our wedding, and had a completely amazing day. Hannah was thorough, knowledgeable and really Read more...
We worked with Hannah to plan our wedding, and had a completely amazing day. Hannah was thorough, knowledgeable and really worked with us on every detail from décor and set up to our (very) long list of allergies. We did a lot of DIY, from the décor to the candy bar, and the staff and Hannah were always on hand to answer any questions or give a helping hand. The venue is beautiful, even in March; the staff was friendly and very professional – we had so many compliments. The food was unreal. We opted for a buffet – and every bit of it from the salads to the desserts was amazing. Our guests had nothing but good things to say. I was never more relaxed on my wedding day, and Windermere helped bring our wedding vision to life. This was a perfect historic venue with a lot of character, tons of options and they really want to make your day run perfectly. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
Fantastic venue! They took care of everything! So nice not to have to worry about anything going wrong - food, tables, linens, bar, service, hotel, breakfast, everything taken care of.
Lots of options to choose from when designing your day.
They recently changed their pricing scheme which benefited us ~!
Fantastic venue! They took care of everything! So nice not to have to worry about anything going wrong - food, tables, Read more...
Fantastic venue! They took care of everything! So nice not to have to worry about anything going wrong - food, tables, linens, bar, service, hotel, breakfast, everything taken care of.
Lots of options to choose from when designing your day.
They recently changed their pricing scheme which benefited us ~! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Amy
Wedding:
2/17/2013
5.0/5.0
We had a winter afternoon brunch wedding and the Windermere Manor helped us make our day exactly as we had hoped. Julie-Ann helped us plan our day down to the very last detail and her and her team executed everything perfectly. The staff were very professional and catered to our every desire. Our ideas and plans for the day may be considered slightly unconventional and that did not stop the staff from incorporating all of the specific elements into our wedding day with ease.

The hall is absolutely stunning with a quaint, cozy feel of the fireplace and the wonderful textures of the upholstered chairs, chandeliers, and wooden beams to give us the desired feel for the perfect day. We held our wedding in February and the staff were able to ensure the fireplace was lit for day which added to the coziness of the room. We did not require any decorations since the manor has its own charm which resulted in a significant cost savings. The location is private and the grounds are beautiful! We were able to take advantage of huge cost savings since we had our wedding in the winter.

The staff generously walked around handing out our signature drinks prior to the ceremony ensuring everyone had a toast for the ceremony. The food was FABULOUS! Beautifully executed and everything was delicious! We were able to specifically omit or request items for the brunch and the staff accommodated every detail. Food was never in short supply and our friends and family are still talking about the best wedding meal they've had since having brunch at the Windermere! They were even able to accommodate a guest with a food allergy.

The hall provided EVERYTHING and was responsible for setting up and taking down which allowed us to simply enjoy the day knowing that it was all taken care of. It was the most stress free feeling knowing that Windermere was looking after all the details. I wish I could relive it all again - Windermere made it our perfect day.
We had a winter afternoon brunch wedding and the Windermere Manor helped us make our day exactly as we had hoped. Read more...
We had a winter afternoon brunch wedding and the Windermere Manor helped us make our day exactly as we had hoped. Julie-Ann helped us plan our day down to the very last detail and her and her team executed everything perfectly. The staff were very professional and catered to our every desire. Our ideas and plans for the day may be considered slightly unconventional and that did not stop the staff from incorporating all of the specific elements into our wedding day with ease.

The hall is absolutely stunning with a quaint, cozy feel of the fireplace and the wonderful textures of the upholstered chairs, chandeliers, and wooden beams to give us the desired feel for the perfect day. We held our wedding in February and the staff were able to ensure the fireplace was lit for day which added to the coziness of the room. We did not require any decorations since the manor has its own charm which resulted in a significant cost savings. The location is private and the grounds are beautiful! We were able to take advantage of huge cost savings since we had our wedding in the winter.

The staff generously walked around handing out our signature drinks prior to the ceremony ensuring everyone had a toast for the ceremony. The food was FABULOUS! Beautifully executed and everything was delicious! We were able to specifically omit or request items for the brunch and the staff accommodated every detail. Food was never in short supply and our friends and family are still talking about the best wedding meal they've had since having brunch at the Windermere! They were even able to accommodate a guest with a food allergy.

The hall provided EVERYTHING and was responsible for setting up and taking down which allowed us to simply enjoy the day knowing that it was all taken care of. It was the most stress free feeling knowing that Windermere was looking after all the details. I wish I could relive it all again - Windermere made it our perfect day. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Jenn
Wedding:
10/13/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was PERFECT. Absolutely PERFECT. I wouldn't have changed a single thing...except for maybe slowing down time to enjoy it longer.

The staff at Windermere Manor was simply amazing.

I have heard nothing by wonderful things from guests who were at the wedding.

We are so VERY happy with how everything turned out!
Our wedding was PERFECT. Absolutely PERFECT. I wouldn't have changed a single thing...except for maybe slowing down time Read more...
Our wedding was PERFECT. Absolutely PERFECT. I wouldn't have changed a single thing...except for maybe slowing down time to enjoy it longer.

The staff at Windermere Manor was simply amazing.

I have heard nothing by wonderful things from guests who were at the wedding.

We are so VERY happy with how everything turned out! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Lori
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Windermere Manor took away all the stress associated with a wedding. The staff and coordinator were all so wonderful and catered to my every need. I felt very confident that everything was taken care of according to my wishes and my wedding day could not have been more beautiful. It was the best day of my life!!
Windermere Manor took away all the stress associated with a wedding. The staff and coordinator were all so wonderful and Read more...
Windermere Manor took away all the stress associated with a wedding. The staff and coordinator were all so wonderful and catered to my every need. I felt very confident that everything was taken care of according to my wishes and my wedding day could not have been more beautiful. It was the best day of my life!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Shannon
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Everything about this venue was excellent. The ceremony was beautiful with the gorgeous landscaping surrounding the terrace in which the ceremony took place. The backdrop for pictures between the natural elements and the Grand Hall itself lent to exquisite photography. The food from the cocktail hour, dinner, dessert, and late night buffet was excellent - my guests were raving about the delicious food. The overall atmosphere in the Grand Hall was amazing; unbelievably romantic. It was really neat to look at all the guest from the head table and just be surrounded; it was such an intimate setting. During the first dance, it was the most amazing feeling to look up at the balcony and see many of our loved ones leaning on the balcony, and looking down to see us. The whole day was such a fairy tale. Robert and I cannot thank the staff at Windermere Manor enough; particulary Kimberly who did such an amazing job from answering questions months before, weeks before, days before ;) and just allowing me to feel so relaxed about the whole experience - thank you from the bottom of my heart. Windermere Manor is a hidden gem and I would recommend to anyone.
Everything about this venue was excellent. The ceremony was beautiful with the gorgeous landscaping surrounding the Read more...
Everything about this venue was excellent. The ceremony was beautiful with the gorgeous landscaping surrounding the terrace in which the ceremony took place. The backdrop for pictures between the natural elements and the Grand Hall itself lent to exquisite photography. The food from the cocktail hour, dinner, dessert, and late night buffet was excellent - my guests were raving about the delicious food. The overall atmosphere in the Grand Hall was amazing; unbelievably romantic. It was really neat to look at all the guest from the head table and just be surrounded; it was such an intimate setting. During the first dance, it was the most amazing feeling to look up at the balcony and see many of our loved ones leaning on the balcony, and looking down to see us. The whole day was such a fairy tale. Robert and I cannot thank the staff at Windermere Manor enough; particulary Kimberly who did such an amazing job from answering questions months before, weeks before, days before ;) and just allowing me to feel so relaxed about the whole experience - thank you from the bottom of my heart. Windermere Manor is a hidden gem and I would recommend to anyone. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue

MAP

 
200 Collip Circle, London, ON N6G 4X8 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Windermere Manor
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1463582102 e0adddc86cdaf796 1463581805353 cheryl and ty wedding resized