130x130_sq_1315410232650-neonsign
(9)

The Written Word

Washington , DC
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1926 17th Street, NW
Washington, DC US 20009 (map)

PHONE

202-223-1400

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Invitations

INFO FOR INVITATIONS

Do you offer a catalog of products or custom products?
Custom Products
Do you handle design, printing, and assembly?
Assembly, Design, Printing
What specialty products do you provide?
Letterpress, Recycled Paper, Soy Based Inks

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicholas
Wedding:
12/9/2011
5.0/5.0
We were extremely pleased with the quality and value of the invitations Paul and the folks at The Written Word made. We were looking for something simple yet elegant and were initially debating using an online vendor for the invitations. We found that the quality, price, and seemingly endless options offered by The Written Word made our decision for us. We spent time on a Saturday morning sitting down one on one with Paul who took the time to walk us through the various options, papers, colors, etc. Once we selected our design we received proofs to review within days and got the actual invitations just over a week later. They were beautiful and exactly what we wanted. The price was a real value and, coupled with the customer service and personal attention, we definitely made the right decision to use The Written Word instead of an online vendor. We loved the invitations but also loved working with and supporting a fantastic local business.
Services Used: Invitations
130x130_sq_1303996845358-233
Shelli
Wedding:
8/20/2011
5.0/5.0
I absolutely LOVED my wedding invitations from the written word. Initially I did not plan on getting letterpress invitations, thinking they were too expensive. A friend took me in the store and I found some that I loved, and was surprised to find they were not significantly more expensive than other, non-letterpress invitations I had been considering. They were not cheap, but they were worth every penny. We received so many compliments on our invitations, and it set the tone for the rest of our wedding. Everyone at the store was incredibly nice and worked with me to make the invitations exactly as I wanted. They gave us a few extra as well.
We also used the computer calligraphy for our invitations, and it was great.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AprilDCbride
Wedding:
4/9/2011
4.1/5.0
Our invitations from the Written Word were beautiful.

I didn't love their service - I always made an appointment before I came in, and yet they never seemed to know who I was or why I was there. There was also a big delay in getting our proofs, though they made up for it by printing more quickly than usual so it didn't end up being a big deal.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laurie
Wedding:
5/30/2010
5.0/5.0
I was at a complete loss as to what to do for my wedding invitations until I found the Written Word. I went with a simple design and the letterpress printing was very elegant and beautiful. The pricing was reasonable and the staff very helpful. They delived a high quality product on time. A great option to consider!
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maggie
Wedding:
8/15/2009
5.0/5.0
We worked with Marti and Kendra at the Written Word. Both women were very helpful in assisting with ideas as well as being reasonable about not adding costs to our invitations and the subsequent programs and escort cards. They had many examples to choose from to help inspire you and did not ask you to first look at magazines before coming back as we had heard elsewhere! Guests were very complimentary of our invitations.
Marti and Kendra were both especially responsive when we had changes to the program and escort cards in the dates leading up to the wedding and got us everything with plenty of lead time.
Services Used: Invitations
Missing_profile
RMnewlywed
Wedding:
4/12/2008
4.0/5.0
We decided, in the interest of making things easy for ourselves, we would get our save-the-date cards and our invitations at the same place. That worked out well for us. We were actually overwhelmed by the choices we had. Every time we saw something we liked, we then saw something else we liked just a little better. We had a good time working with the staff. They were knowledgeable, helpful and were genuinely concerned that we got exactly what we wanted. (4.5 stars)
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mrs.munz
Wedding:
4/6/2008
4.8/5.0
Marti at the Written Word in Dupont Circle is amazing. She provided us with unbeatable personal service and attention to detail over a year when we ordered our announcements, engagement party invitations and wedding invitations from her. If you know what you want, she can take your ideas, expand upon them and make them a reality. If you don't know what you want, they have hundreds of samples from recent weddings to look at.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
6/2/2007
4.6/5.0
We used The Written Word for our invitations, which turned out really nicely. The store is conveniently located and offers a multitude a great options. The turn around time was excellent (perhaps even a bit more quickly than expected), and the staff was very helpful and indulgent, allowing us to come in multiple times and browse through sample papers, fonts, etc., until we finally made our final decision.
Services Used: Invitations
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
We loved working with Paul and Marti! The quality of the letterpress was beautiful, even with a quite complex design. It really made a difference that everything was done by hand. And, after comparing their prices with some of the major online vendors, Written Word was definitely the better bargain!
Services Used: Invitations

MAP

 
1926 17th Street, NW, Washington, DC 20009 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for The Written Word
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo