130x130_sq_1360605331058-nyccsquare

Three Sheets to the Wind

Louisa , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

4117 Poindexter Road
Louisa, VA US 23093 (map)

PHONE

804-938-6872

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

We at Three Sheets to the Wind offer a refreshing alternative to staid and stuffy wedding bands with our preppy, tongue-in- cheek presentation--truly a band for the discerning wedding... Read more
We at Three Sheets to the Wind offer a refreshing alternative to staid and stuffy wedding bands with our preppy, tongue-in- cheek presentation--truly a band for the discerning wedding client who “gets it.”

Amazing versions of the greatest hits of the ‘70s and ‘80s keep the dance floor packed while the stylishly attired musicians look right at home at your wedding, and at yacht clubs everywhere.

Because we too have seen parties ruined by bands taking long breaks and playing short sets, we insist on playing two long seventy-five- minute sets with only one break to coincide with cake cutting and other wedding traditions.

Although we are America’s #1 Tribute to Yacht Rock, we will happily learn a first dance or other song for your wedding--no matter the genre--at no additional cost.

Our band leader, Topper Dandy, is always available to our clients by phone or email. He’ll be happy to work with you to help create and execute a plan for what we like to call “The Greatest Night of Your Life.”

Topper Dandy
707-87-ASCOT
topperdandy@gmail.com

Recent Accolades

“BEST LIVE BAND IN VIRGINIA”
- Wedding Industry Experts 2012 Awards

“BEST BAND FOR WEDDINGS”
- Richmond Bride Magazine 2012

"TOP TIER WEDDING PROFESSIONALS"
- Richmond Bride Magazine 2013, 2014

“BEST COVER BAND”
- STYLE Weekly “Best of Richmond” 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014

“BEST BAND”
- Richmond Magazine 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014

“BEST BAND IN CENTRAL VIRGINIA”
- Virginia Living Magazine 2012

"WEDDING WIRE RATED"
- WeddingWire 2012

"BRIDE'S / COUPLE'S CHOICE AWARDS WINNER"
- WeddingWire 2013, 2014

Better Parties Through Technology

Zero volume complaints:
All band members use in-ear monitors--an investment which eliminates five on-stage speakers. Guitar, bass, and keyboards are all run “direct” into the board, eliminating even more stage volume. The result is crisp, well-controlled audio on a clean stage.

No sound board in the middle of the room:
Our yachting-attired sound engineer mixes the show remotely from an iPad. We keep the sound board by the stage, and out of the way of your guests.

One band, one bus:
Band, crew, and gear travel in the 24’ long shuttle bus, known to the world as “The Steely Van.”

Keeping the lights on:
Unlike bands who use incandescent fixtures, our all-new LED lighting setup conserves energy, and ensures that we won’t lose power due to overloaded circuits.

Add saxophonist

$CALL

Add The Rounding Cape Horns, four-piece horn section [1 x 75-minute set]

$CALL

Add percussionist

$CALL

Add a pair of PA speakers + iPod hookup + lavalier microphone for officiant

$CALL

Add a pair of PA speakers + iPod hookup for cocktail hour location

$CALL

Captain Max Power to officiate your wedding [plus extra night of hotel]

$CALL

Enhanced sound and lighting package

$CALL

Use of band’s wireless microphones for toasts or announcements

FREE

Emcee services from Topper Dandy

FREE

Topper Dandy
707-87-ASCOT
topperdandy@gmail.com Read less
Band

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1350945511360-img0645aperturecopy
130x130_sq_1350945408331-3073181010020898652138625516108456590772115349310n
130x130_sq_1358437835529-nagsheadbeachcoralnavywedding0120
130x130_sq_1358437837074-nagsheadbeachcoralnavywedding0127
130x130_sq_1358437838359-nagsheadbeachcoralnavywedding01291
130x130_sq_1359568174992-screenshot20130130at12.34.15pm
130x130_sq_1378422991278-9623784823c76b8c8d47o
130x130_sq_1370984943575-40158610151490867262736679880396n
130x130_sq_1370990377486-21791101511503026327361362430080n
130x130_sq_1378421068508-962697717883b73c2b80o
130x130_sq_1403193556454-img9859
130x130_sq_1403193572386-img9872

INFO FOR BAND

Are you an agency or a band?
Band
What is the size of your band?
Medium (4-6 musicians)
What music genre does your band play?
70s, 80s, Pop, Rock
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Charlotte
Wedding:
4/25/2014
5.0/5.0
When it came time to plan our wedding, the first thing we did was book Three Sheets. After having seen them play at local events, they were our one and only choice for wedding entertainment. Topper was incredibly easy to work with! He was very responsive, flexible, and genuinely interested in making sure the event was special to us. There was some skepticism amongst guests about a wedding band: would the music appeal to everyone? would it be too loud? lousy banter? When the big night came, all doubts were cast away! Three Sheets managed to get EVERY SINGLE GUEST (no joke, literally every guest in the room) on the floor and dancing with their great mix of tunes that appeals to everyone, the sound was set perfectly (I could easily hear conversations with guests around me), and Topper's MC-ing was fun and spot on. After the wedding, I still get comments from guests asking if we can get married again just to see Three Sheets play. If you want a truly memorable reception, get these guys and get it turned up to 11!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Three Sheets to the Wind is worth every penny. Topper Dandy (Jack) is their point of contact and and will MC your event. He is great and made the whole process easy a pie. They learned our first dance song free of charge and knocked it out of the park. They even got my mom dancing on her own -- and that lady does NOT dance. They created a great atmosphere and made our reception a night to remember. Guests continue to comment on how great they were and how great the music was. BOOK THEM.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Randy
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
3 Sheets to the Wind were awesome at our wedding. They were very entertaining, not too loud, and all the guests dancing. They were very flexible with their set length and with their setlist.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Morgan
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
Booking Three Sheets to play our wedding was the second thing we did, after booking the venue. If you want them, book well in advance. If their rates are higher than what you were going to spend on a band, skimp elsewhere. Your reception will have a packed dancefloor and your guests will enjoy music that literally appeals to everyone. They are so friendly, professional, timely and sound fantastic. It's also very cool that they will learn any song you want. They kept our reception going smooth sailing til the end of the night! Guests from all walks of life are still raving about them. Thank you Three Sheets to the Wind!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I had a wonderful experience working with Topper in the lead-up to the wedding event itself. He's extremely responsive, accommodating and informative. On the wedding day, Topper was an outstanding MC'er too. The music itself was absolutely fantastic - the genres of music they play appeal to everyone - your parents, your friends, the 30 year old frat stars, your 21 year old hipster cousin from LA, even your great aunt Marge. Their execution is fun, flawless and - not to be overlooked - their audio guy is exceptional too. Your guests will have an amazing time, everyone who interacts with them (your coordinator, your mother-in-law, etc.) will have a positive experience. 100% emphatic recommendation.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeannie
Wedding:
2/1/2013
5.0/5.0
I couldn't have asked for a more cooperative and wonderful band. They made my wedding feel so personal and special by learning two songs specifically for my first dance and father/daughter dance. They are talented, entertaining and definitely the life of the party. I would book them over and over again!!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Whitney
Wedding:
1/26/2013
5.0/5.0
It may sound like hyperbole, but Three Sheets to the Wind made our wedding reception what it was -- amazingly fun for everyone involved. We knew we were in for a treat, but they superseded our every expectation. The guys managed to straddle the line between a wild, fun, hilarious group of musicians that enlivened the atmosphere and got the crowd dancing and a responsible, punctual, cordial vendor of services that made it a pleasure to do business. Not to mention that they don't just look the part and sing the songs -- their musicality is top-notch! We have already said we want them for our anniversary party.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ali
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
3 Sheets is the epitome of a dream wedding vendor!! I would give them 6 stars if I could! I can't say enough positive things about working with them. From the beginning when we booked them they were always flexible, responsive, and listened to what we wanted. They learned a new song, at no extra charge, for our first dance and it was one of the highlights of the night for sure. They were never difficult or picky about what was needed from their end. They make it a point to be a fun-loving group of talented guys who simply want to give your guests an unforgettable night. After our wedding my aunt said, "After tonight, I realized that the only thing you need in order to have a fun wedding is an amazing band." Book them if you want the dance floor filled all night long. We can't thank them enough!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
The only thing better than the tunes was how cool these guys are! A pleasure to work with and amazing at 'playing to the crowd', my wife was actually forced to concede that I had made a good decision which was quite rare during the wedding planning process. A performance of "Doctor My Eyes" that would make Jackson Browne himself weep...I highly recommend this band!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natalie
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Three Sheets did a phenomenal job playing at our wedding after-party. Even though my feet hurt, I could not stop dancing! This group has amazing energy, perfect sound, and an incredible set list. Our friends and family are STILL raving about this band, months later. Highly recommend!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julz
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
I absolutely loved working with 3 Sheets to the Wind! They were incredibly fun and made the wedding! All my friends and my family's friends were talking about was the band. They played amazing music and did a great job of keeping the party going! I would use them again in a hear beat!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
If you really want to make it a perfect day, you need to hire this band right now. With out a doubt, best decision we made.
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leilani
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
This band rocks our world!!! They were incredibly easy to work with, highly professional and as a professional musician myself, I can vouch for their mad skills and engaging stage presence. We were thrilled and honored to have had them at our reception. Hire them. You and your guests will have the time of your life :)
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Josh
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
Three Sheets made the party for us! We were looking to host a celebration of the day, our families and friends who led us to that day and to each other. We wanted a fun time, light and not too stuffy and Three Sheets was perfect! They offered to learn any song for our first dance and even played some beautiful music for us during the ceremony for the prelude and recessional. The following party was great and the band interacted with us and our guests making for a great time by all!

The planning process was crisp, the band was on-time and prepared and packed up quickly to allow the space to be cleaned to close out the rental.

I would recommend them to anyone who's looking for a fun, light and celebratory reception!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
4/30/2011
5.0/5.0
EVERYONE was dancing! I work in the restaurant industry and our wedding of 200 was an eclectic mix of grandparents and older family mixed with young 24 year old tattooed folks with nose rings and EVERYONE DANCED!

Three Sheets is fun, energetic, great at reading the crowd and getting people on their feet.

The guys were very professional. Punctual on the day of, and very communicative leading up to the day. Would highly recommend!
Services Used: Band
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lacy
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
Jack and the guys made our wedding better than we could have EVER imagined. They were professional, kind and put on one heck of a show! Our wedding would not have been as much fun and as memorable without these guys. People to this day still ask me who the band was and comment on the variety of the music they played and the energy they brought to the room. They amped things up when they needed to be and kept things mellow when they needed to be - all around the most perfect wedding band ever! Thank you guys!!!
Services Used: Band

MAP

 
4117 Poindexter Road, Louisa, VA 23093 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Three Sheets to the Wind
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1360605331058-nyccsquare