130x130_sq_1378759455467-fall-2012-332

Tierra Floral Design

Bethesda , MD
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

4961 Bethesda Ave.
Bethesda, MD US 20814 (map)

PHONE

301-951-0199

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

During more than ten years Tierra Event Design has been part of over one thousand events, creating, supporting and developing unforgettable experiences in the Washington Metropolitan... Read more
During more than ten years Tierra Event Design has been part of over one thousand events, creating, supporting and developing unforgettable experiences in the Washington Metropolitan Area. Our team has the highest commitment to you by focusing all its efforts on creating not just a moment but instead a life lasting memory.

As a result of its continuous commitment to excellence Tierra Event Design has received several awards and recognitions allowing the company to work with recognized companies, organizations and venues like Microsoft, Convention Center DC, and Greater Hispanic Chamber of Commerce in DC among others.

The good name and excellent recognition of Tierra Event Design has been the result of the great effort of the designer and owner. Juan Carlos Castillo, know very well in the area as “Juan Carlos”. He has designed and created more than 5,000 floal arrangements during his career at Tierra Event Design thru its Floral Desig services. Juan Carlos’ creations always have his personal touch using natural and eco-friendly materials. When creating a concept Juan Carlos considers all the elements of a great design: color, size, texture, environment, flavor and smell making sure that all of them become one in each of his creations.

Through the years Tierra Event Design has developed strategic alliances with flower growers around the world bringing fresh cut flowers directly from the field to your event, the organization also counts with a team of companies specialized on importing flower, vases, lights, fabrics and all event materials that your event may need.

Click here to preview a virtual tour of some of the events we've designed at local venues! Read less
Flowers , Lighting & Decor

INFO FOR FLOWERS

Do you offer free or for charge consultations?
Free
Do you provide free or for charge sample arrangements?
Free
Do you offer delivery, set up, and breakdown services?
Breakdown, Delivery, Setup

INFO FOR LIGHTING & DECOR

What type of events do you produce?
Corporate Events, Private Parties, Weddings
Which of the following services do you provide?
Decorative Draping, Event Concept & Design, Event Décor, Event Lighting, Floral Design, Furniture Rental

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gena
Wedding:
7/13/2014
5.0/5.0
The flowers were absolutely beautiful! Juan Carlos was excellent to work with. He was very responsive from the first day. I told him we were on a budget since our wedding was small and he helped guide me with specific flowers within my color range and created the most beautiful arrangements. He was also very knowledgeable and took all factors into account when suggesting specific flowers, such as the heat and which flowers were stronger. I will certainly recommend Tierra Floral!
Services Used: Flowers, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angel
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
Hands Down Tierra Floral Design is the most incredible Florist & Decor vendor in the, Virginia, Maryland & Washington, DC area!!! Not only is Juan AMAZING, but he is full of creative ideas that will allow you’re wedding or party look like a million bucks. The creative designs we came up with together collectively were just Amazing and priceless. Juan & his staff are so professional but you leave with a friend at the end. I will forever use Tierra Floral for any function I do & will refer to them to anyone in need of a creative designer such as him. Thank you for making Our Wedding look like a million bucks!!!!!
Services Used: Flowers, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
amy
Wedding:
11/9/2013
5.0/5.0
Juan and his team are the best! I was one of those brides that walked in with only a basic knowledge of flowers (i.e. roses, hydrangeas, etc.). So, while I knew that I wanted beautiful florals for my big day, I had no real idea of what I actually wanted the centerpieces, bouquets, etc to look like. However, once I told Juan my color scheme, he quickly pulled a concept together and I was blown away. As any bride knows, florals can quickly add up, so I worked with Juan to split my 22-table reception up with some floral and some non-floral centerpieces...both were equally beautiful. I highly recommend this vendor to any bride.

btw...Juan is very patient with his brides. I think I had to add items (centerpieces, placecard decor) to my contract several times and he was very responsive with each instance.
Services Used: Flowers, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
Flowers turned out beautifully thanks to Juan Carlos! From the very beginning he was on point helping us out and his prices could not be beat. Meeting with him to view a sample bouquet was quick and painless because he mastered what we wanted on the first try. He even ordered us extra bouquets last minute. Flowers arrived on time and unharmed. The shop is small but don't be thrown off by that because it is beautifully decorated inside. All around a pleasant experience, would definitely use them again in the future and recommend to anyone need floral help.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
I loved my flowers for my wedding. Juan Carlos did a spectacular job. Beautiful English garden theme with roses and hydrangea. Awesome and dreamy. Centerpieces were gorgeous. Everything was truly outstanding. And Juan Carlos is very easy to work with. My family also just loved the colors and textures he included in all the arrangements.
Services Used: Flowers, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allen
Wedding:
9/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Juan Carlos & the Tierra Team provided us with beautiful centerpieces and flowers! We went in to Tierra with a few ideas and Juan Carlos told us we could come back at a later date to see the arrangements before the wedding, and he blew us away with how perfect he got everything on the first try (and for a very reasonable price!). They also flawlessly took care of setting everything up the day of, and it all looked wonderful.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natalie
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
Let me begin by saying that Tierra was my 3rd estimate for my wedding, before I decided to proceed with them. The previous places I went, both very notorious.. I would tell them my budget was $7k, asked that they help me envision my wedding centerpieces, etc.- and they would write me up an estimate for $10-$13k. Huh? I would notice when you're talking to a Florist, they take a good look at the size of your diamond ring (no joke). From there, they estimate what you can afford, not by what you are saying. I hated that. Juan Carlos at TF was the one who stood out to me- he never glanced at my ring! He was very straight forward if something was not in my budget- BUT he would provide what I wanted to give me the same look for less. In the end, he provided the SAME LOOK that the other florists were giving me but for MUCH LESS. He's not there to rip you off. He is in this industry to create that memorable look for you, so that even he can look back and say, "I did that." This guy is talented. He was always available for me. I kept changing my ideas left and right- he was on top of it. I asked him to use his own judgment when he was at the wedding setting up-if something didn't work, I trusted he would either remove it entirely or place it elsewhere. This guy is THE ONE. My centerpieces were over 7ft tall! Enchanting! After the wedding, people were sending me messages about how beautiful my flowers were! I looked back at wedding photos, and I saw Juan Carlos had put petals and roses in places I never requested or expected. He felt it was a nicer look. How lucky am I to have chosen him?! WOW! PERFECT! He really hit the nail on the head when he designed it so that it was beautiful in the end, even if you didn't ask or pay for it. That is a true florist. Someone who didn't walk away when your funds were up, but continued to do the service because he believed in his work! You are the BEST Juan Carlos! I will ALWAYS use your services for any event! THANK YOU!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nilofar
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
The center pieces, the stage and the decor were all perfect. It exceeded my expectations and our guests and family members were in awe of how beautiful everything looked. They had their eyes on the center pieces to ensure that they did take one with them. We received amazing compliments on how beautiful our colors looked and how gorgeous our sitting station appeared.
Services Used: Flowers, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
7/28/2013
5.0/5.0
What a wonderful florist... The Chuppah was just breathtaking, and the reception was a dream come true of flowers and paper lanterns. Juan Carlos took my dreams to the extreme.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Samantha
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Juan Carlos is simply amazing!!! From the very moment my husband and I met him, he was attentive and very patient with us. He was very understanding of our budget and worked with us to bring my visions for our wedding to life! I am so happy we worked with Tierra Floral Design and I would do it all over again! Thank you so much Juan Carlos for everything you did to make our day special and for everything you continue to do for Brides all over the MD/DC/VA area! You are a blessing and have a true talent!

Respectfully,
Samantha C. and Kenneth J.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Maria
Wedding:
12/1/2012
5.0/5.0
Tierra Floral did a beautiful job for my December wedding at Congressional CC. Juan was always easy to get in contact with and never had to deal with a middle man. He did a fantastic job on complimenting the holiday decor at the venue. He was such a pleasure to work with! The centerpieces were absolutely gorgeous!!!
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1347757925799-img0410
Hazem
Wedding:
11/11/2012
5.0/5.0
One of the best vendors we used for our wedding. Incredible value. They delivered higher than our expectations.
Services Used: Flowers, Lighting & Decor
130x130_sq_1308090841336-nikkitj338
Nikki
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
Tierra Floral provided the flowers for my wedding this past weekend. When I walked into our ceremony and reception rooms I was absolutely stunned!!!! It was more gorgeous than I had even imagined! Juan was amazing to work with. I started planning about a year out so of course I kept changing my mind. He was always very accommodating and very quick to respond to all of my questions. I have been receiving compliments constantly about how gorgeous our centerpieces were. Every aspect from the candles, the bouquets to the centerpieces were just perfect!!!!! I would highly recommend Juan to any future bride. You definitely get your money's worth! This is one aspect of the planning you won't have to worry about. No matter what it will be gorgeous!!! Thank you to Juan and his team for helping make our wedding so beautiful!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Juan Carlos and his staff at Tierra Floral Design were awesome. The floral arrangements created by Juan Carlos were magnificent as well as stunning. It was the best experience!!! Juan Carlos knew exactly what I wanted and brought my ideas to life. Everything was absolutely beautiful. I would highly recommend his services. I promise he will not disappoint.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lorena
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Tierra Floral Design did the arrangements for my wedding reception. Everyone was surprised at how beautiful the arrangements were! The colors were the right combination for the theme of my wedding. I was extremely pleased with how the arrangements gave the reception such an elegant yet lively mood. The arrangements for the sweet heart table were just lovely and had that modern look that I wanted. I was very pleased with the service and they were very professional.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I found Tierra Floral Design by searching Google for florists in my area. I then searched for reviews of their recent work and was convinced to make an cosultation appointment based on the glowing reviews I found on the internet. When my mom and I initially met Juan Carlos, the owner of the company, he was very friendly and accommodating. He makes his clients feel special by placing flower petals on the walkway leading to his office. He listened to my ideas, showed me some of his designs, and together we came up with the perfect centerpiece for my wedding. We even had a chance to see the demo of the centerpiece a few weeks after our first appointment. The week prior to the wedding day, I made several changes in my bridal bouquets. I also asked him, again at the last minute, to decorate my ceremony space with candelabras and swag and a customer runner and he accommodated my requets, providing updated estimates quickly and charging fair prices. The end result was a beautiful, romantic ceremony and reception that my guests could not stop talking about. The flowers were absolutely georgeous and they looked just like the demos and photos we discussed! Carlos personally attended to the floral details at my wedding; hand delivering my bouquets and pin bouts to the bridal suite and overseeing the set up at the ceremony. I would highly recommend Tierra Floral Design for their professionalism, beautiful work, and their great customer service. Thank you, Juan Carlos!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
Juan Carlos did a fantastic job! Our flowers were even better than I had imagined. I think he had a better idea of what I wanted than I did. I would absolutely recommend him for anyone in the DC area.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
hwillman
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Juan Carlos! We loved your designs! BOOK THIS GUY! We used Tierra Floral Design for our wedding reception last October, and Juan Carlos came up with stunning tall and short arrangements, all very woody and using grasses. We wanted a natural feel, and he hit a home run. From my gorgeous demdrobium bouquet with peacock feathers to the spider head mums stuck in the curly willows, the night was absolutely gorgeous and TOTALLY affordable. He also hung 30 paper lanterns from the rafters. It was such a gorgeous set up. Thank you again! Hire this artist!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Happy MOB 9/10/11
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
I came across Tierra Floral Design at The Lansdowne Resort, as my husband and I were looking for a venue for our daughter's wedding, we knew we wanted this florist for our daughter's wedding. Juan Carlos was still working in the ball room and we approached him to tell him how beautiful we thought the flowers looked. He was very pleasant and we definitely wanted his card. Juan Carlos worked within our budget and was very easy to work with and showed us a sample of the flowers that we were going to have for our daughter's special day. On the day of the wedding, the flowers were beautiful and as of today, 11 days after the wedding, I have a centerpiece that is still alive. The Bride and Bridemaids' bouquets were full and beautiful. The pew flowers were a late add, so I didn't know what they going to be like, I just left it up to Juan Carlos and I just loved them. The reception flowers were exactly what we wanted and they really made the room. Everything had a nice finishing touch. I highly recommend Tierra Floral Design.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Juan Carlos @ Tierra Floral was unbelievable. I had received his name as a referral from a friend who is a wedding planner when I asked for names of places that would be able to fit in our smaller budget. Juan Carlos was able to do exactly what I was looking for at exactly the price I could afford. The result was the elegant and simple look I was going for. And one week after our wedding my bouquet is still going strong. I would strongly recommend Tierra Floral and would use them again in a heartbeat.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Tierra Floral and Juan Carlos were just excellent. I thought he had the best prices of the florists I looked into. THe flowers were beautiful, he was completely professional at every turn and was flexible with last minute changes. He combined beautiful flowers with excellent service and prices. Tierra Floral was really great for our wedding!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heidi
Wedding:
6/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Juan Carlos is amazing! I didn't have a clear idea of what I wanted and he was able to show his previous work and give suggestions based on some vague ideas and color schemes I provided. He even did a preview of what the arrangements would look like which was great. He worked within my budget to create truly magical arrangements and was never pushy or tried to up-sell us. He was on time for all meetings and promptly replied to all of our questions. Him and his staff showed up right on time for setup and breakdown. The arrangements were unique and dramatic but still tasteful and wedding appropriate.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Denise
Wedding:
2/19/2011
5.0/5.0
Juan Carlos at Tierra Floral did an amazing job on my wedding flowers! His showroom in Bethesda was modern and comfortable and we talked through my ideas. He pulled pictures of his previous work on a large LCD screen mounted on the wall. Seeing his work in such a large format gave me confidence to put my wedding flowers in his hands. He did a full mock up of my bouquet, the attendent's flowers, and the different centerpieces before the wedding. He was extremely responsive, came within my budget, and exceeded my expectations. His designs for me had a fresh modern twist that I loved! I highly suggest his work to any bride getting married in the DC metro!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elisha
Wedding:
10/23/2010
5.0/5.0
Juan Carlos and Tierra Floral Design were incredible! I'm not a big flower girl, but I fell in love with what we had planned. Even my husband thought it was pretty amazing!

Juan Carlos meets with you, comes up with a plan and then you come back a week later and see your arrangements! It's the greatest set up ever! You see your centerpieces, boutonnieres, mini versions of your bouquets, etc...The best part is that if you are unhappy with any of it, you can make adjustments right there!

We had a chuppah made of wood and vines that he was the mastermind behind! It was beautiful and he was able to incorporate our talit from our bar/bat mitzvahs into it! It was a scene from a fairy tale! Everyone raved about how amazing centerpieces! Very creative!

Juan Carlos and his crew showed up on time and we got to say thank you at the end of the night when he came to help break down the event. We would highly recommend Juan Carlos and Tierra Floral Design for any event!!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hannah
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Juan Carlos Castillo at Tierra Floral in Bethesda was phenomenal. The flowers were beautiful, and I was so happy that I really turned creative control over to him. My husband and I had ideas of what we liked for colors and a couple of particular flowers, but Juan Carlos really put it all together. My mom's comment to me after the wedding was that one of the things she'll remember most is how vibrant the flowers were against the bridesmaids' dresses. Our centerpieces were beautiful as well, and we took them to Inova Hospital's children's ward the next evening, where they really appreciated them. The price for this area was completely reasonable. This review is awfully overdue, but that's my fault- married life is kind of busy!!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
10/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Juan is an AMAZING floral designer. Everyone was spellbound by the creations he made for our special day - I'm trying to find reasons to have more events where I can have him do more designs!

Simply the best floral designer in DC, period.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rosemary Hickey
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
Katie, wedding 10/9/10
From the bouquets to the centerpieces, my flowers were outstanding and unique. The "fall tree" he created for my escort table was amazing. Juan far exceeded my expectations and made my wedding day more beautiful. He graciously accommodated all my requests, and within my budget!
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1292555171253-673031645192647642117165515717982116273933n
Officially His Mrs P.
Wedding:
10/9/2010
5.0/5.0
Juan Carlos is a God send!!!!! He really worked with my budget to give me what I wanted for what I could afford. I visited 3 other florists & NONE of them could reproduce the centerpice that I wanted it....none except Juan Carlos!!!

I almost cried when I saw how beautiful the arrangements were...everything was perfect! He was more than accomodating & patient when I kept adding on to the list. The flowers were fresh & vibrant, I couldn't ask for anything more!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dania
Wedding:
5/19/2007
5.0/5.0
Tierra Floral Design was an amazing team to work with. I use them now for my regular floral deliveries and parties. I could not have found a better group to work with.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
8/21/2010
5.0/5.0
Everything about the flower arrangements -- and we had a lot of variety -- was exquisite! From the ceremony to the reception, the flowers were consistently elegant.

The hydrangeas on the church pews were fresh and fluffy; the altar arrangements were tall (mix of flowers, including hydrangea and the long stem calla lilies) and could be seen from the back of St. Matthew's Cathedral. My bouquet, 25 dark pink calla lilies wrapped in an ivory ribbon, was jaw dropping; the color was stunning. My bridesmaids bouquets were white calla lilies wrapped in black ribbon; and my toss / fortune bouquet was red and white roses -- so beautiful!

The cocktail table centerpieces were shallow bowls, holding a lavender orchid and purple accent beads that were lit from underneath by a waterproof tea light -- Juan Carlos has a similar picture in his photos. These set the mood perfectly for a fun and colorful cocktail hour. The centerpieces at the dinner table were long stem calla lilies in tall vases -- I'm sure you've all seen these in pictures, but Juan Carlos made them look better than any picture I'd seen.

Again, everything about the flowers was exquisite and elegant. And I couldn't have been happier with the way everything looked. Juan Carlos was a pleasure to work with. He was responsive and professional, and he was patient with me when I made changes along the way. I highly, highly recommend Tierra Floral to anyone looking for a great florist!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katie
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
We met with Juan Carlos during the winter of 2009-2010 for our wedding this June in 2010. Ever since the first meeting he's been professional, responsive, flexible on price and offered his stylistic decor services when I needed a professional opinion. His shop is super cute too, with lots of ideas & fresh flowers everywhere lending themselves for a very hands-on consultation! Toward the end of our planning, we were still missing an arch for our outdoor ceremony and when I told Juan Carlos what I was looking for, he not only helped me find one, but when our combined efforts left us with nothing he had one MADE for us! It was perfect (and affordable!) Our guests couldn't stop talking about the ceremony decor and how beautiful it was! "Unique and Simplistic" was on everyone's lips (which made me happy!) My biggest piece of advice for anyone considering Juan Carlos and Tierra Floral Design is to not make the mistake of thinking he's too expensive for you. He'll MAKE it work! We had an average to small budget and was completely happy with how it turned out, I can't hardly imagine what he could do with a bigger one. Thanks again Juan, we loved everything!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
5/30/2010
5.0/5.0
When it came to my flowers I knew from the start what I wanted and how I wanted everything to look and it all started with an orchid that I found on the internet. Tierra was the only flower vendor that I went to and after explaining my vision to Juan Carlos I knew that I would be working with Tierra on my flowers and decor. He understood what I was looking for, and two weeks later when I came in to see the models of the flower decor for the tables I knew that I had chosen the right place. Juan Carlos was always willing to work with me to make changes to my order right up until the week of the wedding. I was so happily surprised at the care and pride he took in placing my flowers around the venue, and the pergola was amazing. I will be forever grateful to Juan Carlos at Tierra Floral Design for the care and quality of service and flowers on my wedding day. Thank you Juan Carlos for helping to make my wedding perfect!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KrisMay15
Wedding:
5/15/2010
5.0/5.0
Juan Carlos is an amazing florist!!! I got married in cambridge maryland in may and he made my centerpieces, bouquets, and my alter!! Everything was above and beyong my expectations! We was extremly flexable and throughout ALL of my changes he always accepted them with open arms and had great ideas.... use him you will NOT be dissapointed!
Services Used: Flowers
Bg1
HereHere
Wedding:
5/1/2010
5.0/5.0
Juan Carlos was WONDERFUL! He took the time to conduct a walk through of my very unique venue (National's Park) and totally made the room magnificent! Everyone raved to me afterwards about the towering flowers and beautiful set-up. Juan Carlos also provided us with unique vases so that we could take our lower arrangements to my husband's mom's nursing home, something very important to us. Also, we had a rather early wedding, 11 am, and Juan and his team were totally one time and left us with nothing to worry about. Like all the other reviews, I was SOOO happy with how Juan Carlos completely made our vision come to life. Would highly recommend!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Holland and Joe
Wedding:
4/24/2010
5.0/5.0
Tierra was AMAZING for my wedding. Everyone said my wedding looked like a fairytale and they were so impressed. The decor looked even more perfect than I had imaged!!! Juan Carlos was so great to work with and was even able to make some last minute changes the day of! I highly recommend them to anyone for any event!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
8/15/2009
5.0/5.0
Tierra made my wedding gorgeous! We were working on a tight budget. Juan Carlos honored our budget and put together breath-taking, unique centerpieces and lush bouquets! If you want high quality, vibrant, couture floral designs, priced just for you go to Tierra!
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1221460709364-dsc06857
sara
Wedding:
8/1/2009
5.0/5.0
WOW! Juan Carlos was amazing to work with! He went above and beyond to make my wedding absolutely beautiful! The day before the wedding I asked him to deliver the fllowers to my house and not the hotel, and he was very understanding and bent over backwards to make me happy. He is very talented at what he does, and I would recommend him to just about anyone who asks me for a florist. The whole night of my wedding I had people asking me who supplied my flowers, and how original they looked. Honestly the best part of my wedding was the centerpieces and my bouquet (oh, and also the fact that I got married). When you have good taste, anything you do is wonderful, and Juan Carlos has good taste.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carol
Wedding:
12/13/2008
5.0/5.0
Outstanding job! We could not have asked for more from Tierra Floral Design! Amazing, innovative, one-of-a-kind designs for a reasonable price. Everything from the initial meeting, to the consultations (because we had several), to the set-up at the ceremony and reception site was incredibly professional. Juan made me (the bride) feel like I was his only client, and that my day was special and unique. This was particularly important to me and my groom, because we are "of a certain age" and we didn't want our wedding to look like our son's wedding. Also, they were very aware and sensitive to different customs and cultures. They went above and beyond to accomodate our requests, and to make the day beautiful!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tracy
Wedding:
11/15/2008
5.0/5.0
Tierra did a beautiful job with my flowers and even responded quickly when there was a mix-up the day of with the color of the flowers in my bridesmaids bouquets.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
10/17/2008
5.0/5.0
Juan Carlos listened to our requirements and then suggested a design for our centerpieces and bouquets. During the first visit, he used flowers from his studio to put together an example as we agreed on the selection. We returned a week later for a demo of the centerpiece and the bouquet. With a clear picture before the wedding of exactly how the arrangements would look, we were confident that our custom pieces would add a special touch to our reception. The reviews from our friends on our wedding day confirmed that we had found the best florist in town for our event.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
william
Wedding:
9/27/2008
5.0/5.0
We were referred to Juan Carlos and his team by a friend of ours and were extremely happy with our results. Juan Carlos did an excellent job of working with out budget and listening to exactly what we wanted and pulled it off. We went in with out a set vision in mind and he worked with us to show us different examples of what he could do until we were 100% satisfied. We received numerous compliments on how elegant and unique our centerpieces and cocktail hour flowers looked. We would highly recommend Juan Carlos and the entire Tierra team. They were the utmost of professionals and even catered to our busy schedule.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Stefanie
Wedding:
9/27/2008
5.0/5.0
I went to seven other florists before I came across Tierra Floral Design. He was the only florist that made demos to preview and I found that turned out to be extremely important because when I went to see the demos that Juan put together based on our initial meeting, I hated them. They were not like anything I envisioned...way too traditional for me. Juan took it all in stride and worked with me patiently until we finally made our decision. For my bouquet, I decided on picasso calla lilies. Juan didn't have them in stock to show me during our demo meeting so he special ordered them the following week for me to see. Juan also made our chuppah which was gorgeous. We got married at Meadowlark Gardens so we wanted something that would fit with the scenery. He made the most beautiful yet simple chuppah from branches and orchids. Juan created the most gorgeous centerpieces I have ever seen. The purple tealights in the vases lit up the entire reception. We received so many compliments on the centerpieces. I would recommend Tierra Floral Design in a second.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Florens Zelaya
Wedding:
8/9/2008
5.0/5.0
Tierra design made our dreams come true. They have the best design for the best price. My flowers were amazing and made the church and the reception look the best!!! everyone kept telling us that the flowers where beautiful and that they must be very expensive!! but for the quality and service that we received the cost was very good! Also for valentine's day my now husband used Tierra and I received the most beautiful roses in a unique box! WE LOVE TIERRA and we recommend them to everyone for every event!!! Thank you Tierra for my Peonnies!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
7/29/2008
5.0/5.0
Juan Carlos from Tierra Floral Design was so wonderful to work with. Tierra provided me with everything I hoped for and more! The flowers were beautiful and the entire experience was pleasurable.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
2/16/2008
5.0/5.0
Tierra Floral Design was such an amazing florist for our wedding and far surpassed our expectations! Juan Carlos Castillo and his team were so welcoming and open to our ideas and spent time with us to pick exactly the right flowers. He is so insightful and inventive and helped us create the perfect colors and designs. His eye for color and space shows in the way he puts the bouquets together. Our guests raved about our centerpieces and complimented the uniqueness of his designs. I would highly recommend Tierra Floral Design for any bride and groom who want a stress-free, joyful, and reliable wedding planning experience!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allison
Wedding:
9/26/2010
5.0/5.0
Ahhh, Juan Carlos...what can I say - not enough! Without question, Tierra Floral Design was the star of the show at my wedding. Well, I just mean that there was almost no comment from a guest that didn't include: "The flowers are amazing!" We interviewed a number of florist and felt very comfortable with Juan Carlos. He wasn't the cheapest, but lord he wasn't the most expensive by far! And the florist who was cheaper than him would have reflected that in his work, I'm sure. Tierra was a recommendation from my planner, Kelly O'Driscoll, and as with all her other recommendations, I have no regrets. Truly, the flowers blew my mind. I had ideas, but not a lot of faith in my own design scheme. Juan Carlos was great at listening to what I wanted, showing me options, helping me refine my ideas, and best of all, changing things at any stage. He was laid back and so easy to work with; honest and up front about decisions that would increase costs; and he came through in a big way. For me, this was the biggest surprise of my wedding. I didn't even think I cared that much about flowers until I saw what he created for us and it was just so spectacular. My bouquet exceeded all expectations and every suggestion Juan Carlos offered was spot on. We used moss on the tables with orchid blooms. Curly willow with a few orchid blooms weaved throughout. The chupah he created was magical and unobtrusive. The head wreaths for the flower girls were melt-your-heart cute. Really, people still talk about the flowers. We got married at Meadowlark Botanical Gardens and he knew the site and could offer advice about what would really work in that space. I would recommend Tierra Floral to anyone - particularly anyone on a budget who thinks it's insane how much flowers cost. I'd like to think I looked okay on my wedding day, but even I have to admit, Tierra was the star. Thanks, Juan Carlos. You're a master!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Iana
Wedding:
7/20/2013
4.9/5.0
I was so happy with how our flowers turned out! Juan Carlos was so great to work with...we met him in Bethesda and I used a lot of pinterest pictures to show him what I had in mind. Then, he did a demonstration for us which was really nice to be able to see a model of how our flowers would look. Closer to the wedding, I wanted to make a few changes and he was very accomodating to this and had no problem with it. My wedding planner said he was incredibly professional on the day of the wedding. He constantly kept her aware of where he was and what he was doing (setting up flowers at the church, reception, etc). He also completely took care of clean up on the night of the wedding which a lot of florists don't do. I would highly recommend him!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
clayborne
Wedding:
10/18/2008
4.9/5.0
Tierra provided outstanding service. Juan met with my fiancee and me on several occasions and was flexible and creative in designing a package that right for us. He made a couple of trips to our wedding site which is located almost two hours from his office and on the big day, Juan andhis partner transformed the winery into a thing of beauty.

We could not be more pleased and would welcome the opportunity to work with Tierra Floral Desigen again.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Farrah
Wedding:
8/2/2008
4.9/5.0
I saw their work at another wedding, and loved it! Had to use them! Great modern style, very easy to work with and meet with. Would use them again!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
vic6177
Wedding:
9/15/2007
4.9/5.0
Tierra Floral Design was able to create flowers based on my invitation pattern and it matched exactly what I had in mind. They made some arrangements for me to see what it would look like instead of looking at magazines. Everybody loved the flowers. They were very professional and timely.
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1369851953132-basin-laugh
Janine
Wedding:
9/21/2013
4.8/5.0
Tierra's flowers were absolutely gorgeous. On the day of the wedding, everything was delivered promptly and set up seemed to go well. I cannot describe just how much I loved the flowers. Juan Carlos got exactly what I wanted. The BEST part was that he made a sample arrangement (including a medium centerpiece, a large centerpiece, and a small bouquet) before you even put any money down or sign anything. I was immediately impressed. I gave a budget, and he worked within that which was very nice. I would definitely recommend Tierra Floral!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
happybride
Wedding:
5/24/2008
4.8/5.0
Our flowers were absolutely amazing and fresh, and the florists were so helpful, creative, and easy to work with. They were great giving us what we wanted working with our budget. We received endless compliments on our centerpieces. Juan Carlos and his team did a great job. I would certanly recomend them.
Services Used: Flowers
130x130_sq_1252933429703-hawaiius
Amanda
Wedding:
10/2/2010
4.8/5.0
Juan Carlos and his team were very fast in setting all the floral for our wedding! Before the wedding we had some very last minute changes and Juan Carlos made all the necessary changes to make our day very beautiful. I would recommend him hands down to any bride looking for an excellent florist!!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kari
Wedding:
7/30/2011
4.8/5.0
Juan Carlos from Tierra Floral Design was great! He was recommended to me by my coordinator, Kawania Wooten, and I was not disappointed! I came to him with specific things in mind for my wedding, and he accommodated all of them and added on to make my ideas even better! He was very receptive to any changes I wanted to make, and did a beautiful job incorporating my mother's wedding veil onto the ribbon on my bouquet's handle. Everyone not only loved the flowers themselves, but the way they were put together and the elements of the floral design. Thank you Carlos!
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
regankl
Wedding:
10/17/2008
4.7/5.0
Juan Carlos and his assitants came up with some wonderful ideas. He puts the arrangements together for you before you sign the contract. The flowers were just perfect. They were classic with a very modern twist. They were absolutly great.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lamees
Wedding:
10/18/2008
4.6/5.0
I would highly recommend Tierra Floral Design for anyone who is looking for creative and unique flowers for their wedding. Juan Carlos has extremely original ideas and created samples for us to see, which was so helpful in deciding on arrangements and colors. He modified things to work with our budget. Everyone loved the flowers, and I was so happy that they were unique, like nothing I've ever seen at another wedding. Jorge was also great to work with, our wedding coordinator even commented on how pleasant he was to have around while everything was being set up.
Services Used: Flowers
Default-vendor-profile-pic
senoritanovia
Wedding:
7/6/2008
0.0/5.0
Unfortunately, Tierra did not deliver for my wedding. Literally. We placed our order a few months before our wedding date, having heard about them through a friend. Everything leading up to the wedding was fine, and we were dealt with very professionally. Hovever, they did not show up on our wedding date! The contact information we had been given was useless as no one in the shop was answering the phone, and no one even returned our phone call until 24 hours after the time they were supposed to deliver! When they finally did contact us, we got no explanation of why our flowers hadn't shown up, and they hardly even apologized. I appreciate that they quickly refunded our money, but that doesn't change the fact that I had to carry flowers from a grocery store, and the mothers, bridesmaids, flower girl, and groomsmen had NOTHING on the day of my wedding! The worst part was the lack of explanation and apology, even after we wrote to the owner to explain our dissatisfaction. I would not feel comfortable recommending Tierra to anyone, knowing that this type of thing could happen to someone else.
Services Used: Flowers

MAP

 
4961 Bethesda Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Tierra Floral Design
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1378759455467-fall-2012-332