130x130_sq_1233304206015-img_0581-copy(2)

TJ Monte Productions - Timothy Montemayor, Entertainment Director for Crystal Gardens Banquet Center

Rockwood , MI
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

32151 W Jefferson Ave
Rockwood, MI US 48173 (map)

PHONE

734-341-3548

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

I’ve been in the Music Industry for over 20 yrs. I have personally DJ’d for Millions of people at thousands of events. I am currently the Entertainment Director at Crystal Gardens... Read more
I’ve been in the Music Industry for over 20 yrs. I have personally DJ’d for Millions of people at thousands of events. I am currently the Entertainment Director at Crystal Gardens Southgate, the exclusive DJ on the Cruise Ship "The Friendship" at Portofino on the River and DJ numerous Clubs all over the Detroit area. We are not your typical Wedding or "Push Play" DJ Company. We mix a continous blend of music with seamless transitions to ensure the Dance floor stays full. We use top-of-the-line equipment to ensure the Best sound possible.. We also have over $250,000 of Audio, Sound, Lighting and Video equipment so, the possibilities are endless. Let us Customize your reception the way YOU want it...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vzzKnfsDCuw Read less
DJ

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1233306295484-img_0581-copy
130x130_sq_1233306343671-img_0583
130x130_sq_1233306435031-img_1365
130x130_sq_1233306511687-img_1882
130x130_sq_1233306545906-img_1884
130x130_sq_1233306599062-img_1902-copy
130x130_sq_1233329671500-shapeimage_5

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Big Band, Classic Rock, Classical, Country, Dance, Funk, Gospel, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Pop, R&B, Rock, Soul, Swing
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Describe your DJ style:
Best of both worlds.... 20 years doing Weddings &12 years of doing Clubs
What is your usual attire?
Tuxedo attire... Not a full Tux with tails or anything. We dont' want to be mistaken as a groomsmen or Server... We wear something stylish so we stand out from the crowd ex... Black Tux Pants, Black Tux Shirt, Black or Colored Vest with matching tie... We want guests to know right away that we are the DJ... Had a bride request to wear a salmon colored tux with the big ruffles... it was a hit with guests. We will tailor our attire per your taste.
If you do not have one of the songs pre-requested by the client, do you require that they provide it?
Not al all.... It is our job to provide all music for any event... The only time that is acceptable is when a client needs unreleased music or out of print music. ex. my brother is in a band, will you play his CD for me.
How many other DJs do you work with?
I'm the CEO, but we do have 5 other amazing DJ's to choose from.
What is the minimum amount of time you will DJ for?
Any amount of time you desire we can deliver.... Most of the time when the music stops, the party usually ends.
Is the client able to meet the DJ before booking?
We prefer to meet with our brides to ensure all major/minor details are discussed.
Do you specialize in any ethnic or international events?
All Occasion Professional..
Do you bring your own equipment?
Yes.... Top-of-the-line!!!!! all the way down to the smaller things like wire and patch cords. Brand names: Pioneer, Denon, Rane, Serato, JBL, Crown, Mackie, Martin & American DJ Lighitng. Only the BEST for our clients!!!
What (if any) special equipment, such as disco balls or lighting, is offered with your service?
We have the extras if you want them, but every system we set-up includes everything you will need to have great party.... Lights, Sound, Audio Components, & our microphones are wireless.. We also offer UP-LIGHTING and WALL WASHES... GOBO and Monogram Display.. New this Year - "Freeze Frame Photo Booth Fun" (not your typical photobooth) If you can Dream we can Provide it!
How much time do you usually need to set up? Do you require that the site or client provide a table for you to set up on?
We like to have our equipment set and ready to about 30 minutes prior to the event start time. Usually 1 hour is fine...
Do you have any extra space requirements?
No, not unless you purchase are ultimate wedding package.. then we may need extra space....
Do you usually emcee the event or talk between songs?
We will handle all bridal announcements and emcee all events, encourage dance participation....
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
You are not require to feed us. Most reception halls take care of us. Plus the factor that a few guests will not show due to a one reason or another. The hall should consider the DJ to be an asset to them for they are Emcee for them as well. Welcoming guests to their establishment and provide some service to them as well.
Will you arrange for recorded music to play during your breaks?
We play music from start to stop!!!!
What is your backup plan in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes, In fact most of the time we have 2 DJ's on every job in case of any type of emergency.
What is your overtime rate?
$175.00 per hour
Do you charge for travel expenses? If yes, how much do you charge?
Anything over 30 miles... I'm fortunate and have been all over the country DJing. If it is required for us to travel more than 2 hours, we will include hotel and travel in our price quote.

REVIEWS

3.6
out of 5.0
3.7/5.0
3.4/5.0
3.7/5.0
3.6/5.0
3.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kendra
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
I used TJ Monte productions as my DJ, photobooth, AND uplighting. They were extremely flexible with prices, and Chelsea was SO kind to work with. I was skeptical at first, as we were told Tim would be our DJ, then Jon, THEN in the end it was Chelsea who was our DJ. BUT, that being said, Chelsea was fabulous! Everyone was on the dance floor, and she listened to exactly what we asked her to play, and I haven't received any complaints. The photobooth attendants were also SO awesome...I just loved all three of the ladies that were at our event. THey were so personable, and made jokes, took photos, and really made our event special :-) I felt like I made three new friends after our wedding, haha! I feel bad even mentioning this, because it was NOT a big deal...but it's more for constructive criticism for the company: the photobooth itself was a LITTLE slow to take pictures (I just think maybe it was a slightly lower quality than competitors?) so in a lot of the photobooth pictures, there's at least one that's blurry because someone moved before the picture was taken (again, just because the camera took a long time to take the picture). Please please please, realize that this is NOT a big deal, and it's something they can probably easily correct. Working with these people was a dream...I have a day worth of about 22 emails that Chelsea just kept going back and forth with me and answering all of my questions. She's so patient and kind, I can't rave enough about what great people this company has :-) Highly recommend them!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
5/24/2014
5.0/5.0
Chelsea was my DJ and I was absolutely thrilled with the service she provided. Chelsea was very quick to response to my emails. I made multiple changed and she got every detail correct the day of my wedding. She makes an effort to get to know her clients and their music preferences. She helped make our wedding day run smoothly.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cameron
Wedding:
5/17/2014
3.8/5.0
We used this vendor for their up lighting and photobooth services. We were very pleased with the lighting and made our venue look amazing!! They were also flexible and let us use two different colors.

Our photobooth girl was very nice and made our album look great with the touches she added to it. However, I was not as impressed with the quality of the booth and pictures themselves. I had seen better quality ones however it still did the trick and people still had fun.
Services Used: Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allison
Wedding:
1/4/2014
4.9/5.0
DJ John was absolutely amazing he had all of our guests on their feet all night!!! Not only did he do an amazing job he played music that fit our wedding style. John and Chelsea provided our uplighting and turned our ballrooms into a winter wonderland.
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
6/14/2013
5.0/5.0
They sent their BEST DJ, Chelsea, to service our wedding. She was on-time, professional, etc. She made sure that all the music was right and that the entrances were right on time. Enjoyed her getting out and being able to have fun dancing at the wedding reception with us. Could not have asked for a better DJ for our special day! :)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brandy
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
We loved him. He kept everyone on their feet, we had a great night!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
5/25/2013
4.1/5.0
The DJ is probably the most important part at a reception! We did not go wrong with our choice. TJ Monte made this part of planning pretty simple. They provided us with sheets to fill out so they had all the necessary information going into the reception. Chelsea was our DJ, she was great. You can really tell that she loves and knows what she is doing. Everyone was dancing all night long. We had a blast. I have already had people ask me for TJ Monte's contact information.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kay
Wedding:
5/25/2013
1.5/5.0
I wish I would have checked this site out before hiring this DJ (that was also recommended to us by Crystal Gardens). We had a meeting with the TJ a few weeks before the wedding. We explained to him EXACTLY what we wanted. We brought lists of our favorite songs/examples of the type of music we liked played. We also filled out the extensive paper work (all of our bridal party songs, went through the top 100 wedding songs and highlighted what we liked and crossed off what we didn't, we filled out our top favorite artists and favorite songs with stars for our absolute favorites) The DJ (who was not who we met with) got all of our bridal party songs right, and that's about it. We gave them our all time favorite artist, and only 1 song by the artist was played all night at my request. We specifically asked for no clubbing music, but Kesha was the choice of the night. It was as if that paper work never existed. It was a waste of several hours and it caused an outrageous amount of stress, especially on the night of my wedding when he played all the music that we hated and none of the music that we like. It's like they just said "hmm, this is what the couple wants. But screw it, let's just do what we literally do at every single other wedding!" I would never hire them again.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
8/11/2012
4.6/5.0
I read many reviews about TJ Monte and saw the same thing repeatedly - great DJ, but not super responsive. I figured that we were not too demanding so no worries! We selected TJ Monte for DJ and photobooth. Everything was perfect and fine until we decided last minute to have a DJ for our ceremony. We couldn't get a return call to confirm that they would also do the ceremony! I was freaking out until two days before the ceremony when we got the call confirming they would be there. The day of the event, they were there and were completely awesome and professional. So, overall I would recommend them, but just remind you to be patient and not worry if you don't get a call back!!! With respect to our photobooth: It was fun (a big hit with the crowd), but my personal complaints were that the room was cramped, the photos weren't very clear (and kind of far away looking), and the directions on the room didn't really tell you where to look for the camera (everyone looked up at the screen rather than at the camera below). Still worth the purchase, but wish they could fix those things!
Services Used: DJ, Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lance
Wedding:
7/13/2012
0.6/5.0
We repeated called TJ Monte as our wedding got closer and every time that we called the phones just rang until we received the VM message that there mailbox was full. We had to email our wedding reception coordinator at Crystal Gardens in Howell to have TJ Monte contact us. We never received any paperwork as for what types of music we wanted played until the two nights before the wedding. Which at that time we were so busy that it just made stress level that much worse. Our DJ Robert Cardinal did the best that he could, he said that he was just given the gig only days before the wedding. I would never recommend TJ Monte.
Services Used: DJ
TJ Monte Productions - Timothy Montemayor, Entertainment Director for Crystal Gardens Banquet Center responded with the following comments:

Lance, First of all, I apologize for you not being happy with our service. From my notes, Ashley contacted you 2 weeks before the weeding because we didn't have your planning sheets (standard procedure) at that point we emailed them to you for you to fill out. I have a full time Office Manager and Support staff. Our office is open Monday-Friday 10am - 5pm. Many clients stop in to have a cup of coffee and discuss their wedding in detail. We are not a DJ service, working out of a bedroom. I do this full time. I give each and every client my personal cell phone number so they can reach me at anytime. Rob (your DJ) has been let go, due to his unethical practices. We assign our DJ's in advance so you may be in direct contact with them throughout the planning process. I'm shocked to find this review, when you never called our office with any concerns.. Again, on behalf of TJ Monte Productions, Please accept our apologies. If there is anything I can do to help rectify any concerns please let me know.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
6/30/2012
0.0/5.0
Absolutely terrible! As many other reviews mentioned, I also tried to contact them numerous times, left messages with no return call, and received messages saying the voicemail was full. When I finally got in contact with someone I was assured that my information sheet with my name, bridal party information, and songs had been received, only to get to my reception and find a different DJ other than Tim, who I was supposed to have, and had even met with to discuss details. And on top of that, the DJ did not even have my information sheet! Our entrance had to be postponed so the DJ could find our entrance song and bridal dance song among others, and even then they were wrong!! I also rented a projector for a slide show which had a huge line down the middle of it the entire evening. I also requested yellow uplighting to match my yellow wedding only to have blue and green uplighting. When I addressed these issues after my wedding he discounted everything and even attemped to put the blame on me for the DJ not having my information. I would not recommend them to anyone. I was completely dissatisfied and even to this it is hard for me to even think about the service I received and how things were handled.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
12/30/2011
0.5/5.0
AWFUL!! They never got back to me after I left 3 messages and I had to have the venue contact them and make sure they were still coming to play at my wedding at all!! Then when they were there they never even bothered to play any of our favorite bands. They played rap for most of the night when on our form I had said that I didnt want that kind of music played! AND THEY QUIT HALF AN HOUR EARLY!!!! WORST DJ EVER!
Services Used: DJ
TJ Monte Productions - Timothy Montemayor, Entertainment Director for Crystal Gardens Banquet Center responded with the following comments:

To all Brides&Grooms: you will the best service with our organization. That's our promise! I'm not sure if this is a competitor, but by the sounds of this review it appears that it is. We are a highly recognized Service. Tim is the Entertainment Director for one of the Largest and Best Banquet Facilities in Michigan. We've all heard of Aunt Nancy not getting her Ozzy Osborne Played or cousin Johnny didn't get his TuPac. But really we didn't play any of their Music at all and Left a half hour early? Sounds kinda ridiculous, don't it. If a DJ tried to leave early at your wedding
what would you do? We rest our case! TJ monte management.
Click on this link to see what people really have to say! http://vimeo.com/m/42763091
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sophia
Wedding:
10/30/2011
5.0/5.0
TJ MONTE WAS AWESOME!!!!! Chelsea was my DJ and I loved her. She was unique and played everything we liked. She was almost like family to us as we kept in so much contact with her. We knew when we met her at the bridal show that we wanted her! Tim is doing a great job with his DJs. We met all of them and loved everyone of them. TJ Monte Productions is simply the best!!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
10/22/2011
4.5/5.0
Mark was our DJ and kept the dance floor packed! He was great to work with and everyone had a great time! I had e-mailed back and forth with Tim in the months leading up to the wedding but it wasn't until the week of the wedding that I actually got a call from them. They played songs from the playlist I sent them and threw in some popular music to keep the energy of the room moving. I would highly recommend TJ Monte and Mark for your next event!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Crystal
Wedding:
9/24/2011
4.4/5.0
I was paired up with this vendor from a friend at work. She had just used their service for her wedding, and I was attracted to the amount of services they could offer as a package.

I met with TJ in December for my September wedding. We met at Crystal Gardens, which is a venue he does a lot of DJ work for. Since I'm from downriver originally, heading down that way to meet was not an issue. He was very friendly, and I was very happy with the package that was put together.

I booked a DJ, photobooth, uplighting, and a monogram.

I would say the only issue I had was with communication. Sometimes it would take quite a while to hear back from their company. If you are looking for someone to respond within 24 hours, this may not necessarily be the best bet.

However, the day of the wedding went well. The uplighting and monogram looked great, the photobooth was a hit, and the DJ played the music that we had specified during dinner, etc.

I would recommend this establishment to someone looking for a good deal on many services.
Services Used: DJ
Wwnetwork-128
Alexis
Wedding:
7/30/2011
0.8/5.0
Using DJs from TJ Monte Productions was the biggest mistake of our wedding. The DJ that came to play music for our garden ceremony played songs like 'Lips of an Angel' by Hinder (a song about cheating) and forgot the music we picked for our actual ceremony. The DJ for our reception did not play a single song on our general song list but instead played a ton of crap! No one danced and everyone was annoyed by the terrible music and left early. I wish they would have taken the song list we worked hard to put together into consideration. On top of that our DJ brought his girlfriend and was grinding on her the entire night (at our WEDDING reception.) Completely unprofessional staff with no consideration for the people that are paying them. Don't do it.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
S2010
Wedding:
7/31/2010
5.0/5.0
I would have to say that this is the best DJ we could have asked for. HE knew my brother in law, so he gave us a good price, and played great music. I never once had to ask him to play something else. He had us fill out information of all the songs that we wanted for each event (like cake cutting, garter, bouquet, first dance, wedding party dance and such). Just from our choices, think he got a feel for us and knew exactly what to play. I would recommend this DJ to anyone that asked. I have been in several friends weddings, and they all complained about their DJ. I am just happy that I can rave about mine!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kevin
Wedding:
6/13/2009
4.7/5.0
I haven't had much expierence with DJ's in the past but I have nothing bad to say about this DJ service. They had people dancing all night and made the music tie in with the festivites.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
OBooker
Wedding:
10/31/2008
5.0/5.0
Simply the Best indeed!!! Best of service and awesome to work with!!! Every wish was fulfilled! Thank you Tim for making our evening truly memorable!
Services Used: DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JenKen
Wedding:
9/26/2008
5.0/5.0
Absolutely perfect! Completely professional during all the planning and especially on our big day. Tim did our ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner, and reception music throughout all the rooms and terrace of Henry Ford Estate. He even did up lighting, making it even more amazing! The music catered to all our guests and got everyone up and dancing. Highly recommended!!!!
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
1.1/5.0
I should have known that services with TJ Monte would not turn out well when I tried for months to book a meeting with them and I would never even get a returned phone call or email. We booked TJ Monte because it was recommended to us by Crystal Gardens. It was horrible! The DJ made the atmosphere extremely awkward for our guests as well as ourselves. He did some parts of the reception in unconventional ways (such as, making people get up and stand around the dance floor during our first dance). However, he never ran the concept past us to make sure that is what we would like. We had some people with disabilities and limited mobility and it didn't work out well. There were several songs where absolutely no one was on the dance floor and almost all our guests had left before 11pm (many of whom ended up at the local bars instead). It essentially ruined our reception. :'( I would never book with them again.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
brendu2
Wedding:
9/4/2001
5.0/5.0
Tim personally handled our wedding video and assisted his employee with Dj'ing when the video portion was complete. We were married on a dock and our reception was on a boat. (not your typical church/hall type wedding.) Tim met with us to review times, schedules, music and family announcements. On top of that, Tim scouted our wedding/reception location for the best video shots and where the equipment should be set up. As far as I'm concerned, well beyond what was necessary. Most vendors just "show up" and figure it out from there. Tim is extremely talented and can "read" what your guests are responding to, but always keeping the bride/groom's request in mind. TJ Monte has always been professional and willing to work with your needs. I have personally recommended him to several friends. Not one was disappointed..
Services Used: DJ, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Corrie
Wedding:
5/19/2001
5.0/5.0
TJ Monte absolutely made our wedding the best! A DJ can make or break a reception, and Tim had everyone dancing all night long. People complimented us on having the most fun at our wedding. He played requests, and exactly what the bride and groom wanted.
I give TJ Monte 5 stars, thumbs up, and a great recommendation!!
Services Used: DJ

MAP

 
32151 W Jefferson Ave, Rockwood, MI 48173 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for TJ Monte Productions - Timothy Montemayor, Entertainment Director for Crystal Gardens Banquet Center
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1233304206015-img_0581-copy(2)