130x130 sq 1376534991143 ww130814 133

tomK photography

Mckinney , TX
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

4901 Leaf Ct
McKinney, TX 75070 US (map)

PHONE

214-679-6085

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

tomK photography is a Premier Wedding & Portrait studio located in Historic McKinney, Texas. Our style is natural and timeless, capturing real moments and cherished memories.
We... Read more
tomK photography is a Premier Wedding & Portrait studio located in Historic McKinney, Texas. Our style is natural and timeless, capturing real moments and cherished memories.
We limit the number of engagements we accept each year - when you book with us, you are our top priority. We absolutely love weddings and that love is reflected in our work ... we would be honored to be part of your special day. Our Collections include: - Two Professional Photographers to capture getting ready, pre-ceremony, ceremony, formals, reception and exit. We arrive 45 minutes prior to the bride putting her gown on, and stay for as long as you have contracted us for, to photograph all the special moments that will tell the story of your wedding day; - an Engagement session at the location of your choice, with an 11x14 print and a custom designed, photo Reception Book, using images from your session - a fun alternative to the "traditional" Sign-In book; - a Bridal portrait session, also at the venue of your choice, with an 11x14 print. (If you feel you don't have time for a Bridal prior to your wedding, we will make sure to get some of the bride alone on your wedding day, aor we can set up a time after the wedding, to photograph both bride and groom - trust us, we do this a lot - and yes, it means getting all dressed up again in your wedding clothes - but it is always a lot of fun and makes for some awesome, stress free portraits!); - a custom designed, Wedding Album produced by GraphiStudio of Italy; - a Digital Album of your all your images: wedding, engagement and bridal; - a custom Slideshow, which can incorporate your personal photos, for use at your reception or rehearsal dinner; - and our Wedding Client Lifetime Print Discount! One Last Thing ... The one bit of advice we have for Couples planning their wedding day - if at all possible, do not compromise when it comes to your photography. You work hard and spend so much time to ensure your wedding looks and feels exactly the way you want ... and it will be over in a few hours. When the last light is turned off and guest has gone home, all that remain are your memories ... and the photography ... trust your special day to a proven professional. Call us at 214.679.6085 or email us at info@tomkphotography.com to set up a personal consultation. tomK photography - "You don't take a photograph ... you ask, quietly, to borrow it."
http://www.tomkphotography.com

Awards:

WeddingWire.com “Brides Choice Award” 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012

The Knot “Best of Weddings” 2010, 2012

Dallas Morning News, Neighbors Choice "Best Portrait Photography” 2010

Project Wedding “Best of” 2008

Member of:

PPA - Professional Photographers of America

TPPA - Texas Professional Photographers Association

WPPI - Wedding & Portrait Photographers Intnl

NAAP - National Association of Photoshop Professionals

DWF - Digital Wedding Forum

SWP - Society of Wedding Professionals

McKinney Chamber of Commerce

~~

We serve all of Texas including Collin County - McKinney, Allen, Plano, Richardson; the greater DFW Metroplex - Dallas and Fort Worth, along with Travis County: the greater Austin Area and the surrounding cities. We love to travel all over our great state and enjoy destination Weddings too! Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1376533661115 ww130814 138
130x130 sq 1376532557340 ww130814 117
130x130 sq 1376532655912 ww130814 126
130x130 sq 1376533696221 ww130814 139
130x130 sq 1376534612863 ww130814 133
130x130 sq 1376532696209 ww130814 127
130x130 sq 1376533454791 ww130814 125
130x130 sq 1376532492679 ww130814 112
130x130 sq 1376532727365 ww130814 129
130x130 sq 1376533763299 ww130814 141
130x130 sq 1376532586577 ww130814 123
130x130 sq 1376532527145 ww130814 113
130x130 sq 1376533295977 ww130814 116
130x130 sq 1376533386845 ww130814 121
130x130 sq 1376533591239 ww130814 134
130x130 sq 1376532618799 ww130814 124
130x130 sq 1376533218779 ww130814 114
130x130 sq 1376534644633 ww130814 137
130x130 sq 1376533730908 ww130814 140
130x130 sq 1376533523783 ww130814 130
130x130 sq 1334080754934 klogo306
130x130 sq 1334080525671 klogo302
130x130 sq 1376532454530 ww130814 110
130x130 sq 1376533487486 ww130814 128
130x130 sq 1376533627179 ww130814 136
130x130 sq 1376533259012 ww130814 115
130x130 sq 1334170225825 weddings3
130x130 sq 1376533121379 ww130814 101
130x130 sq 1376533418688 ww130814 122
130x130 sq 1334077414093 klogo114
130x130 sq 1376533327541 ww130814 119
130x130 sq 1376533357329 ww130814 120
130x130 sq 1376533553803 ww130814 132
130x130 sq 1334170414077 weddings6
130x130 sq 1334076610775 klogo101
130x130 sq 1376533092685 ww130814 100
130x130 sq 1334077213008 klogo111
130x130 sq 1334080811977 klogo307
130x130 sq 1334081020037 klogo310
130x130 sq 1334170413304 weddings5
130x130 sq 1334077653124 klogo122
130x130 sq 1334077443313 klogo116
130x130 sq 1334076547342 klogo100
130x130 sq 1334170225128 weddings22
130x130 sq 1334076830672 klogo104
130x130 sq 1334080477766 klogo301
130x130 sq 1334080562701 klogo303
130x130 sq 1334080871076 klogo308
130x130 sq 1334076766968 klogo103
130x130 sq 1334077145814 klogo109
130x130 sq 1334081515041 klogo317
130x130 sq 1376533181708 ww130814 107
130x130 sq 1334080418457 klogo300
130x130 sq 1334077071805 klogo107
130x130 sq 1334081302778 klogo315
130x130 sq 1334077457795 klogo117
130x130 sq 1339518260953 brochure22104
130x130 sq 1334080617663 klogo304
130x130 sq 1334081250089 klogo314
130x130 sq 1334080707195 klogo305
130x130 sq 1339518325879 tdvgrprt141
130x130 sq 1334080966920 klogo309
130x130 sq 1334170412603 weddings4
130x130 sq 1334081128447 klogo312
130x130 sq 1334081203097 klogo313
130x130 sq 1334081357845 klogo316
130x130 sq 1334077861854 klogo133
130x130 sq 1334081567030 klogo318
130x130 sq 1334081071321 klogo311
130x130 sq 1334078032798 klogo139
130x130 sq 1334170223228 ramdonpianosinaustin
130x130 sq 1334170224215 weddings1
130x130 sq 1376533148322 ww130814 103

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Prints, Proof CD of All Images, Video Montage
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
We have experience in all lighting situations. We use equipment that allows us to shoot in virtually any situation. I personally prefer no flash but we do use it at the reception.
Is your media preference film or digital?
We shoot only in digital.
How many photographers do you work with?
There are always two of us.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Yes - I am present at every wedding.
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
We do not book ourselves for more than one wedding/event in a weekend.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
If something should happen and I am not available, I have photographers that have been shooting with me for multiple weddings and know how to shoot in the same style. I will always do post production on the photos.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
We bring 3 camera bodies, an assortment of lenses, on and off camera flash equipment, tripods, and several types of reflectors.
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Always ... and with two photographers we are both shooting those important moments.
Do you charge hourly or full day?
For the day.
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
We have collections that cover 6 and 8 hours and are always available to cover any of your needs.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
I do not like to photograph people when they are eating so we break during the reception meal. We love to eat ! - don't always have time because we work totally around your schedule - but we would very much appreciate it if our couples provide us with a meal.
Do you charge for travel?
Depends on the location, but in the Dallas/Ft. Worth or Austin area there is never any extra charge.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
Wedding Proofs are usually ready for viewing no later than 45 business days after the Wedding Date, our goal of course is to get them to you earlier that.
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
Online Website and digital presentation at our studio. jpg format
How long can the client keep the proofs?
Our proofs are online indefinitely and our clients are provided a disk of their photos.
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
Yes. We give our clients rights to print and use their files for their own personal use.
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Yes - I will often do a sneak peak on my Facebook page and will write it up on one of my Blog entries after the event is over.
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Yes.
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes. Indefinitely.
What kind of albums do you offer?
Graphistudio of Italy is our album company. We have an extensive selection of options.
When will the client get the final album?
Once the order is submitted Albums are delivered in approximately 60 days.

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Courtney
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
Tom was very reliable and attentive ! He knew exactly what we wanted out of our photos and how to capture that perfect moment! It's hard to trust someone to capture the most important day of your life, but he nailed it! We just got our wedding photos back and they are beautiful! He also shot our engagements and my bridals, which were also beautiful! We will definitely be using Tom again when we decide to start a family!
Tom was very reliable and attentive ! He knew exactly what we wanted out of our photos and how to capture that perfect Read more...
Tom was very reliable and attentive ! He knew exactly what we wanted out of our photos and how to capture that perfect moment! It's hard to trust someone to capture the most important day of your life, but he nailed it! We just got our wedding photos back and they are beautiful! He also shot our engagements and my bridals, which were also beautiful! We will definitely be using Tom again when we decide to start a family! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
c
Wedding:
8/3/2013
4.8/5.0
TomK did a great job with my engagement pictures and wedding pictures. He took a TON of pictures. I really loved that I got an awesome photo book, a large picture, the rights to all the photos, and more with his package. Every time I look at the pictures I am so happy. I can re-live the whole event through the pictures TomK took.
TomK did a great job with my engagement pictures and wedding pictures. He took a TON of pictures. I really loved that I Read more...
TomK did a great job with my engagement pictures and wedding pictures. He took a TON of pictures. I really loved that I got an awesome photo book, a large picture, the rights to all the photos, and more with his package. Every time I look at the pictures I am so happy. I can re-live the whole event through the pictures TomK took. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Deborah
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
TomK and his team did my daughter's Engagement, Bridals and Wedding pictures at The Willowood Chapel at Bells, Texas. Tom and his team gave us the most awesome treasure of photographs. He caught every special moment and love between my children. They were wonderful to work with, my daughter and son in law feel like he is a dear friend. They had so much fun, he is so creative and professional. Troy the videographer made our day come to life with so much love. Thank you to Tom, Linda, Troy and his team!
TomK and his team did my daughter's Engagement, Bridals and Wedding pictures at The Willowood Chapel at Bells, Texas. Tom Read more...
TomK and his team did my daughter's Engagement, Bridals and Wedding pictures at The Willowood Chapel at Bells, Texas. Tom and his team gave us the most awesome treasure of photographs. He caught every special moment and love between my children. They were wonderful to work with, my daughter and son in law feel like he is a dear friend. They had so much fun, he is so creative and professional. Troy the videographer made our day come to life with so much love. Thank you to Tom, Linda, Troy and his team! Read less
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Bg5
jmr1108
Wedding:
5/4/2013
5.0/5.0
I just don't feel like I could write a good enough review to describe the experience we had with Tom and his team. Tom and Brandi took our engagements pictures in downtown Grapevine to help us capture where we would start our lives as a married couple, and they allowed us to wait until a month after the wedding to do the Bridals with my groom so we could do more couples shots in addition to my Bridals and not take up time on the wedding day. Tom and his wife, Linda, were great about communicating with us about what we wanted to be captured, coordinating times and dates, and how to view the pictures for our family and friends. We were also lucky enough to have their partner, Troy from Flash Frame Media, do our wedding video. I can say without a doubt that working with tomK was the very best investment we could have made for our wedding. They captured so many memories in a day that goes by in a flash with pictures that allow us to carry those moments with us for a lifetime! I would definitely recommend tomK Photography to any of my friends looking for a photographer they can trust!
I just don't feel like I could write a good enough review to describe the experience we had with Tom and his team. Tom and Read more...
I just don't feel like I could write a good enough review to describe the experience we had with Tom and his team. Tom and Brandi took our engagements pictures in downtown Grapevine to help us capture where we would start our lives as a married couple, and they allowed us to wait until a month after the wedding to do the Bridals with my groom so we could do more couples shots in addition to my Bridals and not take up time on the wedding day. Tom and his wife, Linda, were great about communicating with us about what we wanted to be captured, coordinating times and dates, and how to view the pictures for our family and friends. We were also lucky enough to have their partner, Troy from Flash Frame Media, do our wedding video. I can say without a doubt that working with tomK was the very best investment we could have made for our wedding. They captured so many memories in a day that goes by in a flash with pictures that allow us to carry those moments with us for a lifetime! I would definitely recommend tomK Photography to any of my friends looking for a photographer they can trust! Read less
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default vendor profile pic
Erin
Wedding:
3/2/2013
5.0/5.0
TomK and his associates were more professional, personable, and caring than we ever could have imagined!! He did bridal, engagement and wedding photos for us, as well as a bridal video. The results were spectacular! We will use Him, for all of our future events, for the rest of our lives. If you care about capturing an important moment, you MUST choose TomK. He and his wife are also some of the kindest people we have ever met- it was a privilege to share such a special time with them.
TomK and his associates were more professional, personable, and caring than we ever could have imagined!! He did bridal, Read more...
TomK and his associates were more professional, personable, and caring than we ever could have imagined!! He did bridal, engagement and wedding photos for us, as well as a bridal video. The results were spectacular! We will use Him, for all of our future events, for the rest of our lives. If you care about capturing an important moment, you MUST choose TomK. He and his wife are also some of the kindest people we have ever met- it was a privilege to share such a special time with them. Read less
Services Used: Photography, Videography
tomK photography responded with the following comments:

It was our honor to be invited to be a part of your special day. We truly feel as if we have made friends for life and look forward to many more shared times ... we are the lucky ones!
Default vendor profile pic
Andrew
Wedding:
3/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Tom K Photography was the perfect choice for our wedding. They were absolutely professional throughout the entire process. The photographs were not just great, they were amazing. These are pieces of art. It is unbelievable how much Tom is able to capture the emotion in every shot. We are so happy that we were able to work with such honest and caring people. Thank you TOM K PHOTOGRAPHY!
Tom K Photography was the perfect choice for our wedding. They were absolutely professional throughout the entire process. Read more...
Tom K Photography was the perfect choice for our wedding. They were absolutely professional throughout the entire process. The photographs were not just great, they were amazing. These are pieces of art. It is unbelievable how much Tom is able to capture the emotion in every shot. We are so happy that we were able to work with such honest and caring people. Thank you TOM K PHOTOGRAPHY! Read less
Services Used: Photography
tomK photography responded with the following comments:

Thank You Andrew! We are so very happy that we were able to give you exactly what you were hoping for!
Default vendor profile pic
Molly
Wedding:
11/10/2012
4.6/5.0
I think that Tom did a great job photographing our ceremony and reception. He was great at making my husband and I feel comfortable and takes beautiful pictures. Amazing photographer and would definitely recommend!
I think that Tom did a great job photographing our ceremony and reception. He was great at making my husband and I feel Read more...
I think that Tom did a great job photographing our ceremony and reception. He was great at making my husband and I feel comfortable and takes beautiful pictures. Amazing photographer and would definitely recommend! Read less
Services Used: Photography
tomK photography responded with the following comments:

Thank you for the positive feed back and we are excited for you to see your proofs - your's was a fun and beautiful wedding! In passing, sometimes life events occur that impact other's most important life events and we thank you for your understanding as your very happy and joyuous occasion transpired during a week that we managed a difficult time for Tom as he mourned the passing of his mom.
Default vendor profile pic
Michelle
Wedding:
10/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Tom & Linda were so incredible to work with. Linda is always very prompt & helpful in her responses. And Tom's laid back personality & flexibility made the process so much fun! My husband & I never had to worry that he would miss something, as we knew we could rely on Tom’s expertise & artistic eye to capture our day on film! - Engagement: At the 1st location, we wanted to have the traditional romantic E-shots, but it was important to us that we incorporate our schnauzer as well. Tom was game for it all. He didn't try to control the shoot, but let our dog be a dog & captured the great moments in btwn. In Deep Ellum, Tom’s creativity came out as he wasn't afraid to try different things utilizing the artistic backdrop as inspiration. As a result, he was able to capture my husband and I's personalities in some pretty amazing photos. - Bridals: Due to some uncontrollable circumstances, I ran about 30 min late. Obviously flustered, Tom calmed me down and made sure we got all of the shots in the time allotted, but also had fun in the process. The great thing about Tom is that he knows what he is looking for in a picture, and he will guide his clients to get great shots. - Wedding Day: Tom and his assistants were very prompt and after working with Tom for so long, we were so comfortable with him that it was no longer strange to have a camera around. Looking at the pics, it seemed as if Tom and his assistants were everywhere capturing all the great moments and yet, they weren't intrusive. - PhotoBooth: WHAT A GREAT ADDITION TO OUR WEDDING! Tom provides the props & the quality of pictures is great! Everyone loved it and it kept the kids occupied throughout the night. Seeing all of the pictures afterwards was pure hilarity! - We had a GREAT overall experience working with TomK Photography & would recommend them to EVERYONE! Going through the pictures, Tom captured the essence of our wedding and who we are as a couple. We loved working with them!
Tom & Linda were so incredible to work with. Linda is always very prompt & helpful in her responses. And Tom's laid back Read more...
Tom & Linda were so incredible to work with. Linda is always very prompt & helpful in her responses. And Tom's laid back personality & flexibility made the process so much fun! My husband & I never had to worry that he would miss something, as we knew we could rely on Tom’s expertise & artistic eye to capture our day on film! - Engagement: At the 1st location, we wanted to have the traditional romantic E-shots, but it was important to us that we incorporate our schnauzer as well. Tom was game for it all. He didn't try to control the shoot, but let our dog be a dog & captured the great moments in btwn. In Deep Ellum, Tom’s creativity came out as he wasn't afraid to try different things utilizing the artistic backdrop as inspiration. As a result, he was able to capture my husband and I's personalities in some pretty amazing photos. - Bridals: Due to some uncontrollable circumstances, I ran about 30 min late. Obviously flustered, Tom calmed me down and made sure we got all of the shots in the time allotted, but also had fun in the process. The great thing about Tom is that he knows what he is looking for in a picture, and he will guide his clients to get great shots. - Wedding Day: Tom and his assistants were very prompt and after working with Tom for so long, we were so comfortable with him that it was no longer strange to have a camera around. Looking at the pics, it seemed as if Tom and his assistants were everywhere capturing all the great moments and yet, they weren't intrusive. - PhotoBooth: WHAT A GREAT ADDITION TO OUR WEDDING! Tom provides the props & the quality of pictures is great! Everyone loved it and it kept the kids occupied throughout the night. Seeing all of the pictures afterwards was pure hilarity! - We had a GREAT overall experience working with TomK Photography & would recommend them to EVERYONE! Going through the pictures, Tom captured the essence of our wedding and who we are as a couple. We loved working with them! Read less
Services Used: Photography
tomK photography responded with the following comments:

When you are working with a great couple, you can not go wrong! Such a fun and beautiful wedding. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for letting us be a part of such a special time in your lives.
Default vendor profile pic
Amber
Wedding:
9/22/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good things about TomK Photography! Finding an amazing photographer was at the top of my priority list for my wedding, as photos are the only way to remember the amazing events of the day after all the excitement comes to an end! I cannot thank Tom and Linda enough for all that they did to help capture our big day! They traveled all of the way from TX to Wilmington, NC for our wedding, which meant so much to us. Tom and Linda were so great to work with, and they were helpful every step of the way. I had a few shots that were important to me to be captured, and Tom made sure every single one happened (even though I had completely forgotten about them that day)! They made us feel so comfortable in front of the camera and the shots they got definitely show Tom's talent! I feel like the images capture our day so well, and looking back through them brings me right back to each and every moment. All of the photographs really tell the story of our day, and he did such an amazing job of getting every little detail! I have yet to order any prints because there are so many beautiful shots, and I haven't been able to choose which to print! One of my bridesmaids has ordered some, and they are wonderful quality! Tom's love for his work definitely shows in his product and the way in which he interacts with the wedding party! If you are looking for a photographer who is professional, willing to do whatever necessary to help a couple perfectly capture their day, and is amazing to work with then TomK is the one for you! I will forever be grateful for the gift they have shared with us!!
I cannot say enough good things about TomK Photography! Finding an amazing photographer was at the top of my priority list Read more...
I cannot say enough good things about TomK Photography! Finding an amazing photographer was at the top of my priority list for my wedding, as photos are the only way to remember the amazing events of the day after all the excitement comes to an end! I cannot thank Tom and Linda enough for all that they did to help capture our big day! They traveled all of the way from TX to Wilmington, NC for our wedding, which meant so much to us. Tom and Linda were so great to work with, and they were helpful every step of the way. I had a few shots that were important to me to be captured, and Tom made sure every single one happened (even though I had completely forgotten about them that day)! They made us feel so comfortable in front of the camera and the shots they got definitely show Tom's talent! I feel like the images capture our day so well, and looking back through them brings me right back to each and every moment. All of the photographs really tell the story of our day, and he did such an amazing job of getting every little detail! I have yet to order any prints because there are so many beautiful shots, and I haven't been able to choose which to print! One of my bridesmaids has ordered some, and they are wonderful quality! Tom's love for his work definitely shows in his product and the way in which he interacts with the wedding party! If you are looking for a photographer who is professional, willing to do whatever necessary to help a couple perfectly capture their day, and is amazing to work with then TomK is the one for you! I will forever be grateful for the gift they have shared with us!! Read less
Services Used: Photography
tomK photography responded with the following comments:

We would not have missed this wedding for the world and were thrilled to be a part of it. Traveling to new locations helps keep our work fresh - so Thank You for including us in your special day !
Default vendor profile pic
Amanda
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Tom and his team were great to work with. Everything went off very smoothly. He took wonderful shots, and all without even really being noticed. We would definitely hire him again for future events.
Tom and his team were great to work with. Everything went off very smoothly. He took wonderful shots, and all without even Read more...
Tom and his team were great to work with. Everything went off very smoothly. He took wonderful shots, and all without even really being noticed. We would definitely hire him again for future events. Read less
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
4901 Leaf Ct, McKinney, TX 75070 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for tomK photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1376534991143 ww130814 133