Nophoto-130

Torino Baking

Berkeley , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

2316 haste st.
Berkeley, CA US 94704 (map)

PHONE

510-548-2800

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Cake

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Julie was great. She is an artist and will make your dream cake a reality. She has exceptional communication skills and she uses fresh whole ingredients. We loved her work because it wasn't too heavy or over the top sugar. Her prices are reasonable and competitive. I would definitely hire her again.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
Julie is the absolute best! She was diligent in following up with us in the months leading up to our wedding, she coordinated with our florist to make sure that the flowers on the cake were arranged just right, and the cake looked and tasted outstanding.

The cake, itself, was my husband's department for selecting the flavor. He LOVES sweets (part of how I won him over with my baking) and so he got to pick the flavor and frosting. He wanted all vanilla with vanilla buttercream. All ingredients she used were fresh and top quality, and you could tell she used the absolute best vanilla out there on the market (it tasted rich, but not overpowering). She even left us 'his' and 'hers' mini cakes on our sweetheart table, which we ate later that night (we couldn't resist). The cake was absolutely beautiful -- 4 tiers, and exceeded my expectations in terms of aesthetics. It was a more classic look to fit the venue, with monogram of our initials and beautiful lace/embroidery piping.

I think what really makes her stand out above the rest is that it tasted as good as it looked, though. Really. I don't think I've ever had better cake at all. Normally I find wedding cake to be too dense or dry (maybe to support the typical fondant) or too complex (for example, many places we tasted at didn't have just vanilla cake, but had 12 variations of things I couldn't pronounce). Everything is made with the freshest ingredients (e.g. you could see whole fresh raspberries in the filling) and everybody raved about the cake after the wedding.

Julie was also great to work with us on our budget, and extremely sweet and kind toward the end as the stress ramped up for us -- planning from the east coast.

I would seriously look no further. It doesn't get any better than Torino!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
William He
Wedding:
8/25/2012
4.6/5.0
We went with Julie at Torino Baking for our wedding cake and were not disappointed. We ordered a three tier cake for 180 persons with Tiramisu at the the top and raspberry royale for the bases. It was skillfully done and deliciously light. Communication was great through-out and she got the cake to our restaurant at the appointed time. The decorations were superb, and it tasted even better. We couldn't be happier. If you're having a wedding in the San Francisco bay area, you should stop by Torino.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
Julie at Torino Baking was amazing! She was extremely responsive to my emails and phone calls, she was very personable, understanding and reasonable. I kept changing my mind out style and design, and she quickly came up with ideas and created a beautiful cake that everyone was talking about! I highly recommend Torino Baking for all creative cakes services!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1333326594194-absantanarowsanjoseengagement41
Ashley R.
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
The best cake ever! Julie does an awesome job with cakes. Not only did we get a cake but we also got her mini desserts as well! She is a bit on the pricey side but she makes up for it in talent and personality. I absolutely loved working with her!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
karlyk
Wedding:
8/27/2011
4.6/5.0
Julie was friendly, great to work with, and fairly priced. I wasn't exactly sure what kind of design I wanted, but she was really able to hone in on my wedding style and design a cake that I loved. Best of all, the cake was delicious! All of my wedding guests raved about it. I highly recommend Torino Baking.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
l.morris
Wedding:
5/29/2011
5.0/5.0
Julie is an artist. Our wedding cake was by far the best cake I have ever had in my entire life. Not to mention the fact that it was beautiful. And she was able to make it with a white chocolate wrap = so there was no fondant (hooray!!!).

Julie was also a doll to work with. She was super kind and joyful - a total pleasure to be around. She was also flexible and accommodating about the design of the cake. I got the impression that she takes a lot of personal pride in the high quality of her cakes -- and spends a lot of time making them perfect.

Still saving a couple pieces in the fridge for a VERY special occasion. Thank you Julie!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
JFong
Wedding:
2/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Julie Durkee was a joy to work with. She was very nice, and was very flexible with our changing head count as wedding day approached. Her cake was so elegant and beautiful, and she captured our vision perfectly. The most important part: her cake was GOOD. She offers lots of flavors and they are all delicious. We can't wait until it's time to take that top cake out of the freezer!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chiara
Wedding:
10/16/2010
5.0/5.0
AMAZING!!!! I could not have had a better looking and tasting cake for my wedding!!! Julie is amazing! She's so nice to talk to and easy to work with. I was able to eat practically the entire plate of cake at the cake tasting because she doesn't over do it with the sugar. I plan to use her for all my future cake needs!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lizandgene
Wedding:
8/28/2010
5.0/5.0
Julie is amazing! We went for a tasting in late 2007 for a July 2009 wedding. Hands down... the best, moist, tastiest cake I've ever had. I didn't care what my sister wanted.. I wanted Julie Cakes. Julie was able to make my sister a 3 tier amazing cake. The decor on the cake matched the beading work on my sister's wedding gown. The cake was delivered on time and in perfect shape. about 2 months before the wedding, we decided to have a grooms cake... took a couple of pictures of my sisters fiance's custom car and had Julie make a 3D replica. At the cake cutting time.. we unveiled the car cake and everyone had to applaude this wonderful piece of work... the only sad thing was that one of the guest(a 4 year old boy) started to cry when cut into it. Both cakes were perfect.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
namster313
Wedding:
8/14/2010
5.0/5.0
Julie is a dream. She is so wonderful to work with and her cakes are delicious! I wanted a simple and elegant cake and that is definitely what I got. The cake was so beautiful and perfect all my guest thought it was fake! Her prices are reasonable and she is a pleasure to work with.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
B1
Soontobemrshew
Wedding:
9/20/2009
5.0/5.0
Julie was an absolute delight to work with and the cake was FABULOUS! It was everything we had imagined and more. Our guests couldn't stop raving about how gorgeous it looked and it tasted wonderful. She is extremely talented and creative and it showed in our unique custom designed wedding cake (a fusion of Indian and Chinese elements). The general consensus at our wedding was that no one had ever seen such a beautiful wedding cake! It was definitely a show stopper. Thanks Julie :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
maryandsteven
Wedding:
8/22/2009
4.1/5.0
Our wedding cake was wonderful. A little drier than I like, but I kept hearing everyone rave over the taste. I had wanted a buttercream frosting rather than fondant (I don't like fondant), but Julie said it couldn't be done with the cake I wanted so oh well (hence the lower flexibility rating). I still really liked the look of the cake, but the top layer wasn't as thin and wide as we had discussed (hence the slightly lower responsiveness rating). Even knowing all that, I would work with her again and recommend Torino's to a friend!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
7/18/2009
5.0/5.0
Delicious. And I tasted so many slices of cake that I thought I'd never eat cake again. We're asking her to create a smaller version of our wedding cake for our one year anniversary and I'm looking forward to really enjoying it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jMcElliott
Wedding:
3/28/2009
4.8/5.0
Scrumptious cake that was elegant and exactly like we discussed. Totally professional to work with, and I'd highly recommend Torino to couple!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
130x130_sq_1171399045718-img_8216
Patti Wang Cross
Wedding:
7/29/2006
5.0/5.0
Yes, Torino Baking is not cheap. Its pricing is about on par with Katrina Rozelle
and Masse's baking. However, Julie's great to work with. She's creative,
personable, and very one-on-one, She doesn't seem like Katrina Rozelle -
a cake mill akin to a puppy mill. You feel like yours is the only cake
she's baking, and she really seems proud of her work. And she seems
genuinely excited for you and your wedding, even though I'm sure she's
made scores of wedding cakes. The cake was gorgeous, even more elegant
and lovely than I anticipated. Definitely recommended.
Fun fact: Julie's been on TV! She's competed in Food Network contests - and won!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Bg21
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Julie is amazing and was an absolute delight to work with!! She is truly an artist and creates the most wonderful cakes a person could ever dream of. I had no clear focus when I walked into her bakery, but she knew exactly how to draw out my dream cake - and I didn't even know I had one!

Oh, the cake was sooooooooo beautiful. Our guests went on and on about it! Not to mention that several people have told me that they had 2 pieces. She also made an incredible chocolate groom's cake with the greatest design, which was devoured immediately as well. Julie is such a talent that you don't really need to give her any direction and you can rest assured she will create something far more delicious and beautiful than you could even imagine.

If you are looking for a cake that people will remember, look no further.

She is such a lovely woman and it was fun to get to know her - that was just an added bonus!
Services Used: Wedding Cake
Default-vendor-profile-pic
epikure75
Wedding:
11/14/2003
5.0/5.0
Fabulous cake decorator! Super friendly and knew exactely what I wanted in terms of style and colors. Hit it out of the park. Made a beautiful autumn cake!!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake

MAP

 
2316 haste st., Berkeley, CA 94704 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Torino Baking
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220