130x130_sq_1241576294217-img08851

Tour of Elegance

San Diego , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

11315 Rancho Bernardo Road, Suite 130
San Diego, CA US 92127 (map)

PHONE

858-613-3663

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Dress & Attire

INFO FOR DRESS & ATTIRE

Who do you provide services for?
Bride, Bridesmaids, Father of the Bride, Father of the Groom, Flower Girls, Groom, Groomsmen, Mother of the Bride, Mother of the Groom, Ring Bearers
What accessories do you provide?
Garters, Hair Accessories, Jewelry, Shoes, Undergarments, Veils

REVIEWS

4.1
out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
4.0/5.0
4.1/5.0
4.3/5.0
3.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
4/5/2014
4.3/5.0
I heard about this little boutique shop from a friend whose sister bought her dress here, and it was about 2 minutes from where I was living at the time. I'm glad I went here because I LOVED my dress - and Tour of Elegance is the only place in San Diego who carries it (Essence of Australia), but the shop's owner, Saundra, left a little to be desired. Let me start out by saying that she IS very good at what she does - she knows what will look good on a bride and helps brides choose very flattering dresses. However, she can be quite rude and harsh, and that is just the way she is. She ignored my mom every time we went in (funny as she was paying for the dress), is always short and acts rushed, was extremely judgmental when I forgot that the charge for the alterations was cash only, and made cracks about me gaining weight during my final fitting (although it ended up fitting perfectly - no weight gain or issues at all). I recommend her services, but if having a connection with the person you buy your dress from is important to you, I'd go somewhere else.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
1/11/2014
3.7/5.0
I bought my gorgeous wedding gown from Tour of Elegance. I am an LDS woman and I needed a wedding dress that had sleeves among other modesty standards. My budget was also not very high so when I saw a clearance dress on their website I jumped at the chance to go try it on in the store. Saundra was helpful via email in booking an appointment. I showed up with my best friend and we tried it on. We felt rushed but since I really did love the first dress I tried on, I bought it. My friend also bought me a matching veil as a wedding gift. Saundra seemed like she was in a rush, asking if we wanted to purchase bridesmaid dresses (all while trying to take down my credit card info, etc.) Anyway, I ended up going with someone else for the alterations because I didn't get a good vibe that she would do a good job. It was a size 8 dress and I am a size 0 so I didn't want to take any chances if she didn't deliver what I wanted. I'm glad they had the dress i wanted and it was only $300 but customer service could have been improved. Wedding dress shopping should not be stressful and you shouldn't feel rushed.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
10/26/2013
4.0/5.0
I bought a lace wedding dress at tour of elegance and I really liked it considering the price. It was below $500. Sandra was really nice on helping me look for the perfect dress. The only thing I didn't like was the cost of the alterations (which I had it done somewhere else to be less expensive) but yes, I would still recommend this place.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
7/20/2013
4.1/5.0
I enjoyed my experience at Tour of Elegance. The owner is helpful with her vast knowledge of dresses and alternation abilities but a little pushy and quick. I would recommend this shop but to have someone with you to help slow down the appointment.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jaclyn
Wedding:
6/29/2013
5.0/5.0
My visit to tour of elegance was awesome! THere was a great selection of dresses and Saundra helped pick out the perfect dress for me. I also plan on getting my bridesmaid dresses from this store. I highly recommend tour of elegance!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dacia
Wedding:
2/6/2013
4.9/5.0
I loved tour of elegance but I love love loved my wedding dress! I wish I could wear it again!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I had spent quite a bit of time reading dress shop reviews and I made appointments at about four different places. Tour of Elegance was my first stop. I was really nervous about trying on dresses and when I was initially setting up the appointment with Saundra (the dress shop owner) via email, she was very reassuring. She told me there was nothing to be nervous about and that she would do everything in her power to make this a wonderful experience for me, and to help me find the perfect gown. And she definitely lived up to her word! I found the PERFECT gown at Saundra's shop and it was actually the only shop I ended up going to! I truly had the best experience and such a fun time. Saundra is very direct and she will be honest about what she believes looks good and/or won't look good. But one thing that I really appreciated was that she said that it was her goal to make me look as fabulous as I possibly could on my wedding day. And really, what more could you ask? I hoped to have the "aha" moment I'd heard so much about and maybe even shed a tear or two when I found "the one". The first few dresses I tried on were really beautiful, but I didn't have any of the above reactions. However, the fourth dress was "it". I almost didn't even try it on because I wasn't sure it was going to look good. But Saundra encouraged me to try it and I'm so glad I did. Once I stood in front of the mirrors and took a look at myself, I was like, I love it! And I even got teary! So I guess it really does happen! If you are looking for someone to truly help you find the BEST dress for you and your body type, and you are interested in one-on-one attention, look no further! This is the place for you! And if you are able to walk in with a bit of an open mind, it will make your experience all the better!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1308651536406-fbavatar1311807636
Vanessa
Wedding:
6/16/2012
3.9/5.0
We first met Saundra at Tour of Elegance on a rainy November day that happened to be last of a trunk show. We were the last appointment and we looked at the selection of trunk show dresses while the last appointment was finishing up. At this point, I was ready to give up on the wedding dress search. I wanted a simple dress that I could add a sash to with a corset back. I saw a glimmer of hope in a sweetheart strapless satin dress. Saundra was around to try on a few sashes on top of the dress and to give some styling suggestions to it.

My mother said she felt that Saundra "wasn't nice" or "wasn't super friendly." This may also be the sentiment that others in previous reviews have talked about. I can say that personally she was direct and called it what it was; you either love the dress or you don't. I felt that Saundra's approach is meant for you to make the right decision, not the "well the saleslady gushed all over my family and I in this dress, so this dress must be it" approach. I was happy with her approach instead of another "you look amazing" in every dress when they just want to make a sale. The price was right, she was upfront with alteration costs and delivery times, so I was sold. When my dress came in, she was honest about the fit and suggested I not lose anymore weight to save the money on last minute alterations. I always felt like she had options for me and I appreciated that.

I brought my sash that she sewed on to the dress, as well as bustled, steamed and pressed my dress for the big day. She even had the dress done a day earlier upon my request when I wouldn't make it for the original appointment. The only thing I would say about her work is that the bustle was just colored tie ribbons. It was easy but I've seen fasteners or buttons on other dresses from weddings I've been in and I thought those held better. She did tell me to tie the ties in a knot, but the actual ties themselves fell off the dress by the end of the night. In her work's defense
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg9
Katharine
Wedding:
6/16/2012
4.5/5.0
Sandra is awesome! Experienced and knows just what dresses you will like and can even guess what you may like before you even know yourself!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1338841427585-wjmalisoncasey05050629f3
Alison
Wedding:
5/5/2012
1.9/5.0
I’ll start out by saying that I didn’t purchase my gown here, but brought one that I had found before moving to Southern California – maybe Saundra saves her best customer service for people who buy her dresses. Making the appointment for my first fitting was a bit difficult, as I live in Irvine and couldn’t make it to San Diego during the week. I showed up at her shop about 10 minutes early and walked inside to see if she we could start, but she snapped at us as soon as we walked in because she was still with another bride. After waiting 20 minutes in the car, my mom and I went back in and I was allowed to start changing because the other girl was almost done. My dad walked in a few minutes later and was made to feel unwelcome by Saundra, but he ended up staying anyway (he had been to a number of my dress shopping appointments, I wanted him there, and there were no other customers at that point, so we didn’t see the big deal). Partway through pinning the hem, Saundra made my mom sit on the floor and look up at me to see how crooked my hips were, and how difficult it was going to be to hem the dress because of it (P.S. – they really aren’t crooked). She then made negative comments about the quality of my gown. Once it came time to take measurements and pin the bodice, she repeatedly told me how big my ribs were and again complained about how much work it was going to be to get the fit right (my dress was pretty simple – no lace, no beading, and a single applique at the hip). Once she had pinned up the dress and hung it up behind the counter, she let me know that the alterations would be $450 to shorten the hem, tighten the bodice, and add cups and a bustle. Over the phone she had said that these sorts of changes usually run about $300, so I was pretty taken aback by the quote. At that point I really should have taken my dress and left, but I was starting to worry about it being done in time (I was six weeks out from my wedding) and wasn’t sure where else to take it. I will say that Saundra seems very competent and knows what she’s doing, but I left the shop feeling very much that she had taken advantage of me. The whole experience was so negative that I found myself dreading going back for my second fitting. While she still complained about how much work it had been to alter my gown (and then about how hard it was going to be to bustle), she was more pleasant the second time around, possibly because I had brought payment that day. On a related note, she only accepts cash, which is sketchy. In the end I was happy with my dress, but the whole experience was so painful and overpriced that I would not recommend her.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Savannah
Wedding:
1/14/2012
3.8/5.0
Had my wedding dress altered here. Everything was great but my bustles didn't last. They were intact 10 minutes into the reception and I had to grab my train all night while dancing.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Natalie
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
I probably should have written this a long time ago, because now I don't remember the lady's name who helped me, but I had a great experience dress shopping at Tour of Elegance! I'm originally from San Diego, but I currently live in Maryland. Although I thought I found "the dress" at a shop in Maryland, I really wanted to try some on with my family. I checked online and they had the dress at this shop. I arrived with my maid of honor, sister, mom, and cousin and the appointment was set for just our party. No one else was even allowed in the store during that time. It was a wonderful and personal experience to have the whole place to ourselves.

I first tried on the dress I had chosen in Maryland, but for some reason didn't get the same feeling. The woman pulled out a few other dresses for me to try, including some I never would have thought I would like. As it turns out, one of the dresses she picked out was actually "the dress."

She did an awesome job on my measurements because I didn't have to have any alterations done besides the bustle and adding a few hooks to the corset. Other than that, the dress fit perfectly! Once the dress arrived at her shop, she contacted me to let me know she would be shipping it to me in Maryland right away. I ordered the dress in December and received it promptly in June, as she had predicted. I highly recommend this shop to anyone looking for a dress in the San Diego area. Thank you Tour of Elegance!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
krista
Wedding:
9/10/2011
3.7/5.0
Tour of Elegance carries dresses from designers that are not all over the place. I liked how it was different from all the other boutiques and each time I visited, I had the place to myself. I loved the dress I got at the Tour of Elegance and got tons of compliments on it. The owner, Saundra, also did a great job on my alterations even though she was a little hesitant to do them.

My biggest complaint is that it is incredibly hard to get appoitnments with Saundra. She basically runs a one woman show, which can understandably get busy. But each time I called, I had to leave a message and wait for her to call me back. Then, I had a very hard time actually getting an appointment that went around my work schedule. Additionally, my dress didn't fit as snugly as I wanted and she said that a little fashion tape would help. Unfortunately, 1 week before my wedding (once the final alterations were made), we realized that the fashion tape didn't help. So, I was stuck wearing a dress that didn't perfectly fit me. It's not a super big deal, but for the money spent and for my wedding pictures, I would have wanted a dress that fit exactly as I wanted/expected.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1308280725031-cimg0424
Rachel
Wedding:
9/8/2011
3.5/5.0
I chose this boutique because it was the only location that carried Essence of Australia dresses. I will say that all the dresses and options there are beautiful, and much nicer than ones I had seen at any bridal salons. However, Saundra was sometimes slow in returning calls or answering her phone, could be a little rude at times, and did not give me the time/service I thought I would receive as a bride. I often felt rushed and a little frustrated when I left. The dress was gorgeous, she did an ok job on the alterations, and the bussle was well done. Worth it for the dress of my dreams, but not the overall experience I hoped for.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1280781063943-525123475140502872281002879401695203183n
Megan
Wedding:
9/3/2011
4.4/5.0
I chose this salon because it was the only one in San Diego that carried Ella Bridals. I tried on 5 dresses and went with the first dress I tried on. The owner was very knowledgeable and helpful and even pinned on a gorgeous crystal belt that helped complete the look of the dress!! I got TONS of compliments on my dress! It was perfect!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
juare
Wedding:
3/13/2010
4.8/5.0
Found the most beautiful dress and the alterations were fantastic. My favorite aspect of TOur of ELegance was Saundra does the alterations herself.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bruinbride
Wedding:
8/1/2009
4.3/5.0
Saundra, the owner, is a very fun person to work with! She will be very up front with you in your dress selections, and she will give you her honest opinion, rather than telling you that everything looks great. She is very responsive and professional, and the one-on-one service that you get in her salon is very nice! It is by appointment only, and you are the only bride in the shop for your allotted time. The reasons for only 4/5: quality of service, since she did not explain my bustle and also didn't cut off some of the loose strings after the final pressing even though she said she would catch all of those things; professionalism, because she didn't seem to ever recognize me when I walked into her shop (and I came in quite a few times); and value for cost, since while the dresses are very reasonably priced, the alterations are a bit steep. Still, I would recommend Tour of Elegance without hesitation. I purchased my dress and my bridesmaid dresses there, and it was a great experience overall.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hilda
Wedding:
7/26/2009
0.6/5.0
Saundra, the owner of the bridal salon, is very knowledgeable with a lot of experience in the bridal business. But because of her increase in business, after I paid for my bridal gown she was rude and very inflexible about getting my fittings done. She rushed me when I had my first fitting stating that she had to leave to go to an event and didn't seem to care about what my concerns were about the dress. When I tried it on again for the final fitting, she only gave me ten minutes before a family came in needing to try on wedding dresses. I don't recommend her at all. I had a horrible experience. If you need a dress, go to D'Angelo Bridal in Mission Valley. The owner Diane is amazing and has been designing dresses including all the jewelry in her shop for over 20 years.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
One of my favorite vendors! Saundra, the owner, knows her stuff and strives to get it right for you. LOVE the one on one attention she gives during her appointments. You have the whole shop to yourself! She really knows alot about wedding dresses, highly knowledgable. We liked her so much that we went back for tuxes. I felt the prices were fair too.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen_4-4-09
Wedding:
4/4/2009
3.6/5.0
Sandra is a very sweet lady with a very private shop in Rancho Bernardo. There are many pros and cons to this shop. One thing I did not like was that she doesn't let you browse the dresses - she asks you what you want, and then brings them out for you. I wondered if I was missing something in the back. Also, she immediately asked me what my budget was, and every dress I tried on was about my budget or $300+. So, I would be very conservative when you state your budget, because that's just the cost of the dress. Then, you have other random costs added on somehow. I did like that I was the only one in the shop when I tried on dresses and she is a very respectable person, not like some of the "barbie" types at other bridal salons. For the choices available near San Diego, it was a good choice to buy my dress here, but given other options, I might have gone elsewhere. Nice thing was that I got a dress for < $1,000 and it arrived quickly.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I went to Tour of Elegance based on the recommendation of 4 of my friends who had gotten married in the past few years and all had beautiful dresses. Saundra gets a lot of her business based on word-of-mouth and for good reason--she delivers! Her prices are very fair and she has a great variety. She definitely gives you her full-attention and has years of experience in the industry, which was refreshing after visiting other stores. I LOVED my dress!!! I had my alterations done her as well as purchased my veil and hair accessories and one bridesmaid dress. Everything was delivered prior to the promise date and in excellent quality. I have since referred several brides to Saundra and each and every one has been very happy.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
10/13/2007
5.0/5.0
The lady who owns the boutique knows what she is talking about. She will fit you in a dress best for your body type. It is also wonderful for selections for women who are LDS and need to fit their garmenst underneath. The prices are reasonable and the place is so cute.
Services Used: Dress & Attire

MAP

 
11315 Rancho Bernardo Road, Suite 130, San Diego, CA 92127 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Tour of Elegance
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1241576294217-img08851