220x220_1241576294217-img08851
Tour of Elegance
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
 
21 Reviews      1 person has saved this vendor.
Address:
11315 Rancho Bernardo Road, Suite 130
San Diego, CA US 92127 (map)
Phone:
858-613-3663
Categories:
 
 
 
4.1 
(4.1/5.0)
 
Quality of Service 
(4.0/5.0)
 
Responsiveness 
(4.2/5.0)
 
Professionalism 
(4.3/5.0)
 
Value 
(3.8/5.0)
 
Flexibility 
Sort
 
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
1/11/2014
 
3.7 out of 5.0
I bought my gorgeous wedding gown from Tour of Elegance. I am an LDS woman and I needed a wedding dress that had sleeves among other modesty standards. My budget was also not very high so when I saw a clearance dress on their website I jumped at the chance to go try it on in the store. Saundra was helpful via email in booking an appointment. I showed up with my best friend and we tried it on. We felt rushed but since I really did love the first dress I tried on, I bought it. My friend also bought me a matching veil as a wedding gift. Saundra seemed like she was in a rush, asking if we wanted to purchase bridesmaid dresses (all while trying to take down my credit card info, etc.) Anyway, I ended up going with someone else for the alterations because I didn't get a good vibe that she would do a good job. It was a size 8 dress and I am a size 0 so I didn't want to take any chances if she didn't deliver what I wanted. I'm glad they had the dress i wanted and it was only $300 but customer service could have been improved. Wedding dress shopping should not be stressful and you shouldn't feel rushed.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
10/26/2013
 
4.0 out of 5.0
I bought a lace wedding dress at tour of elegance and I really liked it considering the price. It was below $500. Sandra was really nice on helping me look for the perfect dress. The only thing I didn't like was the cost of the alterations (which I had it done somewhere else to be less expensive) but yes, I would still recommend this place.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
7/20/2013
 
4.1 out of 5.0
I enjoyed my experience at Tour of Elegance. The owner is helpful with her vast knowledge of dresses and alternation abilities but a little pushy and quick. I would recommend this shop but to have someone with you to help slow down the appointment.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jaclyn
Wedding:
6/29/2013
 
5.0 out of 5.0
My visit to tour of elegance was awesome! THere was a great selection of dresses and Saundra helped pick out the perfect dress for me. I also plan on getting my bridesmaid dresses from this store. I highly recommend tour of elegance!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dacia
Wedding:
2/6/2013
 
4.9 out of 5.0
I loved tour of elegance but I love love loved my wedding dress! I wish I could wear it again!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
 
5.0 out of 5.0
I had spent quite a bit of time reading dress shop reviews and I made appointments at about four different places. Tour of Elegance was my first stop. I was really nervous about trying on dresses and when I was initially setting up the appointment with Saundra (the dress shop owner) via email, she was very reassuring. She told me there was nothing to be nervous about and that she would do everything in her power to make this a wonderful experience for me, and to help me find the perfect gown. And she definitely lived up to her word! I found the PERFECT gown at Saundra's shop and it was actually the only shop I ended up going to! I truly had the best experience and such a fun time. Saundra is very direct and she will be honest about what she believes looks good and/or won't look good. But one thing that I really appreciated was that she said that it was her goal to make me look as fabulous as I possibly could on my wedding day. And really, what more could you ask? I hoped to have the "aha" moment I'd heard so much about and maybe even shed a tear or two when I found "the one". The first few dresses I tried on were really beautiful, but I didn't have any of the above reactions. However, the fourth dress was "it". I almost didn't even try it on because I wasn't sure it was going to look good. But Saundra encouraged me to try it and I'm so glad I did. Once I stood in front of the mirrors and took a look at myself, I was like, I love it! And I even got teary! So I guess it really does happen! If you are looking for someone to truly help you find the BEST dress for you and your body type, and you are interested in one-on-one attention, look no further! This is the place for you! And if you are able to walk in with a bit of an open mind, it will make your experience all the better!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1308651536406-fbavatar1311807636
Vanessa
Wedding:
6/16/2012
 
3.9 out of 5.0
We first met Saundra at Tour of Elegance on a rainy November day that happened to be last of a trunk show. We were the last appointment and we looked at the selection of trunk show dresses while the last appointment was finishing up. At this point, I was ready to give up on the wedding dress search. I wanted a simple dress that I could add a sash to with a corset back. I saw a glimmer of hope in a sweetheart strapless satin dress. Saundra was around to try on a few sashes on top of the dress and to give some styling suggestions to it.

My mother said she felt that Saundra "wasn't nice" or "wasn't super friendly." This may also be the sentiment that others in previous reviews have talked about. I can say that personally she was direct and called it what it was; you either love the dress or you don't. I felt that Saundra's approach is meant for you to make the right decision, not the "well the saleslady gushed all over my family and I in this dress, so this dress must be it" approach. I was happy with her approach instead of another "you look amazing" in every dress when they just want to make a sale. The price was right, she was upfront with alteration costs and delivery times, so I was sold. When my dress came in, she was honest about the fit and suggested I not lose anymore weight to save the money on last minute alterations. I always felt like she had options for me and I appreciated that.

I brought my sash that she sewed on to the dress, as well as bustled, steamed and pressed my dress for the big day. She even had the dress done a day earlier upon my request when I wouldn't make it for the original appointment. The only thing I would say about her work is that the bustle was just colored tie ribbons. It was easy but I've seen fasteners or buttons on other dresses from weddings I've been in and I thought those held better. She did tell me to tie the ties in a knot, but the actual ties themselves fell off the dress by the end of the night. In her work's defense
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Bg9
Katharine
Wedding:
6/16/2012
 
4.5 out of 5.0
Sandra is awesome! Experienced and knows just what dresses you will like and can even guess what you may like before you even know yourself!
Services Used: Dress & Attire
130x130_sq_1338841427585-wjmalisoncasey05050629f3
Alison
Wedding:
5/5/2012
 
1.9 out of 5.0
I’ll start out by saying that I didn’t purchase my gown here, but brought one that I had found before moving to Southern California – maybe Saundra saves her best customer service for people who buy her dresses. Making the appointment for my first fitting was a bit difficult, as I live in Irvine and couldn’t make it to San Diego during the week. I showed up at her shop about 10 minutes early and walked inside to see if she we could start, but she snapped at us as soon as we walked in because she was still with another bride. After waiting 20 minutes in the car, my mom and I went back in and I was allowed to start changing because the other girl was almost done. My dad walked in a few minutes later and was made to feel unwelcome by Saundra, but he ended up staying anyway (he had been to a number of my dress shopping appointments, I wanted him there, and there were no other customers at that point, so we didn’t see the big deal). Partway through pinning the hem, Saundra made my mom sit on the floor and look up at me to see how crooked my hips were, and how difficult it was going to be to hem the dress because of it (P.S. – they really aren’t crooked). She then made negative comments about the quality of my gown. Once it came time to take measurements and pin the bodice, she repeatedly told me how big my ribs were and again complained about how much work it was going to be to get the fit right (my dress was pretty simple – no lace, no beading, and a single applique at the hip). Once she had pinned up the dress and hung it up behind the counter, she let me know that the alterations would be $450 to shorten the hem, tighten the bodice, and add cups and a bustle. Over the phone she had said that these sorts of changes usually run about $300, so I was pretty taken aback by the quote. At that point I really should have taken my dress and left, but I was starting to worry about it being done in time (I was six weeks out from my wedding) and wasn’t sure where else to take it. I will say that Saundra seems very competent and knows what she’s doing, but I left the shop feeling very much that she had taken advantage of me. The whole experience was so negative that I found myself dreading going back for my second fitting. While she still complained about how much work it had been to alter my gown (and then about how hard it was going to be to bustle), she was more pleasant the second time around, possibly because I had brought payment that day. On a related note, she only accepts cash, which is sketchy. In the end I was happy with my dress, but the whole experience was so painful and overpriced that I would not recommend her.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Savannah
Wedding:
1/14/2012
 
3.8 out of 5.0
Had my wedding dress altered here. Everything was great but my bustles didn't last. They were intact 10 minutes into the reception and I had to grab my train all night while dancing.
Services Used: Dress & Attire
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Tour of Elegance
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo