130x130_sq_1347541679940-tldocumentaryweddings

Trevor & Larissa : Documentary Meets Fine Art (formerly Ambient Studios)

Toronto , ON
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Dundas & Carlaw
Toronto, ON CA M4M1S1 (map)

PHONE

416-953-2993

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Trevor & Larissa bring together the best of both worlds: documentary coverage and fine art practise. We work together as a team and each bring a distinct style and background to your... Read more
Trevor & Larissa bring together the best of both worlds: documentary coverage and fine art practise. We work together as a team and each bring a distinct style and background to your wedding day. We are committed to creating images that are not only memorable and unique, but genuine.

With Trevor & Larissa you are not only receiving coverage from two angles, but through two unique sets of eyes.

Visit our website to browse more of our images and get to know us: www.trevor-larissa.com
Or check out our blog for the latest photos: www.trevor-larissa.com/blog



Formerly known as Ambient Studios
Same two photographers, same great service and unique style - but with a new look & name! Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1355320528166-trevorlarissaweddings01
130x130_sq_1355320532589-trevorlarissaweddings02
130x130_sq_1355320536243-trevorlarissaweddings03
130x130_sq_1355320541969-trevorlarissaweddings04
130x130_sq_1355320546679-trevorlarissaweddings05
130x130_sq_1355320553448-trevorlarissaweddings06
130x130_sq_1355320559825-trevorlarissaweddings07
130x130_sq_1355320564800-trevorlarissaweddings08
130x130_sq_1355320570185-trevorlarissaweddings09
130x130_sq_1355320575701-trevorlarissaweddings10
130x130_sq_1355320580688-trevorlarissaweddings11
130x130_sq_1355320586175-trevorlarissaweddings12
130x130_sq_1355320590935-trevorlarissaweddings13
130x130_sq_1355320595911-trevorlarissaweddings14
130x130_sq_1355320601350-trevorlarissaweddings15
130x130_sq_1355320609751-trevorlarissaweddings16
130x130_sq_1355320614761-trevorlarissaweddings17
130x130_sq_1355320624426-trevorlarissaweddings19
130x130_sq_1355320628594-trevorlarissaweddings20
130x130_sq_1355320634147-trevorlarissaweddings21
130x130_sq_1355320638816-trevorlarissaweddings22
130x130_sq_1355320643445-trevorlarissaweddings23
130x130_sq_1355320648249-trevorlarissaweddings24
130x130_sq_1355320651182-trevorlarissaweddings25
130x130_sq_1355320654005-trevorlarissaweddings26
130x130_sq_1355320660130-trevorlarissaweddings27
130x130_sq_1355320663485-trevorlarissaweddings28
130x130_sq_1355320667516-trevorlarissaweddings29
130x130_sq_1355320673075-trevorlarissaweddings30
130x130_sq_1355320677658-trevorlarissaweddings31
130x130_sq_1355320683699-trevorlarissaweddings32
130x130_sq_1355320689501-trevorlarissaweddings33
130x130_sq_1355320694949-trevorlarissaweddings34
130x130_sq_1355320700968-trevorlarissaweddings35

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, High Resolution Images, Prints, Thank You Cards
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
Having both been trained in photography through schooling we like to remain as true to traditional darkroom techniques as possible. This means we usually do enhanced colour and black and white prints.
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
We focus on the use of available light as much as possible, but have extensive experience working with flashes and low light situations.
Is your media preference film or digital?
We are fully digital, but would be happy to create a custom quote to shoot your wedding on film.
How many photographers do you work with?
We are a two photographer company- this means that we shoot all of our weddings together as a team and DO NOT contract out work to any other photographers.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Absolutely!
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
When you book with us you have hired us for the day. We do not accept multiple bookings on any given day. This allows you the comfort to know that we can stay later on your wedding day if need be.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes, we have a tight network of photographers who will be assigned to take over in the case of an emergency.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
We shoot with top of the line Nikon Professional Gear, each with two bodies and an array of lenses.
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Yes, we have a back up kit on hand including camera systems and lenses.
Do you charge hourly or full day?
Our packages are created on an hourly basis.
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
Lets face it... sometimes things run longer than expected! We are happy to stay for overtime coverage at our regular hourly rate.
Do you charge for travel?
Anywhere inside the GTA is include, but we are happy to travel worldwide! Contact us with your location and we will create a custom quote.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
Online gallery, DVD and proof prints are available 4-6 weeks after your wedding.
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Yes, each package comes with an archival, high resolution, fully colour corrected DVD of all your images. These are unmarked digital files and are ready to print.
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes! We provide a password protected, online gallery to all our couples. You can view your images in colour or black and white and our convenient shopping cart feature makes online orders quick and easy.
What kind of albums do you offer?
We have two custom albums available: Our Genuine Leather album has vibrant, archival pages. We also offer Fine Art Books, you choose the style (contemporary or classic) and we do the rest!
When will the client get the final album?
Books are ready two weeks after you approve them for printing.

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
8/24/2013
5.0/5.0
Trevor and Larissa did such a fantastic job shooting our wedding! Not only did they capture the day beautifully, they were so wonderful to work with and totally kept us at ease. Throughout the day they were unobtrusive, but somehow managed to capture the most intimate moments of our wedding and we are so grateful. Looking back at our pictures we were able to fully relive the day through their candid style--all the laughter love and emotion was captured beautifully. Thanks again T + L!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julia
Wedding:
11/17/2012
5.0/5.0
Of all the vendors we chose for our wedding, Trevor and Larissa are definitely at the top of that list. We couldn't have found better photographers for our special day. It was important to us to have the combination of Larissa's fine arts background and Trevor's photojournalism. We love the way the photos tell the story of the day. They are very laid back and put us at ease during our engagement photo shoot. They were very professional and always quick to respond to emails. We were also very happy with the time it took to turn around both our engagement and wedding photos. We've received many compliments on our photos and will be recommending them to anyone in need of a wedding photographer.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Vanessa
Wedding:
9/28/2012
5.0/5.0
We had met with a couple of other photographers before meeting Trevor and Larissa and the decision to contract with them was immediate. They are immensely proud and professional about their work without being precious, and are personable and fun to work with. They have a real sense of individuality in their photographic style, of course capturing the all important wedding shots but also managing to convey a vibrancy and sense of progression through the day. Add to that a real understanding to the other's work; they complement each other's different approach fantastically. One of the many positive aspects of using Trevor and Larissa was that you do get two interpretations (and angles!) of scenes, and yet they remain discrete while going about their work. This was a big plus for me as I really didn't want that paparazzi approach that can occur when there is more than one shooter.
Suffice to say we are delighted to have met them and recommend without hesitation. On such an important day they make you feel at ease, go about their business with minimal fuss and the results are stunning. Thank you both.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sara
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
I don't think I can possibly say enough good things about these talented photographers. Both Trevor and Larissa were incredibly giving with their time throughout our entire wedding lead-up, making everything run smoothly. They were professional, friendly and always got back to us in a timely manner. Their enthusiasm for their craft is next to none, and having their mix of fine art and photojournalism led to more unique wedding documentation than I have seen with other photographers. This was something we wanted more than anything. Larissa always had useful tips when I needed them, from flowers to dresses, to colours, to lighting, relying on her large base of experience, and I'm sure all new brides need this more than anything while planning her big day! I cannot recommend them enough, you will not be disappointed!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beth
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
There are so many wonderful things to say about Trevor and Larissa! We were very lucky to have this talented duo photograph both our engagement and wedding. We booked them while they were away traveling last year based solely on their exceptional portfolio and the lovely reviews from other couples. Although our initial correspondence was only through email, it was very easy to tell that they were personal and professional. When we met, we knew instantly that we had made the perfect choice. They are so easy to work with, super friendly, and very supportive. Above all this, they are both very talented! It was so nice to have two professional photographers, especially on the wedding day when we were able to have Trevor spend the morning with the boys and Larissa with the girls. They were a pleasure to have around on our big day, and made us both feel comfortable and special. We were so happy when we received our photos. They took some great posed pictures, but also focused on candid shots, which documented the special moments and all the details of our day. They did a perfect job capturing the love and excitement of our wedding - we will always cherish their beautiful and meticulous work. We would recommend Trevor and Larissa to any couple! We loved our pictures so much that my parents have booked them to do family photos, and my brother is using them for his wedding next summer. We can easily say that trusting Trevor and Larissa to document our wedding was one of the best choices we made!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
michimichi
Wedding:
9/11/2010
4.4/5.0
Trevor and Larissa are a talented couple! They were great to deal with, and always delivered! Both our engagement photos and wedding photos were more than we could ask for!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cynthialaurie
Wedding:
9/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Larissa and Trevor were one of the best parts of my wedding day. Somehow in their photos I look like me, but better than I ever thought possible.

Larissa has a fine arts background in photography, whereas her husband Trevor has a reportage background. They make a really great blend. The pictures of our friends and family are art. It is truly amazing.

They gave excellent client service - they were very flexible and accommodating, very professional, etc. They were great value for the money (we got an archival-quality DVD of all the photos -- over 1000 colour-corrected and printable -- to keep). Also, having two photographers at that price was really amazing. Trevor did pre-photos with my (now) husband, and Larissa did pre-photos with the girls. They try to tell the story of the day through the photos, so this part was really important.

On top of excelling at all the normal things a photographer does, Trevor and Larissa were wonderful people who brought an extra bit of happiness to our day. Having Larissa with the girls was like having another bridesmaid there, as opposed to someone I hardly knew. We were running late and I was starting to melt down from stress, but Larissa was incredibly sympathetic and calmed me right down. She was really lovely.

I really can't say enough good things about these two. Hire them. It will be one of the best decisions you will make about your wedding day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
PPEChar
Wedding:
9/12/2009
5.0/5.0
Being a wedding coordinator in Southern California has given me the opportunity to work with many wonderful photographers. Larissa and Trevor are no exception to that. I was helping my sister-in-law plan her wedding back in Toronto, and searched high and low for a photographer for them who suited their style, but also my standards. When we came across the work of Larissa and Trevor, upon first impression, there was no question, we had to go with them. Not only does their work speak for itself, (with their modern perspective, amazing use of natural light, and ability to capture and encompass those "tender moments"), but they have an uncanny ability to be in multiple places simultaneously, working so incredibly fluidly and seamlessly together as a team. With hand signals or eye contact, they knew exactly what the other was doing, what lenses the other was shooting with, what angle -they were awesome. And on top of that they're really cool, down to earth people -totally friendly and professional. They are accommodating, easy to work with, and truly amazing at what they do. They are the epitome of true talent.

Thanks, Larissa and Trevor, for an awesome day. It was such a pleasure working with you, and it meant the world to our whole family to have you there. I hope to have the pleasure of working with you again!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Seth
Wedding:
8/23/2009
5.0/5.0
My wife and I studied many wedding photographer portfolios before settling on Larissa and Trevor.

We liked that we would have not one, but two photographers working the event simultaneously. In addition it was great that Trevor had specialized training in photojournalism, and Larissa had specialized training in Fine Art Photography.

They were a pleasure in every way to work with. They photographed our wedding beautifully. They were completely unobtrusive as they captured details and moments that would otherwise have escaped our attention.

The results were excellent. We highly recommend Larissa and Trevor.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
gdhall
Wedding:
7/4/2009
4.9/5.0
My husband and I loved the work Larissa and Trevor did!
They captured our wedding exactly the way we wanted them to capture it.. candid, breathtaking and vivid! We found them easy to work with and they were very clear in what they needed from us (information for the date of the wedding). We are glad we went with out gut at the wedding show and pick Ambient Studios!
Geeta
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
Jennifer
Wedding:
6/27/2009
5.0/5.0
My husband and I got married 1 year ago. Then, we temporarily moved out of the country right after our wedding, forced to leave printing pictures/albums for a while. We were just sitting down tonight to get going on that, and fell in love with our pictures all over again and were inspired to post a review. We were pretty laid back wedding planners, choosing the first person that was reliably recommended to us for many of our vendors. But, with photography we were a lot pickier. We both felt that our pictures were the only thing we got to keep (aside from each other of course!) so that (finding someone who could really "capture" the day candidly) was where a generous amount of time, effort and resources should go. We combed a ton of websites and eventually met with 5-10 photographers. This was an important decision to us, and we can both be indecisive, but even after all those meetings, the choice was clear to both of us immediately. Trevor & Larissa had just started their joint company, so we didn't have a lot to go off of. But, what they did show us, was amazing. They were also very organized and professional but yet laid back and sincere/personal. And, we were instantly comfortable around them (which, for me was key, because I don't like getting my picture taken). We also liked that we would get 2 talented photographers who knew how to shoot together and whose personalities and styles complemented one another so well. We weren't disappointed! They were like that through the whole process. We never had a moment of worry if they would pull through in any way. Never felt the need to check up on anything. They just did their thing the day of the wedding and a couple of weeks later gave us hundreds of pictures that truely captured our day. We can feel what the weather was like, what we and others were feeling, the fun atmosphere . . . And there are so many pictures of friends and family that are "so them", which, with us far away, are great to have. So, we got exactly what we wanted. Great candid pictures and a relaxed, positive experience to go along with them!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
11/1/2008
5.0/5.0
Hello Brides and Grooms,
After meeting with a few wedding photographers, I was drawn to a certain photographer that I had gone to both elementary and high school with. Larissa and Trevor were both extremely accommodating when it came to meeting times and locations, and both provided exceptional portfolios to browse.
I ended up booking Ambient Studios after deciding that their modern style of photography was a perfect match to the style of our wedding. On the wedding day, they were everything that wedding photographers should be; punctual, creative, professional, and open to all of our fun ideas. Our beautiful photos were ready in the timeline specified and the enlargements from Ambient Studios continue to receive compliments from family and friends. Highly recommended to anyone looking to book a photographer for their special day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KR
Wedding:
9/27/2008
5.0/5.0
We were very impressed when we first saw Larissa and Trevor's portfolio's, and now we're happy to be a part of them.
The uniqueness of their work stands out and we have had endless compliments on our wedding photos from family and friends.
They were punctual, accommodating and full of great ideas with a modern flair.
Larissa and Trevor make a great team and it was a pleasure to have them as part of our day.
Thanks again!
Monika and Kenny
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Trevor and Larissa were absolute pleasure to work with. Their outstanding commitment to professionalism and attention to detail are noticeable right from the beginning. The end product and service is first rate! Anyone looking for a truely unique way to remember their day should consider hiring them. Our pictures our fabulous! Rather than posing for pictures they captured the day as it happened.
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
Dundas & Carlaw, Toronto, ON M4M1S1 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Trevor & Larissa : Documentary Meets Fine Art (formerly Ambient Studios)
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1347541679940-tldocumentaryweddings