130x130_sq_1307800014178-0214b

Tropical Focus Photography

St. Petersburg , FL
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

6860 Gulfport Blvd. South, Suite # 302
St. Petersburg, FL US 33707 (map)

PHONE

727-871-9402

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Tropical Focus Photography is proud to receive the Bride's Choice Award again in 2012. Whether you are eloping for a barefoot beach ceremony, planning a resort wedding or even a weeklong... Read more
Tropical Focus Photography is proud to receive the Bride's Choice Award again in 2012. Whether you are eloping for a barefoot beach ceremony, planning a resort wedding or even a weeklong destination wedding with lots of guest activities thrown in, we’re your photographers. We are a full-service photography company servicing clients both in Florida and the US Virgin Islands.

Our style is relaxed and natural capturing all your magic moments with a touch of fun thrown in. So, relax! Tropical Focus Photography has the range of styles, portfolio experience and a la carte pricing you want along with the vision to make dreams come true. Check out our client reviews here on Wedding Wire and also on Pictage.

From barefoot elopements on Florida's gulf coast, to a large formal wedding with hundreds of guests - Tropical Focus is happy to work withyour vision and your budget.

We are proud to offer you complete unlimited coverage for your multi-day destination wedding, covering every guest activity and your quiet moments as a couple too.

Tropical Focus Photography has worked with hundreds of happy brides over the years and we look forward to working with you too.. Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1377292522183-rds8543
130x130_sq_1377292041918-0459
130x130_sq_1377295677863-sch3084
130x130_sq_1377294231929-0374
130x130_sq_1377292782953-0743
130x130_sq_1357943398399-0216c
130x130_sq_1357943402568-0393
130x130_sq_1357943399499-0269a
130x130_sq_1357943401476-0349
130x130_sq_1357943404810-0868a
130x130_sq_1357943403575-0481
130x130_sq_1357943395376-1172ww
130x130_sq_1357943396989-0003
130x130_sq_1357943400558-0346
130x130_sq_1351809828033-0242w
130x130_sq_1351805282426-0464ww
130x130_sq_1351805304947-0244ww
130x130_sq_1351805540241-0235ww
130x130_sq_1351805543381-1271ww
130x130_sq_1351809809276-0074w2
130x130_sq_1351807225263-0627ww
130x130_sq_1351807211299-0187ww
130x130_sq_1351807222468-0612ww
130x130_sq_1351805545454-0666ww
130x130_sq_1351805547443-0178ww
130x130_sq_1351807215578-0283ww
130x130_sq_1351807220147-0505ww
130x130_sq_1351809806436-0032w
130x130_sq_1351809812240-0163w
130x130_sq_1351809814997-0164w
130x130_sq_1351809817387-0164w
130x130_sq_1351809820381-0179w
130x130_sq_1351809822482-0239w
130x130_sq_1351809825311-0241w
130x130_sq_1351809830999-0343w
130x130_sq_1351809833404-0415w
130x130_sq_1351809836358-0520w
130x130_sq_1351809838498-0613w
130x130_sq_1351809841077-0632w
130x130_sq_1351809843783-0713w
130x130_sq_1351809846039-1370w
130x130_sq_1307810934354-weddingwiree
130x130_sq_1307797979342-0303
130x130_sq_1325986099014-0748web
130x130_sq_1307798462553-0110
130x130_sq_1307798403694-0065
130x130_sq_1307811230130-weddingwire3
130x130_sq_1307798218397-0530
130x130_sq_1307798115624-0410
130x130_sq_1325986095286-1037web
130x130_sq_1307797706654-0242
130x130_sq_1307797505148-0198
130x130_sq_1307797637655-0213a
130x130_sq_1307797898971-0274
130x130_sq_1307798433740-0091
130x130_sq_1307797945630-0282
130x130_sq_1325986086322-0060aweb
130x130_sq_1307798039309-0347
130x130_sq_1307797667326-0214b
130x130_sq_1307797822421-0264
130x130_sq_1307797760318-0261
130x130_sq_1307798082567-0399
130x130_sq_1307797854308-0270
130x130_sq_1307798150506-0433
130x130_sq_1307798501241-0193
130x130_sq_1307798177447-0452bw
130x130_sq_1307797548750-0208
130x130_sq_1307798257459-0535a
130x130_sq_1307798297832-sch0951
130x130_sq_1307798347550-0047a
130x130_sq_1307798529789-0196
130x130_sq_1307797603350-0210
130x130_sq_1307811157387-weddingwire1
130x130_sq_1307811188010-weddingwire2
130x130_sq_1307811246229-weddingwire4
130x130_sq_1325986083993-0056web
130x130_sq_1325986088659-2079web
130x130_sq_1325986091531-1638web
130x130_sq_1325986093322-1616web
130x130_sq_1325986097114-0760web
130x130_sq_1325986104529-0261
130x130_sq_1270002357315-vg2
130x130_sq_1270002248893-vg1
130x130_sq_1264730901141-301600x600
130x130_sq_1270002902940-moto1
130x130_sq_1270003129971-moto2
130x130_sq_1264730889875-048
130x130_sq_1264730917360-bob7061
130x130_sq_1264730903422-458
130x130_sq_1264730940391-sch6191
130x130_sq_1264730924375-bob1937a
130x130_sq_1264730911672-bob4823
130x130_sq_1264730939422-sch2137
130x130_sq_1264730921407-bob7448
130x130_sq_1264730890782-010a600x600
130x130_sq_1264730953391-sch7829600x600
130x130_sq_1270004260111-blue2
130x130_sq_1264733977672-109a
130x130_sq_1264733978079-224
130x130_sq_1264733989907-3702
130x130_sq_1264733997407-4181
130x130_sq_1264734007938-369
130x130_sq_1264734008407-bob0510
130x130_sq_1264734019766-bob4329
130x130_sq_1264734020360-bob0942
130x130_sq_1264734027375-bob5562a
130x130_sq_1264734032188-bob4929
130x130_sq_1264734040204-sch9085
130x130_sq_1264734044438-sch8433
130x130_sq_1275317682134-0131
130x130_sq_1275317833228-h
130x130_sq_1275317952368-a
130x130_sq_1275318125243-g
130x130_sq_1275318253556-j

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture, Traditional / Posed
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Prints
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
Absolutely. Tropical Focus is a husband/wife collaboration. Bob is always your photographer and Karin handles post-production and special effects. Brides sometimes have us recreate the look and feel of an image they've seen in a magazine, or a family heirloom portrait. That's fun for us. We can image your wedding in any finishing style you'd like and can provide samples for everything from a softened dreamy look to a crisp black and white approach.
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
We have extensive experience shooting in both strong Caribbean sunlight and low light conditions in remote locations. We have experience in churches, temples, and even awful flourescent lighting situations.
Is your media preference film or digital?
We now shoot exclusively in digital format due to its eco-friendly nature and its maturity as a media.
How many photographers do you work with?
Most weddings require only one photographer - and that is always Bob Schlesginer. We do NOT substitute photographers, so you can be confident in who is taking your photos. For larger events, an additional technician or shooter can be provided and is automatically included in some of our larger wedding package offerings.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Absolutely. You are putting your trust in our abilities and our performance. Bob is always on-site and Karin is on-site for larger events or whenever requested. We usually are the first to arrive and the last to leave. It's our job to capture it all. If your event runs longer than anticipated, we stay as long as we are needed and accept payment later for that additional time, so there is no stress on you on your special day..
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
We are sometimes able to handle two small events in a single day such as a one-hour sunset beach wedding and a one-hour morning family vacation portrait session. All events are scheduled with plenty of time before/after to handle any situations that crop up. We've been known to also block our company's calendar for 3 or 4 days to focus solely on a single event.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
We work with peers all over the Virgin Islands and in the US in case a dire emergency ever happens. To date we have not needed to activate this emergency planning.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
For a typical beach wedding, Bob carries two Nikon D700 cameras, each loaded with a different pro quality lens. Extra lenses, batteries, cards, tripod, light box, light stand, ladder, and all the other goodies you'd expect are included. We also bring umbrellas (for added shade), sunscreen, bug spray, and miscellaneous props. Depending on our conversations ahead of time, we may bring other amenities for the bridal party.
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Always. It's one of the differences between hiring a local pro as your destination photographer. We always have double and triple of everything nearby. Our equipment is also maintained to the highest levels possible and is regularly serviced to ensure quality results for every client event.
Do you charge hourly or full day?
Be do both depending on what your vision and your budget allow. Both package pricing and a la carte services are offered.
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
We are always available for extra hours and our pricing for added time is nominal and based on the complexity involved. The charge for extra hours is agreed upon up front, but can be added up to the minute it is needed, even if that is over a year away!
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
When we are with a bridal party or their guests, we expect to be working. If a shoot will be over the course of many hours, we bring snacks to catch a quick bite and keep my energy up. If a client invites us to eat at the reception, we appreciate it, but never lose sight of our main purpose. We're okay with eating cold food/later.
Do you charge for travel?
There is no charge for travel locally on St John for Virgin Island weddings. For other island destination weddings, we charge for actual costs expended. Our referral list includes clients in off-island locations. Our Florida clients do not pay for added travel costs either.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
Proofs are generally available within 2-3 days of an event for on-line proofing.
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
We prefer on-line proofing, due to its eco-friendly nature and because it is the fastest way possible for our remote clients to review their proofs quickly.
How long can the client keep the proofs?
Proofs remain on-line for 3 months, but that can be extended if needed.
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
We automatically offer all clients free joint-ownership of all photos. If a client needs the added discretion of sole ownership and even non-disclosure of any kind, that is an option.
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Every client is differnt. Most clients sign a waiver allowing us to publish and use their photos for marketing purposes. Some clients prefer to reamain private and we respect that.
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Original digital negatives (or images) are a purchased option. For clients who require the added discretion of all originals with no retained backups by the photographer, we do offer that as an option.
Will images be available for viewing online?
Our images are available on-line via our studio on Pictage. A selection is offered for posting to Facebook or Wedding Wire within days of the event. Access to the client event can be made either directly from our own website, or from the Pictage website.
What kind of albums do you offer?
We offer hardcover modern albums in multiple sizes, direct from us. For elaborate album designs that require multiple in-person consultations, we will refer you to more local peers in your georgraphy that are also members of the Professional Photographers Associaion.
When will the client get the final album?
Final albums require a 3-6 week timeframe after finished photos are selected for by the wedding couple.

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Bob was amazing! He took some of the best photos I have ever seen! He is very professional and has great suggestions for photos. Our wedding was captured perfectly!!! You MUST hire Bob! He will
go above and beyond!!
Deena and Larry Hendrix!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julianna
Wedding:
5/5/2014
5.0/5.0
I thought Bob did a very good job. Easy to work with and was able to fit my needs. He works within every budget too, just ask! I would reccomend him for weddings and events!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Pictures came out stunning I don't believe there was one bad picture out of 966 pictures !!! Can't wait to use you again !!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Beatrice
Wedding:
12/21/2013
5.0/5.0
We had a great experience with Bob, he's professionalism and personality made us feel calm and comfortable in such a hectic day filled with emotions. We will most definitely contract Bob for further events.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Bob was great - professional, kind, and the pictures turned out fantastic! We will be using him in the future for some family portraits.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
11/30/2013
5.0/5.0
Did a great job. Can't wait to have photos.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deanna
Wedding:
11/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Bob did an amazing job shooting our sunset beach wedding! And he was so much fun to work with!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Julia
Wedding:
12/8/2012
5.0/5.0
Bob was awesome! We planned our wedding in 1.5 months ... So we put a lot of faith that our photographer would be able to take control and get the best pics possible ... and Bob did. He took some great group shots at the church and even drove back to the Tradewinds Resort on St. Pete Beach to get the beautiful sunset shots on the gulf! We will have amazing photos of our wedding to last a lifetime.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Bob Schlesinger was exactly what we were looking for in a photographer for our wedding. We were on a tight budget and he accommodated our needs on our special day. Planning a destination wedding, its hard to know who and what to expect. We not only got great pictures but a person with a wonderful personality who is eager to please the bride and groom!
We were extremely happy with how everything went before, during and after the wedding. Bob is very responsive whenever I had a question or concern, he was very flexible and always had a positive attitude. We would definitely recommend Tropical Focus to anyone looking to capture important memories.
Services Used: Photography
130x130_sq_1285540544172-701972524119880314219111416053871897548n
Latoya
Wedding:
8/13/2011
5.0/5.0
Bob and his wife were amazing from start to finish! They were accommodating from the very beginning and made the process extremely smooth. They worked so well with our guests that we even invited them to sit and eat for a while at the reception. There may be other vendors with more frills, but don't be fooled. Bob produces an excellent product for a fraction of the costs of the typical photographer in the Virgin Islands. Oh, and he took the ferry ride over from St. John to St. Thomas just to capture our ceremony. Both he and his wife are class acts. When we go back for our 1-year anniversary, we'll definitely look them up. Highly recommended!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mlkwiatek
Wedding:
8/12/2011
5.0/5.0
My finance and I are just finally starting to get back into the groove of the real world after 10 amazing days in St John for our wedding and honeymoon. After reading other great reviews, I e-mailed Bob to check for availability and additional information - from our first e-mail exchanges through to the wedding day, Bob was very quick to respond with helpful insights and clear expectations.
Bob also provided a few recommendations for both music and floral arrangements and both vendors turned out to be as helpful and ultimately as professional as Bob. Throughout the planning process, Bob (and his wife Karin who calmed some of my mom's 'week before the wedding' nerves) was extremely responsive through both e-mail and phone.
During the day of the wedding, Bob came to both of the family villas for pre-pictures, as well as the church, then took us to Hawksnest beach and overlook shots and finally stayed for the reception venue. His professionalism and easy-going nature took over and guided my fiance and I (and family and friends) into beautiful shots that we all can't stop looking at!
Overall, a terrific service by a seasoned vet - great personality, very helpful and again just wonderful pictures.
I would highly recommend Tropical Focus to anyone in the USVI for wedding or family pictures. Thanks again:)

Meredith and Geoff
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
renee
Wedding:
8/7/2011
5.0/5.0
I would highly recommend Tropical Focus Photography to anyone needing this service in the Virgin Islands. Bob was fantastic! He went out of his way to make sure everything went smoothly for us on our wedding day, going so far as to pick us up at our hotel and shuttle us to Cinnamon Bay for our ceremony. When my groom forgot the wedding rings in the car, Bob walked back with him to get them (quite a hike on a hot day in August!) His recommendations for the officiant (Captain Phil) and the florist (Passion Flowers) were spot on. We could not have been more pleased. And the bottom line is our pictures are beautiful!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TINAD
Wedding:
8/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Bob did a great job with photographing our wedding on St. John! We had hired him for the ceremony (on Hawksnest beach) and only an hour of the reception (Asolare)but he stayed on right through the end (at no additional charge!!). Bob was also able to quickly adapt to our non-traditional approach, since we did not want to spend time posing for photos but rather enjoying time with our guests. He was able to capture some really great moments with family and friends, that we will never forget. Bob was a super nice guy to work with and we would certainly recommend him!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Quinn McCutchen
Wedding:
7/4/2011
5.0/5.0
Bob was the photographer for our wedding at Hawksnest Beach and the reception at Villa Kalorama on 7/4/11. He did a great job and we would without any hesitation, recommend Tropical Focus as photographers for any event. He was prompt, easy to communicate with, up front about the services he would provide, knowledgeable of the settings and the other people involved in our wedding, and very thorough about making sure our needs were met. In particular, we liked his creativeness and willingness to take shots not ordinarily seen in wedding photos such as shots at overlooks, on the rocks at beaches, at a waterfall, and in local ruins. The overall effect is that now we have great quality and unique photographic memories of our special day.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
generalgirls
Wedding:
6/25/2011
5.0/5.0
It was a pleasure working with Bob and his wife. Bob also took our engagements photos which were absolutely beautiful! On our wedding day Bob and his wife took lovely pictures and was helpful along the way with whatever we needed or asked for. I am glad that I choose Tropical Focus as my photographer. Highly recommended to anyone that needs a photographer in the Vitgin Islands. 5 stars
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christi
Wedding:
6/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Bob and his wife at Tropical Focus were really great at making our wedding day a little less stressful. They asked in advance what color and styles Neil and I were wearing and what kind of personality we wanted our pictures to show. We told them romantic and fun which they totally captured in each and every picture. Also I have to say that I have a really hard time feeling comfortable in front of the camera but Bob made it work. I love how they give you an activity so that you'll look natural and you'll get some amazing shots. Activities such as "hold hands, walk down the beach and every few steps look back at the sand"this was made it look like we were taking a romantic stroll down the beach. They had my husband give me a piggy back down the beach, this was really cute. The ultimate picture was when they had Neil dip me on the beach at sunset.......people have used words like EPIC to describe this picture......needless to say this was our 8X10. Bob made it difficult to pick which pictures I wanted because they were all GREAT!

Thanks again Bob for making our memories last forever!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
acrpurple
Wedding:
6/17/2011
5.0/5.0
Bob & Karen made our day sooo special! I could not have imagined having anyone else do the entire photography process. It has been such a pleasure & I highly recommend them! From the planning to the finishing process - they are the BEST!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
genef
Wedding:
6/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Bob did a wonderful job for us during our wedding in June. He was able to put a package to gether that met our needs and was very responsive after the shoot. Thanks Bob! We will definately use Tropical Focus again!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brian E.
Wedding:
6/8/2011
5.0/5.0
Bob was absolutely fantastic! We had some rain, he had some umbrellas, not to mention his sunshine guarantee (30 min free anytime during our stay when the sun comes out!). Bob had a bunch of great suggestions and was also excited to hear all of our ideas. We planned our own wedding and Bob was a tremendous help. He gave us all kinds of input on times and locations, this was very helpful. Bob showed up early, stayed late and was a real pleasure to work with, not to mention our photos look wonderful. Bob is a true professional in every sense of the word and I would highly recommend him. His communication was excellent, answering all of our emails and calls in a very timely fashion. He had our photos (618 pics for an hour session) posted online in less than 24 hours! Bob Schlesinger and Tropical Focus Photography are the best you can get.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Johnwestpointer
Wedding:
5/26/2011
5.0/5.0
Bob is AWESOME! He has a talent for finding the perfect shot and capturing it on camera. If you are looking for a photographer for your special event, I would encourage you to seek Bob's services. I think you will be as pleased with the final results as we are! We look forward to coming back to St. John's and hope to see Bob again. Thanks Bob for all you did to make our wedding memorable!

John and Cheryl
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lori
Wedding:
5/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Bob was absolutely wonderful to work with. Due to some conflicts on our end, we had to move our wedding date back two weeks and he was more than accomodating. The pictures he took of our group are absolutely beautiful. I would highly recommend his services to anyone! He made our wedding day beautiful! Thank you! Lori and Mike Camp
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
signature
Wedding:
5/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Bob did a wonderful job with the Wedding Pictures. I have viewed them with all of my friends and co-workers. Stated the pictures were the best they have seen. We love the actions shots and they are just fun to look at and think back what a great Wedding Day that was!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
raeannabelle
Wedding:
5/3/2011
5.0/5.0
Bob and his wife were amazing and very professional. We enjoyed having him at our wedding and his eye for great pictures and poses was fantastic. I would STRONGLY recommend him to anyone getting married or celebrating a special occasion in St. John.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
b
Wedding:
3/14/2011
5.0/5.0
Easy to work with. Bob changed his schedule to fit ours. Nice guy. Always responds to emails and communications.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
StephandJason
Wedding:
1/1/2011
5.0/5.0
We love love loved Bob! He was very easy to work with, kind, professional, everything we wanted and more! We actually did one day of photography on St. John and Bob picked us up from the ferry and drove us around the island taking pictures for hours. We are SO GLAD we did that. We then got married on 1-1-11 with Bob and his wife both taking pictures. We LOVE all of our pictures! They did a fantastic job capturing everything. I would highly recommend them! When we come back (and we WILL come back) we will not hesitate to contact Bob and have him take some more pictures!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ARMaurer
Wedding:
12/11/2010
5.0/5.0
We could not have been happier having Bob at Tropical Focus photographing our wedding and post-jaunts around St. John! We had a uniquely-located ceremony that required a steep climb, and Bob was a great sport about everything - he really helped make our day special and we are thrilled with how the photos turned out. He is extremely familiar with all the spots on the island and very flexible and accommodating to make it the right experience for us. I would absolutely recommend Bob's professional and personalized service.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
russalka
Wedding:
11/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Bob is a professional who used personal attitude by capturing our wedding pictures!
He offered a special package for our intimate,romantic wedding on the beach,making sure the shooting goes smooth, convenient,fun and pleasant for us.
There were moments we forgot that there is a photographer around us,but still every precious memory was safed on a photo!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jcart
Wedding:
11/18/2010
5.0/5.0
Let me preface by saying I would definitely recommend Bob to anyone... this is a bit long by you need to know how awesome he is! My fiance proposed to my on Christmas Day 2009... we planned to be married right away and decided on November 18th, 2010, our 5th year together. We booked everything in January to be at the Westin in St. John USVI. Through out the winter months I finalized everything, including booking Bob as my photographer. Two weeks before our wedding the Westin was hit strong by the rains from Hurricane Otto, but good news, only some things were out of commission and we could still have our wedding there, just some slight property damage. We were flyng out Saturday 11/13, but that Tuesday the 9th, we got a phone call saying that the tail end of Tropical Storm Tomas pretty much wiped everything on the property away. The Westin strongly suggested we book elsewhere to have the wedding we wanted and had planned so long for. Only four days aways from flying out, we had to reschedule EVERYTHING. I signed a contract with Bob months before... I emailed him and asked where do we go from here? He suggested a bunch of hotels in St. John, but they wouldn't work out for our group of 13... so I ended up booking at the Best Western Emerald Beach in St. Thomas. A different island. Bob was amazing, there was a slight cost increase for his travel expenses from St. John to St. Thomas, however he didn't charge me for any extra time! I was shocked! First, that he could still do it even though the location changed, but also because he wasn't charging me any extra for his time. As well as for the correspondence back and forth trying to help me find some other hotels to stay. Can I also tell you that he did a FANTASTIC job?!! He came up to my room prior to intoduce himself and took a few pictures of us getting ready, also of the groom and our friends and family that were waiting at the cermony for me. We paid for a full hour and he stayed beyond that at no extra cost. The pictures are amazing. I couldn't be happier that everything worked out. We ended up with such a beautiful wedding and the pictures to match!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jkellie1971
Wedding:
11/15/2010
5.0/5.0
Bob from Tropical Focus saved the day...After many unexpected problems on my wedding Day Bob put my guests and I at ease and took the most beautiful pictures! I could not have asked for more. I would recommend him to all getting married in St John!!!! First Class photographer!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ethangrant
Wedding:
11/5/2010
5.0/5.0
Bob, was a plesure to work with and helped to make our day special. He was booked through Caneel Bay and it shows. The level of service and quality provided by Caneel Bay puts it at the top for resorts in the world and I would expect only the best from the vendors they do business with and Bob shows that quality and professionalism that the guests of Caneel Bay have come to expect. Thank you again.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeannette
Wedding:
4/17/2010
5.0/5.0
We had such a great experience with Bob. He was fun to work with and all our family and friends loved our photos. Bob really captured every emotion and moment that we experienced on our wedding day. Everytime we look at our photos we remember our sunset ceremony on the beach. The colors in the sky that evening were amazing and Bob got it all in his pictures. He was super easy to work with and had great suggestions; like having us walk down the middle of the road and across the street to have photos of us at the Danish ruins. He hung around until dark and we were able to show everyone how we celebrated our sunset wedding. It was just us on the beach, but Bob made it possible for us to celebrate all our moments with everyone when we got back home and showed them all the photos. He was also great to work with when we had to decide which photos to pick when we got back. We LOVE our photos and wouldn't recommend anyone else! Thank you Bob!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
taramays
Wedding:
4/9/2010
5.0/5.0
I received 4 times as many pictures as I expected and the quality was far beyond anything I had expected. All the pictures were fantastic. He listened to what I wanted in the poses and lighting and he delivered. The price for his services were half of all of the other photographers I talked to. He is also extremely easy-going which is very nice on your wedding day. I would highly recommend him to all brides.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Principessa Beach Bride
Wedding:
3/28/2010
5.0/5.0
Tropical Focus was great right from the start. Bob was accommodating, made wonderful suggestions, and viewing photos and ordering prints could not have been more fantastic. Not a bridezilla but more a runaway bride planning an elopement last minute meant changing beach location and times (to adjust to tides which impact the beach, kids playing volleyball impact the photos, the officiant had a ferry issue, wanting a religious service meant not on a Friday or Sat evening) and all thru this Bob was kind, patient, professional, adaptable, and just plain fabulous! He was the easiest part of what turned out to be a total blast! And we have fabulous photos forever thanks to his talented work. He and his shop are great.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
3/25/2010
5.0/5.0
WOW!!! We absolutely love our photos, thanks to Bob & Karin. They turned out better than we could have ever imagined. We are going to have a very hard time picking out our favorites, but that's an excellent "problem" to have. :] We truly appreciate all of their hard work and timeliness... we are very impressed and would highly recommend them. It was a genuine pleasure meeting them as well. We thank Tropical Focus Photography for everything... from the bottom of our hearts. We now have our special day recorded for all to see and will always cherish these captured memories.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kylaroy7
Wedding:
2/4/2010
5.0/5.0
Bob (with Tropical Focus) photographed our vow renewal and did a FANTASTIC job! Everyone enjoyed him and the pictures are fabulous! Highly recommend!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KatAlex
Wedding:
1/26/2010
5.0/5.0
My husband and I chose Bob Schlesinger and Tropical Focus Photography for our wedding photographer, and we were thoroughly impressed with the services provided!!!! The pictures are absolutely gorgeous and were posted online for us to view less than 36 hours after our wedding. We live in Mississippi and arrived with our families in St. John the day before the wedding, so we didn't have a chance to meet with Bob prior to the ceremony; however, we were able to handle everything via email and telephone with no problems. Bob was extremely flexible working with our schedules, which we really appreciated. The whole process was very easy and everything turned out perfect! I would strongly recommend Bob Schlesinger and Tropical Focus Photography to anyone planning a wedding in St. John!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
BELangston
Wedding:
1/22/2010
5.0/5.0
We recently had the pleasure of working with Bob on 1/22/2010 for our wedding on St. Thomas. It was quite daunting trying to organize a destination wedding, however coordinating our plans with Bob could not have been easier. Bob came as a referral from our church and we spoke with him probably half a dozen times prior to meeting him in person and the couple times we did not reach him, we received a call back that same day.

The pictures we received were top notch. Bob came prepared with an impressive array of tools and props for our pictures. Having never been through a wedding photo set we had a few types of photos we wanted but were really unsure about what else to do to fill out a catalog. Bob's experience really was valuable in directing us where to stand and what to do to get a truely impressive array of photos to capture our Wedding Day.

We felt the price we received from Bob was very reasonable for our small and simple wedding. Bob was straightforward on pricing and it was nice to know ahead of time exactly what everything would cost so we could budget.

Again, we felt our experience with Bob and Tropical Focus Photography could not have gone better. Bob is in business full-time and running a professional practice and it shows in his work.

Ben E. Langston
& Jessamine Langston
La Crosse, WI
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Corinne
Wedding:
1/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Bob was great to work with and was understanding to our exact needs.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
mbruzzano
Wedding:
12/30/2009
5.0/5.0
Easy to work with and good eye.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
shaninGA
Wedding:
12/1/2009
5.0/5.0
Bob is a wonderful photographer. He went above and beyond to make my wedding day special. The photos are beautiful! My husband and I are very pleased with our pictures, the level of customer service and the attention to details that we received through Tropical Focus.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sean and Shannon
Wedding:
12/1/2009
5.0/5.0
My wife and I live in Atlanta, Georgia and were excited once we found Bob’s website, tropicalfocus.com. From start to finish Bob’s communication was excellent. Every concern and detail of our wedding ceremony and plans were fully addressed by Bob and his staff. The attention to detail and post production of the photos was amazing. These are photographs we will pass down in our family for generations. Thank you Bob for making our wedding last a lifetime!

Sean and Shannon
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
gatorgirl23
Wedding:
10/21/2009
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend Bob with Tropical Focus. He was truly a pleasure to work with, and he got some (numerous!) great shots of our wedding. I believe he went above and beyond to provide a fantastic service. As my husband and I chose a destination wedding - arriving by cruise, it was a great relief that he was at the site before I was - ready to go! Thanks again for everything, Bob!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bridgetleefulk
Wedding:
9/19/2009
5.0/5.0
I was in charge of finding the photographer for our last minute paradise wedding. I looked at three different ones and wanted someone who was unique in every aspect of photography. I almost chose another person until I compared both pictures and the prices. Bob was wonderful from the first conversation on the phone until we received our wonderful CD in the mail. By the way we didn't wait 2-3 weeks for it, it came to us within a week which was greatly unexpected. I am or was a very laid back bride, but I really wanted some pictures to show off at our reception when we returned to the states and Bob sent me some to my email to print off. That was wonderful and I really don't know anyone who would go out of there way like that. I would have paid more with no questions asked and we plan on coming back down with family soon, and would love for Bob to take more pictures. Thank You Bridget Fulk, WV
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
RON
Wedding:
8/18/2009
5.0/5.0
BOB, YOU MADE OUR WEDDING DAY PERFECT. YOUR PICTURES WERE GREAT. WE WOULD RECOMEND YOU TO ANY ONE. THANKS FOR ALL THE LITTLE EXTRAS. IF YOU WANT TO USE ANY OF OUR PHOTOS ,LET ME KNOW AND I WLL SEND YOU A COUPLE TO CHOOSE FROM. GOOD LUCK.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Susan and John
Wedding:
8/5/2009
5.0/5.0
Bob turned out to be a great choice for our wedding! We eloped on the beach and decided to hired a photographer to appease the family. It was a simple, private ceremony. Bob was waiting for us when we arrived to our location, and we were early! He was pleasant, professional and easy to work with. During the ceremony, we complete forgot he was there, it wasn't until we received the pictures that we realized how involved he really was. He pushed us to get a few extra shots we may not have otherwise taken, and we are so glad he did! My husband actually admits to having a blast while taking the photos! Thank you, Bob, we had so much fun!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ct_married_in_st.john
Wedding:
7/16/2009
5.0/5.0
I was really looking for a laid back photography experience and not too many posed shots and I got just that. Bob was willing to work with our locations and budget and provided an awesome array of photos that displayed our sometimes playful personalities along with the most sacred moment in our lives.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
brandygon
Wedding:
6/16/2009
5.0/5.0
Bob @ Tropical Focus Photography was amazing!!! I couldn't have asked for a better quality of work. His professionalism, attitude and overall work was definitely worth my money!!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jp2
Wedding:
5/22/2009
5.0/5.0
We were so happy with everything that Bob did with us on our wedding. The pictures looked great and he was willing to travel all over the island to take different location pictures for us. We had some rain and he was totally prepared for it, brought us an umbrella and even those pictures looked great. I would absolutely recommend him for any and all events you might have.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wendy
Wedding:
5/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Bob provided excellent service and even followed up after the event for some special requests. He went out of his way on our special day to ensure we had excellent memories for a lifetime! Thanks Bob!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
sbenge
Wedding:
5/19/2009
5.0/5.0
Tropical Focus was an excellent choice for our wedding pictures! I can't wait to renew our vows so we can use them again!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
laura_mc
Wedding:
3/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Bob is such a GREAT photographer to work with! He was flexible, agreeable to our ideas, communicated well and was super cost-effective! Bob captured our "weddingmoon" experience perfectly and set up a site that we could share with our family and friends. I would DEFINITELY recommend him to anyone in need of a unique island photographer!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
valpix
Wedding:
2/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Bob was wonderful, professional and very willing to be accomidating! His photos were great and we got more than expected! He even helped suggest a boat and Captain for the renewal of vows.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
christieleighton
Wedding:
1/16/2009
5.0/5.0
Bob did a wonderful job on our wedding! He was very easy to work with and gave us lots of nice pictures to capture the memory. Great job, great guy, and we had a great time - don't forget to pick up a copy of his wife's book when you're in St. John.

Christie & Stephen
Richmond, VA
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laurinh
Wedding:
8/17/2008
5.0/5.0
Bob of Tropical Focus photography took some of the best pictures of my husband and I at our wedding that we have ever seen! Since our wedding consisted of just the two of us, our pictures of the wedding really had to "tell the story" to our family and friends. Bob's awesome photography skills just that and then some!!! The wedding was beautiful and Bob helped to capture those moments in our photos!!! The price was fantastic too - very affordable and realistic. We would definately use him again if the opportunity occurred!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ron
Wedding:
8/1/2008
5.0/5.0
Excellent prints for a reasonable price. Great guy to work with.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
atraveller
Wedding:
5/25/2011
4.9/5.0
If you're looking for a photographer for your wedding or special event, search no further than Bob Schlesigner and Tropical Focus Photography. From start to finish, Bob made it so easy for my husband and me. We were planning an elopement, and right upon first contact, Bob began making suggestions for venues, possible times of day, and styles of photography we might like. He was extremely responsive by email and phone and was patient with our many, many questions. And that was just before…during our wedding he was fantastic as well. Bob understood what we wanted and captured it perfectly, giving us a wonderful array of formal and casual shots. He came early, stayed late and never once looked at a watch. He even did a few extra shots at two overlooks when we knew we were over time. I asked for beautiful sunsets, and while Bob couldn't provide the actual sunset, he photographed the one we got with stunning clarity. There were several shots where the light was so well depicted that it took my breath away.

As a person, Bob is a pleasure to work with. He's personable and approachable, and while you are clearly dealing with a professional, you also feel like you are working with a friend. Bob and his wife Karin (who does the photo finishing) make a phenomenal team. Karin, like Bob, is super-helpful and responsive. She answered all of our questions about photo finishing, to the point where we now know more about the process than we ever expected. Karin was full of suggestions about places to go on St. John, from restaurants to markets to private chefs on the island! That sort of ‘going beyond’ is what makes Tropical Focus special… because they volunteer so much of themselves, they become more than just your photographers.

My husband and I are in the process of choosing our favorite photos as I write (a tough task), and have no doubt that the finished product will be wonderful. I will probably add an update onto this review once they are done, but for now, one last thank you to Bob and Karin. You were a big part of our magical, once-in-a-lifetime evening, and you will stay a part of it every time we look back on our beautiful photos.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sheryl
Wedding:
12/3/2010
4.9/5.0
Tropical Focus (Bob) Photography was a wonderful service. Bob was at the wedding site before we were and ready to go taking pictures as soon as we arrived. He had no problems going to other locations to take additional pictures. After over 2 hours of picture taking, we had 422 images to go thru. Since there were so many wonderful pictures to choose from, this took us some time to go thru. I would recommend Tropical Focus to anyone who is planning a wedding in the islands.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
TF
Wedding:
3/6/2012
4.8/5.0
My husband and I got married on March 6th in St. John. We researched photographers and decided to go with Bob at Tropical Focus. Boy are we glad we did. He was so helpful right from the beginning. He made our wedding day so special with the beautiful pictures he took. Everyone who has viewed them say they are the most gorgeous pictures they have ever seen. I would highly recommend Bob to anyone needing photopraphy services in St. John. THANKS BOB!

Tracy and Mike Fettig
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs. Lovegreen
Wedding:
7/22/2009
4.8/5.0
Not necessarily the most artistic wedding photographer out there but a solid photographer who is flexible, friendly and affordable. His landscape work is absolutely beautiful and he is always working to perfect his trade.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lwalker
Wedding:
5/25/2010
4.7/5.0
We had a great time with Bob, just remember to be yourself and forget about the camera!! He worked great with our schedule, and was an awesome guide to all local spots to take beautiful pictures.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jack
Wedding:
11/11/2011
4.0/5.0
i found Bob to be very professional and savvy in his field. The only things I think that could have been improved were 2 things:

1. amount of pictures/images for the price (75 JPG's for price we paid I didn't find to be in line)
2. ability to give unedited images taken for price already paid for services.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
smorgan
Wedding:
12/28/2009
3.8/5.0
Bob was great. Took a lot of pictures from many different angles, so many to choose from during the final selections. We were happy with the results. We recommend Bob to anyone having their wedding on St. John.
-Sean and Marie
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Giesele&John
Wedding:
3/11/2009
3.5/5.0
We needed a photographer at the last minute and Bob helped us out. He showed up as promised and took many pictures. I would have liked to have seen all the pictures he took, but only saw the ones he put on the CD and online. I was happy with his work, but would have liked more variety.
Services Used: Photography
Tropical Focus Photography responded with the following comments:

Your point is well taken and spot on! We now offer on-line proofing, with all originals available on-line for review within days of the event so the couple can choose their favorites for us to finish. For those who prefer, we can pick some or all photos ourselves - it's the newlywed couple's choice!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
patwagoner
Wedding:
9/2/2011
3.1/5.0
nice guy, easy to deal with and professional
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
6860 Gulfport Blvd. South, Suite # 302, St. Petersburg, FL 33707 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Tropical Focus Photography
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1307800014178-0214b