130x130_sq_1353959632877-600x6001273597432773dscn1805edited1

TUXEDO CATERERS~EVENT PLANNERS,LLC

Philadelphia , PA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

5500 Wissahickon Avenue - P.H. 1502-K
Philadelphia, PA US 19144 (map)

PHONE

215-848-6777

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Tuxedo Caterers is a Full Services Catering Company. We specialize in Weddings, Corporate Events, Anniversary Galas, Political
and other "Spectacular Events".

Since its... Read more
Tuxedo Caterers is a Full Services Catering Company. We specialize in Weddings, Corporate Events, Anniversary Galas, Political
and other "Spectacular Events".

Since its inception in 1986 under the development and management of its founder, Jewel Mann-Lassiter, Tuxedo Caterers, Inc. has
catered hundreds of events from Philadelphia's Waterfront to the Governor's Mansion in Harrisburg.


Contact Us:

Phone: 215-848-6777

Email: tuxedocaterers@verizon.net Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1273597432773-dscn1805edited1
130x130_sq_1273597502836-dscn1796
130x130_sq_1273598172148-dscn1604
130x130_sq_1273598397586-dscn1623

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Cocktail Reception, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, Premium Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (Traditional), Asian, Cajun, Caribbean, Chinese, Creole, French, Italian, Japanese, Southern, Spanish, Thai
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Vegan, Vegetarian
Do you offer a tasting for potential clients?
Yes we offer our clients a complimentary tasting.
Are you also able to provide the wedding cake?
A Delicious Wedding Cake is including in our package
If a bride decides to bring her own wedding cake, do you have a cake cutting fee? If yes, how much is the fee?
We do not have a cake cutting fee.
Are you licensed to sell alcohol? If yes, where are you licensed?
We do not sell alcohol, but are licensed and insured to serve the clients' alcohol.
Do you allow outside alcohol? If yes, what is the corkage fee?
Yes. We do not have a corking fee.
Do you provide rentals for items such as linens and flatware?
Linens and Flatware are included in our package.
Are you able to provide your own wait staff?
We have a wonderful staff. They are professional, friendly, yet unobtrusive.
What is your maximum catering capacity?
500

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Very thorough in making sure every detail was correct
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paula
Wedding:
11/16/2013
5.0/5.0
Dear Jewel & Staff,

The success of our wedding day was extraordinaire. We got nothing but positive feedback from our guests on the food, which was phenomenal and they are still raving about how amazing it was. The lovely table arrangements and the overall elegant flair were exceptional!

I was ever so delighted with how well the exquisite Eggplant Linens complimented our dresses and your special touches to customize our affair. You and your staff did such a wonderful job at making our big day perfect, they were attentive to our every need. I would highly recommend Tuxedo Caterers without a moment’s hesitation.

Thank you for being a part in making our wedding day perfect!
Paula Engard-Ellis
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Charron
Wedding:
9/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Jewell Mann Lassiter her and team, provided my husband and myself with the wedding of our dreams. Not only was her staff extremely professional, they were attentive to our needs and our guest needs as well. The decor fit our taste and style perfectly. With everything that I had to worry about in terms of a wedding check list, Jewell put my mind at ease with her experience and style. I fully trusted her vision and expertise.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
My wedding was everything that I dream of and thanks to Ms.Jewel team. The food was amazing with every bit you put in your mouth. We decide to go with station and this gave our guest a choice from many selection. We do not eat pork and we had cows in a blanket instead of pigs in a blanket and I just though that was so cute for them to give that name lol. Ms. Jewel is very pleasant, polite and very detail business woman. She will get the job done. she work with my husband and I with everything. I must say she hook us up. Thanks Ms. Jewel and team.

From the Frazier's
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Dear Jewel,

I just wanted to express my deepest gratitude to you and the staff of Tuxedo Catering throughout the entire planning process leading up to Sienna and Jerry's wedding.

It's hard to believe that almost five months have passed since that anointed day, and the memory still makes my heart swell with emotion. The married folks are doing well and Zion is growing by leaps and bounds. It's so funny when we talk about the wedding, she interjects that she got married too.

Your concern, flexibility, patience, spirit of excellence, professionalism, class and most importantly your comforting smile throughout the meetings, menus, site-visits, budget constraints and surprises was far beyond our expectations. Having overseen professional events at the University of Pennsylvania for many years, I know first hand the Tuxedo Catering went far beyond the norm when it comes to event production. When we share the pictures and the video it appears as if we were transported to a European Palace or Heaven. Your menu variety allowed us to have a wonderful selection of foods that worked
within our budget, the presentation was splendid and the cake; Fabulous. Our Guest are still talking about how they felt love when they walked in the door and that something changed in their life, my prayers answered.

On a personal note, being the best Mother of the Bride and praying that you get it right, is a lot of pressure. Especially knowing you most likely will only have one shot per daughter at it. This accompanied with the fact that as a single parent it can be really difficult letting someone else in the "What's best for your children" drivers seat. Jewel, words limit me in expressing how much it meant to me to be able let go and trust you with Sienna's and Jerry's dream & vision and for that I am forever grateful.

Look forward to the opportunity to work with you again. I wish you and Tuxedo Caterers the blessed and prosper.

Cassandra Green
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tamika & Dorrie
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Hi, Jewel

Words cannot express how I feel about you. You made our wedding day PERFECT from day one when I first meet you in the office, you were exceptionally calm and so knowledgeable. You always had my back and I thank you so much for everything. Our wedding day was so organized, your staff was professional and commented to excellence. I also wanted to thank you for working with Kathy. Tuxedo's food was amazing and the presentation was simply fabulous. We loved the beautiful linens and place settings, your charger plates with our printed menus added style and charm. My guest couldn't stop talking about Tuxedo. The wedding Cake that you included in our package was stunning and delicious. Tuxedo's Specialty Signature drink was right on point. Everyone said that it was the best wedding they had ever attended. They loved the Merion Tribute House, some called it a Castle. It was the perfect venue. They also loved the Trolley Works and of course, Tuxedo Caterers.!! We are so happy that we picked you as our caterer. We plan on hosting future events at The Merion Tribute House. Jewel, you will be the first person we will call. We can't thank you enough. We wished you continued success.

Tamika & Dorrie Shaw (Mr. & Mrs. Dorrie Shaw)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
street
Wedding:
4/3/2010
5.0/5.0
Jewel was wonderful! Her staff was very friendly and attentive. Everything was exactly as I imagined it. My wedding reception went along very smooth and everything was in place. I would certainly use Tuxedo Caterers for my next function. I highly recomend Tuxedo Caterers!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nickki04
Wedding:
6/13/2009
5.0/5.0
My husband & I planned our wedding in 3-4 months. I found Tuxedo Catering on line and contacted them at once, ever since that day we were truly pleased with the owner's professionalism and courtesy to our wants and needs. I found in this Caterer not just food for the reception but my Wedding cake, centerpieces, and a florist. We were absolutely overjoyed with the staff's service and attention to our guests. I would eagerly recommend Tuxedo Catering for any event.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Monna
Wedding:
5/2/2009
5.0/5.0
Working with Jewell Mann Lassiter and Tuxedo Catering has been a complete joy. With so many details, and venue concerns, her staff was on time, on target and able to handle on the spot challenges effortlessly.

I hired Tuxedo two years in a row to provide catering services for our annual fundraiser and without a doubt, I would recommend Ms. Lassiter to any bride. She has impeccable attention to detail and when it comes to this business she knows it hands down. I am completely confidant that with Tuxedo as a part of any event there will be no need for worry or concern.

Monna Morton
International Student Athlete Academy
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Let's See If We Can Help, Inc
Wedding:
4/5/2008
5.0/5.0
In April of 2008 our organization, "Let's See If We Can Help, Inc. " gave it's first annual Black Tie Fundraiser to introduce the organization. Never having given such an affair we wanted to place it in the hands of someone that we felt comfortable with and would ensure that we had no worries. I had only heard of Tuxedo Caterer's reputation under the direction of it's founder Ms. Jewel Mann-Lassiter, and knowing what we were seeking and her reputation, we looked no further. Not only did she handle the entire affair both efficiently and effortlessly, it was also fabulous. We placed it in her hands and forgot it. It was beautiful. By comparison we thought we'd save money and attempted the next affair on our own, what a disaster. Needless to say that our next two upcoming affairs in September (birthday) and October (fund raiser) will be handled by Tuxedo Caterers. If their name is attached to it you can believe it is a success. I would recommend Tuxedo Caterers and Ms. Mann-Lassiter to anyone and everyone. ********** ten stars out of five.
Services Used: Catering, Favors & Gifts, Flowers, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
6/27/2009
4.8/5.0
Jewel Lassiter and the staff of Tuxedo Catering provided excellent service, loving care, and concern to our wedding day menu making it a beautifully unique & unforgettable day to remember! Our guests marveled at how delicious the food tasted. From start to finish, Jewel's attention to detail and flare for the extra touches made preparation an easier experience. To top things off, Jewel's cookbook "Love Bites" is phenomenal. The recipes are easy to follow and absolutely wonderfull!!!! -Kimberly & Kenneth Hardy (June 27, 2009)
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.6/5.0
Jewel did an amazing job with the decorations and catering for our wedding in November 2013. Every event she handles is different (definitely not cookie-cutter) and she adds many unique touches. She is extremely creative and you get a lot more than you would expect from her prices! At times she came off as disorganized, but in the end we got everything we wanted and more. I would highly recommend her to anyone!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.4/5.0
Many options for color. My preferences were nicely employed. The food was very good and in abundance.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.2/5.0
My wedding was great! Ms Jewel made sure that everything ran smoothly even though we had a transform the room from ceremony to reception in a hour!!!! The staff was excellent and worked well with my coordinator The food was plentiful for the price!! And my cake get 5 stars the best homemade cake I ever tasted!!!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1263921063077-10939126141574610615510626296829294593995n
Mrs. Cat
Wedding:
12/12/2010
4.1/5.0
The owner is more than pleasant and easy to talk to. She was very responisve when I explained we were having financial challenges, and worked with us to still make the budget work. While some minor details we discussed didn't happen on the day, we were happy with the food and service overall.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1325616071669-3953285791093559512900003121225927309445980a
Jessica
Wedding:
4/19/2014
2.4/5.0
I want to start off by saying that the food at Tuxedo caterers is delicious, however I don't know where to start with all of the things I was disappointed in. Tuxedo supplied my cake - which was LEANING to the side, we eventually had to cut the cake just so it didn't end up on the floor. She offers the cake "complimentary" as a thank you for having a certain number of guests - and my thank you was NOTHING like I asked. You don't get to taste the cake before hand because she uses "a great baker with one recipe." I bought and supplied all of the ribbon to be used on the cake, gave her a picture of what I wanted (every other tier was square instead of round) - SIMPLE and I could have made it myself (I'm no baker.) The bartender and waitstaff were so rude. Every guest I talked to complained that the bartender was giving them serious attitude, he even said to my husband "what do you want? if you don't tell me what you want get out of the way (line.)" I'm sorry but that's no way to talk to someone - especially the GROOM. Other guests complained that the buffet service wouldn't give them more portions of food when they asked, and we came home with TRAYS full of food - so clearly there was enough to offer seconds to people who wanted it. But my "favorite" part of the day was the fact that I bought champagne for a toast, and NO table was given champagne until after we mentioned it, after the toasts were given. Jewel was a nice person, a little unorganized and made minor promises that weren't kept but the THREE biggest things can't be changed. I didn't let it ruin my day, but ultimately you don't get a do-over so now I have pictures to last a lifetime of a leaning cake, no champagne for my toast (made with water glasses) and attitudes from people you least expected.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
2.1/5.0
- There were not enough hors d’oeuvres during the cocktail reception. Servers did not circulate through the room. Many guests (including the bride and the mother of the bride) did not have access to any appetizers.
- The bartenders were not professional. They were not skilled at mixing drinks (a screwdriver was almost made with gin?), nor did they conduct themselves professionally (unprompted, one bartender began talking about his wife, pulling out his wallet to show a picture of her to the confused guests?).
- The bartenders began telling guests during dinner that certain beers, liquors and wines were unavailable (Blue Moon, Grey Goose and red wine). This was far from accurate. Either there was a severe miscommunication within the team, or they were unconcerned with confirming availability. More than 50% of every alcohol brand was available at the END of the event.
- The table set up did NOT reflect the layout we had discussed. If Michael and you had not moved tables earlier, there would have been no space for first dances, etc. The changes led to a mistake in the set up for the head table. Ten spaces were discussed and only eight were set.
- The order for the serving of food was not what we had discussed. We had confirmed a grace period between salad and the main course so that guests could dance. Dinner was served immediately, instead.
- Five tables did not receive the full menu. One table received no meat dishes.
- Most dishes were served at room temperature.
- We understand that your usual serving ware vendor was not available. It surprised and disappointed us that you chose to use plastic serving platters with sunflower motifs and plastic handled spoons and forks (not even serving utensils).
- Mid-dinner, guests were informed there were no clean wine glasses left.
- There were no napkins or plates available for the cake cutting.
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
5500 Wissahickon Avenue - P.H. 1502-K, Philadelphia, PA 19144 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for TUXEDO CATERERS~EVENT PLANNERS,LLC
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo