130x130_sq_1382748314388-meenkbauwensmirellecarmichaelphotographyhollyjeffwedding372

Two Cooks Catering

San Luis Obispo , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

PO Box 4701
San Luis Obispo, CA US 93403 (map)

PHONE

805-776-3717

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Two Cooks Catering, Global Cuisine with a Conscience.
Two Cooks Catering’s exclusive use of local farmers’ market produce, fresh meats, and local seafood brings out the best of the... Read more
Two Cooks Catering, Global Cuisine with a Conscience.
Two Cooks Catering’s exclusive use of local farmers’ market produce, fresh meats, and local seafood brings out the best of the Central Coast’s exceptional foods with a distinctive global touch. Our core philosophy to maintain a high level of quality in everything we do is showcased in the seasonal dishes we create. From small intimate dinners for a few people on up to large events with hundreds of guests, Two Cooks Catering can handle all types of events big and small.

We offer:

- Individual Custom Menus

- Custom Service Style (i.e. passed hors d’ oeuvres, buffet set up, or full sit down service)

- On-Call Front-of-House Service Staff Available

We are a proud supporter of the Central Coast Grown Program . Two Cooks Catering is coming up on our seventh anniversary and is owned by husband-and-wife team, Heather & Russell Thomas. Read less
Catering

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1348018275161-ryankathryn632app
130x130_sq_1370209808654-meenkbauwensmirellecarmichaelphotographyhollyjeffwedding359
130x130_sq_1370209667649-meenkbauwensmirellecarmichaelphotographyhollyjeffwedding372
130x130_sq_1370209947429-meenkbauwensmirellecarmichaelphotographyhollyjeffwedding360
130x130_sq_1370213054720-start1
130x130_sq_1348018273685-ryankathryn626
130x130_sq_1348018246838-heidler029
130x130_sq_1370213049064-start23
130x130_sq_1348018264067-img4594
130x130_sq_1348018267763-img4974
130x130_sq_1370213078158-start5
130x130_sq_1370213092857-start7
130x130_sq_1370213084828-start6
130x130_sq_1370213099888-start8
130x130_sq_1370213107045-start9
130x130_sq_1370213217260-start16
130x130_sq_1370213113480-start10
130x130_sq_1370213241322-start20
130x130_sq_1370213071216-start4
130x130_sq_1348018249160-huskeybrewercameroningallsincbrewer355
130x130_sq_1370213122759-start11
130x130_sq_1370213247688-start21
130x130_sq_1370213194489-start14
130x130_sq_1370213138983-start12
130x130_sq_1348018276466-templetonhancockcameroningallsinchancock298
130x130_sq_1370213059831-start2
130x130_sq_1370213252937-start22
130x130_sq_1348018224399-alessandraandnick062
130x130_sq_1348018251806-huskeybrewercameroningallsincbrewer425
130x130_sq_1370213064848-start3
130x130_sq_1370213152575-start13
130x130_sq_1370213234996-start19
130x130_sq_1370212479488-web16
130x130_sq_1370212473973-web15
130x130_sq_1370212463239-web13
130x130_sq_1370212457938-web12
130x130_sq_1370212372885-web4
130x130_sq_1370212361731-web3
130x130_sq_1348018213633-twocooks00006
130x130_sq_1370212339746-web1
130x130_sq_1348018234485-alessandraandnick073
130x130_sq_1282024212680-colinmichaelphoto.amandamedrano6.12.10
130x130_sq_1370212393951-web6
130x130_sq_1370212406781-web7
130x130_sq_1370212415655-web8
130x130_sq_1370212431255-web9
130x130_sq_1370212444843-web10
130x130_sq_1370212520970-web21
130x130_sq_1370212332721-web23
130x130_sq_1370212452908-web11
130x130_sq_1370212509639-web20
130x130_sq_1370212469024-web14
130x130_sq_1370212484038-web17
130x130_sq_1370212499337-web19
130x130_sq_1244620004436-novofood
130x130_sq_1370212533807-web22
130x130_sq_1370212261294-tart.web
130x130_sq_1370212237848-dessertbuffet.web
130x130_sq_1244619992936-tcctart
130x130_sq_1370212212568-brulee2.web
130x130_sq_1370212230883-cupcake.web
130x130_sq_1370212251895-plate.web
130x130_sq_1348018279519-toschristmasparty001396x620
130x130_sq_1348018281935-toschristmasparty003620x385
130x130_sq_1348018280816-toschristmasparty002620x442
130x130_sq_1348018257730-img4270
130x130_sq_1348018272393-russcooking2
130x130_sq_1272436668412-n4481170716615707662930
130x130_sq_1370212206780-truffle.web
130x130_sq_1370212216876-brulee.web
130x130_sq_1370212221972-cupcake2.web
130x130_sq_1370212227060-cupcake3.web
130x130_sq_1370212241919-lemoncurd.web
130x130_sq_1370212247372-mousse.web
130x130_sq_1370213409620-mikelarson2mlp8505x600
130x130_sq_1370213412576-mikelarson109mlp0061600x
130x130_sq_1370213406041-mikelarson160mlp0641x600
130x130_sq_1370213416795-mikelarson133mlp0316600x
130x130_sq_1370213420072-mikelarson158mlp0633600x

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What types of cuisine do you cater?
African, American (New), American (Traditional), Asian, British, Cajun, Caribbean, Chinese, Creole, Ethiopian, French, German, Indian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin American, Mediterranean, Mexican, Middle Eastern, Pan-Asian, Polynesian, Russian, Southern, Southwestern, Spanish, Thai, Vietnamese
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
Do you offer a tasting for potential clients?
Yes, we are happy to provide a tasting for potential clients. We only charge for the cost of the food.
If a bride decides to bring her own wedding cake, do you have a cake cutting fee? If yes, how much is the fee?
We will be happy to cut your cake for you, at no extra fee.
Are you licensed to sell alcohol? If yes, where are you licensed?
We do not have a liquor license and are unable to sell alcohol to you, but we will gladly serve alcohol you purchase yourself.
Do you allow outside alcohol? If yes, what is the corkage fee?
We do not charge a corkage fee.
Do you provide rentals for items such as linens and flatware?
We work with a local rental company and would be happy to assist you with your rental needs. We charge a rental coordination fee and sales tax on all rental orders.
Are you able to provide your own wait staff?
Yes, we have service staff - waiters and bartenders.
What is your maximum catering capacity?
500

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Debbie
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
Heather Thomas is co-owner and your main contact with this catering company and responds to emails very promptly. Responsive to any needs that you may have prior to your event. The staff at the event was very professional and for the wedding made sure that that bridal party was passed appetizers while taking family photos as well as taking care of the guests. Also were right on top of cleaning guests plates as soon as they were done with the meal. Ran an ice cream bar that was amazing with home made ice cream and toppings. Provided mini cupcakes and cheescakes bites that were delicious. Chocolate peanut butter was the favorite per guests!!! The sweet corn ice cream with carmel sause also a favorite!! Thank you Heather and Russ for helping make my daughters wedding a dream come true!!!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Allie
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
We used Two Cooks Catering for our wedding a couple weeks ago. From the beginning Heather and Russ were so great to work with! They are professional, nice, and responsive. I had a lot of questions and a lot of adjustments throughout our planning period and Heather was always more than happy to do them for me. We did extra rentals through them as well that made our day so much smoother. The food was unique and delicious! And a great value for what we got. I did a lot of research with other catering companies in the area and Two Cooks is definitely the best for quality, service, and pricing! Highly recommended. Thanks so much Heather and Russ for making our day exactly what we wanted. The Root Beer floats were a huge hit with the guests!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rosemary
Wedding:
10/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Pleasure to work with, flexible menu options. The food was divine and they did an amazing job matching food to both season and venue. Quick response time to questions. Impeccable service. Would use them again in a heartbeat! Love their story, big emphasis on local production. Amazing. Thanks you guys!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becky
Wedding:
9/7/2013
5.0/5.0
Two cooks did a great job working with us on catering our wedding. The food was very well executed and delicious. They were able to do a modified family style for our reception of 115 people, which made for a very comfortable and fun dinner for our guests. Heather and Russ were very helpful from our tasting and menu selection on to the day of the wedding and were professional and detail oriented throughout. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a caterer that offers a unique and gourmet perspective on traditional favorites.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
8/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Russ and his catering team are truly amazing! All of my guests could not believe how amazing the food at our wedding was, and my parents continued to receive feedback on it for weeks after our wedding. Two Cooks Catering is not only professional, but they are trustworthy and passionate about what they do. My husband and I were living in San Francisco (the home of AMAZING food), while we were planning our wedding in San Luis Obispo. We became very discouraged when we started researching caterers in SLO, and realized that none of the food matched the quality of what we were used to in SF. That is - until we tasted Two Cooks Catering and our minds were blown. The quality of Russ's cooking is unparalleled, and we wish we could get married every year so we could taste his food again and again. He also has a great personality and is a family man, so he's wonderful to work with and very responsive.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marcia
Wedding:
8/11/2013
5.0/5.0
Two Cooks Catering was a wonderful caterer for our wedding. We had a luncheon buffet and the food was professionally and tastefully displayed. All our guests raved about the taste and quality of what we had picked for our menu. The only thing I would change would be to have had a second vegetarian main item, in addition to the Portabella sandwiches. I found out later that some of our vegetarian guests don't eat mushrooms. I would however, HIGHLY RECOMMEND the Israeli CousCous Salad. It was delicious and was the item we got the most compliments about.

Russ and Heather were both very pleasant to deal with, came up with an awesome menu, had plenty of food for everyone and I have received many compliments about them since our event. Their staff they had to help were pleasant and friendly. Yes, I would use them again :)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mishelle
Wedding:
7/2/2013
5.0/5.0
These guys will knock your socks off!!! We were SO LUCKY to get them for our wedding in Paso Robles. Every encounter with them was top-notch: Russ is seriously one of the nicest, mellowest, coolest guys you will meet. He is truly excited (and humble) about his food, which is UNBELIEVABLE!!! From our first tasting with him, we were hooked. Amazing, amazing food. I only wish that we were guests at our own wedding so that we could enjoy everything even more!

Of course, the best part for me was that he was able to make all the food gluten-free and dairy-free for me, due to food intolerances! It was SUCH a great feeling to know that I could eat everything there and not have to worry about getting sick later--NOT what you want for your wedding night!

In addition, much of the food was organic and came from the farmers market that Russ visited that morning. YUM!

Loved Two Cooks so, so much. They were one of the main ingredients in our perfect wedding, and I will never forget Russ and his food!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
6/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Heather and Russ were outstanding to work with during the entire wedding planning process. They were incredibly flexible, sweet, and helpful. We have received a number of compliments stating that we had the best food they have ever had at a wedding (fajitas). They even packed us up a huge meal to take with us that night. I would highly recommend them to anyone wanting a stress free, delicious meal.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
Russ and Heather were amazing at every point in the process. Heather was an excellent vendor contact--she was prompt with responses to all inquiries and adapted to all of our needs. Russ clearly loves his work and is amazing at it. They came to the venue the day before, and they were incredibly professional, had great suggestions, and were just so nice! The food was delicious, and so was the service. All of our guests were so very pleased! If I have any more catering needs on the central coast, Two Cooks will definitely be my choice. We had the taco bar and a few additions (homemade ice cream to go with our desserts!) at the wedding which were amazing, and I'd love to try their other menus at some point!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Olivia
Wedding:
5/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Two cooks was the best! We tasted with four other caterers and none of them compared. Two cooks was the only one that preferred cooking onsite for the venue, and some others even said they wouldnt cook onsite even though thevenue had a glorious kitchen. The food was amazing! Our wedding was a few months ago now, but we still have friends wishing they could eat the food again. Two cooks also had good pricing and was flexible with changes i wanted to make throughout the process. I would highly recommend two cooks for any event.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michelle
Wedding:
5/25/2013
5.0/5.0
I cannot even begin to relate how fabulous Two Cooks Catering was at my daughter's and new son-in-law's wedding on May 25, 2013, at the Jack House in San Luis Obispo, CA. We had guests from the East Coast to the West Coast, many of them self-proclaimed “foodies” and there was nothing but raves about the food and service. Everyone on their staff was professional, courteous, helpful and knew how to roll with whatever changes were thrown in their direction. We could not have asked for a more perfect experience.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melody
Wedding:
5/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Heather and Russ, what can we say.....absolutely delicious! We knew from our tastings that things would be good, but the day of wedding things were even better even when we thought it couldn't get any better. We had I think a somewhat untraditional meal of BBQ and boy was it a hit with our family and friends! We can't forget the mac&cheese, it was the best! We had a dessert bar that included homemade ice cream. Needless to say, our guest are still talking about the food!

In addition to the awesome food, Heather and Russ were a pleasure throughout our planning process. Always flexible and willing to add extra cheese to their already excellent mac&cheese :)
Also, I have to give props to their staff. All the guest commented on how friendly and pleasant they were.

If you are looking for truly good food, go with Two Cooks!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lindsay
Wedding:
5/3/2013
5.0/5.0
Russ and Heather are awesome (and so is their food!!)! I would recommend their services to anyone!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alex
Wedding:
4/23/2013
5.0/5.0
You guys are amazing!!! I so appreciated your willingness to jump in and help out on our styled shoot. The results were above and beyond what we expected... the food was delicious and stunning! I will highly recommend you guys to any of my clients as one of the best caterers on the central coast :).
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Talia
Wedding:
4/6/2013
5.0/5.0
Two Cooks Catering was absolutely fantastic! I would highly recommend them for any event! Food was fantastic and they were wonderful to work with. Love them!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Unbelievable food! We got to do a tasting at a cute table at their shop and had a wonderful 4 course meal. Everything is beautifully presented and incredibly delicious!! worth the money. They put time into their recipes and execute them effortlessly. Ask for the mac and cheese bacon bites...so yummy!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Russel, the master cook, fixed paella, sliders, salad, and many other special foods for our daughter's wedding. Everything was absolutely delicious. Not only do they make delicious entrees, their service is outstanding!!! All of their staff were efficient and friendly. We also met with Heather and Russel before the wedding for tastings and this was also done with complete professionalism. Presentation of the food was just as important to them as the quality of the food. To top it off, Russel and Heather are friendly, helpful, and organized. I would highly recommend using Two Cooks Catering for all of your important events. Our guests raved about the "not so ordinary" wedding food, serving them "high quality, fresh, and tasty" food!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Two Cooks Catering was fantastic! I am still getting compliments from our guests about the food and the service. Heather (owner of the company) was extremely helpful during the whole planning process and always returned my phone calls in a timely matter. I would recommend this company to anyone! Two thumbs up!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1310417569426-3d3futf83fb3fsu1brzaymjguanbn3f3d
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
I cant say enough about how fabulous Two Cooks Catering is !! They are professional and offer a service above and beyond!! We had nothing but rave reviews on the food at our wedding and I would highly recommend them for any event!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MARY
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
Heather and Russ of Two Cooks Catering were fabulous.
They are very easy to work with and never minded questions or changes!
They did a terrific job the day of the wedding, providing all the rentals, service staff, bartenders, delicious appetizers and a wonderful sit down dinner for 215 in a barn. Everything was great and they have a friendly, professional staff.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Hilary
Wedding:
6/16/2012
5.0/5.0
Two Cooks Catering was utterly fabulous!! Not only did they have the BEST food, but they brought an actual BBQ to cook the tri-tip on to the venue (we had Santa Maria style BBQ, you just have to have it smoked!). They also had great ideas about the appetizers and the dessert--we did not want traditional wedding cake, and we love ice cream, so they set up a delux ice cream sundae bar with crazy toppings, and also created a fresh churro stand!! Prior to the wedding, Heather was awesome about organizing the logistics and linens...we had a bit of customization with ours and she handled it beautifully. I would highly recommend Two Cooks to everyone!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
5/19/2012
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough about Russ and his team. He catered two events for us; the rehearsal dinner and the wedding. All at Flying Caballos in San Luis. The food was great, the service was great. Everything was beyond our expectations. Thank you Russ!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Alessandra
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
Two Cooks Catering is a top notch catering company. Heather was so easy to work with on negotiating a great price and Russ came up with a delicious menu. Everything was on time and perfect. All the guests at our wedding loved the food. THEY ARE THE BEST!!!!! I would only recommend them for event catering!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Samantha
Wedding:
3/22/2012
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough, there food is awsome you don't need to add salt or pepper. It has such flavor. Great prices. I would for sure use them again. They did a great job on our wedding. They also did our wedding cake. It was so cool to have them do both made for les stress.
Samantha Martin
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ThatGirlKaren
Wedding:
8/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Two Cooks Catering was fabulous to work with when planning our wedding. The owners Heather and Russ could not have been any more supportive in helping us develop a menu and accomodate any requests. They were so friendly and supportive it was like planning a meal with good friends and not just a vendor. The guests at the wedding raved about the food. Thank so much Two Cooks catering for making our day for our guests amazing.
Karen & Eric White
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nikki
Wedding:
7/9/2011
5.0/5.0
We are so glad that we chose Two Cooks to cater our summer wedding. The food was absolutely delicious, service was great and Heather from Two Cooks is very responsive and professional. I had a lot of changes to the menu throughout the process and so much appreciated Two Cook's flexibility and patience. Our guests loved to food and they definitely helped to make our day special. We highly recommend them!

Thank you Two Cooks!
Nikki & Daniel
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
Two Cooks Catering was wonderful! The food was excellent, the waitstaff the day of our wedding was extremely professional and kind, and we were able to make some last minute additions to our menu with no stress! I can't recommend Heather and Russ enough!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cari R.
Wedding:
10/15/2010
5.0/5.0
Heather and her staff catered our rehearsal dinner at Edna Valley Vineyard. We had a destination wedding, so the dinner included all 85 of our guests.
The presentation was beautiful and the food was incredible. In fact, I was worried that it would overshadow our food at the reception the next night!!
Heather was very flexible in helping us create a menu that appealed to our requests and fit within our budget. I especially appreciate Two Cooks' use of fresh, local, organic ingredients. I absolutely felt as though our guests got the truest experience of California because of this.
Thanks, Two Cooks!
Cari
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
kristinunes
Wedding:
8/7/2010
5.0/5.0
Two Cooks was the hidden gem that we thought had to be too good to be true. Not only are they very reasonably priced, they use fresh local ingredients when possible and cater your menu to your tastes and desires. The food was absolutely delicious - we had two other friends book them for their weddings because they liked our wedding food so much, and another friend tried booking them but they were already booked on their date! Even the owners of our venue (Tiber Canyon Ranch) had never used Two Cooks before, but after our wedding they kept raving about the food and the service and have recommended them to new brides. I can't say enough good things about them - they were by far our favorite vendor and if we have any other type of event, I will definitely be calling them up again for another booking!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aleza
Wedding:
7/25/2010
5.0/5.0
I have to admit that I am a self proclaimed food snob. For my Wedding I wanted a specific type of food. I feared the mass produced hotel food taste. More that anything I wanted "good fresh food". I was overwhelming pleased by Two Cooks. There is nothing generic about their food. Their ingredients are freshly bought from the local Framers Market. My Husband and I wanted an ice cream sundae bar, so they made ice cream from scratch. The spread was incredible. All my guests were impressed. After the Wedding everyone I spoke to mentioned how great the food was and that it was not your typical Wedding food. If you want to have a beautifully catered Wedding/Party then I highly recommend hiring Two Cooks, you won't be disappointed.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelsey
Wedding:
7/10/2010
5.0/5.0
Two Cooks Catering was an absolute joy to work with. Heather quickly responded to emails and Ben and Russ cooked the best food you could possibly ask for. We decided on a BBQ buffet style dinner and received so many compliments on the food! The food they use is extremely fresh and local if possible--they even went the Farmer's Market the morning of the wedding to get all of the vegetables. We also did our cake/cupcakes through Two Cooks and could not have been happier, I seriously wanted to eat the entire thing when we cut it at the reception! Overall, Two Cooks is the epitome of professionalism and spectacular food--you can not go wrong with them as your caterer!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tatiana
Wedding:
6/26/2010
5.0/5.0
Two Cooks Catering provided wonderful service, were wonderfully responsive to our specialty dining requests (gluten-free sister and diabetic father), provided delicious and nutritious food for the kids, and, most of all, had amazing food! I truly appreciated their dedication to using local and sustainable ingredients. My guests are still raving about the salmon!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jackie
Wedding:
6/4/2010
5.0/5.0
Two cooks gave us not only the best deal, but by far the best quality of any of our tastings! And the service was flawless on our wedding day.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kimberly
Wedding:
5/22/2010
5.0/5.0
Everything was excellent! The filet mignon and halibut were cooked perfectly for all of our 95 guests. Also, the wait staff was excellent. We have received non-stop raves from all of our guests. Many have said it was the best plated meal they have ever had in a large setting... even better than dinners they've had at large benefits in Los Angeles! The guys were a pleasure to work with! We would hire them again in a heartbeat! Thank you!!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1263503703674-sporlederarttormatt31
Tori
Wedding:
5/15/2010
5.0/5.0
Two Cooks catered our wedding. We had a destination wedding and they were incredible to work with every step of the way. Heather answered all my annoying questions, explained everything in detail and was very responsive. Ben and Russ were awesome, our tasting was great and at the wedding the food was amazing. Many guests complimented us on our choice of food. My husband and I are foodies and food was really important to us. Our guests appreciated it and Russ and Ben made everything perfect! They had special apps just for my husband and I brought out during our moment together, which was fun because we got to taste everything before all the hustle and bustle. At the end of the night their shared a cigar with my husband, which was a lot of fun! Thanks for a fabulous evening!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
AHICKEY
Wedding:
3/20/2010
5.0/5.0
Everything was perfect except that not all of the sparkling wine was poured during our cocktail hour. We ended up with two extra cases that could have been consumed by guests. Its a very minimal complaint in the stream of things since everything else was perfect. We would definitely use them again.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
T&M1210
Wedding:
1/2/2010
5.0/5.0
Two cooks was awesome. Very friendly and accomodating. The best part was their amazing food! Great service and pricing. Russ and Ben are great and were willing to make anything we wanted. Wonderful experience.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jeffcarlucci
Wedding:
10/3/2009
5.0/5.0
We have nothing but great things to say about Two Cooks Catering! We were impressed from day one with the company, the farm fresh ingredients they use, the amazing food they produce, and the way they worked with us to create an unbelievable menu at an affordable price. Thank you for helping to make our wedding unforgettable, we appreciate everything! The Carlucci's
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Raquel
Wedding:
8/15/2009
5.0/5.0
Two Cooks Catering was absolutely fabulous! They were very easy to work with and very professional. The food was fantastic for the wedding. Everyone kept talking about the great flavor the food had with all fresh ingredients. This vendor was the perfect choice for such a perfect day!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Meisha
Wedding:
6/13/2009
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding catered by Two Cooks Catering and we could not have asked for better service and quality. Ben, Russ, and Heather sincerely listened to our requests and helped us to shape our menu and presentation in such a way that was much applauded by both us and our guests. The fresh ingredients and skilled pairing of flavors in all of their dishes from passed hors d'oeuvres to main courses was truly impressive. Their thoughtfully prepared food provided a casual elegance that matched our wedding perfectly. We would highly recommend them for any catering needs.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
KristyneB
Wedding:
11/1/2008
5.0/5.0
They were able to accommodate my demands perfectly. They set up a unique menu for my special occasion and kept it under my budget. The food was wonderful, and I'm still hearing about it from the guests that were there. It served for 125 people and I had maybe 50 at my wedding. They also included clean up, and they even cut my cake for me. Which I'm not sure that was in the contract? But it was really nice of them to do that. Since I did forget about the cake and how I was going to serve it. The caterers or maybe one of them (I forgot if they were both there) even came out to see how everything looked. Of course it was amazing!!! I am so pleased how everything went. It was smooth. I didn't even notice that they left!! Clean up was professional, service was excellent, and the food was yummy. If I had to find another caterer for any other service again...I wouldn't these are the guys for you. Exceptional service all the way. I was a happy bride.

Here is the menu they made for me:

BBQ Tri Tip
BBQ Chicken

Bread for sandwiches

BBQ sauce (regular and spicy)

Green salad with red onions, cucumbers, and tomatoes
Ranch & Italian dressings

Macaroni and cheese

Texas ranch beans

Corn bread

Water and soda

**8oz meat per person

With this proposal, Two Cooks Catering will arrive at the reception site – BBQ the meat, set up a picnic style buffet meal and clean up the kitchen site.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dona
Wedding:
10/26/2008
5.0/5.0
Two Cooks food was fantastic. They were a joy to work with and so accommodating. The food was delicious, fresh and received rave reviews from our guests.

We have used them for other events and the quality of services is superb.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
bmiller
Wedding:
10/19/2008
5.0/5.0
Two Cooks Catering is a MUST HAVE for your wedding. They were very responsive and easy to communicate with. The tasting before the wedding was amazing, it really made me get excited about the wedding. Everyone at the wedding was so impressed with the food and the great service. Two Cooks catering staff was very professional. We had a "non-traditional" wedding and their entire staff was so much fun, caring and easy to work with. Oh, and don't forget to have them do a dessert item for you. If I only had a picture to show you the presentation of everything! cheers!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Daniella Brause
Wedding:
8/16/2008
5.0/5.0
Russ Ben and Heather did an amazing job! They are personable, professional, attentive and creative. They also hired an amazing staff that helped serve and bartend that day that were warm, friendly and professional. Both my sister and I used Two Cooks Catering to cater our weddings. They handled all the food, non-alcoholic drinks, rentals, cake and service staff for both of us. Honestly they did a perfect job!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
8/9/2008
5.0/5.0
The guys were great. We gave them our budget, and our favorite flavors, and they came up with an amazing menu for both the rehearsal dinner and the wedding. I would recommend them to anyone. Its not your traditional mediocre wedding food.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sophia
Wedding:
9/8/2007
5.0/5.0
These guys were so together! Very professional, and the food was outstanding! They totally catered to our needs. They even took care of all of the rentals! The food was exceptional... better than the restaurants in our county! And out wedding cake! OMG! It was the best cake, so moist, and rich. The best part was doing the cake tasting with Russ before we came up with our final decision! Both Russ and Ben are so friendly, easy to work with, and make wedding planning fun and easy! Additionally, they catered my sister's wedding (Mexican food theme). Their Al Pastor was so phenomenal that I haven't found another that is up to par. I would hire Two Cooks Catering a million times over again for any event! The best in the county!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christine
Wedding:
9/21/2013
4.9/5.0
Quality of the food is outstanding! Lots of emails from a frantic bride and they were very responsive and helpful. Since we live out of town, they were very flexible on when we could meet for the food tastings.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
9/6/2013
4.9/5.0
Two Cooks catering was great! They food was delicious, fresh, and really on point! I would hire them again for sure. They even made unique flavors of homemade ice cream for our dessert. It was a hit!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jamie
Wedding:
5/18/2013
4.9/5.0
We absolutely loved working with Two Cooks, we wanted a unique food experience for the reception. We set up 4 different food stations with a dessert and ice cream bar along with a lemonade bar. The Variety and creativity they brought was amazing! During the menu planning every request we had was met with enthusiasm and the response was absolutely we can accommodate that every time!

Our guests still talk about how good the food was and how fun the variety was. My favorite was the homemade ice cream!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1320020683822-fbavatar2057485
Patricia
Wedding:
10/8/2011
4.9/5.0
Quality local food. Amazing service. Beautiful presentation. Heather and Russell are a wonderful team. The food was such a hit. It was by the best wedding food I've ever had and thankfully, it was my wedding.

Our menu was:
Appetizers - Duck Confit, Futomaki Rolls, Spring Rolls
Entree (Buffet): Kahlua Pork, Curried Whole Chicken, Miso Mushrooms, Fresh Local Asian Vegetables, Rice

I got rave reviews and many of my guests wanted seconds. Perfection.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
HZacker
Wedding:
10/1/2011
4.9/5.0
I would highly recommend Two Cooks to anyone getting married! They were easy to work with, did exactly what we asked and most importantly, produced amazing food and service. I heard from multiple guests that our wedding had "the best wedding food ever."
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
arahn
Wedding:
7/18/2009
4.9/5.0
TwoCooks did an excellent job-- the food was outstanding and the service was awesome. They really made the event.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
7/18/2009
4.9/5.0
TwoCooks is an amazing caterer. Their food is to die for. At our wedding we had three entree choices: chicken breast with the best yellow curry you have ever had; sirloin with a perfect Cabernet sauce; and Israeli Couscous with mixed grilled vegetables. Our guests loved the food (and were impressed with the perfectly cooked and tender steaks even though they were not filets). TwoCooks also made us two cakes, including one of the best red velvets I have ever had. They made us a grooms cake decorated like a football field with the Alabama Crimson Tide logo and made my Husband�s night.

But it�s not only the food that makes TwoCooks outstanding. Their service at the wedding was absolutely fantastic. We had plated dishes, and TwoCooks served by table, not by entree choice, so a whole table received all it�s food at once. This made the guest happy and no one at any table had to wait to eat while others received their food. They were fast and friendly too!

All and all, if I booked any event in the SLO area I would go with TwoCooks again and again. Thanks TwoCooks!

(This is an updated review, now that I have more time to tell you how great they are!)
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.8/5.0
Two Cook's Catering was amazing. The food was delicious, all farm to table, and they really listened to what we wanted to serve. They were delightful. Also, the revising of menu and contract throughout the planning process was flawless. Hard to find wedding vendors as good as this.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Nicole
Wedding:
6/22/2013
4.8/5.0
We initially found Two Cooks when we were looking at different venues, and noticed that many of the venues used the company as a preferred vendor. When we researched their menu online, we saw that they offered a BBQ menu, and we were hooked! We made an appointment to meet with Russ, the cook, and he served us some sample tri-tip and appetizers. Yum! He was easy to talk to and helped create a menu for us. From there we worked with Heather who takes care of the logistics like working with the venue, ordering rentals, and creating a timeline of the event. On wedding day, they were prompt, set up all the rentals the way we wanted them, served delicious food according to our timeline, had polite servers waiting tables, and cleaned up at the end of the evening. They are more affordable than some of the other catering companies we looked at and are flexible at creating a menu that suits your event!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Wendi
Wedding:
5/18/2013
4.8/5.0
Two Cooks was amazing! They completely understood my daughters vision for food stations, worked with her special diet requirements being gluten free! Our guests are still raving about the food but especially the dessert and ice cream bar!

Loved working with Two Cooks, I would highly recommend them for your event!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1306525818114-img0368
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.8/5.0
Truly wonderful food. Easy to work with. Excellent ingredients and options produced an amazing menu for my big day!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
DestinationBride
Wedding:
10/21/2011
4.8/5.0
We chose Two Cooks based on their focus on fresh, local, seasonal ingredients and we were blown away. After our tasting with them we signed up right away and although we made several menu changes after that we weren't worried at all because we knew that Russ could cook anything. Heather is very busy but always made adequate time for my calls. They were really flexible and we were adapting things right up to the last minute with no stress. Their servers were professional and courteous. Russ even surprised me with a delicious menu addition on my wedding day for me and my other vegetarian wedding guests.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jikam82
Wedding:
10/15/2011
4.8/5.0
Chef Russ is Awesome! The food at our wedding was so delicious and our guests are still raving about it! The catering and bar staff were so nice and helpful, even helping us move heaters around. We went to two different tastings and adjusted our menu a few times and two cooks was very helpful and open to changes and suggestions while also adding their own suggestions. We were really just looking for local seasonal ingredients that were super tasty and fresh and that is exactly what we received. Our maple glazed pork stuffed with sausage and bacon (yeah that's right triple pork) was Deeeelicious and the star of the night according to our guests was the Tuscan style Sea Bass...personally I loved the roasted vegetable phyllo cigars ;) YUM! Anyways these guys are awesome...a little slow to get back email wise but hey these are busy people running a busy business. Oh and Chef Russ is one Cool Cat :)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tylerhancock
Wedding:
6/4/2011
4.8/5.0
The food was great! Everything was fresh and delicious! They catered to the fact that many people in my family cannot have gluten.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
7/3/2010
4.8/5.0
Two Cooks was AMAZING to work with- flexible, unpretentious, talented... They made our wedding meal and experience unforgettable, in a very good way! Megan & Garrett Faller
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Justin & Michelle
Wedding:
10/10/2009
4.8/5.0
We truly enjoyed working with Ben & Russ. Their genuine enthusiasm for their food is contagious, and the meals were fabulous!

Their cake tasting was an event all by itself! Any engaged couple should give these guys a try!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
9/5/2009
4.8/5.0
Chefs Ben and Russ were fantastic. They understood the theme we wanted for our wedding and suggested an amazing menu that impressed all of our guests. From appetizers, to signature cocktails, to a 3 course plated meal, the wedding cake and a dessert buffet - the food and service was impeccable. Our guests were raving about the food long after the event.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Foose
Wedding:
5/2/2009
4.8/5.0
Amazing food! Amazing people! I highly recommend them!!!!!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
SamY
Wedding:
11/15/2008
4.8/5.0
Ben and Russ at Two Cooks Catering were just great. Their food quality was exceptiona, they were extremely flexible and very easy to work with. Not only did the food service and reception rentals go without a hitch, but our wedding guests were blown away by how good the food was. Honestly, I have had numerous individuals say, "That was the best food I have had at a wedding ever...including my own and my kids." Highly recommend these guys, they are great. You won't be disappointed.
Services Used: Catering, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paul
Wedding:
8/3/2013
4.7/5.0
Heather and Russ were fantastic! We used them for our wedding and did an outdoor, all-vegetarian dinner with cocktail reception. They were very accommodating, easy to work with, and we still receive compliments about the food at our wedding. We were nervous about doing all-vegetarian because we knew some of our guests would roll their eyes. But it was important to us. And Russ delivered the most flavorful and well-rounded meal we could have asked for. Their service staff were also great, and the event itself went very smooth. The set-up and presentation of everything looked great. Very, very pleased and highly recommend them to anyone who considers food the top priority for their special event.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tiffany
Wedding:
9/3/2011
4.7/5.0
These guys are amazing!! The food was unique and incredible. They were easy to work with and their team was very professional. Everyone at our wedding raved about how great the food was! You cannot go wrong with them.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
anna.lodder
Wedding:
9/18/2010
4.7/5.0
What an amazing job Russ did catering my wedding this weekend. Local food was a priority for us, and we were not dissapointed!
They were professional and personable, and had the most elegant (and attractive) waitstaff!
So pleased we made the food a focal point. There are probably cheaper caterers in the Central Coast Area, but seriously, you get what you pay for. If you are looking for a unique replacement for the dull rubbery chicken or steak with mushy veggies, then Two Cooks (and their wicked camper van sized barbeque) is definietly a choice you won't regret.
The only reason for not a complete 5/5 rating is that it did take a bit longer to come up with a final menu (partly my fault I am sure) and to hear back from the front of the house about pricing. :)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.6/5.0
Two cooks made a custom menu to suite out taste. Delicious! Thanks for a wonderful day :-)
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Barbara
Wedding:
3/15/2014
4.6/5.0
Food was beautifully presented and delicious. Staff attentive and responsive. Two Cooks helpful in early planning stages and very open to suggestions. Made an effort to ensure the day was a success in every way (and detail).
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sabrina
Wedding:
10/12/2013
4.6/5.0
Two Cooks Catering catered our recent wedding in Paso Robles. The food was absolutely amazing and the staff on the day of the wedding was courteous and highly responsive to all of our guests. People are still talking about how great the food was.

I loved that we could offer three options for our guests to choose from. We also decided to add a welcome sangria and Heather quickly came up with an option.

The presentation of the food was gorgeous and unique.

My only challenge in working with Two Cooks is their slower response time. I did have to call and email a few times to get a response, which, as a bride, can become frustrating. But, the food is worth it and I never had a doubt that Two Cooks would show up at our wedding and do a great job!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.6/5.0
We are so happy we chose Two Cooks for our wedding. The food was delicious and all of our guests raved about it. I would definitely recommend Two Cooks to anyone planning a wedding.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristy
Wedding:
6/6/2009
4.6/5.0
We were very pleased with Two Cooks Catering. The food was great and they were great to work with! We told them our budget and they were able to find a way to work with us. Also, everyone at the wedding noted how nice all of their staff was!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eleyce
Wedding:
7/16/2011
4.5/5.0
Two Cooks was really nice to work with before the wedding. We live over seas and there were very accommodating and understanding if we had any changes that we had to make by email etc.

On the day of the wedding I was very surprised at how helpful they were with in terms of moving around tables, chairs and setting up bar stations etc. They really helped out in any way that they could, which was great!

And of course the food was amazing! It was so important for us to have locally grown produce and something with an international flare or taste, so they were perfect for us.

I completely recommend them for your wedding or any event!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jessica
Wedding:
4/30/2011
4.5/5.0
Two Cooks Catering is excellent. Russ is a great chef and Heather does a really good job of keeping everything organized. With as many times as we ended up changing our rental contract with them Heather always remained very patient. The food was delicious and the staff was so nice and helpful! They even boxed up a couple containers for us to have later that night when everything settled down.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MrsJOuw
Wedding:
5/29/2011
4.4/5.0
Two Cooks catered our wedding reception and the food was wonderful. Most of the ingredients they use are grown locally, which was something we really appreciated. All the food was prepared on site, served hot, and very fresh. So many of our guests said the food was the best they'd ever had at a wedding, and some even asked if I could get the recipes! It may take a few phone calls to actually get in touch with the woman who does their booking and contracts, but if you have the patience to get past that I promise it will be worth it.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erin
Wedding:
6/1/2013
4.2/5.0
It was a pleasure to work with Russell in designing our wedding menu. He was flexible and allowed for our creative input without making us feel stifled. I thought the price was good for what we got.
I wish responses to emails and phone calls had been quicker.
I wish when I was told I would get left over food to take home, that we had. I'll never know what happened to the servings that were meant for people that didn't show up. Plus I know there was left over dessert that could have easily been boxed up, no one year anniversary cake for us!
Services Used: Catering
Two Cooks Catering responded with the following comments:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our services. We’re sorry to hear you were dissatisfied, however – we must touch on the points you brought up.

The pre-arranged to-go boxes of food & dessert were packaged up as agreed upon and we notified your event planner they were ready – thus ending our responsibility for them.

Regarding lack of response from the owners – we did respond to your every request, phone call and email, and those of your out of town planner. Yes, response times to you did vary throughout our season, however you did contact us frequently, and we are very open that we do not have set office hours in order to accommodate the nature of our business. We were so responsive that we gave you Heather’s personal cell phone number and she saved your number in her phone for quick recognition and response.

We would like to point out since you were bothered by our lack of responsiveness, that you waited until the day of a pre-scheduled tasting to let us know, via email, that you were unable to make it. This was after Chef Russ had spent a good portion of his day shopping farmer’s market and preparing food for you.

We're sorry to hear you were upset at not having an “anniversary cake” to enjoy - but by your decision, there was no cake on our menu. The desserts you chose were individual servings of crème brule, which obviously does not freeze, and chocolate tarts that were sliced for your guests to consume, and we included pieces in the boxes we packaged up. We would like to note that Chef Russ does bake one year anniversary cakes, and you would have seen this when you were reviewing menus on our website. He would have been more than happy to make one for you, to freeze for your first anniversary, if you had requested it.

We went above and beyond for your wedding, including ordering specialty charcuterie from San Francisco and allowing you to provide some of the fresh vegetables that we used that day.
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rebeccah
Wedding:
10/23/2010
4.2/5.0
The food was amazing. Sometimes getting responses to emails took a while, and sorting out the pricing was complicated at times, but it was worth it in the end. Everyone said it was the best food they'd had at a wedding.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
9/15/2012
4.1/5.0
The food was excellent, and the servers were very nice and professional. The only concerns that I had were that the food was not very warm (the food was served buffet style), and that the staff did not tear down the tables and chairs at the end of the night as agreed to in the contract. There was some confusion because I had agreed to set up the tables and chairs, but wanted Two Cooks to tear everything down. Heather mentioned that the staff worked the 8 hrs in the contract plus some, and that's why they didn't tear down the tables and chairs. More on the food-a few of the guests said the chicken was a little dry, but the steak and vegetables were great. I particularly liked the shrimp and other appetizers, including the mushrooms and sea bass. Heather was hard to get a hold of at times, sometimes taking a few weeks to respond to emails, but initially and the week or so before the event she was very good at getting back to me. Heather recommended that I order umbrellas for my event since it was outdoors and very hot (over 100 degrees), which was a great suggestion and agreed to set those up.
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1271026932272-springbreak10421
Sumre
Wedding:
6/18/2011
4.0/5.0
I loved the two cooks! The food was catered on time and was amazingly presented! Everything tasted great! The only thing I didn't like and kept this catering service from getting all 5.0s was there contact person. She was hard to communicate with, didn't seem very organized and would forget conversations we had on emails. She stressed me out because I had to repeat every conversation. It made you feel like if you didn't keep on top of her something would be wrong or missing. Food was amazing!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
brookelowery
Wedding:
7/24/2010
4.0/5.0
Two Cooks was a little difficult to communicate with prior to the event. However, all my requests were eventually answered and they delivered according to our contract. The servers at the wedding were great! They were friendly and professional with the guests and they made sure that everyone had instant access to food, drink, and cake. The food was also very delicious.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cristy
Wedding:
11/9/2013
3.9/5.0
My overall experience with Two Cooks catering was positive. The food turned out amazing and all my guests were very happy. My only complaint would be the responsiveness to my questions, but other than that great service!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1276903621505-285541431677559687146532911711153314589849n
lovemyshoes
Wedding:
6/12/2010
3.8/5.0
My husband and I were very happy with Two Cook's catering for our wedding. Russ and Ben are great to work with. They were great about working a menu to what we liked. We even had a special request for churros con chocolate, and they were fantastic! Our food on the day of was just as great as it was on the tasting day. The responsiveness during the planning could improve - they sometimes weren't always quick to respond to our questions. And they also charged gratuity for rental items (in addition to the gratuity for the service), but other than that, we were so happy we went with them. We would book them again!
Services Used: Catering

MAP

 
PO Box 4701, San Luis Obispo, CA 93403 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Two Cooks Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1382748314388-meenkbauwensmirellecarmichaelphotographyhollyjeffwedding372