130x130 sq 1322522644372 twoheartslogojpeg

Two-Hearts Wedding Services

Blue Springs , MO
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

Blue Springs, MO 64014 US (map)

PHONE

816-988-7587

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Two-Hearts Wedding Services
Customized Wedding Services
Performed At Your Location,
or In My Home

Joseph Eugene Shelton O.C.
Wedding Officiant
Clergy... Read more
Two-Hearts Wedding Services
Customized Wedding Services
Performed At Your Location,
or In My Home

Joseph Eugene Shelton O.C.
Wedding Officiant
Clergy Services for Weddings
816-988-7587
Blue Springs, Missouri
Email: two-heartsweddings@comcast.net
Website: www.two-heartsweddings.com

Two-hearts Wedding Services has been created to unite couples in Marriage,
which do not have an affiliation with any particular religious sect or denomination
(Non-Denominational)

We believe that Loving Marriages come from the Heart!

As an Ordained Wedding Officiant,
I offer traditional and non religious wedding and commitment ceremonies in all types of venues,
from very brief informal indoor or outdoor settings, to completely formal weddings.
I would love to help you with yours!
I believe in completely personalizing the ceremony to your needs.

All Elopements Welcomed!

Same day services available.
I have a small Wedding Chapel in my home
that will accommodate the
wedding party and 10 to 15 guests.

Please call for an appointment 816-988-7587

Please go to Ceremony & Contract Info page for pricing.
Serving The Kansas City, Metro Area.

All of Jackson, Clay, Cass, & Lafayette Counties, In Missouri.

All of Leavenworth, Wyandotte, & Johnson Counties in Kansas.

Weddings are EXPENSIVE! The Wedding Officiant (Minister) doesn't have to be!
Please let me know if I can be of service or if you have any other questions.

Are you in need of a last minute Wedding Officiant?
Feel free to call me at 816-988-7587

All Elopements welcomed, sometimes these have the best outcome! Read less
Officiant

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1265826283572 blakechristie20
130x130 sq 1264104648877 galutiawedding1
130x130 sq 1264104651658 allencline1114095
130x130 sq 1264104651940 allencline11140910
130x130 sq 1264104655783 holleycaballero1124099
130x130 sq 1264104657565 dscf0145
130x130 sq 1265826286525 craigcrosswedding14
130x130 sq 1265826292885 gilbertlandon3
130x130 sq 1322515062587 matthewconleysarasmith932011thesawyerroom
130x130 sq 1322515089887 sept172011weddingsifersjonesatstudiob
130x130 sq 1322515101493 8202011theflynnsatunityvillage
130x130 sq 1322515102601 1798021656873699065115378332131462733115905n
130x130 sq 1374166929108 hernandez with joanne
130x130 sq 1374166986643 breanne  eric harris
130x130 sq 1374167019194 sept 17 2011 wedding   sifers   jones at studio b
130x130 sq 1322517353077 genedowntowntheater
130x130 sq 1322521424699 michellengene
130x130 sq 1322521425760 michelle
130x130 sq 1322521427414 sue
130x130 sq 1322517349052 joanne
130x130 sq 1322517352375 joanneopkconventioncenter
130x130 sq 1322521426680 stacy

INFO FOR OFFICIANT

What officiant services do you provide?
Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious Ceremony, Single Religion Ceremony
What religious affiliations do you serve?
Christian (no denomination)
Can you accommodate the hearing impaired?
No
Are you willing to perform a ceremony at a non-religious site?
Anywhere you bow your head is a religious site....I will also accommodate those who wish non-religious ceremonies as well
What is your attire for the ceremony?
Very Casual to Fully Formal, and everything in between.
Are you flexible in the wording used throughout the ceremony, including the vows?
Yes, the more personal your ceremony is, the more you will remember it.
Do you allow the couple to write their own vows, if desired?
Yes, again the more personal your Vows are the more you will remember them.
Do you have a list of readings pre-selected, from which the couple must choose?
No, the couple is free to choose all aspects of their ceremony.
How long are your ceremonies?
As short as 10 minutes, or as long as an hour.
Do you require that premarital counseling be done?
No
Are you willing to perform pre-ceremony rehearsals?
Yes, on a complex ceremony, the rehearsal is an important step.
Do you supply a sound system?
Yes, I have small sound system, and a enormous amount of wedding music, and will purchase any music to accommodate your ceremony.

REVIEWS

4.6
out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Theresa
Wedding:
3/30/2014
5.0/5.0
They did an excellent job last-minute notice. And very passionate about what they do
They did an excellent job last-minute notice. And very passionate about what they do
They did an excellent job last-minute notice. And very passionate about what they do Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Sarah and Robert
Wedding:
3/29/2014
5.0/5.0
Wish I could give 6 stars for value, quality, and flexibility! Our simple wedding was just how we wanted it. Very stress free!
Wish I could give 6 stars for value, quality, and flexibility! Our simple wedding was just how we wanted it. Very stress Read more...
Wish I could give 6 stars for value, quality, and flexibility! Our simple wedding was just how we wanted it. Very stress free! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
God love Gene & Michelle. Thank you for being and making our ceremony perfect.
God love Gene & Michelle. Thank you for being and making our ceremony perfect.
God love Gene & Michelle. Thank you for being and making our ceremony perfect. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
1.6/5.0
Where do I begin? We will start from the get-go. Had a meeting with Michelle one evening. We were almost there (still 5min early) and she called to ask when I would be there because her kids wanted to know when they would get to eat dinner. WOW. Once we arrived, we got out of the car to see Michelle. She was standing outside talking to her boy and completely ignored us for at least 2 mins, we should have walked away then.

After we (stupidly) signed the agreement, we were told we would receive our layout booklet of what all would be said at our ceremony 3 weeks before the wedding. 2 weeks to go, still hadn't seen it.

Day of the wedding, the officiant arrived 10 minutes before the ceremony. She agreed to take the license and send it off to the county for us. BIG MISTAKE. We reached the 2 week mark and still hadn't received it in the mail. After calling Michelle and the county several times, she told us that she had concluded the United States Postal Service lost our license and there was nothing they could do but sign another one for us (including us having to pay an additional $50 for a license that they lost, that she sent through the mail UNcertified and UNinsured.)

A few more weeks passed after trying to get back in touch with Two Hearts so we could get a new license and have it done and over with when out of nowhere the county office called me to tell me that our license arrived in the mail that day! I WAS SO HAPPY! Then the county continued to tell me that our officiant also called the county that day to make sure they received the license. REALLY!? SO THEY LIED about sending it in the mail before.

Don't make the same stressful mistake we did. I'm a vendor in the wedding market and I know how important it is to make brides happy. I can't believe how careless they were.
Where do I begin? We will start from the get-go. Had a meeting with Michelle one evening. We were almost there (still 5min Read more...
Where do I begin? We will start from the get-go. Had a meeting with Michelle one evening. We were almost there (still 5min early) and she called to ask when I would be there because her kids wanted to know when they would get to eat dinner. WOW. Once we arrived, we got out of the car to see Michelle. She was standing outside talking to her boy and completely ignored us for at least 2 mins, we should have walked away then.

After we (stupidly) signed the agreement, we were told we would receive our layout booklet of what all would be said at our ceremony 3 weeks before the wedding. 2 weeks to go, still hadn't seen it.

Day of the wedding, the officiant arrived 10 minutes before the ceremony. She agreed to take the license and send it off to the county for us. BIG MISTAKE. We reached the 2 week mark and still hadn't received it in the mail. After calling Michelle and the county several times, she told us that she had concluded the United States Postal Service lost our license and there was nothing they could do but sign another one for us (including us having to pay an additional $50 for a license that they lost, that she sent through the mail UNcertified and UNinsured.)

A few more weeks passed after trying to get back in touch with Two Hearts so we could get a new license and have it done and over with when out of nowhere the county office called me to tell me that our license arrived in the mail that day! I WAS SO HAPPY! Then the county continued to tell me that our officiant also called the county that day to make sure they received the license. REALLY!? SO THEY LIED about sending it in the mail before.

Don't make the same stressful mistake we did. I'm a vendor in the wedding market and I know how important it is to make brides happy. I can't believe how careless they were. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Two-Hearts Wedding Services responded with the following comments:

Ceremony- September 15, 2012, performed by Joanne Long O.C.

There was indeed some confusion on a license MIA. All license’s are mailed standard post within two days of the ceremony being performed, there have only been two that did not reach the county in a reasonable time, oddly enough it was the same county. We all had called this county several times to see if it had arrived yet, not just on the day that it had arrived. Joanne also drove to the post office several times to see if it was returned.

Email Reply to Hanna (October 5th)

~~ Hi Hanna
I spoke with Joanne, she went to the Hyvee where she hand deliver's certificates for mailing, to check their mailing process. From the lock box at Hyvee post office in Independence, the mail goes to the main office in Independence, is sorted then goes to the distribution in Kansas City, sorted again then distributed. No way of actually tracking. It looks like the post office has lost it, Since it was not our actual error, we can not reimburse for a new license but will happily fill out and sign an new one. Im not sure how the county will handle one floating around out there. The requirement is for it to be in within 15 days, Gene suggests waiting until Monday just to make sure.
This is our first MIA license ever. Give us a call Monday afternoon to let us know when you want to bring a new license by. Feel free to give our contact info to the county if they need verification. ~~~

We all feel horrible.— Michelle St.Croix & Joseph "Gene" Shelton O.C.

In regards to call on the day of your consult, it was likely to see if you were on your way and on time, we may have had a child or four here to feed, We often have our grandson and at one point we had 4 foster children, if you were on time, they could wait, if you were running late, they would have been fed, just as you would have done for your own children. If I was talking to one when you arrived, it could have been to make sure they sat quietly during your consult and/or to tell them they had to wait to eat, if it was my grandson, he is autistic and you have to make sure you have his full attention. You were not intentionally ignored for two minutes.

We don’t always have control over life’s glitches but we make our best efforts to make our couples big day go as smoothly as possible.

Thank you
Gene & Michelle
Default vendor profile pic
Alicia
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Gene and his wife were very professional and caring. They take charge in the right moments and guided us in the right direction. They came about 30 minute before the ceremony to go over the lay out, gene and his wife are very thorough. Gene meet with our photographer so he would know where he would be standing throughout the ceremony. They introduced us to the idea of the rose ceremony. Which we did and our mom’s were so surprised. We did the unity sand ceremony with our kids which made them a part of our special day. We love the booklet that they give you at the end with all the vows and readings. So that you can never forget what was said on your special day.
Gene and his wife were very professional and caring. They take charge in the right moments and guided us in the right Read more...
Gene and his wife were very professional and caring. They take charge in the right moments and guided us in the right direction. They came about 30 minute before the ceremony to go over the lay out, gene and his wife are very thorough. Gene meet with our photographer so he would know where he would be standing throughout the ceremony. They introduced us to the idea of the rose ceremony. Which we did and our mom’s were so surprised. We did the unity sand ceremony with our kids which made them a part of our special day. We love the booklet that they give you at the end with all the vows and readings. So that you can never forget what was said on your special day. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
angben
Wedding:
2/11/2012
5.0/5.0
After searching online for an officiant we came across Two-Hearts and chose them based on price - a lot of officiants we looked at wanted to charge up to $500 for their services. We met with Michelle who we set up to officiate our wedding. They have many pre-written readings and vows to choose from, if you don't have your own. We had an idea of our own and also mixed in some of what they had. A couple of days before the wedding Michelle emailed to let us know she wasn't feeling well and that her husband Gene would be performing the ceremony. Gene was great! He showed up early at a chaotic time when all the family was there taking pictures and we couldn't immediately greet him, but when we were able to, he was extremely friendly, excited, and was dressed very nicely! We quickly went over the wording and he made sure we didn't have any last minute changes. The ceremony was perfect on his end! He did a great job, no complaints. He was very thorough and wanted to make sure we were satisfied.
After searching online for an officiant we came across Two-Hearts and chose them based on price - a lot of officiants we Read more...
After searching online for an officiant we came across Two-Hearts and chose them based on price - a lot of officiants we looked at wanted to charge up to $500 for their services. We met with Michelle who we set up to officiate our wedding. They have many pre-written readings and vows to choose from, if you don't have your own. We had an idea of our own and also mixed in some of what they had. A couple of days before the wedding Michelle emailed to let us know she wasn't feeling well and that her husband Gene would be performing the ceremony. Gene was great! He showed up early at a chaotic time when all the family was there taking pictures and we couldn't immediately greet him, but when we were able to, he was extremely friendly, excited, and was dressed very nicely! We quickly went over the wording and he made sure we didn't have any last minute changes. The ceremony was perfect on his end! He did a great job, no complaints. He was very thorough and wanted to make sure we were satisfied. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Bg5
Lisa
Wedding:
11/11/2011
0.5/5.0
I have been meaning to write a review for some time now, as I was not happy at all with how my wedding ceremony was handled.

I originally hired and signed a contract for Gene to be my wedding officiant. After viewing this site, it was clear that he was the best. One week before my wedding, I got a call that Gene was no longer available and that his wife, Michelle, would be our wedding officiant. Not want I wanted, but what could I really do one week before my wedding? So after a few phone calls and emails (which all had a bit of a rude tone from her) we were ready for our big day and for Michelle to be our officiant.

We had our rehearsal/walk through the afternoon before our evening ceremony. During that time, Michelle was very rude, snapping orders at me (the bride) and making us quickly speed through everything, even though we had more than enough time. When the guys did their walk through separately, she was rude to them as well (including my husband-to-be) and didn't tell them half of what they needed to know for the ceremony. Wasn't she supposed to be there to help??

After our hurried rehearsal (that we paid extra for by the way) - we all felt unsure about how the actual ceremony would go. But, I assumed the ceremony would be fine, as she was a professional at this, right?!

During the next couple hours as we all finished getting ready and were starting our pictures, Michelle had time to sit in our lounge and prepare for the ceremony. Instead, she sat in the corner and read a book, with a "I can't believe I have to be here" look on her face the whole time. Not the kind of energy a bride wants to see and be around on her wedding day.

As the ceremony took place and I was standing in front of my husband-to-be and all of our friends and family - this was what I had been dreaming of for a very long time. I was so excited! But, as Michelle started talking, my heart dropped a little. She flubbed several lines immediately. She was stuttering and messing up her lines (that she was reading from on a pre-printed booklet that she put together) making my husband-to-be and I look at each other like "what the heck is happening?!" During our vows, she even read a line wrong, which my husband corrected as he said it back. HA!

Not sure why with all the time she had to prep (and how GREAT she raves about Two-Hearts wedding services), why our ceremony service sounded like she had NEVER done this before. Even as we were signing the wedding certificate afterwards, she had attitude towards us (bride and groom) and towards our best man and maid of honor. Did she not realize how terrible she had just done? Isn't it your job to be professional and nice to the newlyweds and wedding party?!

I have watched the video from our ceremony over and over again, thinking maybe I was being a little harsh, but it is even worse watching it and reliving it again. :(

I have asked family and friends for feedback (thinking that as the bride, I still might be overly critical) but everyone agreed that the officiant was not prepared and looked like a rookie.

I would NOT recommend hiring Michelle to do your ceremony.

I wish I could have a ceremony re-do because the rest of my wedding was PERFECT. The getting ready, the pictures, my handsome husband, the dinner, the dancing and the party! Everything else was just as we wanted it. :)
I have been meaning to write a review for some time now, as I was not happy at all with how my wedding ceremony was Read more...
I have been meaning to write a review for some time now, as I was not happy at all with how my wedding ceremony was handled.

I originally hired and signed a contract for Gene to be my wedding officiant. After viewing this site, it was clear that he was the best. One week before my wedding, I got a call that Gene was no longer available and that his wife, Michelle, would be our wedding officiant. Not want I wanted, but what could I really do one week before my wedding? So after a few phone calls and emails (which all had a bit of a rude tone from her) we were ready for our big day and for Michelle to be our officiant.

We had our rehearsal/walk through the afternoon before our evening ceremony. During that time, Michelle was very rude, snapping orders at me (the bride) and making us quickly speed through everything, even though we had more than enough time. When the guys did their walk through separately, she was rude to them as well (including my husband-to-be) and didn't tell them half of what they needed to know for the ceremony. Wasn't she supposed to be there to help??

After our hurried rehearsal (that we paid extra for by the way) - we all felt unsure about how the actual ceremony would go. But, I assumed the ceremony would be fine, as she was a professional at this, right?!

During the next couple hours as we all finished getting ready and were starting our pictures, Michelle had time to sit in our lounge and prepare for the ceremony. Instead, she sat in the corner and read a book, with a "I can't believe I have to be here" look on her face the whole time. Not the kind of energy a bride wants to see and be around on her wedding day.

As the ceremony took place and I was standing in front of my husband-to-be and all of our friends and family - this was what I had been dreaming of for a very long time. I was so excited! But, as Michelle started talking, my heart dropped a little. She flubbed several lines immediately. She was stuttering and messing up her lines (that she was reading from on a pre-printed booklet that she put together) making my husband-to-be and I look at each other like "what the heck is happening?!" During our vows, she even read a line wrong, which my husband corrected as he said it back. HA!

Not sure why with all the time she had to prep (and how GREAT she raves about Two-Hearts wedding services), why our ceremony service sounded like she had NEVER done this before. Even as we were signing the wedding certificate afterwards, she had attitude towards us (bride and groom) and towards our best man and maid of honor. Did she not realize how terrible she had just done? Isn't it your job to be professional and nice to the newlyweds and wedding party?!

I have watched the video from our ceremony over and over again, thinking maybe I was being a little harsh, but it is even worse watching it and reliving it again. :(

I have asked family and friends for feedback (thinking that as the bride, I still might be overly critical) but everyone agreed that the officiant was not prepared and looked like a rookie.

I would NOT recommend hiring Michelle to do your ceremony.

I wish I could have a ceremony re-do because the rest of my wedding was PERFECT. The getting ready, the pictures, my handsome husband, the dinner, the dancing and the party! Everything else was just as we wanted it. :) Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Two-Hearts Wedding Services responded with the following comments:

Typically I would not respond to negative comments, since we get so few. Last year I think there were three, including this one, out of 187 ceremonies that we performed. But, I am, going to respond on this one.

Yes, Lisa and Jake originally booked for Gene to be the Officiant. Yes, one week before the wedding I had to let her know that he had to work out of state, he had no control on getting back. They originally had booked only the ceremony, not a rehearsal. A few weeks before the wedding day, Lisa decided she wanted a rehearsal, first at 4:00, the later she changed it to 2:30, and the ceremony was to start at 6pm. Luckily we had another Officiant to cover an earlier booking, so I was able to accommodate a same day rehearsal. Most are a day or two before, not the day of. At rehearsals, I am pretty much business, if I’m too huggy kissy, everyone just wants to party, so in order to get things moving, I’m a bit more like a drill sergeant. We typically run through quickly once, then again to make sure everyone is comfortable with what they have to do, where they stand, etc. We always ask is everyone good before releasing them to whatever is on their agenda for the day/evening. Here I had to do the guys and girls separately. Earlier, when I arrived, I had heard them talking about taking pictures, so didn’t want to hold any of that up, if everyone was good to go. No one said any differently until now.

During the next three hours, I did find a quiet place sit and review the ceremony, read a bit from my book in between, I also had a migraine coming on. Since I didn’t get that warm welcome vibe from anyone from the time I arrived, I wasn’t so much as offered a glass of water; I made myself scarce until 30 minutes before. I was onsite if anyone needed me and apparently they knew where to find me.

Prior to the big day, Lisa was continually changing her ceremony. Several of her changes sounded like she and Jake were having a tiff, so I called to ask her if things were ok. I let her know that the tone could be taking negatively by her guests and she may not want that in her ceremony, so more revisions. We do need time to rehearse new material and all changes; I had less than a week from finding out Gene couldn’t make it, and her final draft.

As for my flubs, I do apologize for my errors, yes I did notice them, I had a migraine coming on that afternoon, and by the evening it was affecting my vision, but I kept on going. I’m very happy the rest of your wedding was PERFECT. Congratulations again.
Default vendor profile pic
katrina
Wedding:
8/14/2011
5.0/5.0
We could not have asked for any one better Gene and Michele are awesome.They made it so easy for us.Thank you so much for all of the help.
We could not have asked for any one better Gene and Michele are awesome.They made it so easy for us.Thank you so much for Read more...
We could not have asked for any one better Gene and Michele are awesome.They made it so easy for us.Thank you so much for all of the help. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Jrm32970
Wedding:
7/10/2011
5.0/5.0
Gene and Michelle are wonderful! They are truly nice people and Gene is funny and helps lighten the stressfull atmosphere.

Gene completely tailored the ceremony to us and included a rose ceremony to include the mothers and a token of love ceremony to include my son. It was very special. Gene even gives the happy couple a nicely made copy of the wedding ceremony booklet.

We had them play the music for the ceremony. They played the songs we wanted and synched a couple songs together. My favorite part was that my husband and I wanted the traditional wedding song played after our first kiss followed by a record scratching and then the Shrek song. They pulled this off with flying colors! :)

Couldn't have been more happy with their services! :)
Gene and Michelle are wonderful! They are truly nice people and Gene is funny and helps lighten the stressfull Read more...
Gene and Michelle are wonderful! They are truly nice people and Gene is funny and helps lighten the stressfull atmosphere.

Gene completely tailored the ceremony to us and included a rose ceremony to include the mothers and a token of love ceremony to include my son. It was very special. Gene even gives the happy couple a nicely made copy of the wedding ceremony booklet.

We had them play the music for the ceremony. They played the songs we wanted and synched a couple songs together. My favorite part was that my husband and I wanted the traditional wedding song played after our first kiss followed by a record scratching and then the Shrek song. They pulled this off with flying colors! :)

Couldn't have been more happy with their services! :) Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Minnaesq
Wedding:
1/16/2011
5.0/5.0
If you choose him as your officiant, Eugene Shelton may mention that he loves his work, but he doesn't have to say it -- it shows. He goes above and beyond to create a personal, touching wedding ceremony for you. He handled our ceremony music as well, which was nice because it was one less thing I had to coordinate, and he and his wife (who plays whatever music you select) are pros at synching the music to the ceremony. Gene also makes a pretty little booklet with your whole ceremony in it for you to have as a keepsake. Finally, he did a great job of coordinating everything with our videographer and photographer so that we captured everything. I couldn't be more pleased with my choice of officiant.
If you choose him as your officiant, Eugene Shelton may mention that he loves his work, but he doesn't have to say it -- Read more...
If you choose him as your officiant, Eugene Shelton may mention that he loves his work, but he doesn't have to say it -- it shows. He goes above and beyond to create a personal, touching wedding ceremony for you. He handled our ceremony music as well, which was nice because it was one less thing I had to coordinate, and he and his wife (who plays whatever music you select) are pros at synching the music to the ceremony. Gene also makes a pretty little booklet with your whole ceremony in it for you to have as a keepsake. Finally, he did a great job of coordinating everything with our videographer and photographer so that we captured everything. I couldn't be more pleased with my choice of officiant. Read less
Services Used: Officiant

MAP

 
Blue Springs, MO 64014 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Two-Hearts Wedding Services
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1322522644372 twoheartslogojpeg