You will no longer have access to your Project Wedding account on or after March 30, 2017. Save any photos or information you'd like to keep and join WeddingWire for your all of your wedding planning needs today. Learn more »
130x130 sq 1474487248 afe84a9518c3343f four square logo

Unique Events

Cedar Rapids , IA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

201 2nd Ave SW Suite A
Cedar Rapids, IA 52404 US (map)

PHONE

319-721-4154

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

What's going to make your wedding reception a successful wedding reception to you? Maybe it's the unforgetable design that grabs everyone's attention the moment they walk in the room.... Read more
What's going to make your wedding reception a successful wedding reception to you? Maybe it's the unforgetable design that grabs everyone's attention the moment they walk in the room. Maybe it's the perfect bouquet. Possibly it's the perfect DJ and packed dance floor all night? The good news is you found one of the most innovative companies in the area to take your wedding reception to the next level!

Here is a list of the services we currently offer.

- Premium Award Winning DJ/MC packages

- Event Design

- Decor

- Planning/Coordination

- Custom Lighting Design

- Advanced Pin-Spotting

- Area's Only Open-Air Photo/Video Booth's

- Custom LED Dance Floor

- Custom White Dance Floor

- Elegant Bistro Lighting

- Chiavari Chairs - Black, Gold, Silver

- Ghost Chairs

- King Louis Chairs

- Wood Crossback Chairs

- Custom Barn Wood Tables

- Custom Lounge Design

- Custom, Modular Bar Design

We have an office located in Cedar Rapids and regularly meet clients in Des Moines if you are available to meet in-person. You are welcome to bring friends and any family members that want to tag along! The more the merrier! We assure you that our consultations are fun, super-relaxed and most importantly contain zero pressure to book with us. All of that is done through our website. Not to mention, we have a pretty awesome beverage selection (yes, this includes beer), music playing and a continuous slide show of our services to give you a visual of what we are talking about. Read less

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1487282396888 15977562101549785901029158666717787914321439n
130x130 sq 1487279317921 lenth1
130x130 sq 1487279243052 928
130x130 sq 1487279203270 1031
130x130 sq 1487279228932 927
130x130 sq 1487279930288 1021
130x130 sq 1487279335651 kjw0480
130x130 sq 1418770664398 140826ue 17
130x130 sq 1374645355820 led1
130x130 sq 1374646026023 led28
130x130 sq 1379462175829 led31
130x130 sq 1374645599257 led13
130x130 sq 1374645636969 led15
130x130 sq 1379462224844 led32
130x130 sq 1418770632508 072013 0636w
130x130 sq 1374700675783 pb4
130x130 sq 1443028776783 20000101002417
130x130 sq 1379462404546 pb11
130x130 sq 1418771167443 krystal bill unique events 0141
130x130 sq 1443028894348 9654495843283882790021390343680o
130x130 sq 1374700517770 pb9
130x130 sq 1443028818426 img0301
130x130 sq 1374700601069 pb8
130x130 sq 1376622492477 pb10
130x130 sq 1487279087470 lighting1
130x130 sq 1487279139233 covington  co favorites 0028
130x130 sq 1487279108150 covington  co favorites 0026
130x130 sq 1418771578122 cheung portraits 033 1
130x130 sq 1418771627718 imag1506
130x130 sq 1418771652641 img1060
130x130 sq 1441830008804 receptionetemilycrall 284
130x130 sq 1441830054780 receptionetemilycrall 303
130x130 sq 1441830104449 string lighting
130x130 sq 1487280055240 alaine james 251
130x130 sq 1487280131099 receptioncortneychristianemilycrall 113
130x130 sq 1487280136091 receptioncortneychristianemilycrall 114
130x130 sq 1441829605067 kwreceptionemilycrall 121
130x130 sq 1441829706029 kwreceptionemilycrall 177
130x130 sq 1418771372527 104896358098812890570434720996785175975459n
130x130 sq 1418771379331 105186798098813157237073622849897866459494n
130x130 sq 1446583485637 kwreceptionemilycrall 165
130x130 sq 1446583559561 kwreceptionemilycrall 176
130x130 sq 1446583681233 kwreceptionemilycrall 177
130x130 sq 1446583740888 silver chiavari chairs 4
130x130 sq 1446583808841 silver chiavari chairs 8
130x130 sq 1446583894790 silver chiavari chairs 9
130x130 sq 1446583985248 silver chiavari chairs 10
130x130 sq 1446584047805 silver chiavari chairs 11
130x130 sq 1487278358050 resized2
130x130 sq 1487278261513 resized1
130x130 sq 1487278358220 resized3
130x130 sq 1487277852369 covington  co favorites 0022
130x130 sq 1487277928906 covington  co favorites 0038
130x130 sq 1443027215338 barn wood tables 2
130x130 sq 1443027253750 barn wood tables
130x130 sq 1443027294203 travis newell favorites 0011
130x130 sq 1487278072295 ab0359
130x130 sq 1487278728241 bw1
130x130 sq 1487278648871 kyle  jordan wedding579
130x130 sq 1487278805591 covington  co favorites 0013
130x130 sq 1487278605998 covington  co favorites 0001
130x130 sq 1487278883062 covington  co favorites 0007
130x130 sq 1441829135197 mpp4799 2
130x130 sq 1441829149518 mpp4804
130x130 sq 1441829163468 mpp4805
130x130 sq 1441829174531 mpp4807
130x130 sq 1441829194471 mpp4843 2
130x130 sq 1441829240050 barn wood tables 2
130x130 sq 1441829282525 barn wood tables
130x130 sq 1441829344937 travis newell favorites 0011
130x130 sq 1446584204510 barn wood tables 14
130x130 sq 1446584243029 barn wood tables 16
130x130 sq 1446584335976 barn wood tables
130x130 sq 1487282329117 1594091110154978590122915395851777113852458n
130x130 sq 1418830750625 smw 569
130x130 sq 1443028359005 esw 484
130x130 sq 1443028518443 white dance floor 2
130x130 sq 1379462287565 obld1
130x130 sq 1418770403417 up lighting   shores
130x130 sq 1487282326190 15977562101549785901029158666717787914321439n
130x130 sq 1418770349959 117668306260f6a89abbco
130x130 sq 1374646246856 drld2
130x130 sq 1374646582374 icsld1
130x130 sq 1443028281933 smw 651
130x130 sq 1443028377172 rlw 327
130x130 sq 1443028527053 white dance floor
130x130 sq 1418771315815 2263
130x130 sq 1418771407344 105631128098812690570458733309639203027590n
130x130 sq 1443027422470 072013 0576
130x130 sq 1443027539704 img9237
130x130 sq 1469731695653 1
130x130 sq 1390272970728 la1
130x130 sq 1390272976392 la1
130x130 sq 1375217186625 la1
130x130 sq 1379462354380 la14
130x130 sq 1375217205974 la2
130x130 sq 1375217413311 la5
130x130 sq 1375217451750 la8
130x130 sq 1375217455059 la9
130x130 sq 1375217459410 la10
130x130 sq 1375217466581 la11
130x130 sq 1379462371954 la15
130x130 sq 1418828788254 20130914190611
130x130 sq 1418829073734 r8004
130x130 sq 1418829132601 lounge
130x130 sq 1418829146388 104801978175992316185825147046199686432339n
130x130 sq 1418830870837 rdw 364
130x130 sq 1390272414697 mb
130x130 sq 1390272778615 mb
130x130 sq 1418771478960 140826ue 09
130x130 sq 1441829023210 9099c9099e38
130x130 sq 1441829037081 skylar james unique events 0010
130x130 sq 1487281277478 covington  co favorites 0008
130x130 sq 1487281235419 covington  co favorites 0001
130x130 sq 1487281255146 covington  co favorites 0007
130x130 sq 1487280403647 covington  co favorites 0001
130x130 sq 1487280413662 covington  co favorites 0008
130x130 sq 1418829405594 103429617722172428234483394660421127808471n
130x130 sq 1418829413780 105176108239352876516433536183495434872339o
130x130 sq 1418829428974 10551687823935317651640976781665731625533o
130x130 sq 1418829465959 img9054
130x130 sq 1418829508403 img9115
130x130 sq 1418829551784 pastel stylized shoot pastel stylized shoot 0013
130x130 sq 1421638027826 dsc0727
130x130 sq 1421638085676 dsc0729
130x130 sq 1421638134905 dsc0730
130x130 sq 1421638185517 dsc0731
130x130 sq 1421637918817 dsc0725
130x130 sq 1421637972876 dsc0726
130x130 sq 1418829806071 10406255968343403617401110960714o
130x130 sq 1418829832768 u1040
130x130 sq 1418829865426 unique events 0016
130x130 sq 1418829891212 cake before and after
130x130 sq 1418830222578 103809967861592314292498849810171642394169n
130x130 sq 1418830231732 white dance floor 2
130x130 sq 1418830817309 sww 867
130x130 sq 1487275868290 w8a0223
130x130 sq 1487275847416 699hauptwed062616
130x130 sq 1487275908929 covington  co favorites 0010
130x130 sq 1487276762685 lola217
130x130 sq 1487276780726 lola277
130x130 sq 1487277557134 couplesaracoreyemilycrall 160
130x130 sq 1487277615273 kyle  jordan wedding317
130x130 sq 1487276869264 kjw0366
130x130 sq 1487276911255 kjw0143
130x130 sq 1487277048073 jd0412
130x130 sq 1487277074650 ab0412
130x130 sq 1469638903006 1314840010101011836548959445496610o
130x130 sq 1469638903346 1314816010101011832172729649597516o
130x130 sq 1469638912435 1317079210101011836543969271638262o
130x130 sq 1469638921887 covington  company draping 1
130x130 sq 1469638927685 covington  company draping 3
130x130 sq 1469638969370 covingtonandco06272015 5830
130x130 sq 1469638990306 dsc00042
130x130 sq 1469639793287 img2377
130x130 sq 1469639810806 hoffman 1
130x130 sq 1469639853461 051116 cwpweb06
130x130 sq 1469640015439 img1234
130x130 sq 1469724754663 3
130x130 sq 1469724749869 2
130x130 sq 1469724767736 4
130x130 sq 1469724797097 5
130x130 sq 1469724839801 6
130x130 sq 1487277678743 kyle  jordan wedding491
130x130 sq 1487281551965 lights
130x130 sq 1487281763866 covington  co favorites 0017
130x130 sq 1487282093469 covington  co favorites 0009
130x130 sq 1487282074591 covington  co favorites 0002
130x130 sq 1487282053696 bw1
130x130 sq 1487282040905 kyle  jordan wedding530
130x130 sq 1487281923726 covington  co favorites 0018
130x130 sq 1487281880748 covington  co favorites 0017

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres do you specialize in?
Country, Electronic, Hip Hop, Oldies, Pop, R&B/Soul, Rock, Top 40
What services do you offer?
Consultation, Do-Not-Play List, Karaoke, Liability Insurance, MC, One Event/Day
What additional equipment do you offer?
Photobooth, Uplighting

INFO FOR RENTALS & PHOTOBOOTHS

Which of the following event rental services do you provide?
Clean Up, Delivery, Setup
What event items are available?
Centerpieces, Chair Covers, Chairs, Dance Floor, Decor, Drapery, Lights, Lounge Furniture, Photobooth, Tables, Vases
What food and beverage items are available?
Barware, China, Flatware, Glassware, Linens
What photobooth items are available?
Backdrop(s), Prints, Props

INFO FOR FLOWERS

How would you describe the style of your floral designs?
Classic, Eclectic, Glamorous, Modern, Nautical, Romantic, Rustic
Which of the following services do you provide?
Delivery, Event Design, Set Up
What types of arrangements do you provide?
Aisle Decor, Altar Decor, Bouquets, Boutonnieres, Chuppah Decor, Corsages, Flower Petals, Non-Floral, Table Arrangements

INFO FOR LIGHTING & DECOR

What lighting services do you provide?
Accent, Audiovisuals, Dance Floor Lighting, Monograms, Outdoor, Pinspotting, String, Uplighting, Wall Wash
What decor services do you provide?
Clean Up, Day-Of Coordination, Delivery, Drapery, Event Design, Event Planning, Floral Design, Setup, Venue Selection
What decor items are available?
Backdrops, Candles/Holders, Paper Flowers, Table Runners, Trinkets, Vases

INFO FOR WEDDING PLANNING

What wedding events do you provide services for?
Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What wedding planning services do you offer?
Event Design, Partial Planning, Vendor Referrals
What types of weddings do you accomodate?
Civil, Destination, Double Weddings, Eco-Friendly, Military, Non-Religious
How many planners are on your team?
2

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Mitchell
Wedding:
3/25/2017
5.0/5.0
My wife and I were very thankful for everything that Unique Events did up to and the day of our wedding. We worked with Riley and he was truly amazing we can't thank him enough for everything that he did for us. He was willing to go the extra mile just to make everything on our special day the very best. I can't thank him and Unique Events enough for everything.
My wife and I were very thankful for everything that Unique Events did up to and the day of our wedding. We worked with Read more...
My wife and I were very thankful for everything that Unique Events did up to and the day of our wedding. We worked with Riley and he was truly amazing we can't thank him enough for everything that he did for us. He was willing to go the extra mile just to make everything on our special day the very best. I can't thank him and Unique Events enough for everything. Read less
Services Used: Flowers, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Unique Services
Default vendor profile pic
Michelle
Wedding:
2/18/2017
5.0/5.0
Katie Clark and her crew from @unique events were an absolute pleasure to work with for my twins' B'nai Mitzvah.
The room looked absolutely incredible. They thought of everything! Every detail was noticed and appreciated my the kids and adults. I can never thank you guys enough for making Saturday night so memorable for us!
Hope to see you soon!!!
-Michelle Stalkfleet, Iowa City
Katie Clark and her crew from @unique events were an absolute pleasure to work with for my twins' B'nai Mitzvah.
The Read more...
Katie Clark and her crew from @unique events were an absolute pleasure to work with for my twins' B'nai Mitzvah.
The room looked absolutely incredible. They thought of everything! Every detail was noticed and appreciated my the kids and adults. I can never thank you guys enough for making Saturday night so memorable for us!
Hope to see you soon!!!
-Michelle Stalkfleet, Iowa City Read less
Services Used: DJ, Flowers
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Unique Events was the best decision we made for our big day! We knew we were in good hands immediately after the first consolation. Riley was professional, organized, and very helpful in making sure we had everything we wanted. We had Travis Hempstead for our DJ and he was great as well! He went above and beyond during the reception. He kept the reception running smoothly, frequently communicated with us, brought drinks to my husband and I, checked in with our families, and listened to each request from ours guests! He kept the energy up and had the dance floor rocking all night long! We received SO MANY compliments on how great of a DJ he was! We would no doubt choose Unique Events again and we HIGHLY recommend them!
Unique Events was the best decision we made for our big day! We knew we were in good hands immediately after the first Read more...
Unique Events was the best decision we made for our big day! We knew we were in good hands immediately after the first consolation. Riley was professional, organized, and very helpful in making sure we had everything we wanted. We had Travis Hempstead for our DJ and he was great as well! He went above and beyond during the reception. He kept the reception running smoothly, frequently communicated with us, brought drinks to my husband and I, checked in with our families, and listened to each request from ours guests! He kept the energy up and had the dance floor rocking all night long! We received SO MANY compliments on how great of a DJ he was! We would no doubt choose Unique Events again and we HIGHLY recommend them! Read less
Services Used: Flowers, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Unique Services
Default vendor profile pic
Zoe
Wedding:
1/7/2017
5.0/5.0
Unique Events was outstanding in every way! We used them for chair, lounge, and bistro light rentals as well as DJ. Everything was seamless. Their team was a well oiled machine and had excellent communication. Came recommended by my wedding planner, and was she right!! Our DJ (Travis) was top-notch...he had the dance floor going all night long. Several of my guests commented it was the most fun they had at a wedding reception!
Unique Events was outstanding in every way! We used them for chair, lounge, and bistro light rentals as well as DJ. Read more...
Unique Events was outstanding in every way! We used them for chair, lounge, and bistro light rentals as well as DJ. Everything was seamless. Their team was a well oiled machine and had excellent communication. Came recommended by my wedding planner, and was she right!! Our DJ (Travis) was top-notch...he had the dance floor going all night long. Several of my guests commented it was the most fun they had at a wedding reception! Read less
Services Used: Flowers, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Unique Services
Default vendor profile pic
Jordan
Wedding:
12/31/2016
5.0/5.0
Unique Events is by far one of the best choices we made for our wedding. From our first consultation to the day of our wedding, it was an extremely smooth process. We knew that we made a great choice and that everything was going to be great. The entire staff is so personable and that is one the biggest qualities you will want from a DJ, event coordinator, etc. A shoutout to Joe, he was phenomenal and very easy to work with before and on our wedding day. Everyone at our reception had such a blast and the dance floor was never empty. I give full credit to Joe and Unique Events for making our reception that much more memorable. We cannot thank Joe and the entire staff of Unique Events enough for their exceptional service. I highly recommend to anyone to take the time and meet with them, you will be so happy you did.
Unique Events is by far one of the best choices we made for our wedding. From our first consultation to the day of our Read more...
Unique Events is by far one of the best choices we made for our wedding. From our first consultation to the day of our wedding, it was an extremely smooth process. We knew that we made a great choice and that everything was going to be great. The entire staff is so personable and that is one the biggest qualities you will want from a DJ, event coordinator, etc. A shoutout to Joe, he was phenomenal and very easy to work with before and on our wedding day. Everyone at our reception had such a blast and the dance floor was never empty. I give full credit to Joe and Unique Events for making our reception that much more memorable. We cannot thank Joe and the entire staff of Unique Events enough for their exceptional service. I highly recommend to anyone to take the time and meet with them, you will be so happy you did. Read less
Services Used: DJ, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
Default vendor profile pic
Lucy
Wedding:
12/31/2016
5.0/5.0
Between my husband, myself, and our families, we can't rave enough about Unique Events! Throughout the entire planning process they truly helped to shape our "dream day" into a reality! Peace of mind is one of the biggest gifts a bride-to-be can be given, and Unique Events helped to provide that & so much more! We are truly grateful to have had the opportunity to work with their amazing & dedicated staff. Joe provided superb DJ services for our reception & the dance floor was never empty! Our guests loved dancing to the music that was played & Joe kept that momentum going throughout the whole night! Katie was an absolute joy to work with in helping to make sure our decor & floral reflected the vision we had in mind & helped to keep everything SO organized on our behalf. Thanks a million to Unique Events for making our wedding day so memorable & for helping us to create lifelong memories with family & friends that we will cherish forever. I wish we could relive the day & do it all over again!
Between my husband, myself, and our families, we can't rave enough about Unique Events! Throughout the entire planning Read more...
Between my husband, myself, and our families, we can't rave enough about Unique Events! Throughout the entire planning process they truly helped to shape our "dream day" into a reality! Peace of mind is one of the biggest gifts a bride-to-be can be given, and Unique Events helped to provide that & so much more! We are truly grateful to have had the opportunity to work with their amazing & dedicated staff. Joe provided superb DJ services for our reception & the dance floor was never empty! Our guests loved dancing to the music that was played & Joe kept that momentum going throughout the whole night! Katie was an absolute joy to work with in helping to make sure our decor & floral reflected the vision we had in mind & helped to keep everything SO organized on our behalf. Thanks a million to Unique Events for making our wedding day so memorable & for helping us to create lifelong memories with family & friends that we will cherish forever. I wish we could relive the day & do it all over again! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Planning
Default vendor profile pic
Kari
Wedding:
11/19/2016
5.0/5.0
I would HIGHLY recommend Unique Events and Adam Covington for your next wedding. Together they made this not the wedding of our dreams, but the wedding beyond our dreams. They went above and beyond in every aspect. The music, lighting, light up dance floor, pin spot lighting, flowers at the church, bouquets, linens, centerpieces at the reception, chandeliers, EVERYTHING was absolutely stunning and gorgeous. Travis made sure the flow of the night went well and went above and beyond for us with the music. We even added on an extra hour at the end of the night because the crowd was chanting "one more song". The dance floor was completely packed first song until last song. He even entertained during cocktail hour! I have received so many compliments on how great our DJ was and how it was the most beautiful wedding anyone has ever been to. I can thank Unique Events/Adam Convington for that. Thank you!!! I would use them a million times over!! xoxox
I would HIGHLY recommend Unique Events and Adam Covington for your next wedding. Together they made this not the wedding Read more...
I would HIGHLY recommend Unique Events and Adam Covington for your next wedding. Together they made this not the wedding of our dreams, but the wedding beyond our dreams. They went above and beyond in every aspect. The music, lighting, light up dance floor, pin spot lighting, flowers at the church, bouquets, linens, centerpieces at the reception, chandeliers, EVERYTHING was absolutely stunning and gorgeous. Travis made sure the flow of the night went well and went above and beyond for us with the music. We even added on an extra hour at the end of the night because the crowd was chanting "one more song". The dance floor was completely packed first song until last song. He even entertained during cocktail hour! I have received so many compliments on how great our DJ was and how it was the most beautiful wedding anyone has ever been to. I can thank Unique Events/Adam Convington for that. Thank you!!! I would use them a million times over!! xoxox Read less
Services Used: DJ, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths, Unique Services
Default vendor profile pic
Brenda
Wedding:
11/19/2016
5.0/5.0
Unique Events is the best around and I would choose them for your wedding. For my daughters wedding they were very professional and easy to work with the entire wedding planning process. They took great care of my daughter and the reception was so beautiful and elegant. The music selection was wonderful! I have had so many compliments on how great the music and DJ were. The room looked SO beautiful! I could not believe the end result with the gorgeous flowers, linens, and decor. Thank you very much Unique Events!
Unique Events is the best around and I would choose them for your wedding. For my daughters wedding they were very Read more...
Unique Events is the best around and I would choose them for your wedding. For my daughters wedding they were very professional and easy to work with the entire wedding planning process. They took great care of my daughter and the reception was so beautiful and elegant. The music selection was wonderful! I have had so many compliments on how great the music and DJ were. The room looked SO beautiful! I could not believe the end result with the gorgeous flowers, linens, and decor. Thank you very much Unique Events! Read less
Services Used: DJ, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths, Unique Services
Default vendor profile pic
John
Wedding:
11/19/2016
5.0/5.0
People will not stop talking about our wedding and how it was the best they've ever seen and will ever see! I know for a fact that if we hadn't gone with Unique Events then it would be a completely different story.

Adam and Travis had several meetings with us throughout the planning process leading up to the wedding to ensure that we had everything covered and make sure everything we were imagining was fulfilled. On the wedding day itself, they went above and beyond their responsibilities and made sure everything was running smoothly and EVERYONE was taken care of.

Travis was our DJ and we can't stop hearing from others how great he was. From the very first song the floor was PACKED and he kept it that way until the very end (we even extended an hour because it was going so well)! We've had many requests what our song list was so they can use it....but that's the thing... Travis does a phenomenal job of reading the crowd and knowing what works best based on the audience. Most people hire a DJ and that's exactly what they get - someone who sets up some lights and manages a playlist for you. You are not hiring just a DJ, you are hiring a true Master of Ceremony. Travis kept everyone well informed of the events of the night and what was always upcoming. He directed the event staff on what they should be doing and what to look ahead for, which kept things running smooth on their end! He kept people's attention and got people to the dance floor! He kept my wife and I constantly informed as well and guided us throughout the night on when and what we were doing next, so we had no worries and got to enjoy our moment! THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!

I was hesitant at first on the light up dance floor. Now I can't imagine ever going without it! It really is something you have to see in person and not rely on pictures or video. The reactions from people even now justify that it was such a great choice.
People will not stop talking about our wedding and how it was the best they've ever seen and will ever see! I know for a Read more...
People will not stop talking about our wedding and how it was the best they've ever seen and will ever see! I know for a fact that if we hadn't gone with Unique Events then it would be a completely different story.

Adam and Travis had several meetings with us throughout the planning process leading up to the wedding to ensure that we had everything covered and make sure everything we were imagining was fulfilled. On the wedding day itself, they went above and beyond their responsibilities and made sure everything was running smoothly and EVERYONE was taken care of.

Travis was our DJ and we can't stop hearing from others how great he was. From the very first song the floor was PACKED and he kept it that way until the very end (we even extended an hour because it was going so well)! We've had many requests what our song list was so they can use it....but that's the thing... Travis does a phenomenal job of reading the crowd and knowing what works best based on the audience. Most people hire a DJ and that's exactly what they get - someone who sets up some lights and manages a playlist for you. You are not hiring just a DJ, you are hiring a true Master of Ceremony. Travis kept everyone well informed of the events of the night and what was always upcoming. He directed the event staff on what they should be doing and what to look ahead for, which kept things running smooth on their end! He kept people's attention and got people to the dance floor! He kept my wife and I constantly informed as well and guided us throughout the night on when and what we were doing next, so we had no worries and got to enjoy our moment! THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!

I was hesitant at first on the light up dance floor. Now I can't imagine ever going without it! It really is something you have to see in person and not rely on pictures or video. The reactions from people even now justify that it was such a great choice. Read less
Services Used: DJ, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths, Unique Services
Default vendor profile pic
Shannon
Wedding:
11/19/2016
5.0/5.0
We used Unique Events to DJ our wedding and I cannot be more enthusiastic in my praise for UE and Bobby Abellana, in particular. I was really stressed about choosing music for our wedding in the last days leading up to the ceremony, but Bobby requested a meeting a couple days before the ceremony to go over the details. I thought I was going to have to micromanage and instruct the DJ on exactly what I wanted, when things would need to be queued, etc., but all Bobby had to do was ask us a few questions about our music tastes and interests--after that he was able to practically read our minds. On the day of the event, Bobby showed up early to set up, and after saying hello I didn't have to give him any further instruction. He acted professionally, the ceremony and reception were all seamless, and his music selections kept the crowd dancing all night. I didn't understand the importance of hiring a good DJ during the early wedding planning process, but looking back, it was absolutely essential and was one of the most important factors in creating a memorable experience for us and our guests. Cost effective, too. Five stars!
We used Unique Events to DJ our wedding and I cannot be more enthusiastic in my praise for UE and Bobby Abellana, in Read more...
We used Unique Events to DJ our wedding and I cannot be more enthusiastic in my praise for UE and Bobby Abellana, in particular. I was really stressed about choosing music for our wedding in the last days leading up to the ceremony, but Bobby requested a meeting a couple days before the ceremony to go over the details. I thought I was going to have to micromanage and instruct the DJ on exactly what I wanted, when things would need to be queued, etc., but all Bobby had to do was ask us a few questions about our music tastes and interests--after that he was able to practically read our minds. On the day of the event, Bobby showed up early to set up, and after saying hello I didn't have to give him any further instruction. He acted professionally, the ceremony and reception were all seamless, and his music selections kept the crowd dancing all night. I didn't understand the importance of hiring a good DJ during the early wedding planning process, but looking back, it was absolutely essential and was one of the most important factors in creating a memorable experience for us and our guests. Cost effective, too. Five stars! Read less
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths

MAP

 
201 2nd Ave SW Suite A, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404 See On Map
 
Des Moines, IA 50312 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Unique Events
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1474487248 afe84a9518c3343f four square logo