130x130_sq_1322784254151-731561490365451415241490351984749922965856581574n

Unique Events

Iowa City , IA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

3305 Highway 1 SW Ste #4
Iowa City, IA US 52240 (map)

PHONE

319-431-5956

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

As the area's most recognized, award-winning wedding reception specialists, we have the passion and knowledge to make your "Dream Wedding" a reality! From our award-winning DJ/MC's to... Read more
As the area's most recognized, award-winning wedding reception specialists, we have the passion and knowledge to make your "Dream Wedding" a reality! From our award-winning DJ/MC's to the vast array of innovative services you won't find anywhere else, we are with you every step-of-the-way to ensure your wedding reception is customized to fit your every need! Here is a list of the services we currently offer! - Premium DJ/MC packages - Custom Lighting Design - Advanced Pin-Spotting - Open-Air Photo/Video Booth's - Custom LED Dance Floor - Custom White Dance Floor - Elegant Cafè Lighting - Chiavari Chairs - Custom Lounge Design - Custom, Modular Bar Design - Centerpiece Lighting Interested? Or maybe you have some questions... Either way, feel free to contact us and we'll be happy to help! We have an office located right outside of Iowa City and would love to meet you for a relaxed, no-pressured consultation! Unique Events - Where Your Vision, Meets Our Passion! Read less

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1374645247701-crowd8
130x130_sq_1374645164217-crowd1
130x130_sq_1374645266394-crowd14
130x130_sq_1374645191487-crowd2
130x130_sq_1374645207350-crowd3
130x130_sq_1374645209785-crowd4
130x130_sq_1374645217120-crowd5
130x130_sq_1374645228573-crowd6
130x130_sq_1374645236977-crowd7
130x130_sq_1374645252237-crowd9
130x130_sq_1374645261274-crowd10
130x130_sq_1375218505037-crowd24
130x130_sq_1375218518979-crowd14
130x130_sq_1376622446249-crowd25
130x130_sq_1376622449595-crowd26
130x130_sq_1376622452370-crowd27
130x130_sq_1374644513041-crowd11
130x130_sq_1374644525085-crowd13
130x130_sq_1374644531627-crowd15
130x130_sq_1374644548070-crowd16
130x130_sq_1374644581252-crowd17
130x130_sq_1374644628352-crowd18
130x130_sq_1374644678862-crowd19
130x130_sq_1374644723493-crowd20
130x130_sq_1374644774227-crowd21
130x130_sq_1374644825976-crowd22
130x130_sq_1374644943906-crowd12
130x130_sq_1375215159281-crowd23
130x130_sq_1374646478069-hkld2
130x130_sq_1374646184870-cbld4
130x130_sq_1374646215483-cbld5
130x130_sq_1374646229742-drld1
130x130_sq_1374646246856-drld2
130x130_sq_1374646277389-drld3
130x130_sq_1374646353928-tfld1
130x130_sq_1374646377055-cmld1
130x130_sq_1374646380564-cmld2
130x130_sq_1374646383947-cmld3
130x130_sq_1374646470027-hkld1
130x130_sq_1374646501600-hvld1
130x130_sq_1374646506405-hvld2
130x130_sq_1374646513766-hvld3
130x130_sq_1374646520993-hvld4
130x130_sq_1374646526813-hvld5
130x130_sq_1374646530636-hvld6
130x130_sq_1374646560258-imuld1
130x130_sq_1374646565078-imuld2
130x130_sq_1374646582374-icsld1
130x130_sq_1374646595750-icsld2
130x130_sq_1374646603735-icsld3
130x130_sq_1374646623481-icsld4
130x130_sq_1374646650152-isld5
130x130_sq_1374646673004-ld2
130x130_sq_1374646695983-ld3
130x130_sq_1374646709985-ld4
130x130_sq_1374646717279-ld5
130x130_sq_1375217093560-drld4
130x130_sq_1379462287565-obld1
130x130_sq_1379462311328-obld2
130x130_sq_1379462454313-icsld6
130x130_sq_1374646911549-pb1
130x130_sq_1374646916263-pb2
130x130_sq_1374700503614-pb7
130x130_sq_1374700517770-pb9
130x130_sq_1374700542844-pb3
130x130_sq_1374700568059-pb5
130x130_sq_1374700601069-pb8
130x130_sq_1374700640858-pb10
130x130_sq_1374700675783-pb4
130x130_sq_1374700700675-pb6
130x130_sq_1375216339330-pb4
130x130_sq_1375216530290-pb3
130x130_sq_1376622492477-pb10
130x130_sq_1379462404546-pb11
130x130_sq_1374644148875-acpl1
130x130_sq_1375215361765-acpl3
130x130_sq_1375215445405-acpl4
130x130_sq_1375215531342-acpl5
130x130_sq_1375217657515-acpl6
130x130_sq_1379462128878-acpl7
130x130_sq_1374645355820-led1
130x130_sq_1374645387947-led2
130x130_sq_1374645418039-led4
130x130_sq_1374645438272-led5
130x130_sq_1374645456611-led6
130x130_sq_1374645478064-led7
130x130_sq_1374645499962-led8
130x130_sq_1374645520280-led9
130x130_sq_1374645542016-led10
130x130_sq_1374645558615-led11
130x130_sq_1374645573972-led12
130x130_sq_1374645599257-led13
130x130_sq_1374645636969-led15
130x130_sq_1374645674084-led16
130x130_sq_1374645702153-led17
130x130_sq_1374645735672-led18
130x130_sq_1374645758499-led19
130x130_sq_1374645780539-led20
130x130_sq_1374645804590-led21
130x130_sq_1374645830981-led22
130x130_sq_1374645859395-led23
130x130_sq_1374645886523-led24
130x130_sq_1374645914735-led25
130x130_sq_1374645950005-led26
130x130_sq_1374645988468-led27
130x130_sq_1374646026023-led28
130x130_sq_1374646043127-led29
130x130_sq_1379462175829-led31
130x130_sq_1379462224844-led32
130x130_sq_1390272296535-bcc
130x130_sq_1374644205376-bcc1
130x130_sq_1374644297279-doc1
130x130_sq_1374644368661-doc2
130x130_sq_1374644449611-doc3
130x130_sq_1374646796709-office-1
130x130_sq_1374646803733-office-2
130x130_sq_1374646806120-office-3
130x130_sq_1374646808509-office-4
130x130_sq_1374646814723-office-5
130x130_sq_1374646825390-office-6
130x130_sq_1390272899303-office-
130x130_sq_1390272414697-mb
130x130_sq_1390272778615-mb
130x130_sq_1390272784847-mb
130x130_sq_1390272970728-la1
130x130_sq_1390272976392-la1
130x130_sq_1375217186625-la1
130x130_sq_1379462354380-la14
130x130_sq_1375217205974-la2
130x130_sq_1375217219682-la3
130x130_sq_1375217222604-la4
130x130_sq_1375217413311-la5
130x130_sq_1375217448463-la7
130x130_sq_1375217451750-la8
130x130_sq_1375217455059-la9
130x130_sq_1375217459410-la10
130x130_sq_1375217466581-la11
130x130_sq_1375217468418-la12
130x130_sq_1375217470943-la13
130x130_sq_1379462371954-la15
130x130_sq_1375217769926-wdf1
130x130_sq_1375217797824-wdf2
130x130_sq_1375217824508-wdf3
130x130_sq_1375217854015-wdf4
130x130_sq_1375217882793-wdf5
130x130_sq_1375219888658-bill-1
130x130_sq_1375219894466-bill-2
130x130_sq_1375219901061-bill-3
130x130_sq_1375219903448-bill-4
130x130_sq_1375219906007-bill-5
130x130_sq_1375219960734-bill-6
130x130_sq_1375219984672-bill-7
130x130_sq_1375219986483-riley-1
130x130_sq_1375219989192-riley-2
130x130_sq_1375219991942-riley-3
130x130_sq_1375220001469-riley-4
130x130_sq_1375220012361-riley-5
130x130_sq_1375220022625-riley-6
130x130_sq_1375220033776-riley-7
130x130_sq_1375220045266-riley-8
130x130_sq_1375220052555-riley-9
130x130_sq_1375220056624-riley-10
130x130_sq_1375220060661-riley-11
130x130_sq_1375220065879-riley-12
130x130_sq_1375220079080-riley-13
130x130_sq_1375220095073-riley-14
130x130_sq_1375220106852-riley-15
130x130_sq_1375220111649-riley-16
130x130_sq_1375220115574-riley-17
130x130_sq_1375220120361-riley-18
130x130_sq_1375220126401-rob-1
130x130_sq_1375220129346-rob-2
130x130_sq_1375220137089-rob-3
130x130_sq_1375220146859-rob-4
130x130_sq_1375220153709-rob-5
130x130_sq_1375220157589-rob-6
130x130_sq_1375220161723-rob-7
130x130_sq_1375220168299-travis-h.-1
130x130_sq_1375220175943-travis-h.-2
130x130_sq_1375220180814-travis-n.-1
130x130_sq_1375220184705-travis-n.-2
130x130_sq_1375220192396-travis-n.-3
130x130_sq_1375220202043-travis-n.-4
130x130_sq_1375220208902-travis-n.-5
130x130_sq_1375220213589-travis-n.-6
130x130_sq_1375220220582-travis-n.-7
130x130_sq_1375220228828-travis-n.-8
130x130_sq_1375220246257-travis-n.-9
130x130_sq_1375220275580-travis-n.-10
130x130_sq_1375220283545-travis-n.-11
130x130_sq_1375220300201-travis-n.-12
130x130_sq_1375220321676-travis-n.-13
130x130_sq_1375220335945-travis-n.-14

INFO FOR DJ

What music genres are in your collection?
50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Classic Rock, Country, Dance, Folk, Funk, Hip Hop, Jazz, Motown, Oldies, Pop, Punk Rock, R&B, Rock, Soul, Strings, Swing
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes

INFO FOR RENTALS & PHOTOBOOTHS

What items are available for rental?
Lounge Furniture, Photo Booth

INFO FOR LIGHTING & DECOR

What type of events do you produce?
Corporate Events, Private Parties, Weddings
Which of the following services do you provide?
Audiovisuals, Entertainment, Event Lighting, Furniture Rental, Venue Selection

INFO FOR WEDDING PLANNING

What types of weddings do you accommodate?
Civil, Destination, Double Weddings, Eco-Friendly / Green, Military
What wedding planning services do you offer?
Partial Planning

REVIEWS

5.0
out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
5.0/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jerilyn
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
My daughter was married at the Kirkwood Hotel in Cedar Rapids on June 14. I am a mom in her 60s and was afraid I would get tired around my regular bedtime and would be a party-poop! NOPE! Thanks to the DJs and their incredible LED dance floor, the place was absolutely hopping and a great time was had by all. I credit the fun dance floor (beautifully white for the special dances, and fun colors for other dancing, AND I credit the DJs! There was NO lag time between songs, when people would be most likely to peter out and sit down, and there was a great mix of musical genres. Not only did I stay up well past my bedtime, but I danced holes in my dancing shoes. I was dancing when they announced the last dance, and I was still there when they were packing up! In all the weddings I've been to, I have NEVER seen a dance floor that was as packed as this one was, and our guests all said they had a roaring great time. THANKS!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
There is only one word to describe Unique Events and it’s AMAZING! Having been to a handful of weddings all over the country I have seen it all in terms of DJ’s so I was very selective in whom I hired for the job. From the very beginning of the planning process Riley made my fiancé and I feel completely at ease and confident in Unique Events. He was open to our ideas and suggestions but also offered a lot of great insight so far as timing and logistics went as well. The feedback we have got from our wedding guests is overwhelming – guests from all ages (16-85) were very impressed with the professionalism, style, and playlist that Riley came up with. The worst part about our wedding was when it ended and we had to say good bye to Riley and the amazing Unique Events staff. I highly recommend this vendor – there was never a moment where I felt a loll in time – they clearly know what they are doing and are 100% committed to making sure your event is the best it can be and also a memorable one.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Unique Events is wonderful to work with! We had Travis H. as a DJ and he was on top of every last detail, making my job as a bride very easy! I would absolutely recommend them! You will not be disappointed!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We used Unique Events for our June wedding. From the first time I sat down to meet with UE I knew they were the ones to go with. The last thing I wanted to do was worry about "running" our reception. As a bride, by that time I knew I would be ready to relax and have some fun. Bobby was our DJ and he did a phenomenal job of making sure our evening ran as smooth as possible! I had no worries the entire night! Bobby kept the guests involved in knowing what was going to happen when, helped us (the bride and groom) keep track of time while we were mingling with our guests, helped take down tables to make room for the dance floor and played all the right kinds of music. The main thing I wanted was for people to dance and have fun at our wedding, Bobby helped make that happen. At midnight when it was "over" the dance floor was still full! I cannot thank Bobby and UE enough for providing such amazing service to us on our special day!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Taylor
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
Look no further -- UNIQUE EVENTS is the best of the best!!!! They are truly amazing; they do far more than just DJ! Our DJ was Bill and he was absolutely WONDERFUL. We cannot say enough about him. Not only did he make our music perfect, he was also running around making sure everyone knew what was going on, helped us rearrange our plans due to rain, brought drink refills, made us laugh, made guests laugh, etc... I really appreciated the fact that he checked in with us multiple times throughout the night making sure everything was going as we desired and asking if we need anything. We had a photo booth which was a total blast, everyone loved it, and the pictures are IMPRESSIVE high quality. WE COULDN'T HAVE DREAMED OF A BETTER DJ SERVICE!
Services Used: DJ, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Caitlin
Wedding:
6/7/2014
5.0/5.0
We made the best choice choosing to work with Unique Events to make our wedding reception truly special. Travis Newell was fun to work with, yet professional and got the job done going above and beyond our expectations. We had a very specific picture in mind as to what we wanted our reception to look like and Travis transformed the space with the perfect uplighting, white dance floor, lounge area and gobo. The Unique Events crew really took our ideas to the next level. We couldn't be happier with the atmosphere that Travis and UE created at our reception. Not only did it look amazing, but Travis poured all his effort into managing the timeline and events of the night to make the evening run smoothly and enjoyable for everyone. He took care of all the details and never missed a beat even when dress bustling hiccups were thrown into the mix. From day one, Travis impressed us with his sincere and fun approach and even came through with our last minute ideas to make a track for our lip sync reception entrance...all with a smile on his face! We can't thank UE enough for all the hard work and dedication that they brought to our wedding. We know it wouldn't have been nearly as enjoyable had we decided to use someone else's services. We had so many people tell us they had the best time at our wedding and we have Travis to thank for that.
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
5/31/2014
5.0/5.0
Deciding on a DJ can be very difficult because it is such a crucial part of a wedding reception. We were looking for someone we could trust to carry out our vision for the atmosphere we were hoping to achieve at our reception, enhance the uniqueness of our reception venue with uplighting, and keep our guests on the dance floor celebrating until the night's end. We were so impressed by Riley for going above and beyond to meet our needs. Since I no longer live in the location where the reception was at, communication through email was very important. I could count on Riley to send a quick reply whenever I had a question or needed advice. When we met with him the week of the wedding he was very professional and easy to talk to. It was obvious he wanted to do everything he could to make the night memorable and help us to enjoy it and relax. When I walked into the reception for the first time with my new husband, we were blown away by how well Riley's uplighting added to the room and the music playing to set the mood. Riley continued to surprise us throughout the night- adjusting the flow of our schedule to make it more smooth, asking us if we needed something to drink while we sat at the head table, and interacting with our guests to keep them dancing all night long. Thank you Riley for all your help making our night unforgettable!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jake
Wedding:
5/21/2014
5.0/5.0
Travis helped us coordinate the whole reception! He was the conductor of the evening and he did a tremendous job! He kept the dance floor filled and helped us make the most of our day! I have and continue to recommend unique events to family and friends! Hands down the best around!
Services Used: DJ, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Whitney
Wedding:
5/17/2014
5.0/5.0
Travis Hempstead DJed my sisters wedding in August of 2013 and he was so amazing I decided to cancel the DJ I had already booked for my wedding to book with UE! I don't even know where to begin with the amazing experience(s) we have had with Travis! His personality is amazing and in that you can see the passion he has for what he does! He is far more than a DJ, he kept everything on track and was always there to let me know what was happening and where I needed to be. He knows how to keep a crowd entertained and on the dance floor having a great time! He is confident on the mic, in the right situations! He practically read my mind, I never needed anything. He was always there handing me what I needed or asking me what else he could do. His sidekick Nick did the same. I can 100% they are the best I have ever seen! I would, and do, recommend them to everyone I know! If I had to do it all over again, I would choose them again in a heartbeat. It's really hard to put into words how their presence and experience put me at ease! I truly believe you get what you pay for, but with UE you get WAY more!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jeff
Wedding:
5/16/2014
5.0/5.0
We chose Unique Events as the DJ service for our wedding due to a recommendation from our photographer and we are SO glad we did! They helped us with both our ceremony and reception. After my first phone conversation with Riley my husband and I were very impressed. He was extremely professional and listened to everything we had to say. We immediately trusted him to put on a great event! We talked to him again the week of our wedding and he took the time to understand our vision for both the ceremony and reception. He also had great advice and helped us plan our songs and timeline for the whole event. We even got a bonus DJ,Bill, who was amazing and catered to every need. He knew what we needed, what our parents needed, and what our wedding party needed before we even knew! We never had to worry about a thing the whole night! We truly cannot thank these two incredibly nice, fun, and professional individuals enough for bringing our vision to life. We received countless compliments about the event and we could not have done it without Unique Events!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Helen
Wedding:
5/10/2014
5.0/5.0
Our daughter was married last month at The Hotel at Kirkwood Center and Travis Newell provided his DJ and wedding planning expertise to make the reception an incredible experience. From advising the couple on time management and how to enjoy their wedding day, to putting together a song list that kept the dance floor busy and packed all night - his professionalism was amazing. We opted to use the upgraded sound system and that didn't disappoint and was worth the extra investment. The uplighting and spotlighting by Unique Events made the ballroom look amazing. Travis was able to read the crowd and we extended the evening an extra hour as guests were still having a great time on the dance floor! We couldn't be more happy and would recommend him for any celebration!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Taylor
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
Travis Hempstead was an amazing DJ at our wedding. Also, the up lighting that Unique Events provided was beautiful. They are extremely professional and very easy to work with. Most importantly, your guest will have an amazing time dancing all night long!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jason and Kassie
Wedding:
5/3/2014
5.0/5.0
Bill Tandy was outstanding!!!! Since our first meeting with him, Bill always made himself available and emphasized his ability to make our wedding day flow as we wanted it to. Bill was very personable and easy to work with. He was willing to go above and beyond typical DJ services. A couple examples include: unloading the wedding party’s stuff from the bus and getting the wedding party food/drinks at the reception.

We didn’t have to worry about the time or schedule. Bill kept us on track with cake cutting, toasts, first dance, bouquet toss, etc. Throughout the entire night, Bill kept our guests entertained and the dance floor packed. ☺

The photobooth also went great! The photos are a blast to look back at and all of the guests had a ton of fun with it!

We would highly recommend Bill and the others from Unique Events!!!
Services Used: DJ, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lauren
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
We can't say enough great things about UE or our DJ, Bobby. Bobby was willing to do whatever we wanted and helped guide us to plan a seamless reception. He played a great selection of music and we and our guests danced the night away! UE was responsive, timely and easy to work with from day one. Very accommodating and willing to answer a million questions! Their professionalism all while being down to earth, easy-going fun people makes them stand out above the rest. Worth every penny! We wouldn't change a thing from our special day. We also used the photo booth and had UE create our guest book. We can't stop looking at it - or laughing! The guests had a blast with it and we will cherish those photos and memories.
Services Used: DJ, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelly
Wedding:
4/26/2014
5.0/5.0
Our DJ, Riley, paid attention to every single detail that we mentioned throughout our consultations and ensured that our wedding was a dream come true. He showed up the day before the wedding to set everything up, was present at the ceremony to assist with the sound (our ceremony and reception were at the same venue), and facilitated the night with ease. My husband and I personalized every detail of our ceremony and reception, which ended up having to make Riley be flexible, and he didn't miss a beat. I mentioned songs that were "Must Plays" with a special emphasis on one of them being a tickler for my husband- and that was the song that Riley had us walk out of our reception to that night. He even captured pictures during our run-thru before the wedding, and captured a great shot of our photographer photographing us the day of the wedding. We felt as if our wedding was "unique" from the moment Riley walked into our venue, and we are truly grateful.
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Hiring Unique Events for our wedding was the best decision we made. All of the staff we encountered were extremely helpful and quick to respond to emails or phone calls during the entire planning process. Bill Tandy was the DJ assigned to our event. We met the Sunday prior to the event to discuss details. He told me at that meeting that he was available to me for the entire week for questions or anything else I would need. I was a bit indecisive about song choices, so Bill offered to come to the rehearsal dinner and go through some songs with my father and I for walking down the aisle. He help coordinate the wedding party walking down the aisle and he even hung around until after we returned from dinner - and he had set up most of the decorations we were coming back to set up! I couldn't believe it. The day of the wedding he called before arrival to make sure we didn't need him to bring us anything. What he did after he arrived was nothing short of amazing. There were some issues with our ceremony and reception spaces - we lacked a set of chair covers and the bathrooms were atrocious from a party that had taken place the night before. Bill told me not to worry. He fixed the bathrooms. He even helped put chair covers on our ceremony chairs from our reception room and then HE moved the chairs back to the reception room in between the ceremony and reception! Nevermind that he was performing all of his DJ duties flawlessly throughout all of this! During the reception he was making sure my husband and I had drinks at all times, constantly checked on us and other guests throughout the evening and making sure everyone was taken care of as all times. There is nothing he didn't do! He went above and beyond the duties we hired him for and was pleasant and smiling the entire time. WORTH EVERY PENNY!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
4/5/2014
5.0/5.0
Travis N. was our dj for our wedding ceremony and reception.. I had a hard time convincing my husband that a dj was a necessary part of the entire day, but boy, was he blown away with our experience, and was so incredibly happy that Travis was there. He kept things rolling from the time the ceremony started, to the time we wrapped up the last dance. He kept the reception going smoothly and took a lot of stress off of both of our shoulders. Thanks for helping make our day so perfect!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Liz
Wedding:
3/8/2014
5.0/5.0
We can’t begin to express how wonderful of an experience we had with working with Unique Events. From the initial meeting, through the end of the event, they made sure that our big day was exactly what we were hoping for. Travis H. went above and beyond to make sure that everything ran smoothly and that the dance floor was always full. They were such a part of our big day and we couldn’t have asked for a better DJ!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenna
Wedding:
2/15/2014
5.0/5.0
Riley and Nick were the DJ's at our wedding reception and were absolutely amazing. They were extremely professional and made sure our night went smoothly. I was very impressed with the way they handled everything throughout the night and went out of their way to make it special for us. Riley was so easy to get a hold of throughout it all and was quick at responding to my constant emails and phone calls, which I really appreciated. I am very happy we booked our DJ services with Unique Events. Our guests had a great time and are still talking about our reception a month later. I would recommend Nick and Riley to anyone! Thanks again for making our night unforgettable, relaxing, and FUN!!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jayne
Wedding:
1/30/2014
5.0/5.0
The boys at Unique Events were GREAT I met with them on Monday in preparation for my daughters wedding reception. They were so helpful gave me ideas to make it the perfect day! They cared more about that than making the sale. I can't say enough good things about them!
Services Used: Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Emily
Wedding:
1/4/2014
5.0/5.0
We just had our wedding this last weekend and Unique Events helped us make it a night that NONE of our guests will forget! Travis worked with me to make the reception flow exactly how I wanted! They played all the music I wanted to hear while also accommodating almost every guest request! The dance floor was full the entire night and we didn't stop until 1 am! I would recommend these guys to ANYONE who is planning their wedding! They make the entire process painless so you can fully enjoy your night and not have to worry about whether your guests are having fun or not, because with Unique Events, you know your guests are having a blast!!

Their photo booth was amazing! Unlimited prints for the entire time you have them there, you can't beat that! Our photo booth had a line the entire night and we had it for 5 hours! Everyone loved it! Seeing the pictures in a scrapbook afterwards was the best, and we get to keep those memories forever! I highly recommend both services from Unique Events! The staff makes sure that you are 100% satisfied with everything!
Services Used: DJ, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Zack
Wedding:
12/31/2013
5.0/5.0
Travis and the crew at Unique Events provided the best imaginable service as DJs. Their help with planning the wedding from the very beginning amounted to almost having a second wedding planner. We ended up going with their LED dance floor, uplighting, photo/video booth and furniture package in addition to the standard DJ services. The uplighting was beyond beautful, and the LED dance floor in particular was a huge hit. It was still crowded at 1:30 a.m., when our venue coordinator finally shut us down. The furniture set made the venue look all the more professional, and ended up being a popular place for people to crash who couldn't keep up with the dancing. The photobooth photos were outrageous with all the fun costumes/props; the photo book that UE creates for them is one of our most cherished wedding items.

Looking back I would not change a single thing about the DJ service, and I would encourage anyone who is planning a wedding to consider the investment in entertainment for your big day. Many of our guests are still telling us how great a time they had, and while we get kudos on everything else as well, the vast majority of compliments are towards are entertainment.
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marina
Wedding:
12/28/2013
5.0/5.0
My daughter's wedding was two days ago and I cannot say enough wonderful things about Unique Events! When researching DJ's we had a meeting with Travis N.and knew from that meeting that we had found an amazing team of individuals that take their job extremely seriously. They know weddings from start to finish! I learned to let go and trust them completely. At the very first meeting I knew that they would run our reception so that neither my daughter or myself would have to worry about anything....and I was right! Everything from the advice on reception tips to song choices (making sure the correct version of song was played) was spot on. The uplighting they provided was beautiful and added such a warm atmosphere to the building. We got everything they promised and more. Our guests had such a great time and everyone raved about our DJ! Travis H was absolutely amazing. I don't think they have anyone on their team who is not top notch! Do not hesitate to book this DJ ...They are absolutely the best out there!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Michael
Wedding:
12/27/2013
5.0/5.0
WOW. We had an amazing experience with UE services. Riley was our DJ, but he was much much more. He took a lot of time before our actual wedding day to meet with us and get to know us as a couple - this was invaluable during the reception because we already had a good rapport and we already trusted him as a decision maker. The up-lighting was beautiful and transformed the room. If you have the option, DO THE UPLIGHTING - you WILL NOT regret it. Thanks UE and keep up the good work, this is obviously more than a career for you all, it is a passion and life style!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cara
Wedding:
10/19/2013
5.0/5.0
I have nothing but absolutely wonderful things to say about Unique Events. They were always very prompt and professional when responding to questions and emails. We used them for the DJ service and the photo booth rental at our reception. Our DJ was Bill Tandy and we could not have asked for a better DJ. Whatever we needed Bill was there. He went above and beyond the typical DJ services. To meeting me outside the reception venue with an umbrella, to making sure the whole bridal party had drinks, to bringing us cupcakes, and checking on us multiple times throughout the night. Bill Tandy was an amazing DJ and helped make our night unforgettable. Not only did he do all those things for us but he made sure the whole night went smoothly and kept the party going. I would absolutely recommend Unique Events to anyone!
Services Used: DJ, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
10/12/2013
5.0/5.0
I had a difficult time working with some vendors because a few of them seemed to be unreliable. Weddings are expensive and it is hard to spend money on companies where you don't know if they are going to show up, are going to do what they say, and are going to be professional. I knew right from the start that Unique Events was exactly what I was looking for! They were extremely prompt at getting back to me with any questions that I had, they were more knowledgable than any other DJ company that I researched, and they were phenomenal the days leading up to our wedding. I had so many people coming up to me after the wedding saying that we had the best wedding music they had ever heard.

The areas that I appreciated the most included being able to go to one place to get many different things (we got awesome lighting to jazz up our reception venue, a photobooth and DJ services), having advice and answers to questions regarding receptions (they are wedding experts!) and being able to rely on someone else to run my entire reception so that I could actually have fun! I am a control freak and it's hard for me to pass on responsibility, but I knew right from the start that I was perfectly comfortable having Unique Events take additional responsibility.

I would hire Unique Events again in a heartbeat!
Services Used: DJ, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brent
Wedding:
9/27/2013
5.0/5.0
I could not have asked for a better DJ very professional, friendly and all the requested songs did get played and then some!

The LED Dance Floor really added to the wedding everyone is still talking about it.

I have to say everyone said it was the BEST Wedding they ever attended and I have to say that is in large part to the DJ & LED Dancefloor. Never have I heard so many compliments from people. It really does make a difference when you have a DJ who knows the crowd and gets everyone up and moving.

The LED Dance Floor was so fun and really looks great in pictures. Everyone kept dancing as the lights kept moving and glowing it really did add to the entire experience it was WELL Worth it no doubt about it.

I would not have changed a thing and am so glad I picked this company it really made memories that I will never forget.

Brent/Madison, WI (Wedding in Dubuque, IA)
Services Used: DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
We had a DJ for the ceremony, social hour before the reception, and the reception. We were very happy with the music choices, and he used most of what we had given him. He gave us a set list afterwords of everything that was played. from before the ceremony till the end of the reception. He talked just enough, so there was no confusion on what was going on, but wasn't on the mic so much that you only heard him. The uplighting we got for the celebration farm was perfect. colors of yellow and orange to show off the venue and didn't over power at all. Very happy.
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Cheryl
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
I wanted you to know I have never been so impressed by someone going above and beyond what they are paid to do as I was with Bill Tandy. He was hired for my daughter's wedding. We met with him several days before wedding to pick out music, lighting etc. On the morning of the wedding he called me to see if we needed him to get anything on his way there. He then arrived and set up about 6 hrs early. He helped keep things on task. Looking at pictures of the wedding I see he carried the back of my daughters wedding dress outside so it wouldn't get dirty before she walked up the aisle. He served drinks to the wedding party after the wedding and brought them desserts and refilled their glasses during dinner and toasts. He made the whole night run smoothly and special for us. He kept the dance fun and entertaining to guests old and young. I would recommend him for any event. I hope you get him for your special event in the future.
Sincerely and with many thanks to you Bill Tandy.
Cheryl
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Channelle
Wedding:
8/23/2013
5.0/5.0
Where do I even begin with all the praises I have about Unique Events.?!
I knew that Unique Events was exactly the kind of vendor we'd want to work with just from the initial consultation call with Travis. It's the little differences that distinguish the best from the rest. Unique Events staff was flawless-- EXCELLENT communication, genuinely caring staff, extremely experienced and knowledgeable, organized and flexible. I never felt like I was 'just another bride'. They always knew exactly where we were in the planning process and helped to gently lead the way through the night with our planned timing, when we were too busy having fun to be worrying about little details. Their MC/DJ skills were more than we could ask for. I felt like I had a wedding planner and someone who knew us, more than just a DJ guy speaking into a mic. Riley was phenomenal. I can't even begin to say Thank you to him enough. He had the best flow of music through the night, my entire wedding party, family and guest loved him and thought he was such a stand up, helpful, wonderful guy.

I loved my uplighting!! It made the event! It looked soooo much better in pictures than just my standard lights I had strung behind the head table. It set a tone that was more like a sophisticated party and the colors of the lighting matched my décor which everyone loved.
The biggest hit of the night, aside from Rileys awesome work, was definitely the photobooth! I had so many people tell me over and over that they absolutely loved the photobooth--best thing they'd ever seen and appreciated it!. Loved the photo album of all the pics they put together at the end of the night for us, and that the guests get a strip of the pics too to keep. Also they gave us the flash drive of all the pics taken. This made for priceless memories of the night! I laughed so hard at the pics taken of my family and guests!

Thank you Unique Events for everything, you made our night!
Services Used: DJ, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gary
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
From the very start we could tell that Unique Events was going to be the right partner to pull together everything we had envisioned for our wedding reception. Even during the first phone consultation with Travis N, you could just tell the knowledge he and his entire team have in the services they provide and the passion they have to make every event a success.

While searching for vendors in the area, the UE Facebook page showed a few glimpses of an LED dance floor they were currently having built. That sparked us to contact them and while we thought we would only be having them DJ for us, we ended up adding the LED dance floor, uplighting, photobooth, and lounge seating area. The dance floor ended up being the central anchor of our whole reception and was a perfect stage for the choreographed wedding party dance number. Plus, it wouldn’t have been the same without the fog effects and motion lighting we ended up adding onto our package shortly before the wedding.

Since we had such a production going on, we had 4 members of their crew at the reception: Travis, Riley, Nick and April. All of them were extremely professional and great with the guests, especially Riley who we’re still getting compliments on for his music selections and mic presence. The photobooth was a big hit and had a line the entire time — and we got a flash drive of all the high quality digitals at the end of the night in addition to all of the photostrips people left behind for us.

The on-site meeting we had with Travis and Riley a few days prior to the event put our minds at ease because it was clear they knew exactly how everything needed to flow for the evening and really took control to keep everything on schedule. You can tell the amount of experience they have in pulling events off with no issues. Without all the services Unique Events provided, our reception would definitely not have been the success it was and we’re thrilled we went with them!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melissa
Wedding:
7/13/2013
5.0/5.0
I have nothing but great things to say about Unique Events, specifically Bill Tandy. Bill went above and beyond what we expected. My husband and I were impressed with him from our very first meeting. He helped us set a time line for our day and kept telling us he would be there to assist in whatever we needed, and he truly did. He was so much more than a DJ for us, not only did he play great music throughout the night and kept the schedule running smoothly, he also held my flowers during photos, brought my whole wedding party water and drinks the whole night, and helped me to arrange a special birthday surprise for my mom. I could go on and on with all of the things he did to help ease the stress for us, because of him we were able to relax and enjoy our big day.
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jess
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Riley was amazing to work with. He was very professional and wanted to meet with us so he could get to know us as a couple to know what we wanted at our reception. He kept our bridal party organized and made sure we stayed on track. We completely trusted him to run the show. His experience with working with weddings really showed. He knows the right time to do things and knows how to keep people on the dance floor. I would recommend Unique Events to any bride and groom looking for a DJ. Also Riley was not feeling the best at our reception but none of our guests would have been able tell, he is a trooper and stayed the whole night and we really appreciate that :)

We had an amazing experience with Riley and thank you so much to him.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
6/15/2013
5.0/5.0
We cannot say enough about our experience with Travis and Unique Events! Travis was unbelievably professional, yet personable, kind, helpful, and so enjoyable to work with. He went out of his way to meet me at our event site to show me the lighting options before we even signed a contract. He is a wealth of information about the flow of weddings and receptions and took the time to sit with me to make sure the order of events at our reception was perfect. We had some special requests from Travis at our reception and he was totally on board and did an amazing job! After sharing some of our preferences, I trusted him to pick the right music and he definitely delivered (one of our friends even posted on Facebook that she wanted to the soundtrack to our wedding...which Travis later provided). Our dance was the best wedding dance I've ever been too and we heard this from more guests than I can count. We recommend Unique Events without hesitation...they made a huge impact on our wedding and we loved our experience!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Unique Events is one of the best DJ services in the area hands down! Quick and responsive communication, very professional, and willing to do whatever needed to make the day great! Our DJ, Travis H. was amazing! He went above and beyond helping our wedding party and guests. Travis has awesome energy; he played great music and kept the party rockin all night! We had a large wedding and heard several comments on how the DJ was fantastic! We also recommend the uplighting…it’s worth the money.

Thank you Unique Events for making our reception unforgettable!
Michelle and Jeremy
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
6/8/2013
5.0/5.0
Travis at Unique Events was one of the first people we met with after deciding to get married. He was incredibly professional and took the time to sit down and walk through a variety of options, not just DJ/photobooth/lighting, but also wedding flow. This was all before we event committed to using their services. He wasn't pushy at all which we saw later with other vendors, and made us very confident in his business.

We used their DJ services and photobooth, and could not be more happy we did! Travis & Travis were both amazing. The music was perfect - they played the songs we had picked out, but most importantly they did a great job of reading the crowd and picking out songs that people would dance to. I've never seen my uncle Stacey dance, but he was out there having a great time too!

And the photobooth? OMG. HILARIOUS. Our guests had such a great time, and made the funniest take home book that we've ever seen. Seriously - we're still laughing. And they gave us all the files the night of our wedding, so we could immediately look at them on the drive home the next day and crack up.

Moral of the story? You should probably use Unique Events. It greatly reduced stress, they helped us so much with the day of things ("when do you want to do x, y, z" - and then making sure those things happened when we got distracted talking to our guests/dancing the night away). Thank you Travis and Travis!!
Services Used: DJ, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mallory
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
Travis H. and Unique Events did an outstanding job at our reception! We couldn't have asked for a better night! They are great to work with and help you out the best they can!! Travis N. will have you "sucked in" from your first meeting ;) They are all so nice and really take the stress away from you. Our DJ for the night (Travis H.) did a fantastic job of running the show so we didn't have to worry about a thing!! The up-lighting they did for us really made a huge impression on people and made the room look amazing! Our guests had a great time- lots of compliments and the dance floor was packed all night long!! We would recommend Unique Events to any bride and groom planning their upcoming wedding!!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebeka
Wedding:
5/3/2013
5.0/5.0
Riley with Unique Events was amazing! He did such an amazing job with the up lighting and DJ service! The have the most amazing lights and the highest quality equipment, everything looked and sounded amazing!
He was extremely professional, he kept in contact with us throughout the entire year of planning and met with us several times to make sure everything happened exactly the way we wanted it to.
He kept the night running so smoothly with transitioning from one event to another. He was the glue that held that reception together and kept it moving forward. I do not know what we would have done with out him!
We have received so many compliments on how amazing Riley was throughout the entire night. He does not just play music, he kept our guests entertained and engaged in the reception the entire time, not to mention, he kept the dance floor packed! He had so many great ideas on how to make our reception fun and unique!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Whitney
Wedding:
11/17/2012
5.0/5.0
Couldn't have asked for a better vendor to work with!!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
130x130_sq_1331140609861-img1003
Katie Jo
Wedding:
10/26/2012
5.0/5.0
Unique events always got back to me within the day. They were extremely helpful and flexible. The event went smoothly because of our DJ who was very organized and professional but yet fun and enthusiastic. Great vendor - truly what made my wedding so perfect! Thank you!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
We used Unique Events to provide uplighting for our reception. Customer service was great, the staff were very helfpul in deciding the appropriate color and spacing of the lights. Would highly recommend!
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kate
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
We chose Unique Events to DJ our wedding and were incredibly happy with their service! Not only did they take the time to thoroughly understand our game plan and vision for our wedding, they also made suggestions on how to make the night run even more smoothly. Their confidence and organization really put us at ease. We felt like our DJ, Riley, was really running the whole show and really allowed us to relax and enjoy the night. We have been to many weddings in the past that seemed to really drag on due to lack on DJ involvement. And, on the flip side have also encountered weddings that had too much involvement, UE took the time to understand what level we wanted and executed it perfectly! We easily transitioned from dinner to dancing and the guests followed suit.
Numerous guests said they had never seen a dance floor so packed! The catering coordinator at our venue even commented that the energy was amazing and wished all weddings had that same amount of enthusiasm and overall fun feeling. We owe a lot of that to Riley and UE- they really made our night everything we dreamed of! The music selection was perfect and we received a lot of compliments! We would definitely recommend Unique Events, and Riley in particular, for your DJ needs! Thanks Riley and team for making our Big Day even more amazing!!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Wonderful job!! I would recommend Unique Events to every couple planning to get married!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dan
Wedding:
10/6/2012
5.0/5.0
Thanks for everything that you guys did. We were supper happy and all the guests had a great time. You guys were great and we are very happy with went with Unique Events. Travis was great. From the initial consultation to our wedding night, we highly recommend Travis and UE.

Thanks Again,
Dan and Kate Holtkamp
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
More than just a "DJ". Travis helped plan the flow of the reception, and was courteous enough to ask us "how much involvement" we wanted from him. He offered to be the "Master of Ceremonies" leading the overall flow of the reception. He also said he would be fine "just hanging back, and playing music from a pre-selected playlist". The lighting was amazing. Had a plethora of other services to offer that we did not use but sounded amazing to have if you want to spend a little extra to make it a truly "Unique Event"
Services Used: DJ, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kelsey
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
We asked UE to provide the uplighting in the ballroom & the music for our entire event... ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception. Riley was our DJ and he did a fabulous job. We didn't have to worry about a thing, he orchestrated everything (including some last minute curve balls)... what a blessing! Thank you, thank you, thank you Unique Events for playing a pivotal role in making my daughter's wedding a beautiful night to remember!!!! So great!!!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Thea
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Our wedding was based in Northeast Iowa, where there are not a lot of different wedding vendors. So we looked far and wide for Lighting vendors for our reception facility. We checked out companies in Des Moines, Minneapolis, La Crosse, and Iowa City. By far, Unique Events had the best price and they had more lighting options and better packages than the competition. On our wedding day we were very happy and impressed with the service. Our reception hall looked phenomenal.
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrew
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Our DJ, Rob, was very professional, well-dress, and musically knowledgeable. He played a perfect mix of songs and was well-versed in wedding details as he helped us with the flow of our reception. His song mix was so good that one of our guests asked for a list of them for their own wedding! Well done, Rob!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Scott
Wedding:
9/15/2012
5.0/5.0
Travis and Unique Events are the premier DJ service in the Iowa City Area. From our first meeting with Travis we were very much at ease in knowing our reception was going to be amazing. The night of the event he played the style of music we were envisioning and our guests are still talking about how much they were dancing all through the night! If you are in the need of a DJ do not look anywhere else, Unique Events is hands down the best in the business.
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Judy
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Excellent service!!! Thank-you so much! We hope to work with you again in the future!
Services Used: DJ, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kerry
Wedding:
8/25/2012
5.0/5.0
Unique Events of Iowa provided DJ services during our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception and did a great job! Both Travis Newell and Robert Abellana were a joy to work with and super helpful! My husband and I had a lot of music we wanted to hear during our reception and Rob did a great job meeting all our requests! Everyone had a great time at the reception in large thanks to Unique Events. They definitely know how to get people on the dance floor! We would definitely recommend UE to anyone looking for a great DJ in Iowa!
Services Used: DJ, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
Staff was amazing!!! We were very pleased with unique events-they made it so easy and worry free!
Services Used: DJ, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Genevieve
Wedding:
8/24/2012
5.0/5.0
It was an absolute pleasure working with Unique Events and they were a big part in making my wedding the perfect day. They helped make every transition run smoothly, were completely professional and are excellent at reading the crowd and knowing how to get people on the dance floor. My wedding was in Dubuque on a Friday evening and I was so happy that they were willing to drive 1.5 hours to do my event. Thank you so much Travis for taking a major part in big day and making it the wedding of my dreams.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jennifer
Wedding:
8/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Everything was perfect, family and friends commented highly.
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jona
Wedding:
8/18/2012
5.0/5.0
Absolutely awesome! Worth every penny we spent on their services. They are very professional and delivered beyond my highest expectations.
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tracy
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
This DJ met specific requests that I asked but was also helpful and flexible to give me suggests when I needed them. They thought of every detail ahead of time and allowed for a fun and smooth event. I would highly recommend them!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
8/10/2012
5.0/5.0
Unique Events made our night unforgettable! They planned our reception to ensure we had the kind of night we wanted! Our DJ was amazing! The dance floor was packed all night long! Our DJ even took photos after the photographer left!! That is above and beyond service! I could never thank them enough!
Services Used: DJ, Photography, Wedding Planning, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kyle
Wedding:
8/4/2012
5.0/5.0
Riley was fantastic! For all the years I've known him, he is always up-beat, energetic, and professional. It was a true pleasure to have Riley and UE be a part of such a memorable day.
Services Used: DJ, , Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dana
Wedding:
7/28/2012
5.0/5.0
We booked the DJ Service, Photobooth, Uplighting, and Centerpiece lighting. The room looked beautiful with the uplighting and the centerpiece lightings. I was able to make a custom color for the uplighting to fit our decor. The Photobooth was packed all night. We had a guest book too that our guests could put their photos in and that was really fun to look at the next morning. DJ Sevice was outstanding. I, the bride, was on the dance floor all night long.
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lacey
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
My husband and I both agree that Unique Events was one of the best decisions we made when it came to vendors. They did an outstanding job leading up to the wedding and the day of. They took great care of us the entire wedding and we didn't have to worry about anything. Our guests had the time of there lives and couldn't stop talking about how well coordinated the reception was and how great the music was. We may have only hired them to DJ but they made the entire reception run flawlessly and the music and dancing was awesome. People always say you get what you pay for and in this situation we received even more.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mikaela
Wedding:
7/14/2012
5.0/5.0
Awesome to work with. Made our event!!!!!!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristy
Wedding:
7/7/2012
5.0/5.0
I can honestly say I had the best DJ services out there! I've been to multiple weddings and the music/party atmosphere Travis created totally made my event. Unique Events fully understands that DJ service isn't just about sitting at a table, playing whatever list of music was provided. They understand how to feel the crowd and cater the music to that specific group. I had so much fun I couldn't get off the dance floor! Great service! I recommend them to anyone!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Erica
Wedding:
6/29/2012
5.0/5.0
From the moment we had our consultation with Travis, we knew we had to have these guys DJ our wedding. They have so many services to choose from, and were willing to be as hands-on as we wanted them to be during the planning process. Our DJ, Rob, was really, really great. He was fun and easy to work with, and he was professional and flexible. It started storming right before our outdoor ceremony and everything had to be moved in at the last minute. Rob was excellent about going with the flow and making the transition from outdoor to indoor as easy as possible. During the reception he did an excellent job of keeping the evening flowing well and playing the songs my husband and I wanted while mixing in requests from our guests and reading the crowd and playing songs he knew they'd enjoy. After a month and a half, I'm still getting compliments from our guests on how fun our reception was, and that's all thanks to Unique Events!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rachel
Wedding:
6/24/2012
5.0/5.0
Bill from Unique Events provided the DJ service for our wedding. Bill was great, I had been on bedrest and he was willing to meet with us at our house prior to the wedding. He helped make sure the wedding ran smoothly and did whatever he could do to help make sure that I was able to stay off my feet as much as possible and enjoyed the reception. He really helped to make sure that our day was as special as it could be. The music was great.
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Unique Events helped turn our wedding into an amazing event! They were able to provide us with lounge furniture, up-lighting, and the Bliss lighting effect. The lounge furniture was modern and created a perfect area for guests to mingle. The lighting set the tone for the entire event. They have hundreds of color options and many other awesome services for couples to choose to from. Unfortunately, they were unable to D.J. our wedding, but I can only imagine they are fantastic. Travis was very professional, flexible, and willing to work with us on whatever we needed. They even agreed to provide us services on a weekend when they were booked with an employee wedding. We were so grateful they were able to make it work and agreed to provide their services for our wedding. They truley go above and beyond! Our pictures are amazing thanks to the all the incredible lighting. I would recommend everyone work with Unique Events if you want an incredible wedding and wonderful people to work with!!
Services Used: Lighting & Decor, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Patricia
Wedding:
6/10/2012
5.0/5.0
We were very pleased with how Travis provided such quality DJ services for our daughter's wedding in June. He got us all together a few weeks before the wedding to go over the songs and plans. He was able to offer good advice based on his great and varied experiences providing DJ services to many weddings and other events. He is easy to talk to and very hospitable. He worked very hard, followed through as we planned and maintained a very professional and personable relationship with me and our daughter and our son-in-law. He encouraged them to dance and told us that if the bride and groom keep dancing, the party is much more lively. Everyone had a terrific time. Thanks so much, Travis! You are the best! And thanks for working with Becky and my husband to plan and carry out a surprise for their Father/Daughter dance. It was so fun!
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Travis was very helpful and answered all my questions before we booked with them. Rob was our DJ- he was great. Our dance floor was full the whole night and he worked within our music requests and the crowd. We did the uplighting too which looked great!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christina
Wedding:
6/9/2012
5.0/5.0
Travis and Unique Events were fantastic! They were the only ones in the area that offered the lounge furniture we were looking for. They also asked for our opinions on some new options they were buying that we wanted to use for our wedding. We had a great lighting run-through with Travis where he was very honest and up front about what would look good and what wouldn't. In the end, the overall effect of the entire uplighting package was stunning.
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
Bg8
Courtney
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
Great Job Travis and Staff! The Photobooth really made the Wedding!
Services Used: Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Unique Events were amazing. We met with Travis about lighting and Riley was our DJ. We met prior to the event and he was very prepared and impressive. He ran the reception for toasts, dances, etc and let us just focus on our guests. I could not have asked for a better DJ. The photo booth we rented was a highlight that all the guests loved and the lighting (up-lighting, LED lights on the tables and textured lighting) transformed the ballroom. All in all - I cannot imaging a better company to work with.
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brooke
Wedding:
5/27/2012
5.0/5.0
Travis did an amazing job with the uplighting and it was the best price for the amount of lights we got. Wonderful!
Services Used: Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ella
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
Very professional. The uplights they provided looked amazing. We rented both the photo booth and the white leather seating (lounge areas). Photo booth was a hit with young and old at the wedding. The lounge furniture is lovely. Riley was a great DJ - kept the party going - was so nice to work with. Overall a great experience - we would recommend Unique Events to anyone!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mooners2012
Wedding:
5/5/2012
5.0/5.0
We cannot say enough how amazing our wedding both looked and rocked! Travis was amazing from the first consultation to the last song he played! The uplighting and dance floor wash were absolutely stunning-we got SO many compliments! Our dance floor was packed all night and everyone had a blast! We would definitely recommend Unique Events and especially Travis to anyone needing that 'extra something' to make their event unforgettable! Wish we could get married again just to have them for the awesome party! Thank you SO much!!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I could not have been happier with Unique Events for my wedding! We received so many compliments on our DJ and photo booth! I would recommend them to anyone! Wonderful experience all around!
Services Used: DJ, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
acrow
Wedding:
1/7/2012
5.0/5.0
Riley is an amazing DJ. EVERYONE at the wedding complimented his choice of music. If you want to have an awesome dance party at your wedding UE is the way to go. They are great about keeping in contact and will meet up with you at least twice before your big day. I felt like Riley really got to know us before the wedding and did a great job of communicating throughout the reception without being overbearing. We had people from ages 13-85 on the dance floor all night long. It was such a great time and I really owe it all to UE. We were also the first wedding to try out their new videobooth! If you feel like a videographer is too expensive, but you still want videos, this is the way to go. It was so great for all of the guests to give us a 30 second talk. The bride and groom tend to get caught up with socializing, and it was a nice way for people to say what they had to say. Great memories for sure. Travis did a fantastic job with coordinating that so all we had to do was show up. Last but not least, the uplights. They looked beautiful and really made the room glow. I had such an amazing wedding and I owe so much of it to Unique Events. THANK YOU SO...
Services Used: DJ, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
9/24/2011
5.0/5.0
I would recommend Unique Events to ANY bride planning a wedding! Travis was very responsive to our needs and did an amazing job keeping the reception flowing throughout the evening. We have absolutely no complaints about their services, and would use them all over again given the opportunity! I was a bridesmaid in another recent wedding in which Unique Events provided services, and the outcome was just as positive. They truly provide great service and quality for their customers.
Services Used: DJ
130x130_sq_1241803598889-dscn0631
HiBrideIowa
Wedding:
10/24/2009
5.0/5.0
Amazing DJ... only the Best!! Every age range there loved the music- they can look at a group of people and know what will be a hit!! So professional and always on top of things! I am a UE fan for life! They DJ'd my sisters wedding and when it came to time for my own I went there again... I've sent many many people to them and not one was disappointed! :-)
Services Used: DJ
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
If you are planning a wedding for the future, look no further. Unique Events is your one stop shop and will take care of you as if it is their own wedding. My husband and I attended on their workshops on a Sunday afternoon and after 30 minutes of being there in the warehouse we were sold. I never took the time to look into another DJ/lighting service provider. We worked with several of the guys at UE and all of them were so nice and flexilble, very willing to please. For our big day we worked Travis H. and he is awesome! He put me at complete ease and never once did I worry about the music, slide show, wedding agenda. He took care of everything and did it with such cooth. He even got drinks for our familes. Travis rocks! We couldn't have been happier!
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
Unique Events does an amazing job of catering their services to the needs and desires of their clients.
Services Used: DJ, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Courtney
Wedding:
7/14/2012
4.7/5.0
Using Unique Events is a MUST. We couldn't have asked for better service, more enjoyable people to work with who were easy going, flexible, and were truly dedciated to making our wedding exactly what we hoped it would be.
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Whitney
Wedding:
7/20/2012
4.5/5.0
From start to finish, UE was great and so easy to work with! Being that I live out of town, they were extremely accommodating and flexible with my schedule. When I had questions, they were answered within one business day. The actual event was spectacular! I didn't have to worry or plan a thing, I was actually able to enjoy my time with family and friends! Thank you UE!
Services Used: DJ, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Rentals & Photobooths

MAP

 
3305 Highway 1 SW Ste #4, Iowa City, IA 52240 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Unique Events
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1322784254151-731561490365451415241490351984749922965856581574n