130x130_sq_1323723902122-marqueesmallwithphotocredit

Uptown Theater

Kansas City , MO
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

3700 Broadway Street, Suite 300
Kansas City, MO US 64111 (map)

PHONE

816-753-8665

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

The Uptown has five distinctive rooms to showcase your unique style. Whether you want classic elegance or historic theatrical flair, the Uptown is the ultimate setting for your wedding... Read more
The Uptown has five distinctive rooms to showcase your unique style. Whether you want classic elegance or historic theatrical flair, the Uptown is the ultimate setting for your wedding and/or reception. We offer full service catering & beverage packages tailored to your individual taste & expections, as well as in-house planning & coordination included! See your name in lights at the Uptown! Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1354731873105-spotlighttheaterdance
130x130_sq_1354731849189-threaterceremony
130x130_sq_1274284402405-uptownb
130x130_sq_1274284400936-uptowna
130x130_sq_1323724053520-balconysmallwithphotocredit
130x130_sq_1323724125077-snapphotography1
130x130_sq_1323724747565-snapphotography3
130x130_sq_1274284399576-marquee
130x130_sq_1323724033583-marqueesmallwithphotocredit
130x130_sq_1354731541210-theatercenterpiececakebalcony
130x130_sq_1354731565698-theaterdancepartyreception
130x130_sq_1354731818489-theaterlobby
130x130_sq_1354734299034-marqueeartistic
130x130_sq_1354734353349-ceremonystage
130x130_sq_1354734386008-theater
130x130_sq_1354735583024-theaterstagesetup
130x130_sq_1354735836958-theater2
130x130_sq_1354736533670-centerpiecetheater
130x130_sq_1354736591897-theaterflowers
130x130_sq_1354741735695-theater10
130x130_sq_1354741740508-theater11
130x130_sq_1354741743743-theater12
130x130_sq_1354741747161-theater13
130x130_sq_1354741750907-theater14
130x130_sq_1354741754854-theater15
130x130_sq_1339783701580-b13
130x130_sq_1341253439699-broadway1
130x130_sq_1341253451531-broadway2
130x130_sq_1341253517824-centerpiece1
130x130_sq_1354734672805-broadwayhightops
130x130_sq_1354734519982-broadwayarchwindow
130x130_sq_1354734587280-broadwaybuffet
130x130_sq_1354734470304-broadwayarchatnight
130x130_sq_1341253463401-broadwaybar
130x130_sq_1341253662013-cupcakes2
130x130_sq_1341253570184-freshfruit2
130x130_sq_1354734619012-broadwayceremony
130x130_sq_1354736649975-broadwayarchflowers
130x130_sq_1339783473680-broadway1
130x130_sq_1339783495244-i69e611e9b9da42a6bab29cf1f5b0706d1
130x130_sq_1339783654113-b1
130x130_sq_1339783704879-b14
130x130_sq_1339783524039-picture2091
130x130_sq_1339783675004-b7
130x130_sq_1339783657490-b2
130x130_sq_1339783664120-b4
130x130_sq_1339783661185-b3
130x130_sq_1341253795663-ka1
130x130_sq_1339783667691-b5
130x130_sq_1341253798659-ka2
130x130_sq_1341253807784-ka6
130x130_sq_1341253811002-ka7
130x130_sq_1354741825456-broadway10
130x130_sq_1354741828244-broadway11
130x130_sq_1354741830857-broadway12
130x130_sq_1354741834202-broadway13
130x130_sq_1354741837114-broadway14
130x130_sq_1354741839474-broadway15
130x130_sq_1354741842647-broadway16
130x130_sq_1354741845625-broadway17
130x130_sq_1354741850322-broadway18
130x130_sq_1354741853670-broadway19
130x130_sq_1354741856334-broadway20
130x130_sq_1354741859198-broadway21
130x130_sq_1354741863546-broadway22
130x130_sq_1354741866769-broadway23
130x130_sq_1354741869577-broadway24
130x130_sq_1354741872962-broadway25
130x130_sq_1343155406827-valentine
130x130_sq_1343155387672-valentine4
130x130_sq_1343155431193-valentine7
130x130_sq_1343155422936-valentine10
130x130_sq_1343155459063-valentine19
130x130_sq_1339783965940-v3
130x130_sq_1339783955830-v1
130x130_sq_1339783971240-v4
130x130_sq_1343155442344-valentine25
130x130_sq_1354734745397-valentineceremony
130x130_sq_1354734767772-valentinebuffet
130x130_sq_1341253931055-fullcateringspread
130x130_sq_1354734856632-cheesedisplay
130x130_sq_1354734886951-fruitdisplay1
130x130_sq_1341254096109-shrimpcherrytomatobruschetta
130x130_sq_1341254022972-pastabuffetsetup
130x130_sq_1341254166687-tequilalimechicken
130x130_sq_1354734940726-theaterbuffetroom
130x130_sq_1339783873547-f3
130x130_sq_1339783877453-f4
130x130_sq_1354741902066-chefmark
130x130_sq_1339783898978-f8
130x130_sq_1339783902037-f9
130x130_sq_1339783905494-f10
130x130_sq_1354736939863-lettucewrap
130x130_sq_1354741939754-broadway19
130x130_sq_1354741945823-broadway20
130x130_sq_1354735413892-conspiracy1
130x130_sq_1354735473291-conspiracy2
130x130_sq_1354736451947-conspiracy3
130x130_sq_1354736455897-conspiracy4
130x130_sq_1354735530759-cabaret1
130x130_sq_1354735618616-cabaretroom2
130x130_sq_1354742058579-billybritneymusthavephotocredit
130x130_sq_1354742138991-billybritneymusthavephotocredit2

REVIEWS

4.5
out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.5/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Bert
Wedding:
6/14/2014
5.0/5.0
Albe and her staff at the Uptown Theater were a delight to plan our daughter's wedding with over the last year. They were highly organized and professional and the wedding ceremony in the Broadway room with the reception in the Theater room was a perfect event for us. The food was great and the lighting creative and Trudy was a gem to help at the rehearsal and wedding. We loved everything about our choice there and now have memories to last a lifetime.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Becca
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Made our day so wonderful! Beautiful venue, great food, helpful and organized staff.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laurel
Wedding:
5/18/2013
5.0/5.0
My wedding at the Uptown in the main theater was magical!

I highly recommend Kim and the Uptown staff. She was so organized, I had zero stress the day of the wedding. I was able to sip champagne in the green room while having my hair and make-up done, carefree. The event ran smoothly and my guests had a blast. I wasn't crazy about the food when we had our initial tasting. I expressed this to Kim and she assured me that she would make it right - and she did. We had an additional private tasting and the food was excellent at the wedding.

The theater space is dramatic, elegant and fun. We were married on the stage and the staff quickly flipped the room for the reception. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the Uptown - they made my wedding an unforgettable experience!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brandi
Wedding:
12/15/2012
5.0/5.0
If you are looking for a venue that provides excellent all around service, the Uptown Theater is the place for you! I just got married in the Valentine Room and I couldn't have been happier with the outcome. The food was great and the lighting and atmostphere was absolute perfection! I've received nothing but compliments and I have the Uptown staff to thank for that. Natalie (coordinator) ensured that everything ran smoothly. She was extremely patient and just a calming presence. Overall Natalie, Kim and everyone else we worked with was so nice and helpful and they really made my wedding day special!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Barbara
Wedding:
8/11/2012
5.0/5.0
The Uptown was so perfect for our daughter's wedding. She had the wedding ceremony and reception here. I was a little concerned about everything being done in one room but the room flip went so easily and fast! These people are professionals! Kim made everything PERFECT for us. She handled absolutely everything for us. The entire event went flawlessly! I would definitely use this venue again if I only had another daughter. I cannot say enough about how valuable Kim was to us. Her staff is so amazing also. You can relax and enjoy the event without a single worry!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sonya
Wedding:
6/19/2010
5.0/5.0
Kim Anderson and the rest of the staff at the Uptown Theater were absolutely amazing both leading up to our wedding with their responsiveness and helpfulness, as well as making our wedding go smoothly and turn out so special! This is a very unique venue and Kim and the rest of the Uptown staff definitely exceeded our expectations in every aspect. We had both our ceremony and reception in the Theater Room, and Kim was always there to respond to email and phone call questions, even for the smallest details, and had everything planned out, organized and ready to go to fit our needs and make sure everything was perfect! We had input in absolutely every relevant detail, and everything went great! I would recommend the Uptown Theater as a great venue for anyone who wants a unique wedding that's going to be smooth, easy and wow all of your guests!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
emmyb85
Wedding:
5/1/2010
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good things about the Uptown Theater. Kim, the event coordinator, is absolutely THE BEST!!!! Everything ran smoothly and beautifully. She was always there to answer questions and keep things moving, but was never intrusive or pushy. Absolutely AMAZING!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenvir
Wedding:
1/9/2010
5.0/5.0
I'm so glad that we went with the Uptown's Broadway room for both our ceremony and reception. Kim Anderson is amazing and went with all our ideas, even the odd-ball ones. Everything went so smoothly and the staff was so nice to everyone. The food was spectacular. I love the Uptown!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
missmanders83
Wedding:
8/8/2009
5.0/5.0
Working with the Uptown staff was the best experience in planning my wedding. I have been to many weddings and everyone agreed that I had the best food at mine provided by the Uptown's kitchen. Kim was great! She answered all of our questions, showed us the room three times as my family, husband and myself are on different schedules. And helped us to get the best price in town!! Anytime I need to rent a space I will return.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
clb121s
Wedding:
8/1/2009
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding reception in the theater at Uptown on August 1, 2009, and it was AMAZING. We booked a year and a half in advance and Kim Anderson worked with us throughout the whole time period. She was wonderful to work with and very accommodating. She and the Uptown staff took care of coordinating with all of our vendors the day of the wedding, and she even arranged to set up all of our rental items that did not have set up included (e.g., table overlays, favors, etc.) at no additional charge. The food was delicious - we got so many compliments from our guests! We were also able to get ready in the Uptown dressing rooms prior to the wedding which was a lot roomier than trying to do it at the hotel. Though the venue fee is a little high compared to other local venues, it is totally worth it. I had no need for a wedding planner/coordinator with Kim's help, so in that sense it saved me a little money!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1213044047002-img_4701
Emi Jo
Wedding:
6/20/2009
5.0/5.0
The staff at the Uptown was more than accommodating and happy to help in anyway they could! Plus they had a lot of great recommendations.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths
Default-vendor-profile-pic
taradyan
Wedding:
1/31/2009
5.0/5.0
We had our reception in the Broadway Room. It was fantastic. The food, catered in house, was wonderful and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Kim Anderson, the coordinator, is AMAZING. She is very helpful.

For a bride looking for an all-inclusive, hands-off reception, The Uptown is one of the best venues in the city.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janelle
Wedding:
11/3/2007
5.0/5.0
We LOVED having our wedding at the Uptown. They could not have been easier to work with, and what an amazing venue! I had so many people compliment us on it. It really was just like being in a fairy tale. They offered so much for us too...parking attendants, lighting specialist, we got to get in at 10am, awesome food... It really was very nice having both the ceremony and the reception in the same place. We got married in the main theater, so I can't speak for the other rooms. But everything that I experienced, was just wonderful from them.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristen
Wedding:
3/4/2007
5.0/5.0
The Uptown is fabulous!! I cannot comment enough on their services. Their staff was so professional and helpful. They went out of their way to accommodate us. Our guests are STILL raving about the food. Their food was to die for!!! They are expensive, but if you're looking for a one-stop-shop to provide everything for you, it's so well worth the money. I loved everything about working with them. They are very detailed oriented and make sure that everything goes off without a bump in the road. Thanks a lot Uptown!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Terry
Wedding:
5/21/2011
4.9/5.0
The Uptown is a beautiful facility with several options for receptions. We used the Broadway room, which is a beautiful room with floor to ceiling arched windows. Kim handled our entire reservation with amazing professionalism and flexibility. The staff that evening were outstanding and went above and beyond to work with us in all details. I would give them a 5 on quality of service except a couple of the food items were not as ordered. That said...they were still very good and all went off without a hitch. We would go back to the Uptown in a minute!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Janie
Wedding:
3/14/2014
4.8/5.0
The reception for my daughter's wedding was at the historic Uptown Theater in the theater. The venue was perfect for our vintage wedding theme! What a fun place to have a wedding reception! Albe and her staff worked very hard to make sure everything went smoothly. The food was excellent. You can bring in your own desserts and we did a gourmet popcorn bar which our guests loved. They even ordered the exact champagne that we wanted. It was an event to remember!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Abby
Wedding:
5/17/2008
4.8/5.0
Uptown theater was an amazing venue for our wedding. Kim was so organized and always on top of things which made the process very stress free. I felt like anything that we requested the Uptown made sure that it happened. Not to mention that the venue is so beautiful. I would highly recommend the Uptown Theater for a reception venue.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jayme
Wedding:
9/30/2006
4.7/5.0
The Uptown Theater was a wonderful place for our reception! It was absolutely beautiful, the food was great, and we did not have any problems. They were also very helpful in planning for the big day.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.7/5.0
We loved working with Kim at the Uptown! The food was excellent and the service was great!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Deanna
Wedding:
6/21/2008
4.6/5.0
I had my reception in the Broadway Room, and it was awesome. The staff was very nice, and I like that they took care of all the setup and takedown, so we didn't have to stay and clean up anything. The food was good as well, and they had a nice variety of menu items to choose from. It was nice because I didn't have to search for a caterer in addition to a reception site. One problem we had was that there was no Diet Soda at the bar, and we have several diabetics in the family, but the staff at the uptown took care of it, and sent somebody to go get some. The room was very beautiful and everything was set up just as we wanted it. Overall, it was a nice place to have a party, and everyone told us that they really enjoyed it.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
erica
Wedding:
7/11/2009
4.5/5.0
overall, an easy and fun experience ...
pros : all in-house, very flexible and helpful, easy to work with, great pre-event coordination, friendly staff at the day-of event
cons : pre-event scheduling issues from the uptown, cake crumbs and icing on the window sills (which the groom ended up cleaning off before the event) ...

random side note : we were told that our names could appear on the main marquee if there were no other events scheduled that evening. when we arrived, our names appeared on the side marquee. we were told that "advertising" issues took precedence over us. no big deal ... just a bummer.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ambermonkey
Wedding:
6/3/2006
4.0/5.0
We used the theater and the venue was gorgeous. The food was great. The only problem we had was with a rehearsal. We had to do the rehearsal on a Monday through Thursday before 5:00. It was a bit tough, especially with out of town wedding party memebrs.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leigh
Wedding:
8/6/2007
3.5/5.0
The planning process was fantastic. The coordinator was very easy to work with and was very accomodating. The meals are catered in house, and I was a little skeptical, but that was my favorite part of the reception. The buffet tables were decorated above and beyond what I expected, and the food was wonderful.

One complaint: the receptions are booked for 4-hour time slots, although there is only one event per day per room. We were told that if we wanted to stay beyond the 4-hour mark, that would be okay. At the end of the evening, the wait staff began packing up and rushing us out before we were ready to leave. Would have liked to have a coordinator contact the day of, but she wasn't there.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
8/17/2012
3.0/5.0
My husband and I were so pleased with planning process at the Uptown Theater. Kim Baldwin is the coordinator there and she is so easy to work with. She has seriously thought of everything, but never makes you feel like you are asking a stupid question. She is also extremely responsive and fun to plan with.

You do use the Uptown's catering - it's not the most amazing food in the world, but the chefs will work with you if you want to tweak stuff.

As far as the overall 3/5 rating: I would recommend this venue; HOWEVER, I would add that you should specifically request any card box/gift table be in full view of a security camera (the venue is equipped with them). We had an issue with cards being stolen out of our card box and were disappointed to learn that only half of our gift table was in view of a camera. (I should be clear that I think Kim is a 5/5 - my markdowns are a reflection of the above incident).
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Katherine
Wedding:
9/8/2013
3.0/5.0
Kim was great in the beginning. But then about a week before the wedding I could not get a hold of her and I had to continually talk to other people in the office. As any bride would know this was beyond frustrating because I would have to explain a simple question to this different person I was talking to. The food was great. The venue was great. We received several compliments on how everything was beautiful but I became very frustrated and stressed when I could not get a hold of Kim (who I had been dealing with since the beginning) and she was also not the person at our event, so again I had to discuss details with a new person.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1235149159671-131
Stephanie
Wedding:
6/21/2008
1.6/5.0
Let me start off by saying that Kim, the main wedding planner is awesome, Larry the owner however is rude and extremely unprofessional. We had our ceremony & reception at the Uptown in the main theater space. The room was beautiful and the food was excellent.

However, the day of the wedding Kim was unable to attend and no one stepped up to the plate. Therefore, we had no one to communicate with or to answer any questions or concerns. When you book the theater you use the backstage dressing rooms for getting ready. We took all of our group photos before the ceremony and during this time a man dressed like a staff member (and most likely was working at or had previously worked at the Uptown) came into the women's dressing room and stole three wallets and a digital camera. My father walked in on him holding a trashcan in the men's dressing room before he was able to steal anything. Not knowing of the theft at the time the man walked. He was caught on security camera leaving the building on a fire exit stair.

The wallets that were stolen included my wallet (the bride) adn the wallets of my MOH and a bridesmaid. The camera was my MOH's and contained all of the photos of my bachelorette party. The total loss was almost $800. Plus the theif made three different charges on our cards at a nearby gas station.

After filing three police reports, speaking with the owner numerous times, and seeking help through a local news station we received no reimbursement for the theft let alone for the pain and suffering it caused. I had no driver's license, credit cards, bank cards while on our honeymoon. I almost wasn't even allowed on the plane because I had no photo ID. Plus it took almost three weeks to get most items replaced. Plus, to this day guests still ask about the theft, which is not a pleasant thing to have associated with your wedding day.

Yes, it is a nice venue, but if anything goes wrong, don't expect them to take care of you.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue

MAP

 
3700 Broadway Street, Suite 300, Kansas City, MO 64111 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Uptown Theater
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1323723902122-marqueesmallwithphotocredit