130x130_sq_1355522695951-600x6001355522655610404959101504967047309141916933454n

Urban Studio & Pearl Catering

Portland , OR

LOCATION

935 NW Davis Street
Portland, OR US 97209 (map)

PHONE

503-860-0203

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Urban Studio, located in the heart of the Pearl District, is your wedding ceremony and reception venue. Contemporary and chic, Urban Studio is the ideal location for your special... Read more
Urban Studio, located in the heart of the Pearl District, is your wedding ceremony and reception venue. Contemporary and chic, Urban Studio is the ideal location for your special day.

With two spacious areas, including a sunken grand floor and cocktail reception area, Urban Studio can accommodate up to 300 people standing, and 200 for a seated reception. Both areas are separated by a stunning wrap around bar dressed in dark bamboo and sparkling white granite. Vaulted ceilings, soaring windows and natural light create a light and airy ambiance, bringing a quiet elegance to your wedding.

Located on the Portland Streetcar line, and in the hub for restaurants, bars, shopping, and steps from downtown hotels, Urban Studio is the perfect spot for out of town guests. With a flexible floor plan, Urban Studio can accommodate your guests in a variety of ways including ceremonies, dinner receptions and cocktail parties.

Call us today, and let us plan a remarkable wedding you’ll never forget.

503.860.0203 or check us out online at: www.urbanstudiopdx.com

*SPECIAL OFFER!*
20% off the rental rate for any remaing 2014 Summer dates! Just mention you saw this on Wedding Wire.

Catering:
Pearl Catering, our exclusive in house caterer, delivers a menu of crowd pleasing favorites richly influenced by fresh, local Northwest ingredients, beautifully presented and full of flavor! Read less
Catering , Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1326395296031-heatherjamesforweb374
130x130_sq_1326405856538-201110222645copy
130x130_sq_1326395780377-rebekahjohnsonphotography0022
130x130_sq_1326395340425-heatherjamesforweb603
130x130_sq_1326395860059-rebekahjohnsonphotography0009
130x130_sq_1326406040246-urbanstudioslowres7
130x130_sq_1327613930281-332
130x130_sq_1326405959814-25hjblog
130x130_sq_1326405828363-201110222620copy
130x130_sq_1326405699263-theriekes2480
130x130_sq_1326396138726-c015
130x130_sq_1326405764448-theriekes2992
130x130_sq_1326405796345-201110222546copy
130x130_sq_1326395757063-heatherjamesforweb703
130x130_sq_1326405898159-201110222660
130x130_sq_1326406187673-urbanstudioslowres16
130x130_sq_1326407114274-briccadeline4
130x130_sq_1327613294055-337
130x130_sq_1326405922452-16hjblog
130x130_sq_1326407227800-briccadeline2
130x130_sq_1326405646148-r023
130x130_sq_1326396597409-f119
130x130_sq_1326406001917-17hjblog
130x130_sq_1377897595321-jill--dougs-wedding---for-web-118
130x130_sq_1326407240873-briccadeline3
130x130_sq_1326406076543-urbanstudioslowres10
130x130_sq_1326405970016-11hjblog
130x130_sq_1326405818196-201110222614copy
130x130_sq_1326406755112-briccadeline
130x130_sq_1333146557535-201202254699copy
130x130_sq_1351805695081-110611armstrongw10782
130x130_sq_1351805741638-110611armstrongw105552
130x130_sq_1351805793323-livsgrademmaspromlivswedding313
130x130_sq_1351805829196-livsgrademmaspromlivswedding413
130x130_sq_1351805859761-livsgrademmaspromlivswedding440
130x130_sq_1351805881758-110916briccadelinew62654
130x130_sq_1377899809255-0209
130x130_sq_1351805883279-110916briccadelinew90659
130x130_sq_1351805885242-110326leewallacew52229
130x130_sq_1351805902921-110326leewallacew77237
130x130_sq_1351806141739-101113wattperry2nd1517
130x130_sq_1351806154295-101113wattperry2nd11922
130x130_sq_1377898699376-sharni-ryan-wedding-gallery-chapter-7-reception-details-0004
130x130_sq_1377899813899-crudite
130x130_sq_1351806201031-weddingreception035
130x130_sq_1351806234441-ac6591
130x130_sq_1351806314175-f119
130x130_sq_1351806351781-livsgrademmaspromlivswedding327
130x130_sq_1355522655610-404959101504967047309141916933454n
130x130_sq_1377898724372-sharni-ryan-wedding-gallery-chapter-7-reception-details-0019
130x130_sq_1377899015616-siders0244
130x130_sq_1377898940999-siders0074
130x130_sq_1377897720094-jill--dougs-wedding---for-web-129
130x130_sq_1377898619270-1
130x130_sq_1377898648480-jill--dougs-wedding---for-web-127
130x130_sq_1377898775340-da75110
130x130_sq_1377898825220-da75835
130x130_sq_1377898880166-siders0003
130x130_sq_1377899796630-wedge-salads

INFO FOR CATERING

What catering services do you provide?
Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French Service, Hors d'oeuvres - Displayed, Hors d'oeuvres - Passed, Plated, Stations
What bar services do you provide?
Cash Bar, Limited Bar, Open Bar
What alcohol services do you provide?
Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium Liquor, Rail Liquor, Specialty Beer, Specialty Wine
What types of cuisine do you cater?
American (New), American (Traditional), Asian, Italian, Mediterranean, Mexican, Pan-Asian
Do you accommodate dietary needs?
Gluten Free, Lactose Free, No Pork, Organic, Vegan, Vegetarian
Do you offer a tasting for potential clients?
Yes, we offer menu tastings ($30/person).
Are you also able to provide the wedding cake?
While we don't provide wedding cakes, we do have several dessert menus to choose from, as well as a dessert bar menu!
If a bride decides to bring her own wedding cake, do you have a cake cutting fee? If yes, how much is the fee?
Yes, we will cut your wedding cake! This service is included in our dinner packages.
Are you licensed to sell alcohol? If yes, where are you licensed?
Yes, we are licensed to serve and sell alcohol at Urban Studio, and at off-site events through our liquor license with Pearl Catering.
Do you allow outside alcohol? If yes, what is the corkage fee?
We allow outside wine, and our corkage fee is $15/bottle.
Do you provide rentals for items such as linens and flatware?
All serviceware, including china, glassware, and flatware is included with our catering! We are happy to coordinate the rentals of tables, chairs, and linens.
Are you able to provide your own wait staff?
Yes, we provide servers and bartenders, as well as an event host during your event at Urban Studio.
What is your maximum catering capacity?
200

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
1999
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall
Describe the style of your venue
City, Classic / Traditional, Modern
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
300
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
2
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
1200
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
30
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Event Rentals
Outside vendors welcome
Lighting and Sound
Outside vendors welcome
Linens
Outside vendors welcome
Seating
Outside vendors welcome
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Outside vendors welcome

REVIEWS

4.4
out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.4/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jane
Wedding:
6/21/2014
5.0/5.0
We had a great experience working with Pearl. My now husband is a foodie and wanted to have a thai inspired dinner for our wedding. Pearl worked with us (through two tastings) to get the food exactly how we wanted it; they even had my husband speak to the chef get it right. They also allowed us to fly in a frozen appetizer to fry up (a food from my hometown) and serve at the wedding.
Food service went smoothly at the wedding as did bar service. We also greatly enjoyed that Pearl offers a children's buffet. This was perfect for feeding our youngest guests. Overall, our experience with Pearl catering was great.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sandy
Wedding:
9/28/2013
5.0/5.0
We had our wedding ceremony and reception at urban studios on 9/28/13. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. We got married 5 months after we were engaged so we didn't have a ton of time to plan. We looked into urban studios and they were booked but Via called me when they had a cancellation for the weekend we wanted. From there it was smooth sailing. Did I mention that we were planning this wedding from Boston??? Via was very quick to respond to all of my emails and really gave me peace of mind with all oft he planning. The venue itself was gorgeous and we really didn't have to decorate much at all, but there are also the opportunities to create whatever look you want. It was a great deal financially and the food and staff were amazing too! I definitely recommend this venue for a downtown portland wedding.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Urban Studio & Pearl Catering responded with the following comments:

Sandy, you were such a delight to work with -- so organized and on top of every detail. Thanks for celebrating with us!!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
I can't say enough about how wonderful our wedding came together at Urban Studio. It was a magical day that we and our guests will cherish memories of for the rest of our lives.

We've got to thank Via for being there throughout the planning process. With so many decisions to make, it was great to have such a professional there to help.

Our friends and family were very impressed with the venue, and they couldn't stop talking about the food. I've never been impressed by the food at weddings ... but everything we had, from our cocktail appetizers to our dinner entrees, were full of flavor and superbly prepared. The bartenders were great as well, and added to the fun atmosphere.

We wholeheartedly recommend Urban Studio as a venue for your special day. Most definitely an excellent value for your event budget.

Michael and Ashley
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Urban Studio & Pearl Catering responded with the following comments:

Thanks, Ashley & Michael! We appreciate your wonderful feedback - and wish you both all the best in your new life together!! :)
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Chelsie
Wedding:
7/5/2013
5.0/5.0
Via was super flexible, and willing to work with us on a variety of things. We definitely had a beautiful wedding, and everything went exactly as we planned. We would definitely recommend via at urban studio again!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Megan
Wedding:
6/22/2013
5.0/5.0
Working with Pearl Catering was a great experience from beginning to end. The food at our wedding was great and everyone loved it. Thanks Pearl Catering!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jill
Wedding:
3/30/2013
5.0/5.0
Urban Studio and Pearl Catering! Fantastic! A great space for a smaller crowd. My wedding was March 30, 2013, and it was just the right size for my 60 guests (with and addition of 15 vendors working the event). Initially, I saw the space 5 days before my wedding. It was hard to imagine what it would look like, but the day of my wedding, the space was filled with my ideas and inspiration, it was beautiful, gorgeous! The staff made it so exceptionally easy for me. Pearl Catering catered my event. The food was fantastic! I have had nothing but compliments from my guests, and how they were so impressed with the venue and food. If you are looking for a artsy, fun place for any event, this is your place.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1365624227755-avatar
Heather
Wedding:
3/28/2013
5.0/5.0
We selected The Foundry for our venue and they had a list of preferred caterers. We reviewed the menu selection and pricing, and found Pearl Catering to fit best with our food preferences and budget. We arranged a taste testing with Lilie Boni at Brix Tavern.

We arrived to find she had prepared custom tasting menus for us to keep :) We tried our selection of 4 appetizers, 4 sides, and 3 entrees. We narrowed down our selection, although all of it was wonderful.

Our guests raved about the MINI CRAB CAKES with lemon basil aioli and WOOD GRILLED SHRIMP on bamboo with cilantro Key lime aioli. Although the bridal party didn't get to enjoy these items, cause we were completing post ceremony paper work (license) and photos.

The entrée selections received great feedback from our guests as well. We had CHICKEN MADEIRA with wild mushrooms, tomatoes and Italian parsley in Madeira red wine sauce and HERB AND BALSAMIC MARINATED FLAT IRON STEAK. But the one item I could eat all day long and not get tired of was the ROASTED POTATOES WITH LEMON AND MARJORAM. They were to die for! We had thought ahead of time and brought to-go dishes for any leftovers. They were just as great the next day at the newlywed luncheon my sister hosted for us.

Lilie handled the rental of linens and cake stand through West Coast Event Productions and collaborated seamlessly with our day-of coordinator (Creations by Ly) and The Foundry for chair/table layout of ceremony and reception.

If you are looking for quality service, amazingly tasting food, and prices that won't put you under water, I highly recommend Pearl Catering. You won't be disappointed!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Gina
Wedding:
3/3/2013
5.0/5.0
I fell in love with Urban Studio the minute I walked in. The space is gorgeous! The crystal chandeliers- beautiful, the large windows , the built in bar- very contemporary and the neutral colors were just what I wanted. My wedding day was truly the single most wonderful day in my life. My husband and I cannot thank the staff enough for all that they did for us. They created a signature cocktail for us to match the light green accent color which was delicious . My mother forgot the candles for our ceremony and one of the servers went to the store and came back with candles for us (just in the nick of time). We had our ceremony and reception in the same area and without skipping a beat the room was set for dinner. I recieved multiple raves about the food... the salmon was delicious! The day was an amamzing whirlwind and I wouldn't change a thing.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Collin
Wedding:
11/3/2012
5.0/5.0
There aren't enough synonyms in the thesaurus for "positive" that would describe our experience working with Via Hersholt, Pearl Catering and Urban Studio. Via is attentive to every detail, responsive to every inquiry, gracious and patient with every request and facilitative with every idea. The Urban Studio space is infinitely customizable, cool, modern and sophisticated. We also found that it was very convenient for our guests as well as other vendors, and Via made our setup and cleanup process extremely easy. Our guests loved the menu that Via helped us create and the bar service was fantastic. We will never forget our reception at Urban Studio or the world class experience we had working with Via. It was truly worth every penny! Cheers! Christy and Collin Krum
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Urban Studio & Pearl Catering responded with the following comments:

Christy & Collin...thank you for the awesome feedback! You guys are the best. Hope all is well!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
This is the perfect venue for a wedding/reception and as a bride that planned her own wedding, I would HIGHLY recommend it. The level of service, quality of food and beverages, as well as competitive prices make this an ideal place for any event. Here are some of the highlights from our event:
- Everyone thought the food was amazing. I think this is incredibly impressive considering it was buffet style with salmon (which is regularly dry) as an option. People also commented that food was constantly being replaced to keep everything fresh and full.
- Great communication with servers: Lead server touched base with me when everyone needed to be seated for dinner, let me know where all provided items were located (e.g. champagne glasses), etc. Apps served and bar opened without having to say anything. Additionally, our cake was boxed up for us without asking .
- Timing was perfect: the room was flipped in the timeline we had discussed with all appropriate items set up (e.g. flowers, table numbers, name cards, etc).
-One of the bartenders brought a drink to the table for me during dinner when he thought someone might have accidently picked mine up from the bar (I had it but it was so thoughtful of him to make sure I had the cocktail I wanted during dinner).
-Via, the event coordinator was absolutely amazing to work with. She was always straight forward, helpful, and calm, which made my life so much easier. She was flexible when we needed it: allowing us to visit the venue with out of town family members so they could get a feel for where we were getting married, doing the menu tasting with us on a Saturday since we live out of town, accommodating last minute menu cards and chair signs, etc. It was all very much appreciated.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mary
Wedding:
11/11/2011
5.0/5.0
Staff: Cant' thank them enough. Went above and beyond the call of duty. Extra up lighting was added without charge to complete the look of our ceremony/reception site. This was done by the manager on duty that night. It really did make the room look better! There was also a coat rack that was provided (unbeknownst to me until the end of the night) for the guests as they came in- another thoughtful touch. A bridesmaid had requested some OJ & glasses. No questions asked and carafe of OJ was provided on request along with champagne glasses for a pre-ceremony toast. Staff was always present (but I never felt as if I was always seeing them- a welcomed ghost staff) and accommodating and following right on schedule. Via our point of contact while planning our wedding was always beyond helpful. She was able to put in a few changes for us with the menu (kuddos to the chef for letting us change them!), showing us endless examples of previous weddings, adding requested beverages (also thanks to Urban Studio for providing additional brands of alcohol) and getting all of our questions answered.
Food: amazing! I was the first plate to be served (buffet style) and the last person to actually sit down and eat! My plate was still pipping hot by the time (about 10 min from plating to eating) I was able to dig in! Something that was very important to us was hot food! People still rave about the food- mostly the chicken (we had the champagne chicken with a requested no mushrooms). We also had the braised beef tips and changed the sauce to the pepper cognac sauce. Very delicious but slightly dry- I imagine any beef would be hard to keep juicy in a buffet style. Spinach and strawberry salad-yum! White cheddar and Gruyere Au gratin potatoes with Parmesan-yum! and Orzo pasta with basil pesto and hazelnuts- Yum!! All very good choices!
Balloon drop: Yes we had one!! It was a little hard to time the way we imagined but it was so amazing and so much fun for the guests!
Would defiantly recommend Urban Studio!!! Our wedding was so amazing I want to do it again!!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1304657625940-037
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I LOVE Urban Studio and Pearl Catering! My husband and I had both our ceremony and reception there. Via Hersholt was amazing at coordinating both the ceremony and reception for us. She was very professional, yet down-to-earth. She was very responsive to any questions or concerns we had and flexible and open to inviting our other vendors to the venue for coordinating our beautiful day! The food was incredible and the day went off without a hitch! The best part about it was that everything ran so smoothly that you didn't even notice the staff working at the wedding. Love this place! I would recommend it in a heartbeat to anyone!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Urban Studio & Pearl Catering responded with the following comments:

Thank you so much, Jessie! I loved working with you last year, and wish you and Ricardo the very best!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jenn
Wedding:
6/29/2013
4.8/5.0
Huge thanks to everyone at Urban Studio for making our wedding such a huge success. Pre-planning went very smoothly, and we were happy with how the night turned out. Pearl Catering's appetizers and entrees were a hit, we received lots of compliments from guests on how great everything tasted. The staff was very flexible and more than willing to help with any and all things thrown their way. Amidst the chaos that is wedding planning, it was very comforting to work with professionals who knew the venue and their services so well. Thank you!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Silvana
Wedding:
4/26/2014
4.7/5.0
We worked with Katie from Pearl Catering and she was great. It was very convenient to because she also coordinated the furniture rental for us.

The bar and waiting staff on the day of the event was very professional, and the food was yummy.

We did use a different location than the Urban studio, and in hindsight we should not done that. We should've either used the urban studio with Pearl catering, or the caterer that came recommend with our location. It required a bit more planning and coordination because Pearl catering was not familiar with our venue. From a lay out point of view we ended up in a sub optimal lay-out, but that's not the fault of Pearl catering or the venue. It was a planning mistake from our end.

Katie and Pearl catering have been very flexible and responsive throughout the process and on the day itself.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
tschlyper
Wedding:
10/8/2011
4.7/5.0
Urban Studio was our dream reception location. Our guests were able to easily take the street car from our ceremony in the Park Blocks and they LOVED the central, downtown location.

Our guests raved about the food and we were extremely pleased with the set-up of the room. Working with Via was a joy and I felt that at all times she had our best interests at heart. I knew that the studio would look beautiful for our special day- and it did not disappoint.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs.Whaley
Wedding:
7/30/2011
4.7/5.0
I loved how this venue was unique and very different from the places all my friends have gotten married. I do not like doing the "usual" thing, so this was perfect for me. The atmosphere was chic and fun. My parents and all of my guests were extremely impressed with the food and they said it was one of the best, funnest weddings they have been to.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amber
Wedding:
6/12/2011
4.6/5.0
We had such a great experience with Urban Studio. Via was our coordinator, and she was so helpful as we tried to plan a wedding cross-country. The food was awesome (really above the average for buffet!) and the service at the bar was really great. The space is so unique and chic - the colors are neutral and will fit whatever your color scheme is. There are couches and bistro tables to provide additional seating and a cool vibe. DJing with your own laptop or ipod is pretty easy. Great location, and the free streetcar stops right there! A great value and personable professionals!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jmarr
Wedding:
7/23/2011
4.2/5.0
We had our ceremony and reception at Urban Studio. The guests raves about the food, the bartenders kept the drinks flowing and the space looked beautiful.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrew
Wedding:
3/9/2013
2.2/5.0
Do not use Urban Studios for your event. The Event Coordinator (Via) is very difficult to communicate with and tends to withhold valuable information. Event space is dirty and bathrooms smell. Most of the event staff is unfriendly and lazy. Management took 2.5 weeks to responds to complaints and didn’t take any ownership. It is a shame that such a nice space in a central location is run so poorly.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laurie
Wedding:
3/9/2013
1.5/5.0
This venue was difficult to work with. If you want to do all the planning/setup and use the blank space, maybe. Be prepared to clean the bathrooms, sofas, and whatever is left dirty from the night before. The place is cheap to rent- I get that. You get exactly what you pay for...10$ IKEA side tables and all.

They will say 'we do events like this every day' which the intent is to put you at ease but in end makes you feel like your event is insignificant.

We were told all the tables, chairs, linens, etc., would be set up so when my florist and coordinators showed up at 1pm they could add all the special details. We were told we were not allowed to hit the scene until 1pm, but NOTHING was ready for us when we arrived. Westcoast event productions was wonderful and really saved the day. WCEP staff spent additional time setting up for us when Urban studios staff was no where to be found.

The experience was full of frustration. I will not recommend US to any bride as there is already enough stress associated with the planning process. To top it off, Urban studios management doesnt care how events turn out. They took weeks to respond to our complaints. We had 4 different people with multiple complaints about their aspect of the process- the day of coordinator, the wedding event coordinator, the florist, and the bride. Our concerns were disregarded.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Demi
Wedding:
8/10/2013
0.0/5.0
The worse service in history. The only thing my 90 guests complained about. With the exception of the bartenders the servers were rude and unprofessional. They did not replenish the catering table timely. For the money we were extremely disappointed. The food however was excellent. Due to service I would not recommend.
Services Used: Catering

DEALS

20% Off Remaining Summer 2014 Dates
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store   $2,500 Value
Mention Wedding Wire and we'll give you 20% off the rental rate for remaining available Summer 2014 dates.

Offer Expires: 10/01/2014
Deal #WW8c163ef2d7b88042
220x220_1355522695951-600x6001355522655610404959101504967047309141916933454n

MAP

 
935 NW Davis Street, Portland, OR 97209 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Urban Studio & Pearl Catering
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo