130x130 sq 1386030767969 beecher hill house wedding leavenworth

Vail Studio

Oak Harbor , WA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

1838 Hastie Lake Rd
Oak Harbor, WA 98277 US (map)

PHONE

360-320-0374

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

We are an Award winning, international, husband and wife team of photographers voted among the best in the northwest two years running by Evening Magazine. I am a second-generation... Read more
We are an Award winning, international, husband and wife team of photographers voted among the best in the northwest two years running by Evening Magazine. I am a second-generation photographer, with over ten years experience photographing weddings and over 20 years in the industry. Vail Studio is a family owned and operated photography studio that has been doing business in Western Washington for over 20 years. We are full time, professional photographers who absolutely LOVE what we do!!

Vail Studio caters to the bride who LOVES photography, fashion, fun, beauty, romance, and style. We don’t do cookie cutter wedding photography…we do THE ART OF YOU!

Our Goal for your wedding day is that not only will you have beautiful portraits....crafted works of art, but that those otherwise unnoticed moments will come alive and help tell the story of your day in a way that you can relive for years to come....

Proud Members of:
WPPI (wedding and portrait photographers international) NAPP (national association of professional photoshop users) PPW (professional photographers of Washingtion) To learn more about us visit: www.vailstudios.com Feel free to shoot us an email: erikvail@vailstudio.com Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1323466738977 boathouse
130x130 sq 1386029036935 dsc1733 edi
130x130 sq 1323466766930 redwall
130x130 sq 1386029463976 greenbank farms whidbey island wedding 2
130x130 sq 1323466772180 sunnyday
130x130 sq 1386029512327 whidbey island greenbank farms wedding 1
130x130 sq 1386029126965 056dsc0104 edit
130x130 sq 1386029265502 154dsc0655 edit
130x130 sq 1386029290570 beecher hill house wedding leavenworth 2
130x130 sq 1386029298516 beecher hill house wedding leavenworth 4
130x130 sq 1386029307649 beecher hill house wedding leavenworth 5
130x130 sq 1386029318867 beecher hill house wedding leavenworth 6
130x130 sq 1386029329886 destination wedding day savannah georgia
130x130 sq 1323466748586 hawaii
130x130 sq 1323466756946 leilani
130x130 sq 1386029338334 dragonfly retreat seattle bothell wedding 1
130x130 sq 1386029344758 dragonfly retreat seattle bothell wedding 2
130x130 sq 1386029353206 dragonfly retreat seattle bothell wedding 2
130x130 sq 1386029360502 dragonfly retreat seattle bothell wedding 2
130x130 sq 1386029368040 everett monte cristo ballroom wedding portrait 1
130x130 sq 1386029378718 garden wedding mount vernon washington 3
130x130 sq 1386029387519 garden wedding mount vernon washington 4
130x130 sq 1386029407139 garden wedding mount vernon washington 5
130x130 sq 1386029419268 garden wedding mount vernon washington 7
130x130 sq 1386029429591 garden wedding mount vernon washington 8
130x130 sq 1386029440615 garden wedding mount vernon washington 32
130x130 sq 1386029448461 greenbank farms whidbey island wedding
130x130 sq 1386029456297 greenbank farms whidbey island wedding 1
130x130 sq 1386029459812 greenbank farms whidbey island wedding 1
130x130 sq 1386029469854 seattle wedding st james cathedral 1
130x130 sq 1386029480359 seattle wedding st james cathedral 2
130x130 sq 1386029491600 seattle wedding st james cathedral 2
130x130 sq 1386029502260 whidbey island fireseed catering wedding 1
130x130 sq 1386029506815 whidbey island greenbank farms wedding
130x130 sq 1386029516794 whidbey island greenbank farms wedding 1
130x130 sq 1386029521284 whidbey island greenbank farms wedding 1
130x130 sq 1386029526358 whidbey island greenbank farms wedding 1
130x130 sq 1386029215582 153dsc0652 edit

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Matted Prints, Prints
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
Yes, in fact we believe our editing process is one of the things that helps us to stand out in our industry.
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
Yes! Every wedding has it's unique and challenging lighting conditions. I have been a working full time wedding photographer for 12 years now so I have encountered most every lighting condition.
Is your media preference film or digital?
I began as a photographer in the days of film and I still love it but now I choose digital for weddings for it's quality, flexibility, and speed.
How many photographers do you work with?
Vail Studio is a family owned and operated studio. My father is our high school senior and family photographer, and my wife Ali and I specialize in wedding photography. We always have two photographers at weddings.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Yes
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
No
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Yes! Vail Studio has three full time photographers, and although I am our main wedding photographer all three of us are accomplished and capable photographers.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
Top of the line professional grade Nikon cameras, lenses, and lighting.
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
We have at least two of every piece of equipment.
Do you charge hourly or full day?
Wedding packages include an entire day but we can do hourly rates
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
Wedding packages include and entire day start to finish so there is no need for extra hours.
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
We don't typically take breaks on wedding day, we usually try to eat while traveling between venues, and we usually eat at the reception while everyone else is eating. We do typically eat the food served at the reception but it's not a requirement.
Do you charge for travel?
Not in Washington state. Outside of Washington we do charge travel but the fees are negotiable.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
2 to 4 weeks
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
Digital Negatives
How long can the client keep the proofs?
Forever
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
Yes, but I share the right with the clients
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
No
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Yes
Will images be available for viewing online?
Yes
What kind of albums do you offer?
We have lots, and lots of album choices but typically wedding albums are custom designed leather bound flush mount albums
When will the client get the final album?
6 to 8 weeks after they choose the images to be place in the album.

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.9/5.0
Sort by
130x130 sq 1401293501640 croppe
Kylene
Wedding:
10/18/2014
5.0/5.0
What can I say about Erik, Ali and the Vail Studio team aside from PERFECTION?

From the moment we met Erik and Ali at a vendor event we were sold. Their photographs had this incredible artistic quality and their personalities were so easy to connect with. We booked with them soon after that event and first had our engagement shoot. My husband and I are not big photo takers so we thought it would be really awkward. However, Erik and Ali did a phenomenal job of making us feel comfortable in front of the camera. The pictures that came out of that session were TO DIE FOR. Stunning. Amazing. No word to describe them. They aren't the standard photos you see for engagement and wedding. They had this amazing level of creativity and eye for perspective that we (especially my husband who is an artist) are drawn to every time we see them.

Our continued work with them leading to the wedding was fantastic. Prompt email responses, very accommodating, and so fun to be around. A young, vibrant couple who obviously loves what they do.

Wedding day we couldn't have been happier with our service. They arrived on time and got right to work. They brought a third associate to ensure there were enough cameras everywhere they needed to be. Our formal pictures went off without a hitch and during the rest of the evening they were nowhere and everywhere at the same time. What I mean is that my husband and I never noticed them consciously but their presence was everywhere, catching every candid moment that we are going to want to see.

They were kind and respectful to our guests, very professional, and such a joy to have there on our big day.

Update 12/8/2015 - We received our photos today and are BEYOND thrilled with the results. They are stunning ... absolutely phenomenal. The Vail team captured our day better than we ever could have imagined and we are SO GRATEFUL for their attention to every single detail. I'm such a happy bride!

I would recommend this pair to anyone.
What can I say about Erik, Ali and the Vail Studio team aside from PERFECTION?

From the moment we met Erik and Read more...
What can I say about Erik, Ali and the Vail Studio team aside from PERFECTION?

From the moment we met Erik and Ali at a vendor event we were sold. Their photographs had this incredible artistic quality and their personalities were so easy to connect with. We booked with them soon after that event and first had our engagement shoot. My husband and I are not big photo takers so we thought it would be really awkward. However, Erik and Ali did a phenomenal job of making us feel comfortable in front of the camera. The pictures that came out of that session were TO DIE FOR. Stunning. Amazing. No word to describe them. They aren't the standard photos you see for engagement and wedding. They had this amazing level of creativity and eye for perspective that we (especially my husband who is an artist) are drawn to every time we see them.

Our continued work with them leading to the wedding was fantastic. Prompt email responses, very accommodating, and so fun to be around. A young, vibrant couple who obviously loves what they do.

Wedding day we couldn't have been happier with our service. They arrived on time and got right to work. They brought a third associate to ensure there were enough cameras everywhere they needed to be. Our formal pictures went off without a hitch and during the rest of the evening they were nowhere and everywhere at the same time. What I mean is that my husband and I never noticed them consciously but their presence was everywhere, catching every candid moment that we are going to want to see.

They were kind and respectful to our guests, very professional, and such a joy to have there on our big day.

Update 12/8/2015 - We received our photos today and are BEYOND thrilled with the results. They are stunning ... absolutely phenomenal. The Vail team captured our day better than we ever could have imagined and we are SO GRATEFUL for their attention to every single detail. I'm such a happy bride!

I would recommend this pair to anyone. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Alison
Wedding:
9/13/2014
5.0/5.0
Erik and Ali are amazing! A sentiment repeated again and again by other seriously happy clients. From the first contact with Erik and Ali we noticed they were different... in a great way! Both interested in learning about us, finding a connection and building open communication that made us feel at ease. The consistent follow up was wonderful and helpful questionnaires made it easy for us to organize our thoughts especially while planning all the other details of a wedding.

Our wedding day was wonderful and I felt like having Ali and Erik there to guide us and keep us on track during each photo location made the entire day easy and comfortable... there were also plenty of laughs along the way... finally the end result I just received my pictures and WOW! From the depth of colours captured, the unique composure of each photograph and their knack for catching a tender moment Erik and Ali really have something special... you can tell they love what they do and each other!!

So words of wisdom from yet another more than satisfied client, save yourself the worry, hassle and the time and book Vail Studio and I know in a few months you'll be leaving yet another wonderful review.. keep up the incredible work Ali and Erik!
Erik and Ali are amazing! A sentiment repeated again and again by other seriously happy clients. From the first contact Read more...
Erik and Ali are amazing! A sentiment repeated again and again by other seriously happy clients. From the first contact with Erik and Ali we noticed they were different... in a great way! Both interested in learning about us, finding a connection and building open communication that made us feel at ease. The consistent follow up was wonderful and helpful questionnaires made it easy for us to organize our thoughts especially while planning all the other details of a wedding.

Our wedding day was wonderful and I felt like having Ali and Erik there to guide us and keep us on track during each photo location made the entire day easy and comfortable... there were also plenty of laughs along the way... finally the end result I just received my pictures and WOW! From the depth of colours captured, the unique composure of each photograph and their knack for catching a tender moment Erik and Ali really have something special... you can tell they love what they do and each other!!

So words of wisdom from yet another more than satisfied client, save yourself the worry, hassle and the time and book Vail Studio and I know in a few months you'll be leaving yet another wonderful review.. keep up the incredible work Ali and Erik! Read less
Services Used: Photography
130x130 sq 1372788908720 engaged1
Tiffany
Wedding:
8/23/2014
5.0/5.0
We do not even have words for how amazing our pictures are from Vail Studio photography.

I tear up every time I go back through them. I feel like the day went by so fast and through our wedding pictures, we are able to relive every moment of that day. From trailing down the snohomish river, to our first look, to climbing hay stacks in a barn. They captured the tears, the love everyone shared, the wild dancing, and every moment in between. We are so happy we met Ali and Erik; their professionalism, passion, and skill set are beyond any brides wildest dream. We will continue to share their work with anyone and everyone we can. My husband and I will proudly say we would book them over and over and over again!
We do not even have words for how amazing our pictures are from Vail Studio photography.

I tear up every time I Read more...
We do not even have words for how amazing our pictures are from Vail Studio photography.

I tear up every time I go back through them. I feel like the day went by so fast and through our wedding pictures, we are able to relive every moment of that day. From trailing down the snohomish river, to our first look, to climbing hay stacks in a barn. They captured the tears, the love everyone shared, the wild dancing, and every moment in between. We are so happy we met Ali and Erik; their professionalism, passion, and skill set are beyond any brides wildest dream. We will continue to share their work with anyone and everyone we can. My husband and I will proudly say we would book them over and over and over again! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Lauren
Wedding:
8/16/2014
5.0/5.0
I don't even know where to start with this review because there are so many things to rave about in my experience with Vail Studio. I looked at SO many photographers and their reviews/blogs/galleries leading up to my wedding and decided on Vail after all my research. If you are doing the same thing right now, stop researching and just go with Vail. They are seriously amazing and you will be so happy with everything from day one until you get your photos back. Here are just a few of the things that made our experience with Vail amazing:

-Erik and Ali felt it was super important to have face to face meetings leading up to the wedding. The fact that they cared enough to spend that time to get to know their couples was HUGE - any awkwardness that could have been there on wedding day was gone b/c we felt like we were friends with our photographers.
-Wedding day - Erik has a way of taking photos and letting you do your thing without feeling like you have a photographer following you around or telling you what to do or how to pose. It made everything super relaxed and, yes, even made picture taking fun. You can tell in our pics that we were just happy and having fun, it all came through in the photos.
-THE PICTURES! - The day couldn't have been captured more perfectly. Words can't explain how much fun we had getting our pictures back after the wedding and re-living our wedding day through them. They captured every emotion from the day and special details that I wasn't able to see on the wedding day. How amazing to be able to see all those details and family/friends interacting in these photos. We've had tons of compliments on our pictures and couldn't be happier with them.

Every single photo taken was perfect and we still can't stop looking at them. Simply amazing work. I know how important it is to choose the right wedding photographer and I highly, highly recommend Vail for your wedding. You will be SO happy you went with them.
I don't even know where to start with this review because there are so many things to rave about in my experience with Read more...
I don't even know where to start with this review because there are so many things to rave about in my experience with Vail Studio. I looked at SO many photographers and their reviews/blogs/galleries leading up to my wedding and decided on Vail after all my research. If you are doing the same thing right now, stop researching and just go with Vail. They are seriously amazing and you will be so happy with everything from day one until you get your photos back. Here are just a few of the things that made our experience with Vail amazing:

-Erik and Ali felt it was super important to have face to face meetings leading up to the wedding. The fact that they cared enough to spend that time to get to know their couples was HUGE - any awkwardness that could have been there on wedding day was gone b/c we felt like we were friends with our photographers.
-Wedding day - Erik has a way of taking photos and letting you do your thing without feeling like you have a photographer following you around or telling you what to do or how to pose. It made everything super relaxed and, yes, even made picture taking fun. You can tell in our pics that we were just happy and having fun, it all came through in the photos.
-THE PICTURES! - The day couldn't have been captured more perfectly. Words can't explain how much fun we had getting our pictures back after the wedding and re-living our wedding day through them. They captured every emotion from the day and special details that I wasn't able to see on the wedding day. How amazing to be able to see all those details and family/friends interacting in these photos. We've had tons of compliments on our pictures and couldn't be happier with them.

Every single photo taken was perfect and we still can't stop looking at them. Simply amazing work. I know how important it is to choose the right wedding photographer and I highly, highly recommend Vail for your wedding. You will be SO happy you went with them. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Tyler
Wedding:
7/19/2014
5.0/5.0
If you are considering using Vail Studio for your wedding or event, you should just stop thinking about it and book them today. We had Erik and Ali photograph our wedding and they are awesome! We could not have been happier with the whole process and the results were AMAZING. We all know that taking pictures can be awkward, but they really make you feel relaxed and in the end, we ended up really enjoying the whole process. They did a great job of handling all of the details of what pictures were being taken when, with who, etc, so that we didn't have to think or worry about it for even a second during the day. Did I mention the pictures turned out AMAZING?

The quality of their work is beyond top notch and we couldn't have chosen better people to capture our big day. We ended up with many pictures that are true works of art, not just another average wedding photo. Another cool thing that is worth pointing out is that we got many compliments from our guests on how "awesome" the photographers were and how they managed to blend in and interact with our the guests. This may seem like an odd thing to point out, but it really made for great candid photos instead of people running away from the photographers during the event. They captured all the little details and also many things that we were too busy to notice.

We looked at a bunch of different photographers when we were planning our event and ultimately chose Erik and Ali because the quality of their work is simply a step above a lot of the others that we looked at and they instantly make you feel comfortable with them. There is not a high enough rating for how great they were and how incredible our pictures turned out.
If you are considering using Vail Studio for your wedding or event, you should just stop thinking about it and book them Read more...
If you are considering using Vail Studio for your wedding or event, you should just stop thinking about it and book them today. We had Erik and Ali photograph our wedding and they are awesome! We could not have been happier with the whole process and the results were AMAZING. We all know that taking pictures can be awkward, but they really make you feel relaxed and in the end, we ended up really enjoying the whole process. They did a great job of handling all of the details of what pictures were being taken when, with who, etc, so that we didn't have to think or worry about it for even a second during the day. Did I mention the pictures turned out AMAZING?

The quality of their work is beyond top notch and we couldn't have chosen better people to capture our big day. We ended up with many pictures that are true works of art, not just another average wedding photo. Another cool thing that is worth pointing out is that we got many compliments from our guests on how "awesome" the photographers were and how they managed to blend in and interact with our the guests. This may seem like an odd thing to point out, but it really made for great candid photos instead of people running away from the photographers during the event. They captured all the little details and also many things that we were too busy to notice.

We looked at a bunch of different photographers when we were planning our event and ultimately chose Erik and Ali because the quality of their work is simply a step above a lot of the others that we looked at and they instantly make you feel comfortable with them. There is not a high enough rating for how great they were and how incredible our pictures turned out. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Erik
Wedding:
6/6/2014
5.0/5.0
Awesome AWESOME photographers and great people to boot. I would highly recommend to anyone.
Awesome AWESOME photographers and great people to boot. I would highly recommend to anyone.
Awesome AWESOME photographers and great people to boot. I would highly recommend to anyone. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Sandy
Wedding:
6/5/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I contracted Erik Vail to take photos for our very small, personal wedding in June 2014. Erik and his wife, Ali, were very personable, flexible and professional from initial contact to our interactions on our very special day.
Erik's ability to hear our vision and then elevate it to the next level was incredible.
We had a wonderful experience and the pictures are amazing. We would HIGHLY recommend Erik Vail Photography.
My husband and I contracted Erik Vail to take photos for our very small, personal wedding in June 2014. Erik and his wife, Read more...
My husband and I contracted Erik Vail to take photos for our very small, personal wedding in June 2014. Erik and his wife, Ali, were very personable, flexible and professional from initial contact to our interactions on our very special day.
Erik's ability to hear our vision and then elevate it to the next level was incredible.
We had a wonderful experience and the pictures are amazing. We would HIGHLY recommend Erik Vail Photography. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
5.0/5.0
Erik and Ali photographed our wedding at a gorgeous little chapel. We had about 40 guests and with such an intimate event, we needed a photographer that could capture the emotions of the day. They did that and more. Our pictures are beautiful. Erik saw amazing shots that I think many people would have missed. He got everything in a very short period of time. We were super late for our wedding pictures and gave him very little time to work with before the wedding started.. From the posed pictures with family and the wedding party to candid shots of our guests, Erik and Ali managed to be everywhere. I don't know how they did it! Plus, they are a joy to work with. I was so stressed when I arrived late and they both calmed me down immediately and made the experience so much fun. Exactly what a bride needs on her special day. My pictures are absolutely gorgeous and so many people compliment us about them. Thanks so much Erik and Ali. You are both fantastic!!!
Erik and Ali photographed our wedding at a gorgeous little chapel. We had about 40 guests and with such an intimate event, Read more...
Erik and Ali photographed our wedding at a gorgeous little chapel. We had about 40 guests and with such an intimate event, we needed a photographer that could capture the emotions of the day. They did that and more. Our pictures are beautiful. Erik saw amazing shots that I think many people would have missed. He got everything in a very short period of time. We were super late for our wedding pictures and gave him very little time to work with before the wedding started.. From the posed pictures with family and the wedding party to candid shots of our guests, Erik and Ali managed to be everywhere. I don't know how they did it! Plus, they are a joy to work with. I was so stressed when I arrived late and they both calmed me down immediately and made the experience so much fun. Exactly what a bride needs on her special day. My pictures are absolutely gorgeous and so many people compliment us about them. Thanks so much Erik and Ali. You are both fantastic!!! Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Keri
Wedding:
2/8/2014
5.0/5.0
We can't say enough great things about Erik and Ali Vail! They completely understood our vision for both our engagement and wedding photos. Their customer service is excellent, their eye for a great shot is superb, there attention to detail is outa this world, you can tell they just care. They were helpful with every step of the photography process for our wedding day, they are a great team! We would recommend these guys to anyone who wants great photos!!!! I will be hiring these guys again for all of our future photo needs. Oh and they are just fun people.
We can't say enough great things about Erik and Ali Vail! They completely understood our vision for both our engagement Read more...
We can't say enough great things about Erik and Ali Vail! They completely understood our vision for both our engagement and wedding photos. Their customer service is excellent, their eye for a great shot is superb, there attention to detail is outa this world, you can tell they just care. They were helpful with every step of the photography process for our wedding day, they are a great team! We would recommend these guys to anyone who wants great photos!!!! I will be hiring these guys again for all of our future photo needs. Oh and they are just fun people. Read less
Services Used: Photography
Default vendor profile pic
Colby
Wedding:
9/14/2013
5.0/5.0
We absolutely loved the service that Erik and Alli provided!!! They did both our wedding and engagement pictures. They made the entire event go smoothly and without a hitch. The pictures turned out flawlessly and they knew exactly what they were doing. They were very professional and nice people, and they made sure they did what we wanted. We are so grateful to them for taking such amazing pictures and being so flexible!! Thank you!
We absolutely loved the service that Erik and Alli provided!!! They did both our wedding and engagement pictures. They Read more...
We absolutely loved the service that Erik and Alli provided!!! They did both our wedding and engagement pictures. They made the entire event go smoothly and without a hitch. The pictures turned out flawlessly and they knew exactly what they were doing. They were very professional and nice people, and they made sure they did what we wanted. We are so grateful to them for taking such amazing pictures and being so flexible!! Thank you! Read less
Services Used: Photography

MAP

 
1838 Hastie Lake Rd, Oak Harbor, WA 98277 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Vail Studio
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1386030767969 beecher hill house wedding leavenworth