Nophoto-130

VALE COLE STUDIOS

Staten Island

LOCATION

STATEN ISLAND, US

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Photography

REVIEWS

3.5
out of 5.0
3.4/5.0
3.5/5.0
3.5/5.0
3.4/5.0
3.5/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
0.0/5.0
For those of you looking to pursue legal action, his name is Richard Auchmoody. He's no longer doing business by this name/number or website, as they are all shut down. He goes by the stage name of Fayden, and is in the music "industry". You can Google that name to find him. He will not show up to small claims or pay when you win in your favor. I wish everyone luck. The guy is a fake. If you are looking to make an album of your pictures, try Mujee album design. You can google them as well. They made an album for me with my pics and it came out great.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
5.0/5.0
thank you thank you thank you, Vale cole saved my wedding. the photographer we booked over 2 years ago got hit by a car the week of my wedding. My whole family was calling around the tri state area in search of a photographer. we did not want to end up on Graig list GOD FORBID or end up with my cousin doing the photos. my husband and i met with the photographer and really liked his personalty. 2 days later he was at our wedding,lol. it was only a 5 hour event but we got over 1000 pictures back and was very happy with the quality and service over all.thanx!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Claudette
Wedding:
10/26/2012
0.0/5.0
We had our wedding last night on October 26th, 2012. Contract and payment was done in full. Richard never showed up, however his videographer did but now he won't release the footage and stills of the wedding because our contract was with Richard and wanted to get paid before he can release anything. SCAM!!! DO NOT SIGN with Vale Cole Studios. Learned a valuable lesson never pay in cash but left with no pictures or video.

-- Saddened Bride :O(
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.6/5.0
Our photographers were great the day of the wedding. I personally booked this studio after a friend recommended them. They offered the best price for what we got compared to other photographers in the area. My husband was very happy because they included a second photographer that would go to his house with the boys and the other photographer was with the girls. We could not afford 2 photographers but this studio offered a second at no extra charge. THIS was the main reason we used them. Quality and cost plus a couple of normal nice guys to photograph your wedding made this a success
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Steve
Wedding:
6/2/2012
5.0/5.0
I had a great experience with Vale Cole Studios. They provide us with a best service for our wedding and they are very professional in this field. The staff is very friendly and highly qualified. The prices were great. I will definitely use them again in the future.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Photography, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
philip
Wedding:
11/12/2011
5.0/5.0
Excellent service, outstanding prices, great communication and did I mention outstanding prices? They have it all and I was there to take! Richard was referred to me by a friend of a friend at a Xmas party right around the time I was searching for a photographer to capture my wedding. I heard he was fun to work with and very talented, as well as offered COPYRIGHTS to his work. I am a graphic designer by trade so when I spoke to Richard he stated that he would give me over the raw files of the images so I could do my own edits and prints. I wanted mainly to print my own thank you cards so it was important to me to have the main images. All other studios I had talked with did not give the copyrights so I was stuck with them doing my edits and printing my albums and doing so at triple the cost. I ended up meeting with Richard 3 times, first by myself and then with my husband and finally my mother and sister. He was very open and easy to speak with and most of all he is not a traditional photographer. His photos are all candid with a hint of traditional thrown in. My sister was married 3 years ago and can only remember being dragged around all day and all night by her photographer while she missed he own wedding. That is not something that I was looking to have at my wedding. We booked Richard and his studio for our event based on these factors as well as his prices. He was about 20% cheaper then others we found for the same packages so all in all we could not pass him up. Now that I look back the day was a blur but the photos we have bring it all back to life. Richard is now a family friend who we brag about to everyone we know and once you work him you will know why.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
0.0/5.0
Do not hire this person. He is a liar and con artist. After a disastrous communication process from wedding until now, 6 months after the wedding, I have no video or album, nor will I ever. He claims he cannot finish the package as per contract and is refunding 250$. The last email I received from him clearly stated that the albums were ordered and on the way via UPS. The pictures are terrible, average quality that anyone could have taken. I have over 2000 pictures from the wedding. Sent all out of order, most of them blurry with horrible lighting. It took my husband and I hours to review and organize them, only to come up with 103 for an album. Most of them we just chose, because they were the key shots with family memebers, etc, not because they were amazing. What you see on his website is not what you get. Most of them needed editing. After choosing the pictures, I never heard anything from him regarding layout, just a few emails here and there, saying that he "is working on it". Forget trying to call him, never answers the phone, only emails, and they are short and he avoids answering questions. After my wedding I looked for reviews on him again, and there were at least 12 negative (very negative) reviews posted. A few months ago they were all removed from google and elsewhere. Nothing but positve reviews. So do not be fooled by this guy. Now my husband and I have to take our pics and raw video elsewhere and start again, and guess what? No way is that going to cost 250$ This guy is nuts. I paid for an edited video, 1 album ,and one parent album. I recived a letter in the mail (no phone call) with a check, and a "unable to finish your pakage due to a family emergency", here's a check, see you later. I'm utterly disgusted with this place, and Richard. Please do your research and check with the BBB, you will see he has an "F" rating.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Claire
Wedding:
10/15/2011
5.0/5.0
We are very happy with the service Vale Cole Studios provided for our wedding. They were professional, on time and made every one feel comfortable. They are not a traditional studio and shoot much more in the un-posed manner which i loved as did my husband. Price was based per hour and included all the location we could fit into the 8 hours. They did not charge for extra locations nor did they charge for the 25 min we went over in the end. We recommend them highly.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Lori D.
Wedding:
10/1/2011
5.0/5.0
Look no further as this is one of the nicest run and best quality photographer my now husband and I have found. I searched for almost a year and a half looking for vendors for my wedding day. I met with 20 photography studios from one edge of the island to the other and found2 that I really liked. Vale Cole was recommended by a friend and they really loved him. I finally met with the studio head and found it was far more what my husband and I where looking for. They are far from traditional and offer images on the fly I liked to say. It was important I found out they shoot in DLSR and use the best cameras available. Do your research and give these guys a call as they really fit that younger more energetic style most are searching for these days.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, , Favors & Gifts, Flowers, Invitations, Travel
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Steve
Wedding:
9/3/2011
5.0/5.0
So SO happy with Vale Cole and their staff. From the moment I contacted them I knew I was going to book with them. They are easy to get in touch with and literally hold your hand right up until your wedding day. My wedding hall changed unfortunately and the studio had no problem changing the date to the following month. I was lucky they had it available. I did not want photos of us getting ready or any of that but did most defiantly want photos down by the beach as well as near the bridge. The weather was perfect and the photos came out great. I often blink a lot during photos but only a few had that problem and there is nothing the photographers can do about that. They used natural light so they could take a lot of photos quickly and with out having us get posed. We ended up getting married at the Vanderbilt so we went right form the photos into the cocktail hour only 15 minutes late. I was at my friends wedding last year and the photographers had her and her husband for so long she missed the whole cocktail hour so we made sure that was not the case with us. Because they shoot candid photos we got everything done much faster. Photos from the reception came out really nice and showed the whole event as it happened and was not just about us. Just because it is my wedding does not mean I want a million photos of just me and my husband. Vale Cole captured memories we will appreciate for ever. I recommended them to everyone I know as a good photographer is harder to find then a good accountant!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kenneth
Wedding:
7/23/2011
5.0/5.0
First of all the amount of photos you get back is just amazing. My wedding was April of this year in Central Park. Both my fiancé and I met with the 2 photographers we ended up going with from this studio about a month before our event. Their studio was covered with lots of B/W portraits that were so nice. We booked them for 8 hours and that covered 4 locations plus the Venue hall and we ended up getting back over 1600 photos. They offer the copyrights to the photos so we could print our own. The day of the event the photographers were at my mothers’ house 20 minutes before I even got there and got some really nice pictures of my sisters and brothers who were already there. Once I arrived they took total control and helped with everything from setting up my gown to helping with the rings and little sentimental images my mother wanted. After about 45 min with me one of the photographers left to go take photos of the groom. We all met at the church and again the photographers were very friendly and helped with everything. At one point one of the photographers was helping the limo driver back in so we could get the best shots of the front of the church. Being the reception was in the park it was very easy to get some great photos around the main fountains and water front. Could not have been happier. I really would like to thank this studio for doing such a great job on the most important day of our lives.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Eddy
Wedding:
7/2/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband and I used this studio prior to our wedding day for engagement photos and were very happy with them that we booked them for our wedding. We shopped around and found Vale Cole photography to have the best prices and offer the copyrights to the images. Only 1 other studio in Staten Island offered copyrights and their prices were double everyone else’s. Carter was our main photographer and was wonderful with the family and the kids. The second p[photographer was a women who got some great photos while I was getting ready. I DID not want a male photographer taking pictures of me and my maids getting dressed and almost all the other studios acted as if it was normal for a stranger to be seeing the girls get ready. This studio said they only use women for such shots and offered a male and female for all events. I did not get albums so I can not speak on that but we did get over 2000 photos back. Again others we met with where only going to give us 600 or so images while this studio gave us ALL the photos from the day. The photographers were on time and did a great job capturing everything I had asked for. My entire family was happy with the service and would use them again.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
0.0/5.0
so i just think its pretty funny to see people posting about a 6/11/11 wedding
saying richard (the photographer and owner) was at their wedding that day cause he was at my wedding all day from noon till midnight... and i have a picture of him tp prove it so obviously these reviews are made up by him or people he knows.
he is a scam artist... yes he did show up and did give me all my pictures and video but none edited and i still do not have my wedding albums or video edited 2 years later.
we took him to small claims court where the judge ruled in our favor for him to reimburse us yet we never recieved the money.
so any good review you see of him was probably made up... i dont even think he is a real photographer... he just makes up busnesses and steals peoples money and ruins their special days.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Brandon
Wedding:
6/11/2011
5.0/5.0
if your on a budget yet still want a good photographer you should use this studio. We only had $2000 to spend and could not find a photographer that was under $4000. A friend at work said they used this photographer for a sweet 16 and was very happy with the results so I called them. I spoke to a girl I can not remember but was astonished at the prices and options they offered. They have hour based packages that start at $695 and go up. For $2000 we got 8 hours of service and over 1200 photos back. They included 5 locations so we got so many nice photos with different backgrounds. The photographer was the owner Richard who we met with prior at his studio and fell in love with his personality right away. He seemed more excited about shooting our wedding then any of the other studios we had spoke to. He also gave us all the images he shot at the event when others said they give back only a few hundred. In today’s economy its about what your getting for the money your spending and I nor my husband could justify spending $5000 for someone to take our pictures. I would like to thank this photographer for working with those on budgets; it shows he cares about his clients.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
CHRISTINE
Wedding:
6/11/2011
0.3/5.0
DON'T RUIN YOUR DAY!!!! HORRIBLE!!! CON-ARTIST!!!! FRAUD!!!!
Where should I begin? We met with "Richard" (if that's even his real name) and we loved him. Of course we didn't know he was a con-artist. He was so nice, friendly and made us feel so comfortable from the first moment. We put down a deposit and on a second visit we paid for everything (we had no idea that people usually pay for their photos when they actually received them. That was certainly our fault).
During the visit he told us how professional he is and how much traveling he does taking photos for famous people and how he likes to get to events early...He said he didn't drink nor ate during the events and he got great aerial shots by climbing trees and he went under tables to get cool angles...
The day of the wedding while I was getting ready an old lady (on her sixties) showed up without much explanation. When I ask who she was she said she was the photographer because Richard couldn't make because he was sick. He didn't have the decency to call me himself...
After getting my make up done we requested a close-up or only-my-face photo to see the makeup on the camera and this old lady got one inch from my face to take the photo and said it came out blurry...we suggested for her to step back and simply zoom in a bit and she said "I don't know how to do that, and I don't want to screw around with the camera"... So not only this woman wasn't going to climb trees to get aerial shots but she didn't know how to use the camera!
Right after that she asked me for "the money" and I tried not to get furious because not only I knew that people usually pay after they receive their photos but also I had already paid! After I told her it was all paid for and that she should check with Richard she insisted that I had to pay and that on her receipt it didn't say paid. My husband had the receipt that said paid but even after this she kept insisting about it. Only after almost 20 minutes of aggravation, me having my first anxiety attack ever in.my life anf my makeup almost ruined from my tears of desperation she decided to call Richard and wait for him to call back... I tried to calm down and forget about what had just had happened. I then had to get dressed. While I started getting dressed I had to ask her to take photos and then although I had 8 bridesmaids helping me get into my dress she kept getting on their way trying to help instead of taking photos. After this she told me that Richard had confirmed that everything was paid.
We had a awesome party bus and we had arranged for Richard to come in the bus with us to get shots inside of it. No need to say that the lady drove on her own car everywhere.
At the church every single photo was off-focus and off-centered. Photos were blurry and or too far...since they were all taken from too far the flash did nothing so the lighting on all of them is terrible.
It ended up raining a bit so we took only photos outside the reception hall by a gazebo. In the mid-time some family members were trying to get photos of us with their personal cameras and she got notoriously and rudely annoyed making my guests feel uncomfortable.
One of guests had to tell her that she had a drop of rain right the middle of the lense and she had no idea. Then she disappeared for over 20 minutes to apparently change the camera's battery.
There was never an apology from her or Richard. The only professional shots we got were from the assistant photographer which he almost didn't send to me (probably affraid that I would notice the huge difference in quality from the assistant's to
the one's the old lady took or because he never paid the assistant and so he couldn't release the photos) The assistant told me that she thought the old lady was Richard's mother.
We did get the photos pretty quickly after several emails and every time he said that the were no more photos I had to insist that that couldn't be all and then he would send me an extra batch. None of the photos were edited or even cropped to center them. Worst quality ever!
I couldn't even sit down to write a review because of how angry I would get every time I thought of the way he scammed us! Now, a year later... It was the most aggravating and stressful thing I've ever had to deal with in my entire life.
Expensive and a fraud!!! DON'T HIRE HIM!!!!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
John P.
Wedding:
5/7/2011
5.0/5.0
My husband booked this studio only a few weeks prior to our wedding as the original photographer became sick. They worked with us on price as well as time for the day and made it very easy. I was nervous as the last thing you want to hear it that your photographer is out 12 days before your wedding. We actually had pre wedding shoot just to see if we liked what they offered and it was perfect. They are not in your face with a video camera all night and most of the shots are more life like since you’re not standing there posing. Very good job and I highly recommended them.
Services Used: Photography, Wedding Planning
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Thomas K.
Wedding:
3/6/2011
5.0/5.0
Vale Cole was great from start to finish. Their prices are some of the best on the island for photography and video. We met over a dozen photographers and none of them could come close to the price and service we received. I would recommend them to anyone looking for a lot of photos and an easy going photographer. I wish the dj and limo followed through as much as this service did for us.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Paul S.
Wedding:
1/1/2011
5.0/5.0
I highly recommend this studio for a few reasons. They are not traditional so your photos wont look like every other wedding you have seen. I guess you can say that they are not cheesy in their work. They asked for our opinion on everything and did not for one second take over our wedding and ruin it like I have seen at other events. I have been to 10 weddings in the past year and the photography was so bad it made me not want to hire a photographer. When we met with this studio and saw and heard what they provide we were sold. I would do it all over and pick them again to provide us with our memories to keep for ever.
Services Used: Catering, Dress & Attire, Favors & Gifts, Jewelry
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
3.2/5.0
Our photos were beautiful, but there was something to be desired from the business end. Between our first meeting and signing the contract the terms changed - It was like he forgot everything we discussed during the first meeting. We weren't able to see a draft of the album before it was sent out and, as a result, one full-spread photo was out of focus and there were elements that should have been cleaned up in photoshop that were left untouched.

Also, the photographer missed a funny moment during the reception because he was flirting with one of the guests. Oof.

That being said, the photos are gorgeous and day of event was good, but everything business related before and after was less than professional, especially given the cost.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MrsX
Wedding:
10/1/2010
0.0/5.0
In the days approaching our wedding, and during the night of the wedding we had no complaints about the photographer. But now that the wedding is over and our photos are all we have left of the day we have many regrets about choosing Vale Cole. Although there were some nice shots taken, the end result is still no where near the level he showed us when we sat with him for a consultation. He promised us 2 professional photographers on the day of the wedding, but he admittedly brought an amateur with him. We feel that we lost out on the quality in at least 1/2 of our photos. More importantly and more significantly scarring than those things - he was not honest about many of the things we agreed to. He is not trustworthy and we do not feel that he did the right thing by us throughout the remainder of the process. For starters, he made us believe that we would have an edited photos & an edited wedding video but instead sent us our photos pretty much as is and a 4 hr uncut version of unedited video footage. When we confronted him he denied having this conversion with us and deferred us to the contract which does not state unedited or edited next to video section. We never agreed to not receiving an edited wedding video We mentioned "edited" video many times during the process and he never corrected us or questioned us until we asked for the status on the video's completion. Then when it came to our wedding albums -- Although he did order the correct fabric & style that we requested, he was not honest about the sizes of the albums we ordered. Not only were our album & our parent albums smaller than the examples he provided... but we paid extra for mini albums for our bridal party. The ones he showed us were approx 4x3 (which are small enough) the ones he sent us in the end were smaller than a wallet size photo - approx 1.5 x 1.5. He was not available when we picked up our albums nor has he returned any of our calls to discuss our dissatisfaction. Additionally, we put together a detailed list of all of the photos we wanted to include in our albums, with specific notes stating which ones we wanted showcased because they were our favorites. He did not adhere to any of that information and he included duplicates that we confirmed he should remove before the albums went to print! All & all this has been a nightmare experience for us because we are both very distraught about how badly this turned out for us based on him not delivering on many of the important things we paid for. Your wedding photographer is one of the most important selections for that day, because when the wedding is over, your photos & your video is all that remains as documentation of your memories.
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
donnafromsi
Wedding:
9/18/2010
4.8/5.0
I was contacted by this studio on Monday and asked to leave a review based on my experience with them. I never post reviews and could really careless about them but who ever this bride is that keeps leaving ridicules and I do mean ridicules posts needs to grow up. I was married over a year ago and Vale Cole provided all the photography and video service and also set me up with a great Limo company. My entire family loved Richard and actually booked a baptism with him months after. Go meet with him direct and speak with him and see his work it speaks for itself. Good Luck Richard and don’t let some internet nutjob get you down.
Services Used: Photography
Bg24
steffnwill
Wedding:
7/11/2010
3.2/5.0
Okay this was tough because the photography was wonderful and they were wonderful to work. The down side was the videoagraphy it was horrible, I cant even here my husband and exchanging our vows...I was very dissapointed so if needing a photographer I would reccomend them but for video I would keep your options open.
Services Used: Photography, Videography
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for VALE COLE STUDIOS
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220