Nophoto-130

Venetian Terrace

Irving , TX

LOCATION

Irving, TX US
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

4.1
out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
3.8/5.0
3.9/5.0
4.3/5.0
4.2/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Melanie
Wedding:
6/22/2014
4.3/5.0
First off, I would just love to say, that Renetta and Mona were there for me and my now husband, through all the details, questions, and concerns all the way up to the actual wedding day! They were great!!

Renetta worked with us on the pricing for the ceremony and the reception. For the entire day and night, they include a deposit fee, venue fee, set up and break-down, food, linens, table ware, and ceremony chairs. Extras are alcohol, wedding cake, appetizers and more food options. I went with everything included, and put an allowance towards the bar. The venue itself is incredibly beautiful and quaint. Located right on the Mandalay Canal, it's the perfect setting, and the ceremony site is never in the sun!! Perfect especially for couples who live in Irving or Las Colinas, as we did at the time. There is unfortunately not a room to get ready in, but the bathrooms are big enough that you can ( we did!). Worked out perfectly!

However, several things. Because it is on the canal, you have to give your guests specific directions, because you have to go down several steps to get to it. There's also no free parking. We had our guests park in the parking garage next to the venue, and provided $5 bills so they could get out (or you could buy tokens in advance from them, but there's no refund if you over estimate on the number of cars that will be parking). They provide a venue viewing for all the brides after you pay the deposit fee, where you can try some of the foods and drinks, however, it's not everything, and you can't taste everything on the menu before the big day.

The only thing that really did not sit well with me though was the wait staff on our wedding day. They removed me and my husband's plates way too soon, so we barely got any dinner or cake, and they started breaking down way too early when I still had guests! They took down my decorations without asking me, and basically forced us to start breaking down everything so THEY could leave.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Christy
Wedding:
6/1/2013
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good things about this venue. It's gorgeous, right on the canal, secluded. Such a lovely, lovely venue. And affordable. I did a lot of research before selecting the Venetian Terrace, and I can tell you that it greatly outshines every other venue of comparable pricing and probably most (if not all) of the more expensive ones.

The service is great, too. Renetta was always available by email to answer my questions (and boy did I have a lot). They also helped get the photo booth in the reception space and set up on time DESPITE the fact that our photo booth people were two hours late and still had not even brought their equipment into the building at the time that the ceremony was due to start in the courtyard. When your venue steps up to fix problems caused by some other vendor—that’s what I call good service.

The food was wonderful! We got lots and lots of compliments from our guests. The alcohol service was great, too. We definitely feel like we got our money’s worth. The bartender was fun and courteous to my guests.

Also, I must stress the fact that you get the venue ALL DAY LONG! Being able decorate early—then move on to get dressed knowing everything was in place really lowered my stress level that day. And when rain threatened my decorations, the VT staff stepped up to the plate. I had an arch decorated with flowers and my florist suggested I get a tarp to protect it if it rained before the ceremony—but to only use it as long as necessary so as not to smash the flowers. I left a tarp just in case and asked Renetta to put the tarp out if necessary. It rained before the ceremony—while I was in my hotel room getting ready. I could see the courtyard from my hotel balcony at the Omni. Just as I asked—the VT staff put the tarp up when it rained and took it down as soon as it was over. I was very impressed. They had no idea I was watching :)

I would recommend the VT to any other bride—whole-heartedly.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karen
Wedding:
8/25/2012
4.8/5.0
We had our wedding/reception at the Venetian Terrace on August 25, 2012. Sasha (owner) and Mona (manager) were terrific to work with. The venue is beautiful, the food was great, Sasha created beautiful cakes for us, and our reception went off without a hitch.

Not sure why some people have had negative experiences with the staff...perhaps there were communication difficulties. Neither Sasha or Mona speak English as their first language, though they are both certainly proficient. However, just to be sure, I did find myself asking a couple of questions twice. I tend to be very organized and was careful to cover every detail with Mona before our wedding, but we had no problems. I thought the staff was very professional and friendly.

We had about 55 guests and several of them mentioned that ours was one of the best weddings they had ever been to - I know that was at least partly because of the great venue! I highly recommend Venetian Terrace if you want an intimate, beautiful setting for a small wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Tony
Wedding:
8/4/2012
4.9/5.0
This venue was great, everything went as planned or better. My wife did it again, of course she made all of the arrangements. We were both very happy with how everything turned out, the food was great as well as the DELICIOUS cake. The service/staff was excellent and everyone complimented us on picking this location. You will not be disappointed. I would recommend this venue to any couple looking to start their marriage in style.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jill
Wedding:
7/28/2012
4.8/5.0
My husband and I loved our wedding at Venetian Terrace! Located just minutes from Dallas on Hwy 114, travelling to Venetian Terrace was very easy for our families. There were plenty of good hotels nearby for our family members who travelled from out of state. The venue was so beautiful on our wedding day and all the pictures turned out really nice. The food was not only the best wedding food we ever had, but some of the best we ever had anywhere! The staff were professional, courteous, and really went out of their way to accomodate us. My husband and I highly recommend Venetian Terrace to anyone looking for a wedding venue that offers a great value, a unique setting and delicous food.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
Due to unforseen circumstances we had to delay the start of our special occasion. The staff at Venetian Terrace not only was able to accomodate our dilemma, but also had the foresight to delay the prepration of food to ensure everything was fresh at the new start time. They also provided options for guests to pass time while they waited for the new start time.

And all of this at no extra cost to us!!!!!

Words can't express how overjoyed I was with the overall experience.
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Leigh
Wedding:
6/16/2012
4.9/5.0
Our wedding at the Venetian Terrace turned out wonderful. Sasha and Mona were so great to work with and very professional. It was like Sasha and Mona knew exactly what I wanted... from the way they set up the tables to the precise placement of the table center pieces. Sasha even recommended a fantastic florist that was very familiar with the space and created an even more beautiful flower arrangement than I could have ever imagined. All of our guests commented on the quality of the service and the delicious food... they said other wedding venues usually have very generic food, but that the Venetian food tasted like it was made from scratch. It also felt like we were in Venice, Italy once the sun went down and water from the canal sparkled in the moonlight. The outside setting was perfect for our wedding pictures. Thank you to Sasha and Mona for helping me create the wedding of my dreams!!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Jillian
Wedding:
4/14/2012
4.9/5.0
I was VERY apprehensive about selecting the Venetian Terrace as my wedding ceremony/reception venue due the reviews on this website. The venue is absolutely beautiful and you can rent it from 10AM-2AM the day of your wedding! It is the perfect place for a DIY type wedding/reception. Mona and Sasha were great throughout the entire planning process. Because I was a little apprehensive due the reviews I had read, I was very clear with them about what I wanted during my ceremony, reception and included specific instructions regarding the bar. They accommodated everything I needed! We did not have any issues during our ceremony or reception. The food was excellent and service was amazing. Our drinks were never empty and they were extremely tentative to the bride/groom especially as well as the rest of our guests. We did not have any issues with the bar and everyone said their drinks were really good. I am sure maybe they had some issues in the past, but everything with our wedding went great! My husband and I had an amazing wedding and had SO much fun! Thank you to Sasha, Mona and all their staff for making it an unforgettable day and night!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Olga
Wedding:
3/17/2012
5.0/5.0
We fell in love with the venue and its surroundings from the moment we got to the venue. The property is really unique and situated on very private canal. Our ceremony was outside and we had no issues with on-lookers or traffic. Sasha, the GM, is exceptional. He made it so easy for us. He delivered on all the promises. There are not many venues that would cater a Russian style wedding, Sasha was super flexible on food choices, setup/decorations, and time. Sasha worked with us on a custom menue and all of our guests and vendors really enjoyed the food. He is really pleasant to work with and will go out of his way to make sure your special day is perfect! He was always available by phone and met with us every time we were in town.

To all the Russian brides in Dallas, you finally have an alternative!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Ashley
Wedding:
12/10/2011
4.8/5.0
The room was decorated elegantly, the food and the cake was absolutly wonderfuland, and Sashas advice about the gondolae made the event memorable. Our wedding was beautiful it wouldn't been the same anywhere else. Ashley
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MicahsWifey
Wedding:
11/8/2009
4.3/5.0
I just had my wedding here on November 8th and I have to say, we had absolutely no problems whatsoever! I hired a planner because of previous reviews that I read about couples being promised one thing and receiving another or nothing at all. I didn't want to deal with anything like that on our day, so this was the reason why. However, I was very much mistaken! My planner was all of that, but she really didn't have problems with the Venetian. The location is like no other in DFW, the food was delicious and the service was top notch. We had butler passed hors d'oeuvres while we took pics with the wedding party after the ceremony. They even saved some for us when we got back and they were soo good. The waiters then proceeded to bring us every piece of food from our buffet selection along with champagne, water, salad and fruit! We didn't have to lift a finger. The owner, Sasha was present and he was a very sweet man as well. He congratulated both of us on our day and showed us how he was tallying the bar expense so we wouldn't be worried! Mona was not at the venue the day of, but she was who we dealt with throughout the process. She is very sweet and accomodating and she didn't try to get over on us - she and Sasha even worked with us when our cost came up a little bit short of the minimum we had to spend! (we had a very small guest list) I would recommend this place to anyone that wants a beautiful European atmosphere without the overseas cost! I wish I could go to my reception again!!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
anvskyy
Wedding:
8/15/2009
0.5/5.0
We booked this place originally for our wedding in Aug 2009, we had to move the date due to my fiance's deployment. Sasha and Mona were able to move the date to November 2010 and carry our original deposit of $750 over to the new date and we were happy. When my fiance and I moved to Texas we wanted to start giving the venue payments so we could pay for the venue in full by the time our wedding came around ***BIG MISTAKE***. We gave Sasha about another $1000 when we decided to cancel our date because 1. when we call a venue we do expect to receive a call back, I should not have to call and call and wait a month until getting a call back when I have a question. 2. we were never allowed to taste of the food prior to booking, how are we to know the quality of food should we just take it on faith that the food is "the best". 3. The other things I noticed is the ladies toilet has a problem as one stall will not flush all the way. 4. There is no tasting, no description or walk through with how things will go on the big day. This is really important when planning a wedding. So we canceled the wedding at this venue. I told Sasha I wanted a refund of our money **NOT** the deposit. Sasha refused to give us back our $1000 saying that was now counted as a deposit. We opened up a case with the Better Business Bureau but nothing was resolved as the Venetian Terrace was not a BBB company, the next step is small claims court. I read reviews of how this venue cheated their clients before and just took it on faith that maybe that was a one time incident or two. Do NOT book this place! That old saying "You get what you pay for" well in my case I paid for nothing. This place has its charm but be very careful, their "policy" is not fully documented and they can re-word things later and also write things on your receipt copies after the fact. Beware!
Services Used: Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
lori
Wedding:
5/15/2009
4.8/5.0
Beautiful location, elegant atmosphere, very easy to work with. You can use as few or as many of their services that you want. You can bring in your own decor, GREAT FOR DIY BRIDES!!!
Services Used: Catering
130x130_sq_1196358264889-meandjoaquinatthew2
magdalena
Wedding:
3/7/2009
2.8/5.0
Starting with the pluses, the space is beautiful; the canal walk-up is what sold us. And the food was really good! (Not that we would have known because we found out two months before the wedding, after we'd put a huge deposit down that the owner/head chef did not think he should have to let us do a tasting.) The woman that we booked everything with, Mona, was super sweet, but seemed to tell us whatever we wanted to hear and then the opposite was true. And when that happened, she was nowhere to be found. The service at the reception was a DISASTER! 4 waiters for 150 guests!!!! And ONE bartender. Nothing was ready on time. The bar tender was told to start serving at 6, but all my guests were there by 4 (3pm ceremony - HELLO!)

If you're as in love with the space as we were, I wold recommend getting times and waiter numbers in writing in the contract before you put a deposit down!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Amy
Wedding:
4/6/2008
4.1/5.0
The cake tasted great. The venue gave us a little trouble about getting what we wanted, but once we got there, it was delicious and looked beautiful!

The catering was delicious, the guests loved it.

The price was right for such a beautiful location.

The staff was a little unresponsive and hard to work with, but definitely worth it for the end result!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Carter
Wedding:
9/9/1999
0.0/5.0
Bad Place to have your happy dreams fulfilled. Gaspar Stantic is a thief and liar. I would recommend anywhere else but here!
Services Used: Catering
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Venetian Terrace
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
Nophoto-220