130x130_sq_1382126361962-ver-gw-lawn-ceremony1

Verandas Beach House, Manhattan Beach

Manhattan Beach , CA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

401 Rosecrans Avenue
Manhattan Beach, CA US 90266 (map)

PHONE

310-546-7805

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

A two-story, Cape Cod style venue overlooking the ocean, Verandas features beautiful gardens and elegant banquet rooms filled with light from French windows. Have cocktails in the garden... Read more
A two-story, Cape Cod style venue overlooking the ocean, Verandas features beautiful gardens and elegant banquet rooms filled with light from French windows. Have cocktails in the garden amid bougainvillea, koi ponds and lush greenery, then make your way up a dramatic staircase to the upper veranda and watch the sun set over the Pacific. Inside, a perfect, gourmet meal, fine wines and dancing await. Perfect for weddings, rehearsal dinners, Bat/Bar Mitzvah's, and corporate events. Read less
Wedding Venue

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1403814437694-vbh-24
130x130_sq_1403814357228-vbh-6
130x130_sq_1403814419109-vbh-19
130x130_sq_1403814372163-vbh-9
130x130_sq_1403814336180-vbh-2
130x130_sq_1403814341120-vbh-3
130x130_sq_1403814362210-vbh-7
130x130_sq_1403814346052-vbh-4
130x130_sq_1403814331508-vbh-1
130x130_sq_1403814351164-vbh-5
130x130_sq_1403814367147-vbh-8
130x130_sq_1403814378132-vbh-10
130x130_sq_1403814385087-vbh-11
130x130_sq_1403814389116-vbh-12
130x130_sq_1403814395079-vbh-13
130x130_sq_1403814400461-vbh-14
130x130_sq_1403814405052-vbh-15
130x130_sq_1403814408662-vbh-16
130x130_sq_1403814412108-vbh-17
130x130_sq_1403814415624-vbh-18
130x130_sq_1403814422644-vbh-20
130x130_sq_1403814426641-vbh-21
130x130_sq_1403814430159-vbh-22
130x130_sq_1403814434161-vbh-23
130x130_sq_1403814441678-vbh
130x130_sq_1252106161281-craigruckerbrideatwindow
130x130_sq_1252106155125-beachbandbrogi
130x130_sq_1252106155250-beachceremony
130x130_sq_1252106156812-bridecarranza
130x130_sq_1252106157062-beachwedding
130x130_sq_1252106158234-bridebouqetcarranza
130x130_sq_1252106159750-cakeandchampagnenelson
130x130_sq_1252106159812-brideinloungemills
130x130_sq_1252106160703-carranzaphoto
130x130_sq_1252106162484-craigruckerbridewithband
130x130_sq_1252106162562-craigruckerchairplacecards
130x130_sq_1252106163359-craigruckerplacecards
130x130_sq_1252106164625-craigruckertables
130x130_sq_1252106164734-craigruckertakeaseat
130x130_sq_1252106165921-flowergirl
130x130_sq_1252106166125-craigruckeruscatverandas
130x130_sq_1252106167250-kickupheelscarranza
130x130_sq_1252106167640-manhattanbeachceremony
130x130_sq_1252106168687-mbceremony
130x130_sq_1252106168671-mbbigcenterpiece
130x130_sq_1252106169921-mbgazebokiss
130x130_sq_1252106170250-mbdiningroom
130x130_sq_1252106171906-mbpond
130x130_sq_1252106172093-mbstairs
130x130_sq_1252106173046-mbtable
130x130_sq_1252106173093-mbbridalentrancecarranza
130x130_sq_1252106173968-mbbride
130x130_sq_1252106174343-mbloungemills
130x130_sq_1252106174671-mbsunset
130x130_sq_1252106175531-mbtablesmills
130x130_sq_1252106176031-mbupstairsmills
130x130_sq_1252106176531-verandasdining
130x130_sq_1311100458280-verandasentrance

INFO FOR WEDDING VENUE

When was your venue built?
2000
When was your venue last renovated?
2013
Describe your venue:
Banquet Hall, Manor / Mansion
Describe the style of your venue
Coastal, Modern
What wedding services does your venue provide?
Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
What is the maximum capacity of your venue?
250
How many event spaces or rooms does your venue offer?
4
Does your venue offer an indoor space?
Yes
Does your venue offer a covered outdoor space?
No
Does your venue offer an uncovered outdoor space?
Yes
Does your venue have on-site accommodations?
No
What is the minimum rental fee for your venue?
1500
Bar Service
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is bar service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Beverage Service
Offered in-house
Is beverage service included in the minimum rental fee?
No
Catering
Offered in-house
Is catering included in the minimum rental fee?
No
What is the average catering price per person at your venue?
90
Event Coordination
Offered in-house
Is event coordination included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Event Rentals
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Are event rentals included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Lighting and Sound
Offered in-house
Are lighting and sound included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Linens
Offered in-house
Are linens included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Seating
Offered in-house
Is seating included in the minimum rental fee?
Yes
Shuttle / Transportation
Outside vendors welcome
Wedding Cake
Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Is wedding cake included in the minimum rental fee?
No

REVIEWS

4.9
out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.9/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Aaron
Wedding:
3/29/2014
5.0/5.0
My husband and I would like to recognize Lauren and the team at Veranda's for such an amazing wedding day!! We had such a great time with minimum stress. Lauren and Angela played a large part in making our wedding and reception so special.

Lauren is a big reason we chose Veranda's as our venue. From the moment we met her we felt she was very personable as well as professional and that we were in good hands. Throughout the course of planning Lauren has been very responsive and always answered any and all of our questions.

The wedding party was very grateful that Lauren set up a rehearsal the night before as it calmed any fears we may have had for the next day.

The ceremony went off without a hitch and was even better than we could have imagined thanks to Lauren and Angela directing us. We were able to focus on our vows and the actual ceremony without worrying about the small details because they were already taken care of. The reception was awesome and the servers were very friendly to our guests. We even heard how servers would call guests by name; they really liked that personal touch. Everyone enjoyed the delicious meals that the New York Food Company served as well as the passed appetizers and late night bites (Yummy!) The tables were decorated beautifully as well as the upstairs entertainment area.

Thank You Lauren and Verandas! We would recommend this venue to anyone that wants to have a great wedding experience!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot imagine a more perfect experience than I had with Verandas! Mike and Verandas are absolutely unbelievably amazing!! I know that our wedding would not have been anywhere near as wonderful as it was if we did not have it at Verandas! Thank you so much!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
NancyO
Wedding:
9/25/2010
5.0/5.0
AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING
From the location, to the support personnel, to the food, to the feeling that they really want your wedding to be the best ever.

We worked with Cortney - who is delightful, imaginative and very flexible. Her experience show in her attention to details and ability to listen to what you want and how Verandas can accomodate it.

While the exterior may be a bit offputting - don't be fooled - once you get inside - the venue is wonderful. The ceremony area is perfect and you truly cannot hear the traffic on Rosecrans.

The multi level - non-hotel like - inside was exactly the type of venue we were looking for - you never feel crowded or stuck in one place. This includes the large porch on the second floor (beautiful sunset viewing) and the ceremony areas. We ahd the charis cleared so people could be outside and play bocce ball if they liked.

The food was absolutely amazing - our guests are still talking about everything from the cocktail party to the dinner. This was very important to us and the exceeded our expectations. The serving staff was also very attentive - which can be a challenge at large events - but not here.


I recommend Verandas for every aspect of a venue from the ceremony through dining and dancing.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Bg22
claire
Wedding:
7/18/2009
5.0/5.0
Not only is the venue spectacular and unique, but the staff is attentive and professional at all times. I loved that we stumbled upon Verandas and were able to spend our reception in a cozy setting that didn't resemble just another hotel's ballroom. I can't say enough about the service we received, as it was above our very high expectations. I wouldn't change a thing about our night at Verandas, except that I wish it hadn't gone by so fast!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1218684397467-lindsey_1030b
LS&JA
Wedding:
5/15/2009
5.0/5.0
Verandas was everything we envisioned for our wedding and more. We still can't think of a more perfect place to have had it. The food is amazing, the staff is attentive and polite, and the wedding coordinators are essential! Lauren was ours and she made the day possible. I love Verandas!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Angela
Wedding:
4/25/2009
5.0/5.0
We were so pleased by the exceptional experience we had at Verandas for our wedding that I wish we had another excuse to use their services again!
We organized our wedding from across-the country, but it proved to be a breeze to work with the staff at Verandas.
From the event coordinator, to the food, to the great service from waitstaff, we were so glad that we selected Verandas to have our wedding.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ColorBlindBride
Wedding:
4/25/2009
5.0/5.0
We were so pleased by the exceptional experience we had at Verandas for our wedding that I wish we had another excuse to use their services again!
We organized our wedding from across-the country, but it proved to be a breeze to work with the staff at Verandas.
From the event coordinator, to the food, to the great service from waitstaff, we were so glad that we selected Verandas to have our wedding.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
wilmerlin
Wedding:
3/14/2009
5.0/5.0
We just finished our wedding and it turned out beautifully.

Pros:
*Our coordinator, Sara, was awesome; she really made the whole experience run smoothly. She is very experienced and running all over the place to check on everything while the event is going on. I was told at one point there were some people making noise outside and she bolted out to the parking lot to silence them during the ceremony.
*lots of self-parking spaces; at many venues, especially on the westside, you need valet parking and this place has a lot of parking available.
*flexible in catering choices, if you can meet the required minimum
*not the cheapest facility but a good value for the services provided; we had a gourmet five-course meal for less than a competing venue would offer
*location: very easy for everyone to find and get to; get off on the Rosecrans exit and drive basically until you see the ocean; you would never know this place is there, tucked away in a little corner of Manhattan Beach
*food: excellent

Cons:
*the location; because of the same positive note above, there is some car noise that is occasionally heard from the ceremony location. The noise of the water fountain area disguises most of this though.
*you need to meet the required minimum, so probably best suited for about 100-120 people. A large wedding wouldn't really fit here and it would be too expensive for a small wedding. We had about 90 people and it seemed to fit perfectly.

There is another venue owned by the same company, La Venta Inn, that has a better view of the ocean but is more expensive. It is also more remote so you have to drive through the winding streets of Palos Verdes. We chose not to use La Venta because it was harder for our guests to find and the view comes with a premium.

New York Food has changed their pastry chef this year, so hopefully the previous comments about the wedding cake no longer apply. Our wedding cake was really well done. It looked and tasted great. You do not need to use their pastry chef. We did to simplify the number of our vendors. They allow you to hire an outside wedding cake company if you want a special cake.

***addendum: someone asked me about how the two floors of the venue worked and how it changed the dynamic of the party. In short, I think the two-story layout actually works out very well, but make sure you have a DJ/host who is familiar with the venue.

Here is what I think is fairly "standard" for Verandas:

a) ceremony takes place outside, then guests are directed upstairs for the cocktail hour as photos are taken. Note: that you can do a group photo with everybody since the photographer can shoot down from the stairs, a nice added plus of the two stories.

b) once photos are done, bride and bridesmaid can either mingle or hide out in the downstairs bridal quarters.

c) guests are directed downstairs to dinner; wedding party assembles upstairs from the outside entrance

d) wedding party makes grand entrance through inside stairwell

e) speeches can be done during the dinner downstairs; the bar is still open upstairs but only a few people go upstairs during dinner

f) cake cutting happens upstairs after dinner; guests are directed upstairs and they effectively close the downstairs

g) any final speeches can be done on the dance floor as they open up the dance floor; guests can form a big circle around the speaker

At any rate, our coordinator, Sara, was excellent at directing the guests (on top of everything else she did) and it helps to have your officiant or DJ make the appropriate announcements, so people know where to go. Really it would be helpful to have a DJ who is familiar with the layout. But overall with about a hundred people, the space feels intimate and more fun rather than one big room which would be half empty.

The two-story layout works out very well, especially the bride descending from the staircase during the ceremony.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Dana
Wedding:
7/27/2008
5.0/5.0
Everything was great! Fantastic! Best day of my life! Natalie at the Verandas made all my dreams come true!
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
7/18/2008
5.0/5.0
Verandas was the perfect place for us to get married. The venue is beautiful, from the waterfall and pond, to the dining room, to the gorgeous ocean views, it was eveything we wanted and needed in a venue. We loved working with Verandas' helpful and friendly staff, and were grateful that they made our wedding-planning experience so effortless. They provided us with a list of preferred vendors that really made it easy to book all of our vendors because we knew that we couldn't go wrong with anyone that Verandas recommended. The event was picture-perfect and went off without a hitch. We would definitely recommend Verandas to anyone wanting a wedding with a cool, comfortable elegance, while being classy AND beachy all at the same time!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Warren
Wedding:
6/7/2008
5.0/5.0
Perfect. They made our day wonderful and were with us to help with planning all along the way. The location was phenomenal and everyone loved it.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
8/12/2007
5.0/5.0
I would not have has such a perfect wedding if it wasn't for the Verandas, and Sarah. Everything went PERFECTLY!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Sarah
Wedding:
8/12/2007
5.0/5.0
I can't imagine the wedding being any better.. Everything was perfect. The food, the service, the care and attentiveness. Sarah was the best, and made it all happen!
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
steponmyknee
Wedding:
6/23/2001
5.0/5.0
They provided excellent service and made our day really special. It goes by so fast with all the things you want to get done during a wedding and we did not have to worry about anything.
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Bg21
Kelly
Wedding:
4/23/2011
4.9/5.0
We had the most amazing wedding ever at Verandas! I can't say enough good things about the staff and wedding coordinator we had helping us out all along the way! We had one minor hiccup early on in the process that I wouldn't even call it hiccup because they worked so well to correct it and make everything work seamlessly! Sarah, our coordinator, was fabulous! She gave us wonderful suggestions and feedback on our ideas! She was able to guide us and direct an absolutely beautiful wedding that our friends and family are still raving about as being one of the best weddings they've ever attended! They were so flexible that they even let my husband and his best men put on a rap concert! ha, so much fun! Thanks Sarah, Meredith (head waitress) and Max (our bartender) for making our night so wonderful and memorable. Thank You!!! Check out our You Tube video of the best man speech, aka rap concert: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vwJ2AVV8OWk&feature=youtu.be
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kara
Wedding:
5/23/2009
4.9/5.0
Verandas is absolutely spectacular!!!! I could not imagine a more perfect night, nor would I change a thing! We even recieved countless complements from our guests about the venue from how great the food was, to the service, to how gorgeous it was there. The service is over the top, and the planners are extremely experienced. They made our day exactly what we had always dreamed about and more.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Bg2
Cho
Wedding:
10/18/2008
4.9/5.0
Great venue, we still hear it from our guests that our wedding was "fun". Which was what we expected. It really depends on what YOU are looking for in a wedding location. We wanted GREAT food, food is key. NY Food Comp. delivered on this part. Venue was good, easy parking, convenience was our 2nd priority. Lastly the staff was much better than I had expected. Everyone was tip-top shape, it went really smooth.

Pros :
- Food. It's like eating at a fancy restaurant. If you want to impress your guests with great food, this should be a big consideration in getting NY Food Comp. to do your wedding. We come from a typical traditional Chinese family, expecting the BEST food possible. In the end, our families only talked about how good the food was.
- Location. Parking lot was huge. Next to ocean, so you can take some nice pix. We had our ceremony there too, which is good.
- Staff. My wife and I did not go home hungry. They were great in making sure we were fed too.
- Bonus stuff. Our bartender that served the wedding was fun and knowledgeable on drinks. We asked if they could make some random drinks, and our coordinator (Jason) came up with the idea to incorporate our names into the drinks... which was cute and unique. Our guests that don't normally drink, tried the 3 signature drinks, and loved them. The bartender (Mark) made some pretty good drinks.

Cons :
- Cake. I read somewhere that they hired a new pastry chef. We ordered a cake from them because the cost to bring an outside cake would be too much. Also by the pictures they showed us, they looked good. Cake was dry... But the creme that was used on the outside was good. It just wasn't all that. Luckily most of the guests didn't get to eat the cake because they were already full from all the great dinner and drinks that were served. This was the ONLY thing I wish was better.

I gave the rating of 4 1/2 stars for Flexibility due to the fact of the cake. Wish they didn't charge a "serving fee," that was pretty expensive. In the end, you definitely get what you pay for. A VERY memorable wedding.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anna
Wedding:
11/9/2007
4.9/5.0
This place was amazing, they made my wedding everything I ever thought it would and so much better. Their garden was a beautiful place for the ceremony didn't need any decorations it's gorgeous as is. The food at this place is amazing, we got a lot of comments from our guests about how great the food was. The place provides a wedding planner that helps you turn your dreams into reality and if it wasn't for our planner, Nancy, I don't think our wedding would have been the same. She just made everything go so smoothly she coordinated the ceremony exactly the way I wanted it, helped with the transitions between the ceremony the h'orderves hour and the dinner. I (the bride) felt like I was treated like a queen on my wedding day, which I did not expect but it certainly was nice. They also did our wedding cake which turned out beautiful and delicious. They are also a few blocks from the beach so after the ceremony we walked down and took some pics during the sunset and came back in time for dinner. Over all this place was amazing if I were to do my wedding again I would not change a thing. I highly recommend Verandas in Manhattan Beach.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Laura
Wedding:
5/31/2014
4.8/5.0
My wife and I had the extreme fortune of getting married at the beautiful Verandas Beach House in Manhattan Beach. This venue is a "one-stop shop" and that is exactly what we were looking for. They take care of the catering, ceremony needs, reception dinner tables, place settings, glassware, dance floor, etc. They make it SO easy to get married. Huge parking lot is a luxury in SoCal. View of the ocean from the second floor makes for an amazing reception location. My guests kept commenting on how all the little details were thought of and taken care of, and how everything ran so smoothly on our wedding day. With the help of Lauren Harvey, the venue director and our amazing day-of coordinator, we were able to stay right on our event time schedule and the evening ran almost flawlessly. We couldn't be happier with the experience we had with Verandas. Shout-out to Angie Bryant who is also a joy to work with. I feel the value for the money is very good, since the team at Verandas makes everything so convenient and seamless. Thank you so much for making our day the best it could be!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs. Pleasant
Wedding:
10/4/2008
4.8/5.0
The venue was the perfect place for my wedding. It is near the beach so you have access to a beautiful view of the ocean from the 2nd floor. The floor plan of the venue is very spacious. I appreciated the staff's flexibility to allow me to use it a little differently than usual. The wedding planner I was assigned to did a fantastic job making sure every detail we planned was manifested. The planner was very courteous at all times and a joy to work with. Most of all, the food was amazing and our guests enjoyed every bite.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
MsMarianneRamos
Wedding:
1/27/2007
4.8/5.0
Beautiful venue. Staff was quick and professional.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
130x130_sq_1196563184063-070901-185454a
Fanny
Wedding:
9/1/2007
4.8/5.0
The venue is beautiful! New York Food Company offers great meal options and delicious desserts and wedding cakes! My wedding coordinator is from the corporate office but everyone on site is very helpful! They keep very detailed notes, so anyone in the office can pick up your file and know exactly what was discussed/decided in previous meetings. I highly recommend Verandas :)
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
shero55
Wedding:
4/5/2008
4.8/5.0
Verandas is a fabulous location for your wedding. It is romantic, convenient, beautiful and the service cannot be beat. The food is fantastic - even 6 months after our wedding, I still get comments on how wonderful the food was from friends and family. We had about 70 people and it was the perfect size venue, although could easily have handled more people. The nice thing was that since our wedding wasn't huge, it didn't feel like we were a tiny crowd in a huge cave. The size of the location felt intimate without being cramped.

The tasting gave us a good idea of how our event would be set up so we felt prepared on the big day. We chose stations and I highly recommend going this route. Everyone got up and mingled and yet there weren't huge lines for food. The Sea Bass is out of this world - again, 6 months later people still remember it. Our wedding coordinator, Sara, handled everything with efficiency and ease and just made it feel like planning a wedding was no big deal. She made sure that we were aware of all the details, and basically it felt like she held our hand every step of the way - before, during and after. The wait staff always made sure that we had a drink or food or whatever we needed so that we could focus on each other & family & not growling stomachs or dry mouths!

Everything was so easy at Verandas that we got to focus on what really mattered - enjoying our big day with family and friends. Thanks NYFC, Sara & Verandas crew!!
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
matthodgen
Wedding:
9/30/2011
4.6/5.0
My wife and I got married at Verandas on 9/30/11. We decided to go with Verandas over La Venta and a few other locations in the South Bay because of the location and the event set up. The downstairs area is great for a staging area before the wedding and then for the dinner service. The real selling point was the beautiful upstairs area which included a cake cuting area, bar, view of the ocean and huge lounge like dancing area/seating. We liked this as it would force people to get up from the tables and dance/interact with each other.

Everything that day went extremely smoothly and I would attribute that to the great team of people that they have working there. Tim (our coordinator) was on the ball for everything and was very responsive throughout the whole process. I really enjoyed the service that we received from the whole Verandas team and I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a South Bay location. The team was able to keep the ceremony on time and moving even though we had some small rain showers the day of our wedding. Another huge plus was that we were able to do our wedding photo's on the beach.

We decided to do plated meals as we don't like buffet style weddings. All of our guests raved about the food and how much they enjoyed the appetizers and main dishes they had (we went with chicken and beef).

The only reason I did not give them a 5 star rating is the fact that from start to finish (6 months) we had 3 different coordinators. There were great reasons for the change however it became a little frustrating having the same intro meeting 3 times. That being said all 3 people we worked with were great.
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
dawn235
Wedding:
3/29/2008
4.6/5.0
When selecting a reception site, my husband and I were choosing between Verandas and an equally beautiful (and actually more unique) historical site. We initially chose Verandas because of budgeting reasons. While not the cheapest in the area, we knew what we had to pay (they charge based on minimums for day/time as opposed to # of people). As long as you met the minimum, you could spend it on 200 people or 50 people. This was very helpful as the majority of our guests were traveling from the east coast, and we weren't sure how many would come.

However, as we worked with our coordinator (Sara), we became convinced we made the right decision. Verandas went out of their way to make our day special - from setting up all of our tables with centerpieces, to checking in that our vegetarian guests had enough to eat, to baking a cake for my new sister's birthday (same day!), to making sure I had a drink in my hand all night. They also reserved servers for us to make sure that we actually ate during dinner. They did all of this in a professional, unobtrusive way - another fork simply showed up on the table after you dropped yours without having to ask for one.

The food is delicious - we went with dessert (fabulous creme brulee!) so I can't comment on the quality of their cakes (my sister-in-law liked her birthday cake, though). Despite the beautiful location and amazing food, what makes Verandas a great reception site is the commitment and attention to detail. I didn't have to worry about taking care of ANYTHING that day. Sara handled everything and made sure that we simply had a great time. I would definitely recommend Verandas to anyone looking for a great reception site (we had ceremony at a church).
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Venue
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kim
Wedding:
6/24/2005
3.8/5.0
Verandas is really beautiful and a great venue for the size of our wedding (130). There were 3 minor things that bothered me: 1. They aren't flexible with pricing of anything and nickel and dime for most everything, but that's to be expected from most places 2. We got our cake from them (they charge you some ridiculous amt for bringing in an outside cake) and it turned out pretty ugly. It didn't look anything like the picture and it was dry 3. We paid for the cash bar for the last 2 hrs. With half hour left, they told us the tab was at $300, but our bill ended up being $550. How in the world did the last half hour end up costing nearly the same amount as the first 90 minutes? When we approached them about it, the coordinator just told us the wedding party started ordering shots at the end, which was a lie since they were with us at the end and half of them are underage or don't drink. We didn't argue it since it's not much money. It just seemed weird.
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Venue

MAP

 
401 Rosecrans Avenue, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Verandas Beach House, Manhattan Beach
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1382126361962-ver-gw-lawn-ceremony1