Nophoto 130
(5)

Viamede Resort

Woodview , ON

LOCATION

Woodview, ON K0L 3E0 CA

PHONE

705-654-3344

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Wedding Venue

REVIEWS

3.8
out of 5.0
3.8/5.0
3.4/5.0
3.8/5.0
4.1/5.0
4.0/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
1.0/5.0
BRIDES BEWARE

If you want to get married at a location where everything is taken care of for you…don’t choose Viamede Resort!

My wife and I just recently got married at Viamede and while everything went well during the day, the last interaction has left us with a very sour taste. At 1am after we went around saying our goodbye’s and thank you’s to our guests, my wife went to the bar to thank the servers for a wonderful evening. What they said to the bride on her wedding night will never be forgotten by either of us…they said “we are going to need your help cleaning up because there is only two of us.”
In what world is this acceptable?!? They could have asked ANYONE else, the best man, the parents of the bride or groom, they could have even asked me! You don’t ask the bride to do anything but look beautiful and relax on her wedding night!
Because we did not want to cause a scene, we got everyone that was still there to help clean up. A week later when we returned from our honeymoon I emailed the wedding planner (the 4th wedding planner that Viamede went through in less than 2 years) and explained the situation and how it had upset us. Her response was “I feel this situation is probably my fault” as she did not mention that we are to clean up but she did not attempt to make it right.
I then decided to email the General Manager and found his response even worse saying “she [the newest wedding planner] is making sure that all couples are aware [that they have to clean up], as well as ensuring that our team knows how to handle this in the future.” Basically saying that we were the dummy round and their mistakes during our wedding will help serve other brides and grooms…while I appreciate that, it does not change the fact that this resort asked the bride to CLEAN UP ON HER WEDDING NIGHT!!
The lack of customer service coming from the top has trickled down and they will not take action to correct any mistakes they make even if you spend tens of thousands of dollars
BRIDES BEWARE

If you want to get married at a location where everything is taken care of for you…don’t choose Read more...
BRIDES BEWARE

If you want to get married at a location where everything is taken care of for you…don’t choose Viamede Resort!

My wife and I just recently got married at Viamede and while everything went well during the day, the last interaction has left us with a very sour taste. At 1am after we went around saying our goodbye’s and thank you’s to our guests, my wife went to the bar to thank the servers for a wonderful evening. What they said to the bride on her wedding night will never be forgotten by either of us…they said “we are going to need your help cleaning up because there is only two of us.”
In what world is this acceptable?!? They could have asked ANYONE else, the best man, the parents of the bride or groom, they could have even asked me! You don’t ask the bride to do anything but look beautiful and relax on her wedding night!
Because we did not want to cause a scene, we got everyone that was still there to help clean up. A week later when we returned from our honeymoon I emailed the wedding planner (the 4th wedding planner that Viamede went through in less than 2 years) and explained the situation and how it had upset us. Her response was “I feel this situation is probably my fault” as she did not mention that we are to clean up but she did not attempt to make it right.
I then decided to email the General Manager and found his response even worse saying “she [the newest wedding planner] is making sure that all couples are aware [that they have to clean up], as well as ensuring that our team knows how to handle this in the future.” Basically saying that we were the dummy round and their mistakes during our wedding will help serve other brides and grooms…while I appreciate that, it does not change the fact that this resort asked the bride to CLEAN UP ON HER WEDDING NIGHT!!
The lack of customer service coming from the top has trickled down and they will not take action to correct any mistakes they make even if you spend tens of thousands of dollars Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Viamede Resort responded with the following comments:

Dear Reviewer,

I am sorry to hear that you are disappointed. I must clarify that our staff did not ask your wife to “clean up” the room, but to remove your decorations. As we discussed over the phone, the contract you signed specified that the bridal party removes their decorating at the conclusion of the event. This is a common request of most wedding venues. If we knew ahead of time that you were hoping for an alternative solution, we certainly would have looked at options with you.

We take customer service very seriously and both myself and my team have offered our sincere apologies for the way you felt you were treated. Please contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further.

Best regards,

Ben Samann
General Manager
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
Recently Married
4.9/5.0
Viamede was a fantastic venue! We cannot say enough good things about our experience with them.

We were a little concerned as we had dealt with three different wedding coordinators from the time we booked the venue to our wedding day. As a result, we had a few very minor miscommunications about the food, but it was absolutely awesome. The staff were incredibly understanding and bent over backwards time and time again to assist us throughout the entire weekend.

I would strongly recommend Viamede Resort to anyone looking to get married.
Viamede was a fantastic venue! We cannot say enough good things about our experience with them.

We were a little Read more...
Viamede was a fantastic venue! We cannot say enough good things about our experience with them.

We were a little concerned as we had dealt with three different wedding coordinators from the time we booked the venue to our wedding day. As a result, we had a few very minor miscommunications about the food, but it was absolutely awesome. The staff were incredibly understanding and bent over backwards time and time again to assist us throughout the entire weekend.

I would strongly recommend Viamede Resort to anyone looking to get married. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
Shelley
Wedding:
6/18/2011
4.6/5.0
I was extremely happy with my wedding at Viamede. During my planning process Viamede switched owners and wedding coordinators which had me extremely nervous. There were a few road bumps in the switch over but I couldn't be happier with the lengths and hard work the new staff did to make the transition easier and my day exactly what I envisioned. The owner kept making sure everything was to my liking. The food was delicious and so was the wait staff. Definetly great value for such a beautiful location. Wouldn't have done it any other way.
I was extremely happy with my wedding at Viamede. During my planning process Viamede switched owners and wedding Read more...
I was extremely happy with my wedding at Viamede. During my planning process Viamede switched owners and wedding coordinators which had me extremely nervous. There were a few road bumps in the switch over but I couldn't be happier with the lengths and hard work the new staff did to make the transition easier and my day exactly what I envisioned. The owner kept making sure everything was to my liking. The food was delicious and so was the wait staff. Definetly great value for such a beautiful location. Wouldn't have done it any other way. Read less
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Rentals & Photobooths, Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
krisnsteph
Wedding:
6/18/2011
4.0/5.0
Venue was great! The people were very helpful!!
Venue was great! The people were very helpful!!
Venue was great! The people were very helpful!! Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Default vendor profile pic
She-la-la
Wedding:
8/15/2009
4.6/5.0
We were very pleased with our wedding at Viamede and the co-ordinator Jennifer was a magician at pulling together a wonderful weekend. We would highly recommend Viamede to anyone planning a wedding in the Kawarthas.
We were very pleased with our wedding at Viamede and the co-ordinator Jennifer was a magician at pulling together a Read more...
We were very pleased with our wedding at Viamede and the co-ordinator Jennifer was a magician at pulling together a wonderful weekend. We would highly recommend Viamede to anyone planning a wedding in the Kawarthas. Read less
Services Used: Wedding Venue
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Viamede Resort
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
Nophoto 220