130x130 sq 1338390700879 weddingsbylancephone8887164196

Virginia Maryland DC Wedding Officiant

Alexandria , VA
CONTACT US
CONTACT US

LOCATION

7900 Andrus Road Suite 12
Alexandria, VA 22306 US (map)

PHONE

202-903-0925

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Lance has been serving as a wedding officiant in the Washington DC/Baltimore MD/Annapolis MD/Fredericksburg VA metropolitan area for nearly 15 years. And he has served as a clergy for... Read more
Lance has been serving as a wedding officiant in the Washington DC/Baltimore MD/Annapolis MD/Fredericksburg VA metropolitan area for nearly 15 years. And he has served as a clergy for more than 20 years. And the 2,000 plus weddings of experience has culminated in a wedding officiant who has a keen sense of how to honor traditions, mix faith traditions, and most importantly, provide the bridal couple with a ceremony that reflects their wishes.

His experience with cultural differences and traditions, from short spiritual non-religious to Filipino Catholic, non-religious to non-denominational God-centered, dual faith (especially Christian-Jewish) ceremonies, makes Lance a clear choice for those wanting to adjust how little or more “religion” they want in their wedding ceremony. He often works with other pastors, Rabbi's and Imans to join families and traditions.

Lance often says that he is more concerned that the couple have a ceremony that “speaks the way they speak” vs. a ceremony that is canned or boring. His ceremonies and presentation are lively, speak words of hope and inspiration, and focus on the Love and future of the bridal couple.

Send Lance and email or give him a call. Read less
Officiant

INFO FOR OFFICIANT

What officiant services do you provide?
Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious Ceremony, Single Religion Ceremony
What religious affiliations do you serve?
Christian (no denomination), Christian - Baptist, Christian - Catholic, Christian - Episcopalian, Christian - Lutheran, Christian - Methodist, Christian - Presbyterian, Christian - Quaker, Hindu, Jewish
Can you accommodate the hearing impaired?
Yes
Are you willing to perform a ceremony at a non-religious site?
Sure. I've officiated weddings at parks, churches, hotels, gardens, waterfalls, mountaintops, homes, social halls, event centers, stables, museums, and retreat centers.
What is your attire for the ceremony?
Black jacket, pant, white shirt and tie. If a couple would like, I can wear full vestments and I'm always open to themed clothing.
Are you flexible in the wording used throughout the ceremony, including the vows?
Absolutely
Do you allow the couple to write their own vows, if desired?
Yes
Do you have a list of readings pre-selected, from which the couple must choose?
They can choose from more than 25 selections for the readings, six selections of ceremonies by style, and five sets of vows. They are free to customize the ceremony in any way they like.
How long are your ceremonies?
99% of them are 25 minutes.
Do you require that premarital counseling be done?
No but I do offer it for couples if they wish.

REVIEWS

4.4
out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.4/5.0
4.5/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
L&L
Wedding:
5/14/2014
5.0/5.0
As Mozart is to music, Mr. Lance is to weddings. Not only did he incorporate my dog in the ceremony (which was really sweet), but the inspired words that he spoke to both my fiance and myself reached into our soul and rang true with profound prophetic weight. I would absolutely recommend Mr. Lance as an officiant to couples who are looking for a truly meaningful, beautiful and unique ceremony - and I also highly recommend the Hand Fasting. Thank you Sir, for your wonderful service!!
As Mozart is to music, Mr. Lance is to weddings. Not only did he incorporate my dog in the ceremony (which was really Read more...
As Mozart is to music, Mr. Lance is to weddings. Not only did he incorporate my dog in the ceremony (which was really sweet), but the inspired words that he spoke to both my fiance and myself reached into our soul and rang true with profound prophetic weight. I would absolutely recommend Mr. Lance as an officiant to couples who are looking for a truly meaningful, beautiful and unique ceremony - and I also highly recommend the Hand Fasting. Thank you Sir, for your wonderful service!! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Emilee
Wedding:
9/8/2013
4.6/5.0
Lance was great! He got there an hour before the ceremony started to do the paperwork, and then he proceeded to help the men get ready for the ceremony. His ceremony service was exactly what we were looking for, very easy-going, care free and fun! He kept it to the time limit we asked and he said all of the special announcements we wanted, but we really just let him do his thing for the rest and it turned out great!
Lance was great! He got there an hour before the ceremony started to do the paperwork, and then he proceeded to help the Read more...
Lance was great! He got there an hour before the ceremony started to do the paperwork, and then he proceeded to help the men get ready for the ceremony. His ceremony service was exactly what we were looking for, very easy-going, care free and fun! He kept it to the time limit we asked and he said all of the special announcements we wanted, but we really just let him do his thing for the rest and it turned out great! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Aisha
Wedding:
2/2/2013
5.0/5.0
Weddings by Lance! He was not only nice and easy to work with... but affordable too. Plus, he helped guide us through the vows. We are not traditional and he was able to walk us through everything easily!
To top it off... he was soooo funny and nice! The ceremony was amazing thanks to him. He's so sweet and I have been recommending him to everyone I know :) I even ended up finding out a friend of mine used him for their wedding! Thank you Lance for a WONDERFUL wedding ceremony :)
Weddings by Lance! He was not only nice and easy to work with... but affordable too. Plus, he helped guide us through the Read more...
Weddings by Lance! He was not only nice and easy to work with... but affordable too. Plus, he helped guide us through the vows. We are not traditional and he was able to walk us through everything easily!
To top it off... he was soooo funny and nice! The ceremony was amazing thanks to him. He's so sweet and I have been recommending him to everyone I know :) I even ended up finding out a friend of mine used him for their wedding! Thank you Lance for a WONDERFUL wedding ceremony :) Read less
Services Used: Officiant
130x130 sq 1364403050294 flowers
MrsKAllTheWay
Wedding:
10/20/2012
5.0/5.0
I cannot say enough good things about Lance. He was absolutely beyond perfect. Every single person at our wedding commented how wonderful he was. I'm not exaggerating. People came up to us like, "Where did you find that guy? He is AWESOME!" They couldn't believe that we didn't have a long, intimate relationship with him. He's just that kind of guy. He's genuine and friendly and had the innate ability to make you feel like you've know him your whole life. Our ceremony was laid-back and goofy and had us all smiling and crying at the same time. If I had it to do over, I would ALWAYS pick Lance. I can totally understand why he has so many glowing reviews, and they barely hold a candle to how great he truly is. I only wish I had more time to speak to him after the ceremony, but we were rushed off to take photos, battling the sunset the whole way. Thank you again, Lance. You were an absolute joy to work with and I couldn't imagine the most important day of my life any other way.
I cannot say enough good things about Lance. He was absolutely beyond perfect. Every single person at our wedding Read more...
I cannot say enough good things about Lance. He was absolutely beyond perfect. Every single person at our wedding commented how wonderful he was. I'm not exaggerating. People came up to us like, "Where did you find that guy? He is AWESOME!" They couldn't believe that we didn't have a long, intimate relationship with him. He's just that kind of guy. He's genuine and friendly and had the innate ability to make you feel like you've know him your whole life. Our ceremony was laid-back and goofy and had us all smiling and crying at the same time. If I had it to do over, I would ALWAYS pick Lance. I can totally understand why he has so many glowing reviews, and they barely hold a candle to how great he truly is. I only wish I had more time to speak to him after the ceremony, but we were rushed off to take photos, battling the sunset the whole way. Thank you again, Lance. You were an absolute joy to work with and I couldn't imagine the most important day of my life any other way. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
130x130 sq 1311093053630 buttercup
Caitlin
Wedding:
9/2/2012
4.2/5.0
Lance was fun to work with and a genuinely good, kind person. I love that he does work with Veterans, and I am grateful for his own service to our country. My fiance (now husband) and I had a nice time working with him, and he definitely gave us a personalized ceremony with a lot of heart. The only drawback we encountered is that we felt we weren't a priority - Lance does a lot of weddings, and I think that because of his tight schedule, he may get mixed up about things or forget. We spent many hours perfecting our ceremony words, and I don't think he read our ceremony thoroughly before-hand, as several sections were ad-libbed and our readings were not introduced correctly. Our guests likely did not notice, but my husband and I did. After the ceremony, we had to remind him we had already given him the marriage license to submit. If I had to do it all over again, I would definitely work with Lance again but work more closely with him leading up to the event to make sure he was on top of things.
Lance was fun to work with and a genuinely good, kind person. I love that he does work with Veterans, and I am grateful Read more...
Lance was fun to work with and a genuinely good, kind person. I love that he does work with Veterans, and I am grateful for his own service to our country. My fiance (now husband) and I had a nice time working with him, and he definitely gave us a personalized ceremony with a lot of heart. The only drawback we encountered is that we felt we weren't a priority - Lance does a lot of weddings, and I think that because of his tight schedule, he may get mixed up about things or forget. We spent many hours perfecting our ceremony words, and I don't think he read our ceremony thoroughly before-hand, as several sections were ad-libbed and our readings were not introduced correctly. Our guests likely did not notice, but my husband and I did. After the ceremony, we had to remind him we had already given him the marriage license to submit. If I had to do it all over again, I would definitely work with Lance again but work more closely with him leading up to the event to make sure he was on top of things. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Virginia Maryland DC Wedding Officiant responded with the following comments:

Caitlin's remarks are fair. In the early days when I first began officiating, I had to read every word and always encouraged couples to "personalize" it more than just making section selections. But after literally thousands of weddings, I've discovered what phrases move the crowds emotions, what seems like a adlib are actually phrases practiced a thousand times. If I read a ceremony word for word now, I'd feel like a robot and unable to give the ceremony the smoothness they now have.

I'm going to take Caitlin's observation stated here, that I did not read the ceremony word for word, as an action item to change my website so that I don't give the impression I will do that. My ability to flow with the environment and choose some words of my own is the cornerstone of why most all people like my presentations.

Thanks Caitlin for the opportunity to work with you. And I hear your feedback and appreciate it. I enjoyed the ceremony with you all and wish you both the very best!
Default vendor profile pic
Jason
Wedding:
7/21/2012
5.0/5.0
To sum up Lance's service in one word, I would have to say "magnanimous" because he exceeded our expectations in every way. We had a short time to choose a officiant as many of the previous officiants we talked to we ended up deciding to go another direction. We have no regrets at all.

My wife is from Brazil so she had some family in attendance that did not speak any English. I had the idea to say a few words in Portuguese but he took it a step further and got one of her cousins to translate. This made the ceremony go a little longer and follow a different path but it was all so much more worth it. He played off the crowd perfectly and added some special touches.

He presented us with some pre-made ceremonies that we ended up editing and adding/subtracting things to make it more special to us. There was never any problems or reservations from Lance about this and he even added a few special touches to it as well. He even assisted us in choosing a location to place a lap top with Skype so the rest of her family back in Brazil could witness the ceremony.

Lance mentioned a few times in talking with him how often he gets compliments from wedding attendants about his services and as it comes off a little cocky, it is absolutely true. I would recommend Lance for anyone.
To sum up Lance's service in one word, I would have to say "magnanimous" because he exceeded our expectations in every Read more...
To sum up Lance's service in one word, I would have to say "magnanimous" because he exceeded our expectations in every way. We had a short time to choose a officiant as many of the previous officiants we talked to we ended up deciding to go another direction. We have no regrets at all.

My wife is from Brazil so she had some family in attendance that did not speak any English. I had the idea to say a few words in Portuguese but he took it a step further and got one of her cousins to translate. This made the ceremony go a little longer and follow a different path but it was all so much more worth it. He played off the crowd perfectly and added some special touches.

He presented us with some pre-made ceremonies that we ended up editing and adding/subtracting things to make it more special to us. There was never any problems or reservations from Lance about this and he even added a few special touches to it as well. He even assisted us in choosing a location to place a lap top with Skype so the rest of her family back in Brazil could witness the ceremony.

Lance mentioned a few times in talking with him how often he gets compliments from wedding attendants about his services and as it comes off a little cocky, it is absolutely true. I would recommend Lance for anyone. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
7/15/2012
1.5/5.0
We worked with Lance for our July wedding in Hume VA. We had wanted a pastor from our church, but since our wedding was on a Sunday, none were available. We read the reviews on Lance's website and he looked like a rockstar, so we went with him. Ironic that they are all SHINING, not one of them has a negative thing to say.

Prior to the wedding, we had a few hiccups-- not returning emails promptly, difficulty trying to set up a time to talk/ meet to review our ceremony preferences. We ended up calling him for our "appointment" which he completely forgot about, to discuss everything a few days before the wedding.

First of all, I have never seen a minister walk around during a ceremony. And I mean A LOT... walking circles around the entire bridal party. We had no idea what was going on or where to look. I haven't gotten my pictures back yet, but am interested to see how many random positions we find him in.

He also went off on rants about who-knows-what every so often... we were all so confused.

One of the most irritating things though (that several wedding guests commented on as well) was during the prayer at the end, Lance forgot the words he was supposed to say...and instead of going on like a professional would do, stopped and said "I can't believe I just forgot the words to that prayer, I've done it a hundred times!!" all while we still have our heads bowed.. Awkward?? Yes. Definitely.

He also slipped in a "Jesus Christ, it's hot!"... well no kidding. It's the middle of July and an outdoor wedding. We were ALL hot. But as a "minister"....throwing around the "JC" bomb? Completely threw me off. Finally, he cut off my photographer in the middle of shooting so he could get his picture with us and leave. He was literally gone within 3 minutes of the ceremony ending.

Sorry for holding you up, sir.

I would NOT recommend Lance Orndorff to anyone.. unless you want a clown show.
We worked with Lance for our July wedding in Hume VA. We had wanted a pastor from our church, but since our wedding was on Read more...
We worked with Lance for our July wedding in Hume VA. We had wanted a pastor from our church, but since our wedding was on a Sunday, none were available. We read the reviews on Lance's website and he looked like a rockstar, so we went with him. Ironic that they are all SHINING, not one of them has a negative thing to say.

Prior to the wedding, we had a few hiccups-- not returning emails promptly, difficulty trying to set up a time to talk/ meet to review our ceremony preferences. We ended up calling him for our "appointment" which he completely forgot about, to discuss everything a few days before the wedding.

First of all, I have never seen a minister walk around during a ceremony. And I mean A LOT... walking circles around the entire bridal party. We had no idea what was going on or where to look. I haven't gotten my pictures back yet, but am interested to see how many random positions we find him in.

He also went off on rants about who-knows-what every so often... we were all so confused.

One of the most irritating things though (that several wedding guests commented on as well) was during the prayer at the end, Lance forgot the words he was supposed to say...and instead of going on like a professional would do, stopped and said "I can't believe I just forgot the words to that prayer, I've done it a hundred times!!" all while we still have our heads bowed.. Awkward?? Yes. Definitely.

He also slipped in a "Jesus Christ, it's hot!"... well no kidding. It's the middle of July and an outdoor wedding. We were ALL hot. But as a "minister"....throwing around the "JC" bomb? Completely threw me off. Finally, he cut off my photographer in the middle of shooting so he could get his picture with us and leave. He was literally gone within 3 minutes of the ceremony ending.

Sorry for holding you up, sir.

I would NOT recommend Lance Orndorff to anyone.. unless you want a clown show. Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Virginia Maryland DC Wedding Officiant responded with the following comments:

How dark-hearted must this couple be to write such a stream of absolute lies? She works for a hotel, he is a military guy, and together they are so proud of the bad reviews they gave me (I have the emails to prove it). The bad karma will eat them and their marriage alive.
Default vendor profile pic
coco
Wedding:
6/9/2012
4.6/5.0
We used Lance at our wedding this past June. We found him online and had a phone conversation with him and decided to go with his services. We liked that we could pick what type of ceremony we wanted and arrange it.
Two weeks before I mailed out all the information to Lance as well as the marriage license and then a fake marriage certificate (one the court gives you so that you can keep yourself, when I had asked him about it he said to send it all with the info) I received confirmation from him that he received the package. I asked him what he thought of the ceremony we wrote a couple times via email, but he did not respond to the question. I didn't let it bother me and just rolled with it.
The day of the ceremony he was there and on time. He did ask my fiance/ now husband Robb if he had the papers, to which Robb had told him I mailed them to him a few weeks ago. Lance said they probably were at the office and not to worry me about it (glad he suggested this as I probably would have worried). I was bummed though that he did not bring the fake certificate for us to keep as a momento....ahh well.
During the ceremony, I could tell he had not read the ceremony we wrote, which I had spent so much time on..he did improvise in parts...which was fine. Overall he did a great job and we were happy with it. We loved that it was kept to 30 minutes as it was hot...he let us take our time to read our own vow's and let our speakers read there poems. It's also nice that he steps out of the way during parts, which is great for the photos we captured. Everyone really enjoyed the ceremony.

Overall I think he did a great job and were very happy with the end result. I sent him an email the next day thanking him and inquiring when we would receive our marriage certificates. He had the paperwork and said by the end of the week. We had enclosed a money order for the court and a return envelope. When we came back from our honeymoon, the papers were there :).
We used Lance at our wedding this past June. We found him online and had a phone conversation with him and decided to go Read more...
We used Lance at our wedding this past June. We found him online and had a phone conversation with him and decided to go with his services. We liked that we could pick what type of ceremony we wanted and arrange it.
Two weeks before I mailed out all the information to Lance as well as the marriage license and then a fake marriage certificate (one the court gives you so that you can keep yourself, when I had asked him about it he said to send it all with the info) I received confirmation from him that he received the package. I asked him what he thought of the ceremony we wrote a couple times via email, but he did not respond to the question. I didn't let it bother me and just rolled with it.
The day of the ceremony he was there and on time. He did ask my fiance/ now husband Robb if he had the papers, to which Robb had told him I mailed them to him a few weeks ago. Lance said they probably were at the office and not to worry me about it (glad he suggested this as I probably would have worried). I was bummed though that he did not bring the fake certificate for us to keep as a momento....ahh well.
During the ceremony, I could tell he had not read the ceremony we wrote, which I had spent so much time on..he did improvise in parts...which was fine. Overall he did a great job and we were happy with it. We loved that it was kept to 30 minutes as it was hot...he let us take our time to read our own vow's and let our speakers read there poems. It's also nice that he steps out of the way during parts, which is great for the photos we captured. Everyone really enjoyed the ceremony.

Overall I think he did a great job and were very happy with the end result. I sent him an email the next day thanking him and inquiring when we would receive our marriage certificates. He had the paperwork and said by the end of the week. We had enclosed a money order for the court and a return envelope. When we came back from our honeymoon, the papers were there :). Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
MABeydler05
Wedding:
5/26/2012
5.0/5.0
We loved Lance from the moment we spoke with him on the phone about our ceremony. We contracted with him right away, without even having to meet with him. The first time we met him was on the day before our wedding at the rehearsal.
When I filled out our ceremony info on Lance's website I accidentally hit the wrong date for our wedding, he was amazing! Even though he had other plans for our "real" wedding date, he was able to work it out and once he said he would be there I never gave it another thought. He always responded to any email I sent promptly and was always a huge help!!
Our guests are still giving us compliments on our ceremony. Everyone said the ceremony was completely us, it was PERFECT!
If you haven't signed with Lance yet... DO IT (before he gets booked)!!!!!
We loved Lance from the moment we spoke with him on the phone about our ceremony. We contracted with him right away, Read more...
We loved Lance from the moment we spoke with him on the phone about our ceremony. We contracted with him right away, without even having to meet with him. The first time we met him was on the day before our wedding at the rehearsal.
When I filled out our ceremony info on Lance's website I accidentally hit the wrong date for our wedding, he was amazing! Even though he had other plans for our "real" wedding date, he was able to work it out and once he said he would be there I never gave it another thought. He always responded to any email I sent promptly and was always a huge help!!
Our guests are still giving us compliments on our ceremony. Everyone said the ceremony was completely us, it was PERFECT!
If you haven't signed with Lance yet... DO IT (before he gets booked)!!!!! Read less
Services Used: Officiant
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
I cannot praise this man enough. Lance was amazing. We had a few hiccups in the ceremony (brought on by a beautiful two year old flower girl) and he breezed right through them, and even used Bible verses to link her actions back to the ceremony. Everyone in the wedding and numerous guests expressed how impressed they were by Lance.
I cannot praise this man enough. Lance was amazing. We had a few hiccups in the ceremony (brought on by a beautiful two Read more...
I cannot praise this man enough. Lance was amazing. We had a few hiccups in the ceremony (brought on by a beautiful two year old flower girl) and he breezed right through them, and even used Bible verses to link her actions back to the ceremony. Everyone in the wedding and numerous guests expressed how impressed they were by Lance. Read less
Services Used: Officiant

DEALS

Active Duty Discount
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
WeddingsByLance.com extends a discount to all active duty US military service men and women. This discount applied to the normal officianting fee for that day and does not apply to Lance's special package deals.
Deal #WW5fbb5712cc7a9138
220x220 1338390700879 weddingsbylancephone8887164196
Wedding Ceremony Officiant AND Ceremony Music Harpist only $699!
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Saving money and getting quality services is what all brides are searching for. In this deal, you get a wedding officiant with more than 1,000 happy couples and a romantic wedding harpist (small garden harp on his knee) that always gets rave reviews. This team has worked together for years and the results are a fantastic, perfectly times ceremony that your guests will love!
Deal #WW7fef8fa09105ee6b
220x220 1338390700879 weddingsbylancephone8887164196

MAP

 
7900 Andrus Road Suite 12, Alexandria, VA 22306 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Virginia Maryland DC Wedding Officiant
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
 
220x220 1338390700879 weddingsbylancephone8887164196