130x130_sq_1336498173207-wwire

Visual Poetry LLC

Fenton , MI

LOCATION

12272 N. Fenton Rd., Suite 2
Fenton, MI US 48430 (map)

PHONE

734-231-1588

WEBSITE

View website
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

All life is, is a bunch of little moments. That's why I believe in photography. Because those moments are so little and happen so fast yet change our life in the biggest way. Our lives... Read more
All life is, is a bunch of little moments. That's why I believe in photography. Because those moments are so little and happen so fast yet change our life in the biggest way. Our lives only last a moment. Lets give our grandchildren's grandchildren something to remember. Remind them where they came from and where their roots were grounded. My goals for both wedding and portraiture are the same - capture each individual AS an individual and showcase their personality in each photograph. I strive off emotion; the real smiles, real tears and real love. Every photograph should tell a story about it's subject. I consider my work very untraditional and focus on creative perspectives, a photojournalistic approach as well as a flair for modern, fashionable portraiture. To learn more please visit my website at www.jenkniivila.com or if you're intererested in Boudoir for a gift for your groom go to www.vpboudoir.com. I look forward to meeting you and learning more about your wedding plans! Read less
Photography

PHOTOS

130x130_sq_1336498387991-blog11
130x130_sq_1336498384069-blog3
130x130_sq_1336498365620-blog3
130x130_sq_1336498361520-blog1
130x130_sq_1336498448955-b4
130x130_sq_1336498454119-b8
130x130_sq_1336498479409-b5
130x130_sq_1336498552138-1
130x130_sq_1336498553947-9

INFO FOR PHOTOGRAPHY

What primary photographic style do you identify with?
Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
What do your packages include?
Albums, Custom Graphic Design, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution Images, Prints, Thank You Cards
Do you have liability insurance?
Yes
Do you offer special techniques such as hand-coloring or toning?
All my images are delivered retouched.
Do you have experience shooting in various lighting situations?
Indoor / Outdoor
Is your media preference film or digital?
Digital
How many photographers do you work with?
For weddings it's always me and one assistant.
Do you guarantee your presence at the actual event?
Sure do!
Do you sometimes book yourself for more than one event in a day? Weekend?
I allow for one wedding each weekend.
Do you have a replacement photographer in case you become unavailable on the day of the event?
Absolutely.
What kind of equipment do you typically bring with you on the day-of?
I will have my professional grade Canon cameras and lenses (and back-ups!) as well as 1-2 Strobes.
Do you bring back-up equipment to the event in case of malfunction?
Wouldn't consider leaving home without a back-up!
Do you charge hourly or full day?
My signature package includes up to 7hrs and I allow the purchase of additional time by the hour.
Are you available to shoot extra hours? If yes, how much do you charge for extra hours?
$250/hr (2 Photographers)
What is your policy on taking breaks? If you require a meal break, do you require that the client provide your meal?
We ask that we're included in the meal plans to give us a chance to refuel.
Do you charge for travel?
Dependent on the location, yes.
How soon after the event are the proofs ready for viewing?
Images are typically uploaded to our proofing site within four to six weeks after your wedding date.
In what format are the initial proofs offered?
Proofs are available at www.jenkniivila.smugmug.com in a password protected viewing gallery.
Do you retain the copyright for the photos?
Yes. The client will be given a print release so they're able to order prints at the lab of their choice.
Do you reserve the right to publish the photos?
Yes.
Do you provide the digital files and/or negatives (or copies of the negatives) to the client?
Wedding coverage includes a disk of high-resolution edited images with print release.
Will images be available for viewing online?
Our proofing is done online.
What kind of albums do you offer?
The coolest kind around! Our albums are custom designed and made to our clients liking. Our albums are available in many different cover materials and colors and are flush mounted with thick, durable pages.
When will the client get the final album?
Please visit our website at www.jenkniivila.com to learn more about our Album process. Click on the 'Information' tab, then 'Album 411'.

REVIEWS

4.7
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.7/5.0
4.6/5.0
4.6/5.0
Sort by
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Karry
Wedding:
6/22/2013
4.6/5.0
Pricey but well worth it. Glad these girls were the ones sharing our special day with us!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Heather
Wedding:
5/17/2013
5.0/5.0
Jen is beyond professional and we could not have asked for a better photographer. Both her and her assistant Lindsay did an amazing job. I hate getting my picture taken and had quite a bit of anxiety about being the center of attention and being photographed but I really do not remember seeing them during the ceremony or at the reception, but they were there!! They caught some of the most beautiful candid moments I have ever seen! They actually captured my husband and I as who we are rather than setting up a bunch of forced poses. Everyone who sees the pictures from the wedding loves them and cannot get over how wonderful of a job Jen really does! These pictures turned out so great that the bridal shop I purchased my wedding dress from actually got some of the prints to hang in her boutique. Months later I am still obsessed with these pictures.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Private User
Wedding:
4/28/2013
5.0/5.0
Jen is the most amazing person and photographer I know. She is a great person, friend and photographer. She provides beautiful artistic photographs and most importantly she makes you feel comfortable. I am a shy person and with jen all your insecurities just melt away and you have FUN taking pictures with her. She makes you feel so comfortable you forget there is a camera instead you think you are just hanging out with your sister its just such a great time! once you do one photo shoot with jen you immediately start thinking of other reasons to book a session with her!.. hmm I could use some family pictures...or pics of the kids...maybe a trash the dress..LOL..its always fun to get some amazing shots with Jen!
Services Used: Photography
Wwnetwork-128
kristin
Wedding:
11/18/2012
5.0/5.0
I can't even begin to describe how AMAZING and truly Talented Jen from Visual Poetry is. I have known Jen for years when she first began and I have to say I am hesitant to EVER have mine, or my family's picture taken by anyone else! even a $10 promo for the kids at your local portrait innovations/jcp for the kiddos..just can't do it..all i do is compare it to jen's work and think of what amazing pictures i COULD have gotten! Recently jen drove about an hour to come out to my home to do engagement pictures for us and honestly, im STILL thinking about the shoot! I HATe getting my picture taken I am very shy, but the shoot was honestly SOO fun!! jen is the sweetest most creative person I have ever met and had the pleasure of working with and being friends with! She got sooo many unbelievable shots i'm already thinking up other reasons to book sessions with her. Honestly, you will not find a more gifted, caring, and professional photographer than Jen Kniivila. Worth every penny, every moment.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kari
Wedding:
9/29/2012
5.0/5.0
Let me just say, my pictures were MORE than I could have EVER wished for!!!! Jen and her crew were amazing! She had such great and creative ideas. If she wants to try something new and unique, LET HER! She is pure genius! Jen was great about communicating her ideas to my husband and I before the wedding. We were so excited to end up with such great and unique pictures!Book HER!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Rebecca
Wedding:
9/2/2012
5.0/5.0
As soon as I met Jen for the first time I knew I wanted her as my photographer. She is talented and very nice. She was very open to everything and so easy to work with. Her calmness and ease was a perfect balance to my nervousness on my wedding day. She made everything so easy and so lovely. I love my wedding pictures. My husband and I are now expecting our first baby. We're debating whether or not to have maternity shots done, but if we do, there's no question we will ask Jen to do it.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Mrs. Grace
Wedding:
9/10/2011
5.0/5.0
We are so blessed to have had Jen as our wedding photographer. She was on time, professional and exceeded our expectations on how our wedding photos would look. We honestly could not be happier with the images she has given us. Not only were our wedding photos amazing... But our engagement photos were outstanding, as well. She even met us in Oscoda, MI for our engagement session (we were lucky to have had that once in a lifetime experience). I honestly do not have enough good things to say about this incredibly talented artist. To me photographs are the most important aspect of a wedding. It is the one thing you will have to reflect upon. The creative edge and personal style of Mrs. Kniivila is unique and will have you always smiling. I look forward to having her capture all of our future precious moments; maternity, infant, family, etc. We will always go with Visual Poetry because we know we will be getting the absolute best. If she has your date open, you are a fool not to book her. We LOVE Jen and her amazing talent!!! 5 stars all the way!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
jjohnson
Wedding:
10/31/2010
3.2/5.0
Great Job just a bit too pricey.
Services Used: Photography
Visual Poetry LLC responded with the following comments:

Hi, JJohnson! I notice the date of your wedding of 10/31/2010 - I didn't have a wedding reserved on this day. Did I not photograph your wedding? I just feel that a rating on my services would be most accurate coming from someone I actually serviced. Please feel free to email me at visual.poetry@yahoo.com - I would love to discuss your ratings with you. Have a great day!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nberckman85
Wedding:
9/18/2010
1.3/5.0
My wedding was the same week that Jen had her baby. So obviously, she was unable to be at my wedding so she had a photographer fill in for her. This was extremely disappointing, especially since I had booked Jen two years before my wedding. But of course, life happens so we made due.

The disappointment began on my wedding day. The photographers that filled in for Jen were not up to par with "Visual Poetry" standards, we received limited to no direction, as a result so many valuable pictures were not taken or even thought of until after the fact. I found myself directing people for pictures and making sure I had the right pictures taken before anyone left the church, while the photographers just stood and stared at me with no opinion or ideas. We paid for 8 hours of photography and were only provided 430 pictures. This is approximately 25 pictures per photographer per hour. Out of the 430 pictures I received two head-shots of my guests, while we had 130 guests present at our wedding. I was not even provided a picture of my entire dress, meaning without the Train cut out of the picture.

When I contacted Jen regarding my disappointment she offered to do a Bridal Session with my Husband and I. This was not acceptable, your wedding day only occurs once, you can never recreate the raw emotions of your wedding day. The only sufficient solution was to provide additional pictures from my wedding day. But according to Jen this was not an option since the other pictures that I was not provided were not "Visual Poetry Quality."

I recommend that you have a clear agreement regarding how many pictures you will be provided before you book Visual Poetry or any wedding photographer.

And yes the pictures I received, I do love, they are from my wedding, my disappointment was the unwillingness to work with me when this situation would never happen again with another bride. The unwillingness to bend the rules when a rare situation occurred, like this one. And reviewing another photographers work does not demonstrate their ability to provide ideas for pictures or actually show what it will be like working with them on your wedding day. As for the headshots, numerous guests informed me of their picture being taken, but I never had the chance to actually see the pictures, as Visual Poetry claimed she did not receive these pictures from her fill in photographers.
Services Used: Photography
Visual Poetry LLC responded with the following comments:

Thank you for taking the time to list your review of our services. To be fair, I would love to give our side of things. The day of this couples wedding was the evening I was released from the hospital after delivering my son. As much as I would have loved to be there with them, it just wasn't possible. They were informed of my health situation from the moment I found out I was pregnant and in preperation of the 'what-ifs' weeks prior to the wedding we discussed options and I had them approve an associate photographer to document their wedding in my absense. There were no surprises - the photographer's work was reviewed prior to the wedding and claimed as acceptable. Also, when a few images were posted prior to the delivery of the whole proofing gallery - the couple stated their love for the images.. I quote the bride "OMG Jen!! These are amazing.... You seriously have me to tears!!! I can't wait to see the rest!! Breath taking is the only words I have to describe these ;)". Now, being that this wedding was booked LONG in advance to the date, the price this couple got were far below what I would have charged present day. Value for services far exceeds the investment that was made. 430 Images is acceptable and within the estimated range of images delivered. Quality over quantity has ALWAYS been my goal. Also, we rarely do guest portraits (table shots) unless the bride and groom specifically request them - which is why I did not instruct the associate photographer to capture them. Instead, we work in a photojournalistic approach and document the event as it happens instead of delivering many 'headshots' of guests. Again, I am very sorry for this couples bad experience and as the bride mentioned, to try and help them I offered them a free bridal session, which they declined. Effort was made to make this a pleasant experience for them, despite them getting fantastic images from their wedding day. And rest assured, we have no plans on getting pregnant again. We now have two amazing children and couldn't be happier!
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Elizabeth
Wedding:
10/30/2009
5.0/5.0
Jen Kniivila's work truley is a vision of innovative photography. It is nothing short of incredible. Not to mention she is very professional and a dream to work with. Her Camera has a direct line to her heart, which shows in her photos as she captures love and all its glory. Everyone needs to experience Visual Poetry!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Kristy
Wedding:
4/8/2009
5.0/5.0
Visual Poetry is AMAZING! I couldnt have asked for a better photographer to capture my day. Her creativity and unique style have given me priceless memories that I will forever be thankful for. She is highly recommendable and I will use her in the future for other needs.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
ADeVet
Wedding:
9/27/2008
5.0/5.0
Jen Kniivila is the most amazing photographer! She made me feel so comfortable and relaxed during our shoot. She made me feel so beautiful! The photos she took I will treasure a lifetime!!! I love her modern and artistic touches that she puts into all her work. She produces such high quality work and is quite reasonably priced. I highly recommended her for any occasion!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
nekochanpurr
Wedding:
8/16/2008
5.0/5.0
Jen was an awesome photographer! She worked with me with the photos i wanted. I got a lot of things for the price that was paid. I would recamend this photographer for anyone within the area!! :)
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Andrea
Wedding:
7/12/2008
5.0/5.0
Jen was an amazing photographer! She has an eye for detial and her pictures are beautiful. I highly reccomend her!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
cocolevin
Wedding:
9/22/2007
5.0/5.0
Jen is a phenominal photographer. She is great a capturing the emotions of the moment and is really in tune to what you want. If you want portraits she is great...if you want candids...she is awesome. I would recommend her to absolutely anyone and she can really work with your budget.
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
5.0/5.0
When I started my wedding planning, there was one thing I knew I wanted and wasn't willing to budge on, and that was hiring Jen to be our photographer. That was one of the best decisions we made! Not only was Jen great to work with, but she took some of the most amazing pictures that have brought all of us back to our big day. Jen also took our engagement pictures and once again exceded our expectations. Thanks again Jen!
Services Used: Photography
Default-vendor-profile-pic
rockstarhair
Wedding:
7/26/2003
5.0/5.0
Amazing! She brings out the uniqueness in every small detail, stuff that a normal photographers eye misses. Phenomenal behind the camera and makes you feel at ease with each shot! So impressed w angles and editing skills as well. You will not be disappointed!
Services Used: Photography, Unique Services
Default-vendor-profile-pic
Marlena
Wedding:
7/5/2002
5.0/5.0
Jen from Visual Poetry was an AMAZING photographer! She was so sweet to work with, came up with some fantastic shots, and was very reasonably priced. She was professional, on time, and creative.

I highly recommend her- she will not disappoint!
Services Used: Photography

DEALS

$100 Print Credit!
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
Mention the WEDDING WIRE upon booking to recieve a complimentary $100 print credit!
Deal #WW38ce658030f236ad
220x220_1336498173207-wwire
Free Consultation!
Print Deal
Redeem In-Store  
I always offer free consultations to meet in person and discuss your wedding day! I use this opportunity to show some example albums and prints.
Deal #WWf5bdfb27fd824465
220x220_1336498173207-wwire

MAP

 
12272 N. Fenton Rd., Suite 2, Fenton, MI 48430 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Visual Poetry LLC
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww_logo
 
220x220_1336498173207-wwire