130x130 sq 1478565761 dc727068ee43701d robyn icks photography 112

Vortex Esthetics & Beauty L.L.C

Norman , OK

LOCATION

Inside Aura Spa and Beauty Studio, 2001 W. Main
Norman, OK 73069 US (map)

PHONE

405-408-9284
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.

ABOUT US

Kimberly G. Brown is looking forward to working with you.

She strives to reveal the beauty in a persons life each time she comes in contact with them.

How you might... Read more
Kimberly G. Brown is looking forward to working with you.

She strives to reveal the beauty in a persons life each time she comes in contact with them.

How you might ask? Well she believes that beauty is not in the face,but that it is a light in the heart.

She considers herself very fortunate to be able bring twenty years of specialty retail experience into the beauty industry she has currently absorbed herself in. After working in several different companies in demanding roles of retail management and leadership and working with several teams of people. Hand in hand they together delivered outstanding customer service and maintained a enviroment that believed the best in everyone who clocked in or walked in the front door.

You see this is not just what Kimberly does...it's who she is! A lover of people, a relationship builder!

She desired more education in makeup artistry so she attended a makeup academy in Texas where she received her professional certification in the art of makeup in January 2007.

There she trained and worked hand in hand with an instructor while she learned cutting edge techniques. Focusing on airbrush technology,glamour,fantasy, period makeup, black and white verses color photography, and bridal makeup.

Later she decided to further her services offered and attended Francis Tuttle Technology Center in Oklahoma City to become a licensed esthetician in 2013 at the age of 34 she decided to step out on her own out of the grind of retail and launch her own business Vortex Esthetics L.L.C with the state of Oklahoma and now has been working for herself as a freelance artist and esthetician ever since. She preforms services inside local spas where she is a independent contractor and takes appointments daily.

One of her favorite things is meeting new people on a regular basis and continuing to excel in her craft through constant continuing education training in many different facets every year. So she can stay up to date of all things beautiful,organic and cutting edge for her clients.

Give her a call to discuss how she can meet your beauty needs.


Qualifications:

Licensed Esthetician and Makeup Artist/Skincare Therapist

Clarification of all requirements that clients have after in depth discussion and consultation.

Research of the look and result required according to the demands of the client.

Ensuring the budget for meeting the clients needs or visual requirements.

Discussions with the client,to finalize the desired result and makeup looks for the wedding day.

Assigning members of the makeup team to different clients with time restraints in mind.

In coordination through communication that the wedding party feels that no look is incongruous.

Knowledge of the best supplies for the products needed for makeup and skincare. Read less
Beauty & Health

PHOTOS

130x130 sq 1483477902444 fbimg1452649986046
130x130 sq 1290027877059 1920sbride
130x130 sq 1290032075028 upclosewithbirdcage
130x130 sq 1483477926086 fbimg1453957088472
130x130 sq 1290032140137 naturalbride

INFO FOR BEAUTY & HEALTH

What beauty services do you offer?
Consultations, Facials, Group Discounts, Group Services, Hair, Hair Removal, Licensed, Makeup, Multiple Stylists, On-Site Service, Spa, Tanning, Trial Service
What hair services do you offer?
Updos/Styling
What makeup services do you offer?
Airbrush Makeup, Brow/Lash Tinting, Contour Makeup, Fake Lashes, Tattoo Coverage
What hair removal services do you offer?
Shaving, Threading, Waxing
What tanning services do you offer?
Airbrush Tanning, Spray Tanning
What is the maximum group size you can accommodate?
8

REVIEWS

4.8
out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
4.8/5.0
Sort by
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
1+ year ago
4.9/5.0
I needed to get my eyebrows done and I never had before, but Kimberly was awesome! She was patient and told me exactly what she was doing. She knew I was nervous about not liking it and my wedding coming up, but I LOVE the results! Highly recommend Kimberly Brown!
I needed to get my eyebrows done and I never had before, but Kimberly was awesome! She was patient and told me exactly Read more...
I needed to get my eyebrows done and I never had before, but Kimberly was awesome! She was patient and told me exactly what she was doing. She knew I was nervous about not liking it and my wedding coming up, but I LOVE the results! Highly recommend Kimberly Brown! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Vortex Esthetics & Beauty L.L.C responded with the following comments:

Thank you very much for taking the time to write these kind words. I'm so happy your pleased with my work and how your brows turned out.
Default vendor profile pic
April
Wedding:
9/18/2015
5.0/5.0
Kimberly is amazing! She made myself and my bridal party look flawless!
Kimberly is amazing! She made myself and my bridal party look flawless!
Kimberly is amazing! She made myself and my bridal party look flawless! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default vendor profile pic
kristina
Wedding:
7/11/2015
5.0/5.0
Kim Brown did a awesome job for my wedding! She has done my make up on several different occasions and I am always pleased with it how it looks. She listens to what you want and makes you feel comfortable. She was on time for my wedding make up, followed the schedule and made everyone look beautiful! ! I would recommend her service to anyone!
Kim Brown did a awesome job for my wedding! She has done my make up on several different occasions and I am always pleased Read more...
Kim Brown did a awesome job for my wedding! She has done my make up on several different occasions and I am always pleased with it how it looks. She listens to what you want and makes you feel comfortable. She was on time for my wedding make up, followed the schedule and made everyone look beautiful! ! I would recommend her service to anyone! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Vortex Esthetics & Beauty L.L.C responded with the following comments:

Thank You Kristina it was a absolute pleasure to be by your side for this important day capturing the look you had in mind for your makeup and seeing you wear it so well while marrying your best friend was the highlight of my summer.
Default vendor profile pic
Heather
Wedding:
6/27/2015
5.0/5.0
Kimberly is amazing! She was easy to contact, helpful, and wanted to make sure I was completely happy with her work. On my wedding day, Kim did the makeup for 4 of my bridesmaids, my daughter, my mom, and myself; both traditional and airbrush. Even with so many people/personalities Kim was calm, relaxed, and truly a pleasure to be around. Everyone looked flawless all day and night, which is definitely a feat for an Oklahoma summer day! I would highly recommend hiring Kim for your beauty needs!!
Kimberly is amazing! She was easy to contact, helpful, and wanted to make sure I was completely happy with her work. On my Read more...
Kimberly is amazing! She was easy to contact, helpful, and wanted to make sure I was completely happy with her work. On my wedding day, Kim did the makeup for 4 of my bridesmaids, my daughter, my mom, and myself; both traditional and airbrush. Even with so many people/personalities Kim was calm, relaxed, and truly a pleasure to be around. Everyone looked flawless all day and night, which is definitely a feat for an Oklahoma summer day! I would highly recommend hiring Kim for your beauty needs!! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Vortex Esthetics & Beauty L.L.C responded with the following comments:

Thank you Heather,
Your Bridal Party was an blessing to be around. This industry can be intense and demanding at times but when you focus at the face and person right in front of you and what their needs are in makes it easier. I appreciate your kind words and contribution to adding value to my business in the future for brides to come.
Default vendor profile pic
Katie
Wedding:
6/13/2015
0.9/5.0
I have never written a negative review for a vendor, but I feel compelled to be honest about Kim Brown’s services—Kim Brown was literally the ONLY thing stressful about my wedding.

I am a distance bride getting married in my hometown of Oklahoma City, and initially Kim felt like the perfect fit. After TWO trials, however, I was completely dissatisfied for a number of reasons—she continuously tried to reschedule me for her personal reasons, she was unable to match skin tone properly, and somehow my requested natural look left me looking like a cheerleader. During my second trial, my requested soft, charcoal liner landed me with a thick, black cat eye. She simply wouldn’t listen and as an icing on the cake, her services always ran longer than her stated schedule, with complete disregard for my other appointments (I was 15 minutes late, but we buffered 30 extra, and she took all 30 plus asked for another 20 to do mascara.)

I attempted to sever services with Kim seven weeks prior to the wedding date, hoping she would have time to book other services and not lose money. With this understanding, she agreed to a refund of my remaining deposit, even with a contract in place, "as a favor". She then disappeared for a month and later came back to rescind her offer of a refund. Her final communication to me was rude, disrespectful, and utterly unprofessional. She even admitted that she has a cash flow problem with her business and can’t afford a $100 refund! Her final note to me (in response to a simply inquiry as to the refund she agreed to) included the following: "Regarding responses to this matter in the future. There will be none."--to me this is the crux of her lack of professionalism. I look forward to a beautiful wedding day WITHOUT Kim.

She was a nightmare to schedule, to confirm, to communicate with, and she is not a woman of her word. I mean it truthfully—she has been my ONLY source of stress during this joyful process.

Client Beware!
I have never written a negative review for a vendor, but I feel compelled to be honest about Kim Brown’s services—Kim Read more...
I have never written a negative review for a vendor, but I feel compelled to be honest about Kim Brown’s services—Kim Brown was literally the ONLY thing stressful about my wedding.

I am a distance bride getting married in my hometown of Oklahoma City, and initially Kim felt like the perfect fit. After TWO trials, however, I was completely dissatisfied for a number of reasons—she continuously tried to reschedule me for her personal reasons, she was unable to match skin tone properly, and somehow my requested natural look left me looking like a cheerleader. During my second trial, my requested soft, charcoal liner landed me with a thick, black cat eye. She simply wouldn’t listen and as an icing on the cake, her services always ran longer than her stated schedule, with complete disregard for my other appointments (I was 15 minutes late, but we buffered 30 extra, and she took all 30 plus asked for another 20 to do mascara.)

I attempted to sever services with Kim seven weeks prior to the wedding date, hoping she would have time to book other services and not lose money. With this understanding, she agreed to a refund of my remaining deposit, even with a contract in place, "as a favor". She then disappeared for a month and later came back to rescind her offer of a refund. Her final communication to me was rude, disrespectful, and utterly unprofessional. She even admitted that she has a cash flow problem with her business and can’t afford a $100 refund! Her final note to me (in response to a simply inquiry as to the refund she agreed to) included the following: "Regarding responses to this matter in the future. There will be none."--to me this is the crux of her lack of professionalism. I look forward to a beautiful wedding day WITHOUT Kim.

She was a nightmare to schedule, to confirm, to communicate with, and she is not a woman of her word. I mean it truthfully—she has been my ONLY source of stress during this joyful process.

Client Beware! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Vortex Esthetics & Beauty L.L.C responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your review Katie!
You did not mention you signed a contract stating that the deposit wasn't refundable. You also did not state that you were 15 minutes late to each of your trials that is why application was rushed trials. You said you were having an acne breakout due to the proffesional product I used. That's why we scheduled the second trial. I even opted to use the products you use daily for you wedding day if your skin didn't agree with what I was using. You didn't want that so we decided to not go forward with wedding makeup appoinment.

You never acted like an unsatisfactory job was done on color match for foundation or application. Now it all unfolds...you didnt prefer my artistry and thats fine not everyone will. But I did try,that's all I can do at end of day.
I am very accommodating to my clients and prefer to adjust rather than saying it's right cause I'm the professional. It's your face,it's your wedding and I want my clients happy and confident in how they look on their most important day.
As far as rescheduling things I just attempted to move an appoinment to another time in day,I never canceled because I knew your schedule was very tight and limited since you are from out of town. The other reviews speak for themselves no reason to defend my business. After 9 years in the industry I do take pride in my ethics that's why I have contracts in place to protect both myself and the client.
"CLIENTS BEWARE" 16 5 star REVIEWS!!
Feel free to ask me questions.
130x130 sq 1424814080121 1
Abigail
Wedding:
5/23/2015
5.0/5.0
A week before my bridal shoot/bridal make-up trial Artistic Glam had cancelled on me and that was chaos for me! They did me the biggest favor because I hadn't seen their reviews and ratings! My mom looked online and found Kimberly to do my hair and Amy to do my make-up. I could never be happier with my choice! Kimberly was amazing and so helpful, she asked my ideas of what I wanted my make-up to look like and she went above and beyond to make me look exactly how I wanted to look for my big day! Kimberly was very kind to me when we met for my make-up trial. I am usually a bit questioning of people at first, but Kimberly and I talked as if we had been friends forever, she truly cared to know about me and my fiancé. Kimberly uses only the best products, I was concerned at first because I have very sensitive skin and when I expressed that concern she showed me everything she had used on my face and told me how it all worked. I got my make-up airbrushed and she told me it would last 12 hours, when I did my make-up trial for my bridal photo shoot I got my make-up done at 10am and after I finished sweating and running around by 9pm my make-up was still flawless! I am at a loss for words as to how to express how wonderful Kimberly really is, but every bride needs to experience it and I recommend her to each and every bride I know! Kimberly was such a big part of my special day and she made me so beautiful. Thank you so much!
A week before my bridal shoot/bridal make-up trial Artistic Glam had cancelled on me and that was chaos for me! They did Read more...
A week before my bridal shoot/bridal make-up trial Artistic Glam had cancelled on me and that was chaos for me! They did me the biggest favor because I hadn't seen their reviews and ratings! My mom looked online and found Kimberly to do my hair and Amy to do my make-up. I could never be happier with my choice! Kimberly was amazing and so helpful, she asked my ideas of what I wanted my make-up to look like and she went above and beyond to make me look exactly how I wanted to look for my big day! Kimberly was very kind to me when we met for my make-up trial. I am usually a bit questioning of people at first, but Kimberly and I talked as if we had been friends forever, she truly cared to know about me and my fiancé. Kimberly uses only the best products, I was concerned at first because I have very sensitive skin and when I expressed that concern she showed me everything she had used on my face and told me how it all worked. I got my make-up airbrushed and she told me it would last 12 hours, when I did my make-up trial for my bridal photo shoot I got my make-up done at 10am and after I finished sweating and running around by 9pm my make-up was still flawless! I am at a loss for words as to how to express how wonderful Kimberly really is, but every bride needs to experience it and I recommend her to each and every bride I know! Kimberly was such a big part of my special day and she made me so beautiful. Thank you so much! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default vendor profile pic
Melissa
Wedding:
4/10/2015
5.0/5.0
Thank you for helping me on such short notice. You made me feel beautiful on my wedding day!!!
Thank you for helping me on such short notice. You made me feel beautiful on my wedding day!!!
Thank you for helping me on such short notice. You made me feel beautiful on my wedding day!!! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Default vendor profile pic
Anonymous
Wedding:
2+ years ago
4.9/5.0
It was a great experience. She did a great job!
It was a great experience. She did a great job!
It was a great experience. She did a great job! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Vortex Esthetics & Beauty L.L.C responded with the following comments:

Thank you for your time and review!
Blessings,
Kimberly
Default vendor profile pic
Lindsay
Wedding:
5/31/2014
5.0/5.0
Very knowledgable about makeup & skin care. Would highly recommend Kimberly to anyone looking for a makeup artist for any occasion!!
Very knowledgable about makeup & skin care. Would highly recommend Kimberly to anyone looking for a makeup artist for any Read more...
Very knowledgable about makeup & skin care. Would highly recommend Kimberly to anyone looking for a makeup artist for any occasion!! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Vortex Esthetics & Beauty L.L.C responded with the following comments:

Thank you for being such a great bride,it was a pleasure to work with you and your bridal party.
Kimberly
Default vendor profile pic
Rebekah
Wedding:
5/31/2014
5.0/5.0
Amazing! I had never felt so beautiful!!!!
Amazing! I had never felt so beautiful!!!!
Amazing! I had never felt so beautiful!!!! Read less
Services Used: Beauty & Health

DEALS

Free Consultation when you book and pay for 4 services.
Get Deal
Promo Code: booked4services   $85 Value
When you come for consultation and prepay and book 4 or more services you will get your consultation for free!

Offer Expires: 12/31/2017

Available to the first couple
Deal #WW2fd6fd311cee21e4
220x220 1483478995633 vortex white logo

MAP

 
Inside Aura Spa and Beauty Studio, 2001 W. Main, Norman , OK 73069 See On Map
Thanks for visiting the vendor listing for Vortex Esthetics & Beauty L.L.C
Please let this vendor know that you found them on the WeddingWire Network.
Ww logo
220x220 1478565761 dc727068ee43701d robyn icks photography 112